Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 2108 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (130) Equipment Adaptive (2) Lane Departure (1) Service Brakes (24) Traction Control System (14)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Latches Locks Linkages (37) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (377) Fuel Propulsion System (193) Other (2) Steering (1188) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel System Gasoline (217) Power Train (132) Structure (48) Visibility (16)
Engine (71) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (47) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (43) Interior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 270
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/10/2017 - HOLBROOK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A CEMENT ROAD DIVIDER. DURING THE CRASH, THE FRONT END WAS SEVERELY DAMAGED. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED AN INJURED LEG. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS RECEIVED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

2/7/2017 - EUGENE, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCH WOULD NOT WORK CORRECTLY. IF THE DOOR WAS CLOSED AND LATCHED, IT WOULD NOT UNLATCH. IF THE DOOR WAS OPEN, IT WOULD NOT LATCH CLOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/26/2017 - RICHMOND, CA
AIRBAG WARNING INDICATOR HAS BEEN CONSTANTLY ON.

View Details

STEERING

1/26/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE ACCELERATING TO 5 MPH FROM A COMPLETE STOP, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. HE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 148,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/26/2017 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE ACCELERATING TO 5 MPH FROM A COMPLETE STOP, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. HE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 148,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/24/2017 - FOND DU LAC, WI
POWER STEERING NOT WORKING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/19/2017 - NOVI, MI
THE FUEL LINES IN MY 2006 CHEVY COBALT BEGAN LEAKING YESTERDAY. A FUEL SMELL WAS NOTICED IN THE CABIN OF THE CAR. I ALSO NOTICED SOME DRIPPING FUEL IN THE REAR OF THE CAR. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL CHEVY DEALER AND WAS TOLD IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE PREVIOUS RECALL BECAUSE IT WAS NOT THE PLASTIC LINE THAT WENT INTO THE FUEL PUMP. WHILE OFF THE CAR JUST DRIPPED FUEL ABOUT 1 DROP EVERY 10 SECONDS. WHILE RUNNING AND STATIONARY IT WAS A STEADY STREAM OF FUEL POURING OUT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/15/2017 - OWINGSVILLE, KY
DRIVER SIDE DOOR WONT OPEN, STUCK SHUT. HANDLE FEELS LIKE NOTHING IS THERE . CANT OPEN FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS IF WAS IN A WRECK OR FIRE. VEHICLE WAS IN PARK AS THESE ARE POWER LOCKS AND YOU CAN HEAR THE UNLOCKING SOUND HOWEVER DOOR DOESNT OPEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2017 - AURORA, IL
JUST BOUGHT 2006 CHEVY COBALT SS I KNOW THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE POWER STEERING GOING OUT I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE RECALLS I GAVE THEM THE VIN AND OVER THE PHONE THEY SAID THERE IS STILL 3 RECALLS FOR THE CAR I WENT THERE TODAY AND THEY SAID THERE WAS ONLY ONE THEY FIXED IT BUT IT WASN'T THE POWER STEERING HE SAID IT WAS ALREADY FIXED BUT THERE BEEN TIMES THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT ON ITS OWN AND I'M CURIOUS IF THEY ARE STILL RESPONSIBLE FOR FIXING THAT RECAL. ANOTHER THING WAS THE AIRBAGS WHICH I BELIEVE WAS ANOTHER RECALL FOR THE CAR THE AIRBAG LIGHTS IS ON AND ONCE AGAIN THEY REFUSED TO COVER IT.

View Details

STEERING

1/14/2017 - AURORA, IL
JUST BOUGHT 2006 CHEVY COBALT SS I KNOW THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE POWER STEERING GOING OUT I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE RECALLS I GAVE THEM THE VIN AND OVER THE PHONE THEY SAID THERE IS STILL 3 RECALLS FOR THE CAR I WENT THERE TODAY AND THEY SAID THERE WAS ONLY ONE THEY FIXED IT BUT IT WASN'T THE POWER STEERING HE SAID IT WAS ALREADY FIXED BUT THERE BEEN TIMES THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT ON ITS OWN AND I'M CURIOUS IF THEY ARE STILL RESPONSIBLE FOR FIXING THAT RECAL. ANOTHER THING WAS THE AIRBAGS WHICH I BELIEVE WAS ANOTHER RECALL FOR THE CAR THE AIRBAG LIGHTS IS ON AND ONCE AGAIN THEY REFUSED TO COVER IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 270
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds