Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 2133 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (133) Equipment Adaptive (2) Lane Departure (1) Service Brakes (24) Traction Control System (14)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (15) Latches Locks Linkages (37) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (382) Fuel Propulsion System (200) Other (2) Steering (1199) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Electronic Stability Control (24) Fuel System Gasoline (217) Power Train (133) Structure (49) Visibility (16)
Engine (71) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (47) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (43) Interior Lighting (4) Seats (3) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 274
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/14/2017 - PORT WENTWORTH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WHEN MAKING LEFT OR RIGHT TURNS AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED TO DISPLAY THE ACTUAL SPEEDS. THE FAILURES RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD JERK AND HESITATE TO ACCELERATE WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AGAIN, THE VEHICLE WOULD ACCELERATE WITHOUT WARNING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/14/2017 - PORT WENTWORTH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER WHEN MAKING LEFT OR RIGHT TURNS AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED TO DISPLAY THE ACTUAL SPEEDS. THE FAILURES RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD JERK AND HESITATE TO ACCELERATE WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AGAIN, THE VEHICLE WOULD ACCELERATE WITHOUT WARNING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/9/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 199,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/1/2017 - WALDEN, NY
AFTER SMELLING GAS I BROUGHT MY CAR TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG. AFTER SMELLING GAS REAL BAD YEARS LATER I BROUGHT IT TO A REPAIR SHOP AND WAS TOLD THE FUEL PUMP WAS LEAKING. THIS WAS A COVERED EXTENDED WARRANTY FROM CHEVY. THE DEALER I WENT TO ALSO TOLD ME IT IS DEFINITELY A FREE REPAIR UNDER WARRANTY. I CALLED CHEVY AND THEY WERE VERY RUDE AND TOLD ME IT IS NOT COVERED. I WOULD HAVE BROUGHT IT TO A DEALER FOR REPAIR IF THEY SENT ME A NOTICE. THE DEALER PRINTED A PAPER SHOWING ME IT WAS COVERED WITH NO LIMIT IN MILES OR YEARS. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/30/2017 - KEARNY, NJ
SIGNAL SHOWING AIRBAG NEEDS SERVICING GOES ON AND OFF WHILE DRIVING. HEADLIGHTS, LOW BEAM (BOTH OF THEM) JUST STOPPED WORKING. NEW BULBS AND NEW FUSES ARE NOT THE PROBLEM. NOW, I CAN'T EVEN KEEP MY HIGH BEAMS IN "ON" POSITION. ONLY IF I HOLD THE SWITCH. I'VE HAD THIS CAR FOR UNDER 3 MONTHS. DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR LOCK SOMETIMES WORKS, SOMETIMES DOESN'T. I HAVE TO UNLOCK THE DOOR MANUALLY (SOMETIMES). I FIND THAT ODD. MY LARGEST PROBLEM IS OBVIOUSLY HEADLIGHTS. I HAVE 2 CHILDREN AND CAN'T DRIVE AT NIGHT, EVEN IN AN EMERGENCY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/30/2017 - KEARNY, NJ
SIGNAL SHOWING AIRBAG NEEDS SERVICING GOES ON AND OFF WHILE DRIVING. HEADLIGHTS, LOW BEAM (BOTH OF THEM) JUST STOPPED WORKING. NEW BULBS AND NEW FUSES ARE NOT THE PROBLEM. NOW, I CAN'T EVEN KEEP MY HIGH BEAMS IN "ON" POSITION. ONLY IF I HOLD THE SWITCH. I'VE HAD THIS CAR FOR UNDER 3 MONTHS. DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR LOCK SOMETIMES WORKS, SOMETIMES DOESN'T. I HAVE TO UNLOCK THE DOOR MANUALLY (SOMETIMES). I FIND THAT ODD. MY LARGEST PROBLEM IS OBVIOUSLY HEADLIGHTS. I HAVE 2 CHILDREN AND CAN'T DRIVE AT NIGHT, EVEN IN AN EMERGENCY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/30/2017 - KEARNY, NJ
SIGNAL SHOWING AIRBAG NEEDS SERVICING GOES ON AND OFF WHILE DRIVING. HEADLIGHTS, LOW BEAM (BOTH OF THEM) JUST STOPPED WORKING. NEW BULBS AND NEW FUSES ARE NOT THE PROBLEM. NOW, I CAN'T EVEN KEEP MY HIGH BEAMS IN "ON" POSITION. ONLY IF I HOLD THE SWITCH. I'VE HAD THIS CAR FOR UNDER 3 MONTHS. DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR LOCK SOMETIMES WORKS, SOMETIMES DOESN'T. I HAVE TO UNLOCK THE DOOR MANUALLY (SOMETIMES). I FIND THAT ODD. MY LARGEST PROBLEM IS OBVIOUSLY HEADLIGHTS. I HAVE 2 CHILDREN AND CAN'T DRIVE AT NIGHT, EVEN IN AN EMERGENCY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/14/2017 - CHAMBERSBURG, PA
MY CAR STARTED SMELLING LIKE GASOLINE REALLY STRONGLY THE PAST 2 WEEKS. IM VERY CONCERNED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/5/2017 - ST. LOUIS, MO
I WAS LOCKED INSIDE OF MY VEHICLE BECAUSE THE DOORS WOULD NOT UNLOCK. WHILE PRESSING THE LOCK/UNLOCK BUTTON FROM THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE, THE LOCKS WOULD NOT MOVE UP/DOWN. IT TOOK ABOUT 30MINUTES BEFORE THE LOCKS OPENED UP AND THAT WAS ONLY ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE DRIVER SIDE NEVER OPENED. MY VEHICLE WAS PARKED/STATIONERY.

View Details

STEERING

5/3/2017 - WOODBURY, MN
POWER STEERING SHUTS OFF AT INTERMITTENT TIMES. THE RPMS GO UP AND DOWN AND CAR SPUTTERS WHEN THIS HAPPENS. THIS HAPPENS WHEN DRIVING AND WHEN THE VEHICLE IS STANDING STILL. IT ALSO ALMOST DIES AT STOP LIGHTS AND STOP SIGNS. THIS HAPPENS ON THE HIGHWAY AND ON CITY STREETS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 274
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds