Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 2117 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (131) Equipment Adaptive (2) Lane Departure (1) Service Brakes (24) Traction Control System (14)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (14) Latches Locks Linkages (37) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (378) Fuel Propulsion System (198) Other (2) Steering (1190) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel System Gasoline (217) Power Train (132) Structure (49) Visibility (16)
Engine (71) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (47) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (43) Interior Lighting (4) Seats (3) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 272
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/9/2017 - FISHERS, IN
BACK GAS SMELL.

View Details

STEERING

3/9/2017 - CLARKVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING COLUMN MADE A CLICKING NOISE WHILE BEING DRIVEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/8/2017 - OLDSMAR, FL
THE ACTIVATING SWITCH FOR THE PASSENGER-SIDE AIR BAG FAILED AROUND 78,000 MILES. THIS SEAT SWITCH ACTIVATES THE PASSENGER AIRBAG SAFETY SYSTEM WHEN AN OCCUPANT SITS DOWN IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. I WAS TOLD AT THE TIME WE HAD THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL REPAIR DONE TO THE CAR THAT THE ONLY WAY TO REPLACE THE BROKEN SEAT SWITCH WAS TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SEAT COVER. TO DO THIS REQUIRES AN INITIAL OUTLAY OF $150.00 DOLLARS FOR THE PART( THE SWITCH IS WOVEN INTO THE SEAT FABRIC)PLUS LABOR TO INSTALL(PRICE UNKNOWN)AT THE DEALERSHIP. WITHOUT REGARD TO AGE,WEIGHT OR GENDER ANY FRONT SEAT PASSENGER MAY BELIEVE THEY ARE PROTECTED UPON READING THE DASHBOARD 'AIRBAG' SIGN WHEN SITTING IN THE CAR. THE PANEL-MOUNTED INDICATOR FOR THAT AIRBAG IS A LIGHTED DISPLAY WHICH, IN DAYLIGHT, IS HARD TO SEE WITHOUT CUPPING YOUR HAND OVER THE ANNUNCIATOR-OR WAIT UNTIL NIGHTFALL , GET SOMEBODY TO SIT IN THE SEAT, AND THEN CHECK OUT THE DASH LIGHT.

View Details

SEATS

3/8/2017 - OLDSMAR, FL
THE ACTIVATING SWITCH FOR THE PASSENGER-SIDE AIR BAG FAILED AROUND 78,000 MILES. THIS SEAT SWITCH ACTIVATES THE PASSENGER AIRBAG SAFETY SYSTEM WHEN AN OCCUPANT SITS DOWN IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. I WAS TOLD AT THE TIME WE HAD THE IGNITION SWITCH RECALL REPAIR DONE TO THE CAR THAT THE ONLY WAY TO REPLACE THE BROKEN SEAT SWITCH WAS TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SEAT COVER. TO DO THIS REQUIRES AN INITIAL OUTLAY OF $150.00 DOLLARS FOR THE PART( THE SWITCH IS WOVEN INTO THE SEAT FABRIC)PLUS LABOR TO INSTALL(PRICE UNKNOWN)AT THE DEALERSHIP. WITHOUT REGARD TO AGE,WEIGHT OR GENDER ANY FRONT SEAT PASSENGER MAY BELIEVE THEY ARE PROTECTED UPON READING THE DASHBOARD 'AIRBAG' SIGN WHEN SITTING IN THE CAR. THE PANEL-MOUNTED INDICATOR FOR THAT AIRBAG IS A LIGHTED DISPLAY WHICH, IN DAYLIGHT, IS HARD TO SEE WITHOUT CUPPING YOUR HAND OVER THE ANNUNCIATOR-OR WAIT UNTIL NIGHTFALL , GET SOMEBODY TO SIT IN THE SEAT, AND THEN CHECK OUT THE DASH LIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

3/5/2017 - BIG ISLAND, VA
WHILE DRIVING MY TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON THEN MY POWER STEERING FLASHED ON AS WELL. MY CAR JERSEY LIKE IT WAS GONNA CUT OFF. I CUTHINK IT OFF AND IT STARTED BACK UP. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH COBALTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2017 - BIG ISLAND, VA
WHILE DRIVING MY TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON THEN MY POWER STEERING FLASHED ON AS WELL. MY CAR JERSEY LIKE IT WAS GONNA CUT OFF. I CUTHINK IT OFF AND IT STARTED BACK UP. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH COBALTS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/4/2017 - PARMA, OH
A FEW DAYS AGO, WE WERE IN THE GARAGE AND A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE WAS COMING FROM OUR CAR, A 2006 CHEVY COBALT. WE CHECKED ONLINE TO GET THIS PROBLEM FIXED AND NOTICED THAT ONLY COBALTS MANUFACTURED IN ARIZONA AND NEVADA WERE COVERED. REALLY GM. SINCE WE LIVE IN OHIO, OUR SAFETY IS NOT HIGH ON THE LIST AS THOSE WHO LIVE IN ARIZONA AND NEVADA. I REALLY HOPE THAT NHTSA CAN ENFORCE A RECALL SO THIS ISSUE CAN BE FIXED. THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS SURROUNDING THIS ISSUE ON THE INTERNET.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/3/2017 - NAPOLEON, OH
SMELLED GAS OUTSIDE AND INSIDE CAR WHILE DRIVING AND PARKED. LOOKED UNDER CAR AND GAS WAS LEAKING FROM FUEL LINE IN FRONT OF DRIVER REAR TIRE. FUEL LINE IN CLOSE QUARTERS WITH EXHAUST AND WAS SPRAYING ONTO EXHAUST PIPE. CONTACTED DEALER TO CHECK ON PRICE OF REPAIR OR RECALL AND DEALER STATED THEY HAVE HAD MANY COBALTS SIMILAR YEAR WITH LEAKING FUEL LINE IN SAME LOCATION. STATED GM USED AN ABSORBENT HEAT WRAP ON THAT SECTION OF FUEL LINE AND THAT IS CORRODING THE LINE. COST FOR REPLACING LINES WAS OVER $800. I AM DECIDING ON REPAIR ROUTE DUE TO EXCESSIVE COST OF REPAIR. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FAILURE IN GM'S END AND NEEDS THE FUEL LINE RECALLED. APPEARS BOTH LINES ARE LEAKING RIGHT BY EACH OTHER. THIS IS A FIRE/EXPLOSION HAZARD AND IS VERY COMMON. GM RECALLED THE FUEL PUMPS FOR POSSIBLE LEAKS BUT NOT THESE FAILING LINES? MY GARAGE KEPT LOW MILEAGE (97000) CAR SHOULD NOT NEED IT'S FUEL LINES REPLACED ALREADY, ESPECIALLY AT $800 PLUS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/1/2017 - ST LOUIS, MO
THERE IS A FUEL PUMP LEAK. ALSO THERE IS A RECALL ON OTHER COBALTS FOR THIS PROBLEM, BUT ACCORDING TO THE WEBSITE MY CAR IS NOT COVERED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/27/2017 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
GAS IS LEAKING ONTO THE GROUND ON THE DRIVERS SIDE UNDER THE CAR. LEAKS WHEN CAR IS ON AND FOR A MINUTES OR TWO WHEN CAR IS TURNED OFF.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 272
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds