Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 2229 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (138) Equipment Adaptive (2) Lane Departure (1) Service Brakes (24) Traction Control System (14)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (16) Latches Locks Linkages (37) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Unknown Or Other (30)
Electrical System (401) Fuel Propulsion System (223) Other (2) Steering (1258) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel System Gasoline (217) Power Train (136) Structure (51) Visibility (16)
Engine (81) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (48) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (43) Interior Lighting (4) Seats (3) Tires (5) Wheels (8)
Equipment (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 288
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/30/2019 - LAS VEGAS, NV
LOSS OF STEERING CAPABILITIES. CAR WILL NOT STEER WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

5/31/2019 - MILLEDGEVILLE, GA
EVERY TIME IT GETS TOO HOT OUTSIDE MY POWER STEERING COMES ON IN MY CAR SWITCH MAKES IT JERK THE CAR AND MY ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON...THIS PROBLEM HAPPENS WHEN THE CAR IS MOVING AND WHEN IT+S STATIONARY. WHEN IT+S STATIONARY IT LOCKS MY STEERING WHEEL AND IT+S MOVING IT MAKES THE CAR JERK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/31/2019 - MILLEDGEVILLE, GA
EVERY TIME IT GETS TOO HOT OUTSIDE MY POWER STEERING COMES ON IN MY CAR SWITCH MAKES IT JERK THE CAR AND MY ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON...THIS PROBLEM HAPPENS WHEN THE CAR IS MOVING AND WHEN IT+S STATIONARY. WHEN IT+S STATIONARY IT LOCKS MY STEERING WHEEL AND IT+S MOVING IT MAKES THE CAR JERK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/22/2019 - AVONDALE, AZ
FOR THE PAST THREE DAYS DRIVING TO AND FROM WORK MY CHEVY COBALT HAS BEEN PUTTING ME IN DANGER. WHEN I START TO BREAK, SOMETIMES THE SYMBOL WITH A LOCK AND KEY, AND AIR BAG LIGHTS WILL TURN ON AND THE CAR STEERING WHEEL WOULD LOCK AND THE BRAKES WOULD COME UP RESULTING IN THE CAR BEING TURNED OFF WHILE I AM ON DRIVE. THIS IS DANGEROUS BECAUSE I CANNOT TURN THE WHEEL AND THE BRAKE IS ALSO LOCKED. I GET OUT OF MY CAR IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC TO PUSH IT BY MYSELF THEN JUMP IN IT AND TRY TO START IT. THIS METHOD WORKS SOMETIMES BUT IS DANGEROUS TO NOT ONLY MYSELF BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY OTHERS. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS THE MAIN CAUSE FOR THIS ISSUE HOWEVER I DID SOME RESEARCH AND DID NOT SEE ANY RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM. I NEED HELP FINGERING IT OUT BEFORE I HURT MYSELF OR OTHERS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD DRIVING UNABLE TO STEER OR BREAK

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/22/2019 - AVONDALE, AZ
FOR THE PAST THREE DAYS DRIVING TO AND FROM WORK MY CHEVY COBALT HAS BEEN PUTTING ME IN DANGER. WHEN I START TO BREAK, SOMETIMES THE SYMBOL WITH A LOCK AND KEY, AND AIR BAG LIGHTS WILL TURN ON AND THE CAR STEERING WHEEL WOULD LOCK AND THE BRAKES WOULD COME UP RESULTING IN THE CAR BEING TURNED OFF WHILE I AM ON DRIVE. THIS IS DANGEROUS BECAUSE I CANNOT TURN THE WHEEL AND THE BRAKE IS ALSO LOCKED. I GET OUT OF MY CAR IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC TO PUSH IT BY MYSELF THEN JUMP IN IT AND TRY TO START IT. THIS METHOD WORKS SOMETIMES BUT IS DANGEROUS TO NOT ONLY MYSELF BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY OTHERS. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS THE MAIN CAUSE FOR THIS ISSUE HOWEVER I DID SOME RESEARCH AND DID NOT SEE ANY RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM. I NEED HELP FINGERING IT OUT BEFORE I HURT MYSELF OR OTHERS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD DRIVING UNABLE TO STEER OR BREAK

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2019 - AVONDALE, AZ
FOR THE PAST THREE DAYS DRIVING TO AND FROM WORK MY CHEVY COBALT HAS BEEN PUTTING ME IN DANGER. WHEN I START TO BREAK, SOMETIMES THE SYMBOL WITH A LOCK AND KEY, AND AIR BAG LIGHTS WILL TURN ON AND THE CAR STEERING WHEEL WOULD LOCK AND THE BRAKES WOULD COME UP RESULTING IN THE CAR BEING TURNED OFF WHILE I AM ON DRIVE. THIS IS DANGEROUS BECAUSE I CANNOT TURN THE WHEEL AND THE BRAKE IS ALSO LOCKED. I GET OUT OF MY CAR IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC TO PUSH IT BY MYSELF THEN JUMP IN IT AND TRY TO START IT. THIS METHOD WORKS SOMETIMES BUT IS DANGEROUS TO NOT ONLY MYSELF BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY OTHERS. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS THE MAIN CAUSE FOR THIS ISSUE HOWEVER I DID SOME RESEARCH AND DID NOT SEE ANY RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM. I NEED HELP FINGERING IT OUT BEFORE I HURT MYSELF OR OTHERS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD DRIVING UNABLE TO STEER OR BREAK

View Details

STEERING

5/20/2019 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. NIMNITCH CHEVROLET (550 CASSAT AVE, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32210, (904) 638-7986) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

5/1/2019 - KITTANNING, PA
TAKATA RECALL LOSS OF POWER STEERING FOR NO REASON

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/18/2019 - VACHERIE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE ODOR OF FUEL WAS PRESENT INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. UPON INSPECTION, THE CONTACT NOTICED PUDDLES OF FUEL UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2019 - ROBBINS, IL
+TAKATA RECALL+ MY MOTHER+S COBALT HAS STALLED ON HER MANY TIMES AT STOPLIGHTS AND ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENTS BECAUSE WHEN THE CAR MAKES A STOP AT A STOPLIGHT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND POWER STEERING AND EVERYTHING GOES OUT AND THE KEY WON+T TURN. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS CAR TO DRIVE IN PLEASE PUT A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE, SHE IS AN OLDER WOMAN AND IT ISN+T SAFE FOR ANYONE TO DRIVE AT THIS POINT. ONE OF THE ALMOST ACCIDENT HAPPENED ON A CITY STREET AND SHE ALMOST WAS REAR ENDED SINCE SHE COULDN+T MOVE IN TIME AND THE CAR GOES OUT AT ANY MOMENT IT WANTS TO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 288
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds