Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 2157 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (134) Equipment Adaptive (2) Lane Departure (1) Service Brakes (24) Traction Control System (14)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (15) Latches Locks Linkages (37) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (384) Fuel Propulsion System (208) Other (2) Steering (1211) Vehicle Speed Control (43)
Electronic Stability Control (24) Fuel System Gasoline (217) Power Train (133) Structure (50) Visibility (16)
Engine (76) Fuel System Other (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (47) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (43) Interior Lighting (4) Seats (3) Tires (5) Wheels (7)
Equipment (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 277
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/6/2017 - ENGLEWOOD, CO
POWER STEERING FAILURE AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON DASHBOARD. CAR IS DRIVABLE BUT POWER STEERING FAILS OFTEN AT TIMES WHEN DRIVING. WAS ALMOST IN BAD CAR ACCIDENT IF I HAD NOT PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

STEERING

12/6/2017 - ENGLEWOOD, CO
POWER STEERING FAILURE AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON DASHBOARD. CAR IS DRIVABLE BUT POWER STEERING FAILS OFTEN AT TIMES WHEN DRIVING. WAS ALMOST IN BAD CAR ACCIDENT IF I HAD NOT PULLED OFF THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/4/2017 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
A FEW YEARS AGO I HAD MY CAR SENT IN FOR THE RECALL THAT CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SHUT OFF. NOW I AM HAVING THE EXACT SAME ISSUE AGAIN! WHEN I COME TO A STOP OR SLOW DOWN AT AN INTERSECTION THE VEHICLE WILL SHUT OFF AND LOSE ALL POWER! I HAVE DONE A LOT OF RESEARCH AND THIS IS STILL HAPPENING FOR A LOT OF PEOPLE. MECHANICS CANNOT GIVE A FOR SURE ANSWER AS TO WHAT COULD POSSIBLY BE CAUSING THIS ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/12/2017 - OSKALOOSA, KS
THE VEHICLE CAN MESS UP FROM EITHER DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY OR TRYING TO ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE ON CITY STREET OR HIGHWAY THAT THE ENGINE STALLS AND SAYS "ENGINE POWER REDUCED" THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALONG WITH THE T/C LIGHT COMES ON. IT HAPPENS MULTIPLE TIMES IN JUST 30 MINUTES OF DRIVING, MORE FOR LONGER TRIPS. IT WILL EVEN DO IT IN 10 MINUTES OF DRIVING. YOU HAVE TO PULL OVER AND TURN VEHICLE OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES AND THEN IT DRIVES FINE FOR MAYBE A MILE DOWN THE ROAD BEFORE IT DOES IT AGAIN, OR, YOU CAN CONTINUE DRIVING IT WITH THE PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR BOARD TRYING TO GET SPEED WHICH IF YOU DO THE CAR SHIFTS GEAR VERY BADLY AND RIDES ROUGH BUT WHEN YOU'RE TRYING TO GET TO WORK ON TIME YOU DO WHAT YOU HAVE TOO. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC 3 TIMES OVER THIS. THROTTLE BODY WAS CHANGED (TWICE), THEY REPLACED THE COMPUTER AND CLEANED THE WIRES. ONE MECHANIC WAS THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THEY NEEDED IT THERE WHEN IT HAPPENED TO BETTER DIAGNOSE THE SITUATION. I DO NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO LET THEM JUST KEEP MY VEHICLE. I HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR. I BOUGHT IT USED. I HAVE A LOAN ON THE VEHICLE AND I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THIS ANY FURTHER THAN I HAVE TO BECAUSE I KNOW THE VEHICLE WILL MESS UP. I HAVE TWO CHILDREN THAT I HAVE TO PUT IN THIS VEHICLE TO TAKE PLACES. THIS VEHICLE IS EXTREMELY UNSAFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT HELP WITH THIS SITUATION!! THIS FIRST HAPPENED IN NOVEMBER OF 2016. I DO NOT KNOW THE DAY SPECIFICALLY. I DO REMEMBER IT DID NOT FALL UNDER THE DEALERSHIPS WARRANTY THAT I GOT IT FROM.

View Details

ENGINE

11/12/2017 - OSKALOOSA, KS
THE VEHICLE CAN MESS UP FROM EITHER DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY OR TRYING TO ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE ON CITY STREET OR HIGHWAY THAT THE ENGINE STALLS AND SAYS "ENGINE POWER REDUCED" THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALONG WITH THE T/C LIGHT COMES ON. IT HAPPENS MULTIPLE TIMES IN JUST 30 MINUTES OF DRIVING, MORE FOR LONGER TRIPS. IT WILL EVEN DO IT IN 10 MINUTES OF DRIVING. YOU HAVE TO PULL OVER AND TURN VEHICLE OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES AND THEN IT DRIVES FINE FOR MAYBE A MILE DOWN THE ROAD BEFORE IT DOES IT AGAIN, OR, YOU CAN CONTINUE DRIVING IT WITH THE PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR BOARD TRYING TO GET SPEED WHICH IF YOU DO THE CAR SHIFTS GEAR VERY BADLY AND RIDES ROUGH BUT WHEN YOU'RE TRYING TO GET TO WORK ON TIME YOU DO WHAT YOU HAVE TOO. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC 3 TIMES OVER THIS. THROTTLE BODY WAS CHANGED (TWICE), THEY REPLACED THE COMPUTER AND CLEANED THE WIRES. ONE MECHANIC WAS THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THEY NEEDED IT THERE WHEN IT HAPPENED TO BETTER DIAGNOSE THE SITUATION. I DO NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO LET THEM JUST KEEP MY VEHICLE. I HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR. I BOUGHT IT USED. I HAVE A LOAN ON THE VEHICLE AND I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THIS ANY FURTHER THAN I HAVE TO BECAUSE I KNOW THE VEHICLE WILL MESS UP. I HAVE TWO CHILDREN THAT I HAVE TO PUT IN THIS VEHICLE TO TAKE PLACES. THIS VEHICLE IS EXTREMELY UNSAFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT HELP WITH THIS SITUATION!! THIS FIRST HAPPENED IN NOVEMBER OF 2016. I DO NOT KNOW THE DAY SPECIFICALLY. I DO REMEMBER IT DID NOT FALL UNDER THE DEALERSHIPS WARRANTY THAT I GOT IT FROM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/12/2017 - OSKALOOSA, KS
THE VEHICLE CAN MESS UP FROM EITHER DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY OR TRYING TO ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE ON CITY STREET OR HIGHWAY THAT THE ENGINE STALLS AND SAYS "ENGINE POWER REDUCED" THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALONG WITH THE T/C LIGHT COMES ON. IT HAPPENS MULTIPLE TIMES IN JUST 30 MINUTES OF DRIVING, MORE FOR LONGER TRIPS. IT WILL EVEN DO IT IN 10 MINUTES OF DRIVING. YOU HAVE TO PULL OVER AND TURN VEHICLE OFF FOR A FEW MINUTES AND THEN IT DRIVES FINE FOR MAYBE A MILE DOWN THE ROAD BEFORE IT DOES IT AGAIN, OR, YOU CAN CONTINUE DRIVING IT WITH THE PEDAL ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR BOARD TRYING TO GET SPEED WHICH IF YOU DO THE CAR SHIFTS GEAR VERY BADLY AND RIDES ROUGH BUT WHEN YOU'RE TRYING TO GET TO WORK ON TIME YOU DO WHAT YOU HAVE TOO. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC 3 TIMES OVER THIS. THROTTLE BODY WAS CHANGED (TWICE), THEY REPLACED THE COMPUTER AND CLEANED THE WIRES. ONE MECHANIC WAS THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THEY NEEDED IT THERE WHEN IT HAPPENED TO BETTER DIAGNOSE THE SITUATION. I DO NOT HAVE THE ABILITY TO LET THEM JUST KEEP MY VEHICLE. I HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR. I BOUGHT IT USED. I HAVE A LOAN ON THE VEHICLE AND I AM SCARED TO DRIVE THIS ANY FURTHER THAN I HAVE TO BECAUSE I KNOW THE VEHICLE WILL MESS UP. I HAVE TWO CHILDREN THAT I HAVE TO PUT IN THIS VEHICLE TO TAKE PLACES. THIS VEHICLE IS EXTREMELY UNSAFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT HELP WITH THIS SITUATION!! THIS FIRST HAPPENED IN NOVEMBER OF 2016. I DO NOT KNOW THE DAY SPECIFICALLY. I DO REMEMBER IT DID NOT FALL UNDER THE DEALERSHIPS WARRANTY THAT I GOT IT FROM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/11/2017 - BOISE, ID
SOME TIME AGO I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR THE FUEL LINES. I CONTACTED DEALERSHIP AND THEY REFUSED TO REPAIR. CURRENTLY I HAVE AN ACTIVE FUEL LEAK AROUND FUEL TANK WHEN DRIVING. SOMEBODY TOLD ME ABOUT THIS WEBSITE, SO I AM WRITING HERE TO SEE IF SOMEBODY CAN ENFORCE RECALL FOR MY CAR. I DON'T REMEMBER NOW WHEN I WAS REJECTED, SO I WILL PUT /1/1/2016 FOR THE DATE. THANKS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/2/2017 - WATERFORD, MI
MY 2006 CHEVY COBALT SS SMELLS OF GAS BOTH INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. I RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE WITH MY MAKE/MODEL/YEAR OF CAR AND FOUND THAT OTHER STATES (NOT MINE), HAD A RECALL INVOLVING THE FUEL PUMP ON THIS CAR. I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY OTHER STATES DIDN'T RECALL THIS ISSUE WHEN MANY OTHER STATES HAVE COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE? I LIVE IN MICHIGAN AND MANY OTHERS HAVE POSTED THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THEIR CAR YET NONE OF US ARE IN THE 2 STATES WITH THE RECALL. ALL STATES SHOULD BE INCLUDED AS THIS CAN CAUSE A FIRE! I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY FOR THIS TO BE FIXED WHEN IT IS OBVIOULSY A SERIOUS PROBLEM!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/30/2017 - MILWAUKEE, WI
CAR IS LEAKING GAS BADLY FROM TOP OF GAS TANK.

View Details

STEERING

10/24/2017 - WARREN, OH
MY RACK AND PINION WHICH IS PART OF THE POWER STEERING HAS SEPARATED AND I AM HAVING TROUBLE STEERING. I HAD MY CAR DIAGNOSED RECENTLY AND THEY MECHANICS AT MIDAS GAVE ME AN ESTIMATE SAYING I NEED TO HAVE MY RACK AND PINION REPLACED. MY RACK AND PINION IS CLANGING TOGETHER WHERE IT SEPARATED WHEN I DRIVE. THE MECHANICS TOLD ME MY STEERING COULD GO OUT AT ANY TIME

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 277
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds