Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 495 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (116) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (102) Steering (135) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (15) Structure (23) Visibility (26)
Engine (49) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (12) Tires (26) Wheels (8)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/24/2018 - MOBILE, AL
IT JUST BEEN A LIKE A REAL ELECTRICAL PROBLEM LIKE IF I PULL OUT IN TRAFFIC IS STALLED IT HESITATE IT HAS BEEN HIT A FEW TIMES LIKE THAT AND LIKE IT JUST HAVE TO GET A JUMP OFF EVERY MORNING AND EVERY EVENING JUST TO GO ANYWHERE AND I TRULY DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO I'M TAKING BACK TO THE DEALER THAT I BOUGHT IT FROM ME AT LIKE I DON'T KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH IT AND I'M TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC SHOP AND THEY SAY IT'S ELECTRICAL DEFECT IT IT'S GOING TO KILL THE WHOLE CAR AND IT'S GOING TO EVENTUALLY KILL ME

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/24/2018 - MOBILE, AL
IT JUST BEEN A LIKE A REAL ELECTRICAL PROBLEM LIKE IF I PULL OUT IN TRAFFIC IS STALLED IT HESITATE IT HAS BEEN HIT A FEW TIMES LIKE THAT AND LIKE IT JUST HAVE TO GET A JUMP OFF EVERY MORNING AND EVERY EVENING JUST TO GO ANYWHERE AND I TRULY DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO I'M TAKING BACK TO THE DEALER THAT I BOUGHT IT FROM ME AT LIKE I DON'T KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH IT AND I'M TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC SHOP AND THEY SAY IT'S ELECTRICAL DEFECT IT IT'S GOING TO KILL THE WHOLE CAR AND IT'S GOING TO EVENTUALLY KILL ME

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/24/2018 - MOBILE, AL
IT JUST BEEN A LIKE A REAL ELECTRICAL PROBLEM LIKE IF I PULL OUT IN TRAFFIC IS STALLED IT HESITATE IT HAS BEEN HIT A FEW TIMES LIKE THAT AND LIKE IT JUST HAVE TO GET A JUMP OFF EVERY MORNING AND EVERY EVENING JUST TO GO ANYWHERE AND I TRULY DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO I'M TAKING BACK TO THE DEALER THAT I BOUGHT IT FROM ME AT LIKE I DON'T KNOW WHAT'S WRONG WITH IT AND I'M TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC SHOP AND THEY SAY IT'S ELECTRICAL DEFECT IT IT'S GOING TO KILL THE WHOLE CAR AND IT'S GOING TO EVENTUALLY KILL ME

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2018 - GOLDSBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WHEN THE VEHICLE ATTEMPTED TO TURN A CORNER. THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE FLIPPED INTO A DITCH. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AND CAUSED MINOR INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A COLLISION CENTER WHERE IT WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS. THE DEALER (CHEVROLET OF GOLDSBORO, 3300 HIGHWAY 70 BYPASS, EAST GOLDSBORO, NC 27534, (919)-429-9909) WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS RELATED TO THE VIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 148,507.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/29/2018 - MEADOWVIEW, VA
THE CHECK BATTERY SYSTEM LIGHT WAS ON FOR ABOUT 3 WEEKS ,WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE AND BURNT TO THE GROUND, THE FIRE DEPARTMENT AND STATE.POLICE SAID THAT IT WAS AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. IWAS ON THE HIGHWAY AND BARELY GOT OUT OF THE CAR BEFORE THE WHOLE CAR WAS UP IN FLAMES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/29/2018 - ANKENY, IA
KEY IS STUCK IN THE IGNITION SWITCH WHEN THE VEHICLE IS PLACED INTO PARK AND POWERED OFF. I AM TO UNDERSTAND THIS IS DUE TO POOR WIRING.

View Details

STEERING

5/2/2018 - NORTH LIBERTY, IA
STEERING PUMP HAS FAILED. STEERING WILL NOT WORK WHEN I BRAKE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

4/3/2018 - BRADENTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK WHEN PROMPTED. A DEALER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE DOOR WAS DISASSEMBLED, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THERE WAS NO DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 164,490.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/3/2018 - BRADENTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK WHEN PROMPTED. A DEALER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE DOOR WAS DISASSEMBLED, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THERE WAS NO DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 164,490.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/24/2018 - KENT, WA
SUNROOF EXPLODED. SEVERAL YEARS AGO, I WAS DRIVING ON A SUNNY DAY, AROUND 70 DEGREES. IT WAS A 2-LANE HIGHWAY, AND THERE WERE NO VEHICLES NEARBY IN EITHER DIRECTION, NO TREES NEAR THE HIGHWAY, AND THE ROADWAY WAS CLEAR. I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 55-60 MPH. THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOUD CRACKING SOUND, AND SEVERAL SECONDS LATER A LOUDER BANG. I STOPPED AND FOUND THE SUNROOF WAS IN TINY PIECES. FORTUNATELY, THE INSIDE COVER WAS CLOSED, SO THE AMOUNT OF GLASS COMING INTO THE CAR WAS FAIRLY SMALL. I NO LONGER OWN THIS CAR. I'M NOT LOOKING FOR ANY KIND OF HELP ON THIS. I JUST RECENTLY BECAME AWARE THAT THIS IS A FAIRLY COMMON ISSUE, AND SIMPLY WANTED TO REPORT IT. THE DATE BELOW IS A GUESS, MIGHT EVEN BE A YEAR OR TWO OFF.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds