Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET IMPALA - 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 492 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (4)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (114) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Power Train (101) Steering (134) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seat Belts (15) Structure (23) Visibility (26)
Engine (49) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (19) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (12) Tires (26) Wheels (8)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/29/2018 - ANKENY, IA
KEY IS STUCK IN THE IGNITION SWITCH WHEN THE VEHICLE IS PLACED INTO PARK AND POWERED OFF. I AM TO UNDERSTAND THIS IS DUE TO POOR WIRING.

View Details

STEERING

5/2/2018 - NORTH LIBERTY, IA
STEERING PUMP HAS FAILED. STEERING WILL NOT WORK WHEN I BRAKE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/3/2018 - BRADENTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK WHEN PROMPTED. A DEALER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE DOOR WAS DISASSEMBLED, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THERE WAS NO DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 164,490.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

4/3/2018 - BRADENTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET IMPALA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT UNLOCK WHEN PROMPTED. A DEALER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE DOOR WAS DISASSEMBLED, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THERE WAS NO DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 164,490.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/24/2018 - KENT, WA
SUNROOF EXPLODED. SEVERAL YEARS AGO, I WAS DRIVING ON A SUNNY DAY, AROUND 70 DEGREES. IT WAS A 2-LANE HIGHWAY, AND THERE WERE NO VEHICLES NEARBY IN EITHER DIRECTION, NO TREES NEAR THE HIGHWAY, AND THE ROADWAY WAS CLEAR. I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 55-60 MPH. THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOUD CRACKING SOUND, AND SEVERAL SECONDS LATER A LOUDER BANG. I STOPPED AND FOUND THE SUNROOF WAS IN TINY PIECES. FORTUNATELY, THE INSIDE COVER WAS CLOSED, SO THE AMOUNT OF GLASS COMING INTO THE CAR WAS FAIRLY SMALL. I NO LONGER OWN THIS CAR. I'M NOT LOOKING FOR ANY KIND OF HELP ON THIS. I JUST RECENTLY BECAME AWARE THAT THIS IS A FAIRLY COMMON ISSUE, AND SIMPLY WANTED TO REPORT IT. THE DATE BELOW IS A GUESS, MIGHT EVEN BE A YEAR OR TWO OFF.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/24/2018 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I WOULD LIKE IT DOCUMENTED THAT SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED ALL DUE TO A KNOWN AND REPORTED ISSUED UNLESS CHEVY DOES THE RIGHT THING AND ISSUES A RECALL IMMEDIATELY! I HAVE A 2006 IMPALA AND WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 70 MILES PER HOUR MY VEHICLE DROPPED DOWN TO 15 MPH SAYING REDUCED ENGINE POWER THEN COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON THE HIGHWAY. PLEASE NOTE MY 2 YEAR OLD SON, AND 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WERE IN THE VEHICLE WITH ME. I WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO MAKE IT OFF TO THE SIDE WITHOUT BEING HIT MUCH LESS KILLED BUT OTHER PEOPLE NOT MAY BE SO FORTUNATE. WHAT IS IT GOING TO TAKE FOR A RECALL TO BE ISSUED?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/24/2018 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I WOULD LIKE IT DOCUMENTED THAT SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED ALL DUE TO A KNOWN AND REPORTED ISSUED UNLESS CHEVY DOES THE RIGHT THING AND ISSUES A RECALL IMMEDIATELY! I HAVE A 2006 IMPALA AND WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 70 MILES PER HOUR MY VEHICLE DROPPED DOWN TO 15 MPH SAYING REDUCED ENGINE POWER THEN COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON THE HIGHWAY. PLEASE NOTE MY 2 YEAR OLD SON, AND 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WERE IN THE VEHICLE WITH ME. I WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO MAKE IT OFF TO THE SIDE WITHOUT BEING HIT MUCH LESS KILLED BUT OTHER PEOPLE NOT MAY BE SO FORTUNATE. WHAT IS IT GOING TO TAKE FOR A RECALL TO BE ISSUED?

View Details

ENGINE

1/24/2018 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I WOULD LIKE IT DOCUMENTED THAT SOMEONE IS GOING TO BE SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED ALL DUE TO A KNOWN AND REPORTED ISSUED UNLESS CHEVY DOES THE RIGHT THING AND ISSUES A RECALL IMMEDIATELY! I HAVE A 2006 IMPALA AND WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 70 MILES PER HOUR MY VEHICLE DROPPED DOWN TO 15 MPH SAYING REDUCED ENGINE POWER THEN COMPLETELY SHUT OFF ON THE HIGHWAY. PLEASE NOTE MY 2 YEAR OLD SON, AND 10 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WERE IN THE VEHICLE WITH ME. I WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO MAKE IT OFF TO THE SIDE WITHOUT BEING HIT MUCH LESS KILLED BUT OTHER PEOPLE NOT MAY BE SO FORTUNATE. WHAT IS IT GOING TO TAKE FOR A RECALL TO BE ISSUED?

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/17/2018 - BRULE, WI
SERVICE AIRBAGS CAME UP ON THE

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/15/2018 - SAINT CLOUD, MN
TRANSMISSION REPLACED FOR THE 3RD TIME WITH 140009 MILES ON 2006 IMPALA SS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds