Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET MALIBU - 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 948 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (28) Equipment (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (59) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (2)
Electrical System (118) Fuel Propulsion System (43) Power Train (37) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Seat Belts (3) Steering (666) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Engine (27) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (9) Structure (6) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (46) Suspension (15) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 124
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/10/2018 - DESLOGE, MO
MY 06 MALIBU HAS INTERMIT POWER STEERING LOSS. I HAVE ALMOST HAD TWO ACCIDENTS WHEN THE POWER STEERING LOST OCCURRED. I HAVE RESEARCHED THAT GM HAS RECALLED CERTAIN VEHICLES FOR THIS CONDITION, BUT MINE HAS YET TO RECEIVE THIS RECALL. WHEN WILL GM FIX THE ISSUE WITH ALL VEHICLES EFFECTED BY THIS CONDITION. LOSS OF STEERING WHILE DRIVING IS NOT CONDUCIVE TO A SAFE CONDITION.

View Details

STEERING

11/9/2018 - COLUMBIA, SC
THE POWER STEERING RANDOMLY GOES OUT WHEN DRIVING AND WON+T WORK AGAIN UNTIL I CUT THE CAR OFF . THE DEALERSHIP WANT TO CHARGE ME $130 TO LOOK AT IT AND WAS SUPPOSEDLY FIX DURING THE RECALL IN 2015. THIS ISN+T FAIR CHEVY IS SCAMMING US AND POTENTIALY CAUSING INJURIES.

View Details

STEERING

11/4/2018 - TYLERTOWN, MS
THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT COMPLETELY AT RANDOM TIMES WHILE DRIVING. I CALLED CHEVROLET ABOUT THE RECALL ON IT AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY CLOSED THE RECALL AND ARE NO LONGER FIXING THE ISSUE. THE BRAKE LIGHTS ALSO STOP WORKING RANDOMLY. THE REAR BLINKERS HAVE STOPPED WORKING COMPLETELY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/4/2018 - TYLERTOWN, MS
THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT COMPLETELY AT RANDOM TIMES WHILE DRIVING. I CALLED CHEVROLET ABOUT THE RECALL ON IT AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY CLOSED THE RECALL AND ARE NO LONGER FIXING THE ISSUE. THE BRAKE LIGHTS ALSO STOP WORKING RANDOMLY. THE REAR BLINKERS HAVE STOPPED WORKING COMPLETELY.

View Details

STEERING

10/26/2018 - WEST COLUMBIA, SC
MY POWER STEERING GOES OUT AT RANDOM TIMES. I HAVE NOTED MOSTLY IN THE MIDDLE OF MAKING A TURN WHERE I WOULD BE ACCELERATING CAUSING ME TO USE EXCESSIVE FORCE TO COMPLETE THE TURN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/19/2018 - FORTWORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, IT STALLED WITHOUT WARNING ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. ON EACH OCCASION, THE CONTACT IMMEDIATELY ACTIVATED THE HAZARD LIGHTS AND COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WOULD NOT RESTART AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR, IGNITION SWITCH, STARTER, FUEL TANK, AND THE BATTERY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURES RECURRED. VANDERGRIFF CHEVROLET (1200 WEST INTERSTATE 20, ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76017, (682) 323-2486) WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2018 - FORTWORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, IT STALLED WITHOUT WARNING ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. ON EACH OCCASION, THE CONTACT IMMEDIATELY ACTIVATED THE HAZARD LIGHTS AND COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WOULD NOT RESTART AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR, IGNITION SWITCH, STARTER, FUEL TANK, AND THE BATTERY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURES RECURRED. VANDERGRIFF CHEVROLET (1200 WEST INTERSTATE 20, ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76017, (682) 323-2486) WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2018 - FORTWORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET MALIBU. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AND WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, IT STALLED WITHOUT WARNING ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. ON EACH OCCASION, THE CONTACT IMMEDIATELY ACTIVATED THE HAZARD LIGHTS AND COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WOULD NOT RESTART AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR, IGNITION SWITCH, STARTER, FUEL TANK, AND THE BATTERY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURES RECURRED. VANDERGRIFF CHEVROLET (1200 WEST INTERSTATE 20, ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76017, (682) 323-2486) WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED BY THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 180,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2018 - ARAB, AL
MY 2006 CHEVY HAS BEEN HAVING SOME SORT OF ELECTRICAL ISSUE. THE POWER LOCK DOOR WILL NOT UNLOCK BY PRESSING THE BUTTON AND INSTEAD WILL ON THEIR OWN LOCK AND UNLOCK THEMSELVES WITHOUT THE BUTTONS OR CAR RUNNING FOR SOME INSTANCES OF 1 MINUTE UP TO 5 MINUTES. WE HAVE HAD TO PRY A WINDOW OPEN TO GET INSIDE THE VEHICLE TO TURN THE VEHICLE OFF. HOWEVER SOMETIMES YOU ARE UNABLE TO GET THE DOORS TO UNLOCK WITHOUT TURNING THE KEYS IN THE MANUAL CAR LOCK LOCATED ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR. THE LOCK PULSE WHEN SITTING STILL OR DRIVING THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/18/2018 - ARAB, AL
SINCE I HAVE BOUGHT THIS USED CHEVY MALIBU, IF I PRESS THE GAS PEDAL TO ACCELERATE IT SOMETIMES LOCK MYSELF STEERING WHEEL IN POSITION, AND JERKS MY CAR A GOOD BIT. THEN MY CAR GIVES ME A ERROR MESSAGE ON MY RADIO STATING POWER STEERING PUMP FLUID. I HAVE DONE RESEARCH AND TOOK TO A MECHANIC AND NOBODY COULD FIND IT AND SUGGESTED IT MAY HAVE A FUSE NOT AN ACTUAL RESERVOIR FOR FLUID. IT OCCURS AT WHILE TURNING, DRIVING ON HIGHWAYS AND ALL OTHER ROADS, GOING UP AND DOWN HILLS OR MOUTAINS. AS WELL AS MY MIDDLE SEAT BELT BUCKLE NO LONGER LATCHING INTO THE BUCKLE WILL HOLD FOR A MOMENT AND THEN AFTER APPLYING BRAKES THE SAFETY BELT WILL DISLODGED FROM THE BUCKLE. ANOTHER ISSUE IS THE GAS HAND GOES FROM FULL TO EMPTY WILL SITTING STILL WITH THE CAR RUNNING. I CAN FILL THE TANK AND IT WILL SAY IT'S EMPTY AND WILL EVEN HAVE MY ESTIMATE MILES LEFT ALSO SAY LOW FUEL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 124
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds