Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (2) Structure (5) Traction Control System (2)
Electrical System (1) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (3) Suspension (1) Wheels (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Power Train (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/28/2019 - SETAUKET, NY
YESTERDAY WAS THE THREE YEAR ANNIVERSARY OF TAKATA'S FAILURE TO REPAIR MY AIRBAG. THAT IS THREE YEARS THAT THEY HAVE WANTONLY PLACED MYSELF AND MY FAMILY MEMBERS IN DANGER. FORCE THESE SCOFFLAWS TO REPLACE THOSE IEDS THEY HAVE SET IN FRONT OF MY FAMILY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/18/2019 - APPLETON, WI
SUDDEN AND COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE DUE TO A BROKEN REAR BRAKE LINE. BRAKES WORKED NORMALLY AND AT THE NEXT STOP THEY WENT COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR WITH NO BRAKING ACTION. I HAD TO USE DOWN SHIFTING TO SLOW AND THEN A SNOW BANK TO COMPLETELY STOP. THERE WAS NO INDICATOR WARNING LIGHTS UNTIL THE BRAKE PEDAL HIT THE FLOOR AND WENT OUT IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE PEDAL WAS RELEASED. THIS HAPPENED ON A CITY STREET WITH NO TRAFFIC AT 3 AM ON MY WAY TO WORK. I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT AT ABOUT 25 TO 30 MPH. AFTER LOOKING AT THE BRAKE LINES THEY ARE DRAMATICALLY RUSTED. THE SERVICE SHOP HAS EXPLAINED COMPLETE REPLACEMENT OF ALL LINES NEEDS TO BE DONE (APPOINTMENT TO DO THIS IS 3/20/2019).

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/7/2017 - PATTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER, WOOD CHEVROLET AT (814) 344-8250, AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY NEVER HEARD OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/7/2017 - PATTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER, WOOD CHEVROLET AT (814) 344-8250, AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY NEVER HEARD OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details

WHEELS

6/7/2017 - PATTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER, WOOD CHEVROLET AT (814) 344-8250, AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY NEVER HEARD OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/22/2017 - LONGWOOD, FL
TAKATA RECALL. WHAT IS A TIMELY MANNER EXPECTED FOR A RESOLUTION FOR MY RECALL? I RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER ON MY PASSENGER AIR BAG DATED MAY 2016 AND I NOW SEE THAT GM HAS BEEN GIVEN UNTIL AUGUST 2017 TO RESOLVE THE RECALL (15 MONTHS OF LITIGATION). IN THE MEAN TIME I CANNOT TRADE IN OR SELL THAT VEHICLE. GM SAYS WAIT UNTIL AUGUST 2017 FOR THE RESOLUTION. THE GM REPRESENTATIVE SAID I PROMISE IT IS SAFE TO DRIVE AND I SAID IT DOESN'T ALLOW THE TRADE BECAUSE DEALERS WONT TAKE IT WITH AN OUTSTANDING RECALL NOT REPAIRED. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT MINE AND MY FAMILY'S SAFETY AND WOULD APPRECIATE THE OPPORTUNITY TO BETTER UNDERSTAND WHY THE GM REPRESENTATIVE HAS TELL ME IT IS ABSOLUTELY SAFE AND WE HAVE HAD ZERO ACCIDENTS FROM IT. PLEASE HELP ME UNDERSTAND WHAT IS A TIMELY MANNER FOR GM TO RESOLVE A RECALL SENT TO ME BY THEM.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

11/13/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE INITIALLY ACCELERATED THEN HALTED. THE "TRACTION CONTROL ACTIVE" MESSAGE WAS DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHOCK ABSORBER AND HUBS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/13/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE INITIALLY ACCELERATED THEN HALTED. THE "TRACTION CONTROL ACTIVE" MESSAGE WAS DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHOCK ABSORBER AND HUBS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/12/2015 - STATE CENTER, IA
I WAS PULLING INTO MY DRIVEWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 15 MILES PER HOUR. MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND TWO OF MY DASH LIGHTS ILLUMINATED (T/C (TRACTION CONTROL), AND BRAKE LIGHT, ALSO HAD THE READOUT "SERVICE BRAKE SYSTEM". LUCKILY, I WAS ROLLING TO A STOP IN MY OWN DRIVEWAY AND AVOIDED HITTING MY OTHER PARKED CARS. I INSPECTED THE BRAKE SYSTEM AND FOUND THAT BRAKE FLUID WAS LEAKING BETWEEN THE ABS UNIT AND THE DRIVER SIDE REAR TIRE (MORE SPECIFICALLY NEAR THE FUEL TANK) FROM THE METAL BRAKE LINE. THE BRAKE RESERVOIR WAS HALF FULL OF BRAKE FLUID AND COMPLETELY DRAINED WITHIN TEN MINUTES OF JUST SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY . I INSPECTED FROM WHAT I COULD SEE CONCERNING THE UNDERSIDE METAL BRAKE LINES; ALL BRAKE LINES ARE RUSTED AND BRITTLE AND WILL NEED REPLACED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

12/27/2013 - AURORA, CO
MY SPECIFIC VEHICLE IS A 2006 SUBURBAN Z71 4-WHEEL DRIVE, 1/2-TON SUV. ON MANY TAHOES, SUBURBANS AND OTHER GENERAL MOTORS SUV-TYPE VEHICLES, THE LIFT GATE ASSEMBLY CAN BECOME STUCK IN THE LOCKED POSITION OR IN THE UNLOCKED (UNSECURED) POSITION ANY TIME THE BATTERY HAS NO VOLTAGE. IN THE CASE OF IT BEING LOCKED, THE LIFT GATE HAS NO MANUAL MEANS OF BEING OPENED - NO KEY INSERTION LOCATION WHATSOEVER. (THIS APPLIES ALSO TO THE LIFT-GATE GLASS.) THIS IS INDEED A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN RESOLVED MANY YEARS AGO. THIS COULD OCCUR IN A CRASH AS WELL AS ANY TIME THE BATTERY IS OLD OR HAS OTHERWISE LOST ITS CHARGE. ELDERLY FOLKS SHOULD NOT BE EXPECTED TO CLIMB OVER THE REAR SEATS TO RETRIEVE THINGS STORED 'IN THE BACK,' BUT EVEN IF THEY COULD GET BACK THERE, THERE IS NO INSIDE MANUAL OPENER MECHANISM TO OPEN THE REAR LIFT GLASS OR LIFT GATE. THERE ARE TIMES WHEN AN INFIRM PERSON MIGHT VERY WELL HAVE PLACED BABIES (OR PETS) IN THAT REAR COMPARTMENT AND IF IT IS NOT ABLE TO BE OPENED, AN EXTREME HAZARD COULD OCCUR. FURTHERMORE, REPLACEMENT OF BRAKE LAMPS, PARKING LAMPS, AND SIGNAL LAMPS FOR THE REAR ARE ALL IMPOSSIBLE WITHOUT BEING ABLE TO OPEN THE REAR LIFT-GATE. SIMPLY PUT, THERE SHOULD BE A MANUAL METHOD FOR OPENING THE LIFT GLASS AND THE LIFT GATE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds