Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (2) Structure (5) Traction Control System (2)
Electrical System (1) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Steering (3) Suspension (1) Wheels (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Power Train (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

6/7/2017 - PATTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER, WOOD CHEVROLET AT (814) 344-8250, AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY NEVER HEARD OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/7/2017 - PATTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER, WOOD CHEVROLET AT (814) 344-8250, AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY NEVER HEARD OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details

WHEELS

6/7/2017 - PATTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN, A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER, WOOD CHEVROLET AT (814) 344-8250, AND WAS INFORMED THAT THEY NEVER HEARD OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

11/13/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE INITIALLY ACCELERATED THEN HALTED. THE "TRACTION CONTROL ACTIVE" MESSAGE WAS DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHOCK ABSORBER AND HUBS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/13/2015 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE INITIALLY ACCELERATED THEN HALTED. THE "TRACTION CONTROL ACTIVE" MESSAGE WAS DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHOCK ABSORBER AND HUBS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/12/2015 - STATE CENTER, IA
I WAS PULLING INTO MY DRIVEWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 15 MILES PER HOUR. MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR AND TWO OF MY DASH LIGHTS ILLUMINATED (T/C (TRACTION CONTROL), AND BRAKE LIGHT, ALSO HAD THE READOUT "SERVICE BRAKE SYSTEM". LUCKILY, I WAS ROLLING TO A STOP IN MY OWN DRIVEWAY AND AVOIDED HITTING MY OTHER PARKED CARS. I INSPECTED THE BRAKE SYSTEM AND FOUND THAT BRAKE FLUID WAS LEAKING BETWEEN THE ABS UNIT AND THE DRIVER SIDE REAR TIRE (MORE SPECIFICALLY NEAR THE FUEL TANK) FROM THE METAL BRAKE LINE. THE BRAKE RESERVOIR WAS HALF FULL OF BRAKE FLUID AND COMPLETELY DRAINED WITHIN TEN MINUTES OF JUST SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY . I INSPECTED FROM WHAT I COULD SEE CONCERNING THE UNDERSIDE METAL BRAKE LINES; ALL BRAKE LINES ARE RUSTED AND BRITTLE AND WILL NEED REPLACED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

12/27/2013 - AURORA, CO
MY SPECIFIC VEHICLE IS A 2006 SUBURBAN Z71 4-WHEEL DRIVE, 1/2-TON SUV. ON MANY TAHOES, SUBURBANS AND OTHER GENERAL MOTORS SUV-TYPE VEHICLES, THE LIFT GATE ASSEMBLY CAN BECOME STUCK IN THE LOCKED POSITION OR IN THE UNLOCKED (UNSECURED) POSITION ANY TIME THE BATTERY HAS NO VOLTAGE. IN THE CASE OF IT BEING LOCKED, THE LIFT GATE HAS NO MANUAL MEANS OF BEING OPENED - NO KEY INSERTION LOCATION WHATSOEVER. (THIS APPLIES ALSO TO THE LIFT-GATE GLASS.) THIS IS INDEED A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN RESOLVED MANY YEARS AGO. THIS COULD OCCUR IN A CRASH AS WELL AS ANY TIME THE BATTERY IS OLD OR HAS OTHERWISE LOST ITS CHARGE. ELDERLY FOLKS SHOULD NOT BE EXPECTED TO CLIMB OVER THE REAR SEATS TO RETRIEVE THINGS STORED 'IN THE BACK,' BUT EVEN IF THEY COULD GET BACK THERE, THERE IS NO INSIDE MANUAL OPENER MECHANISM TO OPEN THE REAR LIFT GLASS OR LIFT GATE. THERE ARE TIMES WHEN AN INFIRM PERSON MIGHT VERY WELL HAVE PLACED BABIES (OR PETS) IN THAT REAR COMPARTMENT AND IF IT IS NOT ABLE TO BE OPENED, AN EXTREME HAZARD COULD OCCUR. FURTHERMORE, REPLACEMENT OF BRAKE LAMPS, PARKING LAMPS, AND SIGNAL LAMPS FOR THE REAR ARE ALL IMPOSSIBLE WITHOUT BEING ABLE TO OPEN THE REAR LIFT-GATE. SIMPLY PUT, THERE SHOULD BE A MANUAL METHOD FOR OPENING THE LIFT GLASS AND THE LIFT GATE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

4/3/2013 - CAPITOL HEIGHTS , MD
LATCH/ LOCK JUST STOP WORKING, HAD TO CRAWL OVER SEAT AND TAP ON THE LATCH TO RELEASE TO OPEN. MAJORITY OF THE TIME I HAD NO SUCCESS IN OPENING LATCH TCH IS OPEN AND I DON'T HAVE A KEY TO UNLOCK OR TO LOCK. THE LATCH APPEARS TO BE DEFECTIVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/12/2012 - RIVERSIDE, CA
WOULD DRIVE FINE AT TIMES. WHEN RESTARTED, ENGINE WOULD LOSE POWER, VERY SLUGGISH, UNABLE TO PICK UP SPEED. ON DASH, MESSAGE WOULD READ 'SERVICE STABILITY'. TOOK TO OUR LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER, THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPAIR, THEY COULD NOT TELL ME WHY MESSAGE WOULD APPEAR, ABSOLUTELY CLUELESS TO THE PROBLEM. THEN TOOK MY VEHICLE TO MY LOCAL MECHANIC, HE STATED HE HAD FOUR OTHER GMC VEHICLES COME IN WITH THE SAME MESSAGE ON DASH. HE STATED IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE TRANSFER CASE. THAT'S MORE THAN WHAT THE DEALER SAID. MY MECHANIC STATED HE ATTEMPTED TO GET THE PART, BUT ITEM IS ON BACK ORDER FROM MANUFACTURER. DOES THIS INDICATE THAT MANY MANY MORE VEHICLES ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM? HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING THIS PROBLEM FOR A WHILE. MY VEHICLE ONLY HAS 60,000 MILES, WAY UNDER THE AMOUNT OF MILES FOR A VEHICLE 6 YEARS OLD. THIS HAS TO BE A DEFECT. PLEASE HELP!!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

5/10/2012 - FORT WORTH, TX
I HAVE A 2006 CHEVY SUBURBAN Z71 WITH JUST OVER 95,500 MILES. THE REAR HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE LOCKING MECHANISM APPEARS TO HAVE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT IN AN ACCIDENT, AND NO OTHER EVENT OCURRED. THE LOCK SIMPLY QUIT WORKING. NEITHER THE DOOR NOR THE GLASS WILL UNLOCK. THERE IS NO MANUAL WAY TO UNLOCK OR OPEN THE REAR DOOR WHEN THE POWER LOCKS ARE NOT WORKING. THERE IS NOT AN EMERGENCY RELEASE TO POP THE REAR DOOR OR GLASS IN CASE OF EMERGENCY. ALL OTHER DOORS ON THE VEHICLE ARE STILL FUNCTIONAL MANUALLY AND ELECTRONICALLY. NO FUSES HAVE FAILED. I HAVE NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF A RECALL AND HAVE NOT FOLLOWED UP WITH THE DEALERSHIP OR A MECHANIC YET. IN 2006/2007 WE ALSO EXPERIENCED AN ODD ELECTRICAL PROBLEM THAT THE DEALERSHIP COULD NOT REPRODUCE. THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE AN OBVIOUS ELECTRICAL ODOR/BURNING SMELL AND VARIOUS LIGHTING FAILURES AFTER BEING IN HEAVY SNOW ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASSIONS. THE PROBLEM WAS LOGGED BUT NEVER OCCURRED AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds