Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 312 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (9)
Communications (13) Exterior Lighting (19) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (118) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (5) Steering (15) Visibility (39)
Engine (47) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (12) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/12/2017 - ALABASTER, AL
I HAVE A 2006 CONVERTIBLE PT CRUISER TURBO LITE (TURBO TUNED TO TAKE REGULAR GAS) - AND HAVE THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM THIS GUY I QUOTED BELOW HAD/HAS. RAW GAS FUMES FILL THE CAR EVERY TIME I TURN A CORNER OR ACCELERATE THE CAR TO PASS A SLOW MOVING VEHICLE ON THE INTERSTATE. USUALLY THE SLOW VEHICLE IS GOING ABOUT 60 SO IT'S NOT LIKE I THINK I'M ON THE SPEED-LIMIT-FREE AUTOBAHN. THE GAS TANK IS ALWAYS LESS THAN 1/2 FULL SINCE I RARELY DRIVE OUT OF TOWN. QUOTE FROM FACEBOOK - WARNING: ALL PT CRUISER OWNERS. FIRE HAZARD.. I JUST SUBMITTED THE FOLLOWING COMPLAINT TO THE NHTSA. THERE IS A SHORT JUMPER FUEL LINE (PLASTIC) THAT CONNECTS THE MAIN FUEL LINE THAT RUNS FROM THE TANK UP TO THE FIRE WALL WITH THE FUEL RAIL. THIS LINE LEAKS FUEL WHERE IT CONNECTS TO THE MAIN LINE. IT HAS BEEN REPLACED THREE TIMES AND CONTINUES TO LEAK. THIS IS DANGEROUS BECAUSE THIS LINE IS ONLY A FEW INCHES FROM THE TURBO OR EXHAUST AND ON A RIGHT HAND TURN COULD DRIP ON TO THE TURBO OR EXHAUST AND IGNITE...THE SMELL OF FUEL ENTERS THE CABIN. PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM A ASE CERTIFIED MASTER TECHNICIAN AND BESIDES OWNING A PT CRUISER HAVE WORKED ON SEVERAL OTHERS AND ALMOST EVERY SINGLE ONE HAS THIS PROBLEM WHETHER IT IS A TURBO ENGINE OR NOT...IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE EXPERIENCES AN ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM... WHAT REALLY BOTHERS ME THE MOST IS THAT IF YOU ASK ANY CHRYSLER DEALER (ASK THE TECH) THEY WILL TELL YOU THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM SO THERE IS NO DOUBT CHRYSLER IS AWARE. I GUESS SOMEONE IS GOING TO HAVE TO DIE OR SUFFER SEVERE INJURY BEFORE CHRYSLER DOES ANYTHING ABOUT THIS. "

View Details

ENGINE

7/20/2017 - SAYLORSBURG, PA
RIGHT SIDE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY INOPERATIVE. NO HIGH BEAM, LOW BEAM, OR TURN SIGNAL / FLASHER FUNCTION. REPLACED BULBS SEVERAL TIMES AND ALL TEST GOOD IN OTHER FIXTURES SUCH AS DRIVER SIDE LAMP ASSEMBLY. ENGINE IS THROWING "CYLINDER 3 MISFIRE DETECTED". PLUGS, WIRES REPLACED WITH NO REPAIR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/20/2017 - SAYLORSBURG, PA
RIGHT SIDE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY INOPERATIVE. NO HIGH BEAM, LOW BEAM, OR TURN SIGNAL / FLASHER FUNCTION. REPLACED BULBS SEVERAL TIMES AND ALL TEST GOOD IN OTHER FIXTURES SUCH AS DRIVER SIDE LAMP ASSEMBLY. ENGINE IS THROWING "CYLINDER 3 MISFIRE DETECTED". PLUGS, WIRES REPLACED WITH NO REPAIR.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/19/2017 - ATASCADERO, CA
WHILST DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY MY REAR DRIVER'S SIDE VISIBILITY WINDOW FLEW OFF OF MY CAR AND NEARLY HIT THE VEHICLE DRIVING IN THE FAST LANE TO MY IMMEDIATE LEFT AT 65MPH. THEY HAD TO SWERVE TO AVOID A COLLISION WITH IT. I STOPPED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND PICKED IT UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/12/2017 - POINTBLANK, TX
THE WIRING IN THE STEERING COLUMN IS FAULTY, IT CAUSES THE INSTRUMENT LIGHTS TO FLICKER THEN THEN EVERY THING SHUTS DOWN, INCLUDING THE ENGINE,BRAKES,STEERING ETC: THAT IS VERY DANGEROUS DRIVING ON HIGHWAYS, IT HAS HAPPENED AND SCARES YOU TO DEATH. I HAVE CALLED CHRYSLER & MANY PEOPLE ABOUT THIS VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND I HAVE TO HAVE REPAIRED @ MY EXPENSE. I CANNOT AFFORD IT. THIS IS A CHRYSLER PROBLEM AND THEY DON'T CARE. WHAT TO DO? IT DOES THIS INTERMITTENTLY, BUT DOES IT MOSTLY WHILE WE'RE DRIVING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/17/2017 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
WHILE DRIVING, THE INDICATOR LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL START FLASHING. THE GAS GAUGE, THE SPEEDOMETER, THE SEAT BELT LIGHT, AND OTHER LIGHTS, EXCEPT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, FLASH ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY. SOMETIMES WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE FLASHING AND THE INDICATORS ARE FLUCUATING BACK AND FORTH, THE CAR HAS SLOWED AS IF IT WAS GOING TO STOP. IT HAS NOT STOPPED YET BUT THE CAR DID ENGAGE IN SOME BUCKING ACTION. IF I STOP THE CAR AND START IT AGAIN AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK, GENERALLY THE LIGHTS DO NOT FLASH FOR THE REST OF DAY. I TOOK THE CAR TO MY MECHANIC MANY TIMES IN REFERENCE TO THIS ISSUE. THEY COULD NOT FIND THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. MY MECHANIC TOLD ME TO TAKE THE CAR TO THE DEALER. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, THEY KEPT IT FOR TWO DAYS AND WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE AND THEREFORE DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. MY CAR HAS HAD EVERY CONCEIVABLE TEST AND HAS HAD PARTS REPLACED AND NOTHING HAS STOPPED THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FROM FLASHING AND THE CAR NEARLY STALLING. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER CORP. CUSTOMER SERVICE WHO WAS NOT HELPFUL. THEY SIMPLY PUT ON HOLD FOR 45 MINUTES TO DEAL WITH MY COMPLAINT. I HAVE LOOKED ON-LINE AND THIS SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH PT CRUISERS. CHRSYLER IS EMPLOYING RISK MANAGEMENT FOR THIS PROBLEM. I HOPE NO ONE IS KILLED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/22/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
ELECTRICAL WIRING SHORTING OUT. WHILE DRIVING THE CAR THE ELECTRICAL WIRING WILL SHORT OUT CAUSING ALL THE DASHBOARD GAUGES TO GO HAYWIRE AND THE CAR LOSES ALL POWER AND STALLS OUT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/22/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
ELECTRICAL WIRING SHORTING OUT. WHILE DRIVING THE CAR THE ELECTRICAL WIRING WILL SHORT OUT CAUSING ALL THE DASHBOARD GAUGES TO GO HAYWIRE AND THE CAR LOSES ALL POWER AND STALLS OUT.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/22/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
ELECTRICAL WIRING SHORTING OUT. WHILE DRIVING THE CAR THE ELECTRICAL WIRING WILL SHORT OUT CAUSING ALL THE DASHBOARD GAUGES TO GO HAYWIRE AND THE CAR LOSES ALL POWER AND STALLS OUT.

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2017 - LONGVIEW, WA
WHEN DRIVING VEHICLE THE STEERING CAPABILITY OCCASIONALLY SEIZES AND VEHICLE CANNOT BE TURNED FOR A FEW MOMENTS. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS SINCE IT CAN HAPPEN AT A TURN IN THE ROAD. ALSO, AT STOP LIGHTS THE CAR TRIES TO JOLT FORWARD. AGAIN THIS IS OCCURS AT INCONSISTENT TIMES. ADDITIONALLY THE CAR DIES IN IDLE WHEN THE TEMPERATURE OUTSIDE RISES ABOVE 60 DEGREES. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND WHEN CODE WAS READ IT STATED THE COOLING SYSTEM WAS IN NEED OF REPAIR. UPON FURTHER INVESTIGATION INTO THE ISSUE WE FOUND THE FAN WORKED BUT WAS NOT BEING SWITCHED ON. SO WE REPLACED THE FAN SWITCH. IMMEDIATELY IT BLEW THE SWITCH. THE MECHANICS CANNOT IDENTIFY THE ISSUE. WHILE ADDITIONAL CODES JUST GET THROWN INTO THE PILE. AFTER SOME RESEARCH I FOUND THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE EXPERIENCING THIS ISSUE. I CHECK OFTEN TO SEE IF SOMETHING HAS BEEN RECALLED OR IF ANYONE HAS FOUND A SOLUTION THAT PROVIDES LASTING CHANGE BUT I HAVE NOT FOUND ANY ADVICE OR SOLUTION THAT ACTUALLY FIXES THE ISSUE. THESE ISSUES ARE REOCCURRING SO I AM STATING THE LAST OCCURRENCE WHICH WAS JUST THIS MORNING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds