Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 237 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (3) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (12) Exterior Lighting (13) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (70) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (10) Visibility (38)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (8) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (23) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (9) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/3/2014 - PACE, FL
ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS THE VEHICLE INDICATOR PANEL LIGHTS COME ON WITH THE BELL TONE SOUND AND ALL GAUGES GO TO ZERO AND LOSES POWER AND STALLS. WHEN TAKEN IN FOR REPAIR THE MECHANICS CAN NOT FIND THE PROBLEM. ON SEPTEMBER 24TH WAS THE MOST CURRENT INCIDENT AND HAD TO BE TOWED. THE INITIAL DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION BUT AFTER TAKING VEHICLE TO A TRANSMISSION SPECIALIST IT WAS DETERMINED TO BE ELECTRICAL AND REQUIRED THE PCM MODULE AND THE INTEGRATED POWER BOX TO BE REPLACED. AFTER INVESTING 2K BY THE END OF THIS ORDEAL I DO NOT FEEL VERY CONFIDENT IN THE CHRYSLER PRODUCT. NOT ASSURED THAT THIS IS GOING TO FIX THE PROBLEM AFTER READING ALL THE RESEARCH AND OTHER COMPLAINTS ON THIS ISSUE. WHEN A REPLACEMENT PART WAS SENT TO THE TRANSMISSION SHOP DIRECTLY FROM THE MANUFACTURER IT TOO WAS DEFECTIVE AND NOW I HAVE TO WAIT FOUR MORE DAYS FOR MY CAR TO BE REPAIRED. WHAT POOR QUALITY CONTROL AND POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM THE MANUFACTURER. I AM VERY UPSET AND DISAPPOINTED IN THE CHRYSLER PRODUCT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/25/2014 - LAGUNA HILLS, CA
WHILE DRIVING, THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS WILL INTERMITTEDLY LIGHT UP AND THE GAUGE INDICATOR NEEDLES ON THE DASHBOARD WILL DROP TO ZERO. THREE TIMES SINCE I PURCHASED THE CAR IN MARCH 2014, IT HAS CUT OFF WITH THESE SYMPTOMS WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC CAUSING GREAT RISK FOR AN ACCIDENT. THIS IS VERY SCARY. I HAVE TO BRING THE CAR TO A COMPLETE STOP, PUT IT PARK AND THEN RESTART THE ENGINE, HOPING THAT NO ONE WILL REAR END ME. IMAGINE THIS HAPPENING ON THE HIGHWAY OR IN A BUSY INTERSECTION. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO A MECHANIC WHO PERFORMED DIAGNOSTICS ON ALL OF THE COMPUTER MODULES. NO ERROR CODES CAME UP ALTHOUGH HE INFORMED ME THAT WHEN YOU RESTART THE CAR, THE COMPUTER MODULES RESET EACH TIME. DATA FROM MULTIPLE START-UPS IS NOT STORED. I ALSO HAD THE CAR CHECKED BY AN AUTO ELECTRICIAN WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETECT ANY SHORTS IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. THE BATTERY IS FULLY CHARGED AND THE ALTERNATOR SEEMS TO BE WORKING FINE. I SUSPECT THAT THIS MAY HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE IGNITION SWITCH. THERE IS CURRENTLY A RECALL ON SOME 2008 MODELS RELATED TO THE IGNITION SWITCH. OR, POSSIBLY THE SEAT BELT SENSOR IN THE PASSENGER SEAT IS CAUSING A SHORT WHEN SOMETHING OF ANY WEIGHT IS PUT ON THE PASSENGER SEAT, SUCH AS MY PURSE. I WONDER IF THE WEIGHT THRESHOLD IS BEING TRIGGERED ON AND OFF CAUSING THE ELCTRICAL SYSTEM TO BE CONFUSED. I'VE NOT PUT ANYTHING ON THE SEAT FOR THE LAST WEEK AND HAVE NOT EXPEREINCED THE ISSUE SO FAR BUT THAT COULD BE A COINCIDENCE. I SEE LOTS OF THESE SAME COMPLAINTS ONLINE FROM YEARS BACK TO PRESENT AND DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY CHRYSLER HAS NOT FIGURED OUT THE PROBLEM AND ISSUED A RECALL FOR REPAIRS. IT WOULD BE A SHAME FOR SOMEONE TO BE INJURED OR KILLED DUE TO THEIR NEGLIGENCE. IF ANYONE KNOWS THE SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM, PLEASE LET ME KNOW ASAP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - HARRINGTON, DE
CAR DASH LIGHTS WOULD ALL LIGHT UP , (ALL INDICATION LIGHTS) THEN THE CAR WOULD SHUT OFF COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING ALL POWER WOULD GO OFF. THE CAR WON;T RESTART FOR SEVERAL MINUTES. THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN WORSE, NOW ON ROUTE ONE HIGHWAY AT THE RATE OF SPEED 65 MILES AN HOUR THE CAR SHUT OFF , AVOIDED A ACCIDENT WITH A TRACTOR TRAILER, NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS CANNOT HELP ME.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/11/2014 - YOUNGSTOWN , OH
IN JAN14 MY CAR WOULDN'T START, TOOK TO THE DEALER. APRIL11 IT TOOK IT BACK TO DEALER BECAUSE IT TOOK 4 TIMES TO START THE CAR. WHEN STARTED, WHILE DRIVING THE ELEC PANEL LIGHTS WLD RANDOMLY FLICKER, ENG LIGHT OFTEN. JUL14 CAR BACK AT DEALER, ALL PANEL LIGHTS WLD FLICKER WHILE DRIVING, CAR WLD ACCELERATE WHILE DRIVING AND SOUNDING LIKE IN WRONG GEAR AT 35MPH, DIDN'T GET CAR BACK UNTIL AUG08. ONE HOUR LATER, RETURNED CAR TO DEALER CAR STILL ACCELERATED WHILE TRYING TO STOP AT A FOUR WAY INTERSECTION. GOT CAR BACK 2 DAYS LATER. CAR ACCELERATED ON AUG28, CUT OFF WHILE DRIVING 30MPH, DASH LIT UP, GAS GAUGE WENT FULL TO EMPTY, CAR LAUNCHED FORWARD AND THEN STARTED ON ITS OWN AGAIN, THIS HAPPENED TWICE. TOOK CAR TO DEALER ON AUG29 AND STILL HAVE NO CAR!!!! TODAY IS SEPT 11TH. EACH TIME THE DEALER WOULD STATE NOTHING IS WRONG AND NO SIGNS OF ANYTHING. THEY WOULD NOT LISTEN NOR RECORD ANYTHING I TOLD THEM ON THE PAPERWORK, THEY CONTINUED TO IGNORE EVERYTHING I SAID. I HAVE PAID A LOT OF MONEY TO GET THE CAR FIXED AND IT WAS NOT UNTIL THIS LAST TIME THAT I FINALLY GOT A LOANER TO DRIVE (TWO DOOR FIAT). A CASE MANAGER FROM AUBURN HILL, MI AT THE HEADQUARTERS HAS CONTACTED ME, BUT STILL NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE!!!!!!!!!!! NOW THE DEALER WANTS ME TO TEST DRIVE THE CAR WITH THEM, THOUGH I TOLD THEM THAT IT RANDOMLY HAPPENS. THEY CONTINUOUSLY ACT LIKE THERE IS NO PROBLEM, THOUGH I HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE REGARDING THE SAME THING. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ASAP BEFORE PEOPLE GET SERIOUSLY INJURED AND/OR LIVES LOST. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT CAN NOT BE SWEPT UNDER THE RUG. AS A RETIRED ASSEMBLY LINE WORKER OF CAR PARTS I FIND IT INTERESTING HOW MY CASE AND OTHERS HAVE BEEN HANDLED. THE LACK OF CONCERN, ACCOUNTABILITY, FOLLOW THROUGH AND RESOLUTION IS DONE POORLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/11/2014 - YOUNGSTOWN , OH
IN JAN14 MY CAR WOULDN'T START, TOOK TO THE DEALER. APRIL11 IT TOOK IT BACK TO DEALER BECAUSE IT TOOK 4 TIMES TO START THE CAR. WHEN STARTED, WHILE DRIVING THE ELEC PANEL LIGHTS WLD RANDOMLY FLICKER, ENG LIGHT OFTEN. JUL14 CAR BACK AT DEALER, ALL PANEL LIGHTS WLD FLICKER WHILE DRIVING, CAR WLD ACCELERATE WHILE DRIVING AND SOUNDING LIKE IN WRONG GEAR AT 35MPH, DIDN'T GET CAR BACK UNTIL AUG08. ONE HOUR LATER, RETURNED CAR TO DEALER CAR STILL ACCELERATED WHILE TRYING TO STOP AT A FOUR WAY INTERSECTION. GOT CAR BACK 2 DAYS LATER. CAR ACCELERATED ON AUG28, CUT OFF WHILE DRIVING 30MPH, DASH LIT UP, GAS GAUGE WENT FULL TO EMPTY, CAR LAUNCHED FORWARD AND THEN STARTED ON ITS OWN AGAIN, THIS HAPPENED TWICE. TOOK CAR TO DEALER ON AUG29 AND STILL HAVE NO CAR!!!! TODAY IS SEPT 11TH. EACH TIME THE DEALER WOULD STATE NOTHING IS WRONG AND NO SIGNS OF ANYTHING. THEY WOULD NOT LISTEN NOR RECORD ANYTHING I TOLD THEM ON THE PAPERWORK, THEY CONTINUED TO IGNORE EVERYTHING I SAID. I HAVE PAID A LOT OF MONEY TO GET THE CAR FIXED AND IT WAS NOT UNTIL THIS LAST TIME THAT I FINALLY GOT A LOANER TO DRIVE (TWO DOOR FIAT). A CASE MANAGER FROM AUBURN HILL, MI AT THE HEADQUARTERS HAS CONTACTED ME, BUT STILL NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE!!!!!!!!!!! NOW THE DEALER WANTS ME TO TEST DRIVE THE CAR WITH THEM, THOUGH I TOLD THEM THAT IT RANDOMLY HAPPENS. THEY CONTINUOUSLY ACT LIKE THERE IS NO PROBLEM, THOUGH I HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE REGARDING THE SAME THING. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ASAP BEFORE PEOPLE GET SERIOUSLY INJURED AND/OR LIVES LOST. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT CAN NOT BE SWEPT UNDER THE RUG. AS A RETIRED ASSEMBLY LINE WORKER OF CAR PARTS I FIND IT INTERESTING HOW MY CASE AND OTHERS HAVE BEEN HANDLED. THE LACK OF CONCERN, ACCOUNTABILITY, FOLLOW THROUGH AND RESOLUTION IS DONE POORLY.

View Details

ENGINE

9/11/2014 - YOUNGSTOWN , OH
IN JAN14 MY CAR WOULDN'T START, TOOK TO THE DEALER. APRIL11 IT TOOK IT BACK TO DEALER BECAUSE IT TOOK 4 TIMES TO START THE CAR. WHEN STARTED, WHILE DRIVING THE ELEC PANEL LIGHTS WLD RANDOMLY FLICKER, ENG LIGHT OFTEN. JUL14 CAR BACK AT DEALER, ALL PANEL LIGHTS WLD FLICKER WHILE DRIVING, CAR WLD ACCELERATE WHILE DRIVING AND SOUNDING LIKE IN WRONG GEAR AT 35MPH, DIDN'T GET CAR BACK UNTIL AUG08. ONE HOUR LATER, RETURNED CAR TO DEALER CAR STILL ACCELERATED WHILE TRYING TO STOP AT A FOUR WAY INTERSECTION. GOT CAR BACK 2 DAYS LATER. CAR ACCELERATED ON AUG28, CUT OFF WHILE DRIVING 30MPH, DASH LIT UP, GAS GAUGE WENT FULL TO EMPTY, CAR LAUNCHED FORWARD AND THEN STARTED ON ITS OWN AGAIN, THIS HAPPENED TWICE. TOOK CAR TO DEALER ON AUG29 AND STILL HAVE NO CAR!!!! TODAY IS SEPT 11TH. EACH TIME THE DEALER WOULD STATE NOTHING IS WRONG AND NO SIGNS OF ANYTHING. THEY WOULD NOT LISTEN NOR RECORD ANYTHING I TOLD THEM ON THE PAPERWORK, THEY CONTINUED TO IGNORE EVERYTHING I SAID. I HAVE PAID A LOT OF MONEY TO GET THE CAR FIXED AND IT WAS NOT UNTIL THIS LAST TIME THAT I FINALLY GOT A LOANER TO DRIVE (TWO DOOR FIAT). A CASE MANAGER FROM AUBURN HILL, MI AT THE HEADQUARTERS HAS CONTACTED ME, BUT STILL NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE!!!!!!!!!!! NOW THE DEALER WANTS ME TO TEST DRIVE THE CAR WITH THEM, THOUGH I TOLD THEM THAT IT RANDOMLY HAPPENS. THEY CONTINUOUSLY ACT LIKE THERE IS NO PROBLEM, THOUGH I HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE REGARDING THE SAME THING. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ASAP BEFORE PEOPLE GET SERIOUSLY INJURED AND/OR LIVES LOST. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT CAN NOT BE SWEPT UNDER THE RUG. AS A RETIRED ASSEMBLY LINE WORKER OF CAR PARTS I FIND IT INTERESTING HOW MY CASE AND OTHERS HAVE BEEN HANDLED. THE LACK OF CONCERN, ACCOUNTABILITY, FOLLOW THROUGH AND RESOLUTION IS DONE POORLY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
SAME AS NHTSA ACTION # PE07027 & RECALL # 07V291000

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/25/2014 - MIDDLEBURG, FL
ALL DASH LIGHTS FLASH AND CAR SOMETIMES STALLS. VERY FREQUENT LOSS OF HEADLIGHTS, WIPERS, ALL GAUGES AND BLINKERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - MIDDLEBURG, FL
ALL DASH LIGHTS FLASH AND CAR SOMETIMES STALLS. VERY FREQUENT LOSS OF HEADLIGHTS, WIPERS, ALL GAUGES AND BLINKERS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/25/2014 - MIDDLEBURG, FL
ALL DASH LIGHTS FLASH AND CAR SOMETIMES STALLS. VERY FREQUENT LOSS OF HEADLIGHTS, WIPERS, ALL GAUGES AND BLINKERS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds