Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 224 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (3) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Communications (12) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (62) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (10) Visibility (38)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (8) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (20) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (9) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/21/2014 - MIDWAY, AR
MY BATTERY LITE COMES ON WHEN STARTED AND STAYS ON..HAVE HAD BATTERY, CABLES,ETC ETC CHECKED AND ALL SHOW GOOD...ALSO THE AIR CONDITIONING WORKS VERY LITTLE BUT ACCORDING TO ALL THE MECHANICS THAT HAVE CHECKED IT OVER EVERYTHING SHOWS IN GOOD WORKING ORDER...I WAS TOLD BY A MECHANIC AT THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP THAT IT NEEDS TO BE PUT ON A MACHINE FOR $100 AN HOUR AND IF IT SHOWS THE "MAIN COMPUTER MODULE" THEN THESE ISSUES ARE "INFIXABLE"..IT IS SOMETHING I WILL HAVE TO "DEAL WITH" AND HOPE THAT THERE REALLY ISNT ANYTHING SERIOUS WRONG HE TELLS ME...SAME WAY WITH THE FOG LITES ON THE CAR..THEY COME ON AND GO OFF..SOMETIMES THEY COMEON AND WONT GO OFF...AGAIN I WAS TOLD IT WAS "UNFIXABLE"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WORK HARD EVERY DAY AND PAY MY BILLS...I CANT AFFORD TO BE TOLD THAT THESE ISSUES WITH MY CAR ARE "UNFIXABLE"...SOMEBODY HELP!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - MIDWAY, AR
MY BATTERY LITE COMES ON WHEN STARTED AND STAYS ON..HAVE HAD BATTERY, CABLES,ETC ETC CHECKED AND ALL SHOW GOOD...ALSO THE AIR CONDITIONING WORKS VERY LITTLE BUT ACCORDING TO ALL THE MECHANICS THAT HAVE CHECKED IT OVER EVERYTHING SHOWS IN GOOD WORKING ORDER...I WAS TOLD BY A MECHANIC AT THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP THAT IT NEEDS TO BE PUT ON A MACHINE FOR $100 AN HOUR AND IF IT SHOWS THE "MAIN COMPUTER MODULE" THEN THESE ISSUES ARE "INFIXABLE"..IT IS SOMETHING I WILL HAVE TO "DEAL WITH" AND HOPE THAT THERE REALLY ISNT ANYTHING SERIOUS WRONG HE TELLS ME...SAME WAY WITH THE FOG LITES ON THE CAR..THEY COME ON AND GO OFF..SOMETIMES THEY COMEON AND WONT GO OFF...AGAIN I WAS TOLD IT WAS "UNFIXABLE"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WORK HARD EVERY DAY AND PAY MY BILLS...I CANT AFFORD TO BE TOLD THAT THESE ISSUES WITH MY CAR ARE "UNFIXABLE"...SOMEBODY HELP!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2014 - GASTONIA, NC
GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND LIGHTS COME ON THE DASH AND MOTOR CUTS OFF WITH NO WARNING ALMOST GOT REENDED FROM THIS HAPPENING. HAVE TAKEN IT TO MANY MECHANICS AND EVEN AN ELECTROL PLACE AND NONE OF THEM CAN FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM . IF ANYONE FIGURES OUT THIS PROBLEM PLEASE POST BEFORE SOMEONE GET HURT OR KILLED I DRIVE IN A MAJOR CITY AND ON THE INTERSTATES AND IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE INTERSTATE AND I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE WAY PLEASE SOMEONE HELP I CANT AFFORD TO GO OUT ND BUY ANOTHER CAR IF I DID I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER CHYSTLER PRODUCT AND ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY SAY THEY WULDNT EITHER.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/17/2014 - GASTONIA, NC
GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND LIGHTS COME ON THE DASH AND MOTOR CUTS OFF WITH NO WARNING ALMOST GOT REENDED FROM THIS HAPPENING. HAVE TAKEN IT TO MANY MECHANICS AND EVEN AN ELECTROL PLACE AND NONE OF THEM CAN FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM . IF ANYONE FIGURES OUT THIS PROBLEM PLEASE POST BEFORE SOMEONE GET HURT OR KILLED I DRIVE IN A MAJOR CITY AND ON THE INTERSTATES AND IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE INTERSTATE AND I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE WAY PLEASE SOMEONE HELP I CANT AFFORD TO GO OUT ND BUY ANOTHER CAR IF I DID I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER CHYSTLER PRODUCT AND ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY SAY THEY WULDNT EITHER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2014 - GASTONIA, NC
GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND LIGHTS COME ON THE DASH AND MOTOR CUTS OFF WITH NO WARNING ALMOST GOT REENDED FROM THIS HAPPENING. HAVE TAKEN IT TO MANY MECHANICS AND EVEN AN ELECTROL PLACE AND NONE OF THEM CAN FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM . IF ANYONE FIGURES OUT THIS PROBLEM PLEASE POST BEFORE SOMEONE GET HURT OR KILLED I DRIVE IN A MAJOR CITY AND ON THE INTERSTATES AND IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE INTERSTATE AND I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE WAY PLEASE SOMEONE HELP I CANT AFFORD TO GO OUT ND BUY ANOTHER CAR IF I DID I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER CHYSTLER PRODUCT AND ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY SAY THEY WULDNT EITHER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/8/2014 - MUSKOGEE, OK
I HAVE A 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER LIMITED TURBO WITH ONLY 31,262 MILES ON IT THAT STARTED OUT A COUPLE OF MONTHS AGO BY THE SEAT-BELT LIGHT COMING ON FIRST FOLLOWED ALMOST IMMEDIATELY BY ALL OF THE SURROUNDING WARNING LIGHTS COMING ON AND THE GAUGES ALL DROPPING TO NOTHING. IT REPEATED THIS SEVERAL TIMES AN THEN STOPPED AND WENT BACK TO NORMAL. SINCE THEN THIS HAS HAPPENED ONCE OUT OF APPROXIMATELY EVERY THREE TIMES DRIVING IT, DOING THE SAME THING DESCRIBED ABOVE. TODAY ALL THAT CHANGED, NOT ONLY DID THE LIGHTS AND GAUGES GO CRAZY, THE ENGINE DIED REPEATEDLY AS WELL, ALL THIS HAPPENED IN 40 MPH TRAFFIC. IT SCARED ME TO DEATH, I HAD NO CONTROL AND WITH IT HAPPENING AS FAST AS IT WAS I HAD NO WAY OF WARNING THE CARS BEHIND OR BESIDE ME. JUST AS I HAVE SEEN BY OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE OVER AND OVER AGAIN AND WITH THE 2006 MODEL THE POST ARE ALL THE SAME ISSUE, ALL HAPPENING IN THE SAME SEQUENCE, ALL TAKING THEIR CARS TO MECHANICS OF ALL TYPES, DEALERSHIP AND INDEPENDENT AND "NOT ONE MECHANIC HAS FOUND A SOLUTION OR EVEN AN IDEA OF WHY THIS IS HAPPENING". MY WIFE AND I ARE LIKE MOST I HAVE SEEN AND CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP TAKING IT IN TO BE TOLD THEY CAN'T FIND THE PROBLEM AND DEFINITELY AREN'T IN A POSITION TO BE ABLE TO AFFORD TO PURCHASE ANOTHER VEHICLE. WILL BEG CHRYSLER TO HELP US ALL OUT. PLEASE FIGURE OUT WHAT IS CAUSING THIS BEFORE SOMEONE IS HURT OR EVEN KILLED. VERY FRUSTRATED TO SAY THE LEAST.............

View Details

ENGINE

7/2/2014 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS ON ENGINE POWER AS THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,740 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 16,000. ML

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/25/2014 - CHINO HILLS, CA
OUR PT CRUISER STARTED EXHIBITING MOMENTS OF ENGINE FAILURE AFTER ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH BOARD CAME ON. WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO OUR LOCAL MECHANIC, WHO HAS REPLACED A CHIP IN THE BOARD, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUES. IT HAS BECOME VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE THE PT CRUISER, ESPECIALLY ON HOT DAYS, BECAUSE THE PROBLEM BECOMES MORE PREVALENT DURING THIS TIME. WE HAVE MADE SEVERAL VISITS TO THE MECHANIC TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM SOLVED BUT ALL SUBSEQUENT VISITS HAVE NOT GIVEN US ANY RESULTS AND THE PROBLEM CONTINUES.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/24/2014 - DANVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE WINDOW MALFUNCTIONED AND AS A RESULT, THE WINDOW WOULD OPEN AND CLOSE INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE WINDOW BECAME STUCK IN THE DOWN POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V149000 (VISIBILITY) BUT DID NOT CONFIRM IF THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

6/24/2014 - DANVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE WINDOW MALFUNCTIONED AND AS A RESULT, THE WINDOW WOULD OPEN AND CLOSE INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE WINDOW BECAME STUCK IN THE DOWN POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 07V149000 (VISIBILITY) BUT DID NOT CONFIRM IF THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds