Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 229 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (3) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (12) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (63) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (10) Visibility (38)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (8) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (21) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (9) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/31/2014 - UNIVERSAL CITY, TX
THE FIRST TIME IN SEPTEMBER 2013 THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING FINE. I HAD GONE INTO A STORE AND WHEN I CAME OUT IT WOULD NOT START. THE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WERE ON BUT SOME WERE FLASHING ON AND OFF. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANICS SHOP AND THEY DETERMINED IT WAS THE BATTERY AND REPLACED IT. EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WILL FLASH ON AND OFF BUT NOT FOR LONG. LAST NIGHT 7/30/2014 I WAS DRIVING, EVERYTHING WAS FINE AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS WERE ON AND THE VEHICLE JUST DIED. IT WAS A GOOD THING THAT I WAS IN A SHOPPING CENTER AND NOT ON THE ROAD BECAUSE AT FIRST THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK. THIS IS NOT SAFE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO GET ANOTHER VEHICLE RIGHT NOW. WE HAD TO PUSH IT TO SAFETY AND THEN I NOTICED THERE WAS SOME KIND OF CODE OR SOMETHING (NO BUS/5) AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RPM SECTION OF THE PANEL. COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING IN THE MANUAL ABOUT IT, CALLED AN AUTO PARTS STORE AND IT DIDN'T SHOW UP IN THEIR DATABASE, SO I HAD A FRIEND GOOGLE IT. EVERYTHING POINTS TO THE ELECTRICAL/COMPUTER SYSTEM AND FUSES. SEVERAL PEOPLE POSTED THIS ISSUE WITH JEEPS AND PT CRUISERS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/31/2014 - UNIVERSAL CITY, TX
THE FIRST TIME IN SEPTEMBER 2013 THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING FINE. I HAD GONE INTO A STORE AND WHEN I CAME OUT IT WOULD NOT START. THE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WERE ON BUT SOME WERE FLASHING ON AND OFF. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANICS SHOP AND THEY DETERMINED IT WAS THE BATTERY AND REPLACED IT. EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WILL FLASH ON AND OFF BUT NOT FOR LONG. LAST NIGHT 7/30/2014 I WAS DRIVING, EVERYTHING WAS FINE AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS WERE ON AND THE VEHICLE JUST DIED. IT WAS A GOOD THING THAT I WAS IN A SHOPPING CENTER AND NOT ON THE ROAD BECAUSE AT FIRST THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK. THIS IS NOT SAFE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO GET ANOTHER VEHICLE RIGHT NOW. WE HAD TO PUSH IT TO SAFETY AND THEN I NOTICED THERE WAS SOME KIND OF CODE OR SOMETHING (NO BUS/5) AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RPM SECTION OF THE PANEL. COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING IN THE MANUAL ABOUT IT, CALLED AN AUTO PARTS STORE AND IT DIDN'T SHOW UP IN THEIR DATABASE, SO I HAD A FRIEND GOOGLE IT. EVERYTHING POINTS TO THE ELECTRICAL/COMPUTER SYSTEM AND FUSES. SEVERAL PEOPLE POSTED THIS ISSUE WITH JEEPS AND PT CRUISERS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/31/2014 - UNIVERSAL CITY, TX
THE FIRST TIME IN SEPTEMBER 2013 THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING FINE. I HAD GONE INTO A STORE AND WHEN I CAME OUT IT WOULD NOT START. THE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WERE ON BUT SOME WERE FLASHING ON AND OFF. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANICS SHOP AND THEY DETERMINED IT WAS THE BATTERY AND REPLACED IT. EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WILL FLASH ON AND OFF BUT NOT FOR LONG. LAST NIGHT 7/30/2014 I WAS DRIVING, EVERYTHING WAS FINE AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS WERE ON AND THE VEHICLE JUST DIED. IT WAS A GOOD THING THAT I WAS IN A SHOPPING CENTER AND NOT ON THE ROAD BECAUSE AT FIRST THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK. THIS IS NOT SAFE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO GET ANOTHER VEHICLE RIGHT NOW. WE HAD TO PUSH IT TO SAFETY AND THEN I NOTICED THERE WAS SOME KIND OF CODE OR SOMETHING (NO BUS/5) AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RPM SECTION OF THE PANEL. COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING IN THE MANUAL ABOUT IT, CALLED AN AUTO PARTS STORE AND IT DIDN'T SHOW UP IN THEIR DATABASE, SO I HAD A FRIEND GOOGLE IT. EVERYTHING POINTS TO THE ELECTRICAL/COMPUTER SYSTEM AND FUSES. SEVERAL PEOPLE POSTED THIS ISSUE WITH JEEPS AND PT CRUISERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - SPRING HILL, FL
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE THE PANEL LIGHTS STARTED TO COME ON. AT 1ST IT WAS SLOWLY UNTIL IT FILLED THE PANEL, LATER THE WHOLE GROUP WOULD POP ON, AND THEN GO OFF. THE 1ST SIX OR EIGHT TIMES THEY CAME ON THE ONLY THING THAT WAS EFFECTED WAS THE LIGHTS AND GAUGES. AS I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THEN THE LIGHTS AND GAUGES WOULD ACT UP, BUT THE CAR WOULD STALL, OR SHUT OFF AND THEN POP BACK ON. WHEN EXAMINED BY THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP ON THE DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE ($95.00), THEY FOUND IGNITION SWITCH FAILURE WAS OCCURRING. I SPOKE TO CHRYSLER GROUP CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY SAID IT WAS NOT THEIR IGNITION SWITCH AT FAULT , BUT THE POSTS WERE BURNT DUE TO AGE??? IF THE CAR WAS ALREADY RUNNING AND I WAS NOT TOUCHING THE KEY, WHY OR HOW DID THESE POSTS COME INTO PLAY??

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/27/2014 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
INITIAL INCIDENT STALLED OUT WAITING AT STOP LIGHT. AFTER INITIAL INCIDENT, VEHICLE WOULD OCCASIONALLY BEHAVE AS IF ABOUT TO STALL WITH ALL WARNING LIGHTS FLASHING. THEN THE CONDITION WOULD GO AWAY AND CAR WOULD OPERATE NORMALLY FOR AWHILE AND THEN OCCUR AGAIN. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE ISSUE AND CAR PASSED THEIR TEST. THE VEHICLE HAS STALLED OUT SEVERAL TIMES SINCE, WHILE IN MOTION. THE LAST INCIDENT, VEHICLE WAS AT APPROXIMATELY 45-50 MPH WHEN ALL ELECTRICAL WARNING LIGHTS FLASHED AND VEHICLE STALLED, LOSING ALL POWER STEERING, BRAKE FUNCTIONS. THE CAR HAS LESS THAN 28,000 MILES ON IT AT THE CURRENT TIME. I FEEL IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/25/2014 - CARMEL, NY
I KEEP GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND LIGHTS COME ON THE DASH AND MOTOR CUTS OFF WITH NO WARNING ALMOST GOT RE-ENDED WITH MY THREE, 3, CHILDREN ON BOARD. HOW CAN I STOP THIS FROM HAPPENING EVERY 10 MILES THAT I DRIVE. I HAVE TO PULL OVER AND DISCONNECT THE BATTERY IN ORDER FOR IT TO REGAIN ITS COMPOSURE.HAVE TAKEN IT TO MANY MECHANICS AND EVEN AN ELECTRICAL PLACE AND NONE OF THEM CAN FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM . IF ANYONE FIGURES OUT THIS PROBLEM PLEASE POST BEFORE SOMEONE GET HURT OR KILLED I DRIVE IN A MAJOR CITY AND ON THE INTERSTATES AND IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE INTERSTATE AND I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE WAY PLEASE SOMEONE HELP I CANT AFFORD TO GO OUT AND PURCHASE ANOTHER VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/22/2014 - ENCINITAS, CA
THE INDICATOR LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD BEGIN FLASHING ON AND OFF AND THE GAUGE NEEDLES MOVE BACK AND FORTH. AFTER THAT THE CAR STALLS. IT WAS TAKEN TO THE CHRYSLER DEALER IN CARLSBAD, CALIFORNIA IN JANUARY 2012. NO CODES CAME UP AND I WAS TOLD I NEEDED A NEW BATTERY. THIS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM HAS RE-OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS TIMES TO DATE. ON ONE OCCURRENCE THE CAR STALLED IN AN INTERSECTION. THE MOST RECENT REPAIRS OCCURRED ON 6/30/2014 (I WAS TOLD THE IGNITION COIL AND A SPARK PLUG WIRE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED) THE PROBLEM RE-OCCURRED ON 7/18/2014.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/21/2014 - MIDWAY, AR
MY BATTERY LITE COMES ON WHEN STARTED AND STAYS ON..HAVE HAD BATTERY, CABLES,ETC ETC CHECKED AND ALL SHOW GOOD...ALSO THE AIR CONDITIONING WORKS VERY LITTLE BUT ACCORDING TO ALL THE MECHANICS THAT HAVE CHECKED IT OVER EVERYTHING SHOWS IN GOOD WORKING ORDER...I WAS TOLD BY A MECHANIC AT THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP THAT IT NEEDS TO BE PUT ON A MACHINE FOR $100 AN HOUR AND IF IT SHOWS THE "MAIN COMPUTER MODULE" THEN THESE ISSUES ARE "INFIXABLE"..IT IS SOMETHING I WILL HAVE TO "DEAL WITH" AND HOPE THAT THERE REALLY ISNT ANYTHING SERIOUS WRONG HE TELLS ME...SAME WAY WITH THE FOG LITES ON THE CAR..THEY COME ON AND GO OFF..SOMETIMES THEY COMEON AND WONT GO OFF...AGAIN I WAS TOLD IT WAS "UNFIXABLE"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WORK HARD EVERY DAY AND PAY MY BILLS...I CANT AFFORD TO BE TOLD THAT THESE ISSUES WITH MY CAR ARE "UNFIXABLE"...SOMEBODY HELP!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - MIDWAY, AR
MY BATTERY LITE COMES ON WHEN STARTED AND STAYS ON..HAVE HAD BATTERY, CABLES,ETC ETC CHECKED AND ALL SHOW GOOD...ALSO THE AIR CONDITIONING WORKS VERY LITTLE BUT ACCORDING TO ALL THE MECHANICS THAT HAVE CHECKED IT OVER EVERYTHING SHOWS IN GOOD WORKING ORDER...I WAS TOLD BY A MECHANIC AT THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP THAT IT NEEDS TO BE PUT ON A MACHINE FOR $100 AN HOUR AND IF IT SHOWS THE "MAIN COMPUTER MODULE" THEN THESE ISSUES ARE "INFIXABLE"..IT IS SOMETHING I WILL HAVE TO "DEAL WITH" AND HOPE THAT THERE REALLY ISNT ANYTHING SERIOUS WRONG HE TELLS ME...SAME WAY WITH THE FOG LITES ON THE CAR..THEY COME ON AND GO OFF..SOMETIMES THEY COMEON AND WONT GO OFF...AGAIN I WAS TOLD IT WAS "UNFIXABLE"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WORK HARD EVERY DAY AND PAY MY BILLS...I CANT AFFORD TO BE TOLD THAT THESE ISSUES WITH MY CAR ARE "UNFIXABLE"...SOMEBODY HELP!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2014 - GASTONIA, NC
GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND LIGHTS COME ON THE DASH AND MOTOR CUTS OFF WITH NO WARNING ALMOST GOT REENDED FROM THIS HAPPENING. HAVE TAKEN IT TO MANY MECHANICS AND EVEN AN ELECTROL PLACE AND NONE OF THEM CAN FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM . IF ANYONE FIGURES OUT THIS PROBLEM PLEASE POST BEFORE SOMEONE GET HURT OR KILLED I DRIVE IN A MAJOR CITY AND ON THE INTERSTATES AND IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE INTERSTATE AND I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE WAY PLEASE SOMEONE HELP I CANT AFFORD TO GO OUT ND BUY ANOTHER CAR IF I DID I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER CHYSTLER PRODUCT AND ALL MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY SAY THEY WULDNT EITHER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds