Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 294 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8)
Communications (13) Exterior Lighting (17) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (110) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (13) Visibility (39)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (11) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/24/2016 - GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND MULTIPLE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER ILLUMINATED. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE PREVIOUSLY STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, BUT IT WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE IF THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

6/24/2016 - GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND MULTIPLE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER ILLUMINATED. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE PREVIOUSLY STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, BUT IT WAS UNABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE IF THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE, ISABEL HUERTA WAS STRUCK AND KILLED BY HER OWN VEHICLE WHEN THE TRANSMISSIONS SUDDENLY SLIPPED FROM PARK TO REVERSE. THE TRANSMISSION HAS A DESIGN FLAW THAT ALLOWS THE SHIFTER TO BE PLACED IN A "FALSE PARK" POSITION. SHE WAS SWEPT UNDER THE VEHICLE BY THE OPEN DOOR, AND WAS CRUSHED TO DEATH BY HER OWN VEHICLE. HER BODY WAS FOUND UNDER THE VEHICLE WITH THE WHEEL ON HER CHEST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/24/2016 - ALPHARETTA, GA
IDLING IN PARK; SEATBELT LIGHT KEPT DINGING ON; SPEEDOMETER KEPT JUMPING BACK AND FORTH FROM 0-100; IDLING AT TRAFFIC STOP; CAR SHUTTERS LIKE IT WILL CUT OFF; SPEEDOMETER JUMPS AROUND WHILE CAR IS NOT MOVING. PCM/TCM REPLACED MULTIPLE TIME; BATTERY LOSES CHARGE FOR NO KNOWN REASON; HAVE HAD PROBLEMS W/ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON, PAY FOR SENSORS AND PARTS NEEDED ONLY FOR THE SAME ISSUE TO HAPPEN. THESE CARS ARE DANGEROUS. THERE NEED TO BE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT BEFORE SOMEONE DIES FROM THESE CARS STALLING WITH NO ABILITY TO CONTROL CAR. CHRYSLER KNOWS FULL WELL OF THESE GARBAGE CARS. THAT IS THE REAL REASON THEY DISCONTINUED THEM! SOMEONE NEEDS TI STEP IN. YOU ALL HAVE RECEIVED ENOUGH COMPLAINTS WHERE SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2016 - ALPHARETTA, GA
IDLING IN PARK; SEATBELT LIGHT KEPT DINGING ON; SPEEDOMETER KEPT JUMPING BACK AND FORTH FROM 0-100; IDLING AT TRAFFIC STOP; CAR SHUTTERS LIKE IT WILL CUT OFF; SPEEDOMETER JUMPS AROUND WHILE CAR IS NOT MOVING. PCM/TCM REPLACED MULTIPLE TIME; BATTERY LOSES CHARGE FOR NO KNOWN REASON; HAVE HAD PROBLEMS W/ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON, PAY FOR SENSORS AND PARTS NEEDED ONLY FOR THE SAME ISSUE TO HAPPEN. THESE CARS ARE DANGEROUS. THERE NEED TO BE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT BEFORE SOMEONE DIES FROM THESE CARS STALLING WITH NO ABILITY TO CONTROL CAR. CHRYSLER KNOWS FULL WELL OF THESE GARBAGE CARS. THAT IS THE REAL REASON THEY DISCONTINUED THEM! SOMEONE NEEDS TI STEP IN. YOU ALL HAVE RECEIVED ENOUGH COMPLAINTS WHERE SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/24/2016 - ALPHARETTA, GA
IDLING IN PARK; SEATBELT LIGHT KEPT DINGING ON; SPEEDOMETER KEPT JUMPING BACK AND FORTH FROM 0-100; IDLING AT TRAFFIC STOP; CAR SHUTTERS LIKE IT WILL CUT OFF; SPEEDOMETER JUMPS AROUND WHILE CAR IS NOT MOVING. PCM/TCM REPLACED MULTIPLE TIME; BATTERY LOSES CHARGE FOR NO KNOWN REASON; HAVE HAD PROBLEMS W/ENGINE LIGHT COMING ON, PAY FOR SENSORS AND PARTS NEEDED ONLY FOR THE SAME ISSUE TO HAPPEN. THESE CARS ARE DANGEROUS. THERE NEED TO BE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT BEFORE SOMEONE DIES FROM THESE CARS STALLING WITH NO ABILITY TO CONTROL CAR. CHRYSLER KNOWS FULL WELL OF THESE GARBAGE CARS. THAT IS THE REAL REASON THEY DISCONTINUED THEM! SOMEONE NEEDS TI STEP IN. YOU ALL HAVE RECEIVED ENOUGH COMPLAINTS WHERE SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/21/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
WHILE DRIVING I NOTICED RATTLING NOISES COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE AND EXCESSIVE ROAD NOISE IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT COMING FROM THE BACK. AFTER A RAINY DAY I OBSERVED PUDDLES OF WATER BEHIND THE REAR SEATS. UPON INVESTIGATING I FOUND THAT THE FIXED REAR QUARTER WINDOWS WERE NO LONGER PROPERLY ATTACHED TO THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE. I LEARNED THAT A RECALL WAS PERFORMED ON THIS VEHICLE BACK IN 2007 (NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 07V149000) I CALLED CHRYSLER AND THEY VERIFIED THAT THE RECALL HAD BEEN PERFORMED ON THIS VEHICLE IN MAY OF 2007. IT WOULD APPEAR THAT THE FIX IS NOT EFFECTIVE, AND FRANKLY I AM NOT SURPRISED. EXPECTING PLASTIC TO MAINTAIN INTEGRITY LONG TERM UNDER TENSION IS FOOLISH. IT SHOULD BE POSSIBLE TO USE A MORE PERMANENT, FLEXIBLE ADHESIVE (E.G. RTV) TO SEAL THE WINDOW TO THE BODY OF THE VEHICLE AND ELIMINATE THE POSSIBILITY OF THE WINDOW MOUNTING BOLT FAILURE CAUSING THE WINDOWS TO DETACH FROM THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/17/2016 - NAPLES, FL
ON 6/15 IT WAS NECESSARY FOR ME TO TAKE THIS VEHICLE ON THE ROAD. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER SINCE IT'S ISSUES HAVE BEEN INCREASING IN SEVERITY WITH EACH DRIVE. I CAN NO LONGER DRIVE ON THE HIGHWAY AND LOCAL DRIVING WHICH NECESSITATES STOPPING AT TRAFFIC LIGHTS AND STOP SIGNS IS CHALLENGING TO SAY THE LEAST. BECOMING INCREASING DIFFICULT TO START; ENGINE BUCKS WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP AND CONTINUES TO DO SO WHILE DRIVING. IT CONTINUES TO STALL WITHOUT WARNING AND MY MECHANIC CANNOT EVEN GET MY DASHBOARD TO FUNCTION; NONE OF MY GAUGES ARE OPERATIONAL AND OF COURSE I HAVE NO INTERIOR LIGHTING AT ALL. I HAVE READ SO MANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS AND FIND IT DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND WHY CHRYSLER HAS NOT BEEN FORCED TO ADDRESS THE ISSUES WITH THESE VEHICLES BEYOND OFFERING A KIT FOR PURCHASE WHICH WILL NOT GUARANTEE ACCEPTABLE RESULTS. I URGE EVERYONE FILING AND/OR READING THESE COMPLAINTS TO TAKE SOME ACTION. CONTACT THE DOT, SPEAK WITH A LAWYER, BE A VOICE AND CONTINUE TO BE A VOICE UNTIL SOMEONE, SOMEWHERE TAKES ACTION ON OUR BEHALF. I'M NOT ABLE TO TRADE THIS CAR; WHO WOULD WANT IT; STILL PAYING DOWN MY LOAN ON IT AND PRAY EVERY TIME I LEAVE THE HOUSE THAT I WILL BE ABLE TO RETURN HOME SAFELY. WHAT A DISGRACE THIS IS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/15/2016 - FLORENCE, AL
UPON STARTING THE CAR, THE GAUGE LIGHTS FLASH AND BELLS DING, AND THE GAS GAUGE FLUCTUATED WILDLY. HAS DONE THIS SEVERAL TIMES. SO FAR, IT HAS STOPPED DOING THAT PRETTY QUICKLY. THE LAST TIME, I DID NOTICE THE CAR SEEMED TO HAVE A SLIGHT WHISHY NOISE AND SEEMED LIKE THE POWER WAS WEAK. IN THE PAST THERE HAVE BEEN A FEW TIMES THAT THE CAR WOULD CONTINUE RUNNING AFTER I TURNED IT OFF. THE BUTTON ON THE GEAR SHIFT HAS TO BE JIGGLED A LITTLE TO BE ABLE TO REMOVE THE KEY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/13/2016 - NAPLES, FL
CAR ENGINE SHUTS OFF WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING AND/OR WHILE MAKING TURNS, OR AFTER COMING TO A STOP AND STEERING FREEZES; ENGINE REVS UP AND DOWN WHILE DRIVING AND CANNOT ACCELERATE; DIFFICULTY RESTARTING; INTERIOR LIGHT BLINKS AND ALL DASHBOARD GAUGES SUDDENLY CEASED WORKING; REPLACED REAR QUARTER GLASS, BROKEN FASTENER CAUSED CAR TO FLOOD.PART RECALL NO. G01 AND I HAD IT REPLACED. CAR HAS BEEN INSPECTED BY MECHANICS AND ISSUES CANNOT DETECTED NOR FIXED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds