Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 209 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Exterior Lighting (10) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (12) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (54) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (8) Visibility (37)
Engine (14) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8) Wheels (1)
Equipment (3) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/10/2014 - MANCHESTER, NH
PT WAS HEADING SOUTH ON BEECH ST IN MANCHESTER NH. WHEN A DODGE CARAVAN WENT THOUGHT A STOP SIDE. HIT THE DRIVER SIDE FRONT FENDER AND PUSH THE PT ABOUT 5 FEET WEST. SO THE PT WAS NOW LOOKING AT CONER OF PROCEST AND BEECH ST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
ABOUT 10-15 TIMES OVER A PERIOD OF ABOUT 6 MONTHS I HAVE HAD REPEATED, IRREGULAR, INTERMITTENT MALFUNCTIONS AS FOLLOWS. ALL HAVE HAD THE SAME CHARACTERISTICS. AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS, DIFFERENT TIMES, DIFFERENT ACCELERATION, DIFFERENT DRIVERS, ETC. THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND ENGINE GO OUT MOMENTARILY THEN IN ABOUT 1 SECOND IS RESTORED. RARELY IT IS NOT RESTORED FOR 4-5 SECONDS. HEADLIGHTS STAY ON BUT ALL OTHER ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS TURN OFF FLEETINGLY. THE INSTRUMENT LIGHTS GO OFF AND THE DIALS DROP TO ZERO THEN ALMOST IMMEDIATELY POWER IS RESTORED, INSTRUMENTS RESUME THEIR PREVIOUS LEVELS AND EVERYTHING RETURNS TO NORMAL. THERE IS NO SPUTTERING, BACKFIRING OR WARNING OF AN IMPENDING EVENT. THERE IS NO CONSISTENT CIRCUMSTANCE WHICH PRECIPITATES THIS MALFUNCTION. I HAVE TAKEN IT TWICE TO THE DEALER BUT THE MALFUNCTION HAS NEVER RECURRED WHILE THEY WERE DRIVING AND ALTERNATOR, BATTERY, ETC. ALL CHECK OUT NORMALLY. THIS PROBLEM SOUNDS VERY SIMILAR TO THE CURRENTLY IDENTIFIED GM MALFUNCTION..ARE THE ELECTRICAL HARNESSES MADE BY THE SAME COMPANY?

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT ACCELERATE UNLESS THE CONTACT APPLIED CONTINUAL PRESSURE TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. ONCE THE SPEED REACHED 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD VIOLENTLY JERK. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,514.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/24/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, THE VEHICLE DOES NOT ACCELERATE UNLESS THE CONTACT APPLIED CONTINUAL PRESSURE TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. ONCE THE SPEED REACHED 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD VIOLENTLY JERK. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,514.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/17/2014 - METAIRIE, LA
ON MARCH 13, 2014 WHILE DRIVING MY PT CRUISER MY BRAKES FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE WAS WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS APPLIED THE PEDAL DID NOT DEPRESS (MOVE) THUS THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP. FORTUNATELY I HAD JUST BACKED OUT MY DRIVEWAY IS I WAS ABLE TO USE THE EMERGENCY HAND BRAKE. IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN TRAFFIC A ACCIDENT WOULD HAVE OCCURRED . I HAD MY VEHICLE TOWED TO THE CHRYSLER DEALER FOR REPAIR. THE DEALER FIRST SAID THAT THE BRAKE HOSE HAD DETERIORATED BUT THAN SAID AND CHARGED ME FOR A VALVE BREAK (PART NUMBER 1837900) THE COST OF VALVE $6.92 . IN MY OWNERS MANUAL PAGE 231IT STATES "THE DUAL BRAKING SYSTEM PROVIDES A RESERVE BRAKING CAPACITY IN THE EVENT OF A FAILURE TO A PORTION OF THE HYDRAULICS SYSTEM. FAILURE OF EITHER HALF.. ID INDICATED BY THE BRAKE WARNING LIGHT... AGAIN I WAS NOT PROVIDE WITH A WARNING OF THE FAILURE AND THE BACKUP SYSTEM DID NOT OPERATE!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/13/2014 - ELKHART, IN
I BOUGHT A PT CRUISER SEDAN AND THE CAR LOT I BOUGHT IF FROM SAID IT NEEDED FRONT SHOCKS AND IT WOULD BE READY IN TWO DAY. I PICK UP THE PT CRUISER AND DECIDED TO TAKE IT TO MY MECHANIC AND HAVE IT CHECK OUT FROM TOP TO BOTTOM. IT HAS OVER 100 MECHANICAL ISSUES, FROM SHOCKS WHICH WERE NEVER PUT ON. THERE IS OIL IN THE SPARK PLUGS AND LEAVES A SMELL WHEN THE HEATER IS ON WHICH MAKES US VERY ILL. IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. ALSO, THE CAR LOT I BOUGHT IT FROM WHICH IT WAS SOLD FOR AROUND $2,000 DOLLARS AND NEEDS OVER $3,000 DOLLARS WORTH OF WORK. THEN I GOT SLAPPED WITH AN EXTRA 5,000 FROM THE LOAN COMPANY. THIS IS A LEMON. I AM NOT PAYING FOR ANYTHING AND HIM AND I HAVE WENT AROUND AND AROUND ABOUT THIS PIECE OF JUNK. THEY CAN REPO IT AND THEN I AM GETTING AN ATTORNEY FOR SELLING ME A CAR THAT SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD. TOO DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2014 - ELKHART, IN
I BOUGHT A PT CRUISER SEDAN AND THE CAR LOT I BOUGHT IF FROM SAID IT NEEDED FRONT SHOCKS AND IT WOULD BE READY IN TWO DAY. I PICK UP THE PT CRUISER AND DECIDED TO TAKE IT TO MY MECHANIC AND HAVE IT CHECK OUT FROM TOP TO BOTTOM. IT HAS OVER 100 MECHANICAL ISSUES, FROM SHOCKS WHICH WERE NEVER PUT ON. THERE IS OIL IN THE SPARK PLUGS AND LEAVES A SMELL WHEN THE HEATER IS ON WHICH MAKES US VERY ILL. IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. ALSO, THE CAR LOT I BOUGHT IT FROM WHICH IT WAS SOLD FOR AROUND $2,000 DOLLARS AND NEEDS OVER $3,000 DOLLARS WORTH OF WORK. THEN I GOT SLAPPED WITH AN EXTRA 5,000 FROM THE LOAN COMPANY. THIS IS A LEMON. I AM NOT PAYING FOR ANYTHING AND HIM AND I HAVE WENT AROUND AND AROUND ABOUT THIS PIECE OF JUNK. THEY CAN REPO IT AND THEN I AM GETTING AN ATTORNEY FOR SELLING ME A CAR THAT SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD. TOO DANGEROUS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/13/2014 - ELKHART, IN
I BOUGHT A PT CRUISER SEDAN AND THE CAR LOT I BOUGHT IF FROM SAID IT NEEDED FRONT SHOCKS AND IT WOULD BE READY IN TWO DAY. I PICK UP THE PT CRUISER AND DECIDED TO TAKE IT TO MY MECHANIC AND HAVE IT CHECK OUT FROM TOP TO BOTTOM. IT HAS OVER 100 MECHANICAL ISSUES, FROM SHOCKS WHICH WERE NEVER PUT ON. THERE IS OIL IN THE SPARK PLUGS AND LEAVES A SMELL WHEN THE HEATER IS ON WHICH MAKES US VERY ILL. IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. ALSO, THE CAR LOT I BOUGHT IT FROM WHICH IT WAS SOLD FOR AROUND $2,000 DOLLARS AND NEEDS OVER $3,000 DOLLARS WORTH OF WORK. THEN I GOT SLAPPED WITH AN EXTRA 5,000 FROM THE LOAN COMPANY. THIS IS A LEMON. I AM NOT PAYING FOR ANYTHING AND HIM AND I HAVE WENT AROUND AND AROUND ABOUT THIS PIECE OF JUNK. THEY CAN REPO IT AND THEN I AM GETTING AN ATTORNEY FOR SELLING ME A CAR THAT SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD. TOO DANGEROUS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/29/2013 - MECHANICSBURG, PA
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE WARNING LIGHTS COME ON, STARTING WITH THE SEAT BELT LIGHT AND FOLLOWED BY THE OTHER WARNING LIGHTS, NEXT THE GAUGES ALL ZERO OUT, AND THEN THE CAR SHUTS OFF. IT HAS BEEN TAKEN TO A COUPLE OF CHRYSLER DEALERS AND TO A COUPLE OF INDEPENDENT MECHANICS, BUT NO ONE COULD FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. I CONDUCTED AN INTERNET SEARCH FOR MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH THIS YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL OF CAR AND FOUND MORE THAN A FEW WITH THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM AND NO SOLUTION. CHRYSLER SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. ITS REGRETTABLE THAT IT WOULD HAVE TO COME TO SOMETHING LIKE THAT FOR SOMEONE TO LOOK INTO THESE MALFUNCTIONING VEHICLES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/19/2013 - MANCHESTER, ME
AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON WON'T GO OFF DRIVER SIDE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds