Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 231 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment (3) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (12) Exterior Lighting (12) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (65) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (2) Steering (10) Visibility (38)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (8) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (22) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (9) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

8/12/2014 - NEWCASTLE, CA
DRIVING VEHICLE, ALL DASHBOARD LIGHTS BLINK ON AND OFF, CARS STALLS, BRAKES AND STEERING LOCK UP. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 15 TIMES OVER THE LAST FEW MONTHS, AND IS VERY DANGEROUS. ALSO, SOMETIMES THE ENGINE FAN WON'T SHUT OFF WHEN CAR IS TURNED OFF, AND IT DRAINS THE CAR BATTERY. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 10 TIMES. THAT PART IS GETTING EXPENSIVE AND VERY IRRITATING, BUT THE STALLING OUT AND COMPLETELY DYING, IS VERY DANGEROUS, BECAUSE YOU CAN'T ALWAYS GET OFF THE ROAD.

View Details

ENGINE

8/12/2014 - NEWCASTLE, CA
DRIVING VEHICLE, ALL DASHBOARD LIGHTS BLINK ON AND OFF, CARS STALLS, BRAKES AND STEERING LOCK UP. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 15 TIMES OVER THE LAST FEW MONTHS, AND IS VERY DANGEROUS. ALSO, SOMETIMES THE ENGINE FAN WON'T SHUT OFF WHEN CAR IS TURNED OFF, AND IT DRAINS THE CAR BATTERY. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 10 TIMES. THAT PART IS GETTING EXPENSIVE AND VERY IRRITATING, BUT THE STALLING OUT AND COMPLETELY DYING, IS VERY DANGEROUS, BECAUSE YOU CAN'T ALWAYS GET OFF THE ROAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/12/2014 - NEWCASTLE, CA
DRIVING VEHICLE, ALL DASHBOARD LIGHTS BLINK ON AND OFF, CARS STALLS, BRAKES AND STEERING LOCK UP. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 15 TIMES OVER THE LAST FEW MONTHS, AND IS VERY DANGEROUS. ALSO, SOMETIMES THE ENGINE FAN WON'T SHUT OFF WHEN CAR IS TURNED OFF, AND IT DRAINS THE CAR BATTERY. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 10 TIMES. THAT PART IS GETTING EXPENSIVE AND VERY IRRITATING, BUT THE STALLING OUT AND COMPLETELY DYING, IS VERY DANGEROUS, BECAUSE YOU CAN'T ALWAYS GET OFF THE ROAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/5/2014 - DENVER, IN
THIS IS IN CONCERN TO A 2006 PT CRUISER TOURING PURCHASED AT BOB SCHWARTZ CHRYSLER IN MARCH 2007; BUNKER HILL, IN. SHORT TIME AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED, ATTEMPTED TO START VEHICLE AND IT WOULD NOT START: (MAKE NOTE THIS VEHICLE HAS APPROXIAMATELY 16,500 MILES ON IT NOW). TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO DEALER AND NEW BATTERY WAS INSTALLED, THIS HAPPEN MULTIPLE TIMES WITHOUT PROBLEM BEING RESOLVED(IE: BOB SCHWARTZ X4, PRECISION AUTO, CROW'S AUTO, AND ***ASH VALLEY CHRYSLER; 1ST CA***). 2 CASES HAVE BEEN OPENED WITH CHRYSLER CORPORATION (AUBURN HILLS, MI). 1ST CASE RESULTED IN ANOTHER NEW BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR BEING REPLACED (OCT 2013). 2ND CASE IS ONGOING WITH NO RESOLUTION IN SIGHT. VEHICLE IS NOW BACK AT ORIGINAL DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSTICS AND HAVE NOT FOUND A SOLUTION. AT ALL INSTANCES WE HAVE INCURRED MULTIPLE DIAGNOSTIC, COST OF TOWING VEHICLE, BATTERY COST, CO-PAYS AND NEVER BEEN OFFERED A RENTAL CAR TO OFFSET THE UNDUE BURDEN THIS HAS CAUSED. **** SCHWARTZ SERVICE DEPARTMENT INDICATED TO US BEFORE LAST SERVICE (BOB SCHWARTZ) THAT PRIOR TO OUR PURCHASE OF THE VEHICLE; IT HAD PREVIOUSLY BEEN SERVICED FOR AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM AND THIS WAS NOT DISCLOSED AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE.*****S VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED AT BOB SCHWARTZ CHRYSLER; SINCE THEN WITH REGARD TO THIS INTERMITTENT ELECTRICAL PROBLEM, THIS CAR OVER THE COURSE OF 2007 TO PRESENT HAS BEEN AT BOB SCHWARTZ X2, PRECISION AUTO, CROW'S AUTO, BACK TO BOB SCHWARTZ, WABASH VALLEY CHRYSLER (IE. 1ST CASE WITH CHRYSLER CORPORATION 2013) AND NOW BACK TO BOB SCHWARTZ (IE. 2ND CASE WITH CHRYSLER CORPORATION).

View Details

ENGINE

7/31/2014 - UNIVERSAL CITY, TX
THE FIRST TIME IN SEPTEMBER 2013 THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING FINE. I HAD GONE INTO A STORE AND WHEN I CAME OUT IT WOULD NOT START. THE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WERE ON BUT SOME WERE FLASHING ON AND OFF. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANICS SHOP AND THEY DETERMINED IT WAS THE BATTERY AND REPLACED IT. EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WILL FLASH ON AND OFF BUT NOT FOR LONG. LAST NIGHT 7/30/2014 I WAS DRIVING, EVERYTHING WAS FINE AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS WERE ON AND THE VEHICLE JUST DIED. IT WAS A GOOD THING THAT I WAS IN A SHOPPING CENTER AND NOT ON THE ROAD BECAUSE AT FIRST THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK. THIS IS NOT SAFE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO GET ANOTHER VEHICLE RIGHT NOW. WE HAD TO PUSH IT TO SAFETY AND THEN I NOTICED THERE WAS SOME KIND OF CODE OR SOMETHING (NO BUS/5) AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RPM SECTION OF THE PANEL. COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING IN THE MANUAL ABOUT IT, CALLED AN AUTO PARTS STORE AND IT DIDN'T SHOW UP IN THEIR DATABASE, SO I HAD A FRIEND GOOGLE IT. EVERYTHING POINTS TO THE ELECTRICAL/COMPUTER SYSTEM AND FUSES. SEVERAL PEOPLE POSTED THIS ISSUE WITH JEEPS AND PT CRUISERS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/31/2014 - UNIVERSAL CITY, TX
THE FIRST TIME IN SEPTEMBER 2013 THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING FINE. I HAD GONE INTO A STORE AND WHEN I CAME OUT IT WOULD NOT START. THE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WERE ON BUT SOME WERE FLASHING ON AND OFF. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANICS SHOP AND THEY DETERMINED IT WAS THE BATTERY AND REPLACED IT. EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WILL FLASH ON AND OFF BUT NOT FOR LONG. LAST NIGHT 7/30/2014 I WAS DRIVING, EVERYTHING WAS FINE AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS WERE ON AND THE VEHICLE JUST DIED. IT WAS A GOOD THING THAT I WAS IN A SHOPPING CENTER AND NOT ON THE ROAD BECAUSE AT FIRST THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK. THIS IS NOT SAFE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO GET ANOTHER VEHICLE RIGHT NOW. WE HAD TO PUSH IT TO SAFETY AND THEN I NOTICED THERE WAS SOME KIND OF CODE OR SOMETHING (NO BUS/5) AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RPM SECTION OF THE PANEL. COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING IN THE MANUAL ABOUT IT, CALLED AN AUTO PARTS STORE AND IT DIDN'T SHOW UP IN THEIR DATABASE, SO I HAD A FRIEND GOOGLE IT. EVERYTHING POINTS TO THE ELECTRICAL/COMPUTER SYSTEM AND FUSES. SEVERAL PEOPLE POSTED THIS ISSUE WITH JEEPS AND PT CRUISERS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/31/2014 - UNIVERSAL CITY, TX
THE FIRST TIME IN SEPTEMBER 2013 THE VEHICLE WAS RUNNING FINE. I HAD GONE INTO A STORE AND WHEN I CAME OUT IT WOULD NOT START. THE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WERE ON BUT SOME WERE FLASHING ON AND OFF. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANICS SHOP AND THEY DETERMINED IT WAS THE BATTERY AND REPLACED IT. EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE LIGHTS ON THE PANEL WILL FLASH ON AND OFF BUT NOT FOR LONG. LAST NIGHT 7/30/2014 I WAS DRIVING, EVERYTHING WAS FINE AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS WERE ON AND THE VEHICLE JUST DIED. IT WAS A GOOD THING THAT I WAS IN A SHOPPING CENTER AND NOT ON THE ROAD BECAUSE AT FIRST THE BRAKES WOULDN'T WORK. THIS IS NOT SAFE. I CAN'T AFFORD TO GET ANOTHER VEHICLE RIGHT NOW. WE HAD TO PUSH IT TO SAFETY AND THEN I NOTICED THERE WAS SOME KIND OF CODE OR SOMETHING (NO BUS/5) AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RPM SECTION OF THE PANEL. COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING IN THE MANUAL ABOUT IT, CALLED AN AUTO PARTS STORE AND IT DIDN'T SHOW UP IN THEIR DATABASE, SO I HAD A FRIEND GOOGLE IT. EVERYTHING POINTS TO THE ELECTRICAL/COMPUTER SYSTEM AND FUSES. SEVERAL PEOPLE POSTED THIS ISSUE WITH JEEPS AND PT CRUISERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - SPRING HILL, FL
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE THE PANEL LIGHTS STARTED TO COME ON. AT 1ST IT WAS SLOWLY UNTIL IT FILLED THE PANEL, LATER THE WHOLE GROUP WOULD POP ON, AND THEN GO OFF. THE 1ST SIX OR EIGHT TIMES THEY CAME ON THE ONLY THING THAT WAS EFFECTED WAS THE LIGHTS AND GAUGES. AS I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THEN THE LIGHTS AND GAUGES WOULD ACT UP, BUT THE CAR WOULD STALL, OR SHUT OFF AND THEN POP BACK ON. WHEN EXAMINED BY THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP ON THE DIAGNOSTIC MACHINE ($95.00), THEY FOUND IGNITION SWITCH FAILURE WAS OCCURRING. I SPOKE TO CHRYSLER GROUP CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY SAID IT WAS NOT THEIR IGNITION SWITCH AT FAULT , BUT THE POSTS WERE BURNT DUE TO AGE??? IF THE CAR WAS ALREADY RUNNING AND I WAS NOT TOUCHING THE KEY, WHY OR HOW DID THESE POSTS COME INTO PLAY??

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/27/2014 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
INITIAL INCIDENT STALLED OUT WAITING AT STOP LIGHT. AFTER INITIAL INCIDENT, VEHICLE WOULD OCCASIONALLY BEHAVE AS IF ABOUT TO STALL WITH ALL WARNING LIGHTS FLASHING. THEN THE CONDITION WOULD GO AWAY AND CAR WOULD OPERATE NORMALLY FOR AWHILE AND THEN OCCUR AGAIN. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE ISSUE AND CAR PASSED THEIR TEST. THE VEHICLE HAS STALLED OUT SEVERAL TIMES SINCE, WHILE IN MOTION. THE LAST INCIDENT, VEHICLE WAS AT APPROXIMATELY 45-50 MPH WHEN ALL ELECTRICAL WARNING LIGHTS FLASHED AND VEHICLE STALLED, LOSING ALL POWER STEERING, BRAKE FUNCTIONS. THE CAR HAS LESS THAN 28,000 MILES ON IT AT THE CURRENT TIME. I FEEL IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/25/2014 - CARMEL, NY
I KEEP GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND LIGHTS COME ON THE DASH AND MOTOR CUTS OFF WITH NO WARNING ALMOST GOT RE-ENDED WITH MY THREE, 3, CHILDREN ON BOARD. HOW CAN I STOP THIS FROM HAPPENING EVERY 10 MILES THAT I DRIVE. I HAVE TO PULL OVER AND DISCONNECT THE BATTERY IN ORDER FOR IT TO REGAIN ITS COMPOSURE.HAVE TAKEN IT TO MANY MECHANICS AND EVEN AN ELECTRICAL PLACE AND NONE OF THEM CAN FIGURE OUT THE PROBLEM . IF ANYONE FIGURES OUT THIS PROBLEM PLEASE POST BEFORE SOMEONE GET HURT OR KILLED I DRIVE IN A MAJOR CITY AND ON THE INTERSTATES AND IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME ON THE INTERSTATE AND I HAVE HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE WAY PLEASE SOMEONE HELP I CANT AFFORD TO GO OUT AND PURCHASE ANOTHER VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds