Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 316 complaints filed for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (9)
Communications (13) Exterior Lighting (19) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (121) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (21) Service Brakes Hydraulic (10) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (5) Steering (15) Visibility (39)
Engine (47) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Structure (12) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (37) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (10) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2017 - LITTLE ROCK, AR
WE BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE IN ABOUT OCTOBER 2014 AND WE HAVE HAD TO HAVE THE IGNITION SWITCH REPLACED WITHIN A WEEK OF BUYING THE VEHICLE AND THE REPLACEMENT IGNITION SWITCH FAILED ON OR ABOUT SEPTEMBER 8, 2017. MY HUSBAND TRIED TO START THE CAR ON THAT DATE AND THE IGNITION SWITCH FAILED TO MAKE EVEN A SMALL NOISE LET ALONE START THE CAR. POSSIBLE LEAD IN PROBLEMS TO THE FAILURE OF THE IGNITION SWITCH WERE THE BRAKE LIGHTS BURNING OUT ONCE A WEEK AND THE ALARM INDICATING THAT THE KEYS WERE LEFT IN THE IGNITION WHEN THE DRIVER OPENED THE DOOR WHEN THE KEYS WERE IN THE DRIVER'S POCKET OR PURSE STARTING ABOUT 4 WEEKS BEFORE THE IGNITION SWITCH FULLY FAILED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/5/2017 - FORT WORTH, TX
FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW,MY CAR'S DASH LIGHTS WILL ALL ILLIMINATE ON AND OFF IRRATICALLY AND GAUGUES FLUCTUATING UP AND DOWN SIMULTANEOUSLY. OFTEN BUT NOT ALWAYS,THE CAR WILL STALL AND DIE WHEN THIS HAPPENS. OTHER TIMES I CAN FEEL A LOSS OF POWER. IN FEBUARY I HAD MY BATTERY CORROSION CLEANED UP,TERMINALS REPLACED AND TIGHTENED. FOR ABOUT FOUR MONTHS AFTERWARDS IT NEVER HAPPENED AGAIN. IT'S ALMOST AS IF THE VOLTAGE IS UNSTABLE..LIKE IT'S BEING CHOKED OFF. CAR BATTERY LIGHT SOMETIMES IS ON..OTHERTIMES IT'S OFF AND HAS BEEN THAT WAY FOR YEARS. CAR HAS ABOUT 121,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/5/2017 - SPRINGFIELD, TN
TAKATA RECALL- THE CAR WILL AT RANDOM TIMES NOT CHANGE OUT OF FIRST GEAR. I CAN PULL OVER SOMETIMES AND RESTART IT MULTIPLE TIME AND IT WOULD WORK. MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS ALSO RANDOMLY COME ON NOW. AND THE THERMOMETER SOMETIMES WILL BE BLANK AND SOMETIMES WILL SAY -12 WHEN IT IS 90 DEGREES, AND SOMETIMES IT IS ACCURATE. AND SOMETIMES IT WILL LIGHT UP SAYING I AM IN ALL GEARS, PARK, NEUTRAL, DRIVE, REVERSE. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS IF I AM ON THE INTERSTATE, OR GOING UP A HILL AND THIS HAPPENS I CAN'T GO OVER 35 MILES PER HOUR WITHOUT TAKING A CHANCE OF BLOWING MY ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/5/2017 - SPRINGFIELD, TN
TAKATA RECALL- THE CAR WILL AT RANDOM TIMES NOT CHANGE OUT OF FIRST GEAR. I CAN PULL OVER SOMETIMES AND RESTART IT MULTIPLE TIME AND IT WOULD WORK. MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS ALSO RANDOMLY COME ON NOW. AND THE THERMOMETER SOMETIMES WILL BE BLANK AND SOMETIMES WILL SAY -12 WHEN IT IS 90 DEGREES, AND SOMETIMES IT IS ACCURATE. AND SOMETIMES IT WILL LIGHT UP SAYING I AM IN ALL GEARS, PARK, NEUTRAL, DRIVE, REVERSE. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS IF I AM ON THE INTERSTATE, OR GOING UP A HILL AND THIS HAPPENS I CAN'T GO OVER 35 MILES PER HOUR WITHOUT TAKING A CHANCE OF BLOWING MY ENGINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/5/2017 - SPRINGFIELD, TN
TAKATA RECALL- THE CAR WILL AT RANDOM TIMES NOT CHANGE OUT OF FIRST GEAR. I CAN PULL OVER SOMETIMES AND RESTART IT MULTIPLE TIME AND IT WOULD WORK. MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS ALSO RANDOMLY COME ON NOW. AND THE THERMOMETER SOMETIMES WILL BE BLANK AND SOMETIMES WILL SAY -12 WHEN IT IS 90 DEGREES, AND SOMETIMES IT IS ACCURATE. AND SOMETIMES IT WILL LIGHT UP SAYING I AM IN ALL GEARS, PARK, NEUTRAL, DRIVE, REVERSE. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS IF I AM ON THE INTERSTATE, OR GOING UP A HILL AND THIS HAPPENS I CAN'T GO OVER 35 MILES PER HOUR WITHOUT TAKING A CHANCE OF BLOWING MY ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2017 - COLUMBUS, NE
THE REAR HATCH KEEPS OPENING BY ITSELF WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR IS RUNNING AND MOVING DOWN THE STREET AND YOU HEAR THE LATCH ON THE LIFTGATE ACTIVATE UNLATCHING IT. YOU GET A CONFIRMATION NOTICE IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL THAT THE LIFTGATE IS OPEN. IT IS CONSISTENT ON THE FREQUENCY BUT NOT CAUSED BY A CERTAIN EVENT, LIKE HITTING A BUMP OR TURNING OR COMING TO A STOP, BEEN GOING ON FOR ABOUT 3 YEARS. FINALLY DID SOME INTERNET SEARCHING AND IT SOUNDS LIKE THIS IS A FAIRLY COMMON ISSUE WITH THE PT CRUISER LIFTGATE LATCHES FOR SEVERAL MODEL YEARS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/12/2017 - ALABASTER, AL
I HAVE A 2006 CONVERTIBLE PT CRUISER TURBO LITE (TURBO TUNED TO TAKE REGULAR GAS) - AND HAVE THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM THIS GUY I QUOTED BELOW HAD/HAS. RAW GAS FUMES FILL THE CAR EVERY TIME I TURN A CORNER OR ACCELERATE THE CAR TO PASS A SLOW MOVING VEHICLE ON THE INTERSTATE. USUALLY THE SLOW VEHICLE IS GOING ABOUT 60 SO IT'S NOT LIKE I THINK I'M ON THE SPEED-LIMIT-FREE AUTOBAHN. THE GAS TANK IS ALWAYS LESS THAN 1/2 FULL SINCE I RARELY DRIVE OUT OF TOWN. QUOTE FROM FACEBOOK - WARNING: ALL PT CRUISER OWNERS. FIRE HAZARD.. I JUST SUBMITTED THE FOLLOWING COMPLAINT TO THE NHTSA. THERE IS A SHORT JUMPER FUEL LINE (PLASTIC) THAT CONNECTS THE MAIN FUEL LINE THAT RUNS FROM THE TANK UP TO THE FIRE WALL WITH THE FUEL RAIL. THIS LINE LEAKS FUEL WHERE IT CONNECTS TO THE MAIN LINE. IT HAS BEEN REPLACED THREE TIMES AND CONTINUES TO LEAK. THIS IS DANGEROUS BECAUSE THIS LINE IS ONLY A FEW INCHES FROM THE TURBO OR EXHAUST AND ON A RIGHT HAND TURN COULD DRIP ON TO THE TURBO OR EXHAUST AND IGNITE...THE SMELL OF FUEL ENTERS THE CABIN. PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM A ASE CERTIFIED MASTER TECHNICIAN AND BESIDES OWNING A PT CRUISER HAVE WORKED ON SEVERAL OTHERS AND ALMOST EVERY SINGLE ONE HAS THIS PROBLEM WHETHER IT IS A TURBO ENGINE OR NOT...IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE EXPERIENCES AN ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRE BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM... WHAT REALLY BOTHERS ME THE MOST IS THAT IF YOU ASK ANY CHRYSLER DEALER (ASK THE TECH) THEY WILL TELL YOU THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM SO THERE IS NO DOUBT CHRYSLER IS AWARE. I GUESS SOMEONE IS GOING TO HAVE TO DIE OR SUFFER SEVERE INJURY BEFORE CHRYSLER DOES ANYTHING ABOUT THIS. "

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/20/2017 - SAYLORSBURG, PA
RIGHT SIDE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY INOPERATIVE. NO HIGH BEAM, LOW BEAM, OR TURN SIGNAL / FLASHER FUNCTION. REPLACED BULBS SEVERAL TIMES AND ALL TEST GOOD IN OTHER FIXTURES SUCH AS DRIVER SIDE LAMP ASSEMBLY. ENGINE IS THROWING "CYLINDER 3 MISFIRE DETECTED". PLUGS, WIRES REPLACED WITH NO REPAIR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/20/2017 - SAYLORSBURG, PA
RIGHT SIDE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY INOPERATIVE. NO HIGH BEAM, LOW BEAM, OR TURN SIGNAL / FLASHER FUNCTION. REPLACED BULBS SEVERAL TIMES AND ALL TEST GOOD IN OTHER FIXTURES SUCH AS DRIVER SIDE LAMP ASSEMBLY. ENGINE IS THROWING "CYLINDER 3 MISFIRE DETECTED". PLUGS, WIRES REPLACED WITH NO REPAIR.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/19/2017 - ATASCADERO, CA
WHILST DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY MY REAR DRIVER'S SIDE VISIBILITY WINDOW FLEW OFF OF MY CAR AND NEARLY HIT THE VEHICLE DRIVING IN THE FAST LANE TO MY IMMEDIATE LEFT AT 65MPH. THEY HAD TO SWERVE TO AVOID A COLLISION WITH IT. I STOPPED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND PICKED IT UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds