Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 711 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (63) Fuel Propulsion System (139) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (139) Power Train (146) Steering (64) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Engine (174) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (57) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/29/2014 - DENVER, CO
I HAVE EXPERIENCED A NUMBER OF INCIDENTS WHERE THE VEHICLE WHILE MOVING AT A SLOW SPEED (TYPICALLY IN CITY TRAFFIC) THE VEHICLE WILL JERK FORWARD AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WILL DING. SOMETIMES THE CAR WILL PUSH THROUGH AND KEEP MOVING OTHER TIMES IT WILL STALL COMPLETELY AND NEED TO BE RESTARTED. THIS HAS BEEN INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS AS IT HAS HAPPENED GETTING ON HIGHWAYS FROM ON RAMPS. ONCE I RESTART THE CAR ALL SEEMS TO BE FINE BUT ITS COMPLETELY UNPREDICTABLE AND VERY DANGEROUS!

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2014 - DENVER, CO
I HAVE EXPERIENCED A NUMBER OF INCIDENTS WHERE THE VEHICLE WHILE MOVING AT A SLOW SPEED (TYPICALLY IN CITY TRAFFIC) THE VEHICLE WILL JERK FORWARD AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WILL DING. SOMETIMES THE CAR WILL PUSH THROUGH AND KEEP MOVING OTHER TIMES IT WILL STALL COMPLETELY AND NEED TO BE RESTARTED. THIS HAS BEEN INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS AS IT HAS HAPPENED GETTING ON HIGHWAYS FROM ON RAMPS. ONCE I RESTART THE CAR ALL SEEMS TO BE FINE BUT ITS COMPLETELY UNPREDICTABLE AND VERY DANGEROUS!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/25/2014 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
AFTER FILL UP CAR STALLED SHORTLY AFTER ,WHILE IN TRAFFIC, CAR STARTED UP AND SHUT DOWN IMMEDIATELY. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME, BUT CAR KEPT TURNING ON AND SHUTTING DOWN AT IDLE AND LOW SPEED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/25/2014 - VALPARAISO , IN
COLUMN SHIFTER WILL NOT GO INTO PARK. SHIFTS INTO OTHER GEARS, BUT WILL NOT ENGAGE INTO PARK. CAR WILL ROLL IF PARKING BRAKE IS NOT ENGAGED, OR SWITCH INTO A DIFFERENT GEAR. CHRYSLER STATED THAT THE RECALL IS ONLY VIN# SPECIFIC, BUT CLEARLY IT IS EFFECTING ALL 2006 CHARGERS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - PLACENTIA, CA
AFTER EVERY FILL UP MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER WILL DIE. IT WILL STALL. IT WILL STOP RUNNING. THIS WILL, AND HAS HAPPENED WHILE IDLING AT INTERSECTIONS, DURING U-TURNS, LEFT TURNS, RIGHT TURNS, AT 25 MPH, AT FREEWAY SPEEDS UP TO 65 MPH, AND, OR EVERY SPEED IN BETWEEN. IT OCCURS UP TO AND UNTIL THE ENGINE BURNS OFF SUFFICIENT FUEL SO AS NOT TO EFFECT WHATEVER SYSTEM IS BEING EFFECTED/FAILING. THIS IS POTENTIALLY FATAL (ONE EXAMPLE COULD BE WHILE MAKING A LEGAL LEFT HAND TURN IN FRONT OF ON COMING TRAFFIC FULLY EXPECTING THE CAR TO CONTINUE RUNNING, AND THEN IMMEDIATELY LOSING ENGINE POWER, POWER BRAKES, AND POWER STEERING WHICH ARE ALL SUPPLIED ONLY WHILE THE ENGINE IS RUNNING. THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY AS I HAVE READ HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FOR IDENTICAL ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - WAYNE, NJ
I WAS STOPPED TO MAKE A LEFT TURN. I BEGAN MAKING A LEFT AND THE CAR STALLED. AN ONCOMING VAN NEARLY T'D MY CAR AT 40 MPH. THIS WAS THE THIRD INCIDENT IN THE PAST MONTH. THIS CAR SHOULD BE RECALLED BEFORE CHRYSLER/DODGE FACES A SIMILAR FATE AS GM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/20/2014 - LAPLACE, LA
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER STALLS AND DIES WHEN I AM DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS OR WHEN I STOP. THIS USUALLY OCCURS AFTER I HAVE REFUELED MY CAR. ON THE LAST OCCURRENCE MY CAR DIED IN AN INTERSECTION. THE CAR USUALLY RESTARTS AFTER I TURN THE KEY. HOWEVER, THE OTHER DAY IT TOOK SEVERAL TRIES TO RESTART IT AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/19/2014 - PADUCAH, KY
JUST AN UPDATE SINCE MY FIRST COMPLAINT IN JUNE 2014. THE CAR CONTINUES TO STALL SEVERAL TIMES AFTER EVERY FILL UP. TODAY, IT DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION TWICE (WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC) AND THEN DIED A THIRD TIME WHEN I WAS PAST THE INTERSECTION BUT WITHIN THE SAME BLOCK. I WISH MY HUSBAND HAD NEVER PURCHASED THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/14/2014 - CORDELE, GA
ENGINE OVERHEATED, IMMEDIATELY SHUT OFF AND, I NOW NEED A NEW ENGINE. THERE WERE RECALLS FOR SOME OF THE ENGINE COOLING FANS IN MY CAR YEAR AND MODEL (06 DODGE CHARGER), BUT I AM BEING TOLD THAT IT DOES NOT APPLY TO ME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/14/2014 - ROANOKE, VA
I WAS SITTING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN. I PROCEEDED TO GO THROUGH THE LIGHT AND INTERSECTION (4-WAY VERY BUSY HIGHWAY) AND THE CAR STALLED LOCKING UP THE STEERING WHEEL, LIGHTING UP THE DASH. I MANAGED TO MANEUVER JUST ENOUGH TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BEFORE SOMEONE REAR ENDED ME. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED BUT THIS WAS ONE OF THE TIMES MY CHILD WAS WITH ME DURING A VERY HECTIC DAY AND IT COULD HAVE RESULTED IN A MAJOR CRASH. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THE FUEL CUTTING OFF OR WHATEVER IS CAUSING THE CAR TO CUT OFF AFTER FILLING UP THE CAR, IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME WE PUT GAS IN THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds