Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 737 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (67) Fuel Propulsion System (128) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (165) Power Train (154) Steering (66) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Engine (188) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
CAR RUNS ROUGH AND DIES. CAR DIED WHILE CROSSING A STEET IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. NEVER CAN TELL WHEN CAR WILL ACT UP, AND THIS IS A POLICE PATROL CAR. THIS PROBLEM IS WIDESPREAD IN THIS YEAR MODEL, AND COULD LEAD TO A CRASH, AND EVEN DEATH.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - CHANDLER, AZ
THE VEHICLE STALLS AFTER FILLING UP THE FUEL TANK, THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES LEAVING ME STRANDED IN TRAFFIC UNTIL I COULD GET THE CAR TO START AGAIN. IT IS ESPECIALLY VULNERABLE O STALLING WHEN MAKING A LEFT TURN OR COMING TO AN ABRUPT STOP. I HAVE BEEN AT THE MERCY OF OTHER VEHICLES SEEING MY PREDICAMENT AND STOPPING TO AVOID RUNNING INTO ME. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY SAID I HAVE TO BRING MY CAR IN TO GET IT TESTED AND IF THE PROBLEM IS VERIFIED I CAN GET ON A WAITING LIST OF OVER 50 PEOPLE. THEY ARE CURRENTLY GETTING REPLACEMENT PARTS TO CORRECT THE DEFECT AT THE RATE OF ONE EVERY 3 WEEKS. DOING THE MATH, THEY EXPECT ME TO PUT MYSELF AT RISK FOR ANOTHER 3 YEARS BEFORE CORRECTING THE PROBLEM, OR TAKE THE LOSS AND REPLACE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - CEDAR PARK, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT CHRYSLER+S EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS RECEIVED FOR NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE13016 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE ) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE DEALER WAS UNCERTAIN OF WHEN THE PART WAS TO BECOME AVAILABLE AND WAS UNABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE UNDER THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND STATED THAT THE PART WOULD NOT BE AVAILABLE FOR APPROXIMATELY ANOTHER 5-6 MONTHS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/11/2014 - SHIRLEY, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT BECAME STUCK IN THE PARK POSITION. THE CONTACT HAD TO USE A SCREWDRIVER IN ORDER TO MOVE THE GEAR SHIFT OUT OF PARK. ALSO, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY BECAME LODGED IN THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/10/2014 - ANTIOCH, CA
I STARED MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER UP ONE DAY AND IT SOUNDED LIKE A LAWNMOWER, SO I SENT IT OFF TO THE DEALER SAY IT DROPPED A VALVE, I SAY HOW THAT HAPPEN THEY TELL ME ITS A DEFECT WITH THOSE ENGINES HE GETS THEM IN ALL THE TIME. IM SO UPSET BEHIND THIS MATTER CAUSE THEY WANT $3500 TO FIX MY CAR, I KEEP MY CAR FULLY SERVICED JUST HAD A MAJOR TUNE UP & WATER PUMP REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/6/2014 - MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA
CAR DIED IN INTERSECTION. HAPPENED TWICE. IT STALLS, CHOKES AND DIES THEN HAS PROBLEMS RESTARTING TAKES ABOUT 3-4 TRIES THEN RESTARTS. VERY DANGEROUS AND ACCIDENT CAUSING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/4/2014 - PERRIS, CA
FOOT ON BRAKE... START CAR... CAN NOT MOVE SHIFT LEAVER FROM PARK POSITION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/2/2014 - PEARLAND, TX
CAR STALLS OUT AFTER FILLING UP THE TANK. IT ALSO IS DYING AND CRANKING BACK UP AT 40 MPH AND A COUPLE OF TIMES ON THE FREEWAY DOING 80 MPH. ALSO JUST SITTING AT A RED LIGHT WITH A HALF OF TANK OF GAS AND CAR JUST DIES. HAVE TO PUT IT IN PARK TO RESTART IT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/2/2014 - PEARLAND, TX
CAR STALLS OUT AFTER FILLING UP THE TANK. IT ALSO IS DYING AND CRANKING BACK UP AT 40 MPH AND A COUPLE OF TIMES ON THE FREEWAY DOING 80 MPH. ALSO JUST SITTING AT A RED LIGHT WITH A HALF OF TANK OF GAS AND CAR JUST DIES. HAVE TO PUT IT IN PARK TO RESTART IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/2/2014 - PEARLAND, TX
CAR STALLS OUT AFTER FILLING UP THE TANK. IT ALSO IS DYING AND CRANKING BACK UP AT 40 MPH AND A COUPLE OF TIMES ON THE FREEWAY DOING 80 MPH. ALSO JUST SITTING AT A RED LIGHT WITH A HALF OF TANK OF GAS AND CAR JUST DIES. HAVE TO PUT IT IN PARK TO RESTART IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds