Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 951 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (54) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (97) Fuel Propulsion System (181) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (208) Power Train (174) Steering (80) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Engine (260) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (63) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (18) Suspension (23) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 140
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/18/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 169,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/17/2016 - AUSTELL, GA
PULLED IN TO GAS STATION BECAUSE MY GAS LIGHT CAME ON WITH MY WIFE AND 3 OF MY CHILDREN, ONE BEING ONLY 1 YEAR OLD, AND A TRUNK FULL OF FRESH MEATS AND FISH FROM THE MARKET ON A HOT GA DAY 45 MILES FROM HOME, PUT IN $30 WORTH OF GAS WHICH ALMOST FILLED IT UP, WENT TO START MY CAR AND IT STARTED JERKING, CLICKING AND SHAKING REAL BAD BEFORE IT JUST DIED. AS SCARY AS IT WAS THAT THIS WAS HAPPENING I TRIED TO START AGAIN AND GOT THE SAME RESULT. WITH THIS KIND OF LOAD AND A BABY ON A HOT DAY, BROKE AND NO OTHER WAY HOME, I TRIED A FEW MORE TIMES UNTIL IT STOPPED TURNING OVER AND JUST MADE A CLICK SOUND, 1 CLICK. A TIRE SHOP GUY ACROSS THE STREET SEEN I NEEDED HELP, DUE TO THE BABY NOW HUNGRY AND CRYING, CAME OVER TO SEE IF HE COULD HELP. AFTER TRYING TO START AGAIN HE SAID MAY BE MY BATTERY, ALTERNATOR OR STARTER SO HE WENT TO THE PARTS STORE AND GOT AN H7 LOANER BATTERY. ONCE INSTALLED TRIED STARTING AND AGAIN IT STARTED JERKING, CLICKING AND SHAKING REAL BAD BEFORE DYING. ANOTHER GUY WALKED OVER TO HELP, AGAIN DUE TO THE BABY CRYING, AND SAID THAT SOUNDS LIKE YOUR FUEL PUMP AND SAID "I HEARD OF PEOPLE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THIS WHEN FILLING UP WITH GAS AND THEY(DEALERSHIP) HAVE TO REPLACE YOUR GAS TANK FOR FREE". I HAD TO PAY WELL OVER $100 FOR A TOW TRUCK AND HAD TO PAY A COMPLETE STRANGER TO FOLLOW ME HOME WITH MY FAMILY BECAUSE THERE WAS NO ROOM IN THE TOW TRUCK FOR THEM. I'VE NEVER HAD ISSUES LIKE THIS WITH MY CAR BUT NOW AS I'M RESEARCHING FOR DIY RESOLUTIONS I'M FINDING THAT THERE ARE OTHERS WHO HAVE HAD SIMILAR ISSUES. THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED IMMEDIATELY. I'M NOW OUT OF MONEY. I HAVE 5 CHILDREN AND AM THE ONLY ONE IN MY HOUSE WORKING AND THIS IS MY ONLY MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION THAT I AM STILL PAYING A NOTE ON. BY THE WAY, TRIED TO START MY CAR AGAIN AND ITS STILL DOING THE SAME EFFING THING. CHRYSLER NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING FAST!!!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/15/2016 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
I WENT AND FILLED MY GAS TANK AND DROVE AWAY FROM STORE ABOUT 200 FEET AND CAR COMPLETELY SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING HAD TO PAY 100 DOLLARS TO GET TOWED ONLY 2MILES AWAY FROM LOCAL REPAIR SHOP

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/6/2016 - BLYTHEVILLE, AR
FILLED TANK UP WITH GAS DAY BEFORE THIS HAPPENED. DRIVING DOWN ROAD AT 25 MPH THE CAR STALLED. IT WOULD RESTART AND STALL AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2016 - BLYTHEVILLE, AR
FILLED TANK UP WITH GAS DAY BEFORE THIS HAPPENED. DRIVING DOWN ROAD AT 25 MPH THE CAR STALLED. IT WOULD RESTART AND STALL AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2016 - LONG BEACH, CA
AFTER REFILLING MY TANK WITH GAS, MY CAR SUDDENLY BEGAN TO STALL. IMMEDIATELY AFTER REFILLING, I STARTED MY CAR AND WITHIN A FEW SECONDS IT SHUT OFF. AFTER MANY ATTEMPTS OF STARTING IT AND REMAINING STATIONARY, MY CAR FINALLY REMAINED ON FOR MORE THAN 5 MINUTES AND I ASSUMED IT WAS SAFE TO BEGIN DRIVING. 5 MINUTES INTO DRIVING ON A CITY STREET THE CAR BEGAN TO JERK AND STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET, FORTUNATELY IT DIDN'T CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT AND TURN INTO THE NEAREST SHOPPING CENTER WHERE I CONTACTED CHRYSTLER, WHO CLAIMED THEY HAD NO KNOWLEDGE OF THIS ISSUE. I'VE SEEN A MULTITUDE OF COMPLAINTS WITH SIMILAR, IF NOT THE SAME, ISSUES I CONTINUE TO EXPERIENCE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/5/2016 - LONG BEACH, CA
AFTER REFILLING MY TANK WITH GAS, MY CAR SUDDENLY BEGAN TO STALL. IMMEDIATELY AFTER REFILLING, I STARTED MY CAR AND WITHIN A FEW SECONDS IT SHUT OFF. AFTER MANY ATTEMPTS OF STARTING IT AND REMAINING STATIONARY, MY CAR FINALLY REMAINED ON FOR MORE THAN 5 MINUTES AND I ASSUMED IT WAS SAFE TO BEGIN DRIVING. 5 MINUTES INTO DRIVING ON A CITY STREET THE CAR BEGAN TO JERK AND STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET, FORTUNATELY IT DIDN'T CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT AND TURN INTO THE NEAREST SHOPPING CENTER WHERE I CONTACTED CHRYSTLER, WHO CLAIMED THEY HAD NO KNOWLEDGE OF THIS ISSUE. I'VE SEEN A MULTITUDE OF COMPLAINTS WITH SIMILAR, IF NOT THE SAME, ISSUES I CONTINUE TO EXPERIENCE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/2/2016 - FARGO, ND
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHEN THE CONTACT FILLED THE FUEL TANK USING THE AUTOMATIC SHUT OFF, THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL OR SHUT OFF WITH THE OIL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO OCCUR INTERMITTENTLY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2016 - MIDDLETON, ID
22 MAY 2015 OIL PUMP FAILED. TOOK VEHICLE TO DENNIS DILLON DODGE OF CALDWELL IDAHO 26 MAY 2015. REPAIR QUOTED AT $996.00. ACTUAL CHARGE $1816.66. RECEIVED CAR BACK 8 JULY 2015 WITH THUMPING. RE COMPLAINED TO SERVICE 24 JULY 2015. THEY WANTED TO REPAIR UNKNOWN WHICH DID NOT EXIST BEFORE THEIR HANDLING. CONTINUED TO DRIVE UNTIL 11 NOVEMBER 2015 WHEN 1 QUART OF OIL WAS ADDED & VEHICLE BEGAN THRASHING & DIED, REFUSING TO RUN AGAIN. VEHICLE HAS SAT PARKED IN STORAGE AT HOME EVER SINCE. FILED COMPLAINT WITH IDAHO ATTORNEY GENERAL OFFICE. DENNIS DILLON CFO DUANE SESSIONS REPLIED & LIED COVERING HIS SERVICE MANAGER & MECHANIC. AG OFFICE CEASED FURTHER ACTION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/27/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
AFTER REFUELING VEHICLE, ENGINE STALLED WHILE MAKING LEFT HAND TURN IN FRONT OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC, LEAVING ME STUCK IN MIDDLE OF INTERSECTION. ENGINE WILL STALL COMING TO A STOP, ACCELERATING FROM A STOP, TURNING CORNERS, AND A COUPLE TIMES WHILE JUST DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. WHEN YOU RESTART MOTOR, TRANSMISSION WILL NOT REENGAGE RIGHT AWAY. DOESN'T SEEM TO HAPPEN IF YOU KEEP FUEL LEVEL BELOW 14 GALLONS. DODGE DEALERSHIP HAS SAID IT MIGHT BE A VALVE ON TOP OF FUEL TANK. BEEN HAPPENING FOR A WHILE BUT SEEMS TO BE GETTING WORSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 140
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds