Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1083 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (92) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (111) Fuel Propulsion System (213) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (211) Power Train (192) Steering (82) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Engine (301) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (20) Suspension (26) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 157
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/17/2017 - ANNISTON, AL
WHEN I FILL THE CAR UP AND IT STOPS THE FUEL PUMP AUTOMATICALLY, I CLOSE THE GAS CAP AND START THE CAR. WHEN I DRIVE OFF IT WILL STALL. IT WILL START BACK UP RIGHT AFTER BUT I HAVE BEEN MAKING A TURN AFTER LEAVING THE GAS STATION AND THE CAR HAS STALLED LEAVING ME WITH NO POWER STEERING OR BRAKES. IT ONLY DOES THIS WHEN I FILL THE CAR UP. BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE I CAN ONLY FILL THE CAR 3/4 OF THE WAY UP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/11/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON THE FREEWAY AND HAD TO CHANGE LANES TO GO AROUND A SLOWER VEHICLE. AS I DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL IT SNAPPED OFF AND FELL ON THE FLOOR CAUSING A HAZARDOUS CONDITION AS I COULD NO LONGER CONTROL THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME BY LEANING DOWN AND DEPRESSING THE PEDAL WITH MY HAND WHILE HOLDING ON TO THE STEERING WHEEL WITH THE OTHER. I CONTACTED DODGE TO TRY AND GET REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIR THAT I MADE MYSELF BUT THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME. THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS CONTAINED IN ON LINE FORUMS ABOUT THIS HAPPENING TO THE SAME AND/OR SIMILAR CHRYSLER VEHICLES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/6/2017 - RENICK, WV
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION IN JUNE OF 2016. THE DEALER (GREENBRIER MOTOR COMPANY, 9841 SENECA TRAIL, LEWISBURG,WV, 24901) STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE FOR THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO CONTACTED AND MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD ORDER PARTS DIRECTLY IN THE CONTACT'S NAME AND SEND THE PARTS DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER, HOWEVER THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT MADE PARTS AVAILABLE OR SENT TO THE DEALER. THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/2/2017 - COLLINSVILLE, IL
WHILE DRIVING AFTER FILLING GAS TANK TO FULL, VEHICLE STALLED TWICE ON WAY HOME. BOTH OCCURRENCES HAPPENED WITHIN A 5 MINUTE PERIOD. BOTH OCCURRENCES HAPPENED WITH THE VEHICLE IN MOTION, ON A CITY STREET.

View Details

ENGINE

8/28/2017 - SANTA ROSA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS OR WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. ALL THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY RESTARTED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,981.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2017 - SANTA ROSA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS OR WHILE PARKED, THE VEHICLE STALLED. ALL THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WARNING INDICATORS FLASHED AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY RESTARTED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,981.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/25/2017 - EATONTON, GA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE HEADLIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE AND ALL THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED AT MILLEDGEVILLE CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (LOCATED AT 2818 N COLUMBIA ST, MILLEDGEVILLE, GA 31061) FOR THE REPAIR OF THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 155,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2017 - MILILANI, HI
CAR KEEPS STALLING RANDOMLY AT STOPS. IT WILL EVEN STALL WHILE DRIVING GOING UP HILLS OR ON THE HIGHWAY. MOST TIMES IT WILL NOT COMPLETELY STALL (STUDDER) AND CONTINUE ON. IF IT DOES STALL COMPLETELY, SOMETIMES TAKES A LOT OF EFFORT TO TRY AND RESTART THE ENGINE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL SOMETIMES COME AND RANDOMLY TURN OFF. DTC SHOWS P0700 AND U0100. LOTS OF OTHERS HAVING SIMILAR PROBLEMS. JUST GOOGLE CODES AND LOOK AT ALL DODGE/CHRYSLER/JEEP FORUMS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/16/2017 - RESTON, VA
TRANSMISSION STUCK IN PARK, SAFETY RELEASE SWITCH DOES NOTHING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/5/2017 - SILVER SPRING, MD
VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN DRIVIEWAY, PARTIALLY BLOCKING IN OTHER VEHICLES IN GARAGE, AND AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SHIFTER COULD NOT BE MOVED OUT OF PARK ON THE MORNING OF 6/29/17, STRANDING VEHICLE FROM BEING MOVED BY OWNER. I THEN LOOKED ONLINE USING GOOGLE SEARCH AND FOUND PROBLEM LISTED UNDER CHRYSLER RECALL OF SOME 2005-2007 CHARGER/MAGNUM/300 MODELS, AND FOUND INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO TEMPORARILY INSERT SCREWDRIVER INTO SIDE OF TRANSMISSION SHIFT LEVER ASSEMBLY BY REMOVING ONE PIECE OF TRIM, AND WAS ABLE TO THEN DRIVE OVER TO DARCARS CHRYSLER/JEEP/DODGE ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND DEALERSHIP TO DROP FOR RECALL REPAIR. I LEFT VEHICLE AND THEN WAS TOLD BY SERVICE DEPT STAFF NEXT DAY ON 6/30/17 THAT MY VIN NUMBER WAS NOT PART OF RECALL, AND WOULD COST ME $510 OUT OF POCKET TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION SHIFTER ASSEMBLY RATHER THAN REPLACE THE SMALL CHEAP PLASTIC KNOWN CHRYSLER DEFECT THAT HAS PROBABLY ALREADY HAPPENED TO THOUSANDS OF CHARGERS/MAGNUMS/300S. LUCKY FOR ME THIS DID NOT HAPPEN IN AN EMERGENCY SITUAITON WHERE I NEEDED TO MOVE MY CAR IMMEDIATELY TO GO TO HOSPITAL, OR AVOID A FLASH FLLOOD, HURRICANE, OR TORNADO OR THE PROBLEM COULD HAVE RESULTED IN A TOTAL LOSS OF THE VEHICLE AND POSSIBLE INJURY OR LOSS OF LIFE. IN ADDITION, I DID MORE RESEARCH AND FOUND THE $16 PART ONLINE NEEDED TO FIX THE PROBLEM, ALONG WITH MANY VIDEOS ON HOW TO FIX IT YOURSELF, AND ORDERED IT ON 6/30/17 AND HAD THE CAR REPAIRED MYSELF AT HOME ON 7/2/17 A FEW HOURS AFTER RECEIVING THE PART IN THE MAIL. CHRYSLER SHOULD MAKE THIS A RECALL FOR ALL AFFECTRED VEHICLES BECAUSE THE COST TO REPAIR IT IN PARTS AND LABOR IS VERY CHEAP, SINCE I ESTIMATE THEY COULD DO THE SAME JOB IN ABOUT 30 MINUTES AND THE PART WOULD ONLY COST THEM MAYBE UNDER $5. SEE ATTACHED RECALL AND $16 PART COST WHEN ORDERED ON AMAZON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 157
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds