Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 753 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (72) Fuel Propulsion System (129) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (178) Power Train (155) Steering (66) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Engine (196) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/29/2014 - FORT MITCHELL, AL
AFTER FILLING GAS TANK COMPLETELY, CAR STARTED STALLING GOING DOWN THE ROAD. CONTINUED TO STALL AT STOP LIGHT AND IN PARKING LOT AND WOULD NOT STAY RUNNING UNLESS HITTING THE GAS PEDAL. PROBLEM SEEMED TO RESOLVE ITSELF AFTER A FEW MILES. SAME EXACT ISSUE HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES OVER THE LAST FEW MONTHS, BUT ONLY WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK COMPLETELY. WHEN ONLY PUTTING PARTIAL AMOUNT INTO TANK, THIS ISSUE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE AN ISSUE. HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2006 CHARGER AND 2 OTHER CHRYSLER MODELS. SPOKE WITH FIRESTONE IN COLUMBUS GA AND WAS ADVISED THERE WAS A SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND THAT MY GAS TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. CONTACTED A DODGE DEALERSHIP IN COLUMBUS GA OVER 2 MONTHS AGO AND WAS ADVISED FUEL TANK IS ON NATIONAL BACK ORDER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/29/2014 - FORT MITCHELL, AL
AFTER FILLING GAS TANK COMPLETELY, CAR STARTED STALLING GOING DOWN THE ROAD. CONTINUED TO STALL AT STOP LIGHT AND IN PARKING LOT AND WOULD NOT STAY RUNNING UNLESS HITTING THE GAS PEDAL. PROBLEM SEEMED TO RESOLVE ITSELF AFTER A FEW MILES. SAME EXACT ISSUE HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES OVER THE LAST FEW MONTHS, BUT ONLY WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK COMPLETELY. WHEN ONLY PUTTING PARTIAL AMOUNT INTO TANK, THIS ISSUE DOES NOT SEEM TO BE AN ISSUE. HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE 2006 CHARGER AND 2 OTHER CHRYSLER MODELS. SPOKE WITH FIRESTONE IN COLUMBUS GA AND WAS ADVISED THERE WAS A SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND THAT MY GAS TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. CONTACTED A DODGE DEALERSHIP IN COLUMBUS GA OVER 2 MONTHS AGO AND WAS ADVISED FUEL TANK IS ON NATIONAL BACK ORDER.

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2014 - BELLAIARE, OH
IN JUNE 2013 I STARTED EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY SHUTTING OFF. TOOK VEHICLE TO SEVERAL DIFFERENT DODGE MECHANIC AND WAS ADVISED THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND JUST NOT FILL THE GAS TANK TO FULL WHEN ADDING FULL. THIS WENT ON SEVERAL MONTHS AND AFTER SPENDING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR "PROBLEMS" NOT ASSOCIATED WITH THIS ISSUE I TOOK TO A NEIGHBORHOOD MECHANIC WHO AFTER HAVING THE VEHICLE FOR SEVERAL MONTHS DETERMINED IT NEEDED A NEW THROTTLE SWITCH (DIDN'T SOLVE THE PROBLEM) AND FINALLY REBUILDING THE COMPUTER. THIS HELPED THE PROBLEM A LITTLE AS THE STALLING OUT ONLY HAPPENED INFREQUENTLY. HOWEVER, RECENTLY THE PROBLEM IS REOCCURRING MORE FREQUENTLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/28/2014 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
2006 DODGE CHARGER R/T DAYTONA. I NOTICED A LURCH IN THE VEHICLE YESTERDAY AS I WAS COMING HOME FROM WORK AS WELL AS THE SPEAKERS TURNING OFF/ON. THIS MORNING AS THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A STOP LIGHT, THE DASHBOARD TURNED OFF, VEHICLE CHIMED AND ALL GAGES WENT TO ZERO, BUT THE VEHICLE WAS STILL RUNNING AND WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE WITHOUT DISPLAYING ANY INDICATION ON GAGES. AFTER ABOUT 10-15 SECONDS, GAGES RETURNED TO NORMAL AS IF THE VEHICLE HAD RESTARTED. HAPPENED TWICE WITHIN 20 MIN WHILE VEHICLE WAS IDLING IN TRAFFIC. NEVER DID IT SEEM THAT THE ENGINE HAD SHUT DOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - WILDER, ID
WHEN I FILL UP WITH FUEL I CAN MAKE IT OUT OF THE PARKING LOT AND TO THE INTERSECTION AN THE CAR WILL DIE. AND THEN IT WON'T START FOR A WHILE AND IT SPITS AND SPUTTERS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - WILDER, ID
WHEN I FILL UP WITH FUEL I CAN MAKE IT OUT OF THE PARKING LOT AND TO THE INTERSECTION AN THE CAR WILL DIE. AND THEN IT WON'T START FOR A WHILE AND IT SPITS AND SPUTTERS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/23/2014 - YOUNGSTOWN, OH
I DRIVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER R/T WITH THE 5.7L HEMI. IT HAS THE 19 GALLON FUEL TANK IN IT. THE TANK IS DEFECTIVE AS IT CAUSES THE CAR TO STALL SOON AFTER A FILL UP AND USUALLY IT'LL JUST STALL ANYTIME IT CHOOSES EVEN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND THE NHTSA AND CHRYSLER SETTLED THIS EARLIER THIS YEAR. WELL, I CALLED CHRYSLER CORP. ABOUT THIS AND THEY TRANSFERRED THE WARRANTY INTO MY NAME AND ASKED ME TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. AFTER ALL THAT WAS DONE, I GET A CALL FROM DODGE CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY TELL ME THAT THERE IS NO WARRANTY ON THE CAR SINCE IT WAS ORIGINALLY REGISTERED AND MADE FOR CANADA. THIS IS A VERY STUPID EXCUSE TO AVOID REPAIRING A PROBLEM THEY CAUSED. THEY ARE REFUSING TO REPAIR THEIR DEFECT AS PER THE TERMS THEY AGREED TO WITH THE NHTSA. THIS VEHICLE IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE AS IT STALLS OUT AT ANY TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2014 - SACRAMENTO , CA
THE OTHER NIGHT I WAS DRIVING MY CAR, AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. I PARKED TO GET GAS, TRIED TO START IT BACK UP AND COMPLETELY DIED OUT. I HAD TO BE TOWED BACK HOME, WHILE WORKING ON THE CAR TO FIGURE WHAT WAS GOING ON, I FOUND METAL ALL INSIDE OF MY OIL. WHAT HAD HAPPENED IS THE MOTOR DROPPED A VALVE AND GOT CRUSHED CAUSING CATASTROPHIC FAILURE, AND NOW I MUST BUY A WHOLE NEW ENGINE. WHILE RESEARCHING THIS FOR 30 MINUTES I HAVE FOUND MANY OTHER STORIES AND PICTURES OF THE SAME ISSUE WITH OTHER PEOPLE. WHY NO ONE HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THIS ISSUE, I HAVE NO IDEA. BUT IT HAS AFFECTED MANY PEOPLE AND LEFT MANY PEOPLE STRANDED. I AM EXTREMELY UPSET WITH THIS SEEING THAT I JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR AND I ALREADY HAVE TO DROP A NEW MOTOR IN. NHTSA NEEDS TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS ISSUE BECAUSE IT IS AFFECTING THOUSANDS OF MODELS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/16/2014 - CONYERS, GA
I JUST FILLED MY CAR UP WITH GAS AND DROVE IT. I CAME TO A STOP AT THE LIGHT AND WHEN I BEGAN TO ACCELERATE MY CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION. IT FINALLY PICKED UP SPEED, BUT AS I APPROACHED THE SECOND LIGHT IT COMPLETELY CUT OFF. I WAS ABLE TO START IT BUT I HAD TO GO OVER 50+ OR MORE MILES PER HOUR TO KEEP IT FROM STALLING. ONCE I DROVE INTO MY DRIVEWAY IT COMPLETELY CUT OFF AGAIN. I RAN THE CAR FOR 30 MINUTES AND IT DID NOT CUT OFF, BUT WHEN MY HUSBAND LEFT FOR WORK, AS HE APPROACHED THE RED LIGHT IT CUT OFF ONCE AGAIN. THIS HAS GOT BE FIXED. IT IS TO DANGEROUS TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION, OR ANYTIME WHILE DRIVING FOR THAT MATTER. I HAVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT HEMI 5.7LITER ENGINE.UP TO DATE ON ALL OIL CHANGES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - OAKLAND PARK, FL
ALL OF THE LIGHTS LIGHT UP AND THE NEEDLES MOVE UP/DOWN ON THE DASHBOARD INTERMITTENTLY FOR LIKE 3-4 SECONDS AND NORMALLY DOES THIS TWICE CONSECUTIVELY AND THIS APPEARS TO HAPPEN RANDOMLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 112
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds