Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1190 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (96) Exterior Lighting (21) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (126) Fuel Propulsion System (255) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel System Gasoline (213) Power Train (205) Steering (87) Vehicle Speed Control (49)
Engine (346) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (65) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (23) Suspension (28) Wheels (8)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 174
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/11/2019 - LA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT HAD TO TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON IN ORDER FOR IT TO RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CERRITOS DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM (18803 STUDEBAKER RD CERRITOS, CA 90703, (888) 879-5229) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPARK PLUGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER FOR ADDITIONAL DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/2/2019 - DALLAS, TX
SOMETIMES AFTER FILLING THE FUEL TANK FULL WITH GASOLINE, WHEN DRIVING THE CAR, THE ENGINE STALLS AND QUITS. IT CAN BE A BIT DIFFICULT TO RESTART. I HAVE ONLY HAD THIS HAPPEN ON CITY STREETS BECAUSE THOSE ARE THE ONLY PLACES I NORMALLY DRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2019 - SCOTLAND, SD
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER HAS DEVELOPED A STALLING ISSUE EVERY TIME I FILL WITH GAS. I HAVE TRIED DIFFERENT THINGS AS FAR AS NOT FILLING TO THE TOP OR NOT TOPPING IT OFF WITH GAS. I FILLED WITH GAS ALONG AN INTERSTATE AND WHEN I WAS TRYING TO GET ON THE INTERSTATE IT QUIT ON ME DOWN THE OFF RAMP WHEN I WAS TO MERGE WITH TRAFFIC. WAS ABLE TO GET CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE AND RE-START BUT DIED AGAIN. STARTED AGAIN AND THEN IT RAN WITH NO ISSUES. NOW IT HAS ISSUES EVERY TIME IT IS GASSED UP. I FILLED UP YESTERDAY AND SAME THING DIED OUT AT A STOP SIGN TRYING TO GET ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAVE HEARD THIS IS A BIG ISSUE WITH THESE CARS AND I'M SURPRISED THAT THERE HASN'T BEEN ANYTHING DONE TO DODGE TO FIX THIS ISSUE. I'VE HEARD IT COULD COST UP TO $1,500 TO FIX. I LIKE THE CAR BUT IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE TO DRIVE IT. PLEASE HELP! THANKS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/27/2019 - SCOTLAND, SD
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER HAS DEVELOPED A STALLING ISSUE EVERY TIME I FILL WITH GAS. I HAVE TRIED DIFFERENT THINGS AS FAR AS NOT FILLING TO THE TOP OR NOT TOPPING IT OFF WITH GAS. I FILLED WITH GAS ALONG AN INTERSTATE AND WHEN I WAS TRYING TO GET ON THE INTERSTATE IT QUIT ON ME DOWN THE OFF RAMP WHEN I WAS TO MERGE WITH TRAFFIC. WAS ABLE TO GET CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE AND RE-START BUT DIED AGAIN. STARTED AGAIN AND THEN IT RAN WITH NO ISSUES. NOW IT HAS ISSUES EVERY TIME IT IS GASSED UP. I FILLED UP YESTERDAY AND SAME THING DIED OUT AT A STOP SIGN TRYING TO GET ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAVE HEARD THIS IS A BIG ISSUE WITH THESE CARS AND I'M SURPRISED THAT THERE HASN'T BEEN ANYTHING DONE TO DODGE TO FIX THIS ISSUE. I'VE HEARD IT COULD COST UP TO $1,500 TO FIX. I LIKE THE CAR BUT IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE TO DRIVE IT. PLEASE HELP! THANKS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/17/2019 - OLNEY, MD
THERE IS A RECALL K#39 FOR 2005-2007 DODGE CHARGERS FOR WHEN THE CAR WILL NOT LEAVE THE PARKED POSITION. EVEN THOUGH THIS IS WHAT IS GOING ON WITH MY CAR THE DEALERSHIP IS SAYING MY CAR IS NOT COVERED IN THIS RECALL. MY MAIN CONCERN IS THEY ARE UNABLE TO PROVIDE ME WITH THE 2005 AND 2006 DATES OF CARS THAT WERE AFFECTED!. I WANT CLARIFICATION OF WHY MY CAR IS NOT COVERED WHEN IT FITS EVERY DESCRIPTION IN THE RECALL. THEY HAD ME TOW MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND NOW SAYING I HAVE TO PAY FOR IT TO BE FIXED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/12/2019 - HOPEWELL, OH
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT WITH THE ROAD AND TRACK OPTION WILL INTERMITTENTLY LOOSE POWER AND OFTEN DIE AFTER FILLING GAS TANK. EVEN IF YOU DON+T COMPLETELY FILL IT STILL WILL DIE UNEXPECTEDLY. I NEVER TOP THE TANK OFF WITH MORE GAS. IN ADDITION WHEN CAR DIES GOING AROUND A CURVE, THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT MAKING DRIVING REALLY DANGEROUS. THE ENGINE DIES AT NEARLY ANY CONDITION. WHEN TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, AFTER ACCELERATING AFTER STOPPING. IT HAPPENS MOST DURING ACCELERATION AFTER TURNS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2019 - HOPEWELL, OH
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER RT WITH THE ROAD AND TRACK OPTION WILL INTERMITTENTLY LOOSE POWER AND OFTEN DIE AFTER FILLING GAS TANK. EVEN IF YOU DON+T COMPLETELY FILL IT STILL WILL DIE UNEXPECTEDLY. I NEVER TOP THE TANK OFF WITH MORE GAS. IN ADDITION WHEN CAR DIES GOING AROUND A CURVE, THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT MAKING DRIVING REALLY DANGEROUS. THE ENGINE DIES AT NEARLY ANY CONDITION. WHEN TRAVELING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, AFTER ACCELERATING AFTER STOPPING. IT HAPPENS MOST DURING ACCELERATION AFTER TURNS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/7/2019 - KENOSHA, WI
WHILE WAS TRYING TO TURN INTO PARKING SPOT MY CHARGER SUDDENLY DIED. WHEN TURNED THE CAR BACK ON WAS ABLE TO START RIGHT BACK UP. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING MORE WHEN TRYONG TO TURN THE WHEEL ALL THE WAY FROM A STOP POSITION OR MOVING. HAVE ALMOST BEEN HIT A FEW TIMES WHEN IT JUST STOPS

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/7/2019 - KENOSHA, WI
WHILE WAS TRYING TO TURN INTO PARKING SPOT MY CHARGER SUDDENLY DIED. WHEN TURNED THE CAR BACK ON WAS ABLE TO START RIGHT BACK UP. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING MORE WHEN TRYONG TO TURN THE WHEEL ALL THE WAY FROM A STOP POSITION OR MOVING. HAVE ALMOST BEEN HIT A FEW TIMES WHEN IT JUST STOPS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/6/2019 - ALBANY, GA
POWER SHUTS OFF RANDOMLY, STALLING, ACCELERATION LOST, BUT WILL FIRE RIGHT BACK UP IF YOU FLIP THE KEY AROUND OR PUT IN NEUTRAL. VERY UNSAFE IF TRAFFIC COMING AND IT SHUTS RIGHT DOWN. ALSO WHILE IN PARK IT+S SHUTS OFF

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 174
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds