Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 986 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (64) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (101) Fuel Propulsion System (187) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (208) Power Train (181) Steering (80) Vehicle Speed Control (43)
Engine (270) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (63) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (19) Suspension (23) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 144
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/25/2016 - MERTZTOWN, PA
WHILE PULLING OUT FROM A STOP LIGHT MY ENGINE BEGAN TO MISS AND RUN BAD.I PULLED OVER AND SHUT IT OFF.AFTER LETTING IT SIT FOR A FEW MINUTES I TRIED AGAIN,IT WOULDN'T TURN OVER SO I HAD IT TOWED TO A SHOP,THEY TORE IT APART AND INFORMED ME I HAD DROPPED THE VALVE SEAT IN CYLINDER 4,IT DESTROYED THE INTAKE VALVE,MDS SOLENOID AND SCRATCHED THE CYLINDER WALL

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/24/2016 - TEMPLE TERRACE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER; 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/22/2016 - AVONDALE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE AT A LOW SPEED, ALL THE AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE INADVERTENTLY DEPLOYED. IN ADDITION, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG STRUCK THE CONTACT IN THE FACE, WHICH RENDERED THE CONTACT UNCONSCIOUS. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED CHEST INJURIES AND BRUISES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED FROM THE SCENE TO A SALVAGE YARD. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS) AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/15/2016 - FULTON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK COULD ONLY BE PARTIALLY FILLED DUE TO A LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2016 - YONKERS, NY
"TAKATA RECALL" I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT WITH MUTABLE CARS. I STRUCK AN SUV IN THE REAR TAILGATE. I HAD THE RECALL AIRBAG REPLACED ON APRIL 25TH 2016 AT CENTRAL AVENUE DODGE CHRYSLER . THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY!!!!! THANK GOD I'M AM NOT SERIOUSLY INJURED. THE CAR IS NOW BACK AT MY HOUSE FOR YOUR INSPECTION. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS. (2006 CHARGER) I WOULD LIKE TO BE CONTACTED ABOUT THIS MATTER. REGARDS [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/5/2016 - OCALA, FL
I HAVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER THAT SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING. VEHICLE HAS 97284 MILES. I CURRENTLY HAVE THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR AT PHILLIPS CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP IN OCALA FL. THE PCM HAS BEEN REPLACED BUT THIS ISSUE STILL CONTINUES. VEHICLE SHUTS OFF WITH OUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2016 - OCALA, FL
I HAVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER THAT SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING. VEHICLE HAS 97284 MILES. I CURRENTLY HAVE THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR AT PHILLIPS CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP IN OCALA FL. THE PCM HAS BEEN REPLACED BUT THIS ISSUE STILL CONTINUES. VEHICLE SHUTS OFF WITH OUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/5/2016 - OCALA, FL
I HAVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER THAT SHUTS OFF WHILE DRIVING. VEHICLE HAS 97284 MILES. I CURRENTLY HAVE THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR AT PHILLIPS CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP IN OCALA FL. THE PCM HAS BEEN REPLACED BUT THIS ISSUE STILL CONTINUES. VEHICLE SHUTS OFF WITH OUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2016 - BROOKLYN PARK, MN
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER DAYTONA 5.7L ENGINE HAD A PROBLEM WITH A VALVE SEAL/LIFTER / SOLENOID IN 2015, WHICH WAS REPAIRED BY THE DEALER IN DECEMBER. NOW, 7 MONTHS LATER, IT HAS LOST A PISTON IN THE ENGINE, AND NEEDS A NEW ENGINE. WHEN THE LIFTER PROBLEM OCCURRED, THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN, AND STARTED TO MISFIRE. WHEN THE PISTON WENT (THE DEALER SAYS THAT IS WHAT IT IS), THE ENGINE WAS BEING STARTED. WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE, IT MISFIRED, AND STARTED CLANKING. AND THEN DIED.

View Details

ENGINE

7/30/2016 - TRINITY, FL
I DROVE MY VEHICLE TO THE STORE AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. I CAME OUT AN HOUR LATER AND ATTEMPTED TO START THE CAR BUT IT WOULDN'T START. I ATTEMPTED TO START IT AGAIN AND IT STARTED BUT THE ENGINE SOUNDED HORRIBLE SO I TURNED IT OFF IMMEDIATELY. I HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANIC WHO SAID THERE WAS NO COMPRESSION ON CYLINDER #3 AND THE VALVE WAS UNSEATED CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE CYLINDER. I TAKE METICULOUS CARE OF MY VEHICLE AND THIS TYPE OF ENGINE FAILURE SHOULD HAVE NEVER HAPPENED WITH ONLY 105K MILES ON IT. UPON READING SEVERAL THOUSAND REVIEWS ON THIS 5.7L HEMI ENGINE, THIS APPEARS TO BE A MAJOR PROBLEM AND HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED AS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT. THE BELOW IS THE DIAGNOSIS FOR THIS EARLY ENGINE FAILURE: "FAULTY VALVE SEATS ACCORDING TO THE ENGINE COMPANY, THE ORIGINAL CHRYSLER DESIGN PRESSES THE VALVE SEATS INTO THE CYLINDER HEADS. THE PROBLEM RESULTS WHEN THE POWDERED METAL THE VALVE SEATS ARE MADE OF EXPANDS, CAUSING IT TO DROP INTO CONTACT WITH THE VALVE AND PISTONS, WHICH LEADS TO CATASTROPHIC FAILURE. IN THIS PROCESS THE SEAT BREAKS INTO MANY PIECES CAUSING DETERIORATION OF THE PISTON, CYLINDER WALL, VALVE AND CYLINDER HEAD. THIS METAL CAN EVEN GET INTO THE INTAKE MANIFOLD + IF NOT CLEANED PROPERLY, IT CAN LEAD TO A FAILURE IN REPLACEMENT ENGINES. PISTON RING LANDINGS AGAIN ACCORDING TO PP, A FLAW IN THE ENGINEERING OF THE PISTON RING LANDINGS RESULTS IN THE ENGINES RUNNING MUCH HOTTER THAN THEY SHOULD. COUPLED WITH WHAT THEY CALL OVERLY SMALL DRAIN HOLES IN THE HEADS AND BLOCK, THIS OVERHEATING BREAKS DOWN NEW OIL, LEAVING SLUDGE IN THE ENGINE, ULTIMATELY BLOCKING IT. CONSEQUENT OIL-STARVATION CAN LEAD TO ENGINE BLOCK SEIZURE."

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 144
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds