Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 723 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (65) Fuel Propulsion System (138) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (145) Power Train (150) Steering (65) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Engine (181) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (57) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/21/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I HAVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. IT STALLED 3 TIMES ON ME, TWICE ON THE ROAD AND ONCE IN THE DRIVE WAY. I CALLED DODGE AND THEY SAID IT SHOULD RUN IF THE GAS TANK IS NO FULL. I TOLD THEM IT WAS ON 3/4 TANK. I SET UP AN APPOINTMENT FOR JULY 7, 2014 AND MY HUSBAND WENT IN. THEY ORDERED THE PART, IT'S CALLED THE FUEL TANK MULTIFUNCTION CONTROL VALVE. ONE WEEK LATER DODGE OF ELK GROVE CALLED AND THEY WERE CANCELLING EVERYONE'S APPOINTMENT'S. I BEEN WITHOUT A CAR SENSE MAY 30, 2014. I'VE BEEN CONTACTING DODGE OF ELK GROVE AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THEY CAN NOT GET THE PART. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE DEALERS ARE GETTING 1 PART EVERY 14 DAYS. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR BECAUSE IT MIGHT CAUSE AN ACCIDENT THAT I DON'T WANT TO BE IN CONTROL OF OR A PART OF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET IT WAS NIGHT AND MY LIGHTS COMPLETELY WENT OUT I COULDN'T SEE IT STILL DOING IT AT NIGHT GOING OFF

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/21/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET IT WAS NIGHT AND MY LIGHTS COMPLETELY WENT OUT I COULDN'T SEE IT STILL DOING IT AT NIGHT GOING OFF

View Details

ENGINE

8/20/2014 - MADISON, AL
RE:PE13-016 RE: DODGE/CHRYSLER X53 - 19 FUEL TANK VEHICLE BEGAN SHUTTING OFF ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD AFTER REFUELING. UPON RECEIVING "EXTENDED WARRANTY" LETTER FROM CHRYSLER - MAY 8, 2014, CALLED DEALER TO HAVE PART REPLACED. PART HAS BEEN ON "BACKORDER" FOR LAST 2 MONTHS. I KEEP GETTING TOLD "YOU ARE NEXT IN LINE TO RECEIVE PART" FROM THE DEALER AND THE DODGE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER TOLL FREE LINE. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND FOR NO REASON OR FAULT OF YOURS, THE CAR BEGINS TO STALL OR CUT OFF COMPLETELY. MY CAR HAS CUT OFF WHILE MAKING A TURN ACROSS TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC - LUCKILY NO ONE WAS COMING AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST ACROSS THE LANES..."SAFELY". MY CAR HAS CUT OFF GOING DOWN THE ROAD AT 40-50 MILES AN HOUR. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. AND TRUTH BE KNOW, THIS NEEDS TO BE A RECALL AND HANDLED PROMPTLY BY CHRYSLER. I HAVE SEVERAL DOCUMENTED CALLS INTO CHRYSLER. NO ONE CAN TELL ME WHEN PART WILL BE ORDERED OR SENT TO DEALER OR STATUS OF SITUATION. PLEASE HELP CONSUMERS GET THIS PROBLEM ESCALATED. THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/20/2014 - MADISON, AL
RE:PE13-016 RE: DODGE/CHRYSLER X53 - 19 FUEL TANK VEHICLE BEGAN SHUTTING OFF ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD AFTER REFUELING. UPON RECEIVING "EXTENDED WARRANTY" LETTER FROM CHRYSLER - MAY 8, 2014, CALLED DEALER TO HAVE PART REPLACED. PART HAS BEEN ON "BACKORDER" FOR LAST 2 MONTHS. I KEEP GETTING TOLD "YOU ARE NEXT IN LINE TO RECEIVE PART" FROM THE DEALER AND THE DODGE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER TOLL FREE LINE. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND FOR NO REASON OR FAULT OF YOURS, THE CAR BEGINS TO STALL OR CUT OFF COMPLETELY. MY CAR HAS CUT OFF WHILE MAKING A TURN ACROSS TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC - LUCKILY NO ONE WAS COMING AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST ACROSS THE LANES..."SAFELY". MY CAR HAS CUT OFF GOING DOWN THE ROAD AT 40-50 MILES AN HOUR. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. AND TRUTH BE KNOW, THIS NEEDS TO BE A RECALL AND HANDLED PROMPTLY BY CHRYSLER. I HAVE SEVERAL DOCUMENTED CALLS INTO CHRYSLER. NO ONE CAN TELL ME WHEN PART WILL BE ORDERED OR SENT TO DEALER OR STATUS OF SITUATION. PLEASE HELP CONSUMERS GET THIS PROBLEM ESCALATED. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

8/20/2014 - DELRAY BEACH, FL
I FILLED MY GAS TANK GETTING READY TO GO ON A TRIP AND VEHICLE STARTED STALLING OUT WITHOUT WARNING ,ENGINE WOULD JUST SHUT DOWN. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THERE IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THE 2006 DODGE CHARGERS WITH THE FUEL TANK

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2014 - GAHANNA, OH
THIS CAR STALLS FOR THE FIRST 20-30 MILES AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK. IT STALLS IN THE MIDDLE OF INTERSECTIONS, WHILE IDLING, WHEN CRUISING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ETC...

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/15/2014 - GAHANNA, OH
THIS CAR STALLS FOR THE FIRST 20-30 MILES AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK. IT STALLS IN THE MIDDLE OF INTERSECTIONS, WHILE IDLING, WHEN CRUISING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ETC...

View Details

ENGINE

8/14/2014 - NUTLEY, NJ
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE, AND HAVE REGULARLY MAINTAINED IT AND PERFORMED ALL THE SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE AT THE MANUFACTURER'S SUGGESTED INTERVALS. THE VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY, WITH NO INDICATIONS OF ANY ISSUES. ON 8/12/14, I WENT TO START MY VEHICLE AND IT MADE A HORRENDOUS BANGING NOISE BEFORE IMMEDIATELY SHUTTING DOWN. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED HOME (AS I WAS THIRTY MILES AWAY) AND DISCOVERED THE ENGINE VALVE IN PISTON #2 HAD BROKEN AND SHATTERED, CAUSING AN ENGINE FAILURE, WITH THE ONLY REPAIR BEING A COMPLETE ENGINE REBUILD OR REPLACEMENT. A CHECK ON-LINE SHOWED THIS IS A COMMON AND REOCCURRING ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL AND ENGINE TYPE (2006 DODGE CHARGER R/T). I REPORTED THE ISSUE TO DODGE, AND WAS TOLD THERE ARE NO KNOWN ISSUES WITH THE ENGINE OF VALVES, HOWEVER THE DODGE TECHNICIAN AT THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED. THE EVIDENCE TO THIS IS THE ENGINE PARTS NEEDED TO FIX THIS (BLOCK, VALVES, ETC.) ARE ON A 2 TO 6 MONTH BACK-ORDER. PLEASE HELP! I CAN NOT AFFORD TO BASICALLY PAY FOR A NEW CAR FOR A KNOWN ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/14/2014 - NUTLEY, NJ
I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE, AND HAVE REGULARLY MAINTAINED IT AND PERFORMED ALL THE SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE AT THE MANUFACTURER'S SUGGESTED INTERVALS. THE VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY, WITH NO INDICATIONS OF ANY ISSUES. ON 8/12/14, I WENT TO START MY VEHICLE AND IT MADE A HORRENDOUS BANGING NOISE BEFORE IMMEDIATELY SHUTTING DOWN. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED HOME (AS I WAS THIRTY MILES AWAY) AND DISCOVERED THE ENGINE VALVE IN PISTON #2 HAD BROKEN AND SHATTERED, CAUSING AN ENGINE FAILURE, WITH THE ONLY REPAIR BEING A COMPLETE ENGINE REBUILD OR REPLACEMENT. A CHECK ON-LINE SHOWED THIS IS A COMMON AND REOCCURRING ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL AND ENGINE TYPE (2006 DODGE CHARGER R/T). I REPORTED THE ISSUE TO DODGE, AND WAS TOLD THERE ARE NO KNOWN ISSUES WITH THE ENGINE OF VALVES, HOWEVER THE DODGE TECHNICIAN AT THE DEALERSHIP SAID IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED. THE EVIDENCE TO THIS IS THE ENGINE PARTS NEEDED TO FIX THIS (BLOCK, VALVES, ETC.) ARE ON A 2 TO 6 MONTH BACK-ORDER. PLEASE HELP! I CAN NOT AFFORD TO BASICALLY PAY FOR A NEW CAR FOR A KNOWN ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds