Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1088 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (92) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (111) Fuel Propulsion System (213) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (212) Power Train (192) Steering (82) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Engine (305) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (20) Suspension (26) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 158
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/26/2017 - TUCSON, AZ
2004 TO 2008 JEEP DODGE CHRYSTLER 5.7 HEMI MOTORS ARE PRONE TO DROPPING VALVE SEATS WHICH IN TURN SHOOT FRAGMENTS OF METAL THROUGHOUT DESTROYING THE MOTOR. THIS IS A WELL KNOWN DEFECT WITH NUMEROUS DOCUMENTAION ONLINE. THE DESTRUCTION OF THE MOTOR CAN OCCUR WHILE DRIVING OR ON FIRST START UP. THE COST TO REPLACE THE MOTOR CAN RANGE FROM 5,000 TO 7,000 IN REPAIR COST TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/15/2017 - ELKHART, IN
MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. AFTER REFUELING, MY VEHICLE STALLS ANYWHERE FROM 1-6 TIMES AT RANDOM TIMES. IT HAPPENS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, AND CITY DRIVING. THERE IS A TOTAL LOSS OF POWER (BRAKES AND STEERING INCLUDED) HAD A VERY CLOSE CALL OF CAUSING AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS ISSUE. THIS ISSUE IS SUPPOSEDLY COVERED BY EXTENDED LIFETIME WARRANTY BUT MY VIN IS NOT "ELIGIBLE" FOR SOME REASON. IN ORDER TO FIX THE ISSUE, THE GAS TANK HAS TO BE REPLACED $1500+ EXPENSE. VERY DISAPPOINTED THAT DODGE ABANDON MY HERE. EVEN THOUGH IM EXPERIENCING THE ISSUE, IM NOT ELIGIBLE BECAUSE MY VIN RANGE MISSED THE LIFETIME WARRANTY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2017 - SPRING, TX
VEHICLE STALLS WHILE IN MOTION, ENGINE STALLS SHUTS ITSELF OFF ON START UP OR WHILE IN MOTION IN TRAFFIC. LEAVING ME WITH NO POWER TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM FOR OVER A YEAR STARTING IN JANUARY OF 2016. DODGE DEALERSHIP CANNOT FIND WHY IT STALLS EVEN THOUGH IT STALLED ON THEM WHILE THEY HAD IT IN THERE SHOP. THE REASON FOR THE STALL IS UNKNOWN . NORMAL VEHICLE SERVICING IS UP TO DATE BUT THE CAR STALLING CONTINUES TO BE A PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

10/13/2017 - SPRING, TX
VEHICLE STALLS WHILE IN MOTION, ENGINE STALLS SHUTS ITSELF OFF ON START UP OR WHILE IN MOTION IN TRAFFIC. LEAVING ME WITH NO POWER TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM FOR OVER A YEAR STARTING IN JANUARY OF 2016. DODGE DEALERSHIP CANNOT FIND WHY IT STALLS EVEN THOUGH IT STALLED ON THEM WHILE THEY HAD IT IN THERE SHOP. THE REASON FOR THE STALL IS UNKNOWN . NORMAL VEHICLE SERVICING IS UP TO DATE BUT THE CAR STALLING CONTINUES TO BE A PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2017 - POWDER SPRINGS, GA
HAS A BLOWN MOTOR AND AFTER HAVING IT CHECKED BY A MECHANIC IT HAS BEEN DETERMINE AND TOLD TO ME THAT IT WAS A BAD DESIGN FROM DODGE THIS PARTICULAR YEAR WITH THE CHARGER ENGINES BECAUSE OF THE PLASTIC CAVE SEATS MELTING AND NOT ALLOWING THE OIL TO FLOW TO THE BOTTOM HALF OF ENGINE AND CAUSING SEVERE DAMAGE LIKE MY ENGINE. I NEED TO KNOW IF THIS IS A RECALL ITEM EVEN IF IT A REMANUFACT ITEM. PLEASE REPLY TO ME AT MMARVEL009@COMCAST.NET.

View Details

ENGINE

9/28/2017 - CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA
TAMARA RECALL.. .. ON AUGUST 31ST I WENT TO THE BANK AND WHEN I CAME OUT THE BANK THE CAR TURNED ON AND START MAKING NOISE I NEED TURN OFF RIGHT AWAY I COULD NOT TURN IT BACK ON I HAVE IT TOWED TO MY HOUSE I CHECK ON THE INTERNET FOR WHAT HAPPENED TO ME AND IT SEEMS THAT THERE'S MANY MANY PEOPLE THAT HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM I WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP TALK TO SOMEBODY WHERE THE MECHANIC PLACES AND THEY TELL ME THAT THEY HAVE EXPERIENCED A LOT OF THESE PROBLEMS THAT IS KIND OF COMMON ON THIS KIND OF CARS ESPECIALLY FOR THAT YEAR 2006 SO IT SEEMS LIKE DODGE KNOWS WHAT'S GOING ON BUT NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE YET I WILL APPRECIATE IT IF YOU COULD GET HELP TO FIX MY CAR HAS LESS THAN A HUNDRED THOUSAND MILES AND IT'S JUST SITTING ON MY DRIVEWAY

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/17/2017 - ANNISTON, AL
WHEN I FILL THE CAR UP AND IT STOPS THE FUEL PUMP AUTOMATICALLY, I CLOSE THE GAS CAP AND START THE CAR. WHEN I DRIVE OFF IT WILL STALL. IT WILL START BACK UP RIGHT AFTER BUT I HAVE BEEN MAKING A TURN AFTER LEAVING THE GAS STATION AND THE CAR HAS STALLED LEAVING ME WITH NO POWER STEERING OR BRAKES. IT ONLY DOES THIS WHEN I FILL THE CAR UP. BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE I CAN ONLY FILL THE CAR 3/4 OF THE WAY UP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/11/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON THE FREEWAY AND HAD TO CHANGE LANES TO GO AROUND A SLOWER VEHICLE. AS I DEPRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL IT SNAPPED OFF AND FELL ON THE FLOOR CAUSING A HAZARDOUS CONDITION AS I COULD NO LONGER CONTROL THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME BY LEANING DOWN AND DEPRESSING THE PEDAL WITH MY HAND WHILE HOLDING ON TO THE STEERING WHEEL WITH THE OTHER. I CONTACTED DODGE TO TRY AND GET REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIR THAT I MADE MYSELF BUT THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME. THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS CONTAINED IN ON LINE FORUMS ABOUT THIS HAPPENING TO THE SAME AND/OR SIMILAR CHRYSLER VEHICLES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/6/2017 - RENICK, WV
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION IN JUNE OF 2016. THE DEALER (GREENBRIER MOTOR COMPANY, 9841 SENECA TRAIL, LEWISBURG,WV, 24901) STATED THAT THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE FOR THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO CONTACTED AND MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD ORDER PARTS DIRECTLY IN THE CONTACT'S NAME AND SEND THE PARTS DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER, HOWEVER THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT MADE PARTS AVAILABLE OR SENT TO THE DEALER. THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/2/2017 - COLLINSVILLE, IL
WHILE DRIVING AFTER FILLING GAS TANK TO FULL, VEHICLE STALLED TWICE ON WAY HOME. BOTH OCCURRENCES HAPPENED WITHIN A 5 MINUTE PERIOD. BOTH OCCURRENCES HAPPENED WITH THE VEHICLE IN MOTION, ON A CITY STREET.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 158
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds