Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1027 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (78) Exterior Lighting (16) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (106) Fuel Propulsion System (196) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (209) Power Train (185) Steering (80) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Engine (288) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (19) Suspension (24) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 150
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/11/2017 - PLANTATION, FL
TAKATA RECALL PARTS STILL NOT AVAILABLE FROM JULY 2016 AND WE CAN'T USE THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT SINCE THEN. I NEED TO BE ABLE TO FULLY USE ALL SEATS IN THIS CAR TO DRIVE WITH ENTIRE FAMILY.

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2017 - PEACHTREE CITY, GA
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER COMPLETELY DIED ON ME WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH. LUCKILY I WAS ALONE ON A CITY ROAD BUT LOST ALL CONTROL AND FELT I WAS BARLEY BRAKING AND STEERING WAS NEAR IMPOSSIBLE. I WAS ABLE TURN EVERYTHING OFF IN THE CAR AND RESTART BUT IT HAPPENED 3 OTHER TIMES WITHIN 2 MILES. AT ONE POINT WHILE TURNING LEFT ON A HIGHWAY IT DIED; I WAS ALMOST TO A POINT TO HITTING OTHER CARS TURNING LEFT IN SAME DIRECTION AND OTHERS BEHIND ME. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE 4 MILES TODAY WITHOUT INCIDENT HOWEVER AFTER RESEARCHING THIS EXACT ISSUE AMONG OTHER CHARGER OWNERS I SEARCHED FOR A RECALL AND NOTHING HAS BEEN SAID BY DODGE. THIS ISSUE DOESN+T SEEM TO BE FROM PERSONAL ACTIONS BUT A FLAW IN A SYSTEM ON THIS MAKE/MODEL. IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME TWICE BEFORE A FEW YEARS AGO HOWEVER I READ SOMETHING ABOUT A GAS CAP AND FELT IT WAS ISOLATED. AFTER LAST NIGHT AND READING BLOGS TODAY I SEE THAT THIS IS A WIDE SPREAD ISSUE AND NOT CAUSED BY NOT MAINTAINING A VEHICLE OR BAD DRIVING. THIS IS AN ISSUE IN DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING. HAD THIS HAPPENED IN ANY OTHER DRIVING SETTING DURING RUSH HOUR SOMEONE COULD BE SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. I NOTIFIED DODGE AND REPORTED THE ISSUE BY THEY SAID I WOULD NOT BE CONTACTED AND TO KEEP RECEIPTS IF SOMETHING WAS WRONG IN CASE THEY DO RECALL SOMETHING. WHY HASN+T THIS BEEN CORRECTED AFTER ALL THESE REPORTS FOR THE SAME ISSUE TO THIS MANY OF THE SAME VEHICLES?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/11/2017 - PEACHTREE CITY, GA
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER COMPLETELY DIED ON ME WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH. LUCKILY I WAS ALONE ON A CITY ROAD BUT LOST ALL CONTROL AND FELT I WAS BARLEY BRAKING AND STEERING WAS NEAR IMPOSSIBLE. I WAS ABLE TURN EVERYTHING OFF IN THE CAR AND RESTART BUT IT HAPPENED 3 OTHER TIMES WITHIN 2 MILES. AT ONE POINT WHILE TURNING LEFT ON A HIGHWAY IT DIED; I WAS ALMOST TO A POINT TO HITTING OTHER CARS TURNING LEFT IN SAME DIRECTION AND OTHERS BEHIND ME. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE 4 MILES TODAY WITHOUT INCIDENT HOWEVER AFTER RESEARCHING THIS EXACT ISSUE AMONG OTHER CHARGER OWNERS I SEARCHED FOR A RECALL AND NOTHING HAS BEEN SAID BY DODGE. THIS ISSUE DOESN+T SEEM TO BE FROM PERSONAL ACTIONS BUT A FLAW IN A SYSTEM ON THIS MAKE/MODEL. IT HAS HAPPENED TO ME TWICE BEFORE A FEW YEARS AGO HOWEVER I READ SOMETHING ABOUT A GAS CAP AND FELT IT WAS ISOLATED. AFTER LAST NIGHT AND READING BLOGS TODAY I SEE THAT THIS IS A WIDE SPREAD ISSUE AND NOT CAUSED BY NOT MAINTAINING A VEHICLE OR BAD DRIVING. THIS IS AN ISSUE IN DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING. HAD THIS HAPPENED IN ANY OTHER DRIVING SETTING DURING RUSH HOUR SOMEONE COULD BE SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. I NOTIFIED DODGE AND REPORTED THE ISSUE BY THEY SAID I WOULD NOT BE CONTACTED AND TO KEEP RECEIPTS IF SOMETHING WAS WRONG IN CASE THEY DO RECALL SOMETHING. WHY HASN+T THIS BEEN CORRECTED AFTER ALL THESE REPORTS FOR THE SAME ISSUE TO THIS MANY OF THE SAME VEHICLES?

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/9/2017 - BRIDGETON, MO
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE INTERIM NOTICE DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/9/2017 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
2006 DODGE CHARGER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE FREQUENT STALLING ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE DEALER WAS NEVER ABLE TO FIX THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/9/2017 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
2006 DODGE CHARGER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE FREQUENT STALLING ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE DEALER WAS NEVER ABLE TO FIX THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/4/2017 - METAIRIE, LA
TAKATA RECALL - I NEVER RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION THAT I HAD A RECALL ON MY AIRBAGS - I WILL BE LOOKING INTO THIS SHORTLY -- ALSO, AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, MY ENGINE STALLS AFTER I REFUEL -- THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ISSUE BUT APPARENTLY IT HAPPENS A LOT AS I DID SEE THAT THERE WAS AN INQUIRY INTO THIS -- THIS JUST STARTED TO HAPPEN TO MY CAR IN THE LAST 2 YEARS AND SO THEREFORE IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/4/2017 - METAIRIE, LA
TAKATA RECALL - I NEVER RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION THAT I HAD A RECALL ON MY AIRBAGS - I WILL BE LOOKING INTO THIS SHORTLY -- ALSO, AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, MY ENGINE STALLS AFTER I REFUEL -- THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ISSUE BUT APPARENTLY IT HAPPENS A LOT AS I DID SEE THAT THERE WAS AN INQUIRY INTO THIS -- THIS JUST STARTED TO HAPPEN TO MY CAR IN THE LAST 2 YEARS AND SO THEREFORE IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/4/2017 - KANSAS CITY, MO
2006 DODGE CHARGER HAS A KNOWN ISSUE INVOLVING VEHICLE STALLING IF THE GAS TANK IS FILLED. DODGE NEGOTIATED A LIFETIME WARRANTY FOR REPAIR OF THIS DEFECT IN LIEU OF A RECALL. I WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THIS WARRANTY. MY FUEL PUMP HAS FAILED DUE TO CHRONICALLY RUNNING HOT DUE TO INABILITY TO FILL THE GAS TANK. THE FUEL PUMP DESIGN DEPENDS ON THE COOLER TEMPERATURE OF THE GASOLINE IN THE TANK TO KEEP IT COOLED. IN OTHER WORDS, NOT BEING ABLE TO KEEP ADEQUATE GAS TANK LEVELS HAS DIRECTLY LED TO FUEL PUMP OVERHEATING AND FAILURE. DODGE WILL NOT COVER THE COST OF FUEL PUMP REPAIR BUT WILL REPLACE THE FUEL TANK THAT CAUSED THE DAMAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION LEAVING THE PARKING LOT AT

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/3/2017 - ST. MARYS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 150
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds