Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 728 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (67) Fuel Propulsion System (137) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (149) Power Train (151) Steering (66) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Engine (185) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (58) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 108
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
I LEARNED ABOUT THE FUEL TANK WARRANTY AND WILL BE GETTING THAT REPAIRED, BUT MY ISSUE IS AT 75 TO 100% THROTTLE MY CAR WILL STALL OUT. BUT MY CAR STARTS BACK UP ON ITS OWN LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. WHEN IT STALLS IT THROWS YOU FORWARD LIKE THE CAR IS BRAKING AND THEN WHEN IT FIRES BACK UP YOU CAN HIT THE THROTTLE AND IT WILL GO AS NORMAL

View Details

ENGINE

8/28/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
I LEARNED ABOUT THE FUEL TANK WARRANTY AND WILL BE GETTING THAT REPAIRED, BUT MY ISSUE IS AT 75 TO 100% THROTTLE MY CAR WILL STALL OUT. BUT MY CAR STARTS BACK UP ON ITS OWN LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. WHEN IT STALLS IT THROWS YOU FORWARD LIKE THE CAR IS BRAKING AND THEN WHEN IT FIRES BACK UP YOU CAN HIT THE THROTTLE AND IT WILL GO AS NORMAL

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - HAGERSTOWN, MD
I LEARNED ABOUT THE FUEL TANK WARRANTY AND WILL BE GETTING THAT REPAIRED, BUT MY ISSUE IS AT 75 TO 100% THROTTLE MY CAR WILL STALL OUT. BUT MY CAR STARTS BACK UP ON ITS OWN LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. WHEN IT STALLS IT THROWS YOU FORWARD LIKE THE CAR IS BRAKING AND THEN WHEN IT FIRES BACK UP YOU CAN HIT THE THROTTLE AND IT WILL GO AS NORMAL

View Details

ENGINE

8/27/2014 - SANTEE, CA
WHEN DRIVING @40MPH, ENGINE LOST POWER, DASH SIGNALED 'DING', AND THROTTLE BODY WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IT RESTARTED AS THE CAR COASTED. HAS REPEATED NUMEROUS TIMES, INCLUDING TODAY, 3 TIMES IN LESS THAN 1 1/2 MILES, AT LESS THAN 20MPH. NO TROUBLE CODES SCANNED OR DISPLAYED. SYMPTOM WENT AWAY FOR 1 1/2 MONTHS AFTER CHANGING OUT SPARK PLUGS, AS A DODGE TECH RECOMMENDED. HE ALSO SAYS THE IGNITION COILS DETERIORATE OVER TIME, AND THE INTERNAL SHIELDING DOES NOT KEEP STRAY 'NOISE' FROM TRAVELLING INTO THE ENGINE CONTROLLER, EFFECTIVELY RESETTING IT, AND SHOWING NO CODES. HAVING 8 FACTORY COILS TO REPLACE AT $55 EACH IS QUITE A GAMBLE THAT MAY NOT FIX THE ISSUE. AFTERMARKET COILS APPARENTLY DO NOT FIX THIS, EITHER. I HAVE TIGHTENED EVERY ELECTRICAL GROUNDING POINT I CAN FIND ON THE CAR, UNPLUGGED/PLUGGED NUMEROUS CONNECTORS TO RESEAT THEM. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE, AND IT APPEARS ON '06 AND SOME 07 CHARGERS. IF THIS HAPPENS AND A COLLISION OCCURS BECAUSE OF THIS, I WILL SEEK FULL LEGAL REMEDY FROM FCA(CHRYSLER) AS THIS IS AN OBVIOUS LIABILITY/SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/24/2014 - RIVERDALE, MD
AFTER I STOP AND FILL MY GAS TANK, MY CAR WILL STALL AND SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED LEAVEN THE GAS STATION BECAUSE THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF ON ME. THIS WILL ONLY AFTER I FILL MY GAS TANK TO FULL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/24/2014 - RIVERDALE, MD
AFTER I STOP AND FILL MY GAS TANK, MY CAR WILL STALL AND SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED LEAVEN THE GAS STATION BECAUSE THE CAR JUST SHUT OFF ON ME. THIS WILL ONLY AFTER I FILL MY GAS TANK TO FULL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/21/2014 - SACRAMENTO, CA
I HAVE A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. IT STALLED 3 TIMES ON ME, TWICE ON THE ROAD AND ONCE IN THE DRIVE WAY. I CALLED DODGE AND THEY SAID IT SHOULD RUN IF THE GAS TANK IS NO FULL. I TOLD THEM IT WAS ON 3/4 TANK. I SET UP AN APPOINTMENT FOR JULY 7, 2014 AND MY HUSBAND WENT IN. THEY ORDERED THE PART, IT'S CALLED THE FUEL TANK MULTIFUNCTION CONTROL VALVE. ONE WEEK LATER DODGE OF ELK GROVE CALLED AND THEY WERE CANCELLING EVERYONE'S APPOINTMENT'S. I BEEN WITHOUT A CAR SENSE MAY 30, 2014. I'VE BEEN CONTACTING DODGE OF ELK GROVE AND HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THEY CAN NOT GET THE PART. I CONTACTED CHRYSLER CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE DEALERS ARE GETTING 1 PART EVERY 14 DAYS. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR BECAUSE IT MIGHT CAUSE AN ACCIDENT THAT I DON'T WANT TO BE IN CONTROL OF OR A PART OF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET IT WAS NIGHT AND MY LIGHTS COMPLETELY WENT OUT I COULDN'T SEE IT STILL DOING IT AT NIGHT GOING OFF

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/21/2014 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET IT WAS NIGHT AND MY LIGHTS COMPLETELY WENT OUT I COULDN'T SEE IT STILL DOING IT AT NIGHT GOING OFF

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/20/2014 - MADISON, AL
RE:PE13-016 RE: DODGE/CHRYSLER X53 - 19 FUEL TANK VEHICLE BEGAN SHUTTING OFF ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD AFTER REFUELING. UPON RECEIVING "EXTENDED WARRANTY" LETTER FROM CHRYSLER - MAY 8, 2014, CALLED DEALER TO HAVE PART REPLACED. PART HAS BEEN ON "BACKORDER" FOR LAST 2 MONTHS. I KEEP GETTING TOLD "YOU ARE NEXT IN LINE TO RECEIVE PART" FROM THE DEALER AND THE DODGE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER TOLL FREE LINE. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND FOR NO REASON OR FAULT OF YOURS, THE CAR BEGINS TO STALL OR CUT OFF COMPLETELY. MY CAR HAS CUT OFF WHILE MAKING A TURN ACROSS TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC - LUCKILY NO ONE WAS COMING AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST ACROSS THE LANES..."SAFELY". MY CAR HAS CUT OFF GOING DOWN THE ROAD AT 40-50 MILES AN HOUR. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. AND TRUTH BE KNOW, THIS NEEDS TO BE A RECALL AND HANDLED PROMPTLY BY CHRYSLER. I HAVE SEVERAL DOCUMENTED CALLS INTO CHRYSLER. NO ONE CAN TELL ME WHEN PART WILL BE ORDERED OR SENT TO DEALER OR STATUS OF SITUATION. PLEASE HELP CONSUMERS GET THIS PROBLEM ESCALATED. THANK YOU.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 108
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds