Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 816 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (12) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (81) Fuel Propulsion System (148) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (198) Power Train (162) Steering (73) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Engine (219) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (16) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 122
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/20/2015 - LAKE CHARLES, LA
NOTE: I AM DOCUMENTING MY MOST RECENT DATE OF INCIDENT BECAUSE THERE HAVE BEEN SO MANY INCONSISTENT, UNPREDICTABLE INCIDENCES TO RECALL THE FIRST. THESE ISSUES HAVE GONE ON FOR PROBABLY AT LEAST 3 MONTHS NOW. TODAY WHILE WAITING AT A STOP LIGHT, MY CAR DIED AS LIGHT TURNED GREEN AND I GOT READY TO GO. I WAS STILL IN IDLE/ NO ACCELERATION. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND ATTEMPTED TO START. I WAS ABLE TO GET IT STARTED AND MOVING BEFORE THE LIGHT CHANGED BUT NOT SOON ENOUGH. I EVEN PUT FLASHERS ON SO DRIVERS BEHIND ME WOULD KNOW I WASN'T GETTING ANYWHERE ON FIRST ATTEMPT AT MOVING. (THIS OCCURRED 2 DAYS PRIOR WHILE WAITING IN LINE OF TRAFFIC---TWICE IN THE PARKING LOT. ON SUNDAY IT DIED AT LEAST 5 TIMES WHILE WAITING IN LONG LINE OF TRAFFIC/CONGESTED PARKING LOT AFTER AN EVENT.) ONCE I ARRIVED AT MY DESTINATION TONIGHT, I DECIDED TO CHECK FOR CODE AND GOT NONE. THEN AFTER IDLING ABOUT 5 MINUTES IT DIED. I AGAIN STARTED IT AND LET IT IDLE. IT DIED AGAIN. I DID THIS A FEW MORE TIMES WITH SAME RESULT IN EVEN LESS IDLE TIME. I DID NOTICE THAT THE LAST TIME SHOWED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND THE OIL LIGHT. I'M NOT SURE IF THIS IS PART OF THE FUEL TANK ISSUE FOR WHICH I GOT A RECALL LETTER LAST MAY OR NOT. THIS IS GETTING FRUSTRATING. (BY THE WAY, I HAVE A HALF TANK OF GAS. I HAVEN'T REFUELED IN A FEW DAYS.) PRIOR TO THIS RANDOM STALLING IT WOULD 'HICCUP' DURING ACCELERATION. THE RPM'S WOULD PLUMMET AND A CHIME WOULD GO OFF. THIS LASTED MAYBE A SECOND AND THEN RETURNED TO NORMAL. SOME HICCUPS HAVE BEEN MILD WHILE OTHERS WERE JERKY. WHEN I TALKED TO DODGE SERVICE DEPT ABOUT HICCUP THEY DIDN'T THINK THIS WAS FUEL TANK ISSUE. FORTUNATELY, BOTH PROBLEMS AREN'T OCCURRING AT SAME TIME BUT BOTH HAVE BEEN FRUSTRATING. THE HICCUPS HAVEN'T OCCURRED SINCE THE DIEING STARTED. I AM FRUSTRATED AND CONCERNED ABOUT OUR SAFETY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2015 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
I WAS COMING HOME FROM WORK AND I WAS GOING BETWEEN 50 TO 55 MPH ON THE BAY BRIDGE AND I FELT THE CAR SHAKE AND THEN STARTED MAKING A RADDLEING KIND OF NOISE LIKE IT WAS OVER HEATING THE TEMPUTER GAGE SHOOT UP AND THEN A NOISE LIKE THE AIR LET OUT OF A TIRE AND THEN MY CAR STARTED SMOKING AND THEN IT CUT OFF AND NOT START UP AGAIN AND WHEN IT DID START IT WOULD CUT RITE OFF AND THIS WAS THE 2ND ENGINE AND IT DID THE SAME THING BEFORE AND THE ENGINE IS STILL UNDER WARRTY. I ONLY HAD THIS 2ND ENGINE 2 YRS AND 5 MO. AND NOW I NEED A NEW ENGINE AND IVE BEEN ONLINE AND SEEING OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS WITH THEIR 2006 DODGE CHARGER HEMI MOTORS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2015 - SOUTH HOLLAND, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION INTERLOCK LEVER WAS DEFECTIVE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE SHIFT LEVER REMAINED IN THE PARK POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 78,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2015 - WILLIAMSTON, SC
WHILE DRIVING FROM POINT A TO POINT B APPROXIMATELY 17 MILES, THIS VEHICLE STALLED 7 TIMES. MOSTLY STALLING WHILE AT A LIGHT IT HAS INCREASED TO WHILE DRIVING AS WELL. ONE TIME SPECIFIC IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION CAUSEING A BACK UP IN TRAFFIC AND NEAR ACCIDENT. WHILE UNDERSTANDING THIS ISSUE HAS MAINLY BEEN INVESTIGATED AND REPORTED AFTER FILL UP, THIS INSTANCE IS NOT. THIS IS A DAILY ISSUE THAT DEMANDS ATTENTION. MECHANICAL TECHS CANNOT FIGURE OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS EVEN AFTER REPLACING THE ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION. ACCORDING TO MY RESEARCH THIS APPARENTLY HAS HAPPEN ENOUGH WITHOUT RESOLUTION BUT HOW MANY CLOSE CALLS ARE GOING TO TURN TO FATALITIES BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE? IT SHOULDNT HAVE TO COME TO INJURIES OR WORSE FOR THIS COMMON PROBLEM TO BE RESOLVED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/10/2015 - WILLIAMSTON, SC
WHILE DRIVING FROM POINT A TO POINT B APPROXIMATELY 17 MILES, THIS VEHICLE STALLED 7 TIMES. MOSTLY STALLING WHILE AT A LIGHT IT HAS INCREASED TO WHILE DRIVING AS WELL. ONE TIME SPECIFIC IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION CAUSEING A BACK UP IN TRAFFIC AND NEAR ACCIDENT. WHILE UNDERSTANDING THIS ISSUE HAS MAINLY BEEN INVESTIGATED AND REPORTED AFTER FILL UP, THIS INSTANCE IS NOT. THIS IS A DAILY ISSUE THAT DEMANDS ATTENTION. MECHANICAL TECHS CANNOT FIGURE OUT WHAT THE PROBLEM IS EVEN AFTER REPLACING THE ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION. ACCORDING TO MY RESEARCH THIS APPARENTLY HAS HAPPEN ENOUGH WITHOUT RESOLUTION BUT HOW MANY CLOSE CALLS ARE GOING TO TURN TO FATALITIES BEFORE SOMETHING IS DONE? IT SHOULDNT HAVE TO COME TO INJURIES OR WORSE FOR THIS COMMON PROBLEM TO BE RESOLVED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/8/2015 - GRETNA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT HAD TO MANEUVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AFTER THE LAST INCIDENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILBLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2015 - SOULSBYVILLE, CA
AFTER REFUELING CAR INTERMITTENTLY BEGAN STALLING AND ULTIMATELY DIED UPON COMING TO A STOP. ENGINE DID RESTART BUT CONTINUED TO STALL AND UNTIL DESTINATION REACHED APPROXIMATELY 6 MILES. NO FURTHER INCIDENTS UNTIL ROUGHLY TWO MONTHS LATER WHEN EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED UNDER SAME CIRCUMSTANCES. HAD JUST REFUELLED AND ENGINE STALLED REPEATEDLY AT SPEEDS OF UP TO 60MPH THEN DIED WHEN STOPPED AT STOP SIGN. ENGINE RESTARTED AND CONTINUED TO STALL UNTIL RESIDENCE REACHED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/3/2015 - SOULSBYVILLE, CA
AFTER REFUELING CAR INTERMITTENTLY BEGAN STALLING AND ULTIMATELY DIED UPON COMING TO A STOP. ENGINE DID RESTART BUT CONTINUED TO STALL AND UNTIL DESTINATION REACHED APPROXIMATELY 6 MILES. NO FURTHER INCIDENTS UNTIL ROUGHLY TWO MONTHS LATER WHEN EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED UNDER SAME CIRCUMSTANCES. HAD JUST REFUELLED AND ENGINE STALLED REPEATEDLY AT SPEEDS OF UP TO 60MPH THEN DIED WHEN STOPPED AT STOP SIGN. ENGINE RESTARTED AND CONTINUED TO STALL UNTIL RESIDENCE REACHED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/3/2015 - SOULSBYVILLE, CA
AFTER REFUELING CAR INTERMITTENTLY BEGAN STALLING AND ULTIMATELY DIED UPON COMING TO A STOP. ENGINE DID RESTART BUT CONTINUED TO STALL AND UNTIL DESTINATION REACHED APPROXIMATELY 6 MILES. NO FURTHER INCIDENTS UNTIL ROUGHLY TWO MONTHS LATER WHEN EXACTLY THE SAME PROBLEM OCCURRED UNDER SAME CIRCUMSTANCES. HAD JUST REFUELLED AND ENGINE STALLED REPEATEDLY AT SPEEDS OF UP TO 60MPH THEN DIED WHEN STOPPED AT STOP SIGN. ENGINE RESTARTED AND CONTINUED TO STALL UNTIL RESIDENCE REACHED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/23/2015 - PALMETTO , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFT BECAME STUCK IN THE PARK POSITION. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE CONTACT HAD TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION LEVER AND LINKAGE COLUMN SHIFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 08V583000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,296.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 122
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds