Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 655 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (6)
Electrical System (63) Fuel Propulsion System (139) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (103) Power Train (133) Steering (58) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Engine (155) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (52) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (11) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2013 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
MY CAR HAS HAD MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES WHERE I AM SITTING AT A STOPLIGHT IN TRAFFIC AND THE CAR WILL SUDDENLY SHUT OFF FOR NO REASON. THIS USUALLY OCCURS AFTER I FILL THE GAS TANK COMPLETELY FULL AFTER A TRIP TO THE GAS STATION. MY CAR HAS ALSO DONE THIS WHILE THE CAR IS MOVING. THIS HAS HAPPENED UP TO 70 MPH WHILE TRYING TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CAR ACTUALLY "COUGHED" THEN JUST SORT OF STALLING, SUDDENLY STARTED PERFORMING NORMALLY. THIS VEHICLE HAS STALLED SO MANY TIMES AT STOPLIGHTS IN TRAFFIC THAT MY WIFE IS AFRAID TO DRIVE IT ANYMORE. MY LOCAL CHRYSLER DEALER HAS INSTALLED TWO DIFFERENT TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULES IN THE CAR IN AN ATTEMPT TO FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT TO NO AVAIL. I HAVE NOTICED THAT SINCE I HAVE STOPPED FILLING THE GAS TANK COMPLETELY FULL THAT THE STALLING HAS STOPPED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/16/2013 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
MY CAR HAS HAD MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES WHERE I AM SITTING AT A STOPLIGHT IN TRAFFIC AND THE CAR WILL SUDDENLY SHUT OFF FOR NO REASON. THIS USUALLY OCCURS AFTER I FILL THE GAS TANK COMPLETELY FULL AFTER A TRIP TO THE GAS STATION. MY CAR HAS ALSO DONE THIS WHILE THE CAR IS MOVING. THIS HAS HAPPENED UP TO 70 MPH WHILE TRYING TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CAR ACTUALLY "COUGHED" THEN JUST SORT OF STALLING, SUDDENLY STARTED PERFORMING NORMALLY. THIS VEHICLE HAS STALLED SO MANY TIMES AT STOPLIGHTS IN TRAFFIC THAT MY WIFE IS AFRAID TO DRIVE IT ANYMORE. MY LOCAL CHRYSLER DEALER HAS INSTALLED TWO DIFFERENT TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULES IN THE CAR IN AN ATTEMPT TO FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT TO NO AVAIL. I HAVE NOTICED THAT SINCE I HAVE STOPPED FILLING THE GAS TANK COMPLETELY FULL THAT THE STALLING HAS STOPPED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2013 - ANKENY, IA
WENT TO START MY DODGE CHARGER R/T AND THE ENGINE MADE A UNKNOWN TERRIBLE LOUD NOISE AND THEN WOULD NOT START. I'VE HAD ISSUES WITH THE CAR STALLING WHILE DRIVING AND WHEN COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP THE CAR WOULD DIE. BUT I'VE NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS TERRIBLE LOUD NOISE OF THE ENGINE. IT'S CLEAR THIS ENGINE SHOULDN'T HAVE HAD THIS MALFUNCTION AT THE MILEAGE THE CAR IS CURRENTLY AT, I BELIEVE THIS TO BE TRUE AS I TOWED THE CAR TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION OF THE ENGINE AND THEY HAD STATED THIS MALFUNCTION SHOULDN'T HAVE HAPPENED AT THIS MILEAGE IF AT ALL. DODGE REFUSES TO OPEN THE ENGINE TO DETERMINE THE EXACT ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE WITHOUT MY FRONTING 480.00. I CALLED DODGE/CRYSTAL CORPORATE CUSTOMER SERVICE WHO DID NOT WANT TO OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE AND THEY ADVISED TO FILE A COMPLIANT WITH NHTSA. I WANT DODGE TO EITHER REPAIR THE VEHICLE OR TO BUY THE VEHICLE FOR THE AMOUNT I CURRENTLY HAVE INVESTED. I STRONGLY BELIEVE DODGE IS TO BLAME AS I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS ISSUE AND HAVE FOUND THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED OCCURRENCE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/15/2013 - CHICAGO, IL
AFTER FILLING THE FUEL TANK THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SPUTTER AND HESITATE. THIS HAPPENED WITHIN SEVERAL MILES OF THE GAS STATION. I THOUGHT IT WAS BAD FUEL. LATER AFTER FILLING UP AT A DIFFERENT GAS STATION THE SAME THING OCCURRED. THE THIRD OR FOURTH TIME THIS HAPPENED THE VEHICLE SPUTTERED AND DIED AND THE OIL SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON. THIS LAST INCIDENT OCCURRED AS I WAS HEADING FOR A BUSY HIGHWAY. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CHRYSLER SERVICE DEPT. WHERE I WAS TOLD THAT I WOULD NEED A NEW GAS TANK TO FIX THE PROBLEM AS ONE OF THE PARTS THAT FAILED WAS PART OF THE GAS TANK. I ASKED WHAT WOULD CAUSE THIS AND WAS TOLD THAT THE TANK IS A "WISHBONE" DESIGN THAT STRADDLES THE DRIVE SHAFT AND OVER TIME THE TANK SAGGED ON THE OUTER ENDS CAUSING THE PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM STOPS AFTER THE GAS LEVEL GOES DOWN. I NO LONGER FILL THE TANK ALL THE WAY AND THE SPUTTERING HASN'T HAPPENED AGAIN. I DON'T OVER FILL THE TANK AND I DON'T LET THE VEHICLE RUN WHILE FUELING. A DANGEROUS PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/15/2013 - STRATHAM, NH
MINUTES AFTER FILLING MY TANK WITH GAS, I DROVE LESS THAN A MILE AND TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT. I WAS STILL DRIVING, AROUND 15 MPH, WHEN I HEARD A DING, AND IMMEDIATELY NOTICED A LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL. I PRESSED THE BRAKE AND QUICKLY NOTICED A LOSS OF BRAKING AS WELL. IT WAS THEN I REALIZED THE CAR HAD STALLED WHILE I WAS STILL MOVING! THANKFULLY I HAD NO ONE AROUND AND WAS ON A STRAIGHT STRETCH WHERE I COULD SLOWLY COME TO A STOP, PUT IT IN PARK AND RESTART. I PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE, AND THE CAR PROCEEDED TO STALL OUT 2 MORE TIMES JUST SITTING THERE. THERE WAS NO WARNING SYMPTOMS AHEAD OF TIME - PERFECTLY SMOOTH IDLE AT THE CORRECT RPM, THEN IT JUST DROPS TO 0 AS IF THE KEY WERE TURNED OFF. I RAN INTO THE STORE FOR LESS THAN 2 MINUTES, CAME OUT AND DROVE HOME. I HAVEN'T SEEN ANY PROBLEMS SINCE THEN (THIS HAPPENED LESS THAN 24 HOURS AGO). THERE WERE NO CODES THROWN. I'VE OWNED THIS CAR SINCE '07 WHEN IT HAD 5K MILES ON IT. WITH A LITTLE OVER 88K MILES I'VE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS HAPPEN BEFORE. NEEDLESS TO SAY IF THIS HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC IT WOULD BE HIGHLY DANGEROUS. NOTE: THIS IS A 2006 DAYTONA R/T. EARLY MANUFACTURE DATE OF 9/22/2005.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/15/2013 - STRATHAM, NH
MINUTES AFTER FILLING MY TANK WITH GAS, I DROVE LESS THAN A MILE AND TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT. I WAS STILL DRIVING, AROUND 15 MPH, WHEN I HEARD A DING, AND IMMEDIATELY NOTICED A LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL. I PRESSED THE BRAKE AND QUICKLY NOTICED A LOSS OF BRAKING AS WELL. IT WAS THEN I REALIZED THE CAR HAD STALLED WHILE I WAS STILL MOVING! THANKFULLY I HAD NO ONE AROUND AND WAS ON A STRAIGHT STRETCH WHERE I COULD SLOWLY COME TO A STOP, PUT IT IN PARK AND RESTART. I PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE, AND THE CAR PROCEEDED TO STALL OUT 2 MORE TIMES JUST SITTING THERE. THERE WAS NO WARNING SYMPTOMS AHEAD OF TIME - PERFECTLY SMOOTH IDLE AT THE CORRECT RPM, THEN IT JUST DROPS TO 0 AS IF THE KEY WERE TURNED OFF. I RAN INTO THE STORE FOR LESS THAN 2 MINUTES, CAME OUT AND DROVE HOME. I HAVEN'T SEEN ANY PROBLEMS SINCE THEN (THIS HAPPENED LESS THAN 24 HOURS AGO). THERE WERE NO CODES THROWN. I'VE OWNED THIS CAR SINCE '07 WHEN IT HAD 5K MILES ON IT. WITH A LITTLE OVER 88K MILES I'VE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS HAPPEN BEFORE. NEEDLESS TO SAY IF THIS HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC IT WOULD BE HIGHLY DANGEROUS. NOTE: THIS IS A 2006 DAYTONA R/T. EARLY MANUFACTURE DATE OF 9/22/2005.

View Details

ENGINE

8/15/2013 - STRATHAM, NH
MINUTES AFTER FILLING MY TANK WITH GAS, I DROVE LESS THAN A MILE AND TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT. I WAS STILL DRIVING, AROUND 15 MPH, WHEN I HEARD A DING, AND IMMEDIATELY NOTICED A LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL. I PRESSED THE BRAKE AND QUICKLY NOTICED A LOSS OF BRAKING AS WELL. IT WAS THEN I REALIZED THE CAR HAD STALLED WHILE I WAS STILL MOVING! THANKFULLY I HAD NO ONE AROUND AND WAS ON A STRAIGHT STRETCH WHERE I COULD SLOWLY COME TO A STOP, PUT IT IN PARK AND RESTART. I PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE, AND THE CAR PROCEEDED TO STALL OUT 2 MORE TIMES JUST SITTING THERE. THERE WAS NO WARNING SYMPTOMS AHEAD OF TIME - PERFECTLY SMOOTH IDLE AT THE CORRECT RPM, THEN IT JUST DROPS TO 0 AS IF THE KEY WERE TURNED OFF. I RAN INTO THE STORE FOR LESS THAN 2 MINUTES, CAME OUT AND DROVE HOME. I HAVEN'T SEEN ANY PROBLEMS SINCE THEN (THIS HAPPENED LESS THAN 24 HOURS AGO). THERE WERE NO CODES THROWN. I'VE OWNED THIS CAR SINCE '07 WHEN IT HAD 5K MILES ON IT. WITH A LITTLE OVER 88K MILES I'VE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS HAPPEN BEFORE. NEEDLESS TO SAY IF THIS HAPPENED IN TRAFFIC IT WOULD BE HIGHLY DANGEROUS. NOTE: THIS IS A 2006 DAYTONA R/T. EARLY MANUFACTURE DATE OF 9/22/2005.

View Details

ENGINE

8/13/2013 - CHANDLER, AZ
AFTER FILLING MY CAR UP AT A GAS STATION I WAS ENTERING THE FREEWAY AND MY CAR SPUTTERED AND STALLED ON ME ON THE ON RAMP TO THE FREEWAY. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED AND THE CAR LOCKED UP AND IT WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER. FURTHER DIAGNOSES FROM THE DEALERSHIP SHOWED THAT THE EVAP VALVE WAS BAD ON THE CAR AND NEEDED A NEW GAS TANK. APPARENTLY THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING WITH A LOT OF DODGE CHARGERS, MAGNUMS AND CHRYSLER 300'S.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/13/2013 - CHANDLER, AZ
AFTER FILLING MY CAR UP AT A GAS STATION I WAS ENTERING THE FREEWAY AND MY CAR SPUTTERED AND STALLED ON ME ON THE ON RAMP TO THE FREEWAY. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED AND THE CAR LOCKED UP AND IT WAS DIFFICULT TO STEER. FURTHER DIAGNOSES FROM THE DEALERSHIP SHOWED THAT THE EVAP VALVE WAS BAD ON THE CAR AND NEEDED A NEW GAS TANK. APPARENTLY THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING WITH A LOT OF DODGE CHARGERS, MAGNUMS AND CHRYSLER 300'S.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/10/2013 - PROVO, UT
STALLING HAPPENS AFTER FUEL UP. STALLING AT HIGH SPEEDS WHILE ACCELERATION AND WHILE STOPPED AT STOP LIGHTS. LOOSES POWER INSTANTLY ON FREEWAY THE KICKS BACK IN.

View Details
Pages:  <<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds