Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 748 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (71) Fuel Propulsion System (126) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (178) Power Train (155) Steering (66) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Engine (193) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (60) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/7/2014 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE SENSOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER BUT THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,729.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/7/2014 - PAPILLION, NE
AFTER FUELING CAR, THE ENGINE STALLED. LUCKILY I HAD NOT PULLED INTO TRAFFIC YET. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER A COUPLE OF ATTEMPTS AND DRIVE BACK INTO THE PARKING LOT. THE ENGINE STALLED AGAIN. AFTER THAT, THE CAR WOULDN'T START. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST DODGE DEALERSHIP. BECAUSE IT WAS THANKSGIVING, AND EVERYTHING WAS CLOSED, I HAD TO DELAY MY TRIP A DAY BEFORE CONTINUING ON TO MY DESTINATION. THE NEXT DAY THE DEALERSHIP CALLED AND SAID IT WAS RUNNING FINE AND COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. I HAD NO FURTHER PROBLEMS UNTIL SUNDAY ON MY WAY HOME. I STOPPED TO FILL UP THE TANK AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS TIME I DIDN'T LEAVE THE GAS STATION IN FEAR THAT IT MIGHT HAPPEN AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR STARTED AND KEEP IT IDLING FOR ABOUT 15 MINUTES BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE IN TRAFFIC. THIS PROCESS TOOK ABOUT 2 HOURS. I CONTINUE TO HAVE THE SAME ISSUE WHEN FILLING THE TANK WITH GAS. I AM UNABLE TO TRAVEL OUT OF TOWN BECAUSE I DON'T WANT TO GET STRANDED AGAIN AND OR WORSE, CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AND INJURE SOMEONE. THE ONLY TIP I CAN OFFER THAT HAS HELPED WITH THIS ISSUE IS TO KEEP THE ENGINE RUNNING WHILE FUELING. I KNOW THIS IS NOT RECOMMENDED, BUT IT HAS HELPED PREVENT THE ENGINE FROM STALLING AFTER FUELING AND CAUSING AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/7/2014 - FORT WALTON BEACH, FL
THE CAR SHUT OFF COMPLETELY WHILE DRIVING RIGHT AFTER REFUELING AND LEAVING THE GAS STATION. IT SHUT OFF 3 MORE TIMES AFTER THAT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/3/2014 - PERRIS, CA
THE CAR STALLED JUST AFTER FUELING WHEN ATTEMPTING TO CROSS A BUSY ROAD. I WAS LUCK THAT I WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER A FEW TRYS AND GET OUT OF THE WAY OF ON COMING TRAFFIC. THE CAR STALLED TWO MORE TIMES WITHIN ONE MILE. EACH TIME, I BLOCKED TRAFFIC. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH MY VEHICLE. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A DEALER SINCE I DID NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING IT ANY LONGER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/3/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
AFTER FUELING CAR FOR A TRIP, WHILE IN PARK THE IDLE SPEED INCREASED THEN THE CAR STALLED. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART BUT WHILE PULLING INTO THE STREET THE CAR STALLED AGAIN. LUCKILY IT STARTED BUT WHEN I PULLED UP TO THE RED LIGHT IT STALLED AGAIN AND TOOK 3-4 ATTEMPTS TO GET THE CAR RUNNING AGAIN, IT WOULD TURN OVER AND THEN DIE. FINALLY I GOT THE CAR STARTED AND WITHOUT ANY ADDITIONAL STOPS IN MY ROUTE I MADE IT HOME WITH NO OTHER PROBLEMS. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP (DIDN'T SEEM TO HAVE ANY PROBLEMS) YESTERDAY AND TODAY I WAS TOLD I NEED TO HAVE THE FUEL TANK REPLACED, THE "BROKEN" GAUGE CAN NOT BE REPLACED. I HAVE HAD 2 ADDITIONAL PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR LOSING POWER WHEN ACCELERATING ONTO THE FREEWAY IN THE LAST MONTH, BOTH AFTER FUEL UPS, BUT THE CAR HAD NEVER STALLED UNTIL RECENTLY. SEEMS VERY COSTLY, BUT MORE DANGEROUS! I FEEL IT SHOULD BE RECALLED BY DODGE DUE TO QUANTITY OF SAME COMPLAINTS!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/3/2014 - APO, AP
ON OR ABOUT 03 OCTOBER 2013, THE ENGINE (5.7L HEMI) STALLED GOING AT 30-35 MPH. THE ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON, BUT DISAPPEARED WHEN I RESTARTED THE ENGINE. SINCE THAT DAY, I HAVE EXPERIENCED MULTIPLE ENGINE STALL INCIDENTS (ABOUT 10 TIMES) USUALLY AT A TRAFFIC STOP BEING IDLE OR APPROACHING A STOP, AND DURING REVERSE. IN NOVEMBER, WHILE CRUISING ON A HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE ACTED AS IF TO STALL AGAIN WITH ALL THE LIGHTS AND CHIMING ON THE EVIC ON AND OFF, BUT DID NOT STALL PROBABLY DUE TO THE MOMENTUM OR INERTIA. AT THAT TIME, I HAD MY ENTIRE FAMILY (SIZE OF FOUR) WITH ME IN THE VEHICLE AND FEARED FOR THEIR SAFETY. I WENT TO MULTIPLE CHRYSLER DEALERS AND SERVICE CENTERS, BUT COULD NOT PREVENT THE PROBLEM FROM REOCCURING AGAIN. IT APPEARS FROM MY ONLINE RESEARCH AND READING OTHER COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA WEBSITE THAT THE SYMPTOMS I AM EXPERIENCING ARE PROBABLY CONSISTENT WITH THE FAULTY SENSOR IN THE FUEL TANK.

View Details

ENGINE

1/3/2014 - APO, AP
ON OR ABOUT 03 OCTOBER 2013, THE ENGINE (5.7L HEMI) STALLED GOING AT 30-35 MPH. THE ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON, BUT DISAPPEARED WHEN I RESTARTED THE ENGINE. SINCE THAT DAY, I HAVE EXPERIENCED MULTIPLE ENGINE STALL INCIDENTS (ABOUT 10 TIMES) USUALLY AT A TRAFFIC STOP BEING IDLE OR APPROACHING A STOP, AND DURING REVERSE. IN NOVEMBER, WHILE CRUISING ON A HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE ACTED AS IF TO STALL AGAIN WITH ALL THE LIGHTS AND CHIMING ON THE EVIC ON AND OFF, BUT DID NOT STALL PROBABLY DUE TO THE MOMENTUM OR INERTIA. AT THAT TIME, I HAD MY ENTIRE FAMILY (SIZE OF FOUR) WITH ME IN THE VEHICLE AND FEARED FOR THEIR SAFETY. I WENT TO MULTIPLE CHRYSLER DEALERS AND SERVICE CENTERS, BUT COULD NOT PREVENT THE PROBLEM FROM REOCCURING AGAIN. IT APPEARS FROM MY ONLINE RESEARCH AND READING OTHER COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA WEBSITE THAT THE SYMPTOMS I AM EXPERIENCING ARE PROBABLY CONSISTENT WITH THE FAULTY SENSOR IN THE FUEL TANK.

View Details

STEERING

12/31/2013 - CHICAGO, IL
THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED AND THIS IS FLAT OUT DANGEROUS! AFTER DRIVING ALL DAY I WAS ALMOST OUT OF GAS SO I STOPPED AT ONE OF MY REGULARLY USED GAS STATIONS. AS LIKE I ALWAYS DO WHEN I GET GAS I GOT A FULL TANK AND I DO NOT OVERFILL, ONCE THE HANDLE POPS I'M DONE PUMPING. VEHICLE STARTED FINE AND I DROVE OFF THE GAS STATION WITH NO PROBLEMS. ONCE ON THE MAIN ROAD I APPROACHED MY FIRST TURN AND IN MID TURN GOING ABOUT 20MPH MY VEHICLE JUST STALLED,NO WARNING OR NOTHING IT JUST RANDOMLY STALLED. ONCE THE CAR ROLLED OFF THE MAIN STREET I PUT IT IN PARK AND TRIED TO START IT UP AGAIN. NO LUCK, THE VEHICLE WOULDN'T START. IT TOOK A FEW TRIES BUT MANAGED TO GET IT RUNNING AGAIN. TO MY SURPRISE I DIDN'T HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT SO I SAT THERE FOR A WHILE REVVING THE ENGINE AND EVEN SHUT IT OFF AND RESTARTED IT, EVERYTHING SEEMED FINE SO I WENT ON MY WAY. SHORTLY AFTER I DROVE OFF IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND THIS TIME I WAS JUST DRIVING STRAIGHT. FROM THE GAS STATION TO MY HOME IS ABOUT 10MIN AND IN THAT SHORT TIME FRAME THE VEHICLE RANDOMLY STALLED 4 TIMES! THIS WENT ON FOR A FEW DAYS UNTIL MY FUEL LVL WAS ABOUT 3/4 FULL? AFTER RESEARCHING ONLINE ON DODGE FORUMS I WAS ABLE TO FIND OUT WHAT MAY AND MOST LIKELY BE THE ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE. SOME SAY ITS A COLLAPSED GAS TANK WHICH AFFECTS A CHECK VALVE IN THE GAS TANK THAT IS FOR THE EVAP SYSTEM. WHEN YOU HAVE A FULL TANK AND THE SYSTEM OPENS UP TO RELEASE GAS VAPORS BACK INTO THE ENGINE IT'S ACTUALLY SENDING RAW FUEL BACK INTO THE ENGINE WHICH IN TURN FLOODS THE VEHICLE AND CAUSES THE STALL. OF COURSE THIS PART CAN'T BE REPLACED OR FIXED SINCE THE TANK AND THOSE PARTS ARE SOLD AS ONE PIECE WHICH IS BIG $$$! MY ONLY FIX FOR THIS UNTIL THIS IS RECALLED IS I DON'T GET A FULL TANK ANYMORE. THIS IS A SERIOUS AND DANGEROUS ISSUE WHICH SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS INTO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/31/2013 - CHICAGO, IL
THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED AND THIS IS FLAT OUT DANGEROUS! AFTER DRIVING ALL DAY I WAS ALMOST OUT OF GAS SO I STOPPED AT ONE OF MY REGULARLY USED GAS STATIONS. AS LIKE I ALWAYS DO WHEN I GET GAS I GOT A FULL TANK AND I DO NOT OVERFILL, ONCE THE HANDLE POPS I'M DONE PUMPING. VEHICLE STARTED FINE AND I DROVE OFF THE GAS STATION WITH NO PROBLEMS. ONCE ON THE MAIN ROAD I APPROACHED MY FIRST TURN AND IN MID TURN GOING ABOUT 20MPH MY VEHICLE JUST STALLED,NO WARNING OR NOTHING IT JUST RANDOMLY STALLED. ONCE THE CAR ROLLED OFF THE MAIN STREET I PUT IT IN PARK AND TRIED TO START IT UP AGAIN. NO LUCK, THE VEHICLE WOULDN'T START. IT TOOK A FEW TRIES BUT MANAGED TO GET IT RUNNING AGAIN. TO MY SURPRISE I DIDN'T HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT SO I SAT THERE FOR A WHILE REVVING THE ENGINE AND EVEN SHUT IT OFF AND RESTARTED IT, EVERYTHING SEEMED FINE SO I WENT ON MY WAY. SHORTLY AFTER I DROVE OFF IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND THIS TIME I WAS JUST DRIVING STRAIGHT. FROM THE GAS STATION TO MY HOME IS ABOUT 10MIN AND IN THAT SHORT TIME FRAME THE VEHICLE RANDOMLY STALLED 4 TIMES! THIS WENT ON FOR A FEW DAYS UNTIL MY FUEL LVL WAS ABOUT 3/4 FULL? AFTER RESEARCHING ONLINE ON DODGE FORUMS I WAS ABLE TO FIND OUT WHAT MAY AND MOST LIKELY BE THE ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE. SOME SAY ITS A COLLAPSED GAS TANK WHICH AFFECTS A CHECK VALVE IN THE GAS TANK THAT IS FOR THE EVAP SYSTEM. WHEN YOU HAVE A FULL TANK AND THE SYSTEM OPENS UP TO RELEASE GAS VAPORS BACK INTO THE ENGINE IT'S ACTUALLY SENDING RAW FUEL BACK INTO THE ENGINE WHICH IN TURN FLOODS THE VEHICLE AND CAUSES THE STALL. OF COURSE THIS PART CAN'T BE REPLACED OR FIXED SINCE THE TANK AND THOSE PARTS ARE SOLD AS ONE PIECE WHICH IS BIG $$$! MY ONLY FIX FOR THIS UNTIL THIS IS RECALLED IS I DON'T GET A FULL TANK ANYMORE. THIS IS A SERIOUS AND DANGEROUS ISSUE WHICH SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS INTO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/31/2013 - CHICAGO, IL
THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED AND THIS IS FLAT OUT DANGEROUS! AFTER DRIVING ALL DAY I WAS ALMOST OUT OF GAS SO I STOPPED AT ONE OF MY REGULARLY USED GAS STATIONS. AS LIKE I ALWAYS DO WHEN I GET GAS I GOT A FULL TANK AND I DO NOT OVERFILL, ONCE THE HANDLE POPS I'M DONE PUMPING. VEHICLE STARTED FINE AND I DROVE OFF THE GAS STATION WITH NO PROBLEMS. ONCE ON THE MAIN ROAD I APPROACHED MY FIRST TURN AND IN MID TURN GOING ABOUT 20MPH MY VEHICLE JUST STALLED,NO WARNING OR NOTHING IT JUST RANDOMLY STALLED. ONCE THE CAR ROLLED OFF THE MAIN STREET I PUT IT IN PARK AND TRIED TO START IT UP AGAIN. NO LUCK, THE VEHICLE WOULDN'T START. IT TOOK A FEW TRIES BUT MANAGED TO GET IT RUNNING AGAIN. TO MY SURPRISE I DIDN'T HAVE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT SO I SAT THERE FOR A WHILE REVVING THE ENGINE AND EVEN SHUT IT OFF AND RESTARTED IT, EVERYTHING SEEMED FINE SO I WENT ON MY WAY. SHORTLY AFTER I DROVE OFF IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND THIS TIME I WAS JUST DRIVING STRAIGHT. FROM THE GAS STATION TO MY HOME IS ABOUT 10MIN AND IN THAT SHORT TIME FRAME THE VEHICLE RANDOMLY STALLED 4 TIMES! THIS WENT ON FOR A FEW DAYS UNTIL MY FUEL LVL WAS ABOUT 3/4 FULL? AFTER RESEARCHING ONLINE ON DODGE FORUMS I WAS ABLE TO FIND OUT WHAT MAY AND MOST LIKELY BE THE ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE. SOME SAY ITS A COLLAPSED GAS TANK WHICH AFFECTS A CHECK VALVE IN THE GAS TANK THAT IS FOR THE EVAP SYSTEM. WHEN YOU HAVE A FULL TANK AND THE SYSTEM OPENS UP TO RELEASE GAS VAPORS BACK INTO THE ENGINE IT'S ACTUALLY SENDING RAW FUEL BACK INTO THE ENGINE WHICH IN TURN FLOODS THE VEHICLE AND CAUSES THE STALL. OF COURSE THIS PART CAN'T BE REPLACED OR FIXED SINCE THE TANK AND THOSE PARTS ARE SOLD AS ONE PIECE WHICH IS BIG $$$! MY ONLY FIX FOR THIS UNTIL THIS IS RECALLED IS I DON'T GET A FULL TANK ANYMORE. THIS IS A SERIOUS AND DANGEROUS ISSUE WHICH SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY BEFORE SOMEONE GETS INTO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds