Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 736 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (67) Fuel Propulsion System (134) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (157) Power Train (154) Steering (66) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Engine (187) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (59) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/17/2013 - REDDING, CA
AFTER FUELING MY VEHICLE, I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH AROUND A CORNER AND THE VEHICLE STALLED AND DIED. ONCE THE ENGINE DIED, I WAS UNABLE TO STEER AND HAD TO HARD BREAK TO AVOID GOING INTO THE OTHER LANE OF TRAFFIC AND NARROWLY AVOIDED MISSING THE ONCOMING VEHICLE IN THE OTHER LANE. ONCE I WAS STOPPED I ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, IT CONTINUED TO STALL THREE MORE TIMES WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN DRIVE. I WAS STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD, ON A CORNER WITH LITTLE VISIBILITY. I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE ON THE FOURTH ATTEMPT. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE A COUPLE MILES TILL I STOPPED AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. THE VEHICLE STALLED AND DIED AGAIN RIGHT AS THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN. I AGAIN HAD TO RESTART THE VEHICLE THREE TIMES BEFORE IT WOULD STAY RUNNING. THERE WERE MULTIPLE VEHICLES BEHIND ME AT THE LIGHT, THANKFULLY THEY HAD COME TO A STOP BEFORE I STALLED. THIS HAS HAPPENED IN THE PAST, BUT IT IS GETTING WORSE AND I NO LONGER FEEL IT IS SAFE TO DRIVE. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THE FUEL SYSTEM. THE COST FOR THIS REPAIR IS OVER $2,000 AND THERE IS NO MANUFACTURERS RECALL AT THIS POINT. IT IS MY OPINION THAT THIS IS NOT A WEAR ITEM, IT IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. THIS IS MY FAMILY CAR, AND I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH MY CHILDREN AS THERE IS A GREAT RISK TO THEIR SAFETY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/17/2013 - WILLISTON, FL
MY CAR STALLS AFTER EVERY FILL UP FOR FUEL. I LATER DISCOVERED THIS WAS A COMMON COMPLAINT CAUSING RANDOM FIRES AS WELL AS REAR END COLLISIONS FROM STALLING ONTO FREEWAYS . I PAID $40K FOR THIS VEHICLE. MANUFACTURER NOR EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERS THIS COSTLY AND DANGEROUS DEFECT. I WOULD LIKE FOR THIS PROBLEM TO BE RECTIFIED BY A MANUFACTURES' RECALL OR CONSUMER REIMBURSEMENT. PLEASE CONTACT ME AT [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/17/2013 - WILLISTON, FL
MY CAR STALLS AFTER EVERY FILL UP FOR FUEL. I LATER DISCOVERED THIS WAS A COMMON COMPLAINT CAUSING RANDOM FIRES AS WELL AS REAR END COLLISIONS FROM STALLING ONTO FREEWAYS . I PAID $40K FOR THIS VEHICLE. MANUFACTURER NOR EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERS THIS COSTLY AND DANGEROUS DEFECT. I WOULD LIKE FOR THIS PROBLEM TO BE RECTIFIED BY A MANUFACTURES' RECALL OR CONSUMER REIMBURSEMENT. PLEASE CONTACT ME AT [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/13/2013 - MESA, AZ
AFTER FILLING UP FUEL, WENT TO ACCELERATE AND CAR STARTED SPUTTERING, THIS HAPPENED WHILE MERGING ONTO FREEWAY. SECOND TIME WAS WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT, LIGHT TURNED GREEN, PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR DIED. WAS ABLE TO COAST 2 LANES OVER TO THE SIDE OF ROAD. CAR WOULD RESTART BUT DIE AFTER 30 SECONDS. HAD TO CAR TOWED HOME. THIRD TIME, CAR DIED AT A BUSY INTERSECTION AND WAS ABLE TO GET IT STARTED AND MOVED TO A SAFE PLACE. FOURTH TIME IT DIED WHILE TURNING INTO A SHOPPING CENTER. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FAULT IN THE CAR AND SHOULD BE A RECALL AND PAID BY CHRYSLER, LUCKILY I DIDN'T GET INTO AN ACCIDENT WITH SOMEONE REAR ENDING ME. MY CAR IS AT THE DEALERSHIP WITH A $2000 CHARGE TO HAVE THIS FIXED. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO BE PAYING THIS, AS IT IS A DEFECT IN THE CAR ITSELF!!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/13/2013 - MESA, AZ
AFTER FILLING UP FUEL, WENT TO ACCELERATE AND CAR STARTED SPUTTERING, THIS HAPPENED WHILE MERGING ONTO FREEWAY. SECOND TIME WAS WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT, LIGHT TURNED GREEN, PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR DIED. WAS ABLE TO COAST 2 LANES OVER TO THE SIDE OF ROAD. CAR WOULD RESTART BUT DIE AFTER 30 SECONDS. HAD TO CAR TOWED HOME. THIRD TIME, CAR DIED AT A BUSY INTERSECTION AND WAS ABLE TO GET IT STARTED AND MOVED TO A SAFE PLACE. FOURTH TIME IT DIED WHILE TURNING INTO A SHOPPING CENTER. THIS IS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FAULT IN THE CAR AND SHOULD BE A RECALL AND PAID BY CHRYSLER, LUCKILY I DIDN'T GET INTO AN ACCIDENT WITH SOMEONE REAR ENDING ME. MY CAR IS AT THE DEALERSHIP WITH A $2000 CHARGE TO HAVE THIS FIXED. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO BE PAYING THIS, AS IT IS A DEFECT IN THE CAR ITSELF!!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/6/2013 - PLANO, TX
AFTER A FULL FILL UP, WHILE DRIVING CAR STARTED CHUGGING, AND STALLED. AT RED LIGHTS, OR STOP SIGNS, CAR STALLED AND DIED. AT A STOP, GOING TO START THROUGH AN INTERSECTION, CAR STALLED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/5/2013 - MEQUON, WI
AFTER FUELING THE VEHICLE I DROVE ABOUT 1/4 MILE RELEASED THE GAS PEDAL TO MAKE A LEFT TURN AT A CONTROLLED INTER SECTION, THE MOTOR DIED DURING THE TURN. THE CAR DID NOT RESTART EASILY. THE CAR DIED 3 MORE TIMES IN ROUTE TO MY HOME WHICH WAS LESS THAN A MILE FURTHER. THIS HAS HAPPENED THE LAST 5 OR MORE TIMES I HAVE FILLED THE GAS TANK. I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR SINCE NEW AND I AM THE SOLE DRIVER. I AM AFRAID THIS MAY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT IN THE FUTURE IF NOT REMEDIED. YESTERDAY I SPOKE TO MY LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP WHERE THE CAR IS SERVICED, I WAS INFORMED THE FIX FOR THIS IS REPLACING THE FUEL TANK DUE TO A DEFECTIVE PART INSIDE OF THE TANK WHICH IS NOT SERVICEABLE. I THAN CALL THE DODGE CORP. CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER WERE THEIR AGENT READ A PREPARED STATEMENT REGARDING THE EXPIRED WARRANTY. I FEEL THIS IS A DESIGN PROBLEM WHICH COULD LEAD TO A DANGEROUS SITUATION AS IT BECOMES INCREASINGLY WORSE. THANK YOU FOR THIS FORUM.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2013 - NESCONSET , NY
MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER STALLED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WITHOUT ANY WARNING. USUALLY WHEN I FILL THE GAS TANK. THE CAR JUST STOPS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I CAN RESTART THE CAR BUT IT WILL HAPPEN ATLEAST 5 OR 6 MORE TIMES AFTER. I USE THE BOOK RECOMMENDED LEVEL OF GAS AT TWO DIFFERENT REPUTABLE GAS STATIONS, WITH THE THOUGHT THAT IT WAS BAD GAS. I DROPPED OFF MY CAR TO MY LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP AND IT COST ME $130.35 FOR THEM TO JUST LOOK FOR THE PROBLEM. THEY SAID THAT IT IS THE "ROLL OVER VALVE" AND IT WOULD COST OVER $1200.00 TO FIX!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/5/2013 - AUSTIN, TX
I GASSED UP, AND THEN DROVE OFF. WHEN SLOWING DOWN FOR A STOP LIGHT, MY CAR'S OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND STALLED OUT. IT RESTARTED, BUT THEN SHUT OFF AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO RE-START AND THEN TRAVEL 35 MILES EACH WAY VISITING FAMILY. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN ON DECEMBER 3RD AFTER GASSING UP, IT SHUT DOWN ON ME WHEN I GOT TO WORK IN THE MORNING, THEN STALLED AGAIN ON THE WAY HOME. THEN AGAIN YESTERDAY, DEC. 4TH 2013 WHEN I GOT TO WORK, I BACKED INTO MY PARKING SPOT, AND IT SHUT DOWN. THEN LEAVING FOR THE DAY, I WAS GOING DOWN THE PARKING GARAGE ABOUT TO EXIT, AND IT SHUT OFF BEFORE I COULD LEAVE MY BUILDING. I THEN DROVE IT AROUND THE BLOCK, AND IT SHUT DOWN AGAIN, AND I HAD A HARD TIME STARTING IT. IT FINALLY STARTED, AND I HEADED HOME, AND IT STALLED IN TRAFFIC AGAIN, NOT EVEN 10 MINUTES LATER. I WAS ABLE TO START IT, AND MAKE IT HOME. AND IT'S SITTING AT HOME TODAY, DECEMBER 5TH, 2013.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2013 - AUSTIN, TX
I GASSED UP, AND THEN DROVE OFF. WHEN SLOWING DOWN FOR A STOP LIGHT, MY CAR'S OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND STALLED OUT. IT RESTARTED, BUT THEN SHUT OFF AGAIN. I WAS ABLE TO RE-START AND THEN TRAVEL 35 MILES EACH WAY VISITING FAMILY. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN ON DECEMBER 3RD AFTER GASSING UP, IT SHUT DOWN ON ME WHEN I GOT TO WORK IN THE MORNING, THEN STALLED AGAIN ON THE WAY HOME. THEN AGAIN YESTERDAY, DEC. 4TH 2013 WHEN I GOT TO WORK, I BACKED INTO MY PARKING SPOT, AND IT SHUT DOWN. THEN LEAVING FOR THE DAY, I WAS GOING DOWN THE PARKING GARAGE ABOUT TO EXIT, AND IT SHUT OFF BEFORE I COULD LEAVE MY BUILDING. I THEN DROVE IT AROUND THE BLOCK, AND IT SHUT DOWN AGAIN, AND I HAD A HARD TIME STARTING IT. IT FINALLY STARTED, AND I HEADED HOME, AND IT STALLED IN TRAFFIC AGAIN, NOT EVEN 10 MINUTES LATER. I WAS ABLE TO START IT, AND MAKE IT HOME. AND IT'S SITTING AT HOME TODAY, DECEMBER 5TH, 2013.

View Details
Pages:  <<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds