Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 817 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (12) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (82) Fuel Propulsion System (148) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (198) Power Train (163) Steering (73) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Engine (220) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (16) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 99
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/7/2014 - CHRISTIANA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER XT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE WOULD STALL SPORADICALLY AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REFUELED. THE CONTACT INQUIRED ABOUT A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (TSB) UNDER NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE13016 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) HOWEVER, THE EXTENDED WARRANTY ONLY COVERED THE VEHICLE FOR UP TO 100,000 MILES AND THE CONTACT HAD EXCEEDED THE MILEAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/6/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
WHILE WAITING AT STOP LIGHTS, CAR IDLES FINE. THE MOMENT THE LIGHT TURNS GREEN AND I RELEASE THE BRAKE TO STEP ON THE GAS PEDAL THE CAR STALLS. THIS HAS HAPPENED UP TO 4 TIMES IN ONE DAY. HAPPENED ONLY ONCE TODAY 3/6/2014.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
WHILE WAITING AT STOP LIGHTS, CAR IDLES FINE. THE MOMENT THE LIGHT TURNS GREEN AND I RELEASE THE BRAKE TO STEP ON THE GAS PEDAL THE CAR STALLS. THIS HAS HAPPENED UP TO 4 TIMES IN ONE DAY. HAPPENED ONLY ONCE TODAY 3/6/2014.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2014 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
WHILE WAITING AT STOP LIGHTS, CAR IDLES FINE. THE MOMENT THE LIGHT TURNS GREEN AND I RELEASE THE BRAKE TO STEP ON THE GAS PEDAL THE CAR STALLS. THIS HAS HAPPENED UP TO 4 TIMES IN ONE DAY. HAPPENED ONLY ONCE TODAY 3/6/2014.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/6/2014 - COMPTON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 2 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE DUAL FUEL TANK ASSEMBLY WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,200 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 66,258.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/4/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
AFTER FILLING UP THE GAS TANK, WITHIN MINUTES I WAS TURNING LEFT IN AN INTERSECTION WHEN THE ENGINE STOPPED AND THE STEERING BECAME VERY DIFFICULT AND AN ACCIDENT WAS BARELY AVOIDED. THIS WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS BECAUSE OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. IN FACT I WAS ALMOST STRUCK BY TWO VEHICLES, ONE COMING AT ME AND THE OTHER BEHIND ME. I RESTARTED THE CAR, DROVE THROUGH THE INTERSECTION FOR ABOUT 5-10 SECONDS AND THE CAR STOPPED AGAIN, SAME STEERING DIFFICULTIES. STARTED THE CAR A THIRD TIME AND IT MOVED FORWARD WITH NO MORE STOPS. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 20 MORE TIME IN THE PAST 3 YEARS. ADDITIONALLY, WITHIN THE PAST 6 MONTHS, IT HAS BEEN VERY DIFFICULT TO PUT FUEL INTO THE TANK. IT WOULD TAKE ABOUT 20 MINUTES BECAUSE THE NOZZLE WOULD SHUT OFF. I COULD ONLY PUT IN VERY SMALL AMOUNTS EACH SQUEEZE OF THE HANDLE. I FIND THIS NOT ONLY ANNOYING BUT ALSO QUESTION THE DESIGN OF THE WHOLE FUEL RECEIVING AND STORAGE SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE ASKED MY LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE PROBLEMS AND WAS ADVISED THAT A NEW GAS TANK WOULD HAVE TO BE INSTALLED FOR APPROXIMATELY $1,200! A NEW GAS TANK? THAT WOULD CONFIRM IN MY MIND THAT THESE PROBLEMS ARE CAUSED ABSOLUTELY BY A DESIGN FLAW AND SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REPAIRED ASAP BEFORE THERE ARE FATALITIES LINKED TO THIS FLAW.

View Details

STEERING

3/4/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
AFTER FILLING UP THE GAS TANK, WITHIN MINUTES I WAS TURNING LEFT IN AN INTERSECTION WHEN THE ENGINE STOPPED AND THE STEERING BECAME VERY DIFFICULT AND AN ACCIDENT WAS BARELY AVOIDED. THIS WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS BECAUSE OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. IN FACT I WAS ALMOST STRUCK BY TWO VEHICLES, ONE COMING AT ME AND THE OTHER BEHIND ME. I RESTARTED THE CAR, DROVE THROUGH THE INTERSECTION FOR ABOUT 5-10 SECONDS AND THE CAR STOPPED AGAIN, SAME STEERING DIFFICULTIES. STARTED THE CAR A THIRD TIME AND IT MOVED FORWARD WITH NO MORE STOPS. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 20 MORE TIME IN THE PAST 3 YEARS. ADDITIONALLY, WITHIN THE PAST 6 MONTHS, IT HAS BEEN VERY DIFFICULT TO PUT FUEL INTO THE TANK. IT WOULD TAKE ABOUT 20 MINUTES BECAUSE THE NOZZLE WOULD SHUT OFF. I COULD ONLY PUT IN VERY SMALL AMOUNTS EACH SQUEEZE OF THE HANDLE. I FIND THIS NOT ONLY ANNOYING BUT ALSO QUESTION THE DESIGN OF THE WHOLE FUEL RECEIVING AND STORAGE SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE ASKED MY LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE PROBLEMS AND WAS ADVISED THAT A NEW GAS TANK WOULD HAVE TO BE INSTALLED FOR APPROXIMATELY $1,200! A NEW GAS TANK? THAT WOULD CONFIRM IN MY MIND THAT THESE PROBLEMS ARE CAUSED ABSOLUTELY BY A DESIGN FLAW AND SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REPAIRED ASAP BEFORE THERE ARE FATALITIES LINKED TO THIS FLAW.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/4/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
AFTER FILLING UP THE GAS TANK, WITHIN MINUTES I WAS TURNING LEFT IN AN INTERSECTION WHEN THE ENGINE STOPPED AND THE STEERING BECAME VERY DIFFICULT AND AN ACCIDENT WAS BARELY AVOIDED. THIS WAS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS BECAUSE OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. IN FACT I WAS ALMOST STRUCK BY TWO VEHICLES, ONE COMING AT ME AND THE OTHER BEHIND ME. I RESTARTED THE CAR, DROVE THROUGH THE INTERSECTION FOR ABOUT 5-10 SECONDS AND THE CAR STOPPED AGAIN, SAME STEERING DIFFICULTIES. STARTED THE CAR A THIRD TIME AND IT MOVED FORWARD WITH NO MORE STOPS. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 20 MORE TIME IN THE PAST 3 YEARS. ADDITIONALLY, WITHIN THE PAST 6 MONTHS, IT HAS BEEN VERY DIFFICULT TO PUT FUEL INTO THE TANK. IT WOULD TAKE ABOUT 20 MINUTES BECAUSE THE NOZZLE WOULD SHUT OFF. I COULD ONLY PUT IN VERY SMALL AMOUNTS EACH SQUEEZE OF THE HANDLE. I FIND THIS NOT ONLY ANNOYING BUT ALSO QUESTION THE DESIGN OF THE WHOLE FUEL RECEIVING AND STORAGE SYSTEM OF THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE ASKED MY LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE PROBLEMS AND WAS ADVISED THAT A NEW GAS TANK WOULD HAVE TO BE INSTALLED FOR APPROXIMATELY $1,200! A NEW GAS TANK? THAT WOULD CONFIRM IN MY MIND THAT THESE PROBLEMS ARE CAUSED ABSOLUTELY BY A DESIGN FLAW AND SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REPAIRED ASAP BEFORE THERE ARE FATALITIES LINKED TO THIS FLAW.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

3/1/2014 - NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
3/1/14....MY HUSBANDS 2006 DODGE CHARGER/HEMI, A FEW MONTHS AFTER HE PURCHASED VEHICLE, WOULD STALL SUDDENLY AFTER FILLING THE FUEL TANK WITH GAS. HE BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER, WHILE STILL UNDER WARRANTY, BUT THEY ALWAYS TOLD HIM THERE WAS NOTHING SERIOUSLY WRONG, PERHAPS A LITTLE DIRT GOT INTO THE FUEL INJECTION AND IT SHOULD CLEAR UP ON ITS OWN. THIS KEPT HAPPENING BUT THE DEALER STILL WOULD NOT ADMIT THERE WAS ANYTHING WRONG. THEN WITHIN THE LAST FEW MONTHS IT WOULD SUDDEN STALL EVEN WITHOUT FUELING AND/OR WHILE HE WAS DRIVING, A DEFINITE SAFETY ISSUE. HE BROUGHT IT TO ANOTHER DEALER, AS THE ONE WHERE HE PURCHASED THE AUTO CLOSED, AND THEY DIAGNOSED IT TO BE A DEFECTED FUEL TANK. BY NOW, OF COURSE, THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY, SO WE HAD TO PAY FOR THE SERVICE OUT OF POCKET. THIS WAS DONE ON 1/14/14 AND IT WAS EXPENSIVE. WE DEFINITELY FEEL THAT THIS IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE MANUFACTURER SINCE IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED WHILE IN WARRANTY AND EXPECTING SOME TYPE OF REIMBURSEMENT. RESEARCHING THIS I FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS SAME ISSUE AND I THINK THEY WILL AGREE WITH ME. THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/28/2014 - KINNER, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER REFUELING, THE VEHICLE WOULD BEGIN TO HESITATE BEFORE STALLING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHEN THE ENGINE WAS FIRST STARTED, THE ODOR OF GASOLINE WAS PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 99
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds