Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 928 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (48) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (96) Fuel Propulsion System (170) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (208) Power Train (173) Steering (79) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Engine (251) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (62) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (18) Suspension (22) Wheels (7)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 111
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/14/2014 - PALM HARBOR, FL
AFTER FILLING UP MY GAS TANK, I DROVE DOWN THE ROAD FOR APPROXIMATELY 3 MILES. WHEN I STOPPED AT A LIGHT, THE CAR BEGAN RUNNING VERY SLUGGISH AND THEN STALLED. CHECK ENGINE AND OIL LIGHT POPPED ON. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED THE KEY TO OFF AND SAT AT THE RED LIGHT FOR A MINUTE. I TURNED THE KEY ON AND THE ENGINE STARTED BACK UP AND I WAS ABLE TO PUT INTO DRIVE AND PROCEED TO MY DESTINATION. IT HAS NOT HAPPENED AGAIN SINCE HOWEVER I REALIZE THIS IS A GROWING AND COMMON PROBLEM WITH OTHER 2006 DODGE CHARGERS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/13/2014 - FUQUAY-VARINA, NC
AFTER FUEL REFILL, MOTOR WILL STALL AND DIE MULTIPLE TIMES FOR UP TO THE NEXT MILE OF DRIVING AT ANY SPEED. THIS IS DANGEROUS. AFTER ONLINE INVESTIGATION I FOUND THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH MANY CARS OF THIS TYPE. IT IS ALSO, IN MY EYES, AN EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE REPAIR AS IT WILL COST ME NEARLY 1/4 OF THE PRICE I PAID FOR THE CAR. CHRYSLER SHOULD STAND BEHIND THERE PRODUCT, REPAIR AND REPLACE THE FAULTY TANKS IN ALL AFFECTED VEHICLES, NOT JUST THE FIRST UNLUCKY FEW, WHO REPORTED IT FIRST.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/10/2014 - LONGWOOD, FL
CAR STALLS OUT AT LOW SPEEDS OR WHEN AT LIGHT. CONSISTENT WITH OTHER PROBLEMS RAISED CONCERNING THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/7/2014 - CHULA VISTA, CA
DRIVING MY 2006 CHARGER DAYTONA WITH MY TODDLER FROM LUNCH, GOING TO GET GAS, AND THEN GO HOME. MY CHARGER ENGINE DIED WHILE DRIVING. IT STARTED BUT SOUNDED DIFFERENT. I PUSHED INTO A PARKING LOT. I THOUGHT MAYBE I RAN OUT OF GAS. BUT NO GAS LIGHT WAS ON JUST AN ENGINE LIGHT & A LIGHTNING BOLT NOW. I PUT A COUPLE OF GALLONS OF GAS JUST TO BE SURE. I STARTED THE CAR. THE ENGINE SOUNDED LIKE A RATTLING AND DIED OUT AGAIN. I LEFT THE KEY IN THE ON TO MAKE SURE FUEL GOT TO THE INJECTORS. STARTED AGAIN VERY BRIEFLY SAME NOISE THEN IT NEVER STARTED AGAIN. TOWED IT HOME. LIFTED THE PLASTIC ENGINE COVER FOUND A LARGE HOLE AND THREE INNER ENGINE PARTS (ONE WAS A SPRING, POSSIBLE PARTS TO A ROD) THAT HAD BLOWN OUT OF THE HOLE. I KEEP MY CHARGER UP TO DATE WITH CARE AND MAINTENANCE. I HAD NO PERFORMANCE ISSUES OR WARNING LIGHTS PRIOR TO THIS HAPPENING. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THE SERVICE CENTER TOLD ME HE HAS NEVER HEARD OF SUCH THING, HE WASN'T A "TECH", AND WHOEVER DID MY LAST OIL CHANGE "PROBABLY DIDN'T DO IT RIGHT".

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2014 - EAGAN, MN
TRANSMISSION SHIFTER INTERLOCK LEVER SPRING BROKE INSIDE GEARSHIFT. CAR WILL NOT SHIFT OUT OF PARK. NHTSA WEBSITE AND PHONE CALL REVEALED THAT 2005-2007 AVENGERS RECALLED FOR SAME EXACT ISSUE, BUT NOT CHARGERS. READ OVER 200 COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA WEBSITE AND AT LEAST 80% OF SAID COMPLAINTS ARE SAME EXACT ISSUE. AN INVESTIGATION SHOULD BE OPENED ABOUT THIS. IT IS A VERY EXPENSIVE FIX FOR THE OWNER, AND NOT THEIR FAULT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/6/2014 - COOKEVILLE, TN
WHEN ENTERING AN INTERSECTION AND DURING A LEFT TURN, THE ENGINE FAILED RENDERING THE POWER STEERING INOPERABLE AND REDUCING BRAKING ABILITY. EVEN THOUGH THE CAR WAS CONTROLLABLE ALTHOUGH WITH SIGNIFICANT INCREASE IN REQUIRED FORCE. I ALMOST WENT OFF THE ROAD AS A RESULT OF THE PARTIAL LOSS OF CONTROL BUT MANAGED TO RECOVER. SOMEONE WITH LESS STRENGTH MAY NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO RECOVER. IN THIS CASE, NON-RECOVERY WOULD HAVE RESULTED IN HITTING AN OVERPASS. CHRYSLER IS AWARE OF THIS DEFECT BUT HAS NOT CLASSIFIED IT AS A RECALL. IT IS CLASSIFIED AS AN EXTENDED WARRANTY AND REQUIRES THE DEALER TO ORDER A FUEL TANK AND REPLACE THE ONE IN THE VEHICLE. PARTS ARE NOW RESTRICTED AND I WAS ADVISED THAT THEY MAY NOT BE AVAILABLE FOR MONTHS. THIS IS NOT A CONVENIENCE PROBLEM\, THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT HAS THE POTENTIAL TO CAUSE MAJOR INJURY OR DEATH.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/6/2014 - MEDFORD LAKES, NJ
FILLED GAS TANK AND THEN APPROX 10 MILES INTO MY DRIVE CAR CHUG CHUGGED A COUPLE TIMES THEN STALLED. AT FIRST CAR WOULDN'T RESTART BUT WHEN I PRESSED GAS PEDAL AND TURNED KEY ON NEXT ATTEMPT IT TURNED OVER. DROVE SHORT DISTANCE AND STALLED AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED AGAIN AND AGAIN WHEN I FILLED MY TANK TO FULL. EVENTUALLY I FOUND THAT IF I DID NOT FILL TANK TO FULL I WAS OK.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/28/2014 - LANTANA, FL
WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE IT WILL SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY AND ABRUPTLY LOCKING UP POWER STEERING. ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WITH LAST INCIDENT OCCURRING ON MAY 28, 2014 AT APPROX 1:00 PM WHILE TURNING RIGHT AT AN INTERSECTION CAR SHUT OFF AND IMMEDIATELY LOCKED POWER STEERING. 2 CARS WERE FEET BEHIND MY CAR WHILE ANOTHER CAR HAD ENTERED INTERSECTION ANTICIPATING OUR TURNS. CAR SHUTS COMPLETELY OFF. MUST PUT IN PARK AND RESTART CAR. CARS BEHIND ME SLAMMED ON BRAKES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/27/2014 - LOVELAND, OH
I FILLED UP WITH GAS, PULLED OUT OF THE GAS STATION ONTO THE EXPRESSWAY ON RAMP AND THE ENGINE DIED. I ROLLED TO THE SHOULDER AND AFTER ABOUT 10 MINUTES IT WOULD FINALLY START. IT STALLED A FEW MORE TIMES THEN FINALLY IT WOULD RUN LONG ENOUGH TO GET ME HOME.

View Details

ENGINE

5/27/2014 - LOVELAND, OH
I FILLED UP WITH GAS, PULLED OUT OF THE GAS STATION ONTO THE EXPRESSWAY ON RAMP AND THE ENGINE DIED. I ROLLED TO THE SHOULDER AND AFTER ABOUT 10 MINUTES IT WOULD FINALLY START. IT STALLED A FEW MORE TIMES THEN FINALLY IT WOULD RUN LONG ENOUGH TO GET ME HOME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 111
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds