Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 710 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (63) Fuel Propulsion System (138) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (139) Power Train (146) Steering (64) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Engine (173) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (57) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 86
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/17/2013 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
AFTER FILL UP MY CAR STALLS AT STOP SIGNS AND WHEN MAKING TURNS. I HAVE TO STOP TO GET IT STARTED THEN IT RUNS ROUGH FOR AWHILE. THIS HAD HAPPEN A WEEK BEFORE THEN THE SAME THING HAPPENS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/17/2013 - KIRBY, TX
SINCE ABOUT 4 YEARS AGO MY 06 CHARGER DAYTONA HAS BEEN STALLING FOR UNKNOWN REASONS. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERS ONLY TO BE TOLD THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. AFTER SOME RESEARCH I CAME TO KNOW THAT DODGE HAD A REAL ISSUE WITH SAFETY CONCERNING THE EVAP SYSTEM. I WAS TOLD LATER THAT AN UNSERVICEABLE VALVE ON THE GAS TANK WAS FAULTY AND THEREFORE THE GAS TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED; ITS TOO EXPENSIVE. IT HAS BEEN VERY FRUSTRATING BECAUSE THE ENGINE STALLING AFTER FUELING HAS GOTTEN BAD. I'VE STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY ROAD TWICE AND NUMEROUS TIMES BEFORE A STOP OR RED LIGHT. ITS ONLY MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOME BODY GETS HURT OR KILLED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/15/2013 - OWASSO, OK
WITHIN 15 MILES AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK, THE CAR JUST STOPS RUNNING WITH NO WARNING. IT HAS HAPPENED 3-4 TIMES. SO FAR WE'VE BEEN LUCKY AND HAVEN'T BEEN HIT, BUT I'M AFRAID WE WILL GET REAR ENDED SOON.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/14/2013 - IRVING, TX
IT STATED IN OCTOBER, I FILLED UP MY GAS TANK AND WAS DRIVING HOME AND THE CAR STALLED OUT WHEN COMING TO A STOP. DID THINK ANYTHING OF IT AND RESTARTED MY CAR, GOT TO MY HOUSE AND I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO TURN IN IT STALLED OUT AGAIN. WAITED FOR ABOUT 15MINS AND WENT OUT AND STARTED THE CAR IN THE GARAGE STARTED THE CAR AND LET IT RUN AND AS IT RAN IT DIED WHILE IN IDLE. I WAS GLAD I WAS ONLY A MILE FROM MY HOME AND VERY LITTLE TRAFFIC AT THE TIME, WITH THE LOSE OF POWER TO THE CAR I COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I DO NOT FILL THE TANK ALL THE WAY SINCE ITS THE ONLY TIME THIS HAPPENS. I HAVE FILLED UP MY CAR ONLY ONE MORE TIME AFTER THAT TO SEE IF IT WAS CONSISTENT, AND IT WAS. IT HAPPENS AT IDLE AND WHEN SLOWING DOWN CITY SPEEDS. I WILL NOT GET ON THE HIGHWAY FOR MY SAFETY AND OTHERS. I HAVE NOT DRIVE MY CAR UNLESS IT IS ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/13/2013 - MIDWAY, FL
ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO AT AROUND 65,000 MILES, MY 2006 DODGE CHARGER R/T STARTED SPUTTERING AND CUTTING OFF AFTER FILLING WITH FUEL. A STRONG ODOR WOULD COME FROM UNDERNEATH. IT WILL LAST FOR ABOUT 5-10 MILES AND STOP. I HAVE NO MORE PROBLEMS WITH IT UNTIL I FILL UP AGAIN. IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES WITH ME PAYING FOR DIAGNOSTICS BUT THEY CAN NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG.I HAVE EXPLAINED TO THEM IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN I PUT FUEL IN IT. NOW THAT I AM SEEING THESE COMPLAINTS, I AM CONTACTING THE DODGE DEALERSHIP TO SEE IF THIS IS MY PROBLEM. IT IS DANGEROUS DRIVING THIS CAR LIKE THIS. I HAVE TO MAKE SURE I DON'T PUT FUEL IN IT IN THE CITY BECAUSE YOU WILL GET STUCK IN TRAFFIC AND RISK GETTING IN AND ACCIDENT. WHY WANT THE COMPANY DO A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM, IT IS VERY SERIOUS AND NEED TO BE FIX BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR KILLED..

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/11/2013 - NORFOLK, VA
AFTER FILLING TANK TO FULL AND LEAVING GAS STATION TO MAKE A LEFT TURN ON GREEN, VEHICLE ENGINE STOPPED AND HAD TO RESTART TWICE IN ORDER TO MAKE THE TURN SAFELY. ENGINE CONTINUED STALLING UNTIL AFTER APPROXIMATELY 4 MILES IT FINALLY STAYED RUNNING. THIS SAME OCCURRENCE HAPPENED BEFORE ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, AND READ ABOUT OTHER 2006 CHARGER 5.7 HEMI OWNERS HAVING SAME ISSUES. THE CAR CANNOT BE FILLED UP WITH FUEL COMPLETELY WHICH IS A GREAT INCONVENIENCE AND DANGER, ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU NEED TO ENTER TRAFFIC OR MAKE A SAFE LEFT OR RIGHT TURN. DODGE REFUSES TO REPAIR OR ACKNOWLEDGE THE ISSUES , CANNOT GET RID OF THE CAR AND PURCHASE SOMETHING ELSE AS I AM A DISABLED VETERAN.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/11/2013 - REDDING, CA
FILLED MY CAR WITH GAS, DRIVE APPROXIMATELY 1/4 MILE TO A STOP LIGHT AND THE CAR DIED. RESTARTED WITH NO PROBLEM BUT DIED AGAIN WHEN STOPPING AT THE NEXT LIGHT, ABOUT 1 MILE FARTHER..RESTARTED AND DROVE VERY BADLY FOR THE NEXT 6 MILES...DIDN'T DO IT AGAIN UNTIL I FILLED WITH GAS. TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC AND HE SAID THE ERROR CODE WAS CONTAMINATED OIL. I HAD RECENTLY HAD OIL CHANGED, BUT HE CHANGED IT AGAIN AND IT DIDN'T DO IT FOR A FEW MONTHS. IT HAS NOW STARTED DING IT AGAIN, EVERYTIME I FILL THE TANK WITH GAS..AM TAKING IT TO DEALER TOMORROW (11-2013).

View Details

ENGINE

11/9/2013 - NORTH PORT, FL
THE ENGINE STALLS WHILE IDLING OR DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, ESPECIALLY AROUND CORNERS. PROBLEM ONLY OCCURS WHEN GAS TANK IS FULL OR NEAR FULL. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND NEEDS RESOLVED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/9/2013 - ALBERTSON, NY
I JUST FINISHED REFUELING ALMOST TO FULL. VEHICLE STARTED PERFECTLY. DROVE APPROXIMATELY 2 BLOCKS AT 15 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND SHUT OFF. IT TOOK 3 ATTEMPTS TO RESTART. I DROVE APPROXIMATELY 4 MORE BLOCKS AT 15 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND SHUT OFF AGAIN. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE REPAIR SHOP THAT I USE. THE MECHANIC AT THE SHOP DROVE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE STALLED AND SHUT OFF 2 TIMES WHILE THE MECHANIC DROVE IT. VEHICLE WAS SCANNED FOR CODES. NO CODES WERE DISPLAYED. THE MECHANIC CLEANED OUT THE THROTTLE BODY. VEHICLE HAS BEEN OPERATING PERFECT SINCE THAT TIME. ONE OTHER NOTE. ONE MONTH PRIOR, WITH 3/4 TANK OF FUEL, FUEL GAUGE SUDDENLY DROPPED TO EMPTY AND CHIMING SOUND BEGAN RINGING FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 SECONDS. VEHICLE DID NOT STALL OR SHUT OFF. FUEL GAUGE THEN SUDDENLY RETURNED TO 3/4 FULL AND CHIMING SOUND STOPPED RINGING.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/9/2013 - ALBERTSON, NY
I JUST FINISHED REFUELING ALMOST TO FULL. VEHICLE STARTED PERFECTLY. DROVE APPROXIMATELY 2 BLOCKS AT 15 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND SHUT OFF. IT TOOK 3 ATTEMPTS TO RESTART. I DROVE APPROXIMATELY 4 MORE BLOCKS AT 15 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND SHUT OFF AGAIN. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE REPAIR SHOP THAT I USE. THE MECHANIC AT THE SHOP DROVE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE STALLED AND SHUT OFF 2 TIMES WHILE THE MECHANIC DROVE IT. VEHICLE WAS SCANNED FOR CODES. NO CODES WERE DISPLAYED. THE MECHANIC CLEANED OUT THE THROTTLE BODY. VEHICLE HAS BEEN OPERATING PERFECT SINCE THAT TIME. ONE OTHER NOTE. ONE MONTH PRIOR, WITH 3/4 TANK OF FUEL, FUEL GAUGE SUDDENLY DROPPED TO EMPTY AND CHIMING SOUND BEGAN RINGING FOR APPROXIMATELY 10 SECONDS. VEHICLE DID NOT STALL OR SHUT OFF. FUEL GAUGE THEN SUDDENLY RETURNED TO 3/4 FULL AND CHIMING SOUND STOPPED RINGING.

View Details
Pages:  <<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 86
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds