Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 806 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (12) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (80) Fuel Propulsion System (149) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (119) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel System Gasoline (194) Power Train (159) Steering (72) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Engine (213) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (61) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (16) Suspension (21) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 98
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/21/2014 - MIDWAY, GA
AFTER FUELING THE VEHICLE IT STALLS AND SHUTS OFF. THIS HAS HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES AND I HAVE HAD THE EVAP REPLACED BUT THE PROBLEM TILL REMAINS. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND SOMEONE WILL GET SERIOUSLY INJURED AND EVEN KILLED IF THIS DOES NOT GET FIXED. EVERYONE THAT OWNS A CHARGER LIKE THIS, LIFE HANGS IN THE BALANCE IF THEY CONTINUE TO DRIVE IT.. PLEASE HELP GET DODGE TO DO A RECALL. LIVES OVER PROFITS PLEASE!!!!!!!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/21/2014 - CARY, NC
I OWN A 2006 5.7 HEMI DODGE CHARGER. DURING MY TRIP INTO WORK MY ENGINE SHUT OFF AUTOMATICALLY IN PARK, SO I WENT THROUGH 4 CYCLES OF RESTARTING MY ENGINE. FINALLY I GOT THE CAR STARTED AND PROCEEDED DOWN MY STREET ONTO THE MAIN ROAD. AS I GAVE MY CAR GAS THE ENGINE SHUTDOWN AND I WENT THROUGH THE CYCLE AGAIN. I CALLED ONE OF THE LOCAL DODGE DEALERSHIPS WHERE I PURCHASED MY VEHICLES AND THEY HAD NO COMPLAINTS ON THE PROBLEM. AS I DROVE TO THE DEALERSHIP I GOT ON THE INTERSTATE AT THE SPEED OF 70MPH THE ENGINE WAS HESITATING AGAIN, BUT DID NOT FULLY SHUTDOWN. I AM SURE DODGE HAS HEARD THIS COMPLAINT FROM MULTIPLE OWNERS AND I FEEL DODGE SHOULD CORRECT THE ISSUE. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS ESPECIALLY IF YOU ARE TRAVELING ON A BUSY ROAD.

View Details

ENGINE

2/21/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, WHICH WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS, CLEANED THE THROTTLE BODY, REPLACED THE PLUGS FOR THE POWER CONTROL MODULE, AND CHANGED THE FUEL PUMP RELAY. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/21/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE, WHICH WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS, CLEANED THE THROTTLE BODY, REPLACED THE PLUGS FOR THE POWER CONTROL MODULE, AND CHANGED THE FUEL PUMP RELAY. THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/18/2014 - FAIRFIELD, CA
CAR WAS RUNNING FINE, STOPPED AT A GAS STATION AND FILLED THE TANK. AFTER LEAVING THE STATION AND PULLING INTO TRAFFIC THE CAR ENGINE DIED. ALMOST WAS REAR ENDED DUE TO THE CAR STOPPING INSTEAD OF ACCELERATING. PULLED OVER TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE LANE AND TRIED TO RESTART. SECOND ATTEMPT THE CAR STARTED AND I PULLED OUT INTO THE LANE AND DROVE ABOUT A BLOCK AND THE CAR ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN IN AN INTERSECTION. ANOTHER CLOSE CALL WITH OTHER VEHICLES. I RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND DROVE AROUND TO SEE IF THE ENGINE WOULD QUIT AGAIN, IT DID, 2 MORE TIMES. FINALLY IT STAYED RUNNING FOR AWHILE SO I DROVE IT HOME APPROX 10 MILES WITH NO PROBLEMS. THOUGHT I HAD GOTTEN BAD GAS OR WATER IN THE FUEL. DROVE IT FOR A WEEK NO PROBLEMS. THE NEXT TIME I REFUELED AT A DIFFERENT GAS STATION AND IT HAPPENED ALL OVER AGAIN, SAME SYMPTOMS. THE PROBLEM IS ASSOCIATED WITH FILLING THE FUEL TANK. SEEMS TO MATCH NHTSA ACTION NUMBER PE13016.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/17/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
WHEN OUT OF TOWN I FILLED UP MY DODGE CHARGER AND HEADED TO A HOTEL. ON THE ROAD MY CAR BEGAN TO STALL, BUT NOT COMPLETELY LOSE POWER. WHEN I SLOWED TO MAKE A TURN IT COMPLETELY DIED. AT THE TIME I THOUGHT I HAD GOTTEN BAD GAS, AND HAD MY CAR TOWED AND REPAIRED. HOWEVER, IT CONTINUED TO DO THE SAME THING ONLY AFTER FILLING MY TANK. I TOOK MY CAR TO FIRESTONE FOR A DIAGNOSTIC AND THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT I WOULD NEED A NEW FUEL TANK. HE TOLD ME THAT MANY PEOPLE WITH MY CAR HAVE BEEN HAVING THE SAME ISSUES. I GOOGLED THE ISSUES I WAS HAVING AND SURE ENOUGH HE WAS CORRECT. I EVENTUALLY GOT THE GAS TANK REPLACED AT FIRESTONE AND THERE HASN'T BEEN ANY ISSUES SINCE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/12/2014 - FARMINGTON, MN
AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK, THE CAR STALLED. NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS TO GET THE CAR STARTED FAILED. CAR WOULD TRY TO START, BUT WOULD NOT CATCH. AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT, CAR WOULD START. NUMEROUS TIMES AFTER FILLING, THE CAR WOULD CHUG AND LOSE POWER OR KILL ALL TOGETHER.

View Details

ENGINE

2/12/2014 - ANTELOPE, CA
I OWN A 2006 DODGE CHARGER R/T WITH THE 5.7 LITER HEMI ENGINE. I PURCHASED IT NEW IN JUNE OF 2006 WITH 5 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. AFTER 6 YEARS OF FILLING UP MY CAR BY LETTING THE GAS PUMP STOP AUTOMATICALLY WITH NO ISSUES; THE CAR BEGAN TO STALL RIGHT AFTER FILLING-UP WHEN TOPPING OFF THE TANK, STARTING AROUND MAY OF 2012. I CALLED AUTONATION DODGE IN ROSEVILLE, CALIFORNIA AND THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN WAS FAMILIAR WITH MY ISSUE. HE ASKED IF I HAD FILLED UP THE TANK BY TOPPING IT OFF. I TOLD HIM, AFFIRMATIVE. HE ADVISED ME TO NOT TOP OFF THE TANK AT ALL DURING FILL-UPS OR TO BUY A NEW FUEL TANK AT THE COST OF $2000-3000 WITH INSTALLATION. FOR THE PAST COUPLE OF YEARS, I'VE BEEN LUCKY TO NOT TOP OFF THE FUEL TANK, BUT IT HAS OCCURRED AT LEAST 4 TIMES WHEN I MADE THE MISTAKE OF TOPPING OFF THE GAS. THE LAST TIME THIS OCCURRED WAS YESTERDAY. AFTER BUYING GAS AND HAVING THE PUMP STOP AUTOMATICALLY, I DROVE INTO A MAJOR INTERSECTION AND STOPPED AT THE RED LIGHT. THE CAR TURNED OFF, AND IT TOOK ABOUT 3 TRIES OF RE-STARTING THE IGNITION IN PARK BEFORE THE CAR LUCKILY POWERED ON AGAIN. WHEN MY LIGHT TURNED GREEN, THE CAR WOULD JUMP AND LOSE POWER WHILE SHIFTING INTO SECOND AND THIRD GEARS. I WAS VERY FORTUNATE TO NOT HAVE ANY CARS BEHIND ME, BECAUSE THIS ISSUE OF THE CAR STALLING COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THIS STALLING HAZARD HAPPENED AGAIN YESTERDAY ON MY WAY HOME AND ALSO THIS MORNING. I FEEL CHRYSLER/FIAT SHOULD REPLACE ALL EFFECTED 2006 DODGE CHARGER R/TS WITH THIS ISSUE BY REPLACING THE TANK OR WHATEVER REPAIR IT WOULD TAKE TO FIX THIS SAFETY HAZARD. I FEEL THAT MOST OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE WON'T BE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE UNTIL IT HAPPENS TO THEM PERSONALLY. IT SHOULD BE MANDATORY FOR CHRYSLER/FIAT TO ISSUE A RECALL WITH ALL EXPENSES COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/12/2014 - ANTELOPE, CA
I OWN A 2006 DODGE CHARGER R/T WITH THE 5.7 LITER HEMI ENGINE. I PURCHASED IT NEW IN JUNE OF 2006 WITH 5 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. AFTER 6 YEARS OF FILLING UP MY CAR BY LETTING THE GAS PUMP STOP AUTOMATICALLY WITH NO ISSUES; THE CAR BEGAN TO STALL RIGHT AFTER FILLING-UP WHEN TOPPING OFF THE TANK, STARTING AROUND MAY OF 2012. I CALLED AUTONATION DODGE IN ROSEVILLE, CALIFORNIA AND THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN WAS FAMILIAR WITH MY ISSUE. HE ASKED IF I HAD FILLED UP THE TANK BY TOPPING IT OFF. I TOLD HIM, AFFIRMATIVE. HE ADVISED ME TO NOT TOP OFF THE TANK AT ALL DURING FILL-UPS OR TO BUY A NEW FUEL TANK AT THE COST OF $2000-3000 WITH INSTALLATION. FOR THE PAST COUPLE OF YEARS, I'VE BEEN LUCKY TO NOT TOP OFF THE FUEL TANK, BUT IT HAS OCCURRED AT LEAST 4 TIMES WHEN I MADE THE MISTAKE OF TOPPING OFF THE GAS. THE LAST TIME THIS OCCURRED WAS YESTERDAY. AFTER BUYING GAS AND HAVING THE PUMP STOP AUTOMATICALLY, I DROVE INTO A MAJOR INTERSECTION AND STOPPED AT THE RED LIGHT. THE CAR TURNED OFF, AND IT TOOK ABOUT 3 TRIES OF RE-STARTING THE IGNITION IN PARK BEFORE THE CAR LUCKILY POWERED ON AGAIN. WHEN MY LIGHT TURNED GREEN, THE CAR WOULD JUMP AND LOSE POWER WHILE SHIFTING INTO SECOND AND THIRD GEARS. I WAS VERY FORTUNATE TO NOT HAVE ANY CARS BEHIND ME, BECAUSE THIS ISSUE OF THE CAR STALLING COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. THIS STALLING HAZARD HAPPENED AGAIN YESTERDAY ON MY WAY HOME AND ALSO THIS MORNING. I FEEL CHRYSLER/FIAT SHOULD REPLACE ALL EFFECTED 2006 DODGE CHARGER R/TS WITH THIS ISSUE BY REPLACING THE TANK OR WHATEVER REPAIR IT WOULD TAKE TO FIX THIS SAFETY HAZARD. I FEEL THAT MOST OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE WON'T BE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE UNTIL IT HAPPENS TO THEM PERSONALLY. IT SHOULD BE MANDATORY FOR CHRYSLER/FIAT TO ISSUE A RECALL WITH ALL EXPENSES COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/12/2014 - CARPENTERSVILLE, IL
AFTER FILLING GAS TANK, ENGINE HESITATES AND/OR STALLS. I ONLY FILL UP UNTIL THE FUEL PUMP AUTOMATICALLY SHUTS OFF, I DO NOT ADD ANY MORE FUEL THAN THAT. THIS HAS HAPPENED ALMOST EVERY TIME I HAVE FILLED UP WITH FUEL. MOST OF THE STALLING/HESITATION OCCURS WHEN COASTING OR DECELERATING (COMING TO A STOP). THIS HAS CREATED MULTIPLE VERY DANGEROUS SITUATIONS DUE TO THE ENGINE NOT RUNNING AND I HAVE A LOSS OF THE POWER ASSIST TO THE STEERING. OCCASIONALLY THE ENGINE HAS A DIFFICULT TIME RESTARTING AFTER THE ENGINE STALLS. THIS WILL OCCUR APPROXIMATELY 4-8 TIMES AFTER A FILL-UP OF FUEL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 98
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds