Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE CHARGER - 2006 DODGE CHARGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1124 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE CHARGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE CHARGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (94) Exterior Lighting (20) Other (3) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8)
Electrical System (118) Fuel Propulsion System (229) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (120) Unknown Or Other (25)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel System Gasoline (212) Power Train (196) Steering (85) Vehicle Speed Control (47)
Engine (318) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (65) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (22) Suspension (26) Wheels (8)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 129
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/10/2015 - BOCA RATON, FL
I GOT MY FUEL TANK REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY (NEW FUEL TANK & O-RING PART #S: CNSTX531AA AND CNSTX532AA) AND NOW STALLING IS WORSE THAN BEFORE. ENGINE WANTS TO STALL ANYWHERE FROM 0-30 MPH NOW WHETHER THE TANK IS FULL, HALF EMPTY OR NEAR EMPTY. THE CAR'S STALLING CAN BE PREVENTED BY PROVIDING QUICK ACCELERATION, WHICH WILL TEMPORARY FIX THE ISSUE, ONLY TO HAVE IT COME BACK LATER. THE CHOICE BETWEEN STALLING AT HIGH SPEEDS AND LOSING POWER STEERING & OTHER NECESSITIES, OR QUICKLY ACCELERATING TO PREVENT A STALL, LEAVE DRIVERS WITH TWO UNSAFE, DANGEROUS CHOICES EACH. THE FUEL TANK RECALL DID NOT REMEDY THE ISSUE. IF ANYTHING, IT MADE IT WORSE, MORE DANGEROUS, AND MADE A MINOR DEFECT/ANNOYANCE INTO A SERIOUS PROBLEM THAT CAN NOT BE "BURNT OFF" LIKE THE EXCESS GAS IN THE PREVIOUS FUEL TANK. DEALERSHIPS GIVE US THE RUN AROUND. SAYING THEY EITHER DON'T HAVE THE PIECE, OR THEY REFUSE TO REPLACE IT BECAUSE WE ALREADY HAVE THE NEW, YET STILL FAULTY, FUEL TANK. IT'S BECOMING A SERIOUS ISSUE WITH NO REAL REMEDY IN SIGHT. THE DEALERSHIP BLAMES CHRYSLER/DODGE AND CHRYSLER/DODGE BLAMES THE DEALERSHIP. THE TWO POINT FINGERS AND SCAPEGOAT EACH OTHER, LEAVING THE CUSTOMER TO EITHER REPLACE EVERYTHING OUT-OF-POCKET OR DRIVE A SERIOUSLY IMPAIRED AND DANGEROUS VEHICLE. I WENT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP WITH TWO MINOR DTC CODES THAT I PLANNED ON REPAIRING (THEY WERE NONIMMEDIATE AND NOT SERIOUS) AND LEFT THE DEALERSHIP WITH 15 CODES. CHRYSLER EVEN GAVE ME A "CASE MANAGER" FOR THIS, BUT THE CASE MANAGER SAID ALL THEY CAN DO IS RELY ON THE DEALERSHIP'S DIAGNOSTICS... LITERALLY JUST A WASTE OF TIME. WHY EVEN ASSIGN A CASE MANAGER? I TOOK THE CAR IN TO REPLACE THE FUEL TANK SINCE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY (AKA FREE)... I'M A COLLEGE STUDENT WITH NO FINANCES FOR REPAIR. NOW, I'M LEFT WITH A FAULTY, UNSAFE, NEARLY INOPERABLE VEHICLE WITH NO OTHER MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION. SOMEONE NEEDS TO STEP IN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/3/2015 - NORCROSS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN PARK, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 122,047. UPDATED 09/25/15

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/3/2015 - RENO, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/3/2015 - BOCA RATON, FL
I FILLED MY GAS TANK (BUT DID NOT TOP IT OFF WITH FUEL) AND LEFT THE GAS STATION AT THE FIRST INTERSECTION. THE CAR STALLED WHILE BRAKING, THE CAR CAME BACK ON, ACCELERATED AGAINST BRAKES, DIED AGAIN AND WOULDN'T TURN OVER AFTERWARD. HAD TO TURN THE CAR ALL THE WAY OFF AND BACK ON TO RESTART THE CAR, ONLY TO HAVE IT DO IT THREE MORE TIMES ON THE WAY HOME. IT FEELS LIKE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. I READ UP ON THE ISSUE AND FOUND THAT IT'S VERY COMMON. DODGE NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. WE PAID FOR A VEHICLE TO SAFELY TRANSPORT US -- THIS IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2015 - BOCA RATON, FL
I FILLED MY GAS TANK (BUT DID NOT TOP IT OFF WITH FUEL) AND LEFT THE GAS STATION AT THE FIRST INTERSECTION. THE CAR STALLED WHILE BRAKING, THE CAR CAME BACK ON, ACCELERATED AGAINST BRAKES, DIED AGAIN AND WOULDN'T TURN OVER AFTERWARD. HAD TO TURN THE CAR ALL THE WAY OFF AND BACK ON TO RESTART THE CAR, ONLY TO HAVE IT DO IT THREE MORE TIMES ON THE WAY HOME. IT FEELS LIKE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. I READ UP ON THE ISSUE AND FOUND THAT IT'S VERY COMMON. DODGE NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. WE PAID FOR A VEHICLE TO SAFELY TRANSPORT US -- THIS IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/3/2015 - BOCA RATON, FL
I FILLED MY GAS TANK (BUT DID NOT TOP IT OFF WITH FUEL) AND LEFT THE GAS STATION AT THE FIRST INTERSECTION. THE CAR STALLED WHILE BRAKING, THE CAR CAME BACK ON, ACCELERATED AGAINST BRAKES, DIED AGAIN AND WOULDN'T TURN OVER AFTERWARD. HAD TO TURN THE CAR ALL THE WAY OFF AND BACK ON TO RESTART THE CAR, ONLY TO HAVE IT DO IT THREE MORE TIMES ON THE WAY HOME. IT FEELS LIKE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. I READ UP ON THE ISSUE AND FOUND THAT IT'S VERY COMMON. DODGE NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. WE PAID FOR A VEHICLE TO SAFELY TRANSPORT US -- THIS IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/31/2015 - WOOD STOCK, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE CHARGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/28/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
MY VEHICLE BEGAN SHUTTING OFF WHILE IDLE ABOUT ABOUT A YEAR AGO. IT STARTED BACK UP IMMEDIATELY AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING. INITIALLY THERE WERE NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS THAT CAME UP. IT SOON HAPPENED AGAIN AND THIS TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK IT TO FIRESTONE AND THEY PULLED SOME CODES THAT THEY SAID THE DEALER HAD TO REPAIR. BY THE TIME I GOT TO THE DEALER THE LIGHTS WENT OFF AND I SHARED THE OTHER DIAGNOSTIC WITH THEM BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHAT WAS REALLY WRONG. IT STARTED HAPPENING AGAIN MONTHS LATER AND I TOOK IT TO YET ANOTHER MECHANIC. THIS MECHANIC 'RESET THE COMPUTER" AND MADE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS TURN OFF. IT STOPPED FOR A TIME BUT THE PROBLEM CAME BACK. THIS TIME (140,000 MILES) THE ENGINE SHUT OFF ON THE HIGHWAY! I WAS SLIGHTLY TAPPED ON THE REAR BY THE DRIVER BEHIND ME. ANOTHER TIME A SEMI TRUCK WAS BEHIND ME AND I STALLED. LUCKILY WE WERE IN SLOW MOVING TRAFFIC. AGAIN AT HIGH SPEEDS THE ENGINE WOULD TURN BACK ON BUT THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE MY BABY IN THIS VEHICLE. THERE ARE A TON OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON DODGE FORUMS WITH THESE VEHICLES. DODGE NEEDS TO FIX THIS BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR DIES!!!

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
MY VEHICLE BEGAN SHUTTING OFF WHILE IDLE ABOUT ABOUT A YEAR AGO. IT STARTED BACK UP IMMEDIATELY AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING. INITIALLY THERE WERE NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS THAT CAME UP. IT SOON HAPPENED AGAIN AND THIS TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK IT TO FIRESTONE AND THEY PULLED SOME CODES THAT THEY SAID THE DEALER HAD TO REPAIR. BY THE TIME I GOT TO THE DEALER THE LIGHTS WENT OFF AND I SHARED THE OTHER DIAGNOSTIC WITH THEM BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHAT WAS REALLY WRONG. IT STARTED HAPPENING AGAIN MONTHS LATER AND I TOOK IT TO YET ANOTHER MECHANIC. THIS MECHANIC 'RESET THE COMPUTER" AND MADE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS TURN OFF. IT STOPPED FOR A TIME BUT THE PROBLEM CAME BACK. THIS TIME (140,000 MILES) THE ENGINE SHUT OFF ON THE HIGHWAY! I WAS SLIGHTLY TAPPED ON THE REAR BY THE DRIVER BEHIND ME. ANOTHER TIME A SEMI TRUCK WAS BEHIND ME AND I STALLED. LUCKILY WE WERE IN SLOW MOVING TRAFFIC. AGAIN AT HIGH SPEEDS THE ENGINE WOULD TURN BACK ON BUT THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE MY BABY IN THIS VEHICLE. THERE ARE A TON OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON DODGE FORUMS WITH THESE VEHICLES. DODGE NEEDS TO FIX THIS BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR DIES!!!

View Details

ENGINE

7/27/2015 - COALVILLE, UT
I WAS DRIVING AROUND WITH SOME FRIENDS ONE NIGHT AND STOPPED TO TALK TO THEM FOR A MINUTE. I DROVE AROUND THE BLOCK AND TURNED THE CAR OFF. WHEN I WENT TO START THE CAR, IT WOULDN'T START AND WHEN IT FINALLY DID, IT SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND SHUT OFF. IT TURNS OUT THAT THE CAR DROPPED A VALVE SEAT AND RUINED THE MOTOR OF THE CAR. UPON FURTHER RESEARCH THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM IN THE 5.7 HEMI IN THE CHARGERS. I HAVE SEVERAL FRIENDS THAT HAVE HAD THE EXACT SAME ISSUE WITH THEIR CHARGER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  21  22  23  24  25  26  27  28  29  30  31  32  33  34  35  >>  ... 129
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds