Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2006 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 753 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (51) Exterior Lighting (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (11) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (73) Fuel Propulsion System (121) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (422) Parking Brake (1) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (38) Fuel System Other (2) Power Train (40) Structure (15) Visibility (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (6)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Tires (3) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/21/2016 - FITCHBURG, MA
I WAS DRIVING DURING A RAINSTORM AND MY 2006 DODGE DURANGO STARTED SPUTTERING AND STALLED ON THE HIGHWAY. WE WERE FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AFTER MY CAR WAS TOWED & LOOKED AT BY A MECHANIC I WAS TOLD THAT WATER WAS RUNNING DOWN THE WINDSHIELD & DRIPPING DIRECTLY ON TOP OF THE AIR INTAKE. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME IT WAS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR THE 2004 THROUGH 2006 MODELS. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I FOUND THIS TO BE TRUE. I SPOKE WITH DODGE AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS A DESIGN FLAW AND I COULD PURCHASE A REPLACEMENT UPDATED COWL PART # 55362453AK THIS PART IS SUPPOSED TO DIVERT THE WATER AWAY FROM THE INTAKE. I ALSO FOUND OUT THAT NO BULLETIN HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR THE PUBLIC. IN MY OPINION A VEHICLE THAT STALLS BECAUSE OF THE RAIN IS AN ISSUE. IT TYPICALLY HAPPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE HITS A 100000 MILES DUE TO THE WEATHER STRIPPING FAILING. I ALSO FOUND OUT THAT WHEN THIS HAPPENS THE ENGINES CAN BECOME WATERLOGGED AND THE ENGINE CAN BLOW A ROD THROUGH THE MOTOR WHEN TRYING TO START THE CAR AFTER THE RAIN. ANY RESEARCH INTO THE SECOND GENERATION DODGE DURANGOS SHOULD PRODUCE MORE INFORMATION INCLUDING ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE AS I WOULD HATE FOR SOMEONE TO LOSE A LIFE BECAUSE THEIR VEHICLE STALLED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/15/2016 - SAN MATEO, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V313000 AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT AND VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/26/2016 - TOLLESON, AZ
I AM EXPERIENCING A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE CUTTING OFF IN FULL DRIVE SITUATIONS, ALL OF SUDDEN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT POPS UP AND THAT'S MY PRE WARNING THAT MY TRUCK IS GETTING READY TO TURN OFF. IT IS HESITANT SOMETIMES AND WAITS TILL I AM COMPLETE STOP OR SOMETIMES IT TOTALLY SHUTS DOWN WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC. VERY SCARY.

View Details

ENGINE

8/26/2016 - TOLLESON, AZ
I AM EXPERIENCING A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE CUTTING OFF IN FULL DRIVE SITUATIONS, ALL OF SUDDEN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT POPS UP AND THAT'S MY PRE WARNING THAT MY TRUCK IS GETTING READY TO TURN OFF. IT IS HESITANT SOMETIMES AND WAITS TILL I AM COMPLETE STOP OR SOMETIMES IT TOTALLY SHUTS DOWN WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC. VERY SCARY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2016 - TOLLESON, AZ
I AM EXPERIENCING A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE CUTTING OFF IN FULL DRIVE SITUATIONS, ALL OF SUDDEN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT POPS UP AND THAT'S MY PRE WARNING THAT MY TRUCK IS GETTING READY TO TURN OFF. IT IS HESITANT SOMETIMES AND WAITS TILL I AM COMPLETE STOP OR SOMETIMES IT TOTALLY SHUTS DOWN WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC. VERY SCARY.

View Details

ENGINE

8/19/2016 - SCOTTS VALLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,118.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/12/2016 - PROSPECT, CT
THE FUEL TANK CHECK VALVE HAS COMPLETELY FAILED JUST LIKE THOUSANDS OF OTHER DURANGOS. THERE IS SIGNIFICANT (12-16 OUNCES) GAS BLOWBACK WHEN THE FUEL REACHES A NEAR FULL LEVEL DURING REFUELING. I HAVE TRIED STOPPING THE PUMP SEVERAL TIMES TO ALLOW THE FUEL TO SETTLE, DIFFERENT BRANDS OF GAS AND DIFFERENT FILLER HANDLE POSITIONS. THE ONLY THING THAT CAN PREVENT THIS IS NOT FILLING THE TANK MORE THAN 3/4 FULL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/9/2016 - MILWAUKEE, WI
I HAVE HAD MY FRONT END REPLACED 3 TIMES AND MY TRUCK IS STILL NOT WORKING RIGHT, NEED TO HAVE CONTROL ARMS REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/27/2016 - FRASER, MI
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/26/2016 - BOONVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 07V092000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), 15V313000 (AIR BAGS), AND 16V352000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIRS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds