Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2006 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 761 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (56) Exterior Lighting (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (11) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (74) Fuel Propulsion System (123) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (422) Parking Brake (1) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (38) Fuel System Other (2) Power Train (41) Structure (15) Visibility (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (6)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Tires (3) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/24/2016 - ANCHORAGE, AK
TAKATA RECALL. THE DRIVER AIRBAG INFLATOR REPAIR AND REPLACEMENT HAS TAKEN TOO LONG TO REPLACE.THIS IS DISGRACEFUL AND DESPICABLE. I AM IN FEAR AND DANGER OF MY LIFE. I AM CONSIDERING LEGAL ACTION IF THIS CONTINUES TO BE UNRESOLVED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/21/2016 - SHARPSBURG, GA
THIS INCIDENT HAS OCCURED TWICE ON ME SINCE PURCHASE OF A USED 2006 DURANGO. ON 11/20/16 I STOP AT GAS STATION TO FILL THE DURANGO UP WITH GAS. I PLACE THE NOZZEL INTO GAS TANK SELECT MY GRADE OF GAS & PUT NOZZLE INTO AUTO FILL. UPON TANK BECOMING FULL OF GAS THE GAS NOZZEL SHUT OFF & AFTERWARDS GAS BEGAN TO SPEWED OUT OF TANK, SOMETIME WITH HIGH PRESSURE & SOMETIMES IN LOW PRESSURE SPRAY. GAS CONTINUED TO FLOW OUT OF TANK FOR ABOUT 6 SECONDS ONTO THE GROUND. VEHICAL WAS STATIONARY AT THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/17/2016 - VACAVILLE, CA
AIRBAG LIGHT ON, DEALER REPORTED BROKEN "CLOCK SPRING" LIGHT STAYS ON

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/7/2016 - MARION, VA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/4/2016 - LEEDS, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE FUEL TANK SPILLED FUEL ONTO THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/2/2016 - EAST LYNN, WV
THE TRACTION LIGHT AND SERVICE 4WD LIGHTS STAY ON, YOU CAN HEAR THE 4WD KICKING IN AND OUT WHEN THE CAR IS SITTING THE DRIVEWAY. DODGE ACTS LIKE THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS CAUSING THIS PROBLEM. YOU CAN GOOGLE THE SYMPTOMS AND EVERYBODY THAT HAS A 04 TO 06 DODGE IS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. THIS SHOULD BE SOMETHING COVERED UNDER A RECALL, THERE IS TO MANY PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/2/2016 - EAST LYNN, WV
THE TRACTION LIGHT AND SERVICE 4WD LIGHTS STAY ON, YOU CAN HEAR THE 4WD KICKING IN AND OUT WHEN THE CAR IS SITTING THE DRIVEWAY. DODGE ACTS LIKE THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS CAUSING THIS PROBLEM. YOU CAN GOOGLE THE SYMPTOMS AND EVERYBODY THAT HAS A 04 TO 06 DODGE IS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. THIS SHOULD BE SOMETHING COVERED UNDER A RECALL, THERE IS TO MANY PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/25/2016 - SOUTH BOSTON, VA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/28/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/21/2016 - FITCHBURG, MA
I WAS DRIVING DURING A RAINSTORM AND MY 2006 DODGE DURANGO STARTED SPUTTERING AND STALLED ON THE HIGHWAY. WE WERE FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AFTER MY CAR WAS TOWED & LOOKED AT BY A MECHANIC I WAS TOLD THAT WATER WAS RUNNING DOWN THE WINDSHIELD & DRIPPING DIRECTLY ON TOP OF THE AIR INTAKE. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME IT WAS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR THE 2004 THROUGH 2006 MODELS. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I FOUND THIS TO BE TRUE. I SPOKE WITH DODGE AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS A DESIGN FLAW AND I COULD PURCHASE A REPLACEMENT UPDATED COWL PART # 55362453AK THIS PART IS SUPPOSED TO DIVERT THE WATER AWAY FROM THE INTAKE. I ALSO FOUND OUT THAT NO BULLETIN HAS BEEN ISSUED FOR THE PUBLIC. IN MY OPINION A VEHICLE THAT STALLS BECAUSE OF THE RAIN IS AN ISSUE. IT TYPICALLY HAPPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE HITS A 100000 MILES DUE TO THE WEATHER STRIPPING FAILING. I ALSO FOUND OUT THAT WHEN THIS HAPPENS THE ENGINES CAN BECOME WATERLOGGED AND THE ENGINE CAN BLOW A ROD THROUGH THE MOTOR WHEN TRYING TO START THE CAR AFTER THE RAIN. ANY RESEARCH INTO THE SECOND GENERATION DODGE DURANGOS SHOULD PRODUCE MORE INFORMATION INCLUDING ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE AS I WOULD HATE FOR SOMEONE TO LOSE A LIFE BECAUSE THEIR VEHICLE STALLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds