Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2006 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 663 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Exterior Lighting (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (6) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (63) Fuel Propulsion System (95) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (420) Parking Brake (1) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (28) Fuel System Other (2) Power Train (29) Structure (15) Visibility (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (6) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (5)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (2) Tires (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/21/2015 - CHERAW, SC
VEHICLE RAN HOT ON THIS DATE,FOLLWING THE NEXT DAY ITSHOWED NO PROBLEM. FOR THE PAST 2 YEAR AT A STAND STILL FOR ABOUT 5-10 MINUTES VEHICLE GAGE MONITOR IS GOING UP SHOWING SIGNS OF RUNNING HOT. I WOULD IMEDIATELY SHUT THE ENGINE OFF FOR ABOUT 1 MINUTE. THEN CRANK BACK UP. THE GAGE WOULD GO DOWN BACK TO NORMAL STATUS. IF I COME TO ANOTHER STOP AT A STOP LIGHT IT WILL GO UP AGAIN. TOOK VEHICLE TO THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES TO GET IT CHECKED, ACCESSOR FINDS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. IT'S A FUNNY THING WINTER MONTHS MY SUV WOULD NEVER RUN HOT. HERE IN SOUTH CAROLINA IT IS GETTING HOT AND THE PROBLEM HAS NOW STARTED AGAIN. I HAVE HAD 3 TO 4 INCIDENTS WITH MY VEHICLE RUNNING HOT 2015 AND IS SURE MORE ARE TO COME. AS USUAL I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF TO MAKE THE GAGE GO BACK TO NORMAL. AND YES THE RUNNING HOT LIGHT DOES COME ON. WE JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT IS GOING ON. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THERE ARE OTHERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND WHAT SHOULD I DO TO FIX IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - CHERAW, SC
VEHICLE RAN HOT ON THIS DATE,FOLLWING THE NEXT DAY ITSHOWED NO PROBLEM. FOR THE PAST 2 YEAR AT A STAND STILL FOR ABOUT 5-10 MINUTES VEHICLE GAGE MONITOR IS GOING UP SHOWING SIGNS OF RUNNING HOT. I WOULD IMEDIATELY SHUT THE ENGINE OFF FOR ABOUT 1 MINUTE. THEN CRANK BACK UP. THE GAGE WOULD GO DOWN BACK TO NORMAL STATUS. IF I COME TO ANOTHER STOP AT A STOP LIGHT IT WILL GO UP AGAIN. TOOK VEHICLE TO THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES TO GET IT CHECKED, ACCESSOR FINDS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. IT'S A FUNNY THING WINTER MONTHS MY SUV WOULD NEVER RUN HOT. HERE IN SOUTH CAROLINA IT IS GETTING HOT AND THE PROBLEM HAS NOW STARTED AGAIN. I HAVE HAD 3 TO 4 INCIDENTS WITH MY VEHICLE RUNNING HOT 2015 AND IS SURE MORE ARE TO COME. AS USUAL I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF TO MAKE THE GAGE GO BACK TO NORMAL. AND YES THE RUNNING HOT LIGHT DOES COME ON. WE JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT IS GOING ON. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THERE ARE OTHERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND WHAT SHOULD I DO TO FIX IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

5/18/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TOWING A TRAILER, A LOUD UNKNOWN NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WHICH CRASHED AND ROLLED OVER. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE HEAD, HIP, BACK AND SHOULDER, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE NO DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS WERE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/8/2015 - CRYSTAL LAKE , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDOWS FAILED TO OPEN OR CLOSE. THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE MANUFACTURER RECALL FOR THE WINDOW MODULE AND THE INTEGRATED CONTROL MODULE RE FLASH REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/28/2015 - DALLAS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V817000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/21/2015 - BOYD, TX
I WENT TO FUEL UP MY CAR, WHEN IT REACHED FULL, FUEL STARTED SPITTING OUT OF THE TANK. IT HAS DONE THIS ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/20/2015 - MEANSVILLE, GA
FROM THE TIME MY VEHICLE WAS NEW I HAD ISSUES WITH THE GAS NOZZLE CLICKING OFF BUT THE GAS COMING BACK OUT OF THE TANK. IN THE BEGINNING IT WAS A VERY LITTLE BIT AND I COULD STAND THERE AND MONITOR IT AND PUMP IN SLOWLY AND IT WOULDN?T DO IT. IT HAS STEADILY PROGRESSED TO WHERE EVERY TIME I TRY AND FILL MY TANK THE GAS PUMP WOULD CLICK OFF BUT THE GAS GUSHES OUT ONTO ME AND THE CAR AND THE PAVEMENT ? ANYWHERE FROM 2 TO 5 CUPS OF GAS. THE TANK ISN'T EVEN FULL WHEN IT DOES THIS. I HAVE HAD IT DO IT WHEN I HAVE ONLY PUMPED 1 GALLON INTO THE TANK AND CONTINUE TO CLICK OFF EVERY COUPLE OF CENTS. IT TAKES AT LEAST 10 MINUTES TO PUT GAS IN MY TANK AND THEN IT ISN'T FULL. IT DOES THIS NO MATTER WHAT GAS STATION I GO TO. I HAVE HAD THE TPS REPLACED 3 TIMES, THE FUEL PUMP TWICE......I CAN'T HELP BUT FEEL THAT ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS ARE INTER-RELATED. MY MINOR CONCERN IS THAT THIS WILL CAUSE A MEDICAL EMERGENCY FOR ME AS I HAVE ACUTE ASTHMA/BREATHING ISSUES. THIS HAS CAUSED ASTHMA ATTACKS THAT I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL BUT MY FEAR IS ONE DAY I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO CONTROL IT. MY MAJOR CONCERN IS THE GUSHING OUT OF FUEL WILL EVENTUALLY RESULT IN A FIRE AT THE GAS STATION. I REALLY CANNOT BELIEVE THERE HAS NOT BEEN A RECALL ISSUED AS THIS WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE 2005 DURANGO'S THAT A RECALL WAS ISSUED (NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID #09V003000, NHTSA ACTION #RQ08005) - NO ONE IS WORKING TO PROTECT THE PUBLIC AFTER THEIR OBVIOUS FAILURE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/6/2015 - CAMAS , WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS DEFECTIVE AND FUEL SPILLED ONTO THE GROUND WHEN THE FUEL TANK WAS FILLED TO CAPACITY. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/23/2015 - PURCELLVILLE, VA
NO CRANK TO MY ENGINE, SECURITY SYSTEM JUST LOCKED THE CAR UP. BEEN TOLD TO DRIVE THE CAR TO DEALERSHIP FOR THEM TO FIX IT. IT CANT BE DONE WITH THE DEALER BECAUSE I REFUSE TO TAKE MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP. AFTER REVIEWING EVERYTHING POSSIBLE I AM QUITE FRUSTRATED WITH THE FACT THAT I KNOW IT IS MORE THAN LIKELY SOMETHING TO DO WITH MY TRANSPONDER. I HAVE NEVER REALLY HAD ANY OTHER PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR, OTHER THAN NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR ISSUES. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT I SEE ALL TOO COMMON ACROSS THE INTERNET AND YET DODGE IS NOT ANSWERING THE QUESTIONS NOR TRYING TO FIX IT FOR THE CONSUMER. THIS IS WHY I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER DODGE CAR OR TRUCK AGAIN

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/23/2015 - PURCELLVILLE, VA
I AM CONSTANTLY HAVING TO WATCH AS I FILL MY TANK ON THIS CAR, BECAUSE THEIR IS NO WAY OF NOWING WHEN THE GAS WILL SPILL OUT ONTO MY CAR. THE CONSTANT OVERFLOW HAS EFFECTED THE PAINT NEAR THE GAS TANK AS WELL AS RUN UNDER THE BODY OF THIS CAR. THIS IS AN ISSUE WHICH NO ONE WANTS TO ADDRESS BUT I HOPE SOON IT WILL BE RESOLVED. IT IS A HAZARD TO THE OWNER AND THOSE WHO ARE NEAR US WHEN WE ATTEMPT TO FILL OUR CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 80
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds