Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2006 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 668 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Exterior Lighting (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (6) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (64) Fuel Propulsion System (96) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (420) Parking Brake (1) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (28) Fuel System Other (2) Power Train (30) Structure (15) Visibility (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (7) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (5)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (2) Tires (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

6/19/2015 - CLEARWATER, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER WAS REPLACED TWICE BEFORE THE CONTACT OWNED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INTERNAL LIGHTING REMAINED ILLUMINATED AND THE DOORS LOCKED WITH NO WARNING. THE FAILURES OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY REPLACED THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER SIX TIMES. A MECHANIC AT THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS AN INTERNAL ELECTRICAL FAILURE THAT KEPT RECURRING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILED COMPONENT AND PROVIDED NO REMEDY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/15/2015 - IMPERIAL, MO
MY 2006 DURANGO WILL SHIFT INTO FOUR WHEEL DRIVE AUTOMATICALLY WITHOUT WARNING. SOMETIMES THIS OCCURS WHEN UNLOCKING THE VEHICLE WHEN NOT RUNNING, USING THE REMOTE TO UNLOCK THE DOOR. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A LIFE AND DEATH SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE RESOLVED BY THE MANUFACTURER. I HAVE SEEM MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS HAPPENING.

View Details

STEERING

6/15/2015 - IMPERIAL, MO
MY 2006 DURANGO WILL SHIFT INTO FOUR WHEEL DRIVE AUTOMATICALLY WITHOUT WARNING. SOMETIMES THIS OCCURS WHEN UNLOCKING THE VEHICLE WHEN NOT RUNNING, USING THE REMOTE TO UNLOCK THE DOOR. I FEEL THAT THIS IS A LIFE AND DEATH SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE RESOLVED BY THE MANUFACTURER. I HAVE SEEM MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS HAPPENING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/15/2015 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
WHEN I FILL UP MY GAS TANK, THE GAS DOES NOT STOP FLOWING WHEN THE TANK IS FULL. THE INDICATOR DOES NOT WORK, THEREFORE GAS SPILLS OUT ONTO THE GROUND EVERY TIME I FILL UP THE TANK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/12/2015 - NEW ORLEANS , LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 93,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/7/2015 - GAINESVILLE, GA
I AM THE SOLE OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE PURCHASED IN 2006. THIS VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN INVOLVED ANY CRASHES MINOR OR MAJOR. INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR CONDITION WOULD BE CONSIDERED EXCELLENT, EXCEPT WHAT IS NOTED BELOW. BROKEN LATCH PLATE PLASTIC COVERS TO THE PASSENGER SIDE AND MIDDLE SEATS. THE BELTS FOR THESE SEATS WILL SLIDE AT WILL, MOVE FREELY AND NOT PREVENT THE OCCUPANT FROM GOING UP OR FORWARD IN A VEHICLE CRASH. BOTTOM-LINE, MY MUTLI-PASSENGER VEHICLE IS ONLY SAFE FOR THE DRIVER TO OCCUPY. I HAVE MULTIPLE PICTURES OF THESE BELTS IF REQUESTED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - CHERAW, SC
VEHICLE RAN HOT ON THIS DATE,FOLLWING THE NEXT DAY ITSHOWED NO PROBLEM. FOR THE PAST 2 YEAR AT A STAND STILL FOR ABOUT 5-10 MINUTES VEHICLE GAGE MONITOR IS GOING UP SHOWING SIGNS OF RUNNING HOT. I WOULD IMEDIATELY SHUT THE ENGINE OFF FOR ABOUT 1 MINUTE. THEN CRANK BACK UP. THE GAGE WOULD GO DOWN BACK TO NORMAL STATUS. IF I COME TO ANOTHER STOP AT A STOP LIGHT IT WILL GO UP AGAIN. TOOK VEHICLE TO THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES TO GET IT CHECKED, ACCESSOR FINDS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. IT'S A FUNNY THING WINTER MONTHS MY SUV WOULD NEVER RUN HOT. HERE IN SOUTH CAROLINA IT IS GETTING HOT AND THE PROBLEM HAS NOW STARTED AGAIN. I HAVE HAD 3 TO 4 INCIDENTS WITH MY VEHICLE RUNNING HOT 2015 AND IS SURE MORE ARE TO COME. AS USUAL I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF TO MAKE THE GAGE GO BACK TO NORMAL. AND YES THE RUNNING HOT LIGHT DOES COME ON. WE JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT IS GOING ON. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THERE ARE OTHERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND WHAT SHOULD I DO TO FIX IT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2015 - CHERAW, SC
VEHICLE RAN HOT ON THIS DATE,FOLLWING THE NEXT DAY ITSHOWED NO PROBLEM. FOR THE PAST 2 YEAR AT A STAND STILL FOR ABOUT 5-10 MINUTES VEHICLE GAGE MONITOR IS GOING UP SHOWING SIGNS OF RUNNING HOT. I WOULD IMEDIATELY SHUT THE ENGINE OFF FOR ABOUT 1 MINUTE. THEN CRANK BACK UP. THE GAGE WOULD GO DOWN BACK TO NORMAL STATUS. IF I COME TO ANOTHER STOP AT A STOP LIGHT IT WILL GO UP AGAIN. TOOK VEHICLE TO THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES TO GET IT CHECKED, ACCESSOR FINDS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. IT'S A FUNNY THING WINTER MONTHS MY SUV WOULD NEVER RUN HOT. HERE IN SOUTH CAROLINA IT IS GETTING HOT AND THE PROBLEM HAS NOW STARTED AGAIN. I HAVE HAD 3 TO 4 INCIDENTS WITH MY VEHICLE RUNNING HOT 2015 AND IS SURE MORE ARE TO COME. AS USUAL I SHUT THE ENGINE OFF TO MAKE THE GAGE GO BACK TO NORMAL. AND YES THE RUNNING HOT LIGHT DOES COME ON. WE JUST DON'T UNDERSTAND WHAT IS GOING ON. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THERE ARE OTHERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND WHAT SHOULD I DO TO FIX IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

5/18/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TOWING A TRAILER, A LOUD UNKNOWN NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WHICH CRASHED AND ROLLED OVER. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED AND THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO THE HEAD, HIP, BACK AND SHOULDER, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHERE NO DIAGNOSTIC TESTING OR REPAIRS WERE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/8/2015 - CRYSTAL LAKE , IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDOWS FAILED TO OPEN OR CLOSE. THE DEALER ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE MANUFACTURER RECALL FOR THE WINDOW MODULE AND THE INTEGRATED CONTROL MODULE RE FLASH REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds