Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 2006 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 785 complaints filed for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (66) Exterior Lighting (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (13) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (79) Fuel Propulsion System (126) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (422) Parking Brake (1) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Engine (42) Fuel System Other (2) Power Train (44) Structure (16) Visibility (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Hybrid Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (6)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Tires (3) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

5/17/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE CONTACT SWERVED TO AVOID A CAT WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER WHEEL, BALL JOINTS, AND STRUTS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT STRUCK ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT CAUSED HIM TO RECEIVE STITCHES ON HER LEFT INSIDE UPPER LIP. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S HOME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/17/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE CONTACT SWERVED TO AVOID A CAT WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER WHEEL, BALL JOINTS, AND STRUTS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT STRUCK ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED INJURIES THAT CAUSED HIM TO RECEIVE STITCHES ON HER LEFT INSIDE UPPER LIP. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S HOME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/6/2017 - KINGSTON, NY
VEHICLE HAS STALLED SEVERAL TIMES IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AS WELL AS NOT STARTING AT IRREGULAR MOMENTS. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP AND AUTO REPAIR SHOP. EACH TIME TO HAVE SOMETHING DIFFERENT FIXED, FIRST TIME IT WAS BATTERY AND LEADS, NEXT IT WAS ALTERNATOR, THEN NEW BELT , AND AFTER EACH FIX THE PROBLEM WOULD COME BACK, FINALLY AN HONEST MECHANIC EXPLAINED THAT I HAD TO REMOVE LEADS TO BATTERY FOR 5 MINUTES BEFORE CAR COULD CRANK AGAIN. THIS MAKES NO SENSE. HE CHECKED CAM SENSOR AND CRANKSHAFT SENSOR - ALL GOOD TOO. THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR OVER TWO YEARS. THE WORST TIME WAS WHEN I WAS NOT PRINCIPAL CITY STREET AT RUSH HOUR WITH 3 CHILDREN IN THE VEHICLE. OF COURSE, I WAS MORE WORRIED ABOUT GETTING THE CHILDREN OUT OF THE STALLED VEHICLE AND SAFELY TO THE SIDE OF THE STREET BEFORE PUSHING THE VEHICLE TO A NEARBY DODGE DEALERSHIP. IT SEEMS OLDER DODGE DURANGOS LIKE MINE FROM 2006 HAVE THIS COME PROBLEM. WHY HASN'T A SOURCE TO THIS PROBLEM BEEN IDENTIFIED AND A MANUFACTURER RECALL SOLUTION BEEN PROVIDED? TWICE I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE IN A DODGE DEALERSHIP AND NEW EXPENSES FOR DIFFERENT THINGS WERE PRESCRIBED, AND NONE FIXED THE PROBLEM. MUST THE PUBLIC WAIT UNTIL SOME DIES ON THE ROAD WHEN THIS PROBLEM WHICH LEADS TO STALLED VEHICLES HAVE MORE ACCIDENTS AND THEN DEATHS?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2017 - EAST LYNN, WV
MY VEHICLE KICKS IN AND OUT OF 4WD WHETHER IT IS PARKED OR BEING DROVE. THE VEHICLE HAS DONE THIS FOR THE PAST 2 YEARS AND THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHY THIS IS HAPPENING. I KNOW WHEN YOU LOOK UP THE ISSUES THAT I AM HAVING ONLINE, THEY ARE A LOT OF PEOPLE HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE. DODGE SHOULD HAVE TO FIX THIS PROBLEM, IT IS SHOULD OBVIOUSLY BE A RECALL PROBLEM, THERE CUSTOMERS SHOULD NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/26/2017 - KENOSHA, WI
TAKATA RECALL. NO PARTS EVER AVAILABLE AND AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON. WHAT IF SOMEONE DIES BECAUSE OF THIS AND IT COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED? THIS RECALL STARTED WELL OVER A YEAR AGO AND STILL NO PARTS FOR THIS MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. MANY PEOPLE HAVE DIED BECAUSE OF THIS. MANUFACTURERS SHOULD BE HELD TO SOME STANDARD WHEN A SAFETY ISSUE OF THIS MAGNITUDE IS FOUND, AND A VERY TIGHT SCHEDULE FOR REPAIR BE MAINTAINED. IF ANYTHING HAPPENS TO ME OR MY FAMILY BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE, I WON'T STOP UNTIL I OWN CHRYSLER/FIAT AS WELL AS MAKING SURE NHTSA IS FOUND GUILTY OF NEGLIGENCE FOR ALLOWING THIS TO GO ON AS LONG AS IT HAS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/19/2017 - PICAYUNE, MS
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2017 - OWINGS MILLS, MD
MY DURANGO SHUT OFF ON ME THIS MORNING WHILE CRUISING DOWN THE HIGHWAY. I WAS JUST DRIVING ALONG MAINTAINING 65MPH AND OUT OF NOWHERE THE ENGINE JUST SHUT OFF AS IF THE KEY HAD BEEN TURNED OFF, NO SPUTTERING OR ANYTHING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/28/2017 - FAIRLAWN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/24/2017 - MORRISON, CO
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 DODGE DURANGO. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V352000 (AIR BAGS). TWO DEALERS WERE CONTACTED FOR SEVERAL MONTHS CONCERNING PART AVAILABILITY. BOTH DEALERS WERE UNABLE TO PROVIDE A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT SUPPLIED THE PARTS TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS NOT EXPERIENCING A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2017 - PORTAGE, PA
AWD 5.7 HEMI, THE 4LO BLINKING WHILE DRIVING ON BOTH HIGHWAY AND CITY STREET AND WHEN I UNLOCK MY DOORS YOU COULD HEAR SOMETHING ENGAUGING WHEN THE VEHICAL WAS OFF. THE 4LO LIGHT FLASHES AND YOU CAN HEAR IT SWITCH UNDER THE CAR EVEN WHEN IT IS OFF. WHEN, I UNLOCK MY DOORS YOU CAN HEAR IT AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds