Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD CROWN VICTORIA - 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 33 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Engine (1) Power Train (3) Steering (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/1/2016 - RAPID CITY, SD
IN 2006 MY HUSBAND WAS A DEPUTY SHERIFF I'M MT.HE WAS DRIVING A 2006 CROWN VICTORIA WITH APPROX 3000 MILES. HE WAS HEADING TO AN ASSISTANCE CALL ON THE INTERSTATE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED. ROAD CONDITIONS WERE GOOD THAT DAY AND NO ABNORMALITIES IN THE ROAD. I HIRED A PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR TO INVESTIGATE SOME ISSUES. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED HE WAS IN A HEAD ON COLLISION THROUGH A FENCE AND THEN WRAPPED AROUND A METAL SIGN POLE. CAUSE SEVERE DAMAGE TO THIS VEHICLE. ALL WINDOWS BUSTED OUT RADIATOR CAME THROUGH THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. TIRES WERE NOT NOTED TO BE DEFECTED BUT I DUE QUESTION A TIE ROD. AND AT THE TIME THE INVESTIGATOR DID RUN A RECALL CHECK AND NOTHING NOTED AT THAT TIME. HIS REPORT DID STATE THERE WAS DEFORMITY NOTED IN THE STERING COLUM. IN WHICH I HAVE NOW NOTICED THAT THERE HAS BEEN SOME ISSUES WITH THE STEERING COLUM. AND THIS AAND THIS ACCIDENT DID RESULT IN HIS FATALITY.

View Details

STEERING

7/1/2016 - RAPID CITY, SD
IN 2006 MY HUSBAND WAS A DEPUTY SHERIFF I'M MT.HE WAS DRIVING A 2006 CROWN VICTORIA WITH APPROX 3000 MILES. HE WAS HEADING TO AN ASSISTANCE CALL ON THE INTERSTATE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED. ROAD CONDITIONS WERE GOOD THAT DAY AND NO ABNORMALITIES IN THE ROAD. I HIRED A PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR TO INVESTIGATE SOME ISSUES. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED HE WAS IN A HEAD ON COLLISION THROUGH A FENCE AND THEN WRAPPED AROUND A METAL SIGN POLE. CAUSE SEVERE DAMAGE TO THIS VEHICLE. ALL WINDOWS BUSTED OUT RADIATOR CAME THROUGH THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. TIRES WERE NOT NOTED TO BE DEFECTED BUT I DUE QUESTION A TIE ROD. AND AT THE TIME THE INVESTIGATOR DID RUN A RECALL CHECK AND NOTHING NOTED AT THAT TIME. HIS REPORT DID STATE THERE WAS DEFORMITY NOTED IN THE STERING COLUM. IN WHICH I HAVE NOW NOTICED THAT THERE HAS BEEN SOME ISSUES WITH THE STEERING COLUM. AND THIS AAND THIS ACCIDENT DID RESULT IN HIS FATALITY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/1/2016 - RAPID CITY, SD
IN 2006 MY HUSBAND WAS A DEPUTY SHERIFF I'M MT.HE WAS DRIVING A 2006 CROWN VICTORIA WITH APPROX 3000 MILES. HE WAS HEADING TO AN ASSISTANCE CALL ON THE INTERSTATE AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED. ROAD CONDITIONS WERE GOOD THAT DAY AND NO ABNORMALITIES IN THE ROAD. I HIRED A PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR TO INVESTIGATE SOME ISSUES. I WAS INFORMED THAT THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED HE WAS IN A HEAD ON COLLISION THROUGH A FENCE AND THEN WRAPPED AROUND A METAL SIGN POLE. CAUSE SEVERE DAMAGE TO THIS VEHICLE. ALL WINDOWS BUSTED OUT RADIATOR CAME THROUGH THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. TIRES WERE NOT NOTED TO BE DEFECTED BUT I DUE QUESTION A TIE ROD. AND AT THE TIME THE INVESTIGATOR DID RUN A RECALL CHECK AND NOTHING NOTED AT THAT TIME. HIS REPORT DID STATE THERE WAS DEFORMITY NOTED IN THE STERING COLUM. IN WHICH I HAVE NOW NOTICED THAT THERE HAS BEEN SOME ISSUES WITH THE STEERING COLUM. AND THIS AAND THIS ACCIDENT DID RESULT IN HIS FATALITY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/3/2016 - DES MOINES, IA
THE CAR STALLS WHEN IN MOTION AND EITHER PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL OR RELEASING IT. DRIVING ON CURVES MAKES IT MORE DANGEROUS SINCE THE POWER STEERING IN NOT WORKING WHILE THE ENGINE IS OFF. THE WRENCH LIGHT ILLUMINATES WHEN IT STALLS AND THE CODE READS "THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL SYSTEM IS STUCK CLOSED".

View Details

ENGINE

2/19/2015 - GREENVILLE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE REVVED UP TO 5,000 RPMS WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED RANDOMLY. IN ADDITION, THE REAR WHEELS SPUN WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS HELD BY THE DEALER FOR THREE MONTHS AND THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER INSTRUCTED THE DEALER TO REPLACE THE SENSOR IN THE THROTTLE BODY CONTROL, BUT THE REPAIR DID NOT REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ONLY THING THAT STOPPED THE FAILURE WAS BY PLACING THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AND CONTINUOUSLY ATTEMPTING TO TURN THE IGNITION OFF. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/19/2015 - GREENVILLE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE REVVED UP TO 5,000 RPMS WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED RANDOMLY. IN ADDITION, THE REAR WHEELS SPUN WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS HELD BY THE DEALER FOR THREE MONTHS AND THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER INSTRUCTED THE DEALER TO REPLACE THE SENSOR IN THE THROTTLE BODY CONTROL, BUT THE REPAIR DID NOT REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ONLY THING THAT STOPPED THE FAILURE WAS BY PLACING THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AND CONTINUOUSLY ATTEMPTING TO TURN THE IGNITION OFF. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/14/2015 - INMAN, SC
I TURNED ON THE HEAD LIGHTS APPLIED THE BRIGHT LIGHTS AND LIGHTS WENT OFF. THE NEXT DAY THE ENGINE INDICATOR WENT ON AFTER PURCHASING GAS. FIVE DAYS LATER I PURCHASED GAS AND THE LOW FUEL LIGHT INDICATOR CAME ON AND THE GAGE SHOWED EMPTY AFTER FUELING THE VEHICLE UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - INMAN, SC
I TURNED ON THE HEAD LIGHTS APPLIED THE BRIGHT LIGHTS AND LIGHTS WENT OFF. THE NEXT DAY THE ENGINE INDICATOR WENT ON AFTER PURCHASING GAS. FIVE DAYS LATER I PURCHASED GAS AND THE LOW FUEL LIGHT INDICATOR CAME ON AND THE GAGE SHOWED EMPTY AFTER FUELING THE VEHICLE UP.

View Details

STEERING

9/18/2014 - DEMOTTE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA. WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V385000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE UPPER INTERMEDIATE SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/6/2014 - BEAUMONT, TX
AFTER DRIVING TO XYZ LOCATION 3 MILES FROM MY HOME I PARKED MY CAR FOR A WHILE TO PICK UP STUFF FROM THE PLACE. AFTER AROUND 30 MINUTES I JUST DROVE MY [XXX] FORD CROWN VIC 2006 P71 AN EX POLICE CAR FROM THE PARKING LOT. JUST AS I JUST ACCELERATED AND TURNED THE VEHICLE TOWARDS MY INTENDED DIRECTION ALL OF A SUDDEN I COMPLETELY LOST CONTROL ON MY STEERING WHEEL. RECENTLY I HAVE HAD A RECALL ON A STEERING WHEEL SHAFT AND I GOT IT REPLACED AT FORD DEALERSHIP; FURTHERMORE I PRESUME THAT LOOSING THE CONTROL OF STEERING WHEEL THIS TIME IS RELATED TO THE PREVIOUS RECALL REPAIR. I LEFT MY CAR AT FORD DEALERSHIP FOR FURTHER INVESTIGATION. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds