Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD CROWN VICTORIA - 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 28 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (1) Power Train (2) Steering (15) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/6/2014 - BEAUMONT, TX
AFTER DRIVING TO XYZ LOCATION 3 MILES FROM MY HOME I PARKED MY CAR FOR A WHILE TO PICK UP STUFF FROM THE PLACE. AFTER AROUND 30 MINUTES I JUST DROVE MY 2FAFP71W96X156202 FORD CROWN VIC 2006 P71 AN EX POLICE CAR FROM THE PARKING LOT. JUST AS I JUST ACCELERATED AND TURNED THE VEHICLE TOWARDS MY INTENDED DIRECTION ALL OF A SUDDEN I COMPLETELY LOST CONTROL ON MY STEERING WHEEL. RECENTLY I HAVE HAD A RECALL ON A STEERING WHEEL SHAFT AND I GOT IT REPLACED AT FORD DEALERSHIP; FURTHERMORE I PRESUME THAT LOOSING THE CONTROL OF STEERING WHEEL THIS TIME IS RELATED TO THE PREVIOUS RECALL REPAIR. I LEFT MY CAR AT FORD DEALERSHIP FOR FURTHER INVESTIGATION.

View Details

STEERING

2/26/2014 - WHITESTONE, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 CROWN VICTORIA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 13V385000 (STEERING) AND THE RECALL HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE TIME FOR REPAIR. THE VEHICLE ALSO EXPERIENCED THE STEERING FAILURE. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE AND THEY DID NOT KNOW WHEN THE MANUFACTURER WAS GOING TO RELEASE THE PART. THE CONTACT WAS PLACED ON A WAITING LIST THAT WILL ALSO EXCEED SEVERAL MONTHS BEFORE THE VEHICLE WILL BE REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 191,323. RK

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/21/2013 - SAN ANTONIO, FL
AIR BAG PASSIVE RESTRAINT SYSTEM DEFAULT ALARM LIGHT AND ALARM SOUND GOES OFF WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY. THIS HAPPENED RANDOMLY MULTIPLE TIMES OVER A PERIOD OF 6-18 MONTHS. SOMETIMES I FIND BLOWN FUSES, OTHER TIMES ANALYTICAL TOOLS SUGGEST BAD PASSIVE RESTRAINT GROUND. CURRENTLY UNKNOWN CONDITION AND UNKNOWN IF AIR BAG SYSTEM ACTUALLY WORKS. CAR HAS EXPERIENCED DOZENS OF FAILURES LIKE THIS, DIRECTIONAL FAILURES, PARKING BRAKE FAILURE, GAS CUT OFF FAILURE, COOLING FAN FAILURE, PAINT FAILURE, REMOTE MIRROR FAILURE, WINDOW CONTROL SWITCH FAILURE, DEFROST FAILURE, HEAT CONTROL FAILURE, IGNITION FAILURE, AND MANY MORE. PASSIVE RESTRAINT SYSTEM FAILURE IS JUST ONE OF THE MANY I HAVE BEEN PERPLEXED BY. OF ALL THE FAILURES, FORD ONLY ACCEPTED THE GAS SHUT OFF FAILURE. I CAN NOT AFFORD TO KEEP THE AUTOMOBILE OPERATING.

View Details

STEERING

9/10/2013 - ST. CLAIRSVILLE , OH
STEERING WENT OUT OF VEHICLE. HAD BAD COLUMN REPLACED, AND GOT VEHICLE BACK ON AUG 29, 2013. AGAIN STEERING COLUMN FAILED AND WENT BACK OUT ON AUG 30 , 2013. VEHICLE WAS MOVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH. FORTUNATELY WE WERE TO STOP THE VEHICLE BUT RAN INTO HILLSIDE, AND LUCKILY NO ONE WAS HURT. THE COLUMN WAS REPLACED AGAIN AND ADDITIONALLY THIS TIME THE LOWER SHAFT WAS REPLACED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/30/2013 - PALM SPRINGS, CA
THE HEADLIGHTS ON MY 2005 FORD CROWN VICTORIA TURNED OFF WITHOUT ANY INDICATION OF A PROBLEM BEFOREHAND. THE LIGHTS CAME ON FOR A WHILE, THEN WENT BACK OFF AND THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPETITIVE OVER THE PAST SEVERAL DAYS. WHAT IS ALARMING ABOUT THIS - IS THAT IT HAPPENED ON THE FREEWAY AT A SPEED OF 65 MPH.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/3/2013 - ALDERSON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO STOP. AFTER THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP, AND WHILE CONTACT SLIGHTLY REMOVED THEIR FOOT FROM THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE THEN ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE WAS REPORTED TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,940. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/3/2013 - ALDERSON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO STOP. AFTER THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP, AND WHILE CONTACT SLIGHTLY REMOVED THEIR FOOT FROM THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE VEHICLE THEN ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE WAS REPORTED TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,940. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 106,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2013 - LUARELVILLE, OH
I WAS DRIVING APPROAX 25 MPH WHEN MY STEERING WHEEL ALL OF A SUDDEN BECAME FREE AND MY WHEEL JUST SPUN FREELY NOT MOVING MY WHEELS, UPON INSPECTION I FOUND THAT THE BUSHING DISLOCATED WHICH CAUSED ME TO LOOSE CONTROL OF MY STEERING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/28/2013 - MIAMI , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD CROWN VICTORIA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AROUND A TRAFFIC CIRCLE, THE ENGINE RPMS INCREASED EXCESSIVELY AS THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT APPLIED THE BRAKES AND CONTINUED TO DEPRESS THE PEDAL UNTIL THE ENGINE RPMS AND SPEED OF THE VEHICLE DECREASED. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE INITIAL FAILURE WAS MINOR HOWEVER, THE SECOND FAILURE WAS MUCH WORSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER OR A MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION OR REPAIRS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ONCE USED AS A POLICE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/23/2012 - KATY, TX
WAS DRIVING DOWN HWY WHEN I SMELT ELECTRICAL BURNING AND NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM AROUND THE STEERING WHEEL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds