Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2006 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 415 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (76) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (30) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (4) Structure (54) Vehicle Speed Control (96)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Seats (4) Suspension (56) Visibility (18)
Engine (40) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (26) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (12)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/12/2019 - HOWELL, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE TURN INDICATOR AND HEADLAMP BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL SHORT IN THE ELECTRICAL CONTROLLER FOR THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2019 - HAWTHORNE, CA
VEHICLE STALLS WHILE RUNNING AND SHAKES WHILE STOPPED/IDLES.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/5/2019 - HAWTHORNE, CA
VEHICLE STALLS WHILE RUNNING AND SHAKES WHILE STOPPED/IDLES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2019 - HAWTHORNE, CA
VEHICLE STALLS WHILE RUNNING AND SHAKES WHILE STOPPED/IDLES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/12/2019 - SACREMENTO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2006 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 62 MPH OVER A POTHOLE, THE BRAKES SEIZED AND THE VEHICLE SKIDDED SIDEWAYS. THE VEHICLE STRUCK THE BARRIERS ON THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND SPUN AROUND TWICE BEFORE STOPPING, FACING THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION. THE DRIVER'S SIDE AND WINDOW WERE SMASHED IN AND THE ALIGNMENT WAS DAMAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A FRIEND'S BUSINESS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND PROVIDED A CASE NUMBER. THE DEALER HAD NOT BEEN CONTACTED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/4/2019 - PHOENIX, AZ
"TAKATA RECALL" OUR 2006 FORD ESCAPE HAS ALWAYS REVVED UP WEIRD WHEN PUSHING OR HOLDING THE GAS PEDAL,JERKS AND DRIVES DIFFERNT,RECENTLY THOUGH IT HAS DIED ON US FOUR TIMES IT USED TO HAVE A P122 CODE OR SOME CODE ON IT I WILL HAVE TO FIND RECEIPT WHEN AUTO PLACE FOUND IT,BUT WE WERE ALMOST HIT 2 TIMES FIRST TIMES AND LUCKILY 3RD TIME I WAS PARKED INFRONT OF STORE WITH CAR ON IT DIED THEN TRIED DIEING WHILE TRYING TO GET IT HOME,NOW I WOULD NOT BE SENDING THIS BUT I DO SEE YOU HAVE A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM!SO I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT CAN BE DONE ABOUT THIS?PLEASE LET ME KNOW THANKS FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2019 - MT. CALVARY, WI
WELL, MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN MAINTAINED AND UP KEPT SINCE DAY ONE, AND BEFORE THAT MY MOTHER. THE SHIFTING SOLENOIDS ARE STARTING TO GO, WHICH MEANS THE TYRANNY WILL EVENTUALLY GO. IT SEARCHES TO FIND GEARS AND HAS NEVER BEEN BEAT ON. THIS IS QUITE A NUSCENSE, CONSTANTLY PULLING OVER AND STARTING IT UP AGAIN JUST TO SHIFT. NEVER HAS BEEN LOW ON FLUIDS EITHER. THE MAIN PROBLEM WITH THE ESCAPES IS THE TRANSMISSION AND ALTHOUGH MINE IS NOT UNDER THE RECALL, AS ALL OTHERS ARE, I FEEL THAT I HAVE BEEN OUTDONE BY FORD FUCKING ME OVER. HONESTLY THE WORST TRANSMISSION ISSUE I'VE SEEN WITH ANY MODEL FROM FORD, OR MUCH LESS CHEVY AND GMCR OR TOYOTA. MY COROLLA LASTED LONGER THAN THIS ONE, OVER 200000 IN FACT! THE FACT OF IT IS, THIS ONE DIDNT EVEN MAKE IT TO 200000. WTF THIS STARTED OUT OF NOWHERE, NO WARNING, NOTHING. TURNED THE VEHICLE ON ONE DAY AND IT JUST DIDNT WANT TO SHIFT. JW I'M LOOKING AT A 4000 DOLLAR BILL TO FIX IT WHILE OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE AS WELL. I DIDNT EVEN PAY OVER 2500 FOR THIS THING SO FOR IT TO BE ACTING THIS WAY WHEN IT'S ALWAYS BEEN TREATED W RESPECT IS NONSENSE. I WANT THE RECALL TO BE EXTENDED TO MY MODEL AS WELL, SEEING HOW THEY ALL ARE RECALLED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/7/2018 - SPOKANE VALLEY, WA
DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY AND THE BACK PASSENGER WINDOW SHATTERED COMPLETELY. NO OTHER CARS WERE AROUND ME AND THE CAR HAD BEEN WARMED UP FOR QUITE A WHILE AND THERE WAS NO WAY SOMEONE COULD HAVE SHOT OR THROWN SOMETHING TO HAVE REACHED ME AS WELL AS GOING 70MPH. ALSO THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF A BULLET OR ROCK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HOOD

9/18/2018 - OXFORD, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE HOOD COVER DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CALLED AND SUGGESTED THE CONTACT USE HOOD PINS WHEN HE REPLACED THE COVER. THE CONTACT INFORMED THE MANUFACTURER THAT HE WOULD REPLACE THE COVER WITH A PART FROM THE JUNK YARD. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2018 - SEGUIN, TX
MY 2006 FORD ESCAPE WAS PURCHASED IN AUGUST OF 2005. FOUR MONTHS LATER, NOVEMBER 2005, I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SLOT IN FRONT OF A RESTAURANT, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, WHEN IT SURGED AHEAD, WENT OVER A CONCRETE BLOCK, TOOK DOWN TWO POLES, AND HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE. AT THE TIME I THOUGHT IT WAS THE BRAKES, BUT NO ONE COULD FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES. PEOPLE SAID I PROBABLY STEPPED ON THE ACCELERATOR, BUT I WAS CONVINCED THAT I DID NOT. I COULD NOT PROVE ANYTHING. JULY 22, 2018, TWELVE YEARS LATER, IT HAPPENED AGAIN. I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SLOT IN THE BACK OF MY CHURCH PARKING LOT. THE ENGINE REVVED UP AND THE CAR SURGED FORWARD, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, AND IT HAPPENED SO QUICKLY, THERE WAS NOTHING I COULD DO. I WENT OVER A CONCRETE BLOCK AND SMASHED INTO THE SANCTUARY WALL. I WAS INJURED AND HAD PROBLEMS FOR ABOUT A MONTH AND A HALF. I READ AN ARTICLE ON THE INTERNET FROM THE NHTSA ON TORQUE NEWS THAT THE NORTH CAROLINA CONSUMERS COUNCIL (NCCC) SAYS THAT THESE VEHICLES ARE EQUIPPED WITH AN ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY SYSTEM THAT COULD FAIL - CAUSING THE ENGINE TO EITHER SURGE OR STALL. THIS IS ONLY UNDER INVESTIGATION NOW, NO RECALL. I AM SURE THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED TO MY VEHICLE, BUT I CANNOT PROVE OR DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY ESCAPE FOR 13 YEARS AND ONLY HAD 50,000 MILES ON IT, BUT I HAD IT TOTALED. IT COULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED, BUT I COULD NOT TAKE THE CHANCE OF IT HAPPENING AGAIN. WHAT IF I HAD HURT SOMEONE OR WILL SOMEONE HAVE TO DIE BEFORE THEY HAVE A RECALL ON THE ESCAPES? IT IS TOO LATE FOR ME TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT MY 2006 ESCAPE, BUT PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR DIES. I DID PURCHASE ANOTHER ESCAPE, A 2011. I HOPE NOTHING HAPPENS TO THIS ONE. PLEASE HAVE A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds