Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2006 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 409 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (75) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seat Belts (4) Structure (54) Vehicle Speed Control (95)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Seats (4) Suspension (56) Visibility (18)
Engine (39) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (25) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Electric (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (12)
Equipment (2) Parking Brake (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: HOOD

9/18/2018 - OXFORD, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE HOOD COVER DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CALLED AND SUGGESTED THE CONTACT USE HOOD PINS WHEN HE REPLACED THE COVER. THE CONTACT INFORMED THE MANUFACTURER THAT HE WOULD REPLACE THE COVER WITH A PART FROM THE JUNK YARD. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2018 - SEGUIN, TX
MY 2006 FORD ESCAPE WAS PURCHASED IN AUGUST OF 2005. FOUR MONTHS LATER, NOVEMBER 2005, I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SLOT IN FRONT OF A RESTAURANT, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, WHEN IT SURGED AHEAD, WENT OVER A CONCRETE BLOCK, TOOK DOWN TWO POLES, AND HIT ANOTHER VEHICLE. AT THE TIME I THOUGHT IT WAS THE BRAKES, BUT NO ONE COULD FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES. PEOPLE SAID I PROBABLY STEPPED ON THE ACCELERATOR, BUT I WAS CONVINCED THAT I DID NOT. I COULD NOT PROVE ANYTHING. JULY 22, 2018, TWELVE YEARS LATER, IT HAPPENED AGAIN. I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SLOT IN THE BACK OF MY CHURCH PARKING LOT. THE ENGINE REVVED UP AND THE CAR SURGED FORWARD, WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, AND IT HAPPENED SO QUICKLY, THERE WAS NOTHING I COULD DO. I WENT OVER A CONCRETE BLOCK AND SMASHED INTO THE SANCTUARY WALL. I WAS INJURED AND HAD PROBLEMS FOR ABOUT A MONTH AND A HALF. I READ AN ARTICLE ON THE INTERNET FROM THE NHTSA ON TORQUE NEWS THAT THE NORTH CAROLINA CONSUMERS COUNCIL (NCCC) SAYS THAT THESE VEHICLES ARE EQUIPPED WITH AN ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY SYSTEM THAT COULD FAIL - CAUSING THE ENGINE TO EITHER SURGE OR STALL. THIS IS ONLY UNDER INVESTIGATION NOW, NO RECALL. I AM SURE THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED TO MY VEHICLE, BUT I CANNOT PROVE OR DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY ESCAPE FOR 13 YEARS AND ONLY HAD 50,000 MILES ON IT, BUT I HAD IT TOTALED. IT COULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED, BUT I COULD NOT TAKE THE CHANCE OF IT HAPPENING AGAIN. WHAT IF I HAD HURT SOMEONE OR WILL SOMEONE HAVE TO DIE BEFORE THEY HAVE A RECALL ON THE ESCAPES? IT IS TOO LATE FOR ME TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT MY 2006 ESCAPE, BUT PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR DIES. I DID PURCHASE ANOTHER ESCAPE, A 2011. I HOPE NOTHING HAPPENS TO THIS ONE. PLEASE HAVE A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/2/2018 - LANSING, MI
REAR WHEEL WELLS WHERE THE SHOCK MOUNTS IS RUSTED THROUGH CAUSING RIDE AND CONTROL ISSUES. I NOTICED CLUNKING WHILE DRIVING CAUSED BY THE RUST AND LACK OF SHOCK STABILITY. I TALKED TO OTHER OWNERS AND FOUND THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE. BEING THAT MY VEHICLE IS NOT RUSTY AND IS CARED FOR REGULARLY THIS IS BAD AND I AM NO LONGER GOING TO INVEST MY MONEY INTO IT. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN AND I FEEL WITH AS COMMON AS THE ISSUE SEEMS IT SHOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF BY FORD AS THE SHOCK BEING LOOSE COMING INTO THE INTERIOR IS ANOTHER SAFETY CONCERN, AND THE WEAR AND TEAR FROM THE TIRE RIDE CAUSES PREMATURE TIRE WEAR NOT TO MENTION WEAR AND SNAPPING THE BREAK LINE CAUSING THE BRAKES TO FAIL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/2/2018 - LANSING, MI
REAR WHEEL WELLS WHERE THE SHOCK MOUNTS IS RUSTED THROUGH CAUSING RIDE AND CONTROL ISSUES. I NOTICED CLUNKING WHILE DRIVING CAUSED BY THE RUST AND LACK OF SHOCK STABILITY. I TALKED TO OTHER OWNERS AND FOUND THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE. BEING THAT MY VEHICLE IS NOT RUSTY AND IS CARED FOR REGULARLY THIS IS BAD AND I AM NO LONGER GOING TO INVEST MY MONEY INTO IT. THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN AND I FEEL WITH AS COMMON AS THE ISSUE SEEMS IT SHOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF BY FORD AS THE SHOCK BEING LOOSE COMING INTO THE INTERIOR IS ANOTHER SAFETY CONCERN, AND THE WEAR AND TEAR FROM THE TIRE RIDE CAUSES PREMATURE TIRE WEAR NOT TO MENTION WEAR AND SNAPPING THE BREAK LINE CAUSING THE BRAKES TO FAIL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/7/2018 - HARRISBURG, PA
HEARD A BANGING NOISE AS I WAS DRIVING THAT SOUNDED FROM TRUNK. NOTHING IN TRUNK, REAR PASSENGER WHEEL WELL THE SHOCK TOWER HAD FALLEN THROUGH THE WHEEL WELL WHICH APPEARED TO HAVE RUSTED OUT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/7/2018 - HARRISBURG, PA
HEARD A BANGING NOISE AS I WAS DRIVING THAT SOUNDED FROM TRUNK. NOTHING IN TRUNK, REAR PASSENGER WHEEL WELL THE SHOCK TOWER HAD FALLEN THROUGH THE WHEEL WELL WHICH APPEARED TO HAVE RUSTED OUT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/21/2018 - BERNVILLE, PA
PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL WELL RUSTED OUT, IMPACTING SHOCK MOUNT ALSO.

View Details

WHEELS

7/17/2018 - RACINE, WI
RIGHT REAR WHEEL WELL TOTALLY RUSTED OUT, NO REPAIR SHOP WILL FIX. LOUD KNOCKING WHEN DRIVING, CAN NOT DRIVE AFRAID WHEEL WILL FALL OFF.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/17/2018 - RACINE, WI
RIGHT REAR WHEEL WELL TOTALLY RUSTED OUT, NO REPAIR SHOP WILL FIX. LOUD KNOCKING WHEN DRIVING, CAN NOT DRIVE AFRAID WHEEL WILL FALL OFF.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/17/2018 - RACINE, WI
RIGHT REAR WHEEL WELL TOTALLY RUSTED OUT, NO REPAIR SHOP WILL FIX. LOUD KNOCKING WHEN DRIVING, CAN NOT DRIVE AFRAID WHEEL WILL FALL OFF.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 54
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds