Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE HYBRID - 2006 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by FORD

There are 216 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (28) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Back Over Prevention (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Steering (24) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (18) Structure (7) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (59) Suspension (7) Wheels (5)
Engine (43) Hybrid Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes Electric (3) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/15/2019 - DES MOINES, IA
THE HYBRID ELECTRONICS SYSTEM OVERHEATED, THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS WENT ON AND THE ALERT SYSTEM SAID TO "STOP CAR SLOWLY" AND THEN "CHECK EMISSIONS SYSTEM". THE CAR SLOWED DOWN AND LOST ALMOST ALL POWER. AFTER TURNING IT ON AGAIN, THE CAR HAD NO POWER AND COULD NOT ACCELERATE. IT WAS LIKE THIS FOR SEVERAL MINUTES (THIS HAS HAPPENED BEFORE BUT THE CAR SEEMED NORMAL AFTER THE INITIAL STALL). THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A NEARBY MECHANIC'S GARAGE AND THEY TOLD US THE PROBLEM WAS WITH THE MECS PUMP WHICH WAS CAUSING THE HYBRID SYSTEM TO OVERHEAT. THIS SEEMS REMARKABLY SIMILAR TO RECALL #14S19 AND I DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW MY CAR IS NOT COVERED UNDER IT. I ALSO CHATTED WITH A REP FROM FORD WHO COULDN'T TELL ME WHY MY CAR WASN'T COVERED. WHILE I UNDERSTAND THAT RECALLS ARE VIN SPECIFIC I BELIEVE THERE IS AN ERROR ON FORD'S END. THE REP TOLD ME MY VEHICLE WAS BUILT ON JULY 29, 2005 AND THE RECALL INCLUDES VEHICLES MANUFACTURED FROM 2005 TO JUNE 20, 2008. SHE SAID SHE COULDN'T FIND AN EXACT DATE FOR THE START OF THE "BUILD DATE" RANGE, BUT SHE THOUGHT IT INCLUDED ALL OF 2005. SO I SAID "SHOULDN'T MINE BE COVERED?" SIMILARLY, THE 14S19 RECALL NOTICE STATES: "MODEL YEAR 2005-2008 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID ELECTRIC VEHICLES MANUFACTURED OCTOBER 13, 2003, TO JUNE 20, 2008". I BOUGHT THE CAR IN LATE 2015, AFTER THE INITIAL RECALL DATE WAS ISSUED AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO OUTSTANDING RECALL MATTERS WITH THE VEHICLE. HOWEVER, THE CAR ONLY HAD 60,000 MILES ON IT AND WAS LIGHTLY USED SO I WONDER IF THE PREVIOUS OWNER WAS EVEN AWARE OF THE MECS ISSUES. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME. I AM CURRENTLY FACING $1,300 IN REPAIR COSTS AND THIS LOOKS EXACTLY LIKE THE RECALL PROBLEMS MENTIONED IN 14S19. I HOPE SOMEONE AT NHTSA CAN HELP BECAUSE I THINK FORD SHOULD REIMBURSE ME FOR THE DAMAGES. THANKS AGAIN. PLEASE CONTACT ME AT [XXX] IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/18/2019 - NORCO, CA
AS I WAS APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION AND RED LIGHT, MY BRAKES SUDDENLY STOPPED WORKING. I LITERALLY HAD TO STAND ON THE BRAKE AND IT FINALLY STOPPED MOVING. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE HOME AT LESS THAN 10 MPH AND HAD TO LET OFF THE GAS IN ORDER TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN TO ATTEMPT TO USE THE BRAKES AND CAR WOULD SHAKE WHEN BRAKE WAS APPLIED. TOOK TO MECHANIC WHO CHECKED THE CODE AND IT WAS THE TRAVEL SENSOR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/12/2019 - CLIFTON PARK, NY
2006 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID WITH APPROX. 140,000 MILES. INITIALLY, HAD PROBLEMS WITH VEHICLE'S GAS ENGINE STALLING OUT WHILE IN MOTION AND AT VARIOUS SPEEDS FROM 35 TO 55 MPH. MESSAGE IN DASH SAID TO PULL OVER SAFELY. THIS HAPPENED 5 TIMES IN ONE DAY AND EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WOULD RESTART AND RUN FOR ONLY A FEW MINUTES. NEXT DAY IT RAN FOR ABOUT 15 MINUTES BEFORE OCCURRING ONCE AGAIN. EVENTUALLY THE HYBRID BATTERY HAD NO MORE JUICE AND I HAVE TO BE TOWED. GARAGE, NOT DEALER DX STICKING THROTTLE LINKAGE ASSEMBLY. THEY CLEANED IT, RECHARGED THE HYBRID BATTERY AND REPROGRAMMED THE COMPUTER. VEHICLE WORKED WELL FOR 6 WEEKS AND THEN PROBLEM RETURNED. ONLY DIFFERENCE WAS THAT AFTER INITIALLY STALLING OUT WHEN THE ENGINE WAS WARM, ON 2 OCCASIONS OCCURRED WHEN ENGINE WAS COLD. RETURNED IT TO GARAGE WHERE IT STALLED WHEN COLD ONE OF THOSE TIMES. AFTER THAT IS DIDN'T STALL FOR THEM AGAIN. GARAGE LOOKED ON LINE AND SAW A NUMBER OF POSSIBLE CAUSES FOR THE PROBLEM, BUT NO CONCLUSIVE DIAGNOSIS OR FIX. THEY SUGGESTED THAT CHANGING THE THROTTLE LINKAGE ASSEMBLY MIGHT FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT THEY WERE NOT CONFIDENT OF THIS. VEHICLE NOT REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2019 - CLIFTON PARK, NY
2006 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID WITH APPROX. 140,000 MILES. INITIALLY, HAD PROBLEMS WITH VEHICLE'S GAS ENGINE STALLING OUT WHILE IN MOTION AND AT VARIOUS SPEEDS FROM 35 TO 55 MPH. MESSAGE IN DASH SAID TO PULL OVER SAFELY. THIS HAPPENED 5 TIMES IN ONE DAY AND EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WOULD RESTART AND RUN FOR ONLY A FEW MINUTES. NEXT DAY IT RAN FOR ABOUT 15 MINUTES BEFORE OCCURRING ONCE AGAIN. EVENTUALLY THE HYBRID BATTERY HAD NO MORE JUICE AND I HAVE TO BE TOWED. GARAGE, NOT DEALER DX STICKING THROTTLE LINKAGE ASSEMBLY. THEY CLEANED IT, RECHARGED THE HYBRID BATTERY AND REPROGRAMMED THE COMPUTER. VEHICLE WORKED WELL FOR 6 WEEKS AND THEN PROBLEM RETURNED. ONLY DIFFERENCE WAS THAT AFTER INITIALLY STALLING OUT WHEN THE ENGINE WAS WARM, ON 2 OCCASIONS OCCURRED WHEN ENGINE WAS COLD. RETURNED IT TO GARAGE WHERE IT STALLED WHEN COLD ONE OF THOSE TIMES. AFTER THAT IS DIDN'T STALL FOR THEM AGAIN. GARAGE LOOKED ON LINE AND SAW A NUMBER OF POSSIBLE CAUSES FOR THE PROBLEM, BUT NO CONCLUSIVE DIAGNOSIS OR FIX. THEY SUGGESTED THAT CHANGING THE THROTTLE LINKAGE ASSEMBLY MIGHT FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT THEY WERE NOT CONFIDENT OF THIS. VEHICLE NOT REPAIRED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/9/2019 - LYNDON, KS
ABS BREAK LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR FAILED TO STOP. WAS DRIVING ON THE ROAD IN A SMALL TOWN AND WAS STOPPING TO TURN ON TO A ROAD. THE PROBLEM HAD ALSO HAPPEN WHEN SOMEONE HAS STOPPED SUDDENLY IN FRONT OF ME AND I NEEDED TO BREAK SUDDENLY. HAD BREAK FLUID CHANGED AT FORD DEALERSHIP AND DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. WHEN YOU NEED TO STOP SUDDENLY AND HIT THE BREAKS HARD, THE PEDAL HARD IT STIFFENS UP AND WILL NOT STOP THE CAR. IF YOU TURN OFF THE CAR AND WAIT A FEW MINUTES AND TURN IT BACK ON, IT SEEMS TO RESET IT UNTIL YOU HIT THE BREAKS HARD AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2019 - VERONA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. IN ADDITION, THE "STOP SAFELY NOW" WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE COOLING PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT CALLED DAY FORD (LOCATED AT 2124, 3696 WILLIAM PENN HWY, MONROEVILLE, PA 15146, (412) 856-0600) AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 187,621.

View Details

HYBRID PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/26/2019 - LOGAN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, AN UNKNOWN WARNING ICON DISPLAYED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THE CONTACT POWERED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, THE WARNING INDICATOR NO LONGER APPEARED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO WILSON FORD LINCOLN (328 MAIN ST, LOGAN, UT 84321, (435) 752-7355) TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT A FAILURE CODE COULD NOT BE FOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HYBRID BATTERY FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,533.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/26/2019 - LOGAN, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD ESCAPE HYBRID. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, AN UNKNOWN WARNING ICON DISPLAYED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THE CONTACT POWERED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, THE WARNING INDICATOR NO LONGER APPEARED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO WILSON FORD LINCOLN (328 MAIN ST, LOGAN, UT 84321, (435) 752-7355) TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT A FAILURE CODE COULD NOT BE FOUND. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HYBRID BATTERY FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,533.

View Details

STEERING

4/9/2019 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
POWER STEERING FAIL NO DASH CODES E S P FAILED NO POWER ASSIST TO TURN THE STEERING

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/8/2019 - TRUCKEE, CA
STOP SAFELY NOW & SERVICE SOON - WRENCH.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds