Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD RANGER - 2006 FORD RANGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 48 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD RANGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD RANGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD RANGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (5) Visibility (3)
Engine (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (3) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
FORD VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STOPPED RUNNING WITH FULL TANK OF FUEL. WOULD NOT RESTART, HAD TOWED TO REPAIR SHOP. REPLACED FUEL PUMP FOR $606.99. DROVE ABOUT A MILE AND SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. FOUND THAT THE FUEL INERTIA SHUT OFF SWITCH NEEDED RE-SETTING. BOUGHT A FUEL PUMP I DIDN'T NEED. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES THIS YEAR AGAIN. FORD DEALER SAID I NEEDED A FUEL PUMP. (35,000 MILES) AGAIN, NO WAY. THE REPLACEMENT PART (INERTIA SWITCH) MOVES THE SWITCH FROM PASSENGER FLOOR AREA TO SIDE KICK PANEL. THE DESIGN CHANGE SHOWS DESIGN FLAW. FORD SHOULD REPLACE FOR NO COST. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN ENGINE DIES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/27/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
FORD VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STOPPED RUNNING WITH FULL TANK OF FUEL. WOULD NOT RESTART, HAD TOWED TO REPAIR SHOP. REPLACED FUEL PUMP FOR $606.99. DROVE ABOUT A MILE AND SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. FOUND THAT THE FUEL INERTIA SHUT OFF SWITCH NEEDED RE-SETTING. BOUGHT A FUEL PUMP I DIDN'T NEED. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES THIS YEAR AGAIN. FORD DEALER SAID I NEEDED A FUEL PUMP. (35,000 MILES) AGAIN, NO WAY. THE REPLACEMENT PART (INERTIA SWITCH) MOVES THE SWITCH FROM PASSENGER FLOOR AREA TO SIDE KICK PANEL. THE DESIGN CHANGE SHOWS DESIGN FLAW. FORD SHOULD REPLACE FOR NO COST. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN ENGINE DIES.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/27/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
FORD VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STOPPED RUNNING WITH FULL TANK OF FUEL. WOULD NOT RESTART, HAD TOWED TO REPAIR SHOP. REPLACED FUEL PUMP FOR $606.99. DROVE ABOUT A MILE AND SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. FOUND THAT THE FUEL INERTIA SHUT OFF SWITCH NEEDED RE-SETTING. BOUGHT A FUEL PUMP I DIDN'T NEED. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES THIS YEAR AGAIN. FORD DEALER SAID I NEEDED A FUEL PUMP. (35,000 MILES) AGAIN, NO WAY. THE REPLACEMENT PART (INERTIA SWITCH) MOVES THE SWITCH FROM PASSENGER FLOOR AREA TO SIDE KICK PANEL. THE DESIGN CHANGE SHOWS DESIGN FLAW. FORD SHOULD REPLACE FOR NO COST. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN ENGINE DIES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/26/2014 - HOLDEN, ME
OF THE TWO REAR CROSS MEMBERS THAT SUPPORT THE GAS TANK ONE SIDE HAS COMPLETELY ROTTED TWO INCHES OF METAL AWAY. THE FORWARD ONE IS NEAR FAILURE THE REAR ONE COMPLETELY FAILED ONE SIDE.WILL PUT SOME SORT WEB STRAP SYSTEM SO THE TANK DON'T FALL OUT TILL WE GET WARMER WEATHER AND REMOVE THE BED TO INSPECT FRAME RAIL. A FRIEND OF MINE HAD TO REPLACE THE WHOLE REAR FRAME ASSEMBLY. THE REAR SPRING SHACKLES ARE NEAR FAILURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/9/2014 - MILFORD, MA
PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN 2007 WITH 8K MILES AND HAD SOME RUST ON THE FRAME. NOW, 2013 I HAVE 24K MILES AND THE FRAMES IS COMPLETELY CORRODED AND MY BRAKES ARE FAILING DUE TO THE RUST. HAVE ALREADY SANDED THE FRAME AND PAINTED, BUT THE RUST COMES BACK. THIS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE PARTS CAN BREAK WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/9/2014 - MILFORD, MA
PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN 2007 WITH 8K MILES AND HAD SOME RUST ON THE FRAME. NOW, 2013 I HAVE 24K MILES AND THE FRAMES IS COMPLETELY CORRODED AND MY BRAKES ARE FAILING DUE TO THE RUST. HAVE ALREADY SANDED THE FRAME AND PAINTED, BUT THE RUST COMES BACK. THIS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE PARTS CAN BREAK WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

TIRES: TEMPORARY/EMERGENCY SPARE TIRE

11/18/2013 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND I HIT A BUMP AND MY SPARE TIRE FELL DOWN AND OUT OF THE TRUCK ONTO THE HIGHWAY. I STOPPED IMMEDIATELY AND RETRIEVED MY WHEEL OF THE HIGHWAY AND SAW THAT IT WAS STILL CONNECTED TO PART OF THE MOUNT. THE NEXT DAY I DROVE TO A REPAIR SHOP TO PUT THE TRUCK ON A LIFT TO LOOK AT THE DAMAGE AND REALIZED THAT THE ENTIRE FRAME HAD ROTTED UNDER THE TRUCK. I LEFT THE REPAIR GARAGE AND WAS HEADING HOME WHEN I HIT A POTHOLE THE ENTIRE DRIVER SIDE FRONT FRAME ROTTED AND THE WHEEL FELL PARTIALLY OFF THE TRUCK, SO I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY OFFICE PARKING LOT AND PARKED IT, BECAUSE IT IS NOT DRIVABLE ANYMORE. I CONTACTED FORD THEY TOLD ME TO HAVE IT TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND THEY WOULD SEND A REP OUT TO LOOK AT IT. SO I DID AND THE REP NEVER CAME OUT AND THEY TOLD ME TO HAVE IT REMOVED, THAT THE REP CALLED THEM AND SAID THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR ANYTHING, SO THE TRUCK STILL SITS ROTTED AND PARKED, AND REMEMBER IT ONLY HAS 17,900 MILES ON IT, THANK YOU.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/18/2013 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND I HIT A BUMP AND MY SPARE TIRE FELL DOWN AND OUT OF THE TRUCK ONTO THE HIGHWAY. I STOPPED IMMEDIATELY AND RETRIEVED MY WHEEL OF THE HIGHWAY AND SAW THAT IT WAS STILL CONNECTED TO PART OF THE MOUNT. THE NEXT DAY I DROVE TO A REPAIR SHOP TO PUT THE TRUCK ON A LIFT TO LOOK AT THE DAMAGE AND REALIZED THAT THE ENTIRE FRAME HAD ROTTED UNDER THE TRUCK. I LEFT THE REPAIR GARAGE AND WAS HEADING HOME WHEN I HIT A POTHOLE THE ENTIRE DRIVER SIDE FRONT FRAME ROTTED AND THE WHEEL FELL PARTIALLY OFF THE TRUCK, SO I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY OFFICE PARKING LOT AND PARKED IT, BECAUSE IT IS NOT DRIVABLE ANYMORE. I CONTACTED FORD THEY TOLD ME TO HAVE IT TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND THEY WOULD SEND A REP OUT TO LOOK AT IT. SO I DID AND THE REP NEVER CAME OUT AND THEY TOLD ME TO HAVE IT REMOVED, THAT THE REP CALLED THEM AND SAID THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR ANYTHING, SO THE TRUCK STILL SITS ROTTED AND PARKED, AND REMEMBER IT ONLY HAS 17,900 MILES ON IT, THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

11/6/2013 - PORTLAND , TN
RUNS ROUGH AT STOP. HESITATES WHEN ACCELERATES. COULD CAUSE ACCIDENT AT INTERSECTIONS. VALVE RECESSION PROBLEM AS DESCRIBED IN FORD ISSUED TSB.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/6/2013 - PORTLAND , TN
RUNS ROUGH AT STOP. HESITATES WHEN ACCELERATES. COULD CAUSE ACCIDENT AT INTERSECTIONS. VALVE RECESSION PROBLEM AS DESCRIBED IN FORD ISSUED TSB.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds