Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD RANGER - 2006 FORD RANGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD RANGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD RANGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD RANGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (3)
Engine (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (4) Steering (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/12/2015 - SHIRLEY, MA
AWFUL BANGING SOUND WHILE DRIVING, INSPECTED TRUCK, FOUND REAR BUMPER HANGING HALF OFF. REAR PORTION OF BOTH FRAME RAILS HAD ROTTEN OFF. REAR SPRING SHACKLES ROTTEN AND NOT ATTACHED. I PULLED THE BUMPER OFF WITH MY BARE HANDS! IF IT HAD FALLEN OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT COULD HAVE KILLED SOMEONE. THIS IS NOT AN OLD BEAT UP TRUCK, AS A MATTER OF FACT IT ONLY HAS 17,000 MILE ON IT. IT STILL LOOKS BRAND NEW. THE FORD RANGER XLT 4X4 EXTENDED CAB WAS BOUGHT NEW IN 2006 FOR $20,000, NOW ITS USELESS, CAN NOT EVEN FIX THE SPRING SHACKLES, NOTHING TO ATTACH THEM TO.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/12/2015 - SHIRLEY, MA
AWFUL BANGING SOUND WHILE DRIVING, INSPECTED TRUCK, FOUND REAR BUMPER HANGING HALF OFF. REAR PORTION OF BOTH FRAME RAILS HAD ROTTEN OFF. REAR SPRING SHACKLES ROTTEN AND NOT ATTACHED. I PULLED THE BUMPER OFF WITH MY BARE HANDS! IF IT HAD FALLEN OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT COULD HAVE KILLED SOMEONE. THIS IS NOT AN OLD BEAT UP TRUCK, AS A MATTER OF FACT IT ONLY HAS 17,000 MILE ON IT. IT STILL LOOKS BRAND NEW. THE FORD RANGER XLT 4X4 EXTENDED CAB WAS BOUGHT NEW IN 2006 FOR $20,000, NOW ITS USELESS, CAN NOT EVEN FIX THE SPRING SHACKLES, NOTHING TO ATTACH THEM TO.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/12/2015 - SHIRLEY, MA
AWFUL BANGING SOUND WHILE DRIVING, INSPECTED TRUCK, FOUND REAR BUMPER HANGING HALF OFF. REAR PORTION OF BOTH FRAME RAILS HAD ROTTEN OFF. REAR SPRING SHACKLES ROTTEN AND NOT ATTACHED. I PULLED THE BUMPER OFF WITH MY BARE HANDS! IF IT HAD FALLEN OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT COULD HAVE KILLED SOMEONE. THIS IS NOT AN OLD BEAT UP TRUCK, AS A MATTER OF FACT IT ONLY HAS 17,000 MILE ON IT. IT STILL LOOKS BRAND NEW. THE FORD RANGER XLT 4X4 EXTENDED CAB WAS BOUGHT NEW IN 2006 FOR $20,000, NOW ITS USELESS, CAN NOT EVEN FIX THE SPRING SHACKLES, NOTHING TO ATTACH THEM TO.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/22/2015 - SUTTON, VT
FRAME IS RUSTED OUT WILL NOT PASS INSPECTION. SPARE TIRE HOLER RUSTED OUT. TIRE WOULD HAVE FALLEN OUT. CROSS MEMBER RUSTED OUT. WE HAVE A METALWORKING SHOP AND WILL WELD AND REPAIR OURSELVES AT GREAT TIME AND EXPENSE. POINT OF RUSTOUT IS NEAR WHERE THE FRONT BRACKET IS TO HOLD THE SPRING. GIVE E-MAIL AND I CAN SEND PICTURES

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/18/2015 - FREELAND, PA
WAS DRIVING AND THE BRACKET AND CROSS MEMBER THAT HOLDS THE SPARE TIRE BRACKET UP BROKE DUE TO THE FRAME BEING ALL RUSTED/SCALELY AND ROTTED OUT WHICH ALSO LED TO THE SHACKLES BEING BROKEN. WHEN THIS BRACKET BROKE, MY SPARE TIRE WAS HANGING DOWN AND DRAGGING ON THE GROUND WHICH COULD HAVE CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. AFTER THE TIRE WAS TAKEN DOWN, THIS IS WHEN THE DEPLORABLE CONDITION OF THE FRAME WAS CLEARLY VISIBLE. THIS TRUCK SHOULD NOT EVEN HAVE BEEN SOLD TO ME OFF OF THE WYOMING VALLEY MOTORS DEALERSHIP LOT IN LARKSVILLE, PA. I HAVE HAD THE TRUCK LESS THAN 14 MONTHS AND PUT LESS THAN 3,000 MILES ON THE TRUCK. THE FRAME AND UNDERCARRIAGE IS UNFIT TO BE ON THE ROAD AND SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN SOLD ESPECIALLY AT A BIG DEALERSHIP LOT. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED FORD AND THEY WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR TRUCK AND DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/18/2015 - FREELAND, PA
WAS DRIVING AND THE BRACKET AND CROSS MEMBER THAT HOLDS THE SPARE TIRE BRACKET UP BROKE DUE TO THE FRAME BEING ALL RUSTED/SCALELY AND ROTTED OUT WHICH ALSO LED TO THE SHACKLES BEING BROKEN. WHEN THIS BRACKET BROKE, MY SPARE TIRE WAS HANGING DOWN AND DRAGGING ON THE GROUND WHICH COULD HAVE CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. AFTER THE TIRE WAS TAKEN DOWN, THIS IS WHEN THE DEPLORABLE CONDITION OF THE FRAME WAS CLEARLY VISIBLE. THIS TRUCK SHOULD NOT EVEN HAVE BEEN SOLD TO ME OFF OF THE WYOMING VALLEY MOTORS DEALERSHIP LOT IN LARKSVILLE, PA. I HAVE HAD THE TRUCK LESS THAN 14 MONTHS AND PUT LESS THAN 3,000 MILES ON THE TRUCK. THE FRAME AND UNDERCARRIAGE IS UNFIT TO BE ON THE ROAD AND SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN SOLD ESPECIALLY AT A BIG DEALERSHIP LOT. I HAVE ALSO CONTACTED FORD AND THEY WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR TRUCK AND DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/25/2014 - CUTLER BAY, FL
2006 FORD RANGER V6 3.0 BIGGEST PROBLEM. MULTIPLE CYLINDER MISFIRE. REPLACED MULTIPLE PARTS ALREADY NOTHING HAS WORKED. ENGINE CODE SHOWING MISFIRE IN CYLINDER 4,5,6. MULTIPLE MISFIRES. LOOKED ONLINE MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

7/22/2014 - BRANCH, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE TCH IN NEWFOUNDLAND, I HEARD THIS UNUSUAL BANG OUT OF THE REAR OF MY FORD RANGER. I LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SEEN SOMETHING COME FROM BENEATH THE REAR OF MY TRUCK. I PULLED OVER AS DID THE VEHICLE TRAVELING BEHIND ME. THE SPARE TIRE ASSEMBLY HAD RUSTED OFF WHICH LET THE TIRE LOOSE AND FALL OFF. THE TIRE NARROWLY ESCAPED THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME. AFTER CLOSER INSPECTION ON THE TRUCK , THE MAIN FRAME HAD COMPLETELY CRACKED OFF AS DID THE SPRING HANGER. I CONTACTED FORD RELATIONS AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THIS IS TOTALLY UNSAFE OF FORD TO IGNORE THIS PROBLEM WITH THIS FORD AS IT ALMOST CAUSED A FAMILY OF 3 AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THIS TRUCK AND HAVE HAD IT UNDER COATED EVERY TOO YEARS. THERE IS ONLY 85000 KILOMETERS ON THIS TRUCK AND THE FRAME IS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. MY PROBLEMS HAVE BEEN DOCUMENTED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/22/2014 - BRANCH, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE TCH IN NEWFOUNDLAND, I HEARD THIS UNUSUAL BANG OUT OF THE REAR OF MY FORD RANGER. I LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SEEN SOMETHING COME FROM BENEATH THE REAR OF MY TRUCK. I PULLED OVER AS DID THE VEHICLE TRAVELING BEHIND ME. THE SPARE TIRE ASSEMBLY HAD RUSTED OFF WHICH LET THE TIRE LOOSE AND FALL OFF. THE TIRE NARROWLY ESCAPED THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME. AFTER CLOSER INSPECTION ON THE TRUCK , THE MAIN FRAME HAD COMPLETELY CRACKED OFF AS DID THE SPRING HANGER. I CONTACTED FORD RELATIONS AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THIS IS TOTALLY UNSAFE OF FORD TO IGNORE THIS PROBLEM WITH THIS FORD AS IT ALMOST CAUSED A FAMILY OF 3 AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THIS TRUCK AND HAVE HAD IT UNDER COATED EVERY TOO YEARS. THERE IS ONLY 85000 KILOMETERS ON THIS TRUCK AND THE FRAME IS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. MY PROBLEMS HAVE BEEN DOCUMENTED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/21/2014 - ENCINITAS, CA
ROUGH IDLE NOTICED WHILE STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION. CATASTROPHIC MISFIRE UPON ACCELERATION THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. TRUCK WAS ONLY ABLE TO "LIMP" 5 OR LESS MILES PER HOUR. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAD BEEN TURNING OFF AND ON HOWEVER DIAGNOSTICS SHOWED MISFIRE FOR UNKNOWN REASONS. SPARK PLUGS AND WIRES HAD BEEN REPLACED TWICE WITHIN A YEAR AS WELL. DEFECTED HEAD MANUFACTURED BY FORD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds