Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD RANGER - 2006 FORD RANGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 54 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD RANGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD RANGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD RANGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (8) Visibility (3)
Engine (5) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (3) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (3) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/25/2014 - CUTLER BAY, FL
2006 FORD RANGER V6 3.0 BIGGEST PROBLEM. MULTIPLE CYLINDER MISFIRE. REPLACED MULTIPLE PARTS ALREADY NOTHING HAS WORKED. ENGINE CODE SHOWING MISFIRE IN CYLINDER 4,5,6. MULTIPLE MISFIRES. LOOKED ONLINE MANY OTHERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/22/2014 - BRANCH, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE TCH IN NEWFOUNDLAND, I HEARD THIS UNUSUAL BANG OUT OF THE REAR OF MY FORD RANGER. I LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SEEN SOMETHING COME FROM BENEATH THE REAR OF MY TRUCK. I PULLED OVER AS DID THE VEHICLE TRAVELLING BEHIND ME. THE SPARE TIRE ASSEMBLY HAD RUSTED OFF WHICH LET THE TIRE LOOSE AND FALL OFF. THE TIRE NARROWLY ESCAPED THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME. AFTER CLOSER INSPECTION ON THE TRUCK , THE MAIN FRAME HAD COMPLETELY CRACKED OFF AS DID THE SPRING HANGER. I CONTACTED FORD RELATIONS AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THIS IS TOTALLY UNSAFE OF FORD TO IGNORE THIS PROBLEM WITH THIS FORD AS IT ALMOST CAUSED A FAMILY OF 3 AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THIS TRUCK AND HAVE HAD IT UNDER COATED EVERY TOO YEARS. THERE IS ONLY 85000 KILOMETERS ON THIS TRUCK AND THE FRAME IS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. MY PROBLEMS HAVE BEEN DOCUMENTED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/22/2014 - BRANCH, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE TCH IN NEWFOUNDLAND, I HEARD THIS UNUSUAL BANG OUT OF THE REAR OF MY FORD RANGER. I LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SEEN SOMETHING COME FROM BENEATH THE REAR OF MY TRUCK. I PULLED OVER AS DID THE VEHICLE TRAVELLING BEHIND ME. THE SPARE TIRE ASSEMBLY HAD RUSTED OFF WHICH LET THE TIRE LOOSE AND FALL OFF. THE TIRE NARROWLY ESCAPED THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME. AFTER CLOSER INSPECTION ON THE TRUCK , THE MAIN FRAME HAD COMPLETELY CRACKED OFF AS DID THE SPRING HANGER. I CONTACTED FORD RELATIONS AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. THIS IS TOTALLY UNSAFE OF FORD TO IGNORE THIS PROBLEM WITH THIS FORD AS IT ALMOST CAUSED A FAMILY OF 3 AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE TAKEN CARE OF THIS TRUCK AND HAVE HAD IT UNDER COATED EVERY TOO YEARS. THERE IS ONLY 85000 KILOMETERS ON THIS TRUCK AND THE FRAME IS COMPLETELY RUSTED OUT. MY PROBLEMS HAVE BEEN DOCUMENTED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2014 - ENCINITAS, CA
ROUGH IDLE NOTICED WHILE STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION. CATASTROPHIC MISFIRE UPON ACCELERATION THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. TRUCK WAS ONLY ABLE TO "LIMP" 5 OR LESS MILES PER HOUR. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAD BEEN TURNING OFF AND ON HOWEVER DIAGNOSTICS SHOWED MISFIRE FOR UNKNOWN REASONS. SPARK PLUGS AND WIRES HAD BEEN REPLACED TWICE WITHIN A YEAR AS WELL. DEFECTED HEAD MANUFACTURED BY FORD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2014 - ENCINITAS, CA
ROUGH IDLE NOTICED WHILE STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION. CATASTROPHIC MISFIRE UPON ACCELERATION THROUGH AN INTERSECTION. TRUCK WAS ONLY ABLE TO "LIMP" 5 OR LESS MILES PER HOUR. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAD BEEN TURNING OFF AND ON HOWEVER DIAGNOSTICS SHOWED MISFIRE FOR UNKNOWN REASONS. SPARK PLUGS AND WIRES HAD BEEN REPLACED TWICE WITHIN A YEAR AS WELL. DEFECTED HEAD MANUFACTURED BY FORD.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/1/2014 - PENN HILLS , PA
I HAVE A 2006 FORD RANGER THAT I PURCHASED NEW (ITS MY SECOND RANGER I HAD A 1996 THAT I TRADED IN. I REALLY LIKE RANGERS BUT HAVE RUN INTO A MAJOR PROBLEM WITH RUST ON MY RANGER. THE SPRING SHACKLES RUSTED AND BROKE ON BOTH SIDES LAST WEEK. I TOOK MY BED OFF TO REPLACE THE SHACKLES AND FOUND THE BRACKETS WERE ALSO RUSTED OUT. THE FRAME IS VERY RUSTY AND THERE IS RUSTED HOLES THROUGH ON THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR FRAME. I HAVE NOT GOT TO THE FRAME UNDER THE CAB OR FRONT OF TRUCK YET. IS THERE A RECALL OR CAN I EXPECT HELP FROM FORD. THE SAFETY FACTOR OF THE FRAME CONCERNS ME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/1/2014 - PENN HILLS , PA
I HAVE A 2006 FORD RANGER THAT I PURCHASED NEW (ITS MY SECOND RANGER I HAD A 1996 THAT I TRADED IN. I REALLY LIKE RANGERS BUT HAVE RUN INTO A MAJOR PROBLEM WITH RUST ON MY RANGER. THE SPRING SHACKLES RUSTED AND BROKE ON BOTH SIDES LAST WEEK. I TOOK MY BED OFF TO REPLACE THE SHACKLES AND FOUND THE BRACKETS WERE ALSO RUSTED OUT. THE FRAME IS VERY RUSTY AND THERE IS RUSTED HOLES THROUGH ON THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR FRAME. I HAVE NOT GOT TO THE FRAME UNDER THE CAB OR FRONT OF TRUCK YET. IS THERE A RECALL OR CAN I EXPECT HELP FROM FORD. THE SAFETY FACTOR OF THE FRAME CONCERNS ME.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/29/2014 - PENN HILLS, PA
TOOK MY TRUCK IN TO HAVE WHEELS CHANGED. WHEN PUT ON THE LIFT, I HEARD TO SOUNDS FROM THE SUPENSION. BOTH SPRING SHACKLE HANGERS AND BRACKETS WERE RUSTED. THE SHACKLES ACTUALLY FELL APART. I HAVE REMOVED THE BED AND FOUND EXTENSIVE RUST OUT ON THE FRAME . THE DRIVER SIDE REAR FRAME IS BASICLY GONE FROM RUST OUT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/23/2014 - BREWER, ME
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD RANGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRAME WAS COMPLETELY CORRODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE REAR SPRING RAIL, MOUNTS AND SHACKLE WERE RUSTED PREVENTING HIM FROM PASSING STATE INSPECTION. THE TECHNICIAN VERIFIED THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE FRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 36,508. PM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
FORD VEHICLE LOST POWER AND STOPPED RUNNING WITH FULL TANK OF FUEL. WOULD NOT RESTART, HAD TOWED TO REPAIR SHOP. REPLACED FUEL PUMP FOR $606.99. DROVE ABOUT A MILE AND SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. FOUND THAT THE FUEL INERTIA SHUT OFF SWITCH NEEDED RE-SETTING. BOUGHT A FUEL PUMP I DIDN'T NEED. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES THIS YEAR AGAIN. FORD DEALER SAID I NEEDED A FUEL PUMP. (35,000 MILES) AGAIN, NO WAY. THE REPLACEMENT PART (INERTIA SWITCH) MOVES THE SWITCH FROM PASSENGER FLOOR AREA TO SIDE KICK PANEL. THE DESIGN CHANGE SHOWS DESIGN FLAW. FORD SHOULD REPLACE FOR NO COST. VERY DANGEROUS WHEN ENGINE DIES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds