Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD RANGER - 2006 FORD RANGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 66 complaints filed for the 2006 FORD RANGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 FORD RANGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 FORD RANGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (8) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (10) Visibility (3)
Engine (6) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (4) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/13/2016 - ROCK HILL, SC
TAKATA RECALL. I HAVE BEEN RETAINED TO REPRESENT THE FAMILY OF A GENTLEMAN WHO DIED ON DECEMBER 22, 2015 DUE TO A DEFECTIVE DRIVER SIDE TAKATA AIRBAG IN A 2006 FORD RANGER. THE ACCIDENT OCCURRED IN LANCASTER COUNTY, SC. METAL FROM THE INFLATOR CANISTER EXPLODED PENETRATING MY CLIENTS NECK RESULTING IN DEATH. DECEDENT HIT A COW IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD CAUSING HIM TO RUN OFF THE ROAD INTO A FIELD -RESULTING IN AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. ACCIDENT OCCURRED AT 3527 ROCKY RIVER RD. IN LANCASTER COUNTY, SC. CLIENT WAS NOT EJECTED FROM VEHICLE BUT REMAINED STATIONARY IN DRIVER SEAT. THERE IS NO DOUBT AIRBAG SHRAPNEL METAL KILLED MY CLIENT, AS THIS HAS BEEN CONFIRMED BY DEATH CERTIFICATE AND AUTOPSY REPORT. SOUTH CAROLINA HIGHWAY PATROL IS STILL WORKING TO COMPLETE THEIR MAIT TEAM INVESTIGATION. PLEASE CONTACT ME DIRECTLY AND I CAN PROVIDE YOU WITH MORE INFORMATION AND OTHER DOCUMENTS. XXXXXXXX PERSONAL INFORMATION HAS BEEN REDACTED UPDATED 01/25/16

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/20/2015 - EDGEWATER, MD
FUEL INERTIAL CUT-OFF SWITCH ACTIVATES RANDOMLY, USUALLY ONCE OR TWICE A YEAR. RESULT IS SUDDEN UNEXPECTED LOSS OF ENGINE POWER. CAN HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING IN TOWN OR ON THE FREEWAY. DOES NOT MATTER IF THE VEHICLE IS MOVING FAST OR SLOW. THE DEVICE CAN BE RESET BY PUSHING A BUTTON BUT THE DEVICE IS NOT ACCESSIBLE FROM THE DRIVERS SIDE WHILE DRIVING. DANGEROUS AS THE LOSS OF POWER IS TOTAL, IMMEDIATE, AND WITHOUT WARNING. THE IS CURRENTLY NO RECALL FOR THIS ITEM BUT I SEE FROM YOUR WEBSITE AND OTHER WEBSITES THAT THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER PEOPLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2015 - EDGEWATER, MD
FUEL INERTIAL CUT-OFF SWITCH ACTIVATES RANDOMLY, USUALLY ONCE OR TWICE A YEAR. RESULT IS SUDDEN UNEXPECTED LOSS OF ENGINE POWER. CAN HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING IN TOWN OR ON THE FREEWAY. DOES NOT MATTER IF THE VEHICLE IS MOVING FAST OR SLOW. THE DEVICE CAN BE RESET BY PUSHING A BUTTON BUT THE DEVICE IS NOT ACCESSIBLE FROM THE DRIVERS SIDE WHILE DRIVING. DANGEROUS AS THE LOSS OF POWER IS TOTAL, IMMEDIATE, AND WITHOUT WARNING. THE IS CURRENTLY NO RECALL FOR THIS ITEM BUT I SEE FROM YOUR WEBSITE AND OTHER WEBSITES THAT THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER PEOPLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/4/2015 - GREER, SC
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD RANGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V322000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCE A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/1/2015 - OAKDALE, CA
TAKATA RECALL I RECEIVED A LETTER IN JULY 2015 TELLING ME ABOUT THE SAFETY RECALL AND TODAY DECEMBER 01 2015 THEY STILL HAVE NO REPLACEMENT PARTS AVAILABLE. WHY ARE THEY NOT BEING FORCED TO TAKE CARE OF THIS?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/25/2015 - MEADOWS OF DAN, VA
THE INERTIA FUEL CUT-OFF SWITCH RANDOMLY TRIPS CAUSING THE TRUCK TO STOP DUE TO THE FUEL PUMP CUTTING OFF. IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES, TWICE ON AN INTERSTATE WHERE LUCKILY TRAFFIC WAS MOVING SLOW DUE TO AN ACCIDENT. IT HAPPENED TO MY WIFE WHILE TRAVELING IN A CONSTRUCTION ZONE AND SHE WAS NEARLY REAR-ENDED BY A TRACTOR AND TRAILER. SO NOW SHE REFUSES TO DRIVE IT ANY MORE. THIS PROBLEM IS NOT UNKNOWN TO FORD. I LOOKED INTO REPLACING THE SWITCH AND THE ORIGINAL SWITCH ISN'T AVAILABLE. THE REPLACEMENT IS A NEWER VERSION AND COMES WITH A "JUMPER WIRE" AND A NEW KICK PANEL COVER, WHICH IS APPARENTLY FOR RELOCATING THE SWITCH. AGAIN THIS HASN'T CAUSED AN ACCIDENT YET, BUT THERE MUST BE A PROBLEM THAT FORD KNOWS ABOUT IF THE REPLACEMENT IS DIFFERENT AND COMES WITH A RELOCATING KIT. EVERY TIME IT HAS HAPPENED THE TRUCK IS IN MOTION, I THOUGHT IT WAS DUE TO WHERE THE SWITCH IS LOCATED (ON THE PASSENGERS SIDE FOOT AREA INTERIOR FIRE WALL) BUT I TRIED TO MAKE IT TRIP BY KICKING MY FEET AROUND AND IT WOULDN'T TRIP THE SWITCH. THE TIMING SEEMS TO BE RANDOM, ALTHOUGH EVERY TIME IT HAS TRIPPED IT FELT HOT TO THE TOUCH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/5/2015 - WEST PLAINS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 FORD RANGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V322000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/23/2015 - COLLINS, NY
THE TRUCK IS A TOTAL RUST BUCKET THREE SETS OF WHEEL BEARINGS, FOUR SETS OF BRAKES,AIR CONDITIONER LINES,TRANSMISSION LINES ALL RUSTED OUT.FOUR WHEEL DRIVE MOTOR SHOT,LATCH ON TAILGATE BROKEN,REAR END LEAKS UPPER AND LOWER REPAIRED. AT LEST THE RADIO WOKS GREAT . I CAN SEE WHY THEY STOPPED MAKING THIS TRUCK

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/23/2015 - COLLINS, NY
THE TRUCK IS A TOTAL RUST BUCKET THREE SETS OF WHEEL BEARINGS, FOUR SETS OF BRAKES,AIR CONDITIONER LINES,TRANSMISSION LINES ALL RUSTED OUT.FOUR WHEEL DRIVE MOTOR SHOT,LATCH ON TAILGATE BROKEN,REAR END LEAKS UPPER AND LOWER REPAIRED. AT LEST THE RADIO WOKS GREAT . I CAN SEE WHY THEY STOPPED MAKING THIS TRUCK

View Details

WHEELS

9/23/2015 - COLLINS, NY
THE TRUCK IS A TOTAL RUST BUCKET THREE SETS OF WHEEL BEARINGS, FOUR SETS OF BRAKES,AIR CONDITIONER LINES,TRANSMISSION LINES ALL RUSTED OUT.FOUR WHEEL DRIVE MOTOR SHOT,LATCH ON TAILGATE BROKEN,REAR END LEAKS UPPER AND LOWER REPAIRED. AT LEST THE RADIO WOKS GREAT . I CAN SEE WHY THEY STOPPED MAKING THIS TRUCK

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds