Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC ENVOY DENALI - 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by GMC

There are 61 complaints filed for the 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (15) Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (3) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (6) Other (1) Structure (1) Visibility (1)
Engine (8) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (6) Suspension (8) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/24/2014 - BALDWIN, LA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PARKED, THE DOORS LOCKED INDEPENDENTLY AND WINDOWS WOULD NOT OPEN. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON TWO OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE AT FAILURE WAS 72,000. NW

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/4/2014 - NOVELTY, OH
WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT, MY HEADLIGHTS AND INSTRUMENT PANEL WENT OUT FOR NO APPARENT REASON. THE HIGH BEAMS DID NOT WORK EITHER. THE ONLY WAY I COULD GET LIGHTS ON WAS TO HOLD THE FLASH-TO-PASS LIGHTS ON. I STOPPED IN A PARKING LOT, TURNED OFF THE CAR AND THEN STARTED IT AGAIN AND THE LIGHTS CAME BACK ON BUT WENT OUT AGAIN AFTER I STARTED DRIVING. I STOPPED AGAIN AND THE LIGHTS WORKED FINE FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS BUT I EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM ON 11/3/2014.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/31/2014 - EAST MOLINE, IL
WHILE DRIVING AT DUSK, AND NIGHT, MY HEADLIGHTS JUST GO OFF FOR NO APPARENT REASON. THE LIGHTS SOMETIMES WILL NOT WORK FOR MANY DAYS IN A ROW, MAKING IT NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT. THEN THEY START WORKING AGAIN. THIS HAS CAUSED SAFETY CONCERNS AND DIFFICULTY IN HAVING SAFE NIGHT TRANSPORTATION. THIS PROBLEM USUALLY STARTS AFTER RAIN OR SNOW.

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2014 - ARROYO GRANDE, CA
ENGINE STALLED A FEW SECONDS AFTER STARTING, THEN WOULD NOT CRANK, ONLY CLICKED. I HAD THE CAR TOWED IN FOR SERVICE. TECHNICIAN CHECKED BATTERY. IT WAS FULLY CHARGED AND VEHICLE HAD FULL VOLTAGE. DIAGNOSTICS DETERMINED LOW VOLTAGE OUT FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. RECOMMENDED IGNITION SWITCH SHOULD BE REPLACED. I HAD THE IGNITION SWITCH REPLACED TWICE ALREADY. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THREE IGNITION SWITCHES IN THREE YEARS AT A TOTAL COST OF $817. I UNDERSTAND THAT GM HAS RECALLED IGNITION SWITCHES ON SEVERAL MODELS BUT THE ENVOY IS NOT PART OF THAT RECALL. OBVIOUSLY MY VEHICLE HAS THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE RECALLED VEHICLES, WHY IS IT NOT PART OF THE RECALL? THE FIRST IGNITION SWITCH FAILED AT 65-70 MPH ON THE FREEWAY. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. SINCE THE REST OF THE ELECTRONICS ARE CONNECTED TO THE IGNITION I HAVE NO SAFETY EQUIPMENT SUCH AS AIR BAGS. IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2014 - ARROYO GRANDE, CA
ENGINE STALLED A FEW SECONDS AFTER STARTING, THEN WOULD NOT CRANK, ONLY CLICKED. I HAD THE CAR TOWED IN FOR SERVICE. TECHNICIAN CHECKED BATTERY. IT WAS FULLY CHARGED AND VEHICLE HAD FULL VOLTAGE. DIAGNOSTICS DETERMINED LOW VOLTAGE OUT FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. RECOMMENDED IGNITION SWITCH SHOULD BE REPLACED. I HAD THE IGNITION SWITCH REPLACED TWICE ALREADY. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THREE IGNITION SWITCHES IN THREE YEARS AT A TOTAL COST OF $817. I UNDERSTAND THAT GM HAS RECALLED IGNITION SWITCHES ON SEVERAL MODELS BUT THE ENVOY IS NOT PART OF THAT RECALL. OBVIOUSLY MY VEHICLE HAS THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE RECALLED VEHICLES, WHY IS IT NOT PART OF THE RECALL? THE FIRST IGNITION SWITCH FAILED AT 65-70 MPH ON THE FREEWAY. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. SINCE THE REST OF THE ELECTRONICS ARE CONNECTED TO THE IGNITION I HAVE NO SAFETY EQUIPMENT SUCH AS AIR BAGS. IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2014 - ARROYO GRANDE, CA
ENGINE WOULDN'T CRANK AT TIMES. STARTS NORMALLY WHEN IT DOES. AFTER ABOUT A WEEK OF HAVING THIS PROBLEM I TOOK A THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE. DIAGNOSTICS DETERMINED THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS BAD AND SHOULD BE REPLACED. I HAD THE IGNITION SWITCH REPLACED 14 MONTHS AND 6070 MILES PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT. THEY REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE PART WAS UNDER WARRANTY BUT DIAGNOSTICS AND LABOR WAS $220. THE FIRST IGNITION SWITCH FAILED AT 65-70 MPH ON THE FREEWAY. I UNDERSTAND THAT GM HAS RECALLED IGNITION SWITCHES ON SEVERAL MODELS BUT THE ENVOY IS NOT PART OF THAT RECALL. OBVIOUSLY MY VEHICLE HAS THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE RECALLED VEHICLES, WHY IS IT NOT PART OF THE RECALL? THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. SINCE THE REST OF THE ELECTRONICS ARE CONNECTED TO THE IGNITION I HAVE NO SAFETY EQUIPMENT SUCH AS AIR BAGS. IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2014 - ARROYO GRANDE, CA
ENGINE WOULDN'T CRANK AT TIMES. STARTS NORMALLY WHEN IT DOES. AFTER ABOUT A WEEK OF HAVING THIS PROBLEM I TOOK A THE CAR IN FOR SERVICE. DIAGNOSTICS DETERMINED THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS BAD AND SHOULD BE REPLACED. I HAD THE IGNITION SWITCH REPLACED 14 MONTHS AND 6070 MILES PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT. THEY REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE PART WAS UNDER WARRANTY BUT DIAGNOSTICS AND LABOR WAS $220. THE FIRST IGNITION SWITCH FAILED AT 65-70 MPH ON THE FREEWAY. I UNDERSTAND THAT GM HAS RECALLED IGNITION SWITCHES ON SEVERAL MODELS BUT THE ENVOY IS NOT PART OF THAT RECALL. OBVIOUSLY MY VEHICLE HAS THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE RECALLED VEHICLES, WHY IS IT NOT PART OF THE RECALL? THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. SINCE THE REST OF THE ELECTRONICS ARE CONNECTED TO THE IGNITION I HAVE NO SAFETY EQUIPMENT SUCH AS AIR BAGS. IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT, IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2014 - ARROYO GRANDE, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AT 65-70 MPH. THE ENGINE LUGGED A LITTLE LIKE IT WAS RUNNING OUT OF GAS BUT THE TANK WAS HALF FULL. THE ENGINE RESUMED RUNNING AT FULL SPEED. A FEW SECONDS LATER THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. I WAS ABLE TO COAST LONG ENOUGH TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY. BUT WITHOUT POWER STEERING AND BRAKES THIS WAS NOT AN EASY TASK. ONCE THE CAR STOPPED I TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK. I TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR BUT NOTHING HAPPENED. I CALLED A TOW TRUCK BUT THE DRIVER COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO PUT IT ON THE CAR CARRIER BECAUSE THE SHIFTER IS TIED TO THE ELECTRONICS. WITHOUT POWER IT DOES NOT WORK. HE HAD TO CALL FOR ANOTHER TOW TRUCK TO PULL THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE. THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN TESTED AND FOUND LOW VOLTAGE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. HE REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH. DIAGNOSTICS, PART AND LABOR $307. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. IF I WAS NOT ABLE TO MOVE OUT OF TRAFFIC I WOULD HAVE BEEN A SITTING DUCK IN THE MIDDLE IF THE FREEWAY. SINCE THE REST OF THE ELECTRONICS ARE CONNECTED TO THE IGNITION I HAD NO SAFETY EQUIPMENT SUCH AS AIR BAGS. IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT AT FREEWAY SPEEDS, IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2014 - ARROYO GRANDE, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AT 65-70 MPH. THE ENGINE LUGGED A LITTLE LIKE IT WAS RUNNING OUT OF GAS BUT THE TANK WAS HALF FULL. THE ENGINE RESUMED RUNNING AT FULL SPEED. A FEW SECONDS LATER THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. I WAS ABLE TO COAST LONG ENOUGH TO PULL OFF THE FREEWAY. BUT WITHOUT POWER STEERING AND BRAKES THIS WAS NOT AN EASY TASK. ONCE THE CAR STOPPED I TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK. I TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR BUT NOTHING HAPPENED. I CALLED A TOW TRUCK BUT THE DRIVER COULD NOT GET THE CAR TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL IN ORDER TO PUT IT ON THE CAR CARRIER BECAUSE THE SHIFTER IS TIED TO THE ELECTRONICS. WITHOUT POWER IT DOES NOT WORK. HE HAD TO CALL FOR ANOTHER TOW TRUCK TO PULL THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE. THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN TESTED AND FOUND LOW VOLTAGE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. HE REPLACED THE IGNITION SWITCH. DIAGNOSTICS, PART AND LABOR $307. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. IF I WAS NOT ABLE TO MOVE OUT OF TRAFFIC I WOULD HAVE BEEN A SITTING DUCK IN THE MIDDLE IF THE FREEWAY. SINCE THE REST OF THE ELECTRONICS ARE CONNECTED TO THE IGNITION I HAD NO SAFETY EQUIPMENT SUCH AS AIR BAGS. IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT AT FREEWAY SPEEDS, IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/3/2014 - COUNTRY CLUB, MO
DRIVING AT 20 MILES AN HOUR AND HEAR A CRACKLING NOISE IN DRIVER DOOR PANEL. WINDOW ROLLED UP ON IT'S OWN, SIDE MIRRORS BEGAN TO READJUST THEMSELVES AND HEATED SEAT CAME ON. WHEN NOISE QUIT I HAD LOST ALL CONTROL OF PANEL CONTROLS. CALLED GM DEALER TO GET IT IN FOR THE RECALL ON MASTER SWITCH AND WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO PARTS OR REMEDY FROM GM AS OF YET. RECALL CAME OUT A COUPLE MONTHS AGO. CALLED ANOTHER DEALER AND TOLD THE SAME THING. I CALLED DIRECT TO GM AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO SOLUTION AT THIS TIME. I HAD NO WINDOW CONTROL, CAR WILL NOT LOCK, SIDE MIRRORS POINTED DOWN TO GROUND SO I CAN'T USE THEM. I CALLED BACK AND ASKED WHY A RECALL WAS ISSUED WHEN THERE WERE NO REPLACEMENT PARTS ON A SAFETY ISSUE SUCH AS THIS. KIDS CAN OPEN DOORS, CAN'T CHANGE LANES ON HIGHWAY DO TO MIRRORS AND CAN'T USE WINDOWS. AS I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CRACKLING CAME BACK AND SEAT REHEATED, MIRRORS REPOSITIONED, AND WINDOW TRIES TO GO DOWN. I CALLED AGAIN AND WAS TOLD I COULD SET AN APPOINTMENT AND WOULD HAVE TO PAY UP FRONT AND THEN GET REIMBURSED FROM GM. I TOLD THEM I WOULD NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. THEY WOULD REVIEW AND GET BACK WITH ME IN 24-48 HOURS. NOTHING SO FAR.THIS MORNING WHILE DRIVING IN THE DARK THE NOISE STARTED AGAIN AND I LOST MY HEADLIGHTS, BLACK, NOTHING. SITTING AT A STOP SIGN TODAY, CAR RUNNING AND IN DRIVE, I LOST ALL DASH PANEL GAUGES FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS. CAR STILL RAN AND EVERYTHIG CAME BACK. FEARFUL OF A WRECK AND HAVING KIDS IN THE CAR WITH NO SAFETY LOCKS. I CAN'T MANUALLY LOCK HATCH SO I AM AT RISK OF AN EASY BREAK IN AND I AM IN THE MEDICAL FIELD AND TRAVEL WITH SUPPLIES THAT MUST BE LOCKED UP. NEVER BY ANOTHER GMC SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE!!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds