Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC ENVOY DENALI - 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by GMC

There are 71 complaints filed for the 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (6) Other (1) Structure (1) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Power Train (7) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Other (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/15/2016 - EVERETT, WA
FAILURE OF THE DOD LIFTER, ALSO KNOWN AS THE ACTIVE FUEL MANAGEMENT SYSTEM. WHILE AT SPEED ON THE FREEWAY, THE DOD LIFTER ON CYLINDER #7 FAILED CAUSING A MISFIRE ON THE CYLINDER WHICH CAUSED TEH ENGINE TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY. THIS IS THE 2ND FAILURE OF A DOD LIFTER ON MY TRUCK. IN NOV 2014, A DOD LIFTER ON CYLINDER #6 FAILED, CAUSING A ENGINE MISFIRE AND A VIOLENT SHAKE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS DETERMINED TO BE LACK OF OIL PRESSURIZE THE DOD LIFTER. UPON DECIDING TO REBUILD THE MOTOR RATHER THAN REPLACING THE MOTOR, WE DECIDED TO REPLACE ALL INTERNAL COMPONENTS OF THE MOTOR SIMPLY BECAUSE THE MOTOR WOULD NEED A FULL TEAR DOWN ANYWAY. THE LIFTERS, OIL PRESSURE SOLENOIDS OF THE DOD LIFTERS, ROCKERS, ROCKER ARMS, SPRINGS AND CAMSHAFT WERE ALL REPLACED THINKING THAT WE MIGHT AS WELL REBUILD THE BLOCK WITH NEW COMPONENTS TO SAVE OFF ANY FUTURE ISSUES. AFTER 1 MONTH IN THE GMC SERVICE CENTER, THE VEHICLE WAS BACK ON THE ROAD IN DEC 2014. THIS REPAIR WAS $5,900.00 IN MARCH 2016, YES 14 MONTHS LATER, A 2ND FAILURE OF A DOD LIFTER OCCURRED ON CYLINDER #7. THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME ISSUES AS IN NOV 2014. THIS FAILURE OCCURRED ON THE REBUILT MOTOR ON NEW COMPONENTS INSTALLED IN NOV 2014. THIS REPAIR WILL COST $2500 JUST TO REPLACE THE 1 LIFTER. NO OTHER COMPONENTS. THIS LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THAT A THE DOD FAILURE IS MORE COMMON AND IS A DESIGN FLAW OF THE ACTIVE FUEL MANAGEMENT SYSTEM. THIS ISSUE IS MORE THAN A TSB ISSUE, IT SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/4/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I HAVE HAD 4 BATTERY AND LIGHTS FLASH AND HARD DRAW ON ALT HAVE REPLACED ALT WITH NEW DELCO NEW LIGHTS STILL FLASH DRAWS LIGHTS DOWN. BEEN TO DEALER DEALER FROM2008 TO NOW AND THEY TELL ME I DON'T DRIVE VERY NEED TO DRIVE MORE CARE HAS 40"000 MILES THEY CAN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. YOU CAN DRIVE OR BE SETTING RUNNING STILL DOES THIS IT PULL DOWN ON ENGINE PULLS ALT GOES TO12 VOLTS THEN GOES ON

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/27/2016 - HELLERTOWN, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 GMC ENVOY DENALI. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V755000 (VISIBILITY) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 03/09/16

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/9/2016 - BOSSIER CITY, LA
FIRST OFF MY ELECTRICAL PANEL IN MY STEERING WHEEL NONE OF THE LIGHTS ARE ON AND WITH MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS SOME TIME THEY WILL COME AND WHEN IT START TO RAIN AND THEY WILL STOP WORKING THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE I NEVER KNOW WHEN THEY GOING TO WORK OR NOT DRIVING LIKE THIS CAN BE A DEATH TRAP, THIS BEEN GOING FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS I TOLD THEM AFTER THE RECALL FOR MY DOOR PANEL THEY SAID IT MIGHT BE RECALL FOR THIS AS WELL NOTHING YET.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/9/2016 - BOSSIER CITY, LA
FIRST OFF MY ELECTRICAL PANEL IN MY STEERING WHEEL NONE OF THE LIGHTS ARE ON AND WITH MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS SOME TIME THEY WILL COME AND WHEN IT START TO RAIN AND THEY WILL STOP WORKING THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE I NEVER KNOW WHEN THEY GOING TO WORK OR NOT DRIVING LIKE THIS CAN BE A DEATH TRAP, THIS BEEN GOING FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS I TOLD THEM AFTER THE RECALL FOR MY DOOR PANEL THEY SAID IT MIGHT BE RECALL FOR THIS AS WELL NOTHING YET.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/8/2015 - WARWICK, RI
2 PROBLEMS WITH MY 06 ENVOY DENALI. MY BATTERY DIED AND AFTER JUMPING THE VEHICLE, ALL FRONT VENTS WILL NO LONGER BLOW AIR FROM THEM. ONLY TOP AND FLOOR WORK!. ALSO MYSTERIOUSLY DISAPPEARING OIL. APPARENTLY FAULTY PVC VALVE COVER NOW CAUSED ENGINES DAMAGED. NEEDS REPLACING AT $6700!!! THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A RECALL! NOW I'M STUCK WITH A VEHICLE I CANT DRIVE OR FIX AND STILL OWE 11,900 ON IT. OWNED IT 9MOS! WARRANTY DOESN'T WANT TO COVER THIS ISSUE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/27/2015 - WHITEFISH, MI
TOOK VEHICLE IN FOR BATTERY CHANGE, AFTER RECEIVING VEHICLE BACK, NOTICED THAT DASH VENTS WOULD NOT OPERATE, DEFROSTERS AND FLOOR VENTS STILL WORK, CONTACTED GM- THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THERE MIGHT BE A PROBLEM WITH BLEND DOOR ACTUATOR, BUT NEEDED TO SEE VEHICLE FOR REPAIRS, ESTIMATED COST- $1000.00. DID ONLINE CHECKING, THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM WITH GM DAMPER MOTORS FAILING, OFTEN AFTER BATTERY CHANGE. ONLY SOLUTION IS CHANGE DAMPER MOTOR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/27/2015 - WHITEFISH, MI
WHILE ATTEMPTING A FULL STOP AFTER PULLING INTO PARKING LOT, VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP, ABS CAME ON AND PREVENTED ENVOY FROM REACHING FULL STOP. HAD TO PUT VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AND USE E-BRAKE. OCCURRED 4 MORE TIMES BEFORE I COULD TAKE FOR SERVICE. MECHANIC DIAGNOSED ISSUE WITH ABS SENSORS, ALTHOUGH SENSORS DID NOT REPORT AS FAULTY. ONLINE RESEARCH INDICATES THIS WAS A COMMON GM FAILURE FROM 02-08 IN TRUCKS IN AREAS WHERE SALT/SNOW IS PREVALENT. REMEDY WAS DISABLE TRACTION CONTROL AND ABS, CANT AFFORD TO REPLACE FRONT BEARINGS AND REAR SENSORS. PROBLEM ONLY OCCURS INTERMITTENTLY, AND ONLY WHEN ATTEMPTING STOP FROM LOW INITIAL SPEEDS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/27/2015 - WHITEFISH, MI
WHILE ATTEMPTING A FULL STOP AFTER PULLING INTO PARKING LOT, VEHICLE WOULD NOT STOP, ABS CAME ON AND PREVENTED ENVOY FROM REACHING FULL STOP. HAD TO PUT VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AND USE E-BRAKE. OCCURRED 4 MORE TIMES BEFORE I COULD TAKE FOR SERVICE. MECHANIC DIAGNOSED ISSUE WITH ABS SENSORS, ALTHOUGH SENSORS DID NOT REPORT AS FAULTY. ONLINE RESEARCH INDICATES THIS WAS A COMMON GM FAILURE FROM 02-08 IN TRUCKS IN AREAS WHERE SALT/SNOW IS PREVALENT. REMEDY WAS DISABLE TRACTION CONTROL AND ABS, CANT AFFORD TO REPLACE FRONT BEARINGS AND REAR SENSORS. PROBLEM ONLY OCCURS INTERMITTENTLY, AND ONLY WHEN ATTEMPTING STOP FROM LOW INITIAL SPEEDS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/19/2015 - CAMARILLO, CA
ENGINE SUDDENLY STOPPED RUNNING, PLACED SHIFT LEVER TO PARK POSITION. ENGINE WOULD NOT RESTART. TRANSMISSION WAS NOW LOCKED IN PARK, CAUSING INABILITY TO PUSH VEHICLE TO SAFETY. REPAIR BY GMC DEALER INVOLVED REPAIRING ELECTRICAL SHORT IN FACTORY WIRING UNDER DASHBOARD AT THE FIREWALL, IN THE AREA OF THE BRAKE BOOSTER MOUNT. APPARENT CAUSE IS IMPROPER ROUTING OF WIRING AT TIME OF VEHICLE MFR, CAUSING ABRASION OF WIRING OVER TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds