Auto Recalls for Consumers

HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI - 2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by HARLEY DAVIDSON

There are 13 complaints filed for the 2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Structure (1) Tires (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

9/20/2010 - BOCA RATON, FL
MY 2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON ULTRA CLASSIC FRONT BRAKE LINE FAILED. THE MOTORCYCLE HAS 8,2XX MILES. I SQUEEZED THE FRONT BRAKE LEVER AS I WAS STARTING THE BIKE AND FELT THE LEVER FULLY DEPRESS. I SAW BRAKE FLUID SQUIRT ON THE BIKE AND ONTO MY LEG. MY MECHANIC SAYS HE HAS HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM FROM OTHER MECHANICS. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/4/2010 - LYNN HAVEN, FL
FAILURE HAS NOT OCCURED ON MY BIKE HOWEVER NUMEROUS REPORTS FROM OTHERS AND DEALER RECOMMENDATION TO HAVE CAM CHAIN TENSIONERS CHECKED BECAUSE AS I WAS TOLD, IT IS NOT A QUESTION OF WHETHER BUT WHEN THEY WILL FAIL. FAILURE RESULTS IN IMMEDIATE LOSS OF POWER WHICH UNDER HIGHWAY CONDITIONS, FOR EXAMPLE WOULD LEAD TO DECELERATION, AS IN PASSING OR MERGING ONTO A FREEWAY. CONSEQUENTLY, PROBABILITY IS HIGH THAT COLLISION WILL OCCUR RESULTING IN DEATH OR SEVERE INJURY TO THE RIDER. THUS IT APPEARS TO BE A SAFETY ISSUE BUT IT IS NOT BEING ADDRESSED AS SUCH AND UNLESS AN OWNER OF A TWIN CAM 88 BIKE IS AWARE OF THE POTENTIAL FOR DISASTER, THE DEALERS NOR THE HOME OFFICE HAVE NOTIFIED HARLEY OWNERS TO MY KNOWLEDGE. THIS HAS BEEN A KNOWN DIFFICULTY FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND IF YOU ARE FORTUNATE TO HAVE AVOIDED A CRASH AND GOTTEN YOUR BIKE TO A DEALER FOR UPGRADED TENSIONERS IT STILL REMAINS THAT WE OWNERS HAVE BEEN LEFT HANGING WITHOUT INFORMATION UNLESS WE CALL AND THEN ARE SADDLED WITH A HIGH COST TO REPAIR WHAT IS A MANUFACTURERS DEFECT KNOWN TO THE MANUFACTURER. AS FAILURE HAS NOT OCCURED I HAD TO SUBMIT NUMBERS IN REQUIRED FIELDS IN ORDER TO GET THE COMPLAINT STATED. I APPOLOGIZE FOR THE DISPARITY BUT WANT YOU TO BE INFORMED. I INTEND TO CONTACT THE COMPANY AND REQUEST SATISFACTION FOR MYSELF AND OTHER RIDER/OWNERS BEFORE DEATHS OCCUR. SOME MAY HAVE ALREADY BUT BEEN FILED AS UNKOWN CAUSE OR RIDER ERROR OR SOME OTHER FICTION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/21/2010 - PARMA, ID
2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI. BROKEN UPPER FAIRING MOUNTS. FAILURE OF THESE MOUNTS (BREAKING AT ONE OR BOTH ENDS ON BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT SIDE OF INNER FAIRING) RESULTS IN CATASTROPHIC VIBRATION CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL. I HAVE JUST EXPERIENCED THIS PERSONALLY AND I CAN ATTEST THAT HUNDREDS OF OTHERS INVOLVING SEVERAL OTHER YEAR MODELS HAVE BEEN REPORTED IN ONLINE HARLEY DAVIDSON WEBSITES. HARLEY DAVIDSON CORPORATE ADMITS TO NO MANUFACTURING FAULT, YET IT HAS REDESIGNED THESE MOUNTS AND NOW EMPLOYS A MUCH HEAVIER VERSION FOR LATER YEARS. THIS FAIRING MOUNT FAILURE IS PRESENT ON ANY HARLEY DAVIDSON MODEL INCORPORATING A FAIRING. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT YEAR HD WENT TO THE STRONGER MOUNTS BUT HD HAS NEVER OFFERED REPLACEMENTS TO THOSE WITH A KNOWN PROBLEM. I BELIEVE I CAN FAIRLY SAY THAT ALL FAIRING EQUIPPED HD MODELS USING THE OLD-STYLE MOUNTS HAVE HAD FAIRING MOUNTS BREAK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

8/12/2008 - LEONA VALLEY, CA
BRAKE LINE WAS FOUND TO BE CHAFFED FROM RUBBING ON THE CLUTCH LINE WHICH IS BUNDLE TOGETHER. THIS RESULTED IN A APPROXIMATELY 1/8" HOLE IN THE BRAKE LINE. FOUND WHEN CHANGING THE BRAKES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

7/15/2008 - DELAND , FL
INNER CAM BEARING FAILED ON MY 2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON ULTRA CLASSIC. THE MOTOR HAD TO BE COMPLETELY REBUILT INCLUDING NEW BEARINGS, OIL PUMP, CAMSHAFTS. CAM COVER AND ALL GASKETS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

2/28/2008 - LACROSSE, WI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LINING OF THE BRAKE PAD FELL OFF AFTER IT RUSTED. WHILE DRIVING 4 MPH, THE FRONT BRAKE LEVER EXTENDED COMPLETELY DOWN AND THE CONTACT HAD TO USE THE REAR BRAKES TO STOP. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A REPAIR SHOP AND HAD THEM REPLACE THE SHOES IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE FAILURE. HARLEY DAVIDSON HAS NOT BEEN NOTIFIED. THE PURCHASE DATE AND ENGINE SIZE WERE UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 29,680 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,140. UPDATED 03/18/08. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BRAKE PAD WAS FALLING APART. UPDATED 03/18/08

View Details

TIRES

8/9/2007 - KINGWOOD, TX
I AM WRITING ABOUT A BRAND NEW DUNLOP D402 MU85B16 SW TIRE I BOUGHT FOR MY 2006 (HARLEY DAVIDSON) FLHTCUI IN PREPARATION FOR A NEARLY 3700 MILE ROAD TRIP. THE TRIP WENT JUST FINE, FOR ABOUT THE FIRST 450 MILES. AT THAT POINT THE TIRE, WHICH HAD LESS THAN 500 MILES TOTAL USE, SELF- DESTRUCTIVE. THE TIRE TREAD SEPARATED FROM THE INNER CORE ( PHOTOGRAPHS CAN BE PROVIDED). THE RUBBER TREAD ?FLAPPING? AGAINST THE WIRING HARNESS UNDER THE REAR FENDER ENTIRELY SEVERED THE WIRING. BY SEVERING THE WIRING HARNESS, OF COURSE, THE TAIL LIGHTS, BRAKE LIGHTS AND INSTRUMENT PANEL (SPEEDOMETER, TACHOMETER AND ODOMETER) WERE DISABLED. THE DUNLOP TIRE REPRESENTATIVE WOULD NOT ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILITY SINCE WE DID NOT SHIP THE TIRE TO THEM TO DETERMINE IF THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO MATERIAL AND/OR WORKMANSHIP. I AM WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THERE IS ANY RECOURSE FOR BUYING A TIRE THAT SELF-DESTRUCTS. WE ARE FORTUNATE THAT THE TIRE DID NOT BLOW OUT WHEN THE TREAD SEPARATED. CONSIDERING THE TREAD SEPARATION OCCURRED ON AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY, THE CONSEQUENCES OF A BLOWOUT COULD HAVE BEEN SEVERE INJURY OR DEATH TO EITHER MYSELF, MY WIFE (WHO WAS A PASSENGER), OR BOTH.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

12/8/2006 - MIDDLETOWN, CT
I WAS PREPARING TO STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT ON MY 2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI WHEN MY FRONT BRAKE LEVER LOST ALL FEELING AND MOVED TO THE HANDLE BAR. FURTHER INVESTIGATION REVEALED THE BRAKE MATERIAL HAD SEPARATED FROM THE BACKING PLATE. NOW, I HAVE HAD A SECOND BRAKE PAD, ON THE REAR BRAKE DO THE SAME WITH THE BRAKE MATERIAL SEPARATING FROM THE BACKING PLATE. NEITHER SET OF BRAKES WAS BELOW THE WEAR LIMIT. THIS TYPE OF INCIDENT COULD VERY EASILY RESULT IN A CATASTROPHIC DEATH OR INJURY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM

10/16/2006 - DALLAS, TX
MOTOR STUMBLES, COUGHS, DIES FOR NO REASON. MOTORCYCLE DIES WHEN TURNING AND FALL OVER ON MY LEG CAUSING INJURY. HARLEY DAVIDSON DEALER SAYS CANT FIND PROBLEM.

View Details

TIRES: BEAD

9/21/2006 - YOUNGSTOWN, OH
THE CONSUMER LOST CONTROL OF HIS 2006 HARLEY DAVIDSON ULTRA CLASSIC WHEN THE REAR TIRE WENT FLAT. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO FISHTAIL AND CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE WALL. THE VEHICLE'S LEFT HEADLIGHT, LEFT FRONT PEGS, SEAT, LEFT DRY BOX, LEFT SIDE AND HANDLE BAR WERE DAMAGED.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds