Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2006 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 379 complaints filed for the 2006 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (108) Equipment (10) Other (4) Service Brakes Electric (2) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (11) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (41) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electrical System (36) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (41) Steering (39) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (5) Structure (18) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (18) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (9) Tires (15)

Pages:  
<<  30  31  32  33  34  35  36 
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

8/31/2006 - AUSTIN, TX
LOW SPEED PARKING LOT ACCIDENT, AIR BAG DEPLOYED. PROPELLANT WAS NOT PROPERLY VENTED AND CAUSED 2ND DEGREE BURNS FROM THE THUMB TO THE ELBOW. *

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

8/30/2006 - RENO, NV
DRIVING OUR 2 MONTH OLD 2006 HONDA ACCORD SEDAN EX SPECIAL EDITION ON A STRETCH OF SMOOTH ROAD THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING LOST AIR. WE HAD NOT SEEN ANYTHING IN ROAD, HIT A POTHOLE OR CURB OR ANYTHING ELSE. THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT ANYTHING INFLUENCED THE TIRE TO BLOW. UPON INSPECTION OF THE TIRE A 1.5 INCH HOLE WAS IN THE SIDEWALL. THERE WAS NOTHING IN THE ROAD THAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THIS EVENT. FORTUNATELY, WE WERE ABLE TO PULL OFF THE ROAD OUT OF TRAFFIC AND CHANGE THE TIRE WITHOUT FURTHER COMPLICATIONS. TWO MICHELIN AUTHORIZED TIRE COMPANIES TOLD ME THAT WE MUST HAVE HIT SOMETHING THAT CAUSED THE PUNCTURE AND THAT MICHELIN WOULD NOT OFFER ANY WARRANTY ON THE TIRE. I WAS STUNNED THAT THIS COULD BE POSSIBLE ON A 2 MONTH OLD TIRE WITH LESS THAN TWO THOUSAND MILES ON IT AND WITHOUT ANY IDENTIFIABLE EVENT THAT MIGHT HAVE CAUSED THE TIRE TO FAIL. I AM VERY PLEASED THAT THERE WAS NO RESULTING CRASH BUT I AM NOT HAPPY THAT I HAD TO SPEND ALMOST $200.00 TO REPLACE A TIRE ON MY NEW CAR WHEN I BELIEVE THERE WAS NOT ANY WAY I COULD HAVE AVOIDED IT. IF I HAD HIT A POTHOLE, CURB OR ANYTHING, IF THERE WAS EVIDENCE OF SOMETHING IN THE ROAD OR EVEN IF I HAD BEEN DRIVING AGGRESSIVELY I COULD UNDERSTAND IT, BUT THERE IS NO REASON IN MY MIND THAT THIS TIRE SHOULD HAVE FAILED NOR SHOULD I HAVE HAD TO PURCHASE A REPLACEMENT. I AM NOW CONCERNED ABOUT THE OTHER 9 MICHELIN TIRES ON OUR HONDAS ( WE PURCHASED TWO ACCORDS IN JULY) AND OUR SAFETY WHILE DRIVING THE CARS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: GAS RECIRCULATION VALVE (EGR VALVE)

7/29/2006 - PAWLING, NY
IT WAS FIRST THING IN THE MORNING , HAD DRIVEN IT LATE THE PREVIOUS EVENING. THE ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON , THE CAR BUCKED WHEN I TRIED TO ACCELERATE . I DROVE TO THE DEALERSHIP. ASKED ME IF I "TOPPED OFF" AT THE GAS STATION. I DID IN FACT TOP OFF THE LAST FILL UP. I WAS TOLD THAT COULD MAKE THE ENGINE LIGHT GO ON. NOW I HAVE A RENT A CAR. THEY NEED TO ORDER A NEW PART. V TEC. I HAVE ALWAYS TOPPED OFF AT THE GAS STATION. I SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD OR WARNED NOT TO DO THAT WITH THE NEW HONDA'S IF IN FACT THAT IS THE REASON FOR THIS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/27/2006 - COGAN STATION, PA
: THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING DOWN A RAMP THE AIRBAG ON THE PASSENGER SIDE DEPLOYED WITHOUT CAUSE. THERE WAS NO PRE-INCIDENT BRAKING AND THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT DID NOT ILLUMINATE. THERE WAS NO POLICE REPORT FILED, PICTURES TAKEN OR REPAIR INVOICES AVAILABLE. THE DEALERSHIP RETAINED THE VEHICLE FOR 7 WEEKS AND COULD NOT DETERMINE THE PROBLEM HOWEVER THE CEILING, AIRBAG, AND THE SEAT WERE REPLACED.

View Details

VISIBILITY: REARVIEW MIRRORS/DEVICES: INTERIOR

6/5/2006 - HAVERTOWN, PA
DURING HOT WEATHER THE MIRROR SECTION OF THE INSIDE REAR VIEW MIRROR BECAME LOOSE AND BEGAN TO VIBRATE, I PUSHED ON THE MIRROR SECTION AND IT MOVED BACK AND FORTH IN THE PLASTIC HOUSING. IT BECAME VERY DISTRACTING WHILE DRIVING, AND ALSO THE VEHICLES I COULD SEE IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR WERE DISTORTED AND NOT CLEARLY SEEN. I TOLD THE DEALER, THEY IN TURN CALLED THE ENGINEERS, WHO TOLD MY SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THEY KNOW ABOUT THE PROBLEM, TO FIX THE PROBLEM THE DEALER SAID THEY HAVE TO INSTALL SOME SPACING MATERIAL TO STOP THE MIRROR FROM VIBRATING. THE ENGINEERS SAID HEAT CAUSE THE SPACER HOLDING THE MIRROR EXPANDS DUE TO EXCESSIVE HEAT.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: ANCHORAGE

5/10/2006 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
FROM WHAT I CAN TELL THIS IS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE. JUST BOUGHT 2006 ACCORD SE MID APRIL TAKING DELIVERY A WEEK LATER. RETURNED THE VEHICLE TODAY AFTER LONG TRIP TO BORDERING STATE IN WHICH THE CONNECTION AT THE DOOR PANEL OF THE SHOULDER SAFETY BELT RATTLES RIGHT INTO THE DRIVERS LEFT EAR. HAD THIS TRIP BEEN TAKEN WITHIN THE 5 DAY PERIOD AFTER TAKING DELIVERY AND BEEN TOLD IT WAS SOMETHING WHICH COULD NOT BE FIXED, IT WOULD HAVE BEEN RETURNED TO THE DEALER FOR RETURN OF OUR 99 ACURA. NOW I HAVE A BRAND NEW CAR WITH RATTLE AT MY LEFT EAR AND MOST UNHAPPY. I LOVE DRIVING AND THIS TAKES AWAY DRIVING PLEASURE. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST HONDA WE HAVE OWNED BUT MAY WELL BE THE LAST! WE HAVE PRAISED THE HONDA PRODUCTS WHEN ASKED ABOUT OUR THOUGHTS AND FEELINGS ON HONDAS, AS HUSBAND HAD ACURA WHICH WAS TRADED IN FOR THIS VEHICLE. WAS ALSO TOLD THIS IS COMMON PROBLEM AND HAS BEEN FOR A FEW YEARS. WE HAD 87 CIVIC, 90 ACCORD SE, 99 ACURA, AND 97 ACCORD SE. THIS IS FIRST TIME WE HAVE HAD A PROBLEM THAT WAS NOT FIXED!!!! HAD THE FEELING SINCE DOES NOT AFFECT HOW THE CAR RUNS OR SAFETY FACTOR, IT IS NOTHING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

4/8/2006 - LEBANON, NJ
I PURCHASED A NEW 2006 ACCORD AND TOOK DELIVERY ON MARCH 29, 2006 FROM CLINTON HONDA, CLINTON, NJ. WITHIN ONE DAY AFTER DELIVERY I NOTICED A THUMPING SOUND AND VIBRATION FROM THE FRONT OF THE CAR DURING HARD BRAKING. I MADE A SERVICE APPOINTMENT AT THE EARLIEST AVAILABLE DATE AT THE DEALERSHIP. ON FRIDAY, APRIL 7, 2006 THE SERVICE MANAGER, MR. WILLIAM WILSON, INFORMED ME THAT THE FRONT BRAKE ROTORS WERE SLIGHTLY WARPED AND GLAZED AND THAT HONDA WOULD RESURFACE THE ROTORS UNDER WARRANTY. MR. WILSON INFORMED ME THAT IT IS HONDA POLICY TO RESURFACE BRAKE ROTORS ONCE UNDER WARRANTY. I ASKED HONDA TO REPLACE THE FRONT ROTORS BUT THEY HAVE REFUSED. BRAND NEW ROTORS SHOULD NOT BE WARPED AND GLAZED, THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. HONDA SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO SELL SUCH A DEFECTIVE CAR.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

4/5/2006 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
PURCHASED A 2006 HONDA ACCORD COUPE ON MARCH 15TH 2006, WAS TRAVELING NO THE HIGHWAY WITH NO VEHICLE IN THE FRONT OF ME AND ON MARCH THE 17TH TWO DAYS AFTER PURCHASED MY SUN ROOF SHATTERED. TALKED TO THE DEALERSHIP, MANUFACTURER AND THEIR REPLY WAS ITS NOT A MANUFACTURER DEFECT THEREFORE ITS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. I HAD TO PAY $602.00 AT ANOTHER HONDA DEALERSHIP OUT OF TOWN FOR THE SUN ROOF TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

3/27/2006 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE SIXTH INCIDENT TOOK PLACE ON FRIDAY, MARCH 24, 2006. MY VEHICLE HAD BEEN DRIVEN APPROXIMATELY 3928 MILES. THE DETAILS OF THE INCIDENT WERE AS FOLLOWS: I PARKED MY VEHICLE IN THE GARAGE AT APPROXIMATELY 4:30 PM ON THURSDAY, MARCH 23, 2006. I STARTED MY VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 11:49 AM ON FRIDAY, MARCH 24, 2006, AND ALLOWED THE ENGINE TO IDLE FOR APPROXIMATELY 4 TO 5 MINUTES. I INCREASED THE RPM TO 1500 TWO TIMES FOR ONE SECOND EACH. I REVERSED AND BRAKED. MY VEHICLE STOPPED. I DROVE FORWARD UP AN INCLINE AND BRAKED. THE BRAKE PEDAL BECAME VERY HARD. I WAS UNABLE TO PUSH THE BRAKE PEDAL. MY VEHICLE ROLLED INTO THE STREET AND EVENTUALLY STOPPED. FORTUNATELY, NO PEDESTRIANS OR CARS WERE PRESENT IN THE STREET. TWO DISTRICT PARTS & SERVICE MANAGERS (DPSM) FROM AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC. TEST DROVE MY VEHICLE FOR 8 MILES AT MY RESIDENCE. THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. ACCORDING TO THE DPSM, THE BRAKING SYSTEM OPERATED AS DESIGNED. THE MEDIATION DEPARTMENT OF AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC. HAS DETERMINED THAT NO OFFERS WILL BE MADE. I HAVE DECIDED TO PROCEED WITH ARBITRATION VIA BBB AUTO LINE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

3/9/2006 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE FIFTH INCIDENT ALSO TOOK PLACE ON THURSDAY, MARCH 9, 2006. MY VEHICLE HAD BEEN DRIVEN APPROXIMATELY 3591 MILES. THE DETAILS OF THE INCIDENT WERE AS FOLLOWS: THE FIFTH INCIDENT OCCURRED A FEW MINUTES AFTER THE FOURTH INCIDENT. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE AFTER THE FOURTH INCIDENT AND TURNED RIGHT. I DROVE FORWARD ON A FLAT SURFACE AT NO MORE THAN 15 MPH. I APPROACHED A STOP SIGN. I BRAKED IN ADVANCE OF THE STOP SIGN. THE BRAKE PEDAL BECAME VERY HARD. I WAS UNABLE TO PUSH THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE CAR ROLLED INTO THE INTERSECTION AND EVENTUALLY STOPPED. FORTUNATELY, NO PEDESTRIANS OR CARS WERE PRESENT AT THE INTERSECTION. I CALLED AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC. MY CASE IS CURRENTLY BEING REVIEWED. I HAVE CALLED AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO., INC. FIVE TIMES AND I HAVE WRITTEN ONE LETTER. I HAVE ALSO OPENED A CLAIM WITH BBB AUTO LINE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  30  31  32  33  34  35  36 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds