Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2006 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 379 complaints filed for the 2006 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (108) Equipment (10) Other (4) Service Brakes Electric (2) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (3) Exterior Lighting (11) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (41) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electrical System (36) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Power Train (41) Steering (39) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (5) Structure (18) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (18) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (9) Tires (15)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/14/2016 - CHARLOTTE, NC
I HAVE BEEN IN AND REPLACED MY AIRBAG SENSORS 3 TIMES WITH THE RECALL. AFTER THE 2ND OR 3RD TIME I WAS IN FOR THE RECALL THE LINING OF THE ROOF OF MY CAR HAS COMPLETELY FALLEN IN AND MAKES IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO SEE OUT THE REAR VIEW MIRROR. I HAVE INCLUDED A PICTURE OF THE ROOF OF MY CAR AS IT LOOKS NOW. I SHOULD HAVE VIDEO OF THE TRANSITION OF EVENTS BUT I THINK MY EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE HAS CRASHED COMPLETELY. I HAVE BEEN IN TO HONDA OF CONCORD IN NORTH CAROLINA WHERE THEY HAVE TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AS FAR AS REPAIRING IT FOR FREE AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY. WHY HAS NO ONE LOOKED AT A COMPUTER GLITCH AS THE CULPRIT FOR THE AIRBAG SENSORS AUTOMATICALLY RELEASING AIR? SOMETHING HAS TO TRIGGER THE SENSOR TO START SLOWLY RELEASING AIR, AS I WAS TOLD AT HONDA OF SOUTH HILL, VIRGINIA WHERE I ORIGINALLY HAD MY SENSORS REPLACED FOR THE RECALL. AELISHA MARSH P.O. BOX 481733 CHARLOTTE, N.C. 28269 757-769-6332 [email protected]

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/5/2016 - COLUMBUS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STATIONARY, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000. UPDATED 12/21/16. UPDATED 01/31/17 UPDATED 02/02/17.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/11/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V370000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/10/2016 - SAVANNAH, GA
TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR AIR BAG RECALL, A FEW MONTHS LATER, THE SRS LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK VEHICLE BACK TO SAME DEALER THAT HAD REPLACED AIR BAG AND NOW I'M TOLD THAT THE SRS UNIT HAS GONE BAD AND NO SAFETY FEATURES (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS) WILL WORK IF I AM IN A CRASH. I CAN PAY OVER $730 TO FIX THIS UNIT. ADDITIONALLY, I AM ASKED WHEN MY BATTERY HAD DIED- WHICH IT HASN'T DIED. HOWEVER, THE ONLY TIME IN THE LAST FEW YEARS WHEN MY BATTERY WAS TOUCHED WAS WHEN THEY DISCONNECTED IT TO REPLACE THE DRIVERS RECALLED AIR BAG. THEN I'M TOLD THAT THIS MAJOR SAFETY COMPONENT IS NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY FROM HONDA AND WAS IN NO WAY CONNECTED OR EFFECTED BY THE AIR BAG REPLACEMENT THEY DID A FEW MONTHS PRIOR. I FIND THIS INCREDIBLY SUSPECT AND HAVE NOTICED OTHERS POSTING THE SAME COMPLAINT ABOUT REPLACED AIRBAGS AND SRS UNIT REPLACEMENTS. SO, EVEN AFTER THIS RECALL, I HAVE A CAR THAT ISN'T SAFE AND I FEEL THAT THIS NEW ISSUE IS A RESULT OF THE EARLIER WORK WITH THE AIRBAG REPLACEMENT. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS RELATIONSHIP TO SEE IF RECALL REPLACEMENT UNITS OR PROCEDURES ARE CAUSING THIS SRS UNIT TO MALFUNCTION. WE'RE HAVING TO PAY ALMOST $1000 TO FIX THIS AND I DON'T FEEL THAT WE'D BE IN THIS PREDICAMENT WITHOUT SOME FAULT OF HONDA OR THE TECHNICIANS AT MY LOCAL DEALER.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/10/2016 - SAVANNAH, GA
TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR AIR BAG RECALL, A FEW MONTHS LATER, THE SRS LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK VEHICLE BACK TO SAME DEALER THAT HAD REPLACED AIR BAG AND NOW I'M TOLD THAT THE SRS UNIT HAS GONE BAD AND NO SAFETY FEATURES (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS) WILL WORK IF I AM IN A CRASH. I CAN PAY OVER $730 TO FIX THIS UNIT. ADDITIONALLY, I AM ASKED WHEN MY BATTERY HAD DIED- WHICH IT HASN'T DIED. HOWEVER, THE ONLY TIME IN THE LAST FEW YEARS WHEN MY BATTERY WAS TOUCHED WAS WHEN THEY DISCONNECTED IT TO REPLACE THE DRIVERS RECALLED AIR BAG. THEN I'M TOLD THAT THIS MAJOR SAFETY COMPONENT IS NOT COVERED UNDER ANY WARRANTY FROM HONDA AND WAS IN NO WAY CONNECTED OR EFFECTED BY THE AIR BAG REPLACEMENT THEY DID A FEW MONTHS PRIOR. I FIND THIS INCREDIBLY SUSPECT AND HAVE NOTICED OTHERS POSTING THE SAME COMPLAINT ABOUT REPLACED AIRBAGS AND SRS UNIT REPLACEMENTS. SO, EVEN AFTER THIS RECALL, I HAVE A CAR THAT ISN'T SAFE AND I FEEL THAT THIS NEW ISSUE IS A RESULT OF THE EARLIER WORK WITH THE AIRBAG REPLACEMENT. PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS RELATIONSHIP TO SEE IF RECALL REPLACEMENT UNITS OR PROCEDURES ARE CAUSING THIS SRS UNIT TO MALFUNCTION. WE'RE HAVING TO PAY ALMOST $1000 TO FIX THIS AND I DON'T FEEL THAT WE'D BE IN THIS PREDICAMENT WITHOUT SOME FAULT OF HONDA OR THE TECHNICIANS AT MY LOCAL DEALER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/25/2016 - TAMPA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE BACK, NUMBNESS IN THE LEGS, TMJ, A HEADACHE, AND INJURIES TO THE NECK AND RIGHT ANKLE. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR BAG CONTROL UNIT BOLTS FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 122,888.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/7/2016 - DELUTH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, AN UNKNOWN TIRE BLEW OUT AND CAUSED THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG TO DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 160,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/5/2016 - ANN ARBOR, MI
STEERING: ON FRIDAY JULY 1, 2016, MY HONDA ACCORD V4 BEGAN TO SHUDDER AND SHAKE AS I BACKED OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY. I STOPPED AND TURNED OFF THE CAR. AFTER A SHORT WAIT, I RESTARTED THE CAR AND PROCEEDED TO BACK OUT ONTO THE STREET, BUT THE SHAKING OF THE STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY PRONOUNCED AND I IMMEDIATELY RETURNED TO THE DRIVEWAY. A CHECK OF THE FLUIDS REVEALED VERY LOW POWER STEERING FLUID, BELOW THE MINIMUM LEVEL MARK. AFTER TOPPING UP THE CHAMBER WITH NEW FLUID, THE CAR STARTED AND WAS OPERABLE WITHOUT SHAKING AND NO STEERING PROBLEMS. HOWEVER, THE LEVEL IN THE CHAMBER SANK IMMEDIATELY BELOW THE MINIMUM LINE AFTER JUST A MINUTE OR TWO OF OPERATION (I BACKED A SHORT DISTANCE DOWN THE DRIVE). THERE WERE A SIGNIFICANT NUMBER OF FRESH FLUID SPOTS ON THE DRIVE. MORE FLUID WAS ADDED AND THE CAR WAS SUCCESSFULLY DRIVEN TO THE DEALERSHIP LOCATED 2 MILES FROM OUR HOME, WHERE IT IS AWAITING REPAIR. THE DEALER REPORTED THIS MORNING THAT BOTH THE HIGH PRESSURE LINE AND THE RETURN LINE WERE LEAKING. SINCE THE CAR WAS DRIVEN WITH NO PROBLEMS OR SIGNS OF LEAKS THE DAY BEFORE, AND BECAUSE THESE LEAKS APPEARED SUDDENLY, WITHOUT ANY PRIOR PROBLEMS WITH STEERING OR POWER STEERING FLUID LEVELS, WE BELIEVE THIS FAILURE POSES A SIGNIFICANT RISK TO THE DRIVER, PASSENGERS, AND OTHERS ON THE ROAD. THERE WAS ALSO THE POTENTIAL OF AN ENGINE FIRE DUE TO THE LEAKING FLUID. THE CAR HAS REGULAR MAINTENANCE AND VERY LOW MILEAGE (<30000 MILES). THE NHTSA ISSUED A RECALL IN 2012 (12V222000) FOR 2003-2007 ACCORD V6S. BECAUSE THAT RECALL WAS DUE TO DEFECTIVE LINES/HOSES, AND OUR CAR'S HOSES ALSO FAILED IN THE SAME WAY, WE BELIEVE THAT FURTHER INVESTIGATION INTO OTHER ACCORD ENGINE SIZES AND VIN NUMBERS SHOULD BE CONDUCTED AND INCLUDED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/1/2016 - MOBILE, AL
TAKATA RECALL. HONDA IS NOT WILLING TO RECALL THE TAKATA AIRBAGS AND TAKATA AIRBAG INFLATORS IN MY CAR, ALTHOUGH HONDA DID RECALL THE ABOVE PARTS ON THE CLOSEST VEHICLES, - HONDA ACCORD COUPE 2006 WITH A 4-CYLINDER ENGINE. I NEED TO KNOW HOW AND WHY MY VEHICLE IS CONSIDERED SAFER THAN THE OTHER 2006 ACCORDS. THIS WAS THE EXPLANATION THAT I GOT WHEN I CALLED HONDA CUSTOMER SERVICE AT 800 999-1009. SHE WASN'T ABLE TO PROVIDE ANY ADDITIONAL DETAILS INTO THE PROCESS, NOR DID SHE HAVE ANOTHER NUMBER FOR ME TO CALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/25/2016 - ORMOND BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION STARTED TO SLIP. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds