Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2006 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 219 complaints filed for the 2006 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (56) Equipment (3) Other (2) Service Brakes (19) Tires (9)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (13) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (12) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (7) Structure (18) Visibility (3)
Engine (18) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (10) Suspension (8) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/14/2019 - ST. CHARLES, IL
2006 HONDA PILOT EX MILEAGE: 144,309 I WAS ACCELERATING FROM A STOP WHEN I FELT A JOLT COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE CAR. SEVERAL WARNING LIGHTS LIT UP IN THE DASHBOARD, THERE WAS A LOUD EXHAUST LEAK, AND THE CAR WAS NO LONGER ACCELERATING. THERE WAS AN AUTO CARE CENTER 50 YARDS AWAY SO I SLOWLY DROVE IT THERE FOR AN INSPECTION. THE MECHANIC LIFTED THE VEHICLE AND SHOWED ME THAT THE BACK TWO REAR SUBFRAME MOUNTS WERE DETACHED FROM THE BODY WHICH MADE THE CAR INOPERABLE. THERE WAS NO VISIBLE RUST ON THE UNDERCARRIAGE; THE SUBFRAME MOUNTS RUSTED FROM THE INSIDE OUT. MY INSURANCE COMPANY WOULD NOT COVER THE DAMAGE AS IT WAS A RUST ISSUE. THE CAR WAS IRREPARABLE SO I HAD TO TOTAL THE CAR AND RECEIVED 10% OF WHAT THE CAR WAS WORTH RUNNING FROM THE JUNK YARD. I PURCHASED THE PILOT NEW IN FEB. 2006 AND PERFORMED ALL THE RECOMMENDED HONDA MAINTENANCE. I PERSONAL PERFORMED ALL OIL AND BREAK JOBS SO I WAS FAMILIAR WITH THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR. I DID NOT SEE ANY RUST UNDER THE CAR THAT WOULD HAVE ALERTED ME THERE WAS A POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS ISSUE WITH THE REAR SUBFRAME. A GOOGLE SEARCH TURNED UP SEVERAL OTHER HONDA PILOTS OF THIS GENERATION HAVING THE SAME SUBFRAME RUST AS MINE WITH THE SAME CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE REAR MOUNTS. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT IN THAT WATER WAS ALLOWED TO POOL BETWEEN THE LAYERS OF STEEL IN THE UNIBODY. THE CAR HAD 144,309 MILES ON IT AND WAS MECHANICALLY IN GREAT CONDITION UNTIL I HAD THIS ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/14/2019 - ST. CHARLES, IL
2006 HONDA PILOT EX MILEAGE: 144,309 I WAS ACCELERATING FROM A STOP WHEN I FELT A JOLT COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE CAR. SEVERAL WARNING LIGHTS LIT UP IN THE DASHBOARD, THERE WAS A LOUD EXHAUST LEAK, AND THE CAR WAS NO LONGER ACCELERATING. THERE WAS AN AUTO CARE CENTER 50 YARDS AWAY SO I SLOWLY DROVE IT THERE FOR AN INSPECTION. THE MECHANIC LIFTED THE VEHICLE AND SHOWED ME THAT THE BACK TWO REAR SUBFRAME MOUNTS WERE DETACHED FROM THE BODY WHICH MADE THE CAR INOPERABLE. THERE WAS NO VISIBLE RUST ON THE UNDERCARRIAGE; THE SUBFRAME MOUNTS RUSTED FROM THE INSIDE OUT. MY INSURANCE COMPANY WOULD NOT COVER THE DAMAGE AS IT WAS A RUST ISSUE. THE CAR WAS IRREPARABLE SO I HAD TO TOTAL THE CAR AND RECEIVED 10% OF WHAT THE CAR WAS WORTH RUNNING FROM THE JUNK YARD. I PURCHASED THE PILOT NEW IN FEB. 2006 AND PERFORMED ALL THE RECOMMENDED HONDA MAINTENANCE. I PERSONAL PERFORMED ALL OIL AND BREAK JOBS SO I WAS FAMILIAR WITH THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR. I DID NOT SEE ANY RUST UNDER THE CAR THAT WOULD HAVE ALERTED ME THERE WAS A POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS ISSUE WITH THE REAR SUBFRAME. A GOOGLE SEARCH TURNED UP SEVERAL OTHER HONDA PILOTS OF THIS GENERATION HAVING THE SAME SUBFRAME RUST AS MINE WITH THE SAME CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE REAR MOUNTS. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT IN THAT WATER WAS ALLOWED TO POOL BETWEEN THE LAYERS OF STEEL IN THE UNIBODY. THE CAR HAD 144,309 MILES ON IT AND WAS MECHANICALLY IN GREAT CONDITION UNTIL I HAD THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/14/2019 - ST. CHARLES, IL
2006 HONDA PILOT EX MILEAGE: 144,309 I WAS ACCELERATING FROM A STOP WHEN I FELT A JOLT COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE CAR. SEVERAL WARNING LIGHTS LIT UP IN THE DASHBOARD, THERE WAS A LOUD EXHAUST LEAK, AND THE CAR WAS NO LONGER ACCELERATING. THERE WAS AN AUTO CARE CENTER 50 YARDS AWAY SO I SLOWLY DROVE IT THERE FOR AN INSPECTION. THE MECHANIC LIFTED THE VEHICLE AND SHOWED ME THAT THE BACK TWO REAR SUBFRAME MOUNTS WERE DETACHED FROM THE BODY WHICH MADE THE CAR INOPERABLE. THERE WAS NO VISIBLE RUST ON THE UNDERCARRIAGE; THE SUBFRAME MOUNTS RUSTED FROM THE INSIDE OUT. MY INSURANCE COMPANY WOULD NOT COVER THE DAMAGE AS IT WAS A RUST ISSUE. THE CAR WAS IRREPARABLE SO I HAD TO TOTAL THE CAR AND RECEIVED 10% OF WHAT THE CAR WAS WORTH RUNNING FROM THE JUNK YARD. I PURCHASED THE PILOT NEW IN FEB. 2006 AND PERFORMED ALL THE RECOMMENDED HONDA MAINTENANCE. I PERSONAL PERFORMED ALL OIL AND BREAK JOBS SO I WAS FAMILIAR WITH THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR. I DID NOT SEE ANY RUST UNDER THE CAR THAT WOULD HAVE ALERTED ME THERE WAS A POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS ISSUE WITH THE REAR SUBFRAME. A GOOGLE SEARCH TURNED UP SEVERAL OTHER HONDA PILOTS OF THIS GENERATION HAVING THE SAME SUBFRAME RUST AS MINE WITH THE SAME CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE REAR MOUNTS. I BELIEVE THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT IN THAT WATER WAS ALLOWED TO POOL BETWEEN THE LAYERS OF STEEL IN THE UNIBODY. THE CAR HAD 144,309 MILES ON IT AND WAS MECHANICALLY IN GREAT CONDITION UNTIL I HAD THIS ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/5/2019 - CHICKAMAUGA, GA
MY WIFE WAS TURNING INTO OUR GARAGE WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY REVED UP CAUSING HER TO CRASH INTO SEVERAL ITEMS IN THE GARAGE (AIR COMPRESSOR,GAS GRILL,SHOP VAC,SHELVING, AND OTHER THINGS)PUSHING THEM AGAINST THE BACK WALL BEFORE STOPPING AND ALLOWING HER TO TURN THE CAR OFF. SHE HAD THE BRAKE FULLY DEPRESSED AND THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED BUT HAD NO CONTROL. THE CAR IS A 2006 HONDA PILOT WITH ABOUT 170,000 MILES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/5/2019 - CHICKAMAUGA, GA
MY WIFE WAS TURNING INTO OUR GARAGE WHEN THE ENGINE SUDDENLY REVED UP CAUSING HER TO CRASH INTO SEVERAL ITEMS IN THE GARAGE (AIR COMPRESSOR,GAS GRILL,SHOP VAC,SHELVING, AND OTHER THINGS)PUSHING THEM AGAINST THE BACK WALL BEFORE STOPPING AND ALLOWING HER TO TURN THE CAR OFF. SHE HAD THE BRAKE FULLY DEPRESSED AND THE STEERING WHEEL TURNED BUT HAD NO CONTROL. THE CAR IS A 2006 HONDA PILOT WITH ABOUT 170,000 MILES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/17/2019 - FAIRPORT, NY
I HAVE NOT HAD THIS VEHICLE IN 10 YEARS. I HAVE WRITTEN HONDA SIX TIMES AND CALLED A DOZEN TIMES. IF SOMEONE HAS THIS VEHICLE AND GETS INJURED DUE TO NON-NOTIFICATION OF A RECALL, AND I SHOW HOW LONG I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO STOP THESE LETTERS COMING TO MY HOUSE SO YOU CAN FIND THE RIGHT PERSON, SOMEONE WILL BE SERIOUSLY LIABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/13/2019 - WACONIA, MN
WHILE RECENTLY DRIVING MY 2006 HONDA PILOT ON THE HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE SEEMED A LITTLE UNSTEADY WHEN CORNERING. AFTER ARRIVING HOME, THE REAR SUSPENSION LOOKED TOO LOW AND THE NEGATIVE CAMBER OF THE REAR WHEELS LOOKED EXCESSIVE. CLOSER INSPECTION REVEALED THE REAR FRAME CROSSMEMBER HAD EXTREME INTERNAL CORROSION AND BOTH REAR SUSPENSION MOUNTING BOLTS HAD COMPLETELY BROKEN AWAY FROM THE FRAME (SEE INCLUDED PHOTOS). THE REAR SUSPENSION HAD DROPPED SEVERAL INCHES BELOW THE ORIGINAL MOUNTING POSITION AND WAS PRESSING ON THE EXHAUST SYSTEM. I QUESTION THE SAFETY OF DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN THIS CONDITION AND POSSIBLY HAS BEEN AND IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. OVERALL, THE REST OF THE VEHICLE IS IN REALLY GOOD SHAPE, HAS BEEN WELL MAINTAINED, NEVER BEEN DRIVEN OFF-ROAD OR IN HARSH CONDITIONS AND HAS NEVER PULLED HEAVY LOADS. THE INTERNAL FRAME CORROSSION SEEMS EXCESSIVE FOR A VEHICLE OF THIS AGE AND PERHAPS THE RESULT OF POOR DESIGN, POOR QUALITY AND/OR INADEQUATE CORROSION PROTECTION. MY LOCAL HONDA DEALER SAYS THIS PROBLEM IS UNKNOWN TO THEM, IS NOT FIXABLE AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY CAN DO AT THIS TIME BUT REFER ME TO HONDA NATIONAL. HONDA NATIONAL ALSO INITIALLY CLAIMED NO KNOWLEDGE OF THIS PROBLEM EVEN THOUGH NUMEROUS IDENTICAL PROBLEMS CAN BE FOUND ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE AS WELL AS OTHER ONLINE SOURCES. A COMPLAINT AND CASE NUMBER HAS NOW BEEN REGISTERED WITH HONDA FOR THIS PROBLEM. UNFORTUNATELY, THIS ONCE GREAT VEHICLE APPEARS TO BE PREMATURELY DESTINED FOR THE SCRAP METAL PILE. VERY SAD OUTCOME FOR ANY MODERN VEHICLE AND ESPECIALLY ONE WITH THE REPUTATION FOR QUALITY AND RELIABILITY OF A HONDA VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2019 - METAMORA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HONDA PILOT. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE DRIVER'S SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG AND DRIVER'S SEAT AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR AN IMPACT. ALSO, THE DRIVER'S SEAT BELT TIGHTENED UP UNEXPECTEDLY. THE CONTACT SWERVED THE VEHICLE SLIGHTLY DUE TO BEING CONSTRICTED BY THE SEAT BELT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO FAIRFIELD HONDA (201 LYCOMING MALL DR, MUNCY, PA 17756, (570) 326-2858), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED AT THE CONTACT'S REQUEST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/27/2019 - METAMORA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 HONDA PILOT. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE DRIVER'S SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAG AND DRIVER'S SEAT AIR BAG DEPLOYED WITHOUT WARNING OR AN IMPACT. ALSO, THE DRIVER'S SEAT BELT TIGHTENED UP UNEXPECTEDLY. THE CONTACT SWERVED THE VEHICLE SLIGHTLY DUE TO BEING CONSTRICTED BY THE SEAT BELT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO FAIRFIELD HONDA (201 LYCOMING MALL DR, MUNCY, PA 17756, (570) 326-2858), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED AT THE CONTACT'S REQUEST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/20/2019 - MOHRSVILLE, PA
VSA LIGHT AND CODE 84-1

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds