Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1142 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (125) Fuel Propulsion System (133) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (60) Steering (34) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (179) Seat Belts (3) Structure (115) Visibility (398)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (97) Visibility Wiper (37)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (12) Tires (4) Wheels (15)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 149
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/5/2016 - CERRO GORDO, IL
I HAVE OWNED MY 2006 JEEP LIBERTY FOR 6 YEARS, AND NOT ONE TIME HAVE I COMPLETELY FILLED MY FUEL TANK THAT IT DIDN'T GUSH FUEL OUT EVERYWHERE, INCLUDING ON ME !

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/27/2016 - PARACHUTE, CO
EVERY TIME I FILL THE GAS TANK (PARKED WITH ENGINE TURNED OFF), GAS SPEWS FROM THE FILLER TUBE, RUNS DOWN THE SIDE OF THE CAR, POOLS ON THE GROUND AND UNDERNEATH THE CAR, CREATING AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION. GAS CONTINUES TO SPEW OUT AND ALL OVER THE AREA UNTIL I DESPERATELY GRAB THE GAS PUMP NOZZLE HANDLE AND MANUALLY DISENGAGE IT! I NOW NEVER CAN DEPEND UPON AUTO SHUT-OFF!! I HAVE TO MANUALLY OPERATE THE PUMP NOZZLE, NOT TAKE MY HAND OFF IT, LISTEN TO THE GUSHING TONE SOUND AS THE TANK NEARS THE FULL POINT AND SHUT OFF THE NOZZLE BY HAND WHEN I HEAR THE GAS GETTING READY TO SPEW ALL OVER THE PLACE!! THIS IS SO DANGEROUS!!!!! OVER THE COURSE OF SEVERAL YEARS, I THOUGHT THIS PROBLEM WAS JUST UNIQUE TO MY CAR BUT AFTER TALKING WITH TWO OTHER JEEP LIBERTY OWNER ACQUAINTANCES, I DISCOVERED THEY HAD THE SAME DANGEROUS SAFETY PROBLEM WITH THEIR JEEP LIBERTY, AS WELL. THIS IS SO DANGEROUS.... IT NEEDS TO BE RECALLED AND FIXED!!! ("WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN FIELD BELOW: JULY 2009 TO PRESENT")

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/24/2016 - PLYMOUTH, MN
I HAD TO ROLL DOWN THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW GLASS TO PAY PARKING FEE AND THEN THE WINDOW NEVER WENT UP. HAD TO DRIVE IN THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE WINDOW WAS DOWN COMPLETELY. I HAD TO REPLACE THE WINDOW GLASS PRIOR 4 TIMES FOR THEIR LOW QUALITY LIFT PLATE ON WINDOW GLASS AND THIS TIME THE DEALER SAID IT IS NOT COVERED IN 7 YRS EXTENDED WARRANTY AND ASKED TO PAY $500 TO FIX THE REGULATOR. THE DEALER FIXED THIS LIFT PLATE ISSUE PRIOR UNDER 7 YRS EXTENDED WARRANTY WITH LOW QUALITY MATERIAL AND SO THIS ISSUE REOCCURED BUT THIS TIME AS THEY FOUND WARRANTY WAS EXPIRED THEY ASKED TO PAY $500 FOR REGULATOR THIS TIME SAYING IT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY OR 7 YRS EXTENDED WARRANTY EXPIRED. JEEP NEEDS TO PAY MY $500 BACK FOR THE REGULATOR BECAUSE I THINK THEY ARE RIPPING MY MONEY OFF BECAUSE OF THEIR FAULTY DESIGN.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/4/2016 - ELLSINORE, MO
AT 44,143 IN DEC 2009 I HAD 4 NEW TIRES AND REAR DISC PADS REPLACED. IN JULY 2012, ABOUT MILEAGE 54000, WHILE DRIVING IN TOWN, THE LEFT REAR WHEEL SPEED SENSOR FAILED CAUSING LOSS OF ABS, ESP, AND CRUISE CONTROL. I HAD DEALER REPAIR. AT 67,642,IN APRIL 2016, I NOTICED THE REAR DISC ROTORS WERE CAKED WITH A CRUSTY RUST AND IT APPEARED THAT THE BRAKE PADS WERE WORN OUT.. THE REAR BRAKES COULD NOT HAVE BEEN WORKING. THE DEALER PUT ON NEW ROTORS, CALIPERS, PADS, AND FLUSHED THE SYSTEM. THE RUSTY ROTORS COULD NOT BE TURNED TO REUSE, THE CALIPERS WERE BOTH "STUCK" AND THE BRAKE FLUID WAS "BLACK". I ALSO HAD THE FRONT ROTORS TURNED AND NEW PADS INSTALLED. THE ABS, ESP, AND CRUISE CONTROL STILL LIGHTS UP ON THE DASH FOR A MINUTE THEN GOES OUT BY ITSELF, LEADING ME TO TOTALLY DISTRUST THE SYSTEM. I HAVE NEVER SEEN BRAKE ROTORS SO RUSTED IN MY 65 YEARS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/4/2016 - ELLSINORE, MO
AT 44,143 IN DEC 2009 I HAD 4 NEW TIRES AND REAR DISC PADS REPLACED. IN JULY 2012, ABOUT MILEAGE 54000, WHILE DRIVING IN TOWN, THE LEFT REAR WHEEL SPEED SENSOR FAILED CAUSING LOSS OF ABS, ESP, AND CRUISE CONTROL. I HAD DEALER REPAIR. AT 67,642,IN APRIL 2016, I NOTICED THE REAR DISC ROTORS WERE CAKED WITH A CRUSTY RUST AND IT APPEARED THAT THE BRAKE PADS WERE WORN OUT.. THE REAR BRAKES COULD NOT HAVE BEEN WORKING. THE DEALER PUT ON NEW ROTORS, CALIPERS, PADS, AND FLUSHED THE SYSTEM. THE RUSTY ROTORS COULD NOT BE TURNED TO REUSE, THE CALIPERS WERE BOTH "STUCK" AND THE BRAKE FLUID WAS "BLACK". I ALSO HAD THE FRONT ROTORS TURNED AND NEW PADS INSTALLED. THE ABS, ESP, AND CRUISE CONTROL STILL LIGHTS UP ON THE DASH FOR A MINUTE THEN GOES OUT BY ITSELF, LEADING ME TO TOTALLY DISTRUST THE SYSTEM. I HAVE NEVER SEEN BRAKE ROTORS SO RUSTED IN MY 65 YEARS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2016 - WESTMINISTER, CA
RECALLS ON THIS CAR WERE NOT TAKEN CARE OF BEFORE BEING SOLD TO THE CURRENT OWNER. INFORMATION ABOUT SUCH RECALLS WERE NOT DISCLOSED BEFORE OR DURING THE TIME OF SALE. SMALL ISSUES AROSE DURING THE FIRST FEW MONTHS OF OWNERSHIP. RECENTLY ,IN JANUARY 2016 BIGGER ISSUES HAVE COME ABOUT AND NOW THE ENGINE MUST BE REPLACED. THIS HAS ALL HAPPENED WHILE THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN MOTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2016 - BRONX, NY
H. THIS CAR HAS REQUIRED ENGINE OIL TO BE ADDED EVERY 50 TO 100 MILES WITHOUT ANY EVIDENT SMELL OR SIGHT OF LEAKING OIL, ALSO TORQUE CONVERTER NEEDED REPLACEMENT EXPERIENCED DECELERATION OF SPEED WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH.

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2016 - BRONX, NY
H. THIS CAR HAS REQUIRED ENGINE OIL TO BE ADDED EVERY 50 TO 100 MILES WITHOUT ANY EVIDENT SMELL OR SIGHT OF LEAKING OIL, ALSO TORQUE CONVERTER NEEDED REPLACEMENT EXPERIENCED DECELERATION OF SPEED WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/30/2016 - TIETON, WA
2006 JEEP LIBERTY: FUEL SPLASHES BACK WHEN FILLING GAS TANK AT A GAS STATION. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME I FUEL THE TANK. FAULTY FUEL INLET CHECK VALVE. OTHER CHRYSLER VEHICLES HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR REPAIR. I SPOKE WITH A REPRESENTATIVE FROM CHRYSLER, AND THEY STATED THAT CHRYSLER HAS NO PLANS OF ISSUING A RECALL FOR THIS MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/28/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
WENT TO START SMOKE CAME OUT FROM DASH WAS PARKED IN GARGAGE TRUCK IS STILL IN SHOP INS TOLD ME ONLY REASON THEY WOUL D COVER IS BECAUSE IS WAS A LONG COUSTOMER THY ONLY GAVE ME 883 TO REPAIR THERE ARE AT LEAST 14 CODES DUE TO THIS DON'T KNOW IF THEY WILL RESET IF NOT I HAVE TO PAY FOR REPAIRS I DO HAVE FIRE PROTECTION ON TRUCK THIS IS ALLSTATE I WILL SEND PAPER WORK IF NEEDED AT A LATER DATE I HAVE NONE ALSO WAITING FOR CHECK TOLD FOR ME TO PAY REPAIR SHOP

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 149
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds