Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1148 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (128) Fuel Propulsion System (134) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (37)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (60) Steering (34) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (179) Seat Belts (3) Structure (115) Visibility (398)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (98) Visibility Wiper (37)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (12) Tires (4) Wheels (15)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 149
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2016 - ROCKFORD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PARK SAFETY CABLE WOULD NOT ALLOW THE KEY TO BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION WITHOUT WARNING. ALSO, THE CONTACT HAD TO PLACE HER FINGER UNDER THE CONSOLE TO PUSH THE SWITCH THAT ALLOWED THE KEY TO BE RELEASED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE GEAR EASILY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 40,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/21/2016 - AURORA, CO
RECALL REGARDING FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT; 06V288000. WHILE AT FIRESTONE DURING A ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AND CHECK UP, I RECEIVED NOTICE OF A RECALL ON MY CAR - I WAS I WENT TO THE NEARBY JEEP DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS NOT APPLICABLE FOR MY CAR EVEN THOUGH I SHOWED THEM THE PAPERWORK FROM FIRESTONE DIRECTLY. JEEP DID NOT FIX MY LOWER BALL JOINT AND THEN APPROXIMATELY TWO WEEKS LATER, I WAS DRIVING TO SCHOOL AND MY CAR JOLTED AS IF I HIT A POT-HOLE BUT THE ROAD WAS CLEAR. I TURNED ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND PULLED OVER TO INSPECT. MY TIRES WERE NOT LOW ON AIR THERE WAS NOTHING ABNORMAL UNDER THE HOOD. I PARKED MY CAR AND LOOKED UNDERNEATH TO FIND A VERY OBVIOUS DISLOCATION. I CALLED A FRIEND WHO COULD IDENTIFY WHAT PART IT WAS EXACTLY AND HE SAID IT WAS MY LOWER BALL JOINT. MY CAR WAS A SAFETY HAZARD AND HAS BECOME A HUGE HASSLE TO DEAL WITH AND JEEP IS REFUSING TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. IT IS BEING REPAIRED IN A SHOP NOW AND I AM SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT FROM JEEP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/20/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
YESTERDAY, THE REAR PASSENGER WINDOW SLID INTO DOOR, WILL NOT COME UP. CAN HEAR REGULATOR BUT WINDOW IS STUCK IN DOOR. VEHICLE WAS PARKED ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET, ALL WINDOWS WERE UP, AND ABOUT 20 MINUTES LATER THE WINDOW HAD DISAPPEARED INTO THE DOOR. I CALLED CHRYSLER BUT THE VIN IS NOT PART OF CHRYSLER'S NOTICE TO OWNER'S IN 2010 REGARDING FAULTY WINDOW REGULATORS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/20/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
YESTERDAY, THE REAR PASSENGER WINDOW SLID INTO DOOR, WILL NOT COME UP. CAN HEAR REGULATOR BUT WINDOW IS STUCK IN DOOR. VEHICLE WAS PARKED ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET, ALL WINDOWS WERE UP, AND ABOUT 20 MINUTES LATER THE WINDOW HAD DISAPPEARED INTO THE DOOR. I CALLED CHRYSLER BUT THE VIN IS NOT PART OF CHRYSLER'S NOTICE TO OWNER'S IN 2010 REGARDING FAULTY WINDOW REGULATORS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/19/2016 - BEDFORD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHEN COMING TO A STOP. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTAKE AIR CONTROL SENSOR AND IDLE CONTROL SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/27/2016 - BATON ROUGE, LA
AS I WAS LEAVING THE GROCERY STORE I HEARD A SLAM NOISE IN THE BACK PASSENGER AREA OF MY JEEP LIBERTY. I PULLED BACK INTO THE PARKING AND SAW THAT MY REAR PASSENGER WINDOW HAD FALLEN INTO THE DOOR. I WENT ONLINE TO INQUIRE ABOUT IT AND SAW THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM FOR THE MAJORITY OF 06 JEEP LIBERTY OWNERS ALIKE. I CALLED CHRYSLER JEEP AND BECAUSE THERE'S NO RECALL ON MY VIN I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS MYSELF. IT'S TOO EXPENSIVE AND I'M NOT ABOUT TO PAY FOR ANOTHER FAULTY PART LIKE EVERYONE ELSE DID. MY FATHER PAID TO FIX THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW IN MARCH. THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW FELL IN AUGUST 2015. THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED BY CHRYSLER DUE TO ALL OF THESE CONSUMER COMPLAINTS!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/20/2016 - LUBBOCK, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, A CHIME SOUNDED FOR SEVERAL MINUTES AND THE FUEL CAP WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON A DAILY BASIS FOR TWO WEEKS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/5/2016 - CERRO GORDO, IL
I HAVE OWNED MY 2006 JEEP LIBERTY FOR 6 YEARS, AND NOT ONE TIME HAVE I COMPLETELY FILLED MY FUEL TANK THAT IT DIDN'T GUSH FUEL OUT EVERYWHERE, INCLUDING ON ME !

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/27/2016 - PARACHUTE, CO
EVERY TIME I FILL THE GAS TANK (PARKED WITH ENGINE TURNED OFF), GAS SPEWS FROM THE FILLER TUBE, RUNS DOWN THE SIDE OF THE CAR, POOLS ON THE GROUND AND UNDERNEATH THE CAR, CREATING AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION. GAS CONTINUES TO SPEW OUT AND ALL OVER THE AREA UNTIL I DESPERATELY GRAB THE GAS PUMP NOZZLE HANDLE AND MANUALLY DISENGAGE IT! I NOW NEVER CAN DEPEND UPON AUTO SHUT-OFF!! I HAVE TO MANUALLY OPERATE THE PUMP NOZZLE, NOT TAKE MY HAND OFF IT, LISTEN TO THE GUSHING TONE SOUND AS THE TANK NEARS THE FULL POINT AND SHUT OFF THE NOZZLE BY HAND WHEN I HEAR THE GAS GETTING READY TO SPEW ALL OVER THE PLACE!! THIS IS SO DANGEROUS!!!!! OVER THE COURSE OF SEVERAL YEARS, I THOUGHT THIS PROBLEM WAS JUST UNIQUE TO MY CAR BUT AFTER TALKING WITH TWO OTHER JEEP LIBERTY OWNER ACQUAINTANCES, I DISCOVERED THEY HAD THE SAME DANGEROUS SAFETY PROBLEM WITH THEIR JEEP LIBERTY, AS WELL. THIS IS SO DANGEROUS.... IT NEEDS TO BE RECALLED AND FIXED!!! ("WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN FIELD BELOW: JULY 2009 TO PRESENT")

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/24/2016 - PLYMOUTH, MN
I HAD TO ROLL DOWN THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW GLASS TO PAY PARKING FEE AND THEN THE WINDOW NEVER WENT UP. HAD TO DRIVE IN THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE WINDOW WAS DOWN COMPLETELY. I HAD TO REPLACE THE WINDOW GLASS PRIOR 4 TIMES FOR THEIR LOW QUALITY LIFT PLATE ON WINDOW GLASS AND THIS TIME THE DEALER SAID IT IS NOT COVERED IN 7 YRS EXTENDED WARRANTY AND ASKED TO PAY $500 TO FIX THE REGULATOR. THE DEALER FIXED THIS LIFT PLATE ISSUE PRIOR UNDER 7 YRS EXTENDED WARRANTY WITH LOW QUALITY MATERIAL AND SO THIS ISSUE REOCCURED BUT THIS TIME AS THEY FOUND WARRANTY WAS EXPIRED THEY ASKED TO PAY $500 FOR REGULATOR THIS TIME SAYING IT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY OR 7 YRS EXTENDED WARRANTY EXPIRED. JEEP NEEDS TO PAY MY $500 BACK FOR THE REGULATOR BECAUSE I THINK THEY ARE RIPPING MY MONEY OFF BECAUSE OF THEIR FAULTY DESIGN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 149
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds