Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1158 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (129) Fuel Propulsion System (136) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (62) Steering (35) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (179) Seat Belts (3) Structure (115) Visibility (400)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (101) Visibility Wiper (37)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (12) Tires (4) Wheels (15)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 151
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/19/2016 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
SHIFTER MOVES FREELY BETWEEN PARK-REVERSE-NEUTRAL-DRIVE-2ND-1ST GEARS. THIS HAPPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS TURNED ON AND OFF; AND WITH OR WITHOUT A KEY IN THE IGNITION. IF THE SHIFTER IS BUMPED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, THE VEHICLE CAN BE THROWN INTO REVERSE AND/OR PARK. WHEN I CONTACTED THE JEEP DEALER IN SPRINGFIELD MISSOURI, I WAS TOLD THAT JEEP HAS SINCE REDESIGNED THE SHIFTER CONTROL AND THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLY MUST BE REPLACED. COST FOR THE ENTIRE ASSEMBLE IS APPROXIMATELY $480 PLUS LABOR. IF THE PROBLEM IS SO APPARENT THAT IT CAN BE FOUND THOUSANDS OF TIMES USING GOOGLE, AND IF THE MANUFACTURER HAS SINCE REDESIGNED THE ENTIRE SHIFTER CONTROL SYSTEM; THEN ONE WOULD THINK THAT THEY SHOULD HAVE ISSUED A RECALL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/16/2016 - KEAUHOU, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THERE WAS A LOUD CREAKING NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS ON THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE WAS EXPERIENCING THE SAME FAILURE AS LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V288000 (SUSPENSION); HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/9/2016 - CENTERLINE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAG AND ABS INDICATORS ILLUMINATED, BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A COLLISION SHOP AND LATER TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER. THE AIR BAGS COULD NOT BE REPAIRED BECAUSE THE PART WAS NO LONGER MANUFACTURED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO GUARANTEE THAT THE AIR BAG WOULD BE REPAIRED DUE TO THE PART UNAVAILABILITY. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,450.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/9/2016 - AIKEN, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE, A BURNING FUEL ODOR EMITTED FROM THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED; HOWEVER, THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THERE WAS A FUEL LEAK. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE). THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED PER THE RECALL, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. WHILE THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS OPERATED, THE FUEL ODOR STILL ENTERED THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED WHITE SMOKE COMING FROM THE DASHBOARD AND THIN GRAY SMOKE COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/7/2016 - SWEENY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL BANGING NOISE UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT LOWER BALL JOINTS FAILED AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V288000 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/7/2016 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE REVERSING THE VEHICLE, THE UPPER LOWER BALL JOINT DETACHED AND CAUSED THE WHEEL TO BECOME LOOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO FILE A SAFETY COMPLAINT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,200.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/23/2016 - ELMWOOD PARK, IL
SINCE I BROUGHT THE CAR IN 2008 AT TIMES THE INTERIOR DASH LIGHT AND HEAD LIGHTS FLICKER ALSO THE AIR BAG LIGHT ALL THE SUDDEN STAYS ON. I HAVE INTERMEDIATE NO START AT THIS TIME SO I CAN'T REALLY USE THE CAR. I BELIEVE THIS MIGHT BE AN ELECTRONIC ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/23/2016 - ELMWOOD PARK, IL
SINCE I BROUGHT THE CAR IN 2008 AT TIMES THE INTERIOR DASH LIGHT AND HEAD LIGHTS FLICKER ALSO THE AIR BAG LIGHT ALL THE SUDDEN STAYS ON. I HAVE INTERMEDIATE NO START AT THIS TIME SO I CAN'T REALLY USE THE CAR. I BELIEVE THIS MIGHT BE AN ELECTRONIC ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/6/2016 - WALLINGFORD, CT
I OWN A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY MADE FOR EXPORT. I LIVE IN MEXICO. I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN MEXICO. I HAVE READ ABOUT THE RECALL FOR THIS MODEL YEAR BECAUSE OF THE FUEL TANK PROBLEMS. I NEED THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF A JEEP DEALER IN GUADALAJARA, MEXICO WHERE THEY CAN PUT THE TRAILER HITCH ON AT NO COST FOR PARTS AND LABOR. MY E-MAIL IS: KSREICHENECKER@YAHOO.COM I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE ME.

View Details

STEERING

8/1/2016 - SILVER CITY, NM
ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH TO 70 MPH, THE ENGINE OF THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY, WITHOUT WARNING, WITH THE LOSS OF ALL STEERING OR CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. ON TWO OTHER OCCASIONS, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY, WITHOUT WARNING, WITH THE LOSS OF ANY STEERING OR CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE, AFTER EXITING THE HIGHWAY AND ENTERING CITY TRAFFIC. THAT IS A TOTAL OF FOUR ENGINE SHUT DOWNS OR STALLS WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. WE JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE, AND THIS IS NERVE-WRECKING AND DANGEROUS TO SAY THE LEAST. THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN AFTER DRIVING LONG DISTANCES, AND HAS HAPPENED FROM DRIVING DISTANCES OF APPROXIMATELY 90 MILES TO 160 MILES. IF YOU WAIT APPROXIMATELY ONE HOUR, THE VEHICLE WILL THEN START UP AGAIN AND RUN. BUT IT WILL STALL AGAIN WITH COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. OTHERS ON THE INTERNET HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCE THIS PROBLEM WITH JEEP 3.7 AND 4.7 POWERTECH JEEP MOTORS. OUR JEEP IS A 3.7 MOTOR. THIS APPEARS TO BE THE SAME PROBLEM AS JEEP EXPERIENCED WITH JEEP COMMANDER AND JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE MODELS, WHICH WERE RECALLED. THIS SITUATION CAN OBVIOUSLY BE LIFE THREATENING. CHRYSLER JEEP SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO PUT LIFE TREATING VEHICLES ON THE MARKET AND THESE JEEPS MUST BE RECALLED. WE ASK FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 151
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds