Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1188 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (131) Fuel Propulsion System (145) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (37)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (63) Steering (36) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (179) Seat Belts (3) Structure (119) Visibility (400)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (110) Visibility Wiper (37)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (13) Tires (4) Wheels (17)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 154
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2017 - MASSAPEQUA PARK, NY
WHEN FUELING, THE PUMP DOES NOT SHUT OFF. THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED AS AN O-RING PROBLEM AND RECALLED IN LATER MODELS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/13/2017 - NEWNAN, GA
I FOUND ONLINE THAT THERE'S A RECALL ON LOWER BALL JOINTS THAT GET CORRODED AND STOP WORKING PROPERLY, THAT CAN CAUSE A BREAK OF THE ITEM AND LOOSE THE STEERING WHILE DRIVING. WELL IT'S ALREADY CORRODED AND NO WHEEL ALIGNMENT CAN BE DONE WITHOUT REPLACING BOTH JOINTS.ALREADY CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY DENIED ANY RECALL ON BALL JOINTS. I DECIDED TO STOP DRIVING THE CAR BECAUSE IT'S GETTING HARD TO DRIVE. WHEN I TURN THE STEERING WHEEL YOU CAN FEEL THE JOINT MAKING A METAL TO METAL SOUND, WHILE STOPPING AND WHEN STARTING TO MOVE

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/8/2017 - JUNEAU, AK
ON CROWDED CITY STREET APPLIED BRAKES AS SOMEONE WAS STARTING TO CROSS STREET IN A CROSSWALK. ENGINE STARTED TO REV UP AND CAR WOULD NOT STOP. I WENT THROUGH THE CROSSWALK AND MANAGED TO STOP SAFELY. TRIED A FEW SLOW SPEED STOPS, AND CAR SEEMED OKAY. THEN A FEW MINUTES LATER AT ANOTHER CROSSWALK APPLIED BRAKES. ENGINE REVVED UP. HAD BOTH FEET ON BRAKES. REAR BRAKES SEEMED TO FAIL. REAR TIRES STARTED TO BURN RUBBER WITH LOUD SQUEALING NOISE. I WAS ABLE TO SHIFT INTO PARK. ENGINE SLOWED DOWN AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE OFF AFTERWARDS. MADE IT HOME (9 MILES). DID A FEW SLOW STOPS ON THE WAY. BRAKES WORKED OKAY AND ENGINE DID NOT REV. VERY CONCERNED ABOUT ANY FURTHER DRIVING OF THIS VEHICLE. PEDESTRIAN LIVES DEFINITELY WERE IN DANGER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/29/2017 - FLINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (AL SERRA JEEP, CHRYSLER IN GRAND BLANC, MICHIGAN) WHO STATED THAT THE RECALL REPAIRS COULD NOT BE PERFORMED DUE TO EXCESSIVE CORROSION OF THE FRAME. THE DEALER REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 169,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/29/2017 - FLINT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (AL SERRA JEEP, CHRYSLER IN GRAND BLANC, MICHIGAN) WHO STATED THAT THE RECALL REPAIRS COULD NOT BE PERFORMED DUE TO EXCESSIVE CORROSION OF THE FRAME. THE DEALER REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 169,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/4/2017 - NUTLEY, NJ
WE ALL OWN CARS. MY CAR HAS THIS PROBLEM WHERE THE POWER WINDOWS SUDDENLY STOP WORKING. IN OTHER WORDS, I CAN LOWER MY WINDOW AND HAVE IT SUDDENLY DECIDE TO NOT COME BACK UP, LEAVING ME WITH A VEHICLE SUBJECT TO ALL KINDS OF THEFT. THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED THIRTEEN TIMES NOW ON MY 2006 JEEP LIBERTY AND CHRYSLER EXPECTS ME TO PAY $475 FOR EACH REPAIR. I WANT CHRYLSER TO PROVIDE THIS SERVICE FOR ME FREE OF CHARGE, ONLY BECAUSE THEY DID THE FIRST TWELVE TIMES. WITHOUT THIS SUPPORT, I AM IN A POSITION WHERE I CANNOT KEEP MY CAR AND CANNOT AFFORD A NEW ONE. DO YOU KNOW WHAT IT FEELS LIKE TO LOWER YOUR CAR WINDOW AND HAVE IT SUDDENLY NOT COME BACK UP? ESPECIALLY IN THE COLD OF WINTER? THE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER GAVE ME EVERY EXCUSE THEY COULD FIND TO NOT HELP ME OUT. AND THEY ALSO TOLD ME I WAS BEING PRETENTIOUS. HOW WOULD YOU FEEL IF THIS WAS HOW A CAR MANUFACTURER TREATED YOU? I COME FROM A FAMILY OF JEEP OWNERS AND CHRYSLER (THE MOTHER COMPANY) WOULD RATHER LOSE MY BUSINESS AND PERMIT ME TO TALK NEGATIVELY ABOUT THEM THEN STOP TO HELP ME. THEY EVEN ENCOURAGED ME TO HIT THE NET AND START SUBMITTING REVIEWS. THIS IS SORT OF CALLOUS NEGLIGENCE IS NOT WHAT ANY KIND OF CONSUMER SHOULD ENDURE. AT THIS POINT, WHAT REASON DO I HAVE TO PERFORM THE SERVICE? WHAT REASON DO I HAVE TO KEEP MY CAR? WHAT REASON DO I HAVE TO EVER SHOP WITH THEIR BRAND AGAIN?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/4/2017 - NUTLEY, NJ
WE ALL OWN CARS. MY CAR HAS THIS PROBLEM WHERE THE POWER WINDOWS SUDDENLY STOP WORKING. IN OTHER WORDS, I CAN LOWER MY WINDOW AND HAVE IT SUDDENLY DECIDE TO NOT COME BACK UP, LEAVING ME WITH A VEHICLE SUBJECT TO ALL KINDS OF THEFT. THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED THIRTEEN TIMES NOW ON MY 2006 JEEP LIBERTY AND CHRYSLER EXPECTS ME TO PAY $475 FOR EACH REPAIR. I WANT CHRYLSER TO PROVIDE THIS SERVICE FOR ME FREE OF CHARGE, ONLY BECAUSE THEY DID THE FIRST TWELVE TIMES. WITHOUT THIS SUPPORT, I AM IN A POSITION WHERE I CANNOT KEEP MY CAR AND CANNOT AFFORD A NEW ONE. DO YOU KNOW WHAT IT FEELS LIKE TO LOWER YOUR CAR WINDOW AND HAVE IT SUDDENLY NOT COME BACK UP? ESPECIALLY IN THE COLD OF WINTER? THE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER GAVE ME EVERY EXCUSE THEY COULD FIND TO NOT HELP ME OUT. AND THEY ALSO TOLD ME I WAS BEING PRETENTIOUS. HOW WOULD YOU FEEL IF THIS WAS HOW A CAR MANUFACTURER TREATED YOU? I COME FROM A FAMILY OF JEEP OWNERS AND CHRYSLER (THE MOTHER COMPANY) WOULD RATHER LOSE MY BUSINESS AND PERMIT ME TO TALK NEGATIVELY ABOUT THEM THEN STOP TO HELP ME. THEY EVEN ENCOURAGED ME TO HIT THE NET AND START SUBMITTING REVIEWS. THIS IS SORT OF CALLOUS NEGLIGENCE IS NOT WHAT ANY KIND OF CONSUMER SHOULD ENDURE. AT THIS POINT, WHAT REASON DO I HAVE TO PERFORM THE SERVICE? WHAT REASON DO I HAVE TO KEEP MY CAR? WHAT REASON DO I HAVE TO EVER SHOP WITH THEIR BRAND AGAIN?

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/4/2017 - CENTREVILLE, VA
I ALMOST WRECKED MY CAR WHEN THE RIGHT CONTROL BAR BROKE FROM CORROSION. MY LOCAL DEALERS REFUSED TO FIX MY VEHICLE IAW THE RECALL BECAUSE IT IS REGISTERED IN VIRGINIA. I LIVE IN VIRGINIA BUT WORK IN DC. I GOT IT TO THE SHOP AND REPLACED THE SUSPENSION MYSELF, TAKING 3 DAYS AND SPENDING MORE THAN $400. SAFETY RECALL L27 / NHTSA 12V-085 REAR SUSPENSION LOWER CONTROL ARMS IF YOUR DEALER FAILS OR IS UNABLE TO REMEDY THIS DEFECT WITHOUT CHARGE AND WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME, YOU MAY SUBMIT A WRITTEN COMPLAINT TO THE ADMINISTRATOR, NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION, 1200 NEW JERSEY AVE., S.E., WASHINGTON, DC 20590, OR CALL THE TOLL-FREE VEHICLE SAFETY HOTLINE AT 1-888-327-4236 (TTY 1-800-424-9153), OR GO TO HTTP://WWW.SAFERCAR.GOV.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/27/2017 - NEW HOPE, AL
FUEL WILL SPILL OUT WHEN PUMPING AND DOES NOT AUTOMATICALLY STOP. VERY AGGRAVATING!!!!!!!!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/27/2017 - NEW HOPE, AL
WINDOW REGULATOR KEEPS FAILING. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED WAS IN 2010. I HAVE HAD 4 REGULATORS REPLACED SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2006. I NOW HAVE BOTH DRIVER SIDE WINDOWS THAT ARE BROKEN AND WILL BE FIXED NEXT WEEK WHEN PARTS COME IN. THIS IS NOW THE 5TH AND 6TH REGULATORS I HAVE HAD TO HAVE DON. VERY AGGRAVATING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 154
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds