Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1168 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (130) Fuel Propulsion System (139) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (62) Steering (35) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (179) Seat Belts (3) Structure (117) Visibility (400)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (104) Visibility Wiper (37)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (12) Tires (4) Wheels (17)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 152
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/4/2017 - CORTLAND, IL
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY 2006. EVERY TIME I PUT FUEL IN IT, IT OVERFLOWS. IT IS NOT AUTOMATICALLY SHUTTING.OFF THEREFORE SPILLING OVER AND GETTING ALL OVER THE CAR OR ME. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. I TRIED FILLING UP AT A FEW DIFFERENT GAS STATIONS AND IT IS THE SAMERTHNG. ON THE INTERNET IT IS SHOWING MANY PEOPLE HAVE CONCERNS ABOUT THIS WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL? I AM AFRAID SOMEONE WILL THROW A CIGARETTE OUT THEIR WINDOW AND I WILL BLOW UP. I WIPE IT.UP EACH TIME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/25/2016 - ALVARADO, TX
I WAS DRIVING HOME CHRISTMAS MORNING AND A FEW MILES BEFORE I GOT HOME THE LOWER AND HIGHER BALL JOINTS SEPERATED FROM EACH OTHER. I HAD NO CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ONE ELSE ON THE ROAD WITH ME. I WAS HEADED STRAIGHT ON ROAD WHEN INCIDENT HAPPENED. VEHICLE BOUNCED MANY TIMES BEFORE COMING TO A STOP OFF THE ROAD. I WAS INFORMED LATER AFTER INCIDENT THAT THIS VEHICLE HAD A RECALL FOR WHAT I HAD JUST DESCRIBED ABOVE. VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT USED FROM DEALERSHIP AND HAVE NO RECORD OR INFO IF THIS RECALL BEING FIXED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/25/2016 - ALVARADO, TX
I WAS DRIVING HOME CHRISTMAS MORNING AND A FEW MILES BEFORE I GOT HOME THE LOWER AND HIGHER BALL JOINTS SEPERATED FROM EACH OTHER. I HAD NO CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ONE ELSE ON THE ROAD WITH ME. I WAS HEADED STRAIGHT ON ROAD WHEN INCIDENT HAPPENED. VEHICLE BOUNCED MANY TIMES BEFORE COMING TO A STOP OFF THE ROAD. I WAS INFORMED LATER AFTER INCIDENT THAT THIS VEHICLE HAD A RECALL FOR WHAT I HAD JUST DESCRIBED ABOVE. VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT USED FROM DEALERSHIP AND HAVE NO RECORD OR INFO IF THIS RECALL BEING FIXED.

View Details

WHEELS

12/25/2016 - ALVARADO, TX
I WAS DRIVING HOME CHRISTMAS MORNING AND A FEW MILES BEFORE I GOT HOME THE LOWER AND HIGHER BALL JOINTS SEPERATED FROM EACH OTHER. I HAD NO CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ONE ELSE ON THE ROAD WITH ME. I WAS HEADED STRAIGHT ON ROAD WHEN INCIDENT HAPPENED. VEHICLE BOUNCED MANY TIMES BEFORE COMING TO A STOP OFF THE ROAD. I WAS INFORMED LATER AFTER INCIDENT THAT THIS VEHICLE HAD A RECALL FOR WHAT I HAD JUST DESCRIBED ABOVE. VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT USED FROM DEALERSHIP AND HAVE NO RECORD OR INFO IF THIS RECALL BEING FIXED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/16/2016 - FORT MYERS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE BALL JOINT FELL APART AND THE WHEEL DETACHED. A CRASH OCCURRED. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V288000 (SUSPENSION). THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE BALL JOINT WOULD SOON FAIL AND NEEDED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

WHEELS

12/15/2016 - FORT MYERS, FL
I PULLED OUT OF MY DRIVE WAY AND THE AND MY CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. MY BALL JOINT BROKE OFF AND MY TIRE FELL OFF MY CAR. MY MECHANIC TOLD ME THE BALL JOINT HAD RUSTED WHICH CAUSED IT TO BREAK. HE INSPECTED THE OTHER FRONT WHEEL AND SAID IT IS IN THE SAME CONDITION AND IS READY TO BREAK. I TALKED TO CHRYSLER AND THEY SAID THEY HAD A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM WHICH WAS CALLED A F-23 BUT MY CAR WAS 23 DAYS OUTSIDE OF THIS RECALL DATE AND THEY WOULD NOT HELP ME. I LIFE IN FLORIDA, SO WHY ARE THESE BALL JOINTS RUSTING AWAY. THIS COULD HAVE HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY INSTEAD OF MY DRIVEWAY. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS FOR THE SAFETY OF OTHER JEEP OWNERS. BOB WHITE 239 634 2402. I WILL BE GETTING THE BAD PARTS FROM MY MECHANIC WHEN THE REPAIRS ARE COMPLETED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/23/2016 - BOARDMAN, OH
WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK, THERE IS ALMOST ALWAYS OVERFLOW THAT SPILLS OUT OF THE NOZZLE ONTO THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND ONTO THE PAVEMENT. I WOULD ESTIMATE THIS HAPPENS ABOUT 80% OF THE TIME I FILL UP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/21/2016 - LIVINGSTON, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED A FUEL ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/31/2016 - ATLANTA, GA
JEEP WINDOW REGULATOR ON REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR SUDDENLY FAILED FOR NO OBVIOUS REASON. WINDOW JUST FELL INSIDE THE DOOR WHILE THE CAR WAS PARKED AND THE ENTIRE SYSTEM MUST BE REPLACED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/27/2016 - MACOMB, MI
2006 JEEP LIBERTY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PASSENGER SIDE REAR SUSPENSION AND LOWER CONTROL ARMS DAMAGES CAUSED BY CORROSION. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN THE ARM BROKE, IT CAUSED THE CONSUMER TO VEER TO THE LEFT INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THE CONSUMER STATED HE WAS NEVER INFORMED OF A RECALL, DESPITE THERE BEING ONE ISSUED FOR HIS MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 152
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds