Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 477 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (60) Exterior Lighting (2) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (50) Power Train (14) Steering (19) Visibility (213)
Engine (3) Fuel System Diesel (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Fuel System Gasoline (37) Seats (2) Suspension (48) Wheels (4)
Equipment (5) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/11/2014 - PORTLAND, OR
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH A SECOND VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE CAUSING THE DRIVER TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASH INTO A METAL BUS STOP AND A TREE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT DURING THE INCIDENT THE AIR BAGS IN THE VEHICLE DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED NECK, HEAD, BACK AND RIGHT SHOULDER INJURIES DURING THE CRASH. NO POLICE REPORT WAS TAKEN. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED DURING THE INCIDENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. JFT

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/11/2014 - FAIRBANKS, AK
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY 4X4. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE , STRUCTURE) AND THE PART NEEDED WAS CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. JS

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/11/2014 - FAIRBANKS, AK
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY 4X4. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE , STRUCTURE) AND THE PART NEEDED WAS CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. JS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/11/2014 - SMYRNA, DE
I HAVE A FAULTY WINDOW REGULATOR IN MY BACK RIGHT WINDOW. I HAVE HAD EACH WINDOW FIXED AT LEAST ONCE DUE TO A FAULTY WINDOW REGULATOR. I HAVE ONE WINDOW FIXED TWICE. THIS ISSUE WAS PREVIOUSLY COVERED UNDER AN EXTENDED WARRANTY; HOWEVER, THE LATEST ISSUE OCCURRED AFTER THE EXTENDED WARRANT EXPIRED. CURRENTLY THE BACK RIGHT WINDOW WON'T STAY UP. I'VE PUSHED IT UP ON A WEEKLY BASIS AND IT SLOWLY FALLS. I'M CONCERNED THAT PRETTY SOON I'LL HAVE TO KEEP THE WINDOW UP USING TAPE OR OTHER MEASURES. IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE WITH THE WINDOW CONSTANTLY FALLING, ESPECIALLY IF AND WHEN I HAVE CHILDREN IN THE BACK SEAT OF MY CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/9/2014 - ALDI, VA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT IN DECEMBER 2013, SHE RECEIVED RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE , STRUCTURE ). THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS BUT THE PARTS WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE. AP

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/7/2014 - BREMERTON, WA
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE , STRUCTURE) SHE WAS CONCERNED FOR HER SAFETY SINCE THE PARTS WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM.THE VEHICLE HAD NOT EXPERIENCE THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000. PM

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2014 - MIAMISBURG, OH
MY ORIGINAL INTENT WAS TO FILE A COMPLAINT ABOUT A GAS OVERFLOW ISSUE, BUT AFTER SEEING ALL THE OTHER LIBERTY COMPLAINTS, I HAVE INCLUDED OTHER ISSUES I HAVE: 1. FOR AT LEAST TWO YEARS, WHEN PUMPING GAS, THE GAS HAS CONTINUED TO FLOW EVEN AFTER THE AUTOMATIC FLOW HAS SHUT OFF. I NOW STAND AT THE PUMP AND WHEN I THINK IT IS GETTING FULL, I START PUMPING BY HAND TO AVOID THE OVERFLOW. AFTER CHECKING ON THE INTERNET, THIS IS AN ISSUE OTHER LIBERTY OWNERS EXPERIENCE. I DID RECEIVE THE INITIAL RECALL NOTICE FOR 13V-252, BUT NOTHING SINCE TO SAY THE PART IS IN. SINCE THE GAS OVERFLOW IS EXPERIENCED BY MANY OWNERS, IS THIS PART OF THE RECALL? 2. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON. IT HAS BEEN RE-SET MANY TIMES; IS OK FOR A DAY OR TWO AND THEN RE-APPEARS. PER OWNER'S MANUAL, THIS IS NOT AN ISSUE UNLESS THE LIGHT IS FLASHING, WHICH IT IS NOT, BUT WHY DOES THIS CONTINUE TO OCCUR? 3. BOTH BACK ELECTRIC WINDOWS HAVE FALLEN DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. BOTH ARE NOW SECURED IN PLACE WITH TAPE, AS IT WOULD BE TOO EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR. 4. THE BACK LEFT DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2014 - MIAMISBURG, OH
MY ORIGINAL INTENT WAS TO FILE A COMPLAINT ABOUT A GAS OVERFLOW ISSUE, BUT AFTER SEEING ALL THE OTHER LIBERTY COMPLAINTS, I HAVE INCLUDED OTHER ISSUES I HAVE: 1. FOR AT LEAST TWO YEARS, WHEN PUMPING GAS, THE GAS HAS CONTINUED TO FLOW EVEN AFTER THE AUTOMATIC FLOW HAS SHUT OFF. I NOW STAND AT THE PUMP AND WHEN I THINK IT IS GETTING FULL, I START PUMPING BY HAND TO AVOID THE OVERFLOW. AFTER CHECKING ON THE INTERNET, THIS IS AN ISSUE OTHER LIBERTY OWNERS EXPERIENCE. I DID RECEIVE THE INITIAL RECALL NOTICE FOR 13V-252, BUT NOTHING SINCE TO SAY THE PART IS IN. SINCE THE GAS OVERFLOW IS EXPERIENCED BY MANY OWNERS, IS THIS PART OF THE RECALL? 2. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON. IT HAS BEEN RE-SET MANY TIMES; IS OK FOR A DAY OR TWO AND THEN RE-APPEARS. PER OWNER'S MANUAL, THIS IS NOT AN ISSUE UNLESS THE LIGHT IS FLASHING, WHICH IT IS NOT, BUT WHY DOES THIS CONTINUE TO OCCUR? 3. BOTH BACK ELECTRIC WINDOWS HAVE FALLEN DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. BOTH ARE NOW SECURED IN PLACE WITH TAPE, AS IT WOULD BE TOO EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR. 4. THE BACK LEFT DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/6/2014 - MIAMISBURG, OH
MY ORIGINAL INTENT WAS TO FILE A COMPLAINT ABOUT A GAS OVERFLOW ISSUE, BUT AFTER SEEING ALL THE OTHER LIBERTY COMPLAINTS, I HAVE INCLUDED OTHER ISSUES I HAVE: 1. FOR AT LEAST TWO YEARS, WHEN PUMPING GAS, THE GAS HAS CONTINUED TO FLOW EVEN AFTER THE AUTOMATIC FLOW HAS SHUT OFF. I NOW STAND AT THE PUMP AND WHEN I THINK IT IS GETTING FULL, I START PUMPING BY HAND TO AVOID THE OVERFLOW. AFTER CHECKING ON THE INTERNET, THIS IS AN ISSUE OTHER LIBERTY OWNERS EXPERIENCE. I DID RECEIVE THE INITIAL RECALL NOTICE FOR 13V-252, BUT NOTHING SINCE TO SAY THE PART IS IN. SINCE THE GAS OVERFLOW IS EXPERIENCED BY MANY OWNERS, IS THIS PART OF THE RECALL? 2. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ALWAYS ON. IT HAS BEEN RE-SET MANY TIMES; IS OK FOR A DAY OR TWO AND THEN RE-APPEARS. PER OWNER'S MANUAL, THIS IS NOT AN ISSUE UNLESS THE LIGHT IS FLASHING, WHICH IT IS NOT, BUT WHY DOES THIS CONTINUE TO OCCUR? 3. BOTH BACK ELECTRIC WINDOWS HAVE FALLEN DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. BOTH ARE NOW SECURED IN PLACE WITH TAPE, AS IT WOULD BE TOO EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR. 4. THE BACK LEFT DOOR WILL NOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2014 - HOWELL, MI
THIS STARTED APROX 3 YEARS AGO. WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK TO FULL, THE PUMP WOULD KICK OFF AND THEN GAS WOULD ALWAYS SPIT BACK AND OVERFLOW ON TO THE GROUND (SCARY) TO AVOID THIS, I STOPPED FILLING THE TANK TO FULL AND ONLY TO 3/4 FULL AND THE PROBLEM STOPPED. BUT NOW, I CAN'T ADD FUEL WITHOUT GAS SHOOTING BACK ALL OVER THE PLACE EVEN WHEN THE TANK HAS LOW FUEL. THE ONLY WAY FUEL CAN BE ADDED WITHOUT GETTING DRENCHED IN GAS, IS TO FIND A PUMP THAT YOU CAN FEATHER THE ON/OFF HANDLE TO RUN SLOW ENOUGH SO IT'S BARELY ADDING FUEL, THEN IT WILL NOT BACK UP. IT TAKES AT LEAST 20 MINUTES AT THE PUMP TO ADD 10 GALLONS OF GAS. UNFORTUNATELY I GAVE THIS VEHICLE TO MY 20 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER AND SHE IS SCARED TO ADD FUEL SO I HAVE TO DO IT. ALSO, I'VE HAD TO REPLACE THE CLOCK SPRING AND THE "GAS CAP" LIGHT NEVER SHUTS OFF. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FOR CLOCK SPRING ISSUES AND THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE SO SHE DROVE IT FOR MONTHS WITH THE WARNING LIGHTS ON AND THE PART IS STILL NOT AVAILABLE BUT THE LIGHTS HAVE NOW SHUT OFF.... THE GAS CAP WARNING COULD NOT BE FIXED BY THE DEALER SO THAT STAYS ON ALL THE TIME. BUT THIS FUELING PROBLEM IS A SERIOUS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds