Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1199 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (132) Fuel Propulsion System (147) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (64) Steering (39) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (179) Seat Belts (3) Structure (119) Visibility (401)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (6) Suspension (112) Visibility Wiper (37)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (5) Wheels (17)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 156
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

3/1/2018 - DALLAS, TX
THE BRACKET THAT IS RIVETED TO THE SEAT FRAME/PAN AND BOLTED TO THE SEAT BACK FRACTURED INTO TWO PIECES. THE BRACKET ON EACH SIDE OF THE FRAME FAILED UNDER NORMAL USE CONDITIONS. I PURCHASED A REPLACEMENT USED FRAME AND UPON DID-ASSEMBLY DISCOVERED THE SAME FAILURE. THIS COULD BE A FATAL CONDITION IN A CRASH, ESPECIALLY IF THERE IS A PASSENGER IN THE REAR SEAT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/15/2018 - STERLING, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE PUMPING FUEL INTO THE TANK'S FILLER NECK, THE FUEL LEAKED OUT WITHOUT WARNING. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING: WHEEL AND HANDLE BAR

2/2/2018 - CORINTH, MS
THE TILT FUNCTION OF THE STEERING WHEEL FREQUENTLY COMES UNLOCKED CAUSING THE STEERING WHEEL TO MOVE UP AND DOWN. THIS IS PARTICULARLY BAD WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS OR WHEN REVERSING. THERE DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE AN EASY WAY TO TIGHTEN THE TENSION ON THE ADJUSTMENT LEVER.

View Details

STEERING

2/2/2018 - CORINTH, MS
THE TILT FUNCTION OF THE STEERING WHEEL FREQUENTLY COMES UNLOCKED CAUSING THE STEERING WHEEL TO MOVE UP AND DOWN. THIS IS PARTICULARLY BAD WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS OR WHEN REVERSING. THERE DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE AN EASY WAY TO TIGHTEN THE TENSION ON THE ADJUSTMENT LEVER.

View Details

STEERING

12/15/2017 - POTOMAC, MD
THE CLUTCH IGNITION, POWER SWITCH OF MY TRUCK KEEPS STALLS. THE VEHICLE DON'T START, WHEN THE CLUTCH PEDAL IS PUSHED DOWN. ALSO THE ENGINE CRANK AND START WITHOUT THE CLUTCH PEDAL BEING PUSHED DOWN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO UNEXPECTEDLY LURCH. I WAS NOTIFIED BY A DEALER AFTER INSPECTION THAT SAID PROBLEM IS A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM, THAT WAS ON RECALL. HOWEVER SAID MY VEHICLE VIN# COULD NOT BE LOCATED WITH THE RECALL. I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER ON 1-800-992-1997, AND WAS TOLD I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. I WILL HIGHLY APPRECIATE YOUR IMMEDIATE INTERVENTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/15/2017 - POTOMAC, MD
THE CLUTCH IGNITION, POWER SWITCH OF MY TRUCK KEEPS STALLS. THE VEHICLE DON'T START, WHEN THE CLUTCH PEDAL IS PUSHED DOWN. ALSO THE ENGINE CRANK AND START WITHOUT THE CLUTCH PEDAL BEING PUSHED DOWN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO UNEXPECTEDLY LURCH. I WAS NOTIFIED BY A DEALER AFTER INSPECTION THAT SAID PROBLEM IS A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM, THAT WAS ON RECALL. HOWEVER SAID MY VEHICLE VIN# COULD NOT BE LOCATED WITH THE RECALL. I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER ON 1-800-992-1997, AND WAS TOLD I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. I WILL HIGHLY APPRECIATE YOUR IMMEDIATE INTERVENTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/15/2017 - POTOMAC, MD
THE CLUTCH IGNITION, POWER SWITCH OF MY TRUCK KEEPS STALLS. THE VEHICLE DON'T START, WHEN THE CLUTCH PEDAL IS PUSHED DOWN. ALSO THE ENGINE CRANK AND START WITHOUT THE CLUTCH PEDAL BEING PUSHED DOWN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO UNEXPECTEDLY LURCH. I WAS NOTIFIED BY A DEALER AFTER INSPECTION THAT SAID PROBLEM IS A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM, THAT WAS ON RECALL. HOWEVER SAID MY VEHICLE VIN# COULD NOT BE LOCATED WITH THE RECALL. I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER ON 1-800-992-1997, AND WAS TOLD I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. I WILL HIGHLY APPRECIATE YOUR IMMEDIATE INTERVENTION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/4/2017 - CAMILLUS, NY
FUEL OVERFLOW AT GAS PUMP. INLET CHECK VALVE. FUEL SPILLS ALL OUT OF FILLER OPENING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/4/2017 - VALLEJO, CA
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE ABS BAS ESP STOPPED WORKING AND THE LIGHTS CAME ON. WE WERE LIVING IN FT WAYNE INDIANS AT THE TIME AND WITHOUT THOSE FEATURES THIS JEEP IS FLAT OUT DANGEROUS. I HAD THE WHEEL SPEED SENSOR REPLACED TWICE BUT THAT WASN+T IT. ONE DEALER REBUILT ALL FOUR OF MY BRAKES AND PURGED THE SYSTEM. THAT DIDN+T WORK. I PAID FOUR DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS OVER 3800$ PLUS RENT FEES. IT STILL IS T FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/4/2017 - VALLEJO, CA
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE ABS BAS ESP STOPPED WORKING AND THE LIGHTS CAME ON. WE WERE LIVING IN FT WAYNE INDIANS AT THE TIME AND WITHOUT THOSE FEATURES THIS JEEP IS FLAT OUT DANGEROUS. I HAD THE WHEEL SPEED SENSOR REPLACED TWICE BUT THAT WASN+T IT. ONE DEALER REBUILT ALL FOUR OF MY BRAKES AND PURGED THE SYSTEM. THAT DIDN+T WORK. I PAID FOUR DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS OVER 3800$ PLUS RENT FEES. IT STILL IS T FIXED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 156
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds