Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1044 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Exterior Lighting (11) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (111) Fuel Propulsion System (121) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (52) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (168) Seat Belts (3) Structure (97) Visibility (392)
Engine And Engine Cooling (41) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (80) Visibility Wiper (32)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (4) Wheels (10)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 134
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - LIMA, OH
PASSENGER DOOR WINDOW FELL DOWN. LINKAGE/REGULATOR HAD TO BE REPLACED. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO THE WINDOWS, ON ALL 4 DOORS, 3-4 TIMES EACH. THIS JUST HAPPENED AGAIN TO THE REAR DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW ON 5-10-15.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/15/2015 - WARREN, ME
THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING SINCE THE JEEP WAS BRAND NEW. THERE IS NO AUTO-STOP WHEN FILLING THE JEEP. UP TO A GALLON, OR MORE, WILL SPILL OUT IF YOU CANNOT STOP IT IN TIME. THIS CAUSES FUEL TO GET ALL OVER THE VEHICLE AND THE PERSON PUMPING THE FUEL. WE HAVE TALKED WITH THE DEALER ABOUT THIS PROBLEM REPEATEDLY (IN TWO STATES - NEW JERSEY AND MAINE) AND IT SEEMS THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN (OR WILL) DO. WE CANNOT BE THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/14/2015 - PRICE, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE MAKING A U-TURN AT 3 MPH, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE COLLIDED WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. NEITHER OF THE FRONTAL AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR REPAIR. THE CONTACT WENT TO A DOCTOR THE FOLLOWING MORNING WHO DIAGNOSED THE CONTACT WITH WHIPLASH AND SEVERE HEADACHES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/12/2015 - BLUE HILL, ME
I BOUGHT THIS USED VEHICLE 2 YEARS AGO. IT CURRENTLY HAS A RECALL ON THE GAS TANK. THE WAY THE DEALERSHIP "FIXES" THIS RECALL IS TO INSTALL A TRAILER HITCH, WHICH IS LAUGHABLE, AT BEST. THE TESTING AGENCIES HAVE PROVEN THAT A TRAILER HITCH IS ONLY MINIMALLY EFFECT UP TO 25 MPH AND NOT EFFECTIVE AT GREATER SPEEDS. I REQUESTED THE DEALERSHIP "WORK WITH ME" SO THAT I COULD BUY A SAFER VEHICLE FROM THEM. THEY ARE ONLY WILLING TO OFFER ME THE SAME TRADE-IN AMOUNT AS IF I WERE TRADING VEHICLE SOLELY BECAUSE I WANT A NEW VEHICLE. I WOULD KEEP THIS VEHICLE, IF IT WERE SAFE. I'VE CONTACTED METAL MANUFACTURING BUSINESSES AND REQUESTED THAT THEY BUILD ME A SAFE, STRONG GAS TANK AND BUMPER TO REPLACE THAT WHICH IS CURRENTLY IN THE VEHICLE. I AM WILLING TO PAY THE PRICE TO MAKE THIS VEHICLE SAFE. THE MANUFACTURING FACILITIES HAVE REFUSED TO BUILD ANY PARTS FOR ME BECAUSE THE LIABILITY, AFTER AN ACCIDENT, WOULD REVERT TO THEM RATHER THAN THE BURDEN BEING ON JEEP. I HAVE TOLD THE DEALERSHIP THAT I HAVE A SAFETY PROBLEM BUT THEY DON'T SEEM TO THINK I SHOULD GET ANY FINANCIAL CONSIDERATION WHEN TRADING IN AN UNSAFE VEHICLE THAT CAN NOT BE MADE SAFE EITHER BY ME OR BY JEEP. THEY WILL ONLY OFFER ME LESS THAN KELLY BLUE BOOK FOR TRADE IN AND HAVE TAKEN $1,000.00 OF THE RETAIL PRICE OF THE NEW VEHICLE. THIS IS INADEQUATE CONSIDERING THEY SOLD ME AN UNSAFE VEHICLE WHICH CAN NOT BE FIXED. THE DEALERSHIP IS DARLINGS; PO BOX 277; BREWER, MAINE 04412-0277. PHONE: 207-669-6570.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/9/2015 - WYANDANCH, NY
UNABLE TO CLOSE REAR LIFT GATE. VEHICLE WAS NOT USING ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. VEHICLE WAS NOT USING CRUISE CONTROL. WAS ABLE TO HAVE A 'WORK AROUND' BY USING THE KEY FOB TO RELEASE THE GATE LATCH IN ORDER TO CLOSE THE WINDOW. AS OF SATURDAY MAY 9,2015, THAT WORK AROUND HAS FAILED. KEY FOB IS STILL ABLE TO LOCK/UNLOCK DOORS AND SET ALARM. NOTICED NO SUPERFICIAL WATER DAMAGE /LEAKS AROUND WEATHER STRIP. READ AND NOTICED SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE REAR WINDOW LATCH NOT CLOSING PROPERLY IF AT ALL. THIS IS A DRIVING HAZARD THAT WILL SURELY CAUSE DRIVERS TO HAVE INFRACTIONS AND/OR ACCIDENTS. PLEASE ADVISE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/5/2015 - WINSTON SALEM, NC
1) AS SPRING ARRIVED I ROLLED DOWN THE WINDOWS AND THERE IS A NOISE WHICH SOUNDS LIKE CARD BOARD FLAPPING AS WHEEL TURNS. 2) DURING THE WINTER WHILE DRIVING SLOW OVER SPEED BUMPS IT SOUNDED LIKE RUSTY SPRINGS. 3) ANOTHER ON/OFF PROBLEM - WHEN I PARK; AND TURN KEY TO OFF IT PASS OFF POSITION TO ACC POSITION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/1/2015 - BOURBONNAIS, IL
3 BROKEN WINDOWS ONE IS STUCK IN DOOR ONE IS STUCK UP AND BACK SEAT IS STUCK . ALL HAVE BROKEN WITHIN A WEEK. I CANT AFFORD TO GET ALL 3 FIXED AT ONE TIME . JUST FOR THEM TO BREAK AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

4/30/2015 - WEST PLAINS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE ROLLING UP THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW, IT SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT ALSO HAD DIFFICULTY REMOVING THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION WHILE IN THE OFF POSITION. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 12V085000 (SUSPENSION) AND 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/30/2015 - WEST PLAINS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE ROLLING UP THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW, IT SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT ALSO HAD DIFFICULTY REMOVING THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION WHILE IN THE OFF POSITION. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 12V085000 (SUSPENSION) AND 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/29/2015 - SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 134
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds