Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1004 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Exterior Lighting (10) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (108) Fuel Propulsion System (112) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (51) Steering (28) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (154) Seat Belts (3) Structure (90) Visibility (390)
Engine And Engine Cooling (40) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (78) Visibility Wiper (30)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (4) Wheels (9)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/28/2015 - HICKSVILLE , NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO INFORM WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. NE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/28/2015 - HICKSVILLE , NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO INFORM WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. NE

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/21/2015 - WHEATRIDGE, CO
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW FAILED TO ROLL UP AND CAME OFF TRACK. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE REPAIRED BUT RECURRED SHORTLY AFTER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. PAM

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/20/2015 - PRINCETON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/20/2015 - PRINCETON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2015 - SIDNEY, OH
THE SUNROOF DRAINS INTO THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT AND ON TO THE FUSE PANEL AND FREEZES. I HAVE TO REPLACE AT $822.00. A SERVICE BULLETIN WAS ISSUED IN 2006 ADDRESSING THIS ISSUE THE DRAIN ISSUE WAS REPAIRED BY DEALER DURING WARRANTY IN 2007. A FROZEN FUSE PANEL CAN CAUSE AN ELECTRICAL FIRE INSIDE THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

1/15/2015 - MOUNT KISCO, NY
3 TIMES WHILE DRIVING ON THE SAW MILL PARKWAY THIS MORNING IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC, WHILE COMING TO A STOP THE VEHICLE STARTED TO ACCELERATE OUT OF CONTROL. THE BRAKES COULD NOT CONTROL IT. THE FIRST TIME I PUT IT IN NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE REVERTED TO IDLE SPEED AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE NORMALLY. A FEW MILES LATER IT DID IT AGAIN AS I WAS COMING TO A STOP IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. THIS TIME WHEN I PUT IT IN NEUTRAL THE ENGINE RACED AT FULL SPEED AS IF IT WAS BEING FLOORED. I HAD TO TURN OFF THE KEY. WHEN I RESTARTED THE ENGINE IT RAN FINE FOR A FEW MILES UNTIL I WAS EXITING THE HIGHWAY. AGAIN WHEN I SLOWED TO A STOP THE ENGINE RACED AT FULL REVS. GOING INTO NEUTRAL DID NOT HELP. TURNING OFF THE KEY FIXED IT. AT THE END OF THE DAY AFTER WORK THE VEHICLE BEHAVED NORMALLY. THIS JEEP HAS DONE THIS 3 TIMES IN THE PAST, IN JANUARY 2009, FEB 2012 AND OCTOBER 2014.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/7/2015 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO INFORM WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/31/2014 - GAINESVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2014 - BYRON, IL
MY AIR BAG LIGHT INDICATOR ACTIVATED, AND AT THE SAME TIME MY HORN STOPPED WORKING! AFTER HAVING IT CHECKED OUT BY A REPAIR SHOP, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT A FAULTY CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY IS THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. THIS ASSEMBLY HAS BEEN RESPONSIBLE FOR THE MALFUNCTION OF AIR BAGS IN OTHER 2006 JEEP LIBERTY'S; HOWEVER, RECALLS OF THIS PROBLEM APPLY TO OTHER VIN NUMBERS (BEGINNING WITH THE LETTER K). I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY A JEEP DEALERSHIP THAT THE COST OF REPAIRS WILL EXCEED $400.00, AND THAT MY VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY NOT ON THE RECALL LIST. HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY'S ARE THAT MUCH DIFFERENT AMONGST THE DIFFERENT VIN NUMBERS? I AM HIGHLY SUSPICIOUS, AND IN THE MEANTIME I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT IN ADDITION TO HAVING NO HORN THAT MY AIR BAGS WOULD NOT EMPLOY IN THE EVENT THERE WAS AN ACCIDENT. DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO BE KILLED IN A VEHICLE FOR ANOTHER VIN NUMBER TO BE CHECKED OUT ON THE CURRENT LISTING?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds