Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1173 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (130) Fuel Propulsion System (140) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (62) Steering (35) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (179) Seat Belts (3) Structure (117) Visibility (400)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (107) Visibility Wiper (37)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (12) Tires (4) Wheels (17)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 152
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

2/11/2017 - EL CAMPO, TX
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION 30 MPH. FRONT PASSENGER SIDE MADE A GRINDING NOISE AND ENTIRE VEHICLE SHOOK. LOST COMPLETE STEERING CONTROL AND CROSSED 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC BEFORE BRINGING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP. VEHICLE WAS IN THE FAR RIGHT LANE AND CROSSED OVER 3 LANES BEFORE STOPPING. LOCATION WAS ON A CITY STREET.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/8/2017 - MELISSA, TX
WHEN FILLING THE TANK WITH FUEL, THE PUMP DOES NOT SHUT OFF, AND THE FUEL FILLER TUBE BELCHES FUEL ONTO THE SIDE OF THE TRUCK AND THE GROUND. THIS CAUSES A FIRE SAFETY ISSUE, THE FUEL DAMAGES PAINT AND PLASTICS ON THE VEHICLE, IT IS WASTEFUL, AND IS HAZARDOUS TO THE ENVIRONMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/3/2017 - CERES, CA
I WAS SUFFOCATING UNTIL THE AIRBAG EXPLODED CAUSING CUTS TO MY HANDS HOLDING STEERING WHEEL. A CUT OR SLASH ABOVE MY LEFT BROW ABRAISIONS TO MY NOSE CUT ON FACE AND UPPER LIP BRUISED CHEST FOR 5-6 WEEKS OF PAIN & EXPLOSION BLEW OUT THE BACK OF A FRONT TOOTH CROWN & LOOSENED 3 OTHER FRONT TEETH AS WELL AS CRACKING MY BRIDGE TO THE UPPER RIGHT IF MY MOUTH! RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE 2 DAYS AGO REGARDING THE AIRBAG I WAS FURIOUS! NOBODY COULD UNDERSTAND HOW I SUFFERRED ALL THOSE INJURIES. MY INSURANCE DID NOT COVER MEDICAL. I WAS TOTALLY BED RIDDEN FOR THE FIRST 10 DAYS. I COULD BARELY BREATHE AND OR MOVE! I DID NOT GO TO EMERGENCY I COULDNT AFFORD TO PAY THE BILLS. I WILL HAVE DENTAL MARCH 2017. I HAVE BEEN ON STATE DISABILITY SINCE 2005 AND I'M FINANCIALLY LIMITED . THANK GOD MY SISTER AND NEIGHBORS HELPED ME THANK YOU REPECTFULLY ; AGNES CRAIG 3221 MATTERHORN WAY. CERES, CA. 95307.I ALMOST FORGOT MY LOWER RIGHT MOLAR HAD A PIN FROM ROOT CANAL AND THE ENTIRE CROWN SHATTERED AND FELL OUT OF M I COULD HAVE LOST MORE THAN BLOWN OUT TEETH CROWN & BRIDGE. CUTS AND TRAMA TO MY HANDS FACE ARMS IT WAS EXTREMELY TRAMATIZING. I LOOKED HORRIBLE 2 BLACK EYES CUTS ON FACE SCRAPE MARKS BUMPED BRUISED STILL CANT EAT NORMAL FOOD WITHOUT DISCOMFORT & PAIN. I SEE THE SCARS. I USE ALOT OF MAKE UP. IM DEPRESSED AND DRIVING IS NOT AS ENJOYABLE. IT WAS DARK RAINY AND DRIVING IN NARROW 2 WAY TRAFFIC SWERVED TO MISS A DOG OR COYOTE? THEN WENT OFF THE ROAD ROLLING DOWN A DITCH COMING TO A STOP BY A TREE. I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 15 - 20 MPH. I AM 411 AND WAS AT FIRST PINNED AND SUFFOCATING MY CHEST WAS BADLY BRUISED FOR WEEKS HURTING EVEN TO BREATH I WAS LITERALLY BED RIDDEN AND OUT OF SIGHT FOR THE FIRST 10 DAYS. TRYING TO FIGURE OUT HOW INGIT SO CUT UP BANGED UP BRUISED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/27/2017 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BALL JOINT FRACTURED ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BALL JOINT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V288000 (SUSPENSION). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 154,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/15/2017 - TULSA, OK
RH LOWER BALL JOINT BROKE TODAY. CAR IS IMMOBILE. THIS BALL JOINT WAS REPLACED ONE YEAR AGO, WHEN IT FIRST FAILED. THE LH ONE ALSO BROKE 6 MONTHS AGO. ALL 3 FAILURES WHERE IN PARKING LOTS. MY LIBERTY'S VIN IS NOT IN THE RECALL RANGE. JEEP REFUSES TO TALK TO ME. THEIR EXPLANATION ABOUT WATER ANT CORROSION IS NOT TECHNICALLY VALID. I AM AN AEROSPACE ENGINEER AND DEAL WITH THIS SORT OF THING ALL THE TIME. THE CAUSE IS CYCLIC LOADING OF THE TAPERED PIN, HIGH TENSION LOAD AND A STRESS RISER AT THE THREAD. REPLACING THE BALL JOINT ONLY PROVIDES MORE FAILURE OPPORTUNITIES. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW THE NUMBER OF DEATHS AND INJURIES THIS HAS CAUSED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/4/2017 - CORTLAND, IL
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY 2006. EVERY TIME I PUT FUEL IN IT, IT OVERFLOWS. IT IS NOT AUTOMATICALLY SHUTTING.OFF THEREFORE SPILLING OVER AND GETTING ALL OVER THE CAR OR ME. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS. I TRIED FILLING UP AT A FEW DIFFERENT GAS STATIONS AND IT IS THE SAMERTHNG. ON THE INTERNET IT IS SHOWING MANY PEOPLE HAVE CONCERNS ABOUT THIS WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL? I AM AFRAID SOMEONE WILL THROW A CIGARETTE OUT THEIR WINDOW AND I WILL BLOW UP. I WIPE IT.UP EACH TIME.

View Details

WHEELS

12/25/2016 - ALVARADO, TX
I WAS DRIVING HOME CHRISTMAS MORNING AND A FEW MILES BEFORE I GOT HOME THE LOWER AND HIGHER BALL JOINTS SEPERATED FROM EACH OTHER. I HAD NO CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ONE ELSE ON THE ROAD WITH ME. I WAS HEADED STRAIGHT ON ROAD WHEN INCIDENT HAPPENED. VEHICLE BOUNCED MANY TIMES BEFORE COMING TO A STOP OFF THE ROAD. I WAS INFORMED LATER AFTER INCIDENT THAT THIS VEHICLE HAD A RECALL FOR WHAT I HAD JUST DESCRIBED ABOVE. VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT USED FROM DEALERSHIP AND HAVE NO RECORD OR INFO IF THIS RECALL BEING FIXED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/25/2016 - ALVARADO, TX
I WAS DRIVING HOME CHRISTMAS MORNING AND A FEW MILES BEFORE I GOT HOME THE LOWER AND HIGHER BALL JOINTS SEPERATED FROM EACH OTHER. I HAD NO CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ONE ELSE ON THE ROAD WITH ME. I WAS HEADED STRAIGHT ON ROAD WHEN INCIDENT HAPPENED. VEHICLE BOUNCED MANY TIMES BEFORE COMING TO A STOP OFF THE ROAD. I WAS INFORMED LATER AFTER INCIDENT THAT THIS VEHICLE HAD A RECALL FOR WHAT I HAD JUST DESCRIBED ABOVE. VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT USED FROM DEALERSHIP AND HAVE NO RECORD OR INFO IF THIS RECALL BEING FIXED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/25/2016 - ALVARADO, TX
I WAS DRIVING HOME CHRISTMAS MORNING AND A FEW MILES BEFORE I GOT HOME THE LOWER AND HIGHER BALL JOINTS SEPERATED FROM EACH OTHER. I HAD NO CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, THANKFULLY THERE WAS NO ONE ELSE ON THE ROAD WITH ME. I WAS HEADED STRAIGHT ON ROAD WHEN INCIDENT HAPPENED. VEHICLE BOUNCED MANY TIMES BEFORE COMING TO A STOP OFF THE ROAD. I WAS INFORMED LATER AFTER INCIDENT THAT THIS VEHICLE HAD A RECALL FOR WHAT I HAD JUST DESCRIBED ABOVE. VEHICLE WAS BOUGHT USED FROM DEALERSHIP AND HAVE NO RECORD OR INFO IF THIS RECALL BEING FIXED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/16/2016 - FORT MYERS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE BALL JOINT FELL APART AND THE WHEEL DETACHED. A CRASH OCCURRED. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 06V288000 (SUSPENSION). THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE BALL JOINT WOULD SOON FAIL AND NEEDED REPLACING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. UPDATED 02/16/17

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 152
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds