Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1196 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Exterior Lighting (14) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (132) Fuel Propulsion System (146) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (38)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (64) Steering (37) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (179) Seat Belts (3) Structure (119) Visibility (401)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (112) Visibility Wiper (37)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (5) Wheels (17)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 155
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/15/2017 - POTOMAC, MD
THE CLUTCH IGNITION, POWER SWITCH OF MY TRUCK KEEPS STALLS. THE VEHICLE DON'T START, WHEN THE CLUTCH PEDAL IS PUSHED DOWN. ALSO THE ENGINE CRANK AND START WITHOUT THE CLUTCH PEDAL BEING PUSHED DOWN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO UNEXPECTEDLY LURCH. I WAS NOTIFIED BY A DEALER AFTER INSPECTION THAT SAID PROBLEM IS A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM, THAT WAS ON RECALL. HOWEVER SAID MY VEHICLE VIN# COULD NOT BE LOCATED WITH THE RECALL. I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER ON 1-800-992-1997, AND WAS TOLD I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. I WILL HIGHLY APPRECIATE YOUR IMMEDIATE INTERVENTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/15/2017 - POTOMAC, MD
THE CLUTCH IGNITION, POWER SWITCH OF MY TRUCK KEEPS STALLS. THE VEHICLE DON'T START, WHEN THE CLUTCH PEDAL IS PUSHED DOWN. ALSO THE ENGINE CRANK AND START WITHOUT THE CLUTCH PEDAL BEING PUSHED DOWN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO UNEXPECTEDLY LURCH. I WAS NOTIFIED BY A DEALER AFTER INSPECTION THAT SAID PROBLEM IS A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM, THAT WAS ON RECALL. HOWEVER SAID MY VEHICLE VIN# COULD NOT BE LOCATED WITH THE RECALL. I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER ON 1-800-992-1997, AND WAS TOLD I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. I WILL HIGHLY APPRECIATE YOUR IMMEDIATE INTERVENTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/15/2017 - POTOMAC, MD
THE CLUTCH IGNITION, POWER SWITCH OF MY TRUCK KEEPS STALLS. THE VEHICLE DON'T START, WHEN THE CLUTCH PEDAL IS PUSHED DOWN. ALSO THE ENGINE CRANK AND START WITHOUT THE CLUTCH PEDAL BEING PUSHED DOWN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO UNEXPECTEDLY LURCH. I WAS NOTIFIED BY A DEALER AFTER INSPECTION THAT SAID PROBLEM IS A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM, THAT WAS ON RECALL. HOWEVER SAID MY VEHICLE VIN# COULD NOT BE LOCATED WITH THE RECALL. I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER ON 1-800-992-1997, AND WAS TOLD I HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. I WILL HIGHLY APPRECIATE YOUR IMMEDIATE INTERVENTION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/4/2017 - CAMILLUS, NY
FUEL OVERFLOW AT GAS PUMP. INLET CHECK VALVE. FUEL SPILLS ALL OUT OF FILLER OPENING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/4/2017 - VALLEJO, CA
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE ABS BAS ESP STOPPED WORKING AND THE LIGHTS CAME ON. WE WERE LIVING IN FT WAYNE INDIANS AT THE TIME AND WITHOUT THOSE FEATURES THIS JEEP IS FLAT OUT DANGEROUS. I HAD THE WHEEL SPEED SENSOR REPLACED TWICE BUT THAT WASN+T IT. ONE DEALER REBUILT ALL FOUR OF MY BRAKES AND PURGED THE SYSTEM. THAT DIDN+T WORK. I PAID FOUR DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS OVER 3800$ PLUS RENT FEES. IT STILL IS T FIXED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2017 - VALLEJO, CA
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE ABS BAS ESP STOPPED WORKING AND THE LIGHTS CAME ON. WE WERE LIVING IN FT WAYNE INDIANS AT THE TIME AND WITHOUT THOSE FEATURES THIS JEEP IS FLAT OUT DANGEROUS. I HAD THE WHEEL SPEED SENSOR REPLACED TWICE BUT THAT WASN+T IT. ONE DEALER REBUILT ALL FOUR OF MY BRAKES AND PURGED THE SYSTEM. THAT DIDN+T WORK. I PAID FOUR DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS OVER 3800$ PLUS RENT FEES. IT STILL IS T FIXED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/4/2017 - VALLEJO, CA
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE ABS BAS ESP STOPPED WORKING AND THE LIGHTS CAME ON. WE WERE LIVING IN FT WAYNE INDIANS AT THE TIME AND WITHOUT THOSE FEATURES THIS JEEP IS FLAT OUT DANGEROUS. I HAD THE WHEEL SPEED SENSOR REPLACED TWICE BUT THAT WASN+T IT. ONE DEALER REBUILT ALL FOUR OF MY BRAKES AND PURGED THE SYSTEM. THAT DIDN+T WORK. I PAID FOUR DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS OVER 3800$ PLUS RENT FEES. IT STILL IS T FIXED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/5/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
NOTICED THAT THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE FELT LOOSE. THERE HAD BEEN A LOUD METAL SCRAPING NOISE WHILE DRIVING ON A STRAIGHT HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 65 MPH ABOUT A MONTH EARLIER, HAD THE VEHICLE CHECKED BUT NOTHING WAS FOUND. TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR NEW FRONT TIRES AND AN ALIGNMENT AND WAS NOTIFIED THAT THE LOWER BALL JOINT HAS A LOT OF PLAY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I KNOW THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE BALL JOINTS BUT WHEN I CONTACTED CHRYSLER I WAS TOLD THERE ISN'T A RECALL ON MY VEHICLE. THE RECALL L27 INCLUDES MY STATE THAT THE VEHICLE IS REGISTERED IN BUT IT WAS BOUGHT IN VIRGINIA, WHICH IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE HAS 120,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

TIRES

10/2/2017 - METAIRIE, LA
DUE TO A MANUFACTURING ERROR OF A TIRE, I HAD A BLOWOUT ON THE INTERSTATE THAT ENDED UP TOTALING MY CAR. THE TREAD COMPLETELY SPLIT FROM THE TIRE WHILE DRIVING AT 70 MPH. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO PULL TO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT ANY COLLISIONS OR DAMAGE TO MYSELF OR OTHERS. THE BLOWOUT RIPPED OFF PIECES OF THE FRONT BUMPER, SOME SIDING OF THE CAR, AND CAUSED HUGE COSMETIC DAMAGE IN ADDITION TO WRECKING THE FRAME AND CAUSING SOME INTERNAL DAMAGE, INCLUDING A LEAK OF WIPER FLUID. MY CAR WAS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY (WITH 60,000 MILES) AND THE TIRE WAS A GOODYEAR WRANGLER ST TIRE WITH DOT # M671 EKER. (THERE WAS NO SET OF NUMBERS FOLLOWING THE EKER AS ON MOST TIRES, JUST A BLANK SPACE.)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2017 - LAKE ORION, MI
BOTH REAR WINDOW MOTORS HAVE FAILED. THE WINDOWS SLIDE DOWN INTO THE DOORS STATIONARY, AND OR DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 155
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds