Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1115 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (120) Fuel Propulsion System (129) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (30)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (56) Steering (34) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (178) Seat Belts (3) Structure (114) Visibility (397)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (93) Visibility Wiper (36)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (9) Tires (4) Wheels (13)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 145
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/29/2016 - SLIDELL, LA
THE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH ON MY VEHICLE REGULARLY FAILS. MY MECHANIC HAS DONE THIS REPLACEMENT SO MANY TIMES I HAVE LOST COUNT. HIS FIRST TRY HE USED A LESS EXPENSIVE BRAKE LIGHT SWITCH, BUT SINCE THE FIRST TIME HE HAS ONLY USED THE MANUFACTURER PART. THE LAST REPLACEMENT LASTED 6 WEEKS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/28/2016 - DOWNERS GROVE, IL
ORIGINALLY PURCHASED TOW HITCH AND PAID FOR INSTALLATION AT A CAR REPAIR SHOP, THEN LATER HAD TO STOP BY A JEEP DEALERSHIP TO INSPECT IT. THE JEEP DEALERSHIP REMOVED MY HITCH TO INSTALL A NEW ONE BUT STOLE MY OLD HITCH THAT I ALREADY PAID FOR. I COULD HAVE RETURNED THE OLD HITCH OR USED IT FOR MY OTHER VEHICLE BUT INSTEAD THEY REFUSED TO GIVE IT BACK TO ME AND WOULDN'T EVEN GIVE ME BACK THE SMALL RUBBER TOW HITCH COVER I HAD ON IT. SO NOW I'M OUT THE MONEY I PAID FOR THE ORIGINAL HITCH AND NOW CHRYSLER JEEP GETS AWAY WITH STEALING MY AFTERMARKET ADD-ONS. THIS IS CRIMINAL AND I SHOULD BE REIMBURSED FOR WHAT THEY TOOK FROM ME. THE DEALERSHIP WAS RUDE TO ME AND TOLD ME THEY HAD TO DESTROY THE TOW HITCH I BROUGHT IN. OVERALL, IT WAS THE WORST SERVICE EVER.

View Details

WHEELS

1/14/2016 - JOHNSBURG, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN FOR A SCHEDULED TIRE ROTATION AND THE MECHANIC INFORMED THAT THE LUG NUTS ON THREE OF THE TIRES HAD TO BE CUT DUE TO SEVERE RUST. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 167,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/22/2015 - SALISBURY, MD
JEEP WOULD NOT START -HAD LIGHTS, RADIO, HORN ETC. BUT IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER AT ALL. TOWED TO DEALER. TECH PERFORMED DIAGNOSIS AND FOUND THE PROBLEM - STEERING COLUMN HAD TO BE REPLACED. TOTAL COST $798.00. I WAS TOLD THAT THE STEERING COLUMN AND IGNITION SWITCH WERE PROBLEM ISSUES IN THIS MAKE AND MODEL BUT NO RECALL WAS IN PLACE TO REPAIR. IGNITION SWITCH RECALL REPLACE IN 2006 JEEP LIBERTY MANUAL TRANSMISSION BUT NOT IN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

View Details

STEERING

12/22/2015 - SALISBURY, MD
JEEP WOULD NOT START -HAD LIGHTS, RADIO, HORN ETC. BUT IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER AT ALL. TOWED TO DEALER. TECH PERFORMED DIAGNOSIS AND FOUND THE PROBLEM - STEERING COLUMN HAD TO BE REPLACED. TOTAL COST $798.00. I WAS TOLD THAT THE STEERING COLUMN AND IGNITION SWITCH WERE PROBLEM ISSUES IN THIS MAKE AND MODEL BUT NO RECALL WAS IN PLACE TO REPAIR. IGNITION SWITCH RECALL REPLACE IN 2006 JEEP LIBERTY MANUAL TRANSMISSION BUT NOT IN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/22/2015 - SALISBURY, MD
JEEP WOULD NOT START -HAD LIGHTS, RADIO, HORN ETC. BUT IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER AT ALL. TOWED TO DEALER. TECH PERFORMED DIAGNOSIS AND FOUND THE PROBLEM - STEERING COLUMN HAD TO BE REPLACED. TOTAL COST $798.00. I WAS TOLD THAT THE STEERING COLUMN AND IGNITION SWITCH WERE PROBLEM ISSUES IN THIS MAKE AND MODEL BUT NO RECALL WAS IN PLACE TO REPAIR. IGNITION SWITCH RECALL REPLACE IN 2006 JEEP LIBERTY MANUAL TRANSMISSION BUT NOT IN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/14/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
EVERY TIME I START TO FILL MY TANK IT OVERFLOWS. I LOSE APPROX. 1/2 GALLON ON THE GROUND EVERY TIME I PUT FUEL IN. THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I JUST BOUGHT THIS JEEP A FEW WEEKS AGO. THE PREVIOUS OWNER/ DEALERSHIP DID NOT MAKE US AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/9/2015 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/9/2015 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V252000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE, STRUCTURE); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/1/2015 - DAYTONA BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 10 MPH AND GOING OVER A BUMP, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL SQUEAKING SOUND. THE FAILURE OCCURRED CONSTANTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT BALL JOINTS WERE WORN OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V085000 (SUSPENSION). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 145
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds