Auto Recalls for Consumers

JEEP LIBERTY - 2006 JEEP LIBERTY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1151 complaints filed for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 JEEP LIBERTY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (2) Service Brakes Electric (3) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (128) Fuel Propulsion System (135) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (32) Unknown Or Other (36)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel System Diesel (18) Power Train (61) Steering (35) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (179) Seat Belts (3) Structure (115) Visibility (399)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (5) Suspension (98) Visibility Wiper (37)
Equipment (9) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (12) Tires (4) Wheels (15)
Equipment Adaptive (5) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 150
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/6/2016 - WALLINGFORD, CT
I OWN A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY MADE FOR EXPORT. I LIVE IN MEXICO. I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN MEXICO. I HAVE READ ABOUT THE RECALL FOR THIS MODEL YEAR BECAUSE OF THE FUEL TANK PROBLEMS. I NEED THE NAME AND ADDRESS OF A JEEP DEALER IN GUADALAJARA, MEXICO WHERE THEY CAN PUT THE TRAILER HITCH ON AT NO COST FOR PARTS AND LABOR. MY E-MAIL IS: KSREICHENECKER@YAHOO.COM I WOULD APPRECIATE ANY HELP YOU CAN GIVE ME.

View Details

STEERING

8/1/2016 - SILVER CITY, NM
ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH TO 70 MPH, THE ENGINE OF THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY, WITHOUT WARNING, WITH THE LOSS OF ALL STEERING OR CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. ON TWO OTHER OCCASIONS, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY, WITHOUT WARNING, WITH THE LOSS OF ANY STEERING OR CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE, AFTER EXITING THE HIGHWAY AND ENTERING CITY TRAFFIC. THAT IS A TOTAL OF FOUR ENGINE SHUT DOWNS OR STALLS WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. WE JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE, AND THIS IS NERVE-WRECKING AND DANGEROUS TO SAY THE LEAST. THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN AFTER DRIVING LONG DISTANCES, AND HAS HAPPENED FROM DRIVING DISTANCES OF APPROXIMATELY 90 MILES TO 160 MILES. IF YOU WAIT APPROXIMATELY ONE HOUR, THE VEHICLE WILL THEN START UP AGAIN AND RUN. BUT IT WILL STALL AGAIN WITH COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. OTHERS ON THE INTERNET HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCE THIS PROBLEM WITH JEEP 3.7 AND 4.7 POWERTECH JEEP MOTORS. OUR JEEP IS A 3.7 MOTOR. THIS APPEARS TO BE THE SAME PROBLEM AS JEEP EXPERIENCED WITH JEEP COMMANDER AND JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE MODELS, WHICH WERE RECALLED. THIS SITUATION CAN OBVIOUSLY BE LIFE THREATENING. CHRYSLER JEEP SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO PUT LIFE TREATING VEHICLES ON THE MARKET AND THESE JEEPS MUST BE RECALLED. WE ASK FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/1/2016 - SILVER CITY, NM
ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH TO 70 MPH, THE ENGINE OF THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY, WITHOUT WARNING, WITH THE LOSS OF ALL STEERING OR CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. ON TWO OTHER OCCASIONS, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY, WITHOUT WARNING, WITH THE LOSS OF ANY STEERING OR CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE, AFTER EXITING THE HIGHWAY AND ENTERING CITY TRAFFIC. THAT IS A TOTAL OF FOUR ENGINE SHUT DOWNS OR STALLS WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. WE JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE, AND THIS IS NERVE-WRECKING AND DANGEROUS TO SAY THE LEAST. THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN AFTER DRIVING LONG DISTANCES, AND HAS HAPPENED FROM DRIVING DISTANCES OF APPROXIMATELY 90 MILES TO 160 MILES. IF YOU WAIT APPROXIMATELY ONE HOUR, THE VEHICLE WILL THEN START UP AGAIN AND RUN. BUT IT WILL STALL AGAIN WITH COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. OTHERS ON THE INTERNET HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCE THIS PROBLEM WITH JEEP 3.7 AND 4.7 POWERTECH JEEP MOTORS. OUR JEEP IS A 3.7 MOTOR. THIS APPEARS TO BE THE SAME PROBLEM AS JEEP EXPERIENCED WITH JEEP COMMANDER AND JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE MODELS, WHICH WERE RECALLED. THIS SITUATION CAN OBVIOUSLY BE LIFE THREATENING. CHRYSLER JEEP SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO PUT LIFE TREATING VEHICLES ON THE MARKET AND THESE JEEPS MUST BE RECALLED. WE ASK FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2016 - SILVER CITY, NM
ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH TO 70 MPH, THE ENGINE OF THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY, WITHOUT WARNING, WITH THE LOSS OF ALL STEERING OR CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. ON TWO OTHER OCCASIONS, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN COMPLETELY, WITHOUT WARNING, WITH THE LOSS OF ANY STEERING OR CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE, AFTER EXITING THE HIGHWAY AND ENTERING CITY TRAFFIC. THAT IS A TOTAL OF FOUR ENGINE SHUT DOWNS OR STALLS WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. WE JUST BOUGHT THE VEHICLE, AND THIS IS NERVE-WRECKING AND DANGEROUS TO SAY THE LEAST. THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN AFTER DRIVING LONG DISTANCES, AND HAS HAPPENED FROM DRIVING DISTANCES OF APPROXIMATELY 90 MILES TO 160 MILES. IF YOU WAIT APPROXIMATELY ONE HOUR, THE VEHICLE WILL THEN START UP AGAIN AND RUN. BUT IT WILL STALL AGAIN WITH COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. OTHERS ON THE INTERNET HAVE ALSO EXPERIENCE THIS PROBLEM WITH JEEP 3.7 AND 4.7 POWERTECH JEEP MOTORS. OUR JEEP IS A 3.7 MOTOR. THIS APPEARS TO BE THE SAME PROBLEM AS JEEP EXPERIENCED WITH JEEP COMMANDER AND JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE MODELS, WHICH WERE RECALLED. THIS SITUATION CAN OBVIOUSLY BE LIFE THREATENING. CHRYSLER JEEP SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED TO PUT LIFE TREATING VEHICLES ON THE MARKET AND THESE JEEPS MUST BE RECALLED. WE ASK FOR YOUR HELP IN THIS MATTER BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/22/2016 - SILVER LAKE, IN
I HAVE HAD A COUPLE OF PRETTY BAD ACCIDENTS TO FRONT END OF MY JEEP LIBERTY AND THE AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. LAST ACCIDENT WAS PRETTY BAD. VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FROM OF ME AND I T-BONED THEM, I TRIED TO STOP BUT DIDN'T HAVE ENOUGH TIME. EVERY AIRBAG IN THEIR VEHICLE DEPLOYED. I WAS DRIVING DOWN A STATE HIGHWAY WHEN VEHICLE PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2016 - ROCKFORD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PARK SAFETY CABLE WOULD NOT ALLOW THE KEY TO BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION WITHOUT WARNING. ALSO, THE CONTACT HAD TO PLACE HER FINGER UNDER THE CONSOLE TO PUSH THE SWITCH THAT ALLOWED THE KEY TO BE RELEASED. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE GEAR EASILY SHIFTED INTO NEUTRAL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 40,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/21/2016 - AURORA, CO
RECALL REGARDING FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT; 06V288000. WHILE AT FIRESTONE DURING A ROUTINE OIL CHANGE AND CHECK UP, I RECEIVED NOTICE OF A RECALL ON MY CAR - I WAS I WENT TO THE NEARBY JEEP DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS NOT APPLICABLE FOR MY CAR EVEN THOUGH I SHOWED THEM THE PAPERWORK FROM FIRESTONE DIRECTLY. JEEP DID NOT FIX MY LOWER BALL JOINT AND THEN APPROXIMATELY TWO WEEKS LATER, I WAS DRIVING TO SCHOOL AND MY CAR JOLTED AS IF I HIT A POT-HOLE BUT THE ROAD WAS CLEAR. I TURNED ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS AND PULLED OVER TO INSPECT. MY TIRES WERE NOT LOW ON AIR THERE WAS NOTHING ABNORMAL UNDER THE HOOD. I PARKED MY CAR AND LOOKED UNDERNEATH TO FIND A VERY OBVIOUS DISLOCATION. I CALLED A FRIEND WHO COULD IDENTIFY WHAT PART IT WAS EXACTLY AND HE SAID IT WAS MY LOWER BALL JOINT. MY CAR WAS A SAFETY HAZARD AND HAS BECOME A HUGE HASSLE TO DEAL WITH AND JEEP IS REFUSING TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. IT IS BEING REPAIRED IN A SHOP NOW AND I AM SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT FROM JEEP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/20/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
YESTERDAY, THE REAR PASSENGER WINDOW SLID INTO DOOR, WILL NOT COME UP. CAN HEAR REGULATOR BUT WINDOW IS STUCK IN DOOR. VEHICLE WAS PARKED ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET, ALL WINDOWS WERE UP, AND ABOUT 20 MINUTES LATER THE WINDOW HAD DISAPPEARED INTO THE DOOR. I CALLED CHRYSLER BUT THE VIN IS NOT PART OF CHRYSLER'S NOTICE TO OWNER'S IN 2010 REGARDING FAULTY WINDOW REGULATORS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/20/2016 - SACRAMENTO, CA
YESTERDAY, THE REAR PASSENGER WINDOW SLID INTO DOOR, WILL NOT COME UP. CAN HEAR REGULATOR BUT WINDOW IS STUCK IN DOOR. VEHICLE WAS PARKED ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET, ALL WINDOWS WERE UP, AND ABOUT 20 MINUTES LATER THE WINDOW HAD DISAPPEARED INTO THE DOOR. I CALLED CHRYSLER BUT THE VIN IS NOT PART OF CHRYSLER'S NOTICE TO OWNER'S IN 2010 REGARDING FAULTY WINDOW REGULATORS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/19/2016 - BEDFORD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 JEEP LIBERTY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHEN COMING TO A STOP. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTAKE AIR CONTROL SENSOR AND IDLE CONTROL SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 150
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds