Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2006 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 84 complaints filed for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Seat Belts (2) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (1) Structure (3) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine (6) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/29/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
WHILE DRIVING, MY CAR JUST SHUTS DOWN. THE ENGINE DIES. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, DRIVERS BEHIND ME HAD TO SLAM ON BRAKES OR SWERVE OUTOF THE WAY. THIS IS DANGEROUS WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY. TOOK VEHICLE TO MECHANIC, THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. WENT ON INTERNET, AND MANY CUSTOMERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/28/2017 - PROVIDENCE, RI
I WAS DRIVING DOWNHILL A CITY STREET AND BEGAN TO TURN RIGHT. AS I WAS SLOWLY TURNING GOING ABOUT 15-20MPH USING THE BRAKES, ANOTHER VEHICLE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25-40MPH, HIT MINE ON THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE DAMAGING FROM THE HEADLIGHT TO THE DRIVERS DOOR. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

ENGINE

7/27/2017 - NEWPORTVILLE, PA
MOTOR BLEW UP WHILE DRIVING ON A HWY, CAR STALLED, WHICH CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL TO LOCK UP, AND THE BREAKS TO STOP RESPONDING.

View Details

ENGINE

7/24/2017 - OXFORD, MI
THE CONTACT'S GRANDDAUGHTER OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE DRIVER HEARD A BANGING SOUND COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND BELIEVED THAT THE HARMONIC BALANCER HAD FAILED. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH GLASSMAN KIA (28000 TELEGRAPH RD, SOUTHFIELD, MI 48034) WHO ADVISED THE CONTACT TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,430.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/16/2017 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
I WILL BE DRIVING AND THE ESC OFF LIGHTS GOES ON DASHBOARD. THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT WILL STALL OUT AND BECOMES SLUGGISH. I PULL OVER AND PARK THE CAR THEN IT WON'T GO INTO DRIVE OR OUT OF PARK. I WAIT OVER 15 MINUTES AND AM ABLE TO DRIVE HOME. I HAVE BROUGHT TO KIA DEALTERSHIP AND SAID IT WAS BRAKE SWITCH. THEY REPLACED THE BRAKE SWITCH AND THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. I WILL BRING IT IN TO DEALER SHIP AGAIN BECAUSE CAR SEEMS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE BRAKE SWITCH WAS REPLACED ON APRIL 3, 2017 AND STILL A RECURRING PROBLEM

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/20/2016 - KENNESAH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER SEIZED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE, RADIATOR, AND TIMING BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2016 - KENNESAH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER SEIZED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE, RADIATOR, AND TIMING BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/12/2016 - RATHDRUM, ID
SINCE 2010 I HAVE HAD AN ISSUE WITH MY AIRBAG LIGHT COMING ON. I WAS WELL WITHIN WARRANTY WHEN THIS BEGAN WITH MILEAGE AT 35,736. THE DEALERSHIP HAS REPAIRED IT MULTIPLE TIMES; REPLACED BUCKLE TENSORS, REPLACED SEAT, HARNESS, RERAN THE CODES, ETC. TO DATE, IT IS STILL NOT CORRECTED AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPT. I RECENTLY RECEIVED A LETTER FROM KIA CORPORATION OFFERING A FINAL SETTLEMENT TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE. HOWEVER, THEY WOULD NOT ANSWER MY QUESTION IN WRITING ON WHETHER OR NOT THIS FINAL FIX WOULD WOULD WORK AND IF THEY WOULD WARRANTY THIS FIX. I ASKED THE DEALERSHIP IF THE AIRBAGS WOULD DEPLOY UPON ACCIDENT. THEY SAID THEY DO NOT KNOW FOR SURE, BUT IT IS LIKELY THEY WILL NOT DEPLOY. MY AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON AGAIN AFTER THE MOST RECENT REPAIR WHICH REPLACED THE SEAT. I HAVE PAID FOR A MAJORITY OF THESE FIXED. MOST IMPORTANT TO ME IS OUR SAFETY. CANNOT AFFORD TO BUY ANOTHER CAR AND WITH THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON I AM AFRAID TRADE IN VALUE WOULD BE REDUCED. IN 2012 KIA RECALLED ALMOST 150,000 OPTIMAS AND RONDOS FOR AIRBAG ISSUES. I RESPECTFULLY ASK THAT YOU CONSIDER THE KIA SPORTAGE AIRBAG FOR RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/3/2016 - BARTLETT, TN
RIGHT AFTER CHRISTMAS AND BEFORE NEW YEAR'S EVE I RECEIVED A PHONE CALL FROM A LADY STATING SHE WAS A KIA REPRESENTATIVE. MY VEHICLE WAS PART OF THE RECALL FOR THE BRAKE SWITCH. ABOUT TEN DAYS AFTER THE CALL MY BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NO LONGER GO OUT EVEN WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN SITTING STILL OVERNIGHT. THAN ABOUT 3-5 DAYS LATER MY ESC OFF LIGHT CAME ON AND NOW ALWAYS STAY ON WHEN THE CAR IS BEING DRIVEN. THIS PAST WEEKEND I SENT A SERVICE REQUEST ONLINE FOR THE BRAKE SWITCH ISSUE TO BE FIXED. I DID BUNCH OF RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT THE BRAKE SWITCH WAS THE ONE CAUSING THE OTHER ISSUES AND STILL CAN CAUSE MORE. ON 2/1/16 A KIA SERVICE EMPLOYEE CALLED AND LEFT A MESSAGE STATING THAT THE RECALL DIDN'T APPLY TO MAY CAR. LATER ON THAT SAME DAY MY CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING. FROM ALL THE RESEARCH I DID THE BRAKE SWITCH IS THE CAUSE FOR ALL THREE PROBLEMS I'M HAVING NOW. WHAT I DON'T UNDERSTAND IS HOW CAN OTHER 2006 KIA SPORTAGES WHO HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE LIKE ME IS COVERED BUT MY CAR IS NOT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2016 - BARTLETT, TN
RIGHT AFTER CHRISTMAS AND BEFORE NEW YEAR'S EVE I RECEIVED A PHONE CALL FROM A LADY STATING SHE WAS A KIA REPRESENTATIVE. MY VEHICLE WAS PART OF THE RECALL FOR THE BRAKE SWITCH. ABOUT TEN DAYS AFTER THE CALL MY BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NO LONGER GO OUT EVEN WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN SITTING STILL OVERNIGHT. THAN ABOUT 3-5 DAYS LATER MY ESC OFF LIGHT CAME ON AND NOW ALWAYS STAY ON WHEN THE CAR IS BEING DRIVEN. THIS PAST WEEKEND I SENT A SERVICE REQUEST ONLINE FOR THE BRAKE SWITCH ISSUE TO BE FIXED. I DID BUNCH OF RESEARCH AND FOUND OUT THAT THE BRAKE SWITCH WAS THE ONE CAUSING THE OTHER ISSUES AND STILL CAN CAUSE MORE. ON 2/1/16 A KIA SERVICE EMPLOYEE CALLED AND LEFT A MESSAGE STATING THAT THE RECALL DIDN'T APPLY TO MAY CAR. LATER ON THAT SAME DAY MY CRUISE CONTROL STOPPED WORKING. FROM ALL THE RESEARCH I DID THE BRAKE SWITCH IS THE CAUSE FOR ALL THREE PROBLEMS I'M HAVING NOW. WHAT I DON'T UNDERSTAND IS HOW CAN OTHER 2006 KIA SPORTAGES WHO HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE LIKE ME IS COVERED BUT MY CAR IS NOT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds