Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2006 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 58 complaints filed for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (2) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (2) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/1/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
I BELIEVE THIS TOPIC HAS NEVER BEEN ADDRESSED AND THIS ISSUE HAS CAUSED MANY ACCIDENTS IN THE PAST BECAUSE OF VISIBILITY. THIS IS IN REFERENCE TO ALL VEHICLES WITH PLASTIC HEADLIGHT COVERS. THEY BECOME VERY CLOUDY AND DIMINISH THE BRIGHTNESS TO THE POINT WHERE VISIBILITY IS GREATLY IMPAIRED. IN THE PAST THEY WERE MADE OF GLASS AND WERE ALWAYS BRIGHT AND CLEAR. I BELIEVE THEY SHOULD BE BRIGHT AND CLEAR FOR THE LIFE OF THE CAR. THERE ARE AFTER MARKET CLEANERS AND POLISHES THAT DON'T REALLY WORK. THEY NEED TO BE MADE OF GLASS OR PLASTIC THAT DOESN'T GET CLOUDY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/27/2013 - MESA, AZ
THE AIRBAG LIGHT TURNS ON WHEN SOMEONE IS SEATED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AND DOES NOT TURN OFF. THIS DISENGAGES THE FRONT AIRBAGS. THE KIA DEALERSHIP HAS RE-SET THE COMPUTER SEVERAL TIMES, BUT CLAIMS IT IS A BAD SENSOR IN THE SEAT. THE ENTIRE SEAT MUST BE REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/21/2013 - PITTSBURGH, PA
PRIOR COMPLAINT FILED FOR AIRBAG LIGHT/SENSOR. MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON, WENT TO THE DEALER, THEY TRIED TO RESET THE LIGHT, IT WOULD NOT GO OFF. MANY COMPLAINTS ON THE 2006 SPORTAGE AIRBAG LIGHT & POSSIBLE FAILURE HAVE BEEN RECORDED WITH NO SAFETY RECALL, DESPITE THAT KIA RECALLED A NUMBER OF OTHER 2006 KIA MODELS FOR AIRBAG FAILURE. I DO NOT KNOW IF MY AIRBAG WILL WORK. TOLD BY DEALER THAT I NEEDED TO REPLACE MY FRONT SEATS BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER FOR A COUPLE THOUSAND DOLLARS, HOWEVER, DEALER STATED THEY WOULD GUARANTEE THAT AFTER REPLACEMENT OF THE CAR SEATS THAT THE AIRBAG PROBLEM WOULD BE FIXED. NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE 2006 SPORTAGE AIRBAG PROBLEM HAVE BEEN DOCUMENTED INCLUDING ACCIDENTS WHERE THE AIRBAG HAS NOT WORKED AND PEOPLE HAVE BEEN INJURED. IF KIA CAN FIX THE AIRBAG PROBLEM IN OTHER 2006 MODELS WHY NOT THE 2006 SPORTAGE - MY SAFETY IS JUST AS IMPORTANT AS THE FOLKS WITH OTHER 2006 KIA MODELS. THE DEALER WILL NOT GUARANTEE REPAIR/SAFETY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/21/2013 - PITTSBURGH, PA
TOOK 2006 KIA SPORTAGE FOR YEARLY PA INSPECTION, MECHANIC FOUND BOTH FRONT CONTROL ARMS ARE RUSTED, IN DANGER OF BREAKING AND MUST BE REPLACED FOR STATE INSPECTION/SAFETY. TODAY, 11/21/13, KIA ANNOUNCED A RECALL FOR SUSPENSION CONTROL ARM RUSTED/SAFETY ONLY ON THE 2006, ETC., SEDONA VANS. WHY NOT INCLUDE ALL 2006 KIA MODELS? THERE ARE ALREADY COMPLAINTS FILED THAT SUSPENSION FAILURES OCCURRED ON 2006 SPORTAGES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/5/2013 - EAST BERNE, NY
DRIVING ON INTERSTATE I-84 WEST WHEN I HEARD A LOUD NOISE FROM THE REAR OF MY CAR. I PULLED OFF JUST BEFORE I WAS GOING TO TURN ONTO THE TACONIC PARKWAY GOING NORTH TO ALBANY (I LIVE IN ALBANY COUNTY, NY). I SLOWLY PULLED MY CAR ONTO THE TACONIC TO GET OUT OF THE MASSIVE TRAFFIC. I LOOKED UNDER THE REAR OF THE CAR AND SAW THAT THE CONTROL ARM OF THE STRUT ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE HAD RUSTED THROUGH COMPLETELY AND BROKEN. THE CONTROL ARM ON THE PASSENGER SIDE WAS ALSO RUSTED THROUGH AND WOULD HAVE BROKEN AS WELL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/21/2013 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
I WAS DRIVING AT 55 MPH BEHIND SEVERAL OTHER CARS APPROACHING A REDLIGHT. THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS SET AND AS THE CARS AHEAD OF ME BEGAN TO BRAKE, I DID AS WELL. THE CRUISE CONTROL FAILED TO DISENGAGE AND I HAD TO STOMP ON THE BRAKE PEDAL AS I MANUALLY DISENGAGED THE CRUISE CONTROL TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. THE ESC LIGHT WAS ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE CAR HAD THE STOP LAMP RECALL DONE IN NOVEMBER 2009.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/14/2013 - LOVELAND , CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG FAILED AND THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THE DEALER RESET THE AIR BAG LIGHT HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,000 AND THE APPROXIMATE CURRENT MILEAGE 34,400. UPDATED 09/06/13

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/20/2013 - LEVITTOWN, NY
I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE WHEN THE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALER TO HAVE IT CORRECTED. THEY PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC TESTAND TOLD ME THAT IT MIGHT BE A SENSOR THEY THEN RESET THE AIRBAG LIGHT. FEW DAYS LATER THE SAME THING HAPPENED. THE AIR BAG LIGHT HAS COME ON AND HAS STAYED ON. FROM WHAT I HAVE GATHERED THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH KIAS. THE BIGGEST PROBLEM IS THE COSTTO HAVING THIS REPAIRED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/12/2013 - SEFFNER, FL
THE AIR BAG LIGHT STARTED BLINKING, THEN STAYED LIT. I TOOK MY CAR TO KIA DEALER AND HAD DIAGNOSTIC. THE COST WAS $60. THEY FOUND THAT FRONT SEAT PASSENGER SEAT HAD AN ERROR CODE. I WAS TOLD THAT THE SENSOR FOR FRONT SEAT WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. WHEN I LEFT DEALER THE LIGHT FOR AIR BAG WAS OFF, BUT CAME BACK ON A WEEK LATER. AIR BAG LIGHT IS STILL ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/5/2013 - BEAR, DE
THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS SUDDENLY ON WHILE DRIVING. TURNING OFF THE ENGINE AND TURNING IT ON BACK, THE LIGHT IS STILL ON. IT HAPPENED BEFORE ABOUT 4 YEARS AGO, AND HAD THE WHOLE PASSENGER BELT REPLACED, BASED ON THE SHOP RECOMMENDATION. NOW THE LIGHT IS ON AGAIN, FOR NO REASON. BASED ON THE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS/CASES FOUND THROUGH SEARCHING THE INTERNET, KIA SHOULD MAKE A RECALL AND FIX IT. IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE WITH THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON AND IT IS EXPENSIVE TO HAVE IT FIX. THE DEALER CAN NOT GUARANTY THAT CHANGING THE BELT/SENSOR ETC WILL FIX IT, WHICH TRANSLATES THE COST WILL ONLY KEEP INCREASING UNTIL IT'S FIXED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds