Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2006 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/8/2014 - OLATHE, KS
THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS COME ON TWICE IN THE PAST YEAR. THE DEALER RESETS THE CODE/LIGHT AND CLAIMS I NEED TO HAVE THE PASSENGER SEAT REPLACED FOR APPROX. $2,000! THERE ARE OTHER 2006 KIA MODELS THAT HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR FAULTY PASSENGER SEATS BUT NOT THE SPORTAGE. MY FAMILIES SAFETY IS BEING COMPROMISED AND THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE A RECALL. I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY OUT OF MY OWN POCKET TO REPAIR A FAULTY SAFETY ITEM. IF IT'S A BIG ENOUGH ISSUE TO HAVE A REPAIR BULLETIN ISSUED IT SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

SEATS

9/8/2014 - OLATHE, KS
THE AIRBAG LIGHT HAS COME ON TWICE IN THE PAST YEAR. THE DEALER RESETS THE CODE/LIGHT AND CLAIMS I NEED TO HAVE THE PASSENGER SEAT REPLACED FOR APPROX. $2,000! THERE ARE OTHER 2006 KIA MODELS THAT HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR FAULTY PASSENGER SEATS BUT NOT THE SPORTAGE. MY FAMILIES SAFETY IS BEING COMPROMISED AND THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE THAT SHOULD HAVE A RECALL. I SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY OUT OF MY OWN POCKET TO REPAIR A FAULTY SAFETY ITEM. IF IT'S A BIG ENOUGH ISSUE TO HAVE A REPAIR BULLETIN ISSUED IT SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

8/29/2014 - RIVERSIDE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL BY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. THE CONTACT HAD TO PRESS THE CRUISE CONTROL BUTTON AND APPLY THE BRAKES MULTIPLE TIMES BEFORE THE CRUISE CONTROL DEACTIVATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED TEN TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/25/2014 - BRACKNEY, PA
TRAVELING 60 MPH, ON HIGHWAY (PA TURNPIKE EXTENSION) NEAR ALLENTOWN, PA. FRONT END STARTED VIBRATING, ANOTHER DRIVER WARNED ME TO PULL OVER, WHEELS WOBBLING. FRONT LEFT CONTROL ARMS COMPLETELY RUSTED THROUGH AND CRACKED. THERE'S BEEN KIA RECALLS FOR THIS, BUT KIA HAS REFUSED OWNERSHIP OF THIS DEFECT ON SPORTAGE. THEY DENIED COVERING ALL OR PART OF THIS $500 REPAIR + TOWING + LOSS OF USE. WE LIVE 2.5 HRS. AWAY FROM INCIDENT. THIS IS A HIGHLY DANGEROUS ISSUE! (I AM 54, HAVE OWNED MANY CARS. HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCE A RUSTED THOUGH SUSPENSION PART.) KIA DID ISSUE A "VOLUNTARY SERVICE CAMPAIGN" WHICH WE RECEIVED 6/14, TO ADDRESS SPORTAGE NEEDING ADDITIONAL ANTI CORROSION UNDER VEHICLE IN STATES THAT USE SALT ON ROADS. WE HAVE REQUESTED KIA TO RECONSIDER COVERING THIS DEFECT.

View Details

WHEELS

6/23/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
TL + THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE REAR DRIVER+S SIDE TIRE LOCKED UP WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000. JCC

View Details

WHEELS

6/17/2014 - WILMINGTON , DE
RIDING DOWN CHADDS FORD PA ROUTE ONE 6/12/14 ( THURSDAY) WHEN MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE OUT OF CONTROL HAD PULLED OVER IN THE MIDDLE OF AFTERNOON TRAFFIC . ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE BACK TIE ROD CAME APART.. THE OUTER THREADS WERE STRIPPED. I HAVE A PICTURE.

View Details

STEERING

6/17/2014 - WILMINGTON , DE
RIDING DOWN CHADDS FORD PA ROUTE ONE 6/12/14 ( THURSDAY) WHEN MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE OUT OF CONTROL HAD PULLED OVER IN THE MIDDLE OF AFTERNOON TRAFFIC . ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE BACK TIE ROD CAME APART.. THE OUTER THREADS WERE STRIPPED. I HAVE A PICTURE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/17/2014 - WILMINGTON , DE
RIDING DOWN CHADDS FORD PA ROUTE ONE 6/12/14 ( THURSDAY) WHEN MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE OUT OF CONTROL HAD PULLED OVER IN THE MIDDLE OF AFTERNOON TRAFFIC . ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE BACK TIE ROD CAME APART.. THE OUTER THREADS WERE STRIPPED. I HAVE A PICTURE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2014 - WARREN, OH
AS OF SATURDAY MY BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NOT SHUT OFF, THEN I NOTICED WHILE DRIVING THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT KEPT FLASHING ON AND OFF BY ITSELF. AND THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AS WELL. SO I GOT ONLINE TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND FOUND THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM WITH MY YEAR AND MODEL CAR. BUT WHEN I CALLED KIA THEY STATED THAT MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR THE REPAIRS, EVEN THOUGH MY MAKE MODEL WAS RECALLED AND MY CAR WAS DOING THE SAME THING THAT WAS RECALLED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/28/2014 - WARREN, OH
AS OF SATURDAY MY BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NOT SHUT OFF, THEN I NOTICED WHILE DRIVING THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT KEPT FLASHING ON AND OFF BY ITSELF. AND THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AS WELL. SO I GOT ONLINE TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND FOUND THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM WITH MY YEAR AND MODEL CAR. BUT WHEN I CALLED KIA THEY STATED THAT MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR THE REPAIRS, EVEN THOUGH MY MAKE MODEL WAS RECALLED AND MY CAR WAS DOING THE SAME THING THAT WAS RECALLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds