Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2006 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 86 complaints filed for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Seat Belts (2) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (1) Structure (3) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (14) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine (6) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/26/2018 - SANDY CREEK, NY
TAKATA RECALL I JUST PURCHASED MY KIA SPORTAGE ON 3/15/2018 AT A DEALERSHIP AND HAVE BEEN DRIVING WITH THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON. I HAVE BROUGHT THIS UP TO THE DEALER AND AM TOLD THAT THE AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN+T MATTER. AS I+M READING ALL THESE COMPLAINTS AND THOSE THAT HAVE BEEN IN ACCIDENTS THE AIRBAGS DO NOT DEPLOY, MY SAFETY IS AN ISSUE HERE. I AM CERTAIN THIS NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO. IT WILL BE SENT TO THE DEALER TO BE LOOKED AT. ALSO, I HAVE GOOGLED AS TO WHY MY BLOWER MOTOR WILL NOT SHUT OFF. THAT+S THE BLOWER RESISTOR THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THOSE COMPLAINTS ARE ON HERE ALSO, ALMOST CATCHING FIRE. I+VE NEVER FELT SO UNSAFE BEING IN A VEHICLE. THESE 2 MAIN FACTORS NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/26/2018 - SANDY CREEK, NY
TAKATA RECALL I JUST PURCHASED MY KIA SPORTAGE ON 3/15/2018 AT A DEALERSHIP AND HAVE BEEN DRIVING WITH THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON. I HAVE BROUGHT THIS UP TO THE DEALER AND AM TOLD THAT THE AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN+T MATTER. AS I+M READING ALL THESE COMPLAINTS AND THOSE THAT HAVE BEEN IN ACCIDENTS THE AIRBAGS DO NOT DEPLOY, MY SAFETY IS AN ISSUE HERE. I AM CERTAIN THIS NEEDS TO BE LOOKED INTO. IT WILL BE SENT TO THE DEALER TO BE LOOKED AT. ALSO, I HAVE GOOGLED AS TO WHY MY BLOWER MOTOR WILL NOT SHUT OFF. THAT+S THE BLOWER RESISTOR THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THOSE COMPLAINTS ARE ON HERE ALSO, ALMOST CATCHING FIRE. I+VE NEVER FELT SO UNSAFE BEING IN A VEHICLE. THESE 2 MAIN FACTORS NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED IMMEDIATELY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/16/2018 - WAICOLOA, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED RANDOMLY. THE FAILURE SOMETIMES OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING AND OTHER TIMES WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS JUST STARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN EXHIBITING THE FAILURE FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 121,685.

View Details

ENGINE

11/29/2017 - BALTIMORE, MD
WHILE DRIVING, MY CAR JUST SHUTS DOWN. THE ENGINE DIES. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, DRIVERS BEHIND ME HAD TO SLAM ON BRAKES OR SWERVE OUTOF THE WAY. THIS IS DANGEROUS WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY. TOOK VEHICLE TO MECHANIC, THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. WENT ON INTERNET, AND MANY CUSTOMERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/28/2017 - PROVIDENCE, RI
I WAS DRIVING DOWNHILL A CITY STREET AND BEGAN TO TURN RIGHT. AS I WAS SLOWLY TURNING GOING ABOUT 15-20MPH USING THE BRAKES, ANOTHER VEHICLE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25-40MPH, HIT MINE ON THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE DAMAGING FROM THE HEADLIGHT TO THE DRIVERS DOOR. MY AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

ENGINE

7/27/2017 - NEWPORTVILLE, PA
MOTOR BLEW UP WHILE DRIVING ON A HWY, CAR STALLED, WHICH CAUSED THE STEERING WHEEL TO LOCK UP, AND THE BREAKS TO STOP RESPONDING.

View Details

ENGINE

7/24/2017 - OXFORD, MI
THE CONTACT'S GRANDDAUGHTER OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE DRIVER HEARD A BANGING SOUND COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND BELIEVED THAT THE HARMONIC BALANCER HAD FAILED. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH GLASSMAN KIA (28000 TELEGRAPH RD, SOUTHFIELD, MI 48034) WHO ADVISED THE CONTACT TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,430.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/16/2017 - VALLEY STREAM, NY
I WILL BE DRIVING AND THE ESC OFF LIGHTS GOES ON DASHBOARD. THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT WILL STALL OUT AND BECOMES SLUGGISH. I PULL OVER AND PARK THE CAR THEN IT WON'T GO INTO DRIVE OR OUT OF PARK. I WAIT OVER 15 MINUTES AND AM ABLE TO DRIVE HOME. I HAVE BROUGHT TO KIA DEALTERSHIP AND SAID IT WAS BRAKE SWITCH. THEY REPLACED THE BRAKE SWITCH AND THE PROBLEM PERSISTS. I WILL BRING IT IN TO DEALER SHIP AGAIN BECAUSE CAR SEEMS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE BRAKE SWITCH WAS REPLACED ON APRIL 3, 2017 AND STILL A RECURRING PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2016 - KENNESAH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER SEIZED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE, RADIATOR, AND TIMING BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/20/2016 - KENNESAH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE POWER SEIZED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE, RADIATOR, AND TIMING BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds