Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2006 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Child Seat (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Structure (2) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (2) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

6/23/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
TL + THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 KIA SPORTAGE. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE REAR DRIVER+S SIDE TIRE LOCKED UP WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000. JCC

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/17/2014 - WILMINGTON , DE
RIDING DOWN CHADDS FORD PA ROUTE ONE 6/12/14 ( THURSDAY) WHEN MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE OUT OF CONTROL HAD PULLED OVER IN THE MIDDLE OF AFTERNOON TRAFFIC . ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE BACK TIE ROD CAME APART.. THE OUTER THREADS WERE STRIPPED. I HAVE A PICTURE.

View Details

WHEELS

6/17/2014 - WILMINGTON , DE
RIDING DOWN CHADDS FORD PA ROUTE ONE 6/12/14 ( THURSDAY) WHEN MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE OUT OF CONTROL HAD PULLED OVER IN THE MIDDLE OF AFTERNOON TRAFFIC . ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE BACK TIE ROD CAME APART.. THE OUTER THREADS WERE STRIPPED. I HAVE A PICTURE.

View Details

STEERING

6/17/2014 - WILMINGTON , DE
RIDING DOWN CHADDS FORD PA ROUTE ONE 6/12/14 ( THURSDAY) WHEN MY CAR STARTED TO SHAKE OUT OF CONTROL HAD PULLED OVER IN THE MIDDLE OF AFTERNOON TRAFFIC . ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE BACK TIE ROD CAME APART.. THE OUTER THREADS WERE STRIPPED. I HAVE A PICTURE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/28/2014 - WARREN, OH
AS OF SATURDAY MY BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NOT SHUT OFF, THEN I NOTICED WHILE DRIVING THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT KEPT FLASHING ON AND OFF BY ITSELF. AND THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AS WELL. SO I GOT ONLINE TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND FOUND THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM WITH MY YEAR AND MODEL CAR. BUT WHEN I CALLED KIA THEY STATED THAT MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR THE REPAIRS, EVEN THOUGH MY MAKE MODEL WAS RECALLED AND MY CAR WAS DOING THE SAME THING THAT WAS RECALLED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2014 - WARREN, OH
AS OF SATURDAY MY BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NOT SHUT OFF, THEN I NOTICED WHILE DRIVING THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT KEPT FLASHING ON AND OFF BY ITSELF. AND THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AS WELL. SO I GOT ONLINE TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND FOUND THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM WITH MY YEAR AND MODEL CAR. BUT WHEN I CALLED KIA THEY STATED THAT MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR THE REPAIRS, EVEN THOUGH MY MAKE MODEL WAS RECALLED AND MY CAR WAS DOING THE SAME THING THAT WAS RECALLED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/28/2014 - WARREN, OH
AS OF SATURDAY MY BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD NOT SHUT OFF, THEN I NOTICED WHILE DRIVING THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT KEPT FLASHING ON AND OFF BY ITSELF. AND THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY AS WELL. SO I GOT ONLINE TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND FOUND THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM WITH MY YEAR AND MODEL CAR. BUT WHEN I CALLED KIA THEY STATED THAT MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR THE REPAIRS, EVEN THOUGH MY MAKE MODEL WAS RECALLED AND MY CAR WAS DOING THE SAME THING THAT WAS RECALLED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/26/2014 - MASCOUTAH, IL
DRIVER"S SUN VISOR SUDDENLY DROPPED DOWN INTO FIELD OF VIEW. WILL NOT RETAIN POSITION OUT OF FIELD OF VIEW OF DRIVER.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/1/2014 - PENSACOLA, FL
I BELIEVE THIS TOPIC HAS NEVER BEEN ADDRESSED AND THIS ISSUE HAS CAUSED MANY ACCIDENTS IN THE PAST BECAUSE OF VISIBILITY. THIS IS IN REFERENCE TO ALL VEHICLES WITH PLASTIC HEADLIGHT COVERS. THEY BECOME VERY CLOUDY AND DIMINISH THE BRIGHTNESS TO THE POINT WHERE VISIBILITY IS GREATLY IMPAIRED. IN THE PAST THEY WERE MADE OF GLASS AND WERE ALWAYS BRIGHT AND CLEAR. I BELIEVE THEY SHOULD BE BRIGHT AND CLEAR FOR THE LIFE OF THE CAR. THERE ARE AFTER MARKET CLEANERS AND POLISHES THAT DON'T REALLY WORK. THEY NEED TO BE MADE OF GLASS OR PLASTIC THAT DOESN'T GET CLOUDY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/27/2013 - MESA, AZ
THE AIRBAG LIGHT TURNS ON WHEN SOMEONE IS SEATED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AND DOES NOT TURN OFF. THIS DISENGAGES THE FRONT AIRBAGS. THE KIA DEALERSHIP HAS RE-SET THE COMPUTER SEVERAL TIMES, BUT CLAIMS IT IS A BAD SENSOR IN THE SEAT. THE ENTIRE SEAT MUST BE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds