Auto Recalls for Consumers

LAND ROVER RANGE ROVER SPORT - 2006 LAND ROVER RANGE ROVER SPORT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by LAND ROVER

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2006 LAND ROVER RANGE ROVER SPORT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 LAND ROVER RANGE ROVER SPORT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 LAND ROVER RANGE ROVER SPORT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Structure (1) Traction Control System (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Equipment (1) Power Train (8)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/31/2012 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
AIR SUSPENSION SYSTEM IS MALFUNCTIONING. VEHICLE BOUNCES ERRATICALLY AT ALL ROAD SURFACES. ERRATIC BOUNCING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS MAY CAUSE DRIVER TO OVERSEER AND LEADING TO A CATASTROPHIC (ACCIDENT) EVENT. THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE COLLAPSES WHILE PARKED CAUSING EXCESSIVE STRAIN ON BALL JOINTS AND FRONT CONTROL ARMS (TO DATE ..NEARLY $2000 IN REPAIRS). DEALERSHIP HAS DONE ALL IT CAN TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER IS LAND ROVER. LAND ROVER CORPORATE HAS REFUSED TO ASSIST OWNER OR DEALERSHIP IN PROVIDING A TECHNICAL SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM. ONLY ADVICE IS OF US TO WAIT FOR A COMPUTER ERROR CODE TO DISPLAY ON THE DASH SO THE DEALER CAN DETERMINE WHICH PART TO REPLACE. SAFETY ISSUE.. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. (AIR SHOCK, SENSOR, AIR SHOCKS COMPRESSOR, VALUES). THIS PROBLEM HAS PERSISTED FOR OVER A YEAR AND WE HAVE NOT GOTTEN AN ERROR MESSAGE. WE REQUEST LAND ROVER REPLACE COMPUTER MODULE AND SENSORS TO AIR SHOCKS, OR REPLACE AIR SHOCKS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/31/2012 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
AIR SUSPENSION SYSTEM IS MALFUNCTIONING. VEHICLE BOUNCES ERRATICALLY AT ALL ROAD SURFACES. ERRATIC BOUNCING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS MAY CAUSE DRIVER TO OVERSEER AND LEADING TO A CATASTROPHIC (ACCIDENT) EVENT. THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE COLLAPSES WHILE PARKED CAUSING EXCESSIVE STRAIN ON BALL JOINTS AND FRONT CONTROL ARMS (TO DATE ..NEARLY $2000 IN REPAIRS). DEALERSHIP HAS DONE ALL IT CAN TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER IS LAND ROVER. LAND ROVER CORPORATE HAS REFUSED TO ASSIST OWNER OR DEALERSHIP IN PROVIDING A TECHNICAL SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM. ONLY ADVICE IS OF US TO WAIT FOR A COMPUTER ERROR CODE TO DISPLAY ON THE DASH SO THE DEALER CAN DETERMINE WHICH PART TO REPLACE. SAFETY ISSUE.. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE. (AIR SHOCK, SENSOR, AIR SHOCKS COMPRESSOR, VALUES). THIS PROBLEM HAS PERSISTED FOR OVER A YEAR AND WE HAVE NOT GOTTEN AN ERROR MESSAGE. WE REQUEST LAND ROVER REPLACE COMPUTER MODULE AND SENSORS TO AIR SHOCKS, OR REPLACE AIR SHOCKS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/17/2012 - HARTLAND, WI
@ 65MPH, I HEARD A MUFFLED 'POP' COMING FROM BENEATH AND IN FRONT, AND MY 2006 RANGE ROVER SPORT SUPERCHARGED IMMEDIATELY LURCHED. A GEAR WHINE PROCEEDED, WHICH WOULD REACT IN PITCH TO MY RATE OF SPEED. FEATHERING THE THROTTLE IMPACTED THE NOISE, AND I SUSPECTED MY FRONT DIFFERENTIAL, OR A FRONT WHEEL BEARING. AS IT WAS EXTREMELY COLD OUTSIDE, AND EXTREMELY LATE, I BABIED THE SPORT THE REMAINING 10 MILES HOME, WHERE I RAISED THE TRUCK AND CONFIRMED A GREAT DEAL OF HEAVY VISCOSITY FLUID HAD COATED THE BOTTOM OF MY VEHICLE, EMANATING FROM THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL, ON THE LEFT (US DRIVER'S) SIDE. IT CAUSED QUITE A BIT OF SMOKE, HAVING PAINTED ITSELF ON TO THE EXHAUST SYSTEM. AFTER SOME RESEARCH, I DISCOVERED THAT LAND ROVER HAS ISSUED A SPECIAL SERVICE BULLETIN ON FRONT DIFFERENTIAL FAILURE, SAYING THAT ON EARLY MODELS, THE INSIDE OF THE DIFFERENTIALS WERE COATED WITH A PAINT THAT DELAMINATES, MIXING WITH THE GEAR FLUID AND CONTAMINATING IT, CAUSING OVERHEATING AND BEARING/SEAL FAILURE. I AM OUT OF WARRANTY (THE TRUCK IS NOW @ 50K MILES), AND HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH LAND ROVER TO PETITION TO GET THIS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THIS, APPARENTLY, IS A COMMON PROBLEM - ENOUGH SO THAT THEY ISSUED A SERVICE BULLETIN ADMITTING A FAULT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DIFFERENTIAL UNIT

6/14/2011 - ARLINGTON, VA
2006 RANGE ROVER SPORT. CONSUMER STATES VEHICLE BECAME INOPERABLE DUE TO A LOUD GRINDING NOISE THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER THE FRONT DIFFERENTIAL WAS BAD ON THE VEHICLE. WHEN THE DRAIN PLUG WAS REMOVED, THE FLUID HAD OVERHEATED AND WAS FULL OF METAL SHAVINGS. THE TECHNICIAN REMOVED THE DIFFERENTIAL AND FOUND THE PAINT DELAMINATED FROM THE INSIDE OF THE DIFFERENTIAL.

View Details

TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM

2/25/2011 - LONG BEACH, CA
THERE ARE OIL LEAKS COMING FROM BOTH FRONT AND REAR DIFFERENTIALS. IT HAS BEEN REPORTED BY OTHER OWNERS THAT BOTH DIFFERENTIALS EVENTUALLY FAIL AND THE VEHICLE BECOMES INOPERABLE. THERE HAS BEEN INCIDENTS WHERE THE WHEELS HAVE GOTTEN LOCKED. THIS HAS CAUSED VEHICLES TO COME TO A FULL STOP RESULTING IN HAZARDOUS SITUATIONS WHERE THE OWNERS OF THE VEHICLES HAVE SUFFERED LIFE THREATENING INCIDENTS. MANUFACTURER KNOWINGLY REFUSES TO REPLACE A PART THAT IS PRONE TO FAILING DUE TO AN ERROR ON THEIR SIDE. A SERVICE BULLETIN (SPECIAL SERVICE MESSAGE 34304) HAS BEEN ISSUED TO THE SERVICE CENTERS ABOUT THE PROBLEM. THIS BULLETIN LISTS THE CAUSE TO BE "THE CASING BLACK PAINT /SEALER DEGRADES, DETACHES AND CONTAMINATES THE OIL. THIS RESULTS IN THE OIL OVERHEATING WHICH RESULTS IN OIL SEAL LEAKS AND BEARING NOISE." AND ALSO NOTES THAT "DIFFERENTIALS FROM THE VINS QUOTED BELOW ARE MANUFACTURED WITH A NEW CASING PAINT WHICH OVERCOMES THE ABOVE MENTIONED ISSUES." BELOW IS AN FULL EXCERPT OF THE ABOVE MENTIONED SSM #34304: SPECIAL SERVICE MESSAGE, # SSM34304 MODELS LM - NEW RANGE ROVER LA - DISCOVERY 3 LS - RANGE ROVER SPORT TITLE FRONT & REAR DIFFERENTIAL NOISE & OIL LEAKS LAST MODIFIED 03-MAR-2009 12:23 CATEGORY: DRIVELINE SYMPTOM: 509000 AXLE CONCERNS CONTENT: FRONT & REAR DIFFERENTIAL NOISE, MINOR OIL SEAL LEAK & DEBRIS IN OIL. CONCERN: NOISE (WHINE OR HUMMING) FROM THE FRONT OR REAR DIFFERENTIAL. A MINOR OIL LEAK MAY BE EVIDENT WITH POSSIBLE DEBRIS IN OIL. OIL WILL BE BLACK IN COLOR. CAUSE: THE CASING BLACK PAINT /SEALER DEGRADES, DETACHES AND CONTAMINATES THE OIL. THIS RESULTS IN THE OIL OVERHEATING WHICH RESULTS IN OIL SEAL LEAKS AND BEARING NOISE. NOTE: DIFFERENTIALS FROM THE VINS QUOTED BELOW ARE MANUFACTURED WITH A NEW CASING PAINT WHICH OVERCOMES THE ABOVE MENTIONED ISSUES. PLEASE ONLY RAISE AN EPQR FOR DIFFERENTIAL ISSUES WHICH OCCUR POST THE QUOTED VIN NUMBERS: DISCOVERY 3 LR3 - LA8A459201 RANGE ROVER SPORT - LS8A141510 RANGE ROVER. LM8A268394.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/25/2011 - LONG BEACH, CA
THERE ARE OIL LEAKS COMING FROM BOTH FRONT AND REAR DIFFERENTIALS. IT HAS BEEN REPORTED BY OTHER OWNERS THAT BOTH DIFFERENTIALS EVENTUALLY FAIL AND THE VEHICLE BECOMES INOPERABLE. THERE HAS BEEN INCIDENTS WHERE THE WHEELS HAVE GOTTEN LOCKED. THIS HAS CAUSED VEHICLES TO COME TO A FULL STOP RESULTING IN HAZARDOUS SITUATIONS WHERE THE OWNERS OF THE VEHICLES HAVE SUFFERED LIFE THREATENING INCIDENTS. MANUFACTURER KNOWINGLY REFUSES TO REPLACE A PART THAT IS PRONE TO FAILING DUE TO AN ERROR ON THEIR SIDE. A SERVICE BULLETIN (SPECIAL SERVICE MESSAGE 34304) HAS BEEN ISSUED TO THE SERVICE CENTERS ABOUT THE PROBLEM. THIS BULLETIN LISTS THE CAUSE TO BE "THE CASING BLACK PAINT /SEALER DEGRADES, DETACHES AND CONTAMINATES THE OIL. THIS RESULTS IN THE OIL OVERHEATING WHICH RESULTS IN OIL SEAL LEAKS AND BEARING NOISE." AND ALSO NOTES THAT "DIFFERENTIALS FROM THE VINS QUOTED BELOW ARE MANUFACTURED WITH A NEW CASING PAINT WHICH OVERCOMES THE ABOVE MENTIONED ISSUES." BELOW IS AN FULL EXCERPT OF THE ABOVE MENTIONED SSM #34304: SPECIAL SERVICE MESSAGE, # SSM34304 MODELS LM - NEW RANGE ROVER LA - DISCOVERY 3 LS - RANGE ROVER SPORT TITLE FRONT & REAR DIFFERENTIAL NOISE & OIL LEAKS LAST MODIFIED 03-MAR-2009 12:23 CATEGORY: DRIVELINE SYMPTOM: 509000 AXLE CONCERNS CONTENT: FRONT & REAR DIFFERENTIAL NOISE, MINOR OIL SEAL LEAK & DEBRIS IN OIL. CONCERN: NOISE (WHINE OR HUMMING) FROM THE FRONT OR REAR DIFFERENTIAL. A MINOR OIL LEAK MAY BE EVIDENT WITH POSSIBLE DEBRIS IN OIL. OIL WILL BE BLACK IN COLOR. CAUSE: THE CASING BLACK PAINT /SEALER DEGRADES, DETACHES AND CONTAMINATES THE OIL. THIS RESULTS IN THE OIL OVERHEATING WHICH RESULTS IN OIL SEAL LEAKS AND BEARING NOISE. NOTE: DIFFERENTIALS FROM THE VINS QUOTED BELOW ARE MANUFACTURED WITH A NEW CASING PAINT WHICH OVERCOMES THE ABOVE MENTIONED ISSUES. PLEASE ONLY RAISE AN EPQR FOR DIFFERENTIAL ISSUES WHICH OCCUR POST THE QUOTED VIN NUMBERS: DISCOVERY 3 LR3 - LA8A459201 RANGE ROVER SPORT - LS8A141510 RANGE ROVER. LM8A268394.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

1/21/2011 - CENTERPORT, NY
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, I BEGAN TO HEAR A LOUD SQUEAL FROM BENEATH MY VEHICLE, BUT NO SERVICE LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED ON THE DASH. BECAUSE SOMETHING WAS CLEARLY WRONG, I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED. IT WAS LATER DETERMINED THAT MY FRONT DIFFERENTIAL HAD FAILED AFTER ONLY 30,000 MILES. LAND ROVER IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, HOWEVER NO RECALL WAS EVER ISSUED ONLY A "SPECIAL SERVICE MESSAGE" TO DEALERS. I SUBSEQUENTLY LEARNED THAT I WAS FORTUNATE AS SOME USERS HAVE HAD THE DIFFERENTIAL LOCK UP BRINGING THE VEHICLE TO A SKIDDING HALT. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE AND LAND ROVER SHOULD ADDRESS THE PROBLEM WITH A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/7/2010 - COPPELL, TX
I HAVE A 2006 LAND ROVER, RANGE ROVER SPORT, AND AFTER DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS FOR A FEW HOURS I'VE NOTICED THAT SHORTLY AFTER COMING TO AN IDLE THE VEHICLE IS PRONE TO STALL OUT.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

11/15/2010 - PALM BAY , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 RANGE ROVER SPORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE NOTICED A FRACTURE IN THE DASH BOARD WHICH WAS COMPROMISING THE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO OR AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FAILURE COULD POTENTIALLY BE A DEFECTIVE PART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/15/2010 - PALM BAY , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 RANGE ROVER SPORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE NOTICED A FRACTURE IN THE DASH BOARD WHICH WAS COMPROMISING THE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. NO WARNING LIGHTS WERE ILLUMINATED PRIOR TO OR AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A DEALER AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FAILURE COULD POTENTIALLY BE A DEFECTIVE PART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds