Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2006 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2006 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/13/2017 - GROSSE POINTE, MI
ON JULY 30, 2017, WHILE DRIVING ON A SOUTHEASTERN MICHIGAN FREEWAY (M-14), OUR 2006 SUBARU FORESTER'S ENGINE SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT WARNING CAUGHT FIRE. EMERGENCY PERSONNEL RESPONDED AND VEHICLE IS A TOTAL LOSS. EVEN OLDER VEHICLES SHOULD NOT SPONTANEOUSLY CATCH FIRE WITHOUT A REASON. THIS WAS A VERY TRAUMATIC EVENT FOR OCCUPANTS OF VEHICLE AND ONE HAD TO TAKE ANTI-ANXIETY MEDICATION. UPDATED 10/23/2017

View Details

ENGINE

12/19/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
UPON START UP IN COLD WEATHER THERE IS A VERY STRONG SMELL OF FUEL INSIDE THE CABIN OF THE CAR. IT MADE MYSELF AND MY DAUGHTER FEEL VERY ILL. HAD TO EXIT MY 2006 SUBARU FORESTER XT. INSPECTED ENGINE UNDER THE HOOD TO FIND LEAKING FUEL LINES. GOOGLED THE PROBLEM TO DISCOVER IT IS REACURRENT WITH THIS MAKE/MODEL/YEAR AS EVIDENT BY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS IN SUBARU FORUMS, GOOGLE SEARCH, AND FB PAGES. THIS IS A DANGER TO HEALTH AND SAFETY AND SHOULD BE RECALLED. VEHICLE IS UNDER 100,000 MILES. LEAKING FUEL DRIPS DIRECTLY ONTO THE ENGINE CYLINDER AND CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE TURBOCHARGER ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THERE IS SIGNIFICANT RISK OF ENGINE FIRE! HEALTH AND SAFETY RISK ALSO FROM THE FUEL FUMES IN THE ENGINE CABIN. SUBARU DEALERSHIP QUOTED $1,300. TO FIX.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/19/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
UPON START UP IN COLD WEATHER THERE IS A VERY STRONG SMELL OF FUEL INSIDE THE CABIN OF THE CAR. IT MADE MYSELF AND MY DAUGHTER FEEL VERY ILL. HAD TO EXIT MY 2006 SUBARU FORESTER XT. INSPECTED ENGINE UNDER THE HOOD TO FIND LEAKING FUEL LINES. GOOGLED THE PROBLEM TO DISCOVER IT IS REACURRENT WITH THIS MAKE/MODEL/YEAR AS EVIDENT BY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS IN SUBARU FORUMS, GOOGLE SEARCH, AND FB PAGES. THIS IS A DANGER TO HEALTH AND SAFETY AND SHOULD BE RECALLED. VEHICLE IS UNDER 100,000 MILES. LEAKING FUEL DRIPS DIRECTLY ONTO THE ENGINE CYLINDER AND CLOSE PROXIMITY TO THE TURBOCHARGER ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THERE IS SIGNIFICANT RISK OF ENGINE FIRE! HEALTH AND SAFETY RISK ALSO FROM THE FUEL FUMES IN THE ENGINE CABIN. SUBARU DEALERSHIP QUOTED $1,300. TO FIX.

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2016 - PROVIDENCE, RI
VEHICLE HAS 44,000 MILES ON MAY 20TH WHILE IN TRAFFIC, CAR SUDDENLY SURGED FORWARD STRIKING VEHICLE IN FRONT, CAR THEN BOUNCED OFF AND HIT THE OTHER VEHICLE AGAIN. ON MAY 25TH WHILE DRIVING TO WORK THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED; I HAD TO HIT THE GUARDRAIL TO GET IT TO STOP. BOTH TIMES THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. BOTH TIMES THE SUBARU SERVICE COULD FIND NO CAUSE. NEITHER DID A REP FROM THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/27/2016 - TARPON SPRINGS, FL
I PURCHASED A 2006 SUBARU FORESTER FROM A USED CAR DEALERSHIP ON 5/10/2016.. IT HAD A NEW CAR SMELL WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT IT THAT SMELLED LIKE ARMOR ALL, SO BELIEVED THE SMELL WOULD SUBSIDE. HOWEVER, NOT ONLY DID IT NOT SUBSIDE IT HAS GROWN WORSE. I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING PHYSICAL REACTIONS TO THIS SMELL. MY EYES HAVE BEEN BURNING, NOSE IRRITATION, SORE AND SWELLING THROAT AND THE WORST I'M HAVING ASTHMA ATTACKS EVER SINCE I'VE STARTED DRIVING THIS VEHICLE. I'M NOT SURE WHAT TO DO AT THIS TIME SO HAVE BEEN INVESTIGATING, HICH HAS LEAD ME TO THIS SITE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/8/2016 - SANTA MARIA, CA
PURCHASED IN AK IN 2006. APPROXIMATELY 13,000 MILES ON ENGINE. PAPERWORK LISTED ENTRY-POINT: HAWAII. CURRENT 2016 MILEAGE: LESS THAN 60,000. WELL-MAINTAINED VEHICLE.----- UPON ACCELERATION, THE ENGINE SOMETIMES LURCHES AND REVS TOO HIGH TOO FAST, AND THEN SETTLES INTO HOW IT IS SUPPOSED TO FEEL AND SOUND. OTHER TIMES, IT SUDDENLY LOSES POWER INSTEAD, LURCHING DOWN LIKE WE'VE TAKEN OUR FOOT OFF THE GAS (BUT WE HAVEN'T BECAUSE WE ARE ON A HIGHWAY OR FREEWAY!), VERY BRIEFLY AND THEN RECOVERS.ONE TIME, JUST A FEW WEEKS AGO, IT FELT LIKE I'D LOST ALL POWER AND THE CAR WAS GOING TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BUSY HIGHWAY, BUT IT IMMEDIATELY RECOVERED AND THEN FELT NORMAL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/8/2016 - SANTA MARIA, CA
PURCHASED IN AK IN 2006. APPROXIMATELY 13,000 MILES ON ENGINE. PAPERWORK LISTED ENTRY-POINT: HAWAII. CURRENT 2016 MILEAGE: LESS THAN 60,000. WELL-MAINTAINED VEHICLE.----- UPON ACCELERATION, THE ENGINE SOMETIMES LURCHES AND REVS TOO HIGH TOO FAST, AND THEN SETTLES INTO HOW IT IS SUPPOSED TO FEEL AND SOUND. OTHER TIMES, IT SUDDENLY LOSES POWER INSTEAD, LURCHING DOWN LIKE WE'VE TAKEN OUR FOOT OFF THE GAS (BUT WE HAVEN'T BECAUSE WE ARE ON A HIGHWAY OR FREEWAY!), VERY BRIEFLY AND THEN RECOVERS.ONE TIME, JUST A FEW WEEKS AGO, IT FELT LIKE I'D LOST ALL POWER AND THE CAR WAS GOING TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BUSY HIGHWAY, BUT IT IMMEDIATELY RECOVERED AND THEN FELT NORMAL.

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2016 - SANTA MARIA, CA
PURCHASED IN AK IN 2006. APPROXIMATELY 13,000 MILES ON ENGINE. PAPERWORK LISTED ENTRY-POINT: HAWAII. CURRENT 2016 MILEAGE: LESS THAN 60,000. WELL-MAINTAINED VEHICLE.----- UPON ACCELERATION, THE ENGINE SOMETIMES LURCHES AND REVS TOO HIGH TOO FAST, AND THEN SETTLES INTO HOW IT IS SUPPOSED TO FEEL AND SOUND. OTHER TIMES, IT SUDDENLY LOSES POWER INSTEAD, LURCHING DOWN LIKE WE'VE TAKEN OUR FOOT OFF THE GAS (BUT WE HAVEN'T BECAUSE WE ARE ON A HIGHWAY OR FREEWAY!), VERY BRIEFLY AND THEN RECOVERS.ONE TIME, JUST A FEW WEEKS AGO, IT FELT LIKE I'D LOST ALL POWER AND THE CAR WAS GOING TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF THE BUSY HIGHWAY, BUT IT IMMEDIATELY RECOVERED AND THEN FELT NORMAL.

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2016 - SANTA MARIA, CA
PURCHASED IN AK IN 2006. APPROXIMATELY 13,000 MILES ON ENGINE. PAPERWORK LISTED ENTRY-POINT: HAWAII. CURRENT 2016 MILEAGE: LESS THAN 60,000. WELL-MAINTAINED VEHICLE. --- IN COLD WEATHER, DESPITE BEING GARAGED, INTERMITTENT STRONG SMELL OF FUEL IN GARAGE AND UPON START-UP. SOMETIMES THE ODOR IS PRESENT BEFORE STARTUP. OTHER TIMES ODOR NOT PRESENT UNTIL ENGINE STARTS. GOES AWAY WHEN ENGINE WARMS. USED TO BE IN ONLY VERY COLD WEATHER, THEN IN 2015 IT HAPPENED IN COLD BUT NOT AS COLD WEATHER. RECENTLY, IN 2016, IT HAPPENED IN GARAGE IN WARM WEATHER STATE, SO COLD WEATHER NO LONGER NECESSARY VARIABLE. AGAIN, IT IS INTERMITTENT. THIS ISSUE FIRST BECAME NOTICEABLE IN WINTER OF 2014.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/8/2016 - SANTA MARIA, CA
PURCHASED IN AK IN 2006. APPROXIMATELY 13,000 MILES ON ENGINE. PAPERWORK LISTED ENTRY-POINT: HAWAII. CURRENT 2016 MILEAGE: LESS THAN 60,000. WELL-MAINTAINED VEHICLE. --- IN COLD WEATHER, DESPITE BEING GARAGED, INTERMITTENT STRONG SMELL OF FUEL IN GARAGE AND UPON START-UP. SOMETIMES THE ODOR IS PRESENT BEFORE STARTUP. OTHER TIMES ODOR NOT PRESENT UNTIL ENGINE STARTS. GOES AWAY WHEN ENGINE WARMS. USED TO BE IN ONLY VERY COLD WEATHER, THEN IN 2015 IT HAPPENED IN COLD BUT NOT AS COLD WEATHER. RECENTLY, IN 2016, IT HAPPENED IN GARAGE IN WARM WEATHER STATE, SO COLD WEATHER NO LONGER NECESSARY VARIABLE. AGAIN, IT IS INTERMITTENT. THIS ISSUE FIRST BECAME NOTICEABLE IN WINTER OF 2014.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds