Auto Recalls for Consumers

SUBARU FORESTER - 2006 SUBARU FORESTER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Subaru of America, Inc.

There are 56 complaints filed for the 2006 SUBARU FORESTER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 SUBARU FORESTER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 SUBARU FORESTER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (3)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Engine (3) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/23/2015 - KINGSTON, NY
THE FRONT CONTROL ARMS ON MY 2006 SUBARU FORESTER FAILED ON MAY 15, 2015. THERE WAS NO WARNING (NO SOUND, NO SHIMMYING, NO STEERING ISSUES) TO SUGGEST THAT SOMETHING WAS ABOUT TO HAPPEN. THE MAIN SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT IN 2012, SUBARU ISSUED A RECALL FOR FORESTERS AND IMPREZAS, RUSTPROOFING THE CONTROL ARMS. I BROUGHT MY CAR IN AT THAT TIME, AND HAVE THE PAPERWORK THAT INDICATES THAT THIS SERVICE WAS PERFORMED. I THEREFORE ASSUMED THE CAR WAS SAFE. THERE HAS BEEN NO OTHER RECALL. MY CAR HAD 118,000 MILES ON IT, AND IS WELL TAKEN CARE OF. I AM NOT AN AGGRESSIVE, POOR OR OFF-ROAD DRIVER. MY HUSBAND IS EXPERIENCED WITH CARS AND CAR REPAIRS, AND HE ALSO HEARD AND FELT NOTHING TO SUGGEST MY CAR MIGHT HAVE A PROBLEM WHEN HE DROVE THE CAR PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT. FORTUNATELY, I WAS EXITING A ROTARY ONTO A HIGHWAY, SO HADN'T YET REACHED FULL SPEED. THE CAR GLIDED ACROSS ANOTHER LANE AS I HIT THE BRAKE, AND A RAISED DIVIDER KEPT THE CAR FROM CONTINUING INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THIS FAILURE COULD HAPPEN TO ANYONE ELSE WITH A SIMILAR CAR HISTORY. THAT PERSON COULD BE DRIVING AT FULL SPEED, AND MIGHT NOT BE AS LUCKY AS I WAS IN BEING ABLE TO STOP SAFELY. A DEPUTY SHERIFF CALLED AAA FOR ME, AND I WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL SUBARU DEALERSHIP. THEY REPLACED BOTH CONTROL ARMS, SWAY BARS, AND THE AXLE. SUBARU PAID FOR ALL THE REPAIRS, AND OFFERED TO PAY FOR THE TOWING. IN 2014, THE REAR CONTROL ARMS WERE REPLACED; I BROUGHT THE CAR IN BECAUSE IT WAS MAKING A NOISE AND THE REAR OF THE CAR WAS NOT RESPONDING CORRECTLY. SUBARU DIDN'T COVER THAT EXPENSE, AND I DIDN'T REALIZE THAT I SHOULD HAVE INSISTED THAT THEY DO SO. THE EXPERIENCE SUGGESTED TO ME, HOWEVER, THAT I WOULD HAVE PLENTY OF WARNING SHOULD SOMETHING HAPPEN TO THE OTHER CONTROL ARMS. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE IN MY SITUATION, AND OTHERS SHOULD BE MADE OF AWARE OF THE EXTREME DANGER THEY FACE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/23/2015 - KINGSTON, NY
THE FRONT CONTROL ARMS ON MY 2006 SUBARU FORESTER FAILED ON MAY 15, 2015. THERE WAS NO WARNING (NO SOUND, NO SHIMMYING, NO STEERING ISSUES) TO SUGGEST THAT SOMETHING WAS ABOUT TO HAPPEN. THE MAIN SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT IN 2012, SUBARU ISSUED A RECALL FOR FORESTERS AND IMPREZAS, RUSTPROOFING THE CONTROL ARMS. I BROUGHT MY CAR IN AT THAT TIME, AND HAVE THE PAPERWORK THAT INDICATES THAT THIS SERVICE WAS PERFORMED. I THEREFORE ASSUMED THE CAR WAS SAFE. THERE HAS BEEN NO OTHER RECALL. MY CAR HAD 118,000 MILES ON IT, AND IS WELL TAKEN CARE OF. I AM NOT AN AGGRESSIVE, POOR OR OFF-ROAD DRIVER. MY HUSBAND IS EXPERIENCED WITH CARS AND CAR REPAIRS, AND HE ALSO HEARD AND FELT NOTHING TO SUGGEST MY CAR MIGHT HAVE A PROBLEM WHEN HE DROVE THE CAR PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT. FORTUNATELY, I WAS EXITING A ROTARY ONTO A HIGHWAY, SO HADN'T YET REACHED FULL SPEED. THE CAR GLIDED ACROSS ANOTHER LANE AS I HIT THE BRAKE, AND A RAISED DIVIDER KEPT THE CAR FROM CONTINUING INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THIS FAILURE COULD HAPPEN TO ANYONE ELSE WITH A SIMILAR CAR HISTORY. THAT PERSON COULD BE DRIVING AT FULL SPEED, AND MIGHT NOT BE AS LUCKY AS I WAS IN BEING ABLE TO STOP SAFELY. A DEPUTY SHERIFF CALLED AAA FOR ME, AND I WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL SUBARU DEALERSHIP. THEY REPLACED BOTH CONTROL ARMS, SWAY BARS, AND THE AXLE. SUBARU PAID FOR ALL THE REPAIRS, AND OFFERED TO PAY FOR THE TOWING. IN 2014, THE REAR CONTROL ARMS WERE REPLACED; I BROUGHT THE CAR IN BECAUSE IT WAS MAKING A NOISE AND THE REAR OF THE CAR WAS NOT RESPONDING CORRECTLY. SUBARU DIDN'T COVER THAT EXPENSE, AND I DIDN'T REALIZE THAT I SHOULD HAVE INSISTED THAT THEY DO SO. THE EXPERIENCE SUGGESTED TO ME, HOWEVER, THAT I WOULD HAVE PLENTY OF WARNING SHOULD SOMETHING HAPPEN TO THE OTHER CONTROL ARMS. THIS WAS NOT THE CASE IN MY SITUATION, AND OTHERS SHOULD BE MADE OF AWARE OF THE EXTREME DANGER THEY FACE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2015 - MONTEREY, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 SUBARU FORESTER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A FIRE STARTED IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE BY THE TAIL LIGHTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND DETERMINED TO BE DESTROYED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS BY THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE LIGHT AND UNDER THE SPARE TIRE CAUGHT FIRE AND BURN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/1/2015 - KENSINGTON, MD
THE PASSENGER CABIN SMELLS LIKE GAS DUE A FUEL LEAK. IT ONLY HAPPENS IN VERY COLD WEATHER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/19/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
WHEN THE TEMP GETS INTO THE TEENS OR LOWER GAS LEAKS IN AND AROUND THE ENGINE. THIS IS DANGEROUS!! I HAVE FOUND FUEL NEAR AREA THAT GET VERY HOT, AND I AM WORRIED ABOUT MY FAMILY STARTING ON FIRE. SOA RECALLED A FEW YEARS TO REPAIR THIS ISSUE, BUT NOT ALL THAT ARE AFFECTED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/20/2015 - TOLEDO, OH
IN FEBRUARY 2013 MY FORESTER DEVELOPED A VERY STRONG FUEL SMELL. AFTER INVESTIGATION I DISCOVERED THE RUBBER FUEL LINES UNDER THE INTAKE MANIFOLD WERE CRACKED AND LEAKING FUEL ONTO THE ENGINE BLOCK, A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF FUEL. I PAID $550 FOR REPAIR. NOW TODAY I HAVE ONCE AGAIN STARTED TO DEVELOP A FUEL ODOR AND ASSUMING WHEN I INVESTIGATE I WILL FIND ANOTHER LEAK. UPON RESEARCHING I SEE NUMEROUS POSTS IN FORUMS AND OTHER SOCIAL MEDIA AS WELL AS SOME ON YOUR GUYS WEBSITE INDICATING SIMILAR ISSUES. ADDITIONALLY A RECALL WAS ISSUED FOR 2003 WRX FOR THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM (09V46800). THIS ISN'T A CAR SPECIFIC ISSUE, THIS IS AN ENGINE SPECIFIC ISSUE AND THE DESIGNS OF ALL OF THESE ENGINES ARE VERY SIMILAR, SO ALL ENGINES WITH RUBBER LINES LOCATED IN THIS AREA SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN AND IS GOING TO COST SOMEONE THEIR LIFE AND/OR CAUSE SERIOUS INJURIES WHEN ONE OF THESE CARS BURSTS INTO FLAMES. SUBARU SHOULD BE MUCH MORE PROACTIVE WITH THIS ISSUE AND FIX FUEL LINE LEAKS LIKE THIS AT NO COST AND IMMEDIATELY, THERE IS NO REASON A 7 YEAR OLD CAR SHOULD HAVE FUEL LINE FAILURE. I SHOULD HAVE NEVER PAID FOR IT THE FIRST TIME AROUND AND I WON'T PAY FOR IT THIS TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - LAND O LAKES, FL
I TOOK MY CAR IN BASED ON A RECALL SENT BY MY DEALERSHIP FOR MY 2006 SUBARU FORESTER LL BEAN MODEL ORIGINAL OWNER. THEY COMPLETED TO SERVICE RECALLS ON MY VEHICLE NONE OF WHICH ARE LISTED ON THIS WEBSITE.WVL22 AND WVU31. THE WVU31 WAS TO REPROGRAM MY ECM. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME AFTERWARDS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IMMEDIATELY CAME ON AND MY CRUISE LIGHT BEGAN TO FLASH. I CALLED THE DEALER IMMEDIATELY WHO ADVISED IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE IF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS SOLID AND NOT FLASHING WHICH IT WAS. HE DENIED IT COULD BE RELATED TO THE WVU31 REPROGRAM OF THE ECM BUT I ADVISED THAT MY VEHICLE WAS FINE NOT DUE FOR ANY SERVICE AND HAD NO ISSUES PRIOR TO BRINGING TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE REPROGRAM. I NOW HAVE TO RETURN THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID ONLY "IF THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS RELATED TO THE RECALL" WOULD THEY FIX IT. I BELIEVE THIS IS DEFINETELY CAUSED BY THE REPROGRAM OF THE ECM AND THERE ARE A MULTITUDE OF COMPLAINTS ON A WEBSITE REGARDING MANY PEOPLE COMPLAINING THAT WITHIN MILES OF DRIVING AFTER THE WVU31 REPROGRAM FIX THAT THE SAME THING HAPPENED AND THEY WERE ALL TOLD THAT THEY HAD TO FIX SOMETHING OR REPAIR SOMETHING AT A COST. THIS IS UNCONCIENABLE AS I NOW HAVE TO RETURN TO A DEALERSHIP THAT IS OUT OF MY WAY, MISS WORK AND RETURN THE VEHICLE AND ONLY HOPE THAT THEY DO NOT CLAIM IT IS ANOTHER PROBLEM. IF THEY DO THEN I AM STUCK WITH ANOTHER REPAIR. I BELIEVE THAT THIS WVU 31 REPROGRAM IS DEFECTIVE AND IS CAUSING ISSUES THAT ARE LEADING TO ADDITIONAL AND UNNECESSARY REPAIRS. MY CAR WAS JUST FINE AND BELIEVE HAD I DONE NOTHING AS I AM PLANNING TO BUY A NEW CAR THIS YEAR IT WOULD HAVE BEEN FINE. BUT I TRIED TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND TAKE IT IN FOR SERVICE DUE TO THE RECALL NOTICE. I BELIEVE THIS IS TOTALLY ERROR PRONE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - JACKSONVILLE BEACH, FL
ON COLD MORNINGS, THE CAR SMELLS VERY STRONGLY OF FUEL. THE ODOR GOES AWAY AFTER WARMING UP, AND IS ONLY ON COLD MORNINGS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/27/2014 - WHEELING, WV
2006 SUBARU FORESTER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO WHEEL BEARING MALFUNCTION. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MAKE SOME UNUSUAL SOUNDS. SHE PULLED OVER TO CHECK THE TIRES, BECAUSE IT SOUNDED LIKE A FLAT TIRE. HOWEVER, EVERYTHING LOOKED NORMAL, SO SHE CONTINUED DRIVING. AS SHE DROVE A LITTLE FURTHER AND MADE A LEFT TURN, THE BRAKES WENT OUT. SHE SLOWLY EASED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WHERE THE REAR TIRE FELL OFF THE AXLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. AN INSPECTION REVEALED THE WHEEL BEARING BROKE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SAME BEARING WAS REPLACED ON APRIL 29, 2011. ALSO, THE POWER STEERING PUMP WAS REPLACED.

View Details

STEERING

3/27/2014 - WHEELING, WV
2006 SUBARU FORESTER. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO WHEEL BEARING MALFUNCTION. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MAKE SOME UNUSUAL SOUNDS. SHE PULLED OVER TO CHECK THE TIRES, BECAUSE IT SOUNDED LIKE A FLAT TIRE. HOWEVER, EVERYTHING LOOKED NORMAL, SO SHE CONTINUED DRIVING. AS SHE DROVE A LITTLE FURTHER AND MADE A LEFT TURN, THE BRAKES WENT OUT. SHE SLOWLY EASED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WHERE THE REAR TIRE FELL OFF THE AXLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. AN INSPECTION REVEALED THE WHEEL BEARING BROKE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SAME BEARING WAS REPLACED ON APRIL 29, 2011. ALSO, THE POWER STEERING PUMP WAS REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds