Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA RAV4 - 2006 TOYOTA RAV4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 675 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA RAV4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA RAV4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA RAV4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (58) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Steering (228) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (40) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (5) Structure (21) Vehicle Speed Control (74)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (66) Visibility (21)
Engine (101) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (42) Other (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (11)
Equipment (3) Power Train (54)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/6/2019 - MEMPHIS, TN
MY CAR HAS BEEN CONSUMING LOTS OF OIL HOWEVER I WAS NEVER ABLE TO IDENTIFY WHERE THE LEAK WAS COMING FROM. I CONTACTED TOYOTA CERTIFIED REPAIR SERVICE WHEN I WENT TO GET OIL CHANGED THEY INDICATED THEY DID NOT IDENTIFY ANY LEAKS AND THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING CORRECTLY ALTHOUGH I RETURNED TO TOYOTA CERTIFIED REPAIR SERVICE WITHIN APPROXIMATELY 3 WEEKS SERVICE ADVISOR ACKNOWLEDGED THAT LEAK SHOULD HAVE BEEN DIAGNOSED CLOSER. SERVICE ADVISOR VIEWED OIL EVERYWHERE UNDERNEATH HOOD AND IT AGAIN REQUIRED 2.5 QUARTS ON OIL IN THIS SHORT TIME FRAME. I WAS ADVISED TO DRIVE ANOTHER 1K MILES AND BRING BACK TO DETERMINE WHERE LEAK WAS LOCATED AND THEY WOULD ASSIST WITH REPAIR COSTS HOWEVER I BROUGHT BACK WITHIN 584 MILES AND VEHICLE AGAIN HAD CONSUMED ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF OIL YET NOW ADVISOR AND SERVICE MANAGER INSISTED THEY COULD NOT HELP WITH ANYTHING. ONLY AFTER BEING VISUALLY UPSET ABOUT THE MOST RECENT DEVELOPMENTS DID THE SERVICE ADVISOR LIBRA JONES MENTION ANYTHING ABOUNT THE WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT ZE7 BUT ALSO STATED MY WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED AND I WAS LEFT TO FEND FOR MYSELF. LIBRA JONES TOLD ME TO CONTACT TOYOTA TO SEE IF THEY WOULD HELP AND BRIEFLY MENTION THE GOODWILL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM. HOWEVER AFTER SPEAKING TO [email protected] TOYOTA, SHE HAD NO INTENTIONS OF ASSISTING WITH ANY REPAIR COSTS AND EVEN ASKED TO SPEAK TO A MANAGER IN REGARDS TO MY ISSUE AND SHE STATED SHE WOULD HAVE A MANAGER CONTACT WITHING 24 HOURS HOWEVER NO ONE BOTHERED TO EVER REACH OUT TO ME WHATEVER WHICH FORCED ME TO CONTACT MANY OF THE TOP EXECUTIVES TO ADDRESS MY CONCERNS. BASED ON THE EXECUTIVE ASSITANCE EBONEY BLANKS REACTIONS, TOYOTAL NEVER INTENDED TO OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE AS IT RELATES TO THEIR PRODUCTS. THEY INDICATED THEY MAILED OUT DOCUMENTS TO MY GRANDPARENTS HOWEVER RECORDS WOULD REFLECT IF THERE WERE ANY REPAIRS THAT REQUIRED ATTENTION MY GRANDPARENTS WOULD HAVE DONE PRIOR TO SELLING TO ME

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/13/2019 - GRAY, TN
WE PURCHASED A 2006 RAV4 LIMITED THE FIRST WEEK OF MARCH 2019. A REAR DIFFERENTIAL COUPLING GROWL NOISE WAS NOTICEABLE A MONTH AFTER WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. WHILE DRIVING THE REAR END STARTED MAKING A GROWLING NOISE. IN EARLY JANUARY 2015 TOYOTA ISSUED A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM (ZF4) FOR YEARS 2006-2012 RAV4 TO HAVE THE DEFECTIVE BEARING REPLACED, BUT THEY PUT AN EXPIRATION DATE OF APRIL 30TH 2017 OR 9 YEARS FROM THE DATE OF FIRST USE REGARDLESS OF MILEAGE. I CAN'T UNDERSTAND HOW YOU CAN PUT AN EXPIRATION DATE ON A DEFECTIVE PART. THESE BEARINGS COULD GO BAD AND SEIZE AT ANY TIME POSSIBLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT WITH INJURIES OR EVEN DEATH. WE HAPPEN TO OWN TWO OF THESE VEHICLES, SAME YEARS, ONE MAKING NO NOISE AND NOT GOING BAD YET, BUT THE OTHER DECIDED IT WAS TIME. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS REAR DIFFERENTIAL COUPLING BEARING, NOT A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM. TOYOTA HAS ALREADY ACKNOWLEDGED A DEFECT WITH THE BEARING BY INITIATING A WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM, YOU CAN'T JUST SAY AFTER APRIL 30TH 2017 NO OTHER BEARINGS WILL FAIL AND IF THEY DO WE PASS THE BUCK ON THE PROBLEM. THANK YOU FOR HEARING MY CONCERNS, I LOOK FORWARD TO HEARING BACK FROM YOU. I WOULD LIKE TO DEBATE THE ISSUE WITH ONE OF THEIR REPRESENTATIVES WITH YOU LISTENING, I'D RIP'EM APART. IT IS TIME THESE BILLION DOLLAR COMPANIES OWN UP TO THEIR MISTAKES AND NOT PASS THE BUCK TO THE LITTLE GUY. THANK YOU AGAIN, (XXXX). YOU CAN CONTACT ME AT (XXXX). PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

5/9/2019 - KINGS MILLS, OH
2.4 ENGINE BURNS EXCESSIVE OIL. APPARENTLY, OTHER TOYOTA MODELS WITH THE SAME 2.4 ENGINE HAVE HAD FREE REPAIRS. I BELIEVE TOYOTA SHOULD REPAIR THE 2.4 ENGINE IN MY 2006 RAV4 TO STOP THE EXCESSIVE OIL BURNING. IT NOW BURNS ONE QUART FOR EVERY 500-600 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2019 - GORDON, AL
TAMARA RECALL ENGINE FAILURE ALMOST CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT. DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THE IT+S AN RECALL BUT, IT HAS NOW EXPIRED. I DON+T UNDERSTAND HOW A SAFETY RECALL CAN EXPIRE. I NEED HELP FROM AN ATTORNEY ON THIS MATTER. BECAUSE THIS ISN+T RIGHT. CAN YOU RECOMMEND AN ATTORNEY? THEY SAID THEY COULD ONLY DO NEW RINGS AND NEW PISTONS BACK THEN BUT NOW TOYOTA WILL NOT EVEN DO THAT. SO NOW I JUST HAVE A 5,000 BILL FOR A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2019 - GORDON, AL
TAMARA RECALL ENGINE FAILURE ALMOST CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT. DEALERSHIP TELLS ME THE IT+S AN RECALL BUT, IT HAS NOW EXPIRED. I DON+T UNDERSTAND HOW A SAFETY RECALL CAN EXPIRE. I NEED HELP FROM AN ATTORNEY ON THIS MATTER. BECAUSE THIS ISN+T RIGHT. CAN YOU RECOMMEND AN ATTORNEY? THEY SAID THEY COULD ONLY DO NEW RINGS AND NEW PISTONS BACK THEN BUT NOW TOYOTA WILL NOT EVEN DO THAT. SO NOW I JUST HAVE A 5,000 BILL FOR A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/2/2019 - GORDON, AL
LOSING OIL ENGINE MAKING NOISE NO POWER

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2019 - GORDON, AL
LOSING OIL ENGINE MAKING NOISE NO POWER

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2019 - GORDON, AL
LOSING OIL ENGINE MAKING NOISE NO POWER

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2019 - WATERTOWN, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR AND FRONT AXLES WERE RUSTED OUT AND RUST COVERED THE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CURRY WATER TOWN TOYOTA (832 STRAITS TURNPIKE, WATERTOWN, CT 06795, (203) 758-8261), BUT THE MECHANICS REFUSED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000. . CONSUMER STATED THE TOYOTA DEALER IN WATERTOWN, CT (CURRY) REFUSED TO DO A SAFETY RECALL ON THE REAR LOWER SUSPENSION ARM DUE TO AXLE RUST. THIS RUST WAS NEVER BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION PREVIOUSLY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/26/2019 - WATERTOWN, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA RAV4. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR AND FRONT AXLES WERE RUSTED OUT AND RUST COVERED THE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CURRY WATER TOWN TOYOTA (832 STRAITS TURNPIKE, WATERTOWN, CT 06795, (203) 758-8261), BUT THE MECHANICS REFUSED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 180,000. . CONSUMER STATED THE TOYOTA DEALER IN WATERTOWN, CT (CURRY) REFUSED TO DO A SAFETY RECALL ON THE REAR LOWER SUSPENSION ARM DUE TO AXLE RUST. THIS RUST WAS NEVER BROUGHT TO MY ATTENTION PREVIOUSLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds