Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 320 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (115) Equipment (2) Power Train (16) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (49) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (42) Visibility (1)
Engine (14) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

8/6/2017 - COATESVILLE, PA
I HAVE A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA WITH NO BODY RUST BUT THE FRAME IS ROTTING OUT FROM UNDERNEATH THE TRUCK. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD OR COULD HAVE EVEN KILLED SOMEONE AND TOYOTA DID NOT EVEN NOTIFY ME OF THE ISSUE. WHEN I DID FIND OUT ABOUT THIS AND CONTACTED TOYOTA THEY SAID THIS IS NOT AN ISSUE AND THERE IS NO PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2017 - COATESVILLE, PA
I HAVE A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA WITH NO BODY RUST BUT THE FRAME IS ROTTING OUT FROM UNDERNEATH THE TRUCK. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD OR COULD HAVE EVEN KILLED SOMEONE AND TOYOTA DID NOT EVEN NOTIFY ME OF THE ISSUE. WHEN I DID FIND OUT ABOUT THIS AND CONTACTED TOYOTA THEY SAID THIS IS NOT AN ISSUE AND THERE IS NO PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/25/2017 - FALL RIVER, MA
"FRAMING ISSUE" I DISCOVERED ON JULY 23, 2017 THE FRAMING ON MY TRUCK AS ALREADY CORRODING WITH FRONT DRIVERS SIDE OF THE FRAME BEGINNING TO COMPLETELY ROT WITH THE METAL BECOMING BRITTLE AND CRUMBLING LEAVING HOLES IN THE FRAME. TOYOTA CORPORATION HAD A RECALL REGARDING THE FRAMES FOR THIS VEHICLE WHICH WERE NOT PROTECTED FOR THE NORTHEAST WINTER WEATHER CONDITIONS. THEY APPLIED AN ANTI-CORROSIN SPRAY IN HOPES THAT THE PROBLEM WOULD BE CORRECTED, BUT THE RESULTS THREE YEARS LATER IS THE FRAMING HAS BEEN SUBJECTED TO CORROSION WHICH MAY RENDER THE FRAME TO COMPLETE SUPPORT FAILURE. SPEAKING WITH CHRISTEEN, CASE MANAGER AT TOYOTA (800-331-4331, EXT 73811: CASE #1707240770), FAILED TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM IN SAYING THERE IS NO OPEN CASE REGARDING THIS ISSUE, THEREFORE TOYOTA WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. SHE FURTHER WENT ON TO SAY THAT TOYOTA EXTENDED A COURTESY IN RECALLING THE 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRAS FOR THIS PROBLEM TO ALL CUSTOMERS EVEN THOSE BEING OUTDSIDE THE WARRANTY TIMELINE (AT TIME OF RECALL MY TRUCK HAD 93,000 MILES). THEY BELIEVED THAT THIS ANTI-CORROSION SPRAY WOULD ALLOW THE FRAMES AN EXTENDED LIFE PERIOD BEFORE THE CORROSION WOULD EVENTUALLY ROT OUT THE FRAMES COMPLETELY. SHE APOLOGIZED IN SAYING THERE IS NOTHING MORE SHE COULD DO AND HOPED THAT THERE WAS ANOTHER AVENUE SHE COULD TAKE IN RESOLVING THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/4/2017 - CARY, NC
I PURCHASED TRUCK USED JUNE 2016..SOMEBODY INFORMED ME LATER THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RUST ISSUE WITH THE FRAMES ON THESE MODELS. UPON VISUAL INSPECTION IT LOOKS LIKE AT SOME POINT SOMEBODY TRIED TO COVER UP WITH UNDER SPRAY. THAT HAS NOT HELD BECAUSE A GOOD PORTION OF FRAME AND CROSS MEMBER HAS RUSTED AWAY. I CALLED TOYOTA AND THEY GAVE ME TWO CASE NUMBERS AND SAID IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND RECALL EXPIRED. I ASKED DEALERSHIP TO INSPECT FOR RUST IN JANUARY OF 2017 AND THEY SAID IT WAS TOYOTA ISSUE AND TO WAIT. I THINK IT COULD BE POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE IF TRYING TO PULL TRAILER AND POSSIBLE ANY OTHER TIME..SAFETY ISSUES SHOULD NOT HAVE EXPIRATION IN MY OPINION. NOT GOOD FEEDBACK SINCE JANUARY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/28/2017 - WESTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED OIL LEAKING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WERE HOLES IN THE FRAME. THE REAR END HOUSING WAS REPLACED, BUT THE HOLES IN THE FRAME WERE NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BUCKHANNON TOYOTA (63 BRUSHY FORK RD, BUCKHANNON, WV 26201), BUT DID NOT INSPECT THE VEHICLE SINCE NOTHING COULD BE DONE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD NO RECALLS AND THAT THE ISSUE WAS DUE TO THE CONTACT NOT TAKING THE VEHICLE FOR UNDERCOATING, ALTHOUGH THERE WAS NO UNDERCOATING RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/25/2017 - CALEDONIA, WI
I RECEIVED A RECALL ON MY TRUCKS AIRBAG CONTROL MODULE TOOK MY TRUCK TO DEALER THEY SAID THEY WOULD ORDER THE PART AND CALL ME TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT FOR INSTALLATION I WENT BACK THREE TIMES TO DEALER WITH NO SUCCESS ALSO THE RECALL THEY MADE ON MY TRUCK LAST YEAR THE FRAME RUSTING OUT DID NOT LAST EVERY THING THEY DID FELL OFF THE FRAME OF MY TRUCK IS THIS TRUCK SAFE TO DRIVE

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/25/2017 - CALEDONIA, WI
I RECEIVED A RECALL ON MY TRUCKS AIRBAG CONTROL MODULE TOOK MY TRUCK TO DEALER THEY SAID THEY WOULD ORDER THE PART AND CALL ME TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT FOR INSTALLATION I WENT BACK THREE TIMES TO DEALER WITH NO SUCCESS ALSO THE RECALL THEY MADE ON MY TRUCK LAST YEAR THE FRAME RUSTING OUT DID NOT LAST EVERY THING THEY DID FELL OFF THE FRAME OF MY TRUCK IS THIS TRUCK SAFE TO DRIVE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/7/2017 - SHARON, WI
TRUCK HAD FRONT GAS TANK STRAP RUST OUT. WENT TO DEALER FOR REPAIR. WAS TOLD REPAIR COULDN'T BE COMPLETED BECAUSE FRAME HAD RUSTED OUT IN THAT AREA. 2014 TOYOTA HAD A RUST CAMPAIGN AND DEALER APPLIED CORROSION RUST COATING. FRAME STILL RUSTED! WAS INFORMED BY DEALER UNSAFE TO DRIVE. RECALLS ON ALL OTHER YEARS EXCEPT 2006. TRUCK SITS IN DRIVEWAY BASICALLY IS A PILE OF SCRAP. CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE RECEIVED CASE #. CASE MANAGER TOLD ME SORRY CANNOT HELP THE RUST COATING WAS A ONE TIME FIX. SO NOW AM STUCK WITH A TRUCK UNSAFE TO DRIVE. !!!!THANKS TOYOTA!!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/2/2017 - HASTINGS, NY
I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM TOYOTA TELLING ME I NEEDED TO HAVE MY FRAME INSPECTED AT THE DEALERSHIP IN 2014. I DID THIS AND THE DEALERSHIP SAID MY FRAME WAS FINE. LESS THAN 2 YEARS LATER MY MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT MY FRAME WAS NOT FINE AND URGED ME TO CONTACT THE DEALER OR TOYOTA CORPORATE DIRECTLY. I DID SO BUT THEY SAID THAT THE RECALL THAT HAD BEEN PLACED ON THE FRAMES HAD EXPIRED. I RECENTLY HAD SOME BRAKE WORK DONE ON THE TRUCK AFTER MY BRAKE LINES BURST. THE SAME MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT THE FRAME WAS SO BAD THAT HE DID NOT THINK IT WOULD PASS INSPECTION. I ONCE AGAIN CONTACTED TOYOTA DIRECTLY AND THEY SAID THEIR WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. MY TRUCK IS CURRENTLY HAVING THE FRAME ANALYZED BY A THIRD PARTY IN HOPES REPAIRS CAN BE MADE SO THAT I DO NOT HAVE TO BUY A NEW TRUCK. THE TRUCK HAS 112000 AND I INTENDED TO PUT MANY MORE MILES ON IT THAN THAT. ALSO RELATED TO THE METAL USED UNDER THAT TRUCK, IN 2014 THE REAR PUMPKIN RUSTED ALL THE WAY THROUGH AND I NEEDED TO HAVE A NEW REAR SUSPENSION PUT IN. FURTHERMORE, I TOOK ADVANTAGE OF ZIEBART UNDERCOATING THAT THE DEALER WAS ADVERTISING WHERE FOR THE FIRST 6 YEARS I OWNED THE TRUCK, 2008-2014, I HAD IT UNDERCOATED ONCE EVERY YEAR. THE FACT THAT IT HAD BEEN PROTECTED WITH THE UNDERCOATING THE FIRST 6 YEARS I HAD IT AND THEN 2 YEARS LATER WAS RUSTED THROUGH IS AN INDICATION TO ME THAT THEIR IS SOME SORT OF MANUFACTURES DEFECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2017 - RUSSELL, OH
MY TOYOTA TUNDRA WAS PART OF A TOYOTA +LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN+ REGARDING CORROSION OF THE VEHICLE+S FRAME. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR INSPECTION WHICH RESULTED IN THEM CLEANING AND SPRAYING SOMETHING ON THE FRAME ON 5/9/14 WITH 89,820 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TRADE THE VEHICLE IN ON 4/19/17 WITH APPROXIMATELY 109,000 MILES ON IT, IT WAS DETERMINED THERE IS A HOLE IN THE FRAME WHERE THE FRONT STABILIZER ATTACHES TO FRAME. NOT ONLY IS THERE A HOLE IN FRAME BUT THE STABILIZER IS NO LONGER ATTACHED. I CONTACTED TOYOTA AND THEY SAID THEY HAVE NO RESPONSIBILITY REGARDING THIS ISSUE. I HAVE HAD OTHER ISSUES REGARDING CORROSION ON THIS VEHICLE AND EACH PUT MY PERSONAL SAFETY AT RISK. ANOTHER EXAMPLE HAPPENED AROUND SEPTEMBER OF 2015 WITH 94,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE WHEN I DISCOVERED THE FUEL TANK WAS HANGING DOWN AND ALMOST TOUCHING THE GROUND. TURNED OUT THE MOUNTING STRAPS HAD RUSTED THROUGH. I NOTICED IT AFTER HAVING JUST DRIVEN TO A LOCAL BUSINESS. HAD I NOT NOTICED IT, THE TANK COULD HAVE HIT THE ROAD WHILE I WAS DRIVING CAUGHT FIRE BEFORE I COULD HAVE STOPPED. I CONTACTED TOYOTA AND THEY SAID THEY HAD NO RESPONSIBILITY REGARDING THIS ISSUE. I HAVE ALSO HAD BRAKE LINES RUST THROUGH CAUSING ME TO LOOSE MOST OF MY BRAKING WHEN DRIVING ON A LOCAL STREET AND JUST BARELY BEING ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. I HAVE BEEN THE ONLY OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE TAKING GOOD CARE OF IT INCLUDING WASHING DURING THE WINTER MONTHS. AT WHAT POINT IS TOYOTA RESPONSIBLE FOR INSURING THE VEHICLES REMAIN SAFE THROUGHOUT THEIR NORMAL LIFETIME. A FRAME SHOULD NOT RUST THROUGH WITH ONLY 109,000 MILES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds