Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 152 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (2) Power Train (12) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (9) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (23) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (27) Visibility (1)
Engine (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (5) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/12/2014 - CROSSHILL , SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO A TREE AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE NECK AND BACK WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/9/2014 - MORGAN HILL , CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO AVOID A CRASH WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED THE VEHICLE INTO A POLE. THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. DURING THE CRASH, THE CONTACT+S CHEST ENCOUNTERED THE STEERING WHEEL AND CAUSED HEART INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/8/2014 - SOUTH BEND, IN
WHILE TRAVELING AT 65 MPH (POSTED SPEED FOR THE US 20 BYPASS AROUND SOUTH BEND IN}, I DROVE OVER A SLIGHT BUMP COMING OFF AN OVERPASS BRIDGE. MY WIFE AND I HEARD A WHOOSHING NOISE FROM UNDER THE TRUCK THAT WAS REPEATED AS WE DROVE DOWN THE ROAD. WHEN WE REACHED OUR DESTINATION I FOUND THE FRONT GAS TANK RETAINING STRAP HAD BROKEN. THE GAS TANK WAS DANGLING JUST ABOVE THE PAVEMENT AND THE NOISE WAS THE PLASTIC SKID PLATE HITTING THE ROAD. THE STRAP WAS CLEARLY RUSTED THROUGH AFTER ONLY 98000 MILES. IT WAS A FULL TANK OF GAS. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS NO FIRE. TOYOTA REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING TO HELP WITH THE REPAIR OR ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILTY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/1/2014 - MOBILE, AL
NOTICED THAT 1 OF MY REAR LEAF SPRING "LEAFS" HAD BROKEN IN HALF - TOTALLY. CALLED DEALER TOLD OUT OF WARRANTY. TRUCK WAS 4-5 YR.S OLD W/LOW MILAGE. BY SHEAR LUCK I NOTICED IT. HAD I NOT NOTICED IT I BELIEVE IT COULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR PROBLEM POSSIBLY WITH GAS TANK OR PERHAPS TIRE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

12/1/2014 - RHINELANDER, WI
2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE INCURRED FRAME RUSTING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS RECALL FOR FRAME RUSTING. THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER PERFORMED THE TREATMENT LAST FEBRUARY. HOWEVER, AN INSPECTION PERFORMED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DISCOVERED THAT ONLY PART OF THE FRAME HAD BEEN TREATED AND THERE WAS SERIOUS FLAKING/EROSION OF AN UNTREATED PORTION OF THE FRAME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/17/2014 - ATLANTIC BEACH, NY
I HAD MY VEHICLE SERVICED AT A LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP TO ADDRESS THE FRAME RUST CORROSION RECALL. CORPORATE GUIDELINES INDICATE THE NECESSITY TO INSPECT, REMOVE THE PICKUP BED, REMOVE ANY RUST AND REINSPECT FOR RUST PERFORATION. CORPORATE ALLOWS 8-9 BILLABLE HOURS TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THIS SERVICE. MY VEHICLES SERVICE WAS COMPLETED IN LESS THAN 4. UPON INSPECTION, IT IS APPARENT THAT THE DEALERSHIP NEVER REMOVED THE BED NOR REMOVED ANY RUST PRIOR TO SPRAYING THE FRAME WITH ITS "CRC". I HAD DOCUMENTED PHOTOGRAPHS TO PROVE THIS POINT AND THEN CONTACTED TOYOTA CORPORATE. BY TOYOTA CORPORATE'S REQUEST, I RETURNED TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE THE VEHICLE INSPECTED. UPON INSPECTION,THE DEALERSHIP'S SHOP MANAGER ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THE BED WAS NOT REMOVED AND MULTIPLE AREAS OF RUST THAT HAD BEEN LEFT UNTOUCHED. ONLY FURTHER INDICATING THAT IN ADDITION TO NOT REMOVING THE BED, THE DEALERSHIP DID NOT BOTHER TO REMOVE ANY EXISTING RUST FROM THE FRAME EITHER. THE DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO STRIP AND PROPERLY TREAT THE FRAME AS INDICATED BY CORPORATE GUIDELINES. I CONTACTED CORPORATE AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO TAKE ANY ADDITIONAL ACTIONS. AS IT STANDS, IT IS QUESTIONABLE AT BEST AS TO HOW LONG IT WILL BE BEFORE THERE IS A POTENTIAL FAILURE HERE. THIS IS NO ISOLATED INCIDENT EITHER, THERE ARE MANY OWNERS WHO ARE BEING DEFRAUDED IN A SIMILAR FASHION. FIVE MINUTES ON GOOGLE WILL EASILY PROVE THIS POINT. AS FAR AS I UNDERSTAND, TOYOTA SETTLED WITH THE FRAME MANUFACTURER (DANA CORP) FOR AROUND $25 MILLION. SO TOYOTA SOUGHT OUT AND GAINED FINANCIAL REIMBURSEMENT ON THEIR END BUT WHEN IT COME TO TAKING CARE OF THOSE WHO HAVE BEEN DAMAGED, NOT SO MUCH. I STRONGLY ENCOURAGE ANYONE FROM THE NHTSA TO CONTACT ME FOR ADDITIONAL DETAILS REGARDING THE MATTER. I HAVE MULTIPLE PHOTOGRAPHS DOCUMENTING THE ISSUE AND THE FAILED ATTEMPT AT COVERING IT UP.

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/6/2014 - MELBOURNE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD WAS STICKY AND DISCOLORED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

10/24/2014 - NARROWSBURG, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A VOLUNTARY RECALL REGARDING THE SUBFRAME CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN SPRAYED A COATING TO PREVENT THE SUBFRAME FROM RUSTING MORE; HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE COATING WAS SEPARATING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD NOT PROVIDE FURTHER ASSISTANCE AND STATED THAT THE FRAME WOULD CONTINUE TO RUST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VOLUNTARY RECALL NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - NEWARK, CA
'2006 TUNDRA DBL CAB LIMITED 2X4' THE GEARS IN THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL BROKE BACK IN JULY 2012 AT 55000 MILES, TOYOTA DEALER REPAIRED IT JUST AS MY WARRANTY WAS ABOUT TO EXPIRE THEN IT JUST HAPPEND AGAIN ON 10-9-14 AT 71000 MILES, EXACTLY 8 YEARS OF THE DATE WHEN I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW IN 10-9-06. ONLY 16000 MILES ON THE NEW GEARS. EITHER THE TOYOTA DEALER DIDNT REPAIR IT RIGHT OR THE TUNDRAS HAVE CRAPPY DIFFERENTIALS. ILL NEVER PURCHASE A TOYOTA AGAIN, PLUS THEY'RE OVER PRICED

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/16/2014 - NEWARK, CA
'2006 TUNDRA DBL CAB LIMITED 2X4' THE GEARS IN THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL BROKE BACK IN JULY 2012 AT 55000 MILES, TOYOTA DEALER REPAIRED IT JUST AS MY WARRANTY WAS ABOUT TO EXPIRE THEN IT JUST HAPPEND AGAIN ON 10-9-14 AT 71000 MILES, EXACTLY 8 YEARS OF THE DATE WHEN I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW IN 10-9-06. ONLY 16000 MILES ON THE NEW GEARS. EITHER THE TOYOTA DEALER DIDNT REPAIR IT RIGHT OR THE TUNDRAS HAVE CRAPPY DIFFERENTIALS. ILL NEVER PURCHASE A TOYOTA AGAIN, PLUS THEY'RE OVER PRICED

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds