Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 352 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (121) Equipment (2) Power Train (18) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (70) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (47) Visibility (1)
Engine (16) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (7) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

5/29/2018 - TENNYSON, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRAME WAS SEVERELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO KENNY KENT TOYOTA (5600 DIVISION ST, EVANSVILLE, IN 47715, 812-618-0061), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 175,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/28/2018 - BRIDGEWATER, MA
STABILIZER LINKS ROTTED OFF, FIXED. FRONT END FAILING, FALLING APART AT 78,000 MILES. ALSO TRUCK FRAME RUSTING BADLY, RECEIVED RECALL 3RD NOTICE A YEAR AFTER THEY EXPIRED IT. I NEVER RECEIVED 1ST 2 NOTICES, THEY DON'T COME NOT REGISTERED MAIL. WE HAD MAIL ISSUES WITH USPS! THE REGULAR MAILMAN WAS OUT FOR 2 YEARS WITH CANCER SO WE HAD SUBSTITUTE MAILMEN, WE DIDN'T ALWAYS GET OUR MAIL, GET OTHER PEOPLES MAIL ETC.. WE WOULD OF CALLED ABOUT THE RECALL IF WE KNEW! I CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE, THEY DIDN'T CARE, SAID I HAD 3 NOTICES, I ONLY RECEIVED 1 NOTICE AND IT WAS A YEAR AFTER IT EXPIRED! I AM 2ND OWNER. THE FRONT END IN THE TRUCK IS FALLING APART, HORRIBLE VIBRATING/BUMPING AND BANGING WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, TRUCK NOW HAS 92K, I GOOGLED AND IT CAME BACK LOWER BALL JOINT PROBLEM RECALL, 2006 TUNDRA. IF IT WAS SERVICED BY PREVIOUS OWNER AND BALL JOINT FAILED AGAIN WOULDN'T BE RECALLED COVERED AGAIN? HOW DO YOU FIND OUT IF IT WAS FIXED THE 1ST TIME? I DON'T WANT TO PUT MORE MONEY INTO IT IF IT IS COVERED UNDER A RECALL! I BOUGHT IT WITH 58K, IT WAS ALWAYS GARAGED AND ONLY DID VACATION TRIPS/HIGHWAY MILES, PREVIOUS OWNER WORKED FROM HOME. I GO 7 MILES/DAY. AND HIGHWAY VACATION TRIPS. PREVIOUS OWNER WAS ELDERLY AND HAS PASSED AWAY. ANY SERVICE RECORDS I DON'T HAVE, BUT HE MAINTAINED IT WELL! RECALLS SHOULD COME REGISTERED MAIL! WE ALSO HAVE A SEAT BELT PROBLEM, THEY DON'T ALWAYS WORK. THEY JAM, DON'T RECOIL, GET STUCK.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/28/2018 - BRIDGEWATER, MA
STABILIZER LINKS ROTTED OFF, FIXED. FRONT END FAILING, FALLING APART AT 78,000 MILES. ALSO TRUCK FRAME RUSTING BADLY, RECEIVED RECALL 3RD NOTICE A YEAR AFTER THEY EXPIRED IT. I NEVER RECEIVED 1ST 2 NOTICES, THEY DON'T COME NOT REGISTERED MAIL. WE HAD MAIL ISSUES WITH USPS! THE REGULAR MAILMAN WAS OUT FOR 2 YEARS WITH CANCER SO WE HAD SUBSTITUTE MAILMEN, WE DIDN'T ALWAYS GET OUR MAIL, GET OTHER PEOPLES MAIL ETC.. WE WOULD OF CALLED ABOUT THE RECALL IF WE KNEW! I CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE, THEY DIDN'T CARE, SAID I HAD 3 NOTICES, I ONLY RECEIVED 1 NOTICE AND IT WAS A YEAR AFTER IT EXPIRED! I AM 2ND OWNER. THE FRONT END IN THE TRUCK IS FALLING APART, HORRIBLE VIBRATING/BUMPING AND BANGING WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, TRUCK NOW HAS 92K, I GOOGLED AND IT CAME BACK LOWER BALL JOINT PROBLEM RECALL, 2006 TUNDRA. IF IT WAS SERVICED BY PREVIOUS OWNER AND BALL JOINT FAILED AGAIN WOULDN'T BE RECALLED COVERED AGAIN? HOW DO YOU FIND OUT IF IT WAS FIXED THE 1ST TIME? I DON'T WANT TO PUT MORE MONEY INTO IT IF IT IS COVERED UNDER A RECALL! I BOUGHT IT WITH 58K, IT WAS ALWAYS GARAGED AND ONLY DID VACATION TRIPS/HIGHWAY MILES, PREVIOUS OWNER WORKED FROM HOME. I GO 7 MILES/DAY. AND HIGHWAY VACATION TRIPS. PREVIOUS OWNER WAS ELDERLY AND HAS PASSED AWAY. ANY SERVICE RECORDS I DON'T HAVE, BUT HE MAINTAINED IT WELL! RECALLS SHOULD COME REGISTERED MAIL! WE ALSO HAVE A SEAT BELT PROBLEM, THEY DON'T ALWAYS WORK. THEY JAM, DON'T RECOIL, GET STUCK.

View Details

STEERING

5/28/2018 - BRIDGEWATER, MA
STABILIZER LINKS ROTTED OFF, FIXED. FRONT END FAILING, FALLING APART AT 78,000 MILES. ALSO TRUCK FRAME RUSTING BADLY, RECEIVED RECALL 3RD NOTICE A YEAR AFTER THEY EXPIRED IT. I NEVER RECEIVED 1ST 2 NOTICES, THEY DON'T COME NOT REGISTERED MAIL. WE HAD MAIL ISSUES WITH USPS! THE REGULAR MAILMAN WAS OUT FOR 2 YEARS WITH CANCER SO WE HAD SUBSTITUTE MAILMEN, WE DIDN'T ALWAYS GET OUR MAIL, GET OTHER PEOPLES MAIL ETC.. WE WOULD OF CALLED ABOUT THE RECALL IF WE KNEW! I CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE, THEY DIDN'T CARE, SAID I HAD 3 NOTICES, I ONLY RECEIVED 1 NOTICE AND IT WAS A YEAR AFTER IT EXPIRED! I AM 2ND OWNER. THE FRONT END IN THE TRUCK IS FALLING APART, HORRIBLE VIBRATING/BUMPING AND BANGING WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD, TRUCK NOW HAS 92K, I GOOGLED AND IT CAME BACK LOWER BALL JOINT PROBLEM RECALL, 2006 TUNDRA. IF IT WAS SERVICED BY PREVIOUS OWNER AND BALL JOINT FAILED AGAIN WOULDN'T BE RECALLED COVERED AGAIN? HOW DO YOU FIND OUT IF IT WAS FIXED THE 1ST TIME? I DON'T WANT TO PUT MORE MONEY INTO IT IF IT IS COVERED UNDER A RECALL! I BOUGHT IT WITH 58K, IT WAS ALWAYS GARAGED AND ONLY DID VACATION TRIPS/HIGHWAY MILES, PREVIOUS OWNER WORKED FROM HOME. I GO 7 MILES/DAY. AND HIGHWAY VACATION TRIPS. PREVIOUS OWNER WAS ELDERLY AND HAS PASSED AWAY. ANY SERVICE RECORDS I DON'T HAVE, BUT HE MAINTAINED IT WELL! RECALLS SHOULD COME REGISTERED MAIL! WE ALSO HAVE A SEAT BELT PROBLEM, THEY DON'T ALWAYS WORK. THEY JAM, DON'T RECOIL, GET STUCK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/18/2018 - BLAIR, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO HAVE IT SPRAYED WITH A CORROSION PROTECTANT AND NOTICED THAT THE BOTTOM OF THE FRAME WAS COMPLETELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 88,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/15/2018 - WALPOLE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO BOCH TOYOTA (277 PROVIDENCE HWY, NORWOOD, MA 02062) WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT OF FRAME CORROSION. THE DEALER TEMPORARILY REPAIRED THE FRAME. THE CONTACT ALSO TOOK THE VEHICLE TO WELLESLEY TOYOTA (234 WORCESTOR ST, WELLESLEY, MA 02481) WHERE THE TECHNICIAN CONFIRMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT OPERABLE DUE TO FRAME CORROSION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,097.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/14/2018 - PORT CHARLOTTE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS UNDERGOING ROUTINE MAINTENANCE, THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DISCOVERED THAT THE SUBFRAME NEAR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AXLE AREA WAS RUSTED WITH HOLES PRESENT. IN 2015, THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY KRAMER TOYOTA IN PORT CHARLOTTE, FL AND NO RUST WAS FOUND. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FRONT BRAKE LINES, CONTROL ARM, STEERING RACK, AND BALL JOINTS WERE ALL REPLACED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DUE TO RUST AND CORROSION. THE FAILURES WERE NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED FOR THE RECENT FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 157,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/19/2018 - CLACKAMAS, OR
TAKATA RECALL RUSTY REAR AXEL SPRINGS, I GOT RECALL NOTICE FROM MANUFACTURE ABOUT THIS RUSTED SPRINGS ,NOT SURE WHAT YEAR THAT WAS. I TOOK MY TRUCK TO DEALER BUT IT DID NOT REPAIR AT THAT TIME. SO NOW THE SPRINGS RUSTED MORE VISIBLE. THIS TRUCK IS STILL DRIVABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/12/2018 - AUSTINN, TX
THE UPPER BALL JOINT FAILED 16 DAYS AFTER THE ANNUAL INSPECTION. MY SON DROVE OVER A SPEED BUMP IN AN APARTMENT COMPLEX AND THE DRIVER-SIDE FRONT WHEEL FOLDED UNDER THE CAR. I CONTACTED TOYOTA AND TOLD THEM THEY SHOULD RECALL VEHICLES WITH THIS PART BECAUSE OF THE CATASTROPHIC NATURE OF THE FAILURE. THEY DISMISSED IT AND CLAIMED "...WE DO NOT SHOW ANY RECALLS OR OTHER SUPPORT PROGRAMS APPLICABLE TO THE VEHICLE." JUST A FEW HOURS BEFORE THIS PART FAILED, MY SON HAD BEEN HELPING FRIENDS MOVE. HE HAD BEEN DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY WITH THREE PASSENGERS IN HIS TRUCK AND THE BED OF THE TRUCK FULL OF FURNITURE. PEOPLE COULD HAVE DIED. I GOOGLED BALL JOINT FAILURES ON TOYOTA VEHICLES AND FOUND THE FOLLOWING LINK: HTTPS://WWW.CONSUMERAFFAIRS.COM/NEWS04/2007/01/TOYOTA_BALL_JOINTS.HTML. THIS LED ME TO YOUR WEB SITE. WE WERE NEVER INFORMED OF THIS RECALL BY TOYOTA AND HAVE LITERALLY BEEN DRIVING A TICKING TIME BOMB. THE COST OF THE REPAIR WAS $2,113.71 - NOT INCLUDING THE BODY DAMAGE THAT OCCURRED FROM DRAGGING THE TRUCK ONTO THE TOW TRUCK PLATFORM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/21/2018 - NEWARK, DE
DROVE MY TRUCK ABOUT 200 MILES THAT DAY. PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND UNLOADED A FORMICA COUNTER TOP IN MY GARAGE THEN PULLED MY TRUCK TO IT'S NORMAL PARKING SPOT. WALKED BACK TO THE GARAGE AND SAW A RATHER LARGE GREASE SPOT. LOOKED AT THE REAR OF MY TRUCK AND THE REAR END HOUSING WAS LEAKING AROUND THE PUMPKIN AREA. TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND HE TOLD ME MY WHOLE REAR END HOUSING WAS RUSTED OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. SINCE THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE TRUCKS (FRAME WAS REPLACED A YEAR AGO) MY MECHANIC TOLD ME THERE ARE NO GOOD USED REAR ENDS TO BE FOUND AND IT WOULD REQUIRE A NEW REAR END HOUSING. IF TOYOTA HAD MADE A RECALL ON FRAME ISSUES, WHY HAVEN'T THEY DONE THE SAME WITH THE REAR END HOUSING. A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE REAR DRIVING TRAIN SEEMS TO ME WOULD BE A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds