Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 288 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (106) Equipment (2) Power Train (15) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (38) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (36) Visibility (1)
Engine (13) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/13/2016 - BURTON, OH
IN 2014 RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE ON MY FRAME I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP CLASSIC TOYOTA OF MENTOR OHIO THEY SAID FRAME NEEDED REPLACED SCHEDULED THEM TO DO ALL WORK THEY SAID IT MAY BE A FEW MONTHS BEFORE THE FRAMES IN SO I SAID OKAY AND WAITED A FEW MONTHS HADN'T HEARD FROM THEM CALL THEM ASK THEM IF IT CAME IN THEY SAID NO I ASKED THEM IF THERE WAS ANYWAY TO CHECK ON IT THEY SAID NO BUT THE WAIT IS NORMAL AND THEY WOULD CALL ME WHEN IT GETS THERE SO I WAITED A COUPLE MORE MONTHS CALLED THEM AGAIN AND THE SAME THING SO I WAITED A COUPLE MORE MONTHS CALL THEM AGAIN AND AGAIN SAME THING SO IN FEBRUARY 2016 I CALLED THEM UP GOT THE SAME RESPONSE BY THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN OVER A YEAR SO I CALLED TOYOTA HEADQUARTERS IN CALIFORNIA AND ASK THEM WHAT WAS GOING ON THEY CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND IT TURNED OUT THE DEALERSHIP NEVER ORDERED THE FRAME I HAVE BEEN GOING BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN THE TWO AND THEY ARE BOTH REFUSING TO DO ANYTHING EVEN THOUGH NOW THERE IS A LARGE RUST HOLE THROUGH THE FRAME AND COMPONENTS ARE RUSTING OUT

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/29/2016 - HUDSON, ME
IT STARTED WITH MY GAS TANK FALLING OFF THE FRAME. MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE TRUCK AT THE TIME THE GAS TANK BAND BROKE THAT HOLDS THE GAS TANK TO THE FRAME. I THEN FOUND A HOLE IN THE FRAME ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE, JUST IN FRONT OF THE SWAY BAR MOUNT, LARGE ENOUGH TO PLACE MY HAND IN TO THE CENTER OF MY PALM. OBVIOUSLY, THIS VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. I THEN CONTACTED MY DEALER THAT I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM, DOWN EAST TOYOTA OF BREWER, ME. THE LADY I SPOKE WITH (LYNN), FROM DOWN EAST TOYOTA OF BREWER, MAINE, WAS CONDESCENDING AND ARROGANT ELUDING THAT THE PROBLEM WAS SOMEHOW MY FAULT. I LEARNED FROM HER THAT APPARENTLY THERE WAS A RECALL FOR RUSTED FRAMES. I DO NOT RECALL GETTING THIS RECALL INFORMATION. BUT LET THAT GO, MY DEALER THAT I BOUGHT THE TRUCK FROM (DOWN EAST TOYOTA IN BREWER, MAINE) HAS TOLD ME THAT I SHOULD FEEL FORTUNATE THAT I GOT 10 YEARS FROM THE TRUCK. SINCE THIS IS AS LONG AS THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO LAST ANYWAYS. MY DEALER (DOWN EAST TOYOTA OF BREWER, MAINE) TOLD ME MY OPTION WAS THAT THEY HAVE A PERSON THAT BUYS USED VEHICLES AND I COULD MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THEM TO SEE WHAT THE JUNK BUYER WOULD GIVE ME FOR MY TRUCK. OR, I COULD PAY TO HAVE THE FRAME REPLACED. GIVEN THE SEVERITY OF THIS KIND OF ISSUE, AND THE SAFETY ISSUES RAISED WITH A DAMAGED FRAME, I WOULD HAVE EXPECTED TO RECEIVE NOTIFICATION THROUGH REGISTERED MAIL OF THE ISSUE. OR AT LEAST, A FOLLOW UP LETTER TO INSURE THE FIRST NOTICE WAS RECEIVED. AS I SAID, I DO NOT REMEMBER GETTING SUCH NOTIFICATION. I HAVE WRITTEN TO TOYOTA AND HAVE HEARD NOTHING BACK AS OF YET.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/29/2016 - HUDSON, ME
IT STARTED WITH MY GAS TANK FALLING OFF THE FRAME. MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE TRUCK AT THE TIME THE GAS TANK BAND BROKE THAT HOLDS THE GAS TANK TO THE FRAME. I THEN FOUND A HOLE IN THE FRAME ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE, JUST IN FRONT OF THE SWAY BAR MOUNT, LARGE ENOUGH TO PLACE MY HAND IN TO THE CENTER OF MY PALM. OBVIOUSLY, THIS VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. I THEN CONTACTED MY DEALER THAT I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM, DOWN EAST TOYOTA OF BREWER, ME. THE LADY I SPOKE WITH (LYNN), FROM DOWN EAST TOYOTA OF BREWER, MAINE, WAS CONDESCENDING AND ARROGANT ELUDING THAT THE PROBLEM WAS SOMEHOW MY FAULT. I LEARNED FROM HER THAT APPARENTLY THERE WAS A RECALL FOR RUSTED FRAMES. I DO NOT RECALL GETTING THIS RECALL INFORMATION. BUT LET THAT GO, MY DEALER THAT I BOUGHT THE TRUCK FROM (DOWN EAST TOYOTA IN BREWER, MAINE) HAS TOLD ME THAT I SHOULD FEEL FORTUNATE THAT I GOT 10 YEARS FROM THE TRUCK. SINCE THIS IS AS LONG AS THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO LAST ANYWAYS. MY DEALER (DOWN EAST TOYOTA OF BREWER, MAINE) TOLD ME MY OPTION WAS THAT THEY HAVE A PERSON THAT BUYS USED VEHICLES AND I COULD MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THEM TO SEE WHAT THE JUNK BUYER WOULD GIVE ME FOR MY TRUCK. OR, I COULD PAY TO HAVE THE FRAME REPLACED. GIVEN THE SEVERITY OF THIS KIND OF ISSUE, AND THE SAFETY ISSUES RAISED WITH A DAMAGED FRAME, I WOULD HAVE EXPECTED TO RECEIVE NOTIFICATION THROUGH REGISTERED MAIL OF THE ISSUE. OR AT LEAST, A FOLLOW UP LETTER TO INSURE THE FIRST NOTICE WAS RECEIVED. AS I SAID, I DO NOT REMEMBER GETTING SUCH NOTIFICATION. I HAVE WRITTEN TO TOYOTA AND HAVE HEARD NOTHING BACK AS OF YET.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/20/2016 - YAPHANK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, AN ABNORMAL GRINDING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE LOWER BALL JOINT WAS FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/14/2016 - FORT COLLINS, CO
TAKATA INFLATORS TOYOTA NOTIFIED ME THAT REPLACEMENT PARTS WERE AVAILABLE IN MY GEOGRAPHIC AREA IN FEBRUARY 2016. WHEN I CALLED TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT, I WAS TOLD THAT PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE UNTIL SEPTEMBER 2016. THIS IS AN UNACCEPTABLE TIME FRAME TO REPAIR A DEFECTIVE VEHICLE. ARE THERE ANY OTHER REMEDIES?

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/7/2016 - PITTSBURGH, PA
MY TRUCK HAS A RECALL ON THE AIR BAG, THE RECALL STATED DO NOT HAVE ANYONE IN THE FRONT SEAT. I HAVE HANDICAP PEOPLE WHO CANNOT GET IN THE BACK SEAT. IF SOMEONE HITS ME MY PASSENGER CAN BE INJURED OR KILLED. I CALLED TO GET AN APPOINTMENT FOR REPLACEMENT AND IT IS UP TO 4 MONTHS OUT. UNDER THE CIRCUMSTANCES THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE AND I FEEL TOYOTA SHOULD PROVIDE A RENTAL CAR TILL THE AIR BAG CAN BE REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/2/2016 - METAIRIE, LA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V286000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/1/2016 - MARENGO, IA
TAKATA RECALL-WE RECEIVED A LETTER FROM TOYOTA A MONTH AGO STATING THAT "TOYOTA HAS COMPLETED PARTS PREPARATION FOR VEHICLES IN YOUR GEOGRAPHIC AREA". I CONTACTED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THERE IS A NATIONAL BACK ORDER OF THE PART AND THAT IT WOULD TAKE 3-4 MONTHS FOR THE PART TO COME IN. UNTIL THEN , NO ONE IS TO DRIVE IN THE PASSENGER SEAT OF THE TRUCK WHICH MAKES THE VEHICLE VIRTUALLY UNUSABLE. THE RECALL HAS BEEN IN EFFECT FOR ALMOST A YEAR AND NOW WE ARE BEING TOLD IT WLL BE ANOTHER 1/3 OF A YEAR BEFORE IT IS ADDRESSED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/5/2016 - HUBBARDSVILLE, NY
TAKATA RECALL STILL WAITING TO BE ABLE TO USE THIS VEHICLE SAFELY. UNACCEPTABLE WAITING TIME! WAS TOLD TODAY THAT "THEY SEND THEM AT WILL" AND "IT LOOKS LIKE IT WILL BE A LENGTHY WAITING TIME BUT YOU ARE WELCOME TO CHECK BACK PERIODICALLY"!!! THIS AN URGENT SAFETY RECALL AND HAS RESULTED IN DEATHS!

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/4/2016 - BROOKVILLE, IN
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds