Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 164 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (2) Power Train (14) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (10) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (26) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (29) Visibility (1)
Engine (8) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (5) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/15/2015 - BRUNSWICK, OH
IN JUNE 2014 I TOOK MY TUNDRA TO HAVE IT EVALUATED, REFERENCE FRAME RUST. TOYOTA FELT THE BEST COURSE OF ACTION WAS TO APPLY SOME TYPE OF COMPOUND TO THE FRAME. IN MAY 2015 I LOOKED UNDER MY TRUCK AND NOTICED THAT THE RUST WAS COMING BACK WITH A VENGEANCE, ESPECIALLY WHERE THE RUST WAS HEAVIEST BEFORE. I FIND IT DIFFICULT TO BELIEVE THAT IF THE FRAME WAS DRIED, BRUSH, AND THEN THE COMPOUND "RUST PROOFING" WAS APPLIED THAT THE RUST WOULD BE COMING THROUGH/BACK IN LESS THEN A YEAR. I HAVE CONTACTED TOYOTA AND THEY DO NOT SEEM INTERESTED IN ADDRESSING THE ISSUE. I FIND IT DISHEARTENING THAT THE BODY, ENGINE, AND THE REST OF THE TRUCK WILL OUTLAST THE FRAME. RUST DOES HAPPEN IN THE NORTH. HOWEVER, FRAMES DO NOT TURN TO DUST BEFORE THE FENDERS AND THE BODY. HOW IS IT THE BODY IS LASTING LONGER AND WEARING BETTER? THOSE PARTS ARE GOING THROUGH THE SAME ELEMENTS AS THE FRAME! ESSENTIALLY, TOYOTA TRIED TO PUT MAKEUP OR A BAND-AID ON THE PROBLEM WITHOUT ADDRESSING THE PROBLEM. IF YOU JUST PAINT OR COVER RUST WITHOUT TREATING THE RUST TO BEGIN WITH, THE PROBLEM WAS NEVER FIXED. IF YOU SAND THE RUST DOWN/OUT, THEN APPLY YOUR PAINT OR COMPOUND, YOU WILL EXTEND THE LIFE OF YOUR METAL. I HAVE TRIED TO BRING THIS ISSUE UP WITH TOYOTA AND THEY DON'T WANT TO HEAR IT. THEY STATE THE ISSUE IS CLOSED AND NOTHING ELSE WILL BE DONE. AFTER SOME RESEARCH IT CERTAINLY APPEARS THAT TOYOTA'S MANUFACTURING PROCESS AND STANDARDS FOR SECOND GENERATION TUNDRA ARE NO DIFFERENT THEN THE FIRST. IF TOYOTA CAN NOT OR DID NOT WANT TO BUILD A VEHICLE FOR COLD ENVIRONMENTS THAT USE SALT, THEY SHOULD NOT SELL THEM TO THE NORTHERN HALF OF THE UNITED STATES. THEY CERTAINLY DID NOT DISCLOSE THAT THEY DID NOT TREAT OR MANUFACTURE THEIR FRAMES TO WITHSTAND THE RIGORS OF THE COLDER ENVIRONMENTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/4/2015 - KERNVILLE, CA
A 1992 FORD F-250 (2 DOOR) TOWING A PORTABLE CEMENT MIXER, ESTIMATED WEIGHT @350-450 POUNDS, CROSSED THE CENTER LINE AND STRUCK A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA CREW CAB (4 DOOR) HEAD ON. BOTH VEHICLES ESTIMATED SPEED WAS 50 MPH. ALL DRIVERS AND PASSENGER WERE WEARING SEAT BELTS, AIRBAGS DID DEPLOY. THE F-250'S DRIVER SUSTAINED 1 DETACHED RIB PLUS CUTS AND BRUISES. IN THE TOYOTA, THE FOLLOWING INJURIES OCCURRED: PASSENGER: BROKEN LEFT ANKLE, 7 BROKEN RIBS, STERNUM AND CLAVICLE FRACTURES, 7 INCH LEG LACERATION, 5 INCH HAND LACERATION, CUTS & BRUISES. DRIVER: BROKEN RIGHT ANKLE, BRAIN CONTUSION/CONCUSSION (VISIBLE IMPACT SPOT ON WINDSHIELD - SEE BELOW), BROKEN RIB, CUTS AND BRUISES. TOYOTA'S OCCUPANTS CONFIRMED THAT THE ENGINE/TRANSMISSION INTRUDED ABOUT 2 FEET INTO THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT, CONSISTENT WITH THE ANKLE INJURIES. IT ALSO APPEARS FROM PHOTOS THAT THE WINDSHIELD WAS PUSHED BACK INTO THE DRIVER, ALTHOUGH THE BELT AND AIRBAG COULD HAVE NOT PROVIDED ADEQUATE PROTECTION ALSO. FRONTAL PHOTOS OF THE TOYOTA SHOW, APPARENTLY, THAT THE BODYWORK DETACHED FROM THE FRAME - THE FRONT OF THE FRAME IS CLEARLY VISIBLE & DOES NOT LOOK SERIOUSLY DAMAGED, WITH THE BODYWORK (INCLUDING THE BUMPER) PUSHED BACK SUBSTANTIALLY. IT SEEMS TO ME THERE ARE SEVERAL POSSIBLE DEFECT/DESIGN ISSUES HERE: 1. ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION CAME STRAIGHT BACK AND DID NOT DEFLECT DOWNWARDS, CAUSING THE LOWER EXTREMITY INJURIES. 2. MULTIPLE RIB INJURIES DESPITE OCCUPANTS BEING BELTED SUGGESTS EXCESSIVE AIRBAG INFLATION PRESSURE. 3. BODY TO FRAME ATTACHMENT FAILURE, EXACERBATING INTRUSION OF ENGINE AND FRONTAL COLLAPSE/COMPRESSION. THE ACCIDENT WAS INVESTIGATED BY THE CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY PATROL (REPORT AVAILABLE) AND OCCURRED ON STATE ROUTE 178 ON MAY 27, 2015, ABOUT 25 MILES EAST OF BAKERSFIELD, CALIFORNIA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/4/2015 - KERNVILLE, CA
A 1992 FORD F-250 (2 DOOR) TOWING A PORTABLE CEMENT MIXER, ESTIMATED WEIGHT @350-450 POUNDS, CROSSED THE CENTER LINE AND STRUCK A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA CREW CAB (4 DOOR) HEAD ON. BOTH VEHICLES ESTIMATED SPEED WAS 50 MPH. ALL DRIVERS AND PASSENGER WERE WEARING SEAT BELTS, AIRBAGS DID DEPLOY. THE F-250'S DRIVER SUSTAINED 1 DETACHED RIB PLUS CUTS AND BRUISES. IN THE TOYOTA, THE FOLLOWING INJURIES OCCURRED: PASSENGER: BROKEN LEFT ANKLE, 7 BROKEN RIBS, STERNUM AND CLAVICLE FRACTURES, 7 INCH LEG LACERATION, 5 INCH HAND LACERATION, CUTS & BRUISES. DRIVER: BROKEN RIGHT ANKLE, BRAIN CONTUSION/CONCUSSION (VISIBLE IMPACT SPOT ON WINDSHIELD - SEE BELOW), BROKEN RIB, CUTS AND BRUISES. TOYOTA'S OCCUPANTS CONFIRMED THAT THE ENGINE/TRANSMISSION INTRUDED ABOUT 2 FEET INTO THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT, CONSISTENT WITH THE ANKLE INJURIES. IT ALSO APPEARS FROM PHOTOS THAT THE WINDSHIELD WAS PUSHED BACK INTO THE DRIVER, ALTHOUGH THE BELT AND AIRBAG COULD HAVE NOT PROVIDED ADEQUATE PROTECTION ALSO. FRONTAL PHOTOS OF THE TOYOTA SHOW, APPARENTLY, THAT THE BODYWORK DETACHED FROM THE FRAME - THE FRONT OF THE FRAME IS CLEARLY VISIBLE & DOES NOT LOOK SERIOUSLY DAMAGED, WITH THE BODYWORK (INCLUDING THE BUMPER) PUSHED BACK SUBSTANTIALLY. IT SEEMS TO ME THERE ARE SEVERAL POSSIBLE DEFECT/DESIGN ISSUES HERE: 1. ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION CAME STRAIGHT BACK AND DID NOT DEFLECT DOWNWARDS, CAUSING THE LOWER EXTREMITY INJURIES. 2. MULTIPLE RIB INJURIES DESPITE OCCUPANTS BEING BELTED SUGGESTS EXCESSIVE AIRBAG INFLATION PRESSURE. 3. BODY TO FRAME ATTACHMENT FAILURE, EXACERBATING INTRUSION OF ENGINE AND FRONTAL COLLAPSE/COMPRESSION. THE ACCIDENT WAS INVESTIGATED BY THE CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY PATROL (REPORT AVAILABLE) AND OCCURRED ON STATE ROUTE 178 ON MAY 27, 2015, ABOUT 25 MILES EAST OF BAKERSFIELD, CALIFORNIA.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/4/2015 - KERNVILLE, CA
A 1992 FORD F-250 (2 DOOR) TOWING A PORTABLE CEMENT MIXER, ESTIMATED WEIGHT @350-450 POUNDS, CROSSED THE CENTER LINE AND STRUCK A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA CREW CAB (4 DOOR) HEAD ON. BOTH VEHICLES ESTIMATED SPEED WAS 50 MPH. ALL DRIVERS AND PASSENGER WERE WEARING SEAT BELTS, AIRBAGS DID DEPLOY. THE F-250'S DRIVER SUSTAINED 1 DETACHED RIB PLUS CUTS AND BRUISES. IN THE TOYOTA, THE FOLLOWING INJURIES OCCURRED: PASSENGER: BROKEN LEFT ANKLE, 7 BROKEN RIBS, STERNUM AND CLAVICLE FRACTURES, 7 INCH LEG LACERATION, 5 INCH HAND LACERATION, CUTS & BRUISES. DRIVER: BROKEN RIGHT ANKLE, BRAIN CONTUSION/CONCUSSION (VISIBLE IMPACT SPOT ON WINDSHIELD - SEE BELOW), BROKEN RIB, CUTS AND BRUISES. TOYOTA'S OCCUPANTS CONFIRMED THAT THE ENGINE/TRANSMISSION INTRUDED ABOUT 2 FEET INTO THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT, CONSISTENT WITH THE ANKLE INJURIES. IT ALSO APPEARS FROM PHOTOS THAT THE WINDSHIELD WAS PUSHED BACK INTO THE DRIVER, ALTHOUGH THE BELT AND AIRBAG COULD HAVE NOT PROVIDED ADEQUATE PROTECTION ALSO. FRONTAL PHOTOS OF THE TOYOTA SHOW, APPARENTLY, THAT THE BODYWORK DETACHED FROM THE FRAME - THE FRONT OF THE FRAME IS CLEARLY VISIBLE & DOES NOT LOOK SERIOUSLY DAMAGED, WITH THE BODYWORK (INCLUDING THE BUMPER) PUSHED BACK SUBSTANTIALLY. IT SEEMS TO ME THERE ARE SEVERAL POSSIBLE DEFECT/DESIGN ISSUES HERE: 1. ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION CAME STRAIGHT BACK AND DID NOT DEFLECT DOWNWARDS, CAUSING THE LOWER EXTREMITY INJURIES. 2. MULTIPLE RIB INJURIES DESPITE OCCUPANTS BEING BELTED SUGGESTS EXCESSIVE AIRBAG INFLATION PRESSURE. 3. BODY TO FRAME ATTACHMENT FAILURE, EXACERBATING INTRUSION OF ENGINE AND FRONTAL COLLAPSE/COMPRESSION. THE ACCIDENT WAS INVESTIGATED BY THE CALIFORNIA HIGHWAY PATROL (REPORT AVAILABLE) AND OCCURRED ON STATE ROUTE 178 ON MAY 27, 2015, ABOUT 25 MILES EAST OF BAKERSFIELD, CALIFORNIA.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/31/2015 - MARATHON, WI
I WAS LEAVING A PARKING LOT WHEN THE RIGHT FRONT BALL JOINT FAILED. THE WHEEL FELL OFF, THE SUSPENSION DROPPED DOWN. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND CALLED FOR A TOW TRUCK.

View Details

WHEELS

5/31/2015 - MARATHON, WI
I WAS LEAVING A PARKING LOT WHEN THE RIGHT FRONT BALL JOINT FAILED. THE WHEEL FELL OFF, THE SUSPENSION DROPPED DOWN. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND CALLED FOR A TOW TRUCK.

View Details

STEERING

5/31/2015 - MARATHON, WI
I WAS LEAVING A PARKING LOT WHEN THE RIGHT FRONT BALL JOINT FAILED. THE WHEEL FELL OFF, THE SUSPENSION DROPPED DOWN. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND CALLED FOR A TOW TRUCK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/12/2015 - GLENVILLE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT NOTICED CORROSION ON THE SUBFRAME OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

4/20/2015 - FRANCONIA, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING SERVICED AT A DEALER, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE REAR AXLE HOUSING WAS RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WAS PREVIOUSLY EXPERIENCED AND THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000. UPDATED. 5/28/15

View Details

WHEELS

4/7/2015 - CONYERS, GA
THIS IS STILL A PROBLEM........SINCE THE ORIGINAL 70B RECALL. I WAS BACKING INTO THE DRIVEWAY WHEN THE LEFT FRONT BALL JOINT FAILED. MY SON AND I HAD JUST COME OFF OF THE HIGHWAY. MY TIRE WAS NEARLY OFF THE TRUCK AND IT JAMMED INTO THE LEFT FRONT QUARTER PANEL, I COULD NOT EXIT THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THE NUT CAME OFF AND WAS ON THE GROUND, THE COTTER PIN WAS NO WHERE TO BE FOUND. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND OF COURSE THEY WOULD NOT MAY FOR THIS REPAIR. I CANNOT UNDERSTAND WHAT THIS DEFECT HAS NOT BEEN PART OF A MASS RECALL BY TOYOTA MOTORS. THIS IS STILL A PROBLEM AND POTENTIAL DANGER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds