Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 347 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (121) Equipment (2) Power Train (18) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (66) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (45) Visibility (1)
Engine (16) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (7) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

3/19/2018 - CLACKAMAS, OR
TAKATA RECALL RUSTY REAR AXEL SPRINGS, I GOT RECALL NOTICE FROM MANUFACTURE ABOUT THIS RUSTED SPRINGS ,NOT SURE WHAT YEAR THAT WAS. I TOOK MY TRUCK TO DEALER BUT IT DID NOT REPAIR AT THAT TIME. SO NOW THE SPRINGS RUSTED MORE VISIBLE. THIS TRUCK IS STILL DRIVABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/12/2018 - AUSTINN, TX
THE UPPER BALL JOINT FAILED 16 DAYS AFTER THE ANNUAL INSPECTION. MY SON DROVE OVER A SPEED BUMP IN AN APARTMENT COMPLEX AND THE DRIVER-SIDE FRONT WHEEL FOLDED UNDER THE CAR. I CONTACTED TOYOTA AND TOLD THEM THEY SHOULD RECALL VEHICLES WITH THIS PART BECAUSE OF THE CATASTROPHIC NATURE OF THE FAILURE. THEY DISMISSED IT AND CLAIMED "...WE DO NOT SHOW ANY RECALLS OR OTHER SUPPORT PROGRAMS APPLICABLE TO THE VEHICLE." JUST A FEW HOURS BEFORE THIS PART FAILED, MY SON HAD BEEN HELPING FRIENDS MOVE. HE HAD BEEN DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY WITH THREE PASSENGERS IN HIS TRUCK AND THE BED OF THE TRUCK FULL OF FURNITURE. PEOPLE COULD HAVE DIED. I GOOGLED BALL JOINT FAILURES ON TOYOTA VEHICLES AND FOUND THE FOLLOWING LINK: HTTPS://WWW.CONSUMERAFFAIRS.COM/NEWS04/2007/01/TOYOTA_BALL_JOINTS.HTML. THIS LED ME TO YOUR WEB SITE. WE WERE NEVER INFORMED OF THIS RECALL BY TOYOTA AND HAVE LITERALLY BEEN DRIVING A TICKING TIME BOMB. THE COST OF THE REPAIR WAS $2,113.71 - NOT INCLUDING THE BODY DAMAGE THAT OCCURRED FROM DRAGGING THE TRUCK ONTO THE TOW TRUCK PLATFORM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/21/2018 - NEWARK, DE
DROVE MY TRUCK ABOUT 200 MILES THAT DAY. PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND UNLOADED A FORMICA COUNTER TOP IN MY GARAGE THEN PULLED MY TRUCK TO IT'S NORMAL PARKING SPOT. WALKED BACK TO THE GARAGE AND SAW A RATHER LARGE GREASE SPOT. LOOKED AT THE REAR OF MY TRUCK AND THE REAR END HOUSING WAS LEAKING AROUND THE PUMPKIN AREA. TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND HE TOLD ME MY WHOLE REAR END HOUSING WAS RUSTED OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. SINCE THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE TRUCKS (FRAME WAS REPLACED A YEAR AGO) MY MECHANIC TOLD ME THERE ARE NO GOOD USED REAR ENDS TO BE FOUND AND IT WOULD REQUIRE A NEW REAR END HOUSING. IF TOYOTA HAD MADE A RECALL ON FRAME ISSUES, WHY HAVEN'T THEY DONE THE SAME WITH THE REAR END HOUSING. A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE OF THE REAR DRIVING TRAIN SEEMS TO ME WOULD BE A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/20/2018 - LANCASTER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V065000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. TOYOTA OF ROCKHILL IN ROCKHILL, NORTH CAROLINA STATED THAT THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/6/2018 - WALLKILL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING INSPECTED, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A PERFORATED FRAME ON THE CROSS MEMBER NEAR THE FUEL TANK. THE CONTACT CALLED DCH WAPPINGERS FALLS TOYOTA (1349 U.S. 9, WAPPINGERS FALLS, NY 12590; 845-206-0521) AND WAS INFORMED THAT DOD'S LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN STATED THAT THE FRAME WOULD BE AT RISK OF CORROSION AND NEEDED TO BE COATED WITH A SPECIAL COVERING TIN ORDER TO PREVENT CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED TO CALL THE MANUFACTURER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 1802063078. THE CONTACT WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR COST SINCE THE SERVICE CAMPAIGN EXPIRED IN 2015. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/30/2018 - GROTON, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WENT THROUGH AN EMISSIONS INSPECTION, THE INSPECTOR FAILED THE VEHICLE DUE TO A CORRODED FRAME. ALSO, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT CALLED GIRARD TOYOTA AT (860) 447-3141 (LOCATED AT 543 COLMAN ST, NEW LONDON, CT 06320) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT NO RECALL WAS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VIN AND THERE WOULD BE A FEE FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE RECALL HAD EXPIRED. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2018 - GROTON, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WENT THROUGH AN EMISSIONS INSPECTION, THE INSPECTOR FAILED THE VEHICLE DUE TO A CORRODED FRAME. ALSO, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT CALLED GIRARD TOYOTA AT (860) 447-3141 (LOCATED AT 543 COLMAN ST, NEW LONDON, CT 06320) WHERE IT WAS CONFIRMED THAT NO RECALL WAS ASSOCIATED WITH THE VIN AND THERE WOULD BE A FEE FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE RECALL HAD EXPIRED. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/30/2018 - CHESTER SPRINGS, PA
RUSTING OF FRAME IMPACTS STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY OF VEHICLE. 2004-2006 MODEL YEARS WERE SUBJECT TO A VOLUNTARY LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN ON THE HEELS OF A RECALL TO THE 2000-2003 MODEL YEARS. THE LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN IS INEFFECTIVE AT MITIGATING THE SAFETY CONCERN OVER THE STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY OF THE VEHICLE. 2007-2008 ARE SUBJECT TO RECALL AS WELL. NHTSA SHOULD ADDRESS THIS MATTER TO ENSURE TOYOTA RESOLVES THE SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUES ASSOCIATED WITH A RUSTING FRAME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/30/2018 - CHESTER SPRINGS, PA
FRAME RUST ON FRONT OF VEHICLE IN THE "CRUMPLE" ZONE. I WAS TOLD BY TOYOTA THAT IT WAS PART OF LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN D0D FOR 2004-2006 TUNDRAS AND THAT A SEALANT WAS APPLIED IN JUNE 2014 AND NO OTHER ACTION WILL BE TAKEN. THESE VEHICLES CLEARLY HAVE STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY ISSUES DUE TO KNOWN FRAME RUSTING RESULTING FROM A MANUFACTURING DEFICIENCY THAT ARE BEYOND THE SCOPE OF THE LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN FOR THE 2004-2006 MODEL YEARS JUST LIKE THE 2000-2003 TUNDRA VEHICLES THAT WERE SUBJECT TO FULL RECALL. THE NHTSA SHOULD TAKE ACTION WITH THE 2004-2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA VEHICLES TO ENSURE TOYOTA ADDRESSES THE SAFETY RELATED STRUCTURAL INTEGRITY CONCERNS WITH THE FRAMES OF THESE VEHICLES AS THEY HAVE FOR THE 2000-2003 AND 2007-2008 MODEL YEARS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/25/2018 - SAN DIEGO, CA
TAKATA RECALL

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds