Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 145 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (12) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (9) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (21) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (26) Visibility (1)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (5) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/24/2014 - NARROWSBURG, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE HAD RECEIVED A VOLUNTARY RECALL REGARDING THE SUB FRAME CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN SPRAYED A COATING TO PREVENT THE SUB FRAME FROM RUSTING MORE. HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE COATING WAS SEPARATING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD NOT PROVIDE FURTHER ASSISTANCE AND STATED THAT THE FRAME WOULD CONTINUE TO RUST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. PAM

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - NEWARK, CA
'2006 TUNDRA DBL CAB LIMITED 2X4' THE GEARS IN THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL BROKE BACK IN JULY 2012 AT 55000 MILES, TOYOTA DEALER REPAIRED IT JUST AS MY WARRANTY WAS ABOUT TO EXPIRE THEN IT JUST HAPPEND AGAIN ON 10-9-14 AT 71000 MILES, EXACTLY 8 YEARS OF THE DATE WHEN I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW IN 10-9-06. ONLY 16000 MILES ON THE NEW GEARS. EITHER THE TOYOTA DEALER DIDNT REPAIR IT RIGHT OR THE TUNDRAS HAVE CRAPPY DIFFERENTIALS. ILL NEVER PURCHASE A TOYOTA AGAIN, PLUS THEY'RE OVER PRICED

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/16/2014 - NEWARK, CA
'2006 TUNDRA DBL CAB LIMITED 2X4' THE GEARS IN THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL BROKE BACK IN JULY 2012 AT 55000 MILES, TOYOTA DEALER REPAIRED IT JUST AS MY WARRANTY WAS ABOUT TO EXPIRE THEN IT JUST HAPPEND AGAIN ON 10-9-14 AT 71000 MILES, EXACTLY 8 YEARS OF THE DATE WHEN I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW IN 10-9-06. ONLY 16000 MILES ON THE NEW GEARS. EITHER THE TOYOTA DEALER DIDNT REPAIR IT RIGHT OR THE TUNDRAS HAVE CRAPPY DIFFERENTIALS. ILL NEVER PURCHASE A TOYOTA AGAIN, PLUS THEY'RE OVER PRICED

View Details

STEERING

10/3/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN IN A ACCIDENT AS FAR AS I KNOW AND I BOUGHT IT NEW WITH APPROXIMATELY 15 MILES ON THE ODOMETER. I AM THE ONLY OWNER. SINCE THE DAY I DROVE IT OFF THE LOT THERE HAS BEEN A SLIGHT TO SEVERE SHIMMY IN THE STEERING WHEEL. EVERY TIME I BROUGHT IT IN THEY WOULD BALANCE THE WHEELS AND ADD HALF A WHEEL CIRCUMFERENCE OF LEAD TO ONE OR MORE OF THE WHEELS. TWO DIFFERENT SERVICE DEPARTMENTS HAVE TOLD ME THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO IT IS WHAT IT IS. IT CAUSES MY TIRES TO WEAR PREMATURELY WHICH THE DEALERSHIP BLAMES ON POOR TIRE PSI. I CHANGED OUT THE AFTERMARKET 20" BBS WHEELS THE DEALERSHIP PUT ON AND PUT 18" WHEELS ON THINKING IT MAY HELP AND IT DIDN'T. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD ME THEY CANNOT HELP SINCE I PUT AFTERMARKET WHEELS ON WHICH I RESPONDED BBS ARE AFTERMARKET WHEELS. THEY AGREED AND SAID BUT WE MODIFY THE SUSPENSION TO WORK WITH THE 20" BBS WHEELS. I'VE BEEN GETTING THIS RUN AROUND SINCE I TOOK DELIVERY AND ALL I WANT IS TO GET THE SHIMMY TO STOP AND EXTEND THE LIFE OF MY TIRES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - SCOTTSBLUFF, NE
INFLATED THE TIRES TO ENSURE PROPER PSI'S PRIOR TO OPERATION. TIRE WARNING LIGHT SHUTS ON AND OFF. TIRE WARNING LIGHTS WILL REMAIN ON WHEN VEHICLE IS STARTED, IDLING, AND IN OPERATION. THIS IS STILL AN ONGOING PROBLEM THAT HAS NOT BEEN FULLY RESOLVED. THE TIRE SENSORS COULD BE A CONTRIBUTING FACTOR WHICH IS NOT BEING REPORTED AS WELL. WENT TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WILL NOT FIX UNLESS THE RECALL IS UNDER TOYOTA'S WEBSITE AND NOT THE NHTSA. THIS IS A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE THAT COULD RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT, INJURY, OR DEATH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2014 - SCOTTSBLUFF, NE
INFLATED THE TIRES TO ENSURE PROPER PSI'S PRIOR TO OPERATION. TIRE WARNING LIGHT SHUTS ON AND OFF. TIRE WARNING LIGHTS WILL REMAIN ON WHEN VEHICLE IS STARTED, IDLING, AND IN OPERATION. THIS IS STILL AN ONGOING PROBLEM THAT HAS NOT BEEN FULLY RESOLVED. THE TIRE SENSORS COULD BE A CONTRIBUTING FACTOR WHICH IS NOT BEING REPORTED AS WELL. WENT TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WILL NOT FIX UNLESS THE RECALL IS UNDER TOYOTA'S WEBSITE AND NOT THE NHTSA. THIS IS A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE THAT COULD RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT, INJURY, OR DEATH.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/22/2014 - SCOTTSBLUFF, NE
INFLATED THE TIRES TO ENSURE PROPER PSI'S PRIOR TO OPERATION. TIRE WARNING LIGHT SHUTS ON AND OFF. TIRE WARNING LIGHTS WILL REMAIN ON WHEN VEHICLE IS STARTED, IDLING, AND IN OPERATION. THIS IS STILL AN ONGOING PROBLEM THAT HAS NOT BEEN FULLY RESOLVED. THE TIRE SENSORS COULD BE A CONTRIBUTING FACTOR WHICH IS NOT BEING REPORTED AS WELL. WENT TO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY WILL NOT FIX UNLESS THE RECALL IS UNDER TOYOTA'S WEBSITE AND NOT THE NHTSA. THIS IS A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE THAT COULD RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT, INJURY, OR DEATH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

9/9/2014 - POINT PLEASANT , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ACCORDING TO AN UNKNOWN RECALL, THE RUNNING BOARDS ON BOTH THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDES FRACTURED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO EXCESSIVE WEIGHT BEING PLACED ON THE RUNNING BOARDS. THE DEALER REFUSED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE AND WOULD NOT CLAIM ANY RESPONSIBILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. UPDATED 10/8/14

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/13/2014 - TAMPA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT NOTICED A STICKY SUBSTANCE ON THE DASHBOARD NEAR THE AIR BAG ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TOP COAT WAS MELTING AND EXHIBITED A SHINE, WHICH CAUSED A GLARE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THIS ISSUE OCCURRED TO ALL VEHICLES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2014 - METAIRIE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON RESTARTING, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVEN OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR INTAKE SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds