Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 262 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (89) Equipment (2) Power Train (15) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (12) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (34) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (33) Visibility (1)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/3/2016 - SOUTHAMPTON, PA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2016 - TACOMA, WA
WHILE TOWING A TRAVEL TRAILER ON A MOUNTAIN PASS FREEWAY IN WA STATE WITH NO SHOULDER. GOING UP THE HILL AND STARTED TO PUT THE FOOT DOWN ON GAS TO GET SPEED UP FOR THE UPCOMING STEEP HILL, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND ALL POWER WAS LOST, ENGINE WENT INTO LIMP MODE WITH NO PLACE TO PULL OVER. I HAD TO TRAVEL AT 8MPH, UP THE HILL UNTIL I FOUND A SUITABLE PULL OUT SPOT FOR THE TRUCK AND 30FT TRAILER. I WAS ALMOST WAS REAR ENDED MULTIPLE TIMES EVEN WITH EMERGENCY FLASHERS GOING. THIS HAS HAPPENED 2X, BOTH IN THE EXACT SAME SPOT DOING THE EXACT SAME THING. THE FIRST TIME WAS ONLY A FEW MONTHS AFTER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY RAN OUT IN AND THE DEALER WAS UNWILLING TO DO ANYTHING TO HELP OUT. BUT THEY WERE MORE THAN HAPPY TO CHARGE $100 TO TELL ME IT WOULD COST $4200 TO REPAIR IT, INCLUDING THE SECONDARY $1800 EGC VACUUM PUMP, WHICH ONLY RUNS, AS THE DEALER TOLD ME, 30-45 SECONDS AT START UP, THEN THE PUMP DOES NOTHING. WHY DOES THIS OCCUR AFTER RUNNING 2+ HOURS?? THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED, I WAS TOWING THE SAME TRAILER AT THE EXACT SAME PLACE ENDING UP GOING ONLY 8 MPH UPHILL AGAIN ON THE HIWAY W/60MPH LIMIT!! THIS TIME AT THE ADVICE OF A FRIEND, ONCE OUT OF TRAFFIC. I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY FOR 10 MINUTES, RECONNECTED IT AND THE COMPUTER HAD RESET ITSELF AND THE TRUCK RAN FINE THE LAST 45 MINUTES HOME. I NO LONGER TRAVEL THAT ROAD WITH NO SHOULDER AS I AM AFRAID IT'S GOING TO CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT. TOYOTA IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM IN THE 05-06 MODELS. YET ARE FIXING IT UNDER RECALL ON 07+ MODELS BUT WON'T HELP ANYONE ELSE WITH AN '06 OR OLDER. THIS IS MY 3RD TOYOTA AND LAST. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I HAD 60000 MILES, THE 2ND TIME IT WAS AT 68500 MILES. I ONLY HAVE 87500 ON IT NOW, AT 10 1/2 YEARS OF OWNERSHIP. I AM ACTIVELY LOOKING FOR A TRUCK THAT HAS A COMPANY THAT WILL STAND BEHIND ITS BRAND. I'M DONE WITH TOYOTA. THEY STILL HAVEN'T FIXED MY AIRBAGS EITHER!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/22/2016 - LITTLE GENESEE, NY
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED FOR SEVERAL MONTHS TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE FOR THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT CALLED TWO DEALERS WHO WERE UNABLE TO SUPPLY THE PART WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/19/2016 - HILLSGROVE, PA
THE FRAME IS RUSTING. I CALLED AND WAS TOLD THE NOTICE I RECEIVED WAS FOR AIR BAG ISSUES ACCORDING TO THE DEALER. SO I CALLED CORPORATE AND WAS TOLD THE NOTICE ON MY RUST ISSUES EXPIRED JULY OF 2015. WHAT I DON'T UNDERSTAND IS WHY I RECEIVED THE NOTICE FOR THE AIRBAG BUT NOT THE RUST ISSUE? AND NOW THAT I KNOW ABOUT IT AND WANT TO GET IT RESOLVED THEY WONT DO ANYTHING? I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE A BALL JOINT BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE AND I AM SURPRISED THERE IS NOT A RECALL. THE FRAMES WILL EVENTUALLY RUST APART TIL THE SNAP. ARE WE WAITING FOR A CERTAIN AMOUNT OF PEOPLE TO DIE BEFORE HOLDING THEM ACCOUNTABLE? THIS ISN'T SOME SMALL ISSUE, THIS CAN BE LIFE THREATENING. I MAINTAIN MY VEHICLE VERY WELL. IT GETS ALL THE ROUTINE THINGS DONE AND ONLY A MECHANIC TOUCHES IT, IT IS NEVER WORKED ON AT HOME IN THE GARAGE. I LOVE MY TOYOTA AND I AM VERY SHOCKED THEY HAVEN'T GONE FURTHER TO CORRECT THEIR WRONG. THEY MADE THE MISTAKE AND DIDN'T PROTECT IT NOT ME. I DO EVERYTHING I AM SUPPOSED TO DO TO KEEP MY VEHICLE IN TIP TOP CONDITION SO I AM NOT LEFT STRANDED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/15/2016 - CAMPBELL, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA.THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS) WAS RECEIVED IN OCTOBER OF 2015. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE GIVEN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2016 - KENNER, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SECONDARY AIR INJECTION VALVE AND PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2016 - HINTON, WV
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS), HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/11/2016 - KATY, TX
I PULLED INTO MY FURNITURE STORE AND HAD THE TRUCK IN DRIVE BUT STATIONARY AND WAS GETTING READY TO PUT THE TRUCK IN REVERSE TO PARK INTO MY SPOT. ALL OF A SUDDEN THE TRUCK ACCELERATED LIKE A BAT OUT OF HELL AND I ENDED UP CRASHING INTO THE STORE'S ENTRANCE CAUSING A LOT OF DAMAGE TO BOTH THE VEHICLE AND THE STORE'S BUILDING. IT COULD HAVE BEEN WORSE BECAUSE I ALMOST RAN OVER MY DAUGHTER. I KNOW WHAT HAPPENED. I DID NOT PRESS THE GAS PEDAL BY MISTAKE. THIS IS A TERRIBLE SITUATION. THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN TO ANYONE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/6/2016 - PARKER, CO
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V286000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO PERFORM THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/6/2016 - LOVETTSVILLE, VA
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds