Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 295 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (108) Equipment (2) Power Train (16) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (41) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (37) Visibility (1)
Engine (13) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/20/2016 - UNION, SC
I SCHEDULED A REPAIR AT DAVE EDWARDS TOYOTA. WAS TOLD TO COME IN AT 10AM, AND I COULD PICK UP THE VEHICLE AT 12 NOON. IT IS A 60 MINUTE DRIVE BOTH WAYS, AND I HAD MY WIFE PICK ME UP AND WHEN I RETURNED AT 12 NOON, THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED, AND WAS NOT GIVEN AN EXPLANATION WHY. THE VEHICLE STILL HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/15/2016 - NORTH COLLINS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF AN UNKNOWN VOLUNTARY RECALL FOR CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE RECALL WAS EXPIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/13/2016 - AVON, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT DID NOT RECEIVE A NOTIFICATION OF THE LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN LETTER ADVISING OF A FRAME INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED; HOWEVER, THE LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN ENDED LAST YEAR AND THERE WAS NO REIMBURSEMENT FOR TAKING THE VEHICLE TO A DEALER TO HAVE THE FRAME INSPECTED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

9/2/2016 - OCONOMOWOC, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR ROUTINE SERVICE, THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE SUBFRAME WAS CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 210,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/23/2016 - HICKMAN, NE
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V285000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/10/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
A VERY DISTURBING VIBRATION COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE TRUCK DURING ACCELERATION BETWEEN 30 TO 40 THEN AGAIN FROM 60 TO 70. THE WHOLE TRUCK SHAKES !!! I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER BUT OF COURSE EVERYTHING IS OK BY THEM. NO WHERE TO TURN .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/10/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
A VERY DISTURBING VIBRATION COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE TRUCK DURING ACCELERATION BETWEEN 30 TO 40 THEN AGAIN FROM 60 TO 70. THE WHOLE TRUCK SHAKES !!! I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER BUT OF COURSE EVERYTHING IS OK BY THEM. NO WHERE TO TURN .

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/8/2016 - DANVILLE, WV
I NOTICED PIECES OF RUST FALLING UNDER THE FRONT OF MY TRUCK. WHEN I LOOKED AT THE FRAME WHERE THE MOTOR SETS AND THE FRONT SUSPENSION PARTS I NOTICED SEVERE RUSTING. THE FRONT BRAKE LINES APPEAR AFFECTED ALSO. SOME BOLTS ARE RUSTED THROUGH AND OTHERS APPEAR TO BE CLOSE TO RUSTING THROUGH.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/13/2016 - BURTON, OH
IN 2014 RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE ON MY FRAME I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP CLASSIC TOYOTA OF MENTOR OHIO THEY SAID FRAME NEEDED REPLACED SCHEDULED THEM TO DO ALL WORK THEY SAID IT MAY BE A FEW MONTHS BEFORE THE FRAMES IN SO I SAID OKAY AND WAITED A FEW MONTHS HADN'T HEARD FROM THEM CALL THEM ASK THEM IF IT CAME IN THEY SAID NO I ASKED THEM IF THERE WAS ANYWAY TO CHECK ON IT THEY SAID NO BUT THE WAIT IS NORMAL AND THEY WOULD CALL ME WHEN IT GETS THERE SO I WAITED A COUPLE MORE MONTHS CALLED THEM AGAIN AND THE SAME THING SO I WAITED A COUPLE MORE MONTHS CALL THEM AGAIN AND AGAIN SAME THING SO IN FEBRUARY 2016 I CALLED THEM UP GOT THE SAME RESPONSE BY THIS TIME IT HAD BEEN OVER A YEAR SO I CALLED TOYOTA HEADQUARTERS IN CALIFORNIA AND ASK THEM WHAT WAS GOING ON THEY CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND IT TURNED OUT THE DEALERSHIP NEVER ORDERED THE FRAME I HAVE BEEN GOING BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN THE TWO AND THEY ARE BOTH REFUSING TO DO ANYTHING EVEN THOUGH NOW THERE IS A LARGE RUST HOLE THROUGH THE FRAME AND COMPONENTS ARE RUSTING OUT

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/29/2016 - HUDSON, ME
IT STARTED WITH MY GAS TANK FALLING OFF THE FRAME. MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE TRUCK AT THE TIME THE GAS TANK BAND BROKE THAT HOLDS THE GAS TANK TO THE FRAME. I THEN FOUND A HOLE IN THE FRAME ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE, JUST IN FRONT OF THE SWAY BAR MOUNT, LARGE ENOUGH TO PLACE MY HAND IN TO THE CENTER OF MY PALM. OBVIOUSLY, THIS VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. I THEN CONTACTED MY DEALER THAT I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE FROM, DOWN EAST TOYOTA OF BREWER, ME. THE LADY I SPOKE WITH (LYNN), FROM DOWN EAST TOYOTA OF BREWER, MAINE, WAS CONDESCENDING AND ARROGANT ELUDING THAT THE PROBLEM WAS SOMEHOW MY FAULT. I LEARNED FROM HER THAT APPARENTLY THERE WAS A RECALL FOR RUSTED FRAMES. I DO NOT RECALL GETTING THIS RECALL INFORMATION. BUT LET THAT GO, MY DEALER THAT I BOUGHT THE TRUCK FROM (DOWN EAST TOYOTA IN BREWER, MAINE) HAS TOLD ME THAT I SHOULD FEEL FORTUNATE THAT I GOT 10 YEARS FROM THE TRUCK. SINCE THIS IS AS LONG AS THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO LAST ANYWAYS. MY DEALER (DOWN EAST TOYOTA OF BREWER, MAINE) TOLD ME MY OPTION WAS THAT THEY HAVE A PERSON THAT BUYS USED VEHICLES AND I COULD MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THEM TO SEE WHAT THE JUNK BUYER WOULD GIVE ME FOR MY TRUCK. OR, I COULD PAY TO HAVE THE FRAME REPLACED. GIVEN THE SEVERITY OF THIS KIND OF ISSUE, AND THE SAFETY ISSUES RAISED WITH A DAMAGED FRAME, I WOULD HAVE EXPECTED TO RECEIVE NOTIFICATION THROUGH REGISTERED MAIL OF THE ISSUE. OR AT LEAST, A FOLLOW UP LETTER TO INSURE THE FIRST NOTICE WAS RECEIVED. AS I SAID, I DO NOT REMEMBER GETTING SUCH NOTIFICATION. I HAVE WRITTEN TO TOYOTA AND HAVE HEARD NOTHING BACK AS OF YET.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds