Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 140 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (11) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (8) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Engine (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (26) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (5) Wheels (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

8/13/2014 - TAMPA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT NOTICED A STICKY SUBSTANCE ON THE DASHBOARD NEAR THE AIR BAG ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE TOP COAT WAS MELTING AND EXHIBITED A SHINE, WHICH CAUSED A GLARE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THIS ISSUE OCCURRED TO ALL VEHICLES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2014 - METAIRIE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON RESTARTING, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVEN OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AIR INTAKE SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

WHEELS

8/1/2014 - LITTLETON, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR PRESSURE IN TWO OF THE TIRES WOULD CONSTANTLY DEFLATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT DUE TO THE POROSITY IN THE INTERIOR OF THE WHEELS, AIR WOULD LEAK OUT FROM THE WHEELS CAUSING THE TIRES TO DEFLATE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/17/2014 - ERIE, PA
I BROUGHT THE ABOVE VEHICLE TO SUPERIOR TOYOTA OF ERIE, PA THIS MORNING FOR THE RECALL FOR EXCESSIVE FRAME RUST, SAME REFUSED TO GIVE ME A LOANER CAR WITHOUT ME GIVING THEM A CREDIT CARD, I INFORMED THE CLERK THAT I AM NOT RENTING A CAR FROM YOU - YOU ARE PROVIDING ME A LOANER FOR MY TROUBLE WITH YOUR VEHICLE. I THEN LEFT THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/28/2014 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
DRIVING MY 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA ON APRIL 25 2014, I MADE A LEFT HAND TURN ONTO A FREEWAY ON RAMP , CATASTROPHIC BALL JOINT FAILURE ON THE DRIVERS SIDE CAUSING ME TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND HIT THE EMBANKMENT. MY CAR IS SUPPOSEDLY 10 DAYS OUT OF THE RECALL NOTICE FOR THE FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT AND THE DEALERSHIP IS REFUSING TO HONOR THE RECALL. TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP ESTIMATED $1400 REPAIR BILL. HAD THE BALL JOINT FAILED WHILE I WAS ON THE FREEWAY THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS TRAGEDY. FROM MY RESEARCH BALL JOINT FAILURE IS A KNOWN ISSUE ON 2002-2006 TUNDRAS BUT FOR WHATEVER REASON MY CAR IS 10 DAYS OUTSIDE THE RECALL NOTICE. ..UPDATED 06/27/14

View Details

WHEELS

4/28/2014 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
DRIVING MY 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA ON APRIL 25 2014, I MADE A LEFT HAND TURN ONTO A FREEWAY ON RAMP , CATASTROPHIC BALL JOINT FAILURE ON THE DRIVERS SIDE CAUSING ME TO LOOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND HIT THE EMBANKMENT. MY CAR IS SUPPOSEDLY 10 DAYS OUT OF THE RECALL NOTICE FOR THE FRONT LOWER BALL JOINT AND THE DEALERSHIP IS REFUSING TO HONOR THE RECALL. TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP ESTIMATED $1400 REPAIR BILL. HAD THE BALL JOINT FAILED WHILE I WAS ON THE FREEWAY THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIOUS TRAGEDY. FROM MY RESEARCH BALL JOINT FAILURE IS A KNOWN ISSUE ON 2002-2006 TUNDRAS BUT FOR WHATEVER REASON MY CAR IS 10 DAYS OUTSIDE THE RECALL NOTICE. ..UPDATED 06/27/14

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - TAMPA, FL
THE TRUCK WENT INT0 LIMP MODE" REDUCING POWER AND ACCELERTION.. AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, IN TRAFFIC, OR IN REMOTE PLACES, THIS CREATES A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. ISSUE APPEARS TO BE "AIR INJECTION PUMP" AND/OR RELATED VALVES. THIS IS A WELL-DOCUMENTED ISSUE WITH THE TOYOTA TUNDRA ENCOUNTERED BY OWNERS OF THE 2006 TUNDRA, AND SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN AN EARLIER EXPANDED WARRANTY PROGRAM. REPAIRS ARE HOWEVER OUT OF WARRANTY, ARE POTENTIALLY 3-4 THOUSAND DOLLARS AND SHOULD BE COVERED IN PREVIOUS TOYOTA PROGRAM FOR THE 2007 MODEL YEAR. CONTACTED TOYOTA CUSTOMER SUPPORT TO NO AVAIL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

2/26/2014 - HOLLISTON, MA
TOYOTA RECALLED FOR FRAME RUST. VEHICLE TAKEN APART AND FRAME REPLACED. VIBRATION PRESENT BETWEEN 30 AND 70MPH. VIBRATION GETS EXTREME WHEN NOT UNDER LOAD (IE SLOWING DOWN). HAS BEEN BACK AT DEALER 6 TIMES TO TRY TO IDENTIFY/REPAIR. NO RESOLUTION. TOYOTA CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE DEPARTMENT RECOMMENDED I TAKE RECOURSE. CONTACTED STATE ATTORNEY GENERAL WHO IS TRYING TO MEDIATE A RESOLUTION. AG OFFICE RECOMMENDED I FILE A COMPLAINT WITH NHTSA AS WELL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/26/2014 - HOLLISTON, MA
TOYOTA RECALLED FOR FRAME RUST. VEHICLE TAKEN APART AND FRAME REPLACED. VIBRATION PRESENT BETWEEN 30 AND 70MPH. VIBRATION GETS EXTREME WHEN NOT UNDER LOAD (IE SLOWING DOWN). HAS BEEN BACK AT DEALER 6 TIMES TO TRY TO IDENTIFY/REPAIR. NO RESOLUTION. TOYOTA CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE DEPARTMENT RECOMMENDED I TAKE RECOURSE. CONTACTED STATE ATTORNEY GENERAL WHO IS TRYING TO MEDIATE A RESOLUTION. AG OFFICE RECOMMENDED I FILE A COMPLAINT WITH NHTSA AS WELL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/13/2014 - POOLER, GA
(TOYOTA GOING PLACES) ON WEDNESDAYS FEBRUARY 5, 2014 ABOUT 5:30PM , I WAS DRIVING MY 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA TO WORK. AS I WAS MAKING A RIGHT-HAND TURN ONTO I-95 SOUTH, THE FRONT LEFT-HAND SIDE OF MY TRUCK COLLAPSED. TO MY SURPRISE THE BALL JOINTS HEAD SEPARATED FROM THE SUSPENSION, THE LEFT BOTTOM FRONT SUSPENSION WAS DRAGGING THE HIGHWAY AND THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL WAS NOW STUCK UNDER THE RUNNING BOARD. THIS ACCIDENT ALSO DAMAGED THE LEFT FRONT BUMPER, THE LEFT FRONT FENDER AND THE LEFT FRONT DOOR. NEEDLESS TO SAY I WAS TRAUMATIZED. I SAW NO WARNING THAT THIS ACCIDENT WAS ABOUT TO HAPPEN. I KEPT MY TRUCK IN IMMACULATE CONDITION AND HAD REGULARLY MAINTENANCE DONE AT THIS TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. WE DECIDED TO DO A SEARCH ON THE WEB TO SEE IF ANY RECALLS EXISTED AND THERE IS A RECALL ON THE 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. HOWEVER WHEN I CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE AND PROVIDED MY VIN NUMBER - LOW AND BEHOLD MY TRUCK WAS NOT IN THAT RECALL (MY VIN# MISSED IT BY 15 DAYS). THE TOYOTA REPRESENTATIVE ASKED ME TO TAKE MY TRUCK TO THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND GET A WRITTEN ESTIMATE. AT MY OWN EXPENSE, I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED AND AFTER ABOUT TWO DAYS MY REPAIR EXPENSES WERE DENIED BY TOYOTA. HOWEVER, I WAS OFFERED $750 TOWARD THE PURCHASE OF A NEW TOYOTA FOR BEING A LOYAL CUSTOMER. I PURCHASED THREE NEW VEHICLES FROM THIS TOYOTA DEALERSHIP (2006, 2007, & 2008). AFTER FIGHTING WITH THE DEALERSHIP AND TOYOTA CORPORATE FOR A DAY AND HALF, I WAS ASKED TO MOVE MY TRUCK OUT OF THEIR SHOP. SO AT MY EXPENSE MY 2006 TUNDRA WAS TOWED BACK TO MY HOUSE (TOYOTA GOING PLACES). WITHOUT EXAGGERATION, A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE GOING TO GET HURT IF FATALITIES DO NOT OCCUR DUE TO THIS DEFECT. TOYOTA NEED ANOTHER RECALL. TOYOTA GOING PLACES - IF THE BALL JOINTS DON'T FALL OUT SINCERELY YOURS, 06 TOYOTA TUNDRA OWNER

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds