Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 315 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (114) Equipment (2) Power Train (16) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (46) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (41) Visibility (1)
Engine (14) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (7) Wheels (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/7/2017 - SHARON, WI
TRUCK HAD FRONT GAS TANK STRAP RUST OUT. WENT TO DEALER FOR REPAIR. WAS TOLD REPAIR COULDN'T BE COMPLETED BECAUSE FRAME HAD RUSTED OUT IN THAT AREA. 2014 TOYOTA HAD A RUST CAMPAIGN AND DEALER APPLIED CORROSION RUST COATING. FRAME STILL RUSTED! WAS INFORMED BY DEALER UNSAFE TO DRIVE. RECALLS ON ALL OTHER YEARS EXCEPT 2006. TRUCK SITS IN DRIVEWAY BASICALLY IS A PILE OF SCRAP. CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE RECEIVED CASE #. CASE MANAGER TOLD ME SORRY CANNOT HELP THE RUST COATING WAS A ONE TIME FIX. SO NOW AM STUCK WITH A TRUCK UNSAFE TO DRIVE. !!!!THANKS TOYOTA!!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/2/2017 - HASTINGS, NY
I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM TOYOTA TELLING ME I NEEDED TO HAVE MY FRAME INSPECTED AT THE DEALERSHIP IN 2014. I DID THIS AND THE DEALERSHIP SAID MY FRAME WAS FINE. LESS THAN 2 YEARS LATER MY MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT MY FRAME WAS NOT FINE AND URGED ME TO CONTACT THE DEALER OR TOYOTA CORPORATE DIRECTLY. I DID SO BUT THEY SAID THAT THE RECALL THAT HAD BEEN PLACED ON THE FRAMES HAD EXPIRED. I RECENTLY HAD SOME BRAKE WORK DONE ON THE TRUCK AFTER MY BRAKE LINES BURST. THE SAME MECHANIC INFORMED ME THAT THE FRAME WAS SO BAD THAT HE DID NOT THINK IT WOULD PASS INSPECTION. I ONCE AGAIN CONTACTED TOYOTA DIRECTLY AND THEY SAID THEIR WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. MY TRUCK IS CURRENTLY HAVING THE FRAME ANALYZED BY A THIRD PARTY IN HOPES REPAIRS CAN BE MADE SO THAT I DO NOT HAVE TO BUY A NEW TRUCK. THE TRUCK HAS 112000 AND I INTENDED TO PUT MANY MORE MILES ON IT THAN THAT. ALSO RELATED TO THE METAL USED UNDER THAT TRUCK, IN 2014 THE REAR PUMPKIN RUSTED ALL THE WAY THROUGH AND I NEEDED TO HAVE A NEW REAR SUSPENSION PUT IN. FURTHERMORE, I TOOK ADVANTAGE OF ZIEBART UNDERCOATING THAT THE DEALER WAS ADVERTISING WHERE FOR THE FIRST 6 YEARS I OWNED THE TRUCK, 2008-2014, I HAD IT UNDERCOATED ONCE EVERY YEAR. THE FACT THAT IT HAD BEEN PROTECTED WITH THE UNDERCOATING THE FIRST 6 YEARS I HAD IT AND THEN 2 YEARS LATER WAS RUSTED THROUGH IS AN INDICATION TO ME THAT THEIR IS SOME SORT OF MANUFACTURES DEFECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2017 - RUSSELL, OH
MY TOYOTA TUNDRA WAS PART OF A TOYOTA +LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN+ REGARDING CORROSION OF THE VEHICLE+S FRAME. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR INSPECTION WHICH RESULTED IN THEM CLEANING AND SPRAYING SOMETHING ON THE FRAME ON 5/9/14 WITH 89,820 MILES ON THE VEHICLE. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TRADE THE VEHICLE IN ON 4/19/17 WITH APPROXIMATELY 109,000 MILES ON IT, IT WAS DETERMINED THERE IS A HOLE IN THE FRAME WHERE THE FRONT STABILIZER ATTACHES TO FRAME. NOT ONLY IS THERE A HOLE IN FRAME BUT THE STABILIZER IS NO LONGER ATTACHED. I CONTACTED TOYOTA AND THEY SAID THEY HAVE NO RESPONSIBILITY REGARDING THIS ISSUE. I HAVE HAD OTHER ISSUES REGARDING CORROSION ON THIS VEHICLE AND EACH PUT MY PERSONAL SAFETY AT RISK. ANOTHER EXAMPLE HAPPENED AROUND SEPTEMBER OF 2015 WITH 94,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE WHEN I DISCOVERED THE FUEL TANK WAS HANGING DOWN AND ALMOST TOUCHING THE GROUND. TURNED OUT THE MOUNTING STRAPS HAD RUSTED THROUGH. I NOTICED IT AFTER HAVING JUST DRIVEN TO A LOCAL BUSINESS. HAD I NOT NOTICED IT, THE TANK COULD HAVE HIT THE ROAD WHILE I WAS DRIVING CAUGHT FIRE BEFORE I COULD HAVE STOPPED. I CONTACTED TOYOTA AND THEY SAID THEY HAD NO RESPONSIBILITY REGARDING THIS ISSUE. I HAVE ALSO HAD BRAKE LINES RUST THROUGH CAUSING ME TO LOOSE MOST OF MY BRAKING WHEN DRIVING ON A LOCAL STREET AND JUST BARELY BEING ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. I HAVE BEEN THE ONLY OWNER OF THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE TAKING GOOD CARE OF IT INCLUDING WASHING DURING THE WINTER MONTHS. AT WHAT POINT IS TOYOTA RESPONSIBLE FOR INSURING THE VEHICLES REMAIN SAFE THROUGHOUT THEIR NORMAL LIFETIME. A FRAME SHOULD NOT RUST THROUGH WITH ONLY 109,000 MILES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/12/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
4/12/17 I CALLED TO SCHEDULE REPLACEMENT OF MY RECALLED AIR BAG VIN:6S457928 TOYOTA TUNDRA 2006 MGR. NANCY (TOYOTA DEALERSHIP SOUTH BLVD. CHARLOTTE) REFUSED TO SCHEDULE APPOINTMENT WITH OUT ME PROVIDING MY PHONE NUMBER. SHE WOULD EVEN LET ME TALK TO HER MGR. TOD GRUB OR LEAVE MESSAGE FOR HIM. SHE WAS PLAIN RUDE SO I ASKED HER TO GIVE ME SOMETHING IN WRITING "REFUSAL TO REPLACE AIR BAG DUE TO CUSTOMER UNWILLINGNESS TO RELEASE PHONE NUMBER" SHE REFUSED THAT TOO. I TRIED TO EDUCATE MGR NANCY THAT ALL YOU NEED AND ALL YOU CAN GET IN THIS SITUATION IS MY TITLE AND MY ID. I HOPE THAT YOU SEE AND ADDRESS THE ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT AND RISK THEY KEEP US IN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/10/2017 - CARMICHAEL, CA
I HAVE BEEN TRYING FOR A YEAR TO HAVE THE AIR BAGS REPLACED UNDER THE RECALL WITH MAITA TOYOTA AND FOLSOM LAKE TOYOTA DEALERSHIPS IN CALIFORNIA. I JUST GOT OFF THE PHONE AND THEY PARTS COULD STILL TAKE A YEAR TO COME IN. THIS IS NONSENSE. WHY ARE THEY ALLOWED TO NOT HAVE THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPLACE A DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT IS THEIR FAULT. WHY DO I HAVE TO ASSUME THE RISK OF HAVING MY FACE BLOWN OFF BECAUSE THEY DON'T WANT TO SPEND THE MONEY TO MAKE THINGS RIGHT. AS USUAL THE CORPORATIONS GET AWAY WITH MURDER WHILE THE INDIVIDUALS PAY THE PRICE. THE DEALERSHIPS NEED TO BE MADE TO MAKE THINGS RIGHT AND GET THESE SAFETY RECALLS TAKEN CARE OF.

View Details

STEERING

4/3/2017 - WELLSVILLE, KS
THIS STARTED 1/7/2017 COMING HOME FROM WORK BACK GRAVEL ROAD HEATER WOULD NOT WORK NOTICED HEAT GAUGE WENT ALL THE WAY UP THEN CAME DOWN TO NORMAL WORKED OK FOR A WHILE DID IT AGAIN. DRIVE HOME APPROX. 10 MILES DID NOT GET HOT BUT TEMPERATURE GAUGE REGISTERED HOT SLOWLY DROVE HOME PUT WATER IN AFTER COOLED OFF. HAD TO LEAVE AT HOME TILL I MADE APPOINTMENT TO BRING IN. DID NOT BRING TO DEALER WHICH IS 40 MILES AWAY DROVE 8 MILES SLOWLY TO MECHANIC. HE REPLACED RADIATOR, FILLED WITH NEW COOLANT MILEAGE 91003. DID NOT MESS UP UNTIL 2/27/2017 SAME ROAD REGISTERED HOT DROVE HOME SHUT OFF ADDED WATER, HAD TO SIT FOR A FEW DAYS TILL OPENING FOR APPOINTMENT. HE DID NOT FIX HE CHECKED OUT FOUND 2 LEAKS ONE DEALING WITH TRANSMISSION AND THE OTHER DEALING WITH STEERING OR BALL JOINTS. HE IS CONCERNED BECAUSE IT RAN OUT OF FLUID EVEN THOU I FILLED UP ASAP. NEVER HAD A PROBLEM BEFORE. THIS IS WHAT HE SAYS POSSIBLE HEAD GASKET LEAK NEAR STEERING RACK. AND BETWEEN ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION POSSIBLE FRONT SEAL. ALSO I WILL BE CALLING THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW IN OLATHE, KANSAS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/3/2017 - WELLSVILLE, KS
THIS STARTED 1/7/2017 COMING HOME FROM WORK BACK GRAVEL ROAD HEATER WOULD NOT WORK NOTICED HEAT GAUGE WENT ALL THE WAY UP THEN CAME DOWN TO NORMAL WORKED OK FOR A WHILE DID IT AGAIN. DRIVE HOME APPROX. 10 MILES DID NOT GET HOT BUT TEMPERATURE GAUGE REGISTERED HOT SLOWLY DROVE HOME PUT WATER IN AFTER COOLED OFF. HAD TO LEAVE AT HOME TILL I MADE APPOINTMENT TO BRING IN. DID NOT BRING TO DEALER WHICH IS 40 MILES AWAY DROVE 8 MILES SLOWLY TO MECHANIC. HE REPLACED RADIATOR, FILLED WITH NEW COOLANT MILEAGE 91003. DID NOT MESS UP UNTIL 2/27/2017 SAME ROAD REGISTERED HOT DROVE HOME SHUT OFF ADDED WATER, HAD TO SIT FOR A FEW DAYS TILL OPENING FOR APPOINTMENT. HE DID NOT FIX HE CHECKED OUT FOUND 2 LEAKS ONE DEALING WITH TRANSMISSION AND THE OTHER DEALING WITH STEERING OR BALL JOINTS. HE IS CONCERNED BECAUSE IT RAN OUT OF FLUID EVEN THOU I FILLED UP ASAP. NEVER HAD A PROBLEM BEFORE. THIS IS WHAT HE SAYS POSSIBLE HEAD GASKET LEAK NEAR STEERING RACK. AND BETWEEN ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION POSSIBLE FRONT SEAL. ALSO I WILL BE CALLING THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW IN OLATHE, KANSAS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2017 - WELLSVILLE, KS
THIS STARTED 1/7/2017 COMING HOME FROM WORK BACK GRAVEL ROAD HEATER WOULD NOT WORK NOTICED HEAT GAUGE WENT ALL THE WAY UP THEN CAME DOWN TO NORMAL WORKED OK FOR A WHILE DID IT AGAIN. DRIVE HOME APPROX. 10 MILES DID NOT GET HOT BUT TEMPERATURE GAUGE REGISTERED HOT SLOWLY DROVE HOME PUT WATER IN AFTER COOLED OFF. HAD TO LEAVE AT HOME TILL I MADE APPOINTMENT TO BRING IN. DID NOT BRING TO DEALER WHICH IS 40 MILES AWAY DROVE 8 MILES SLOWLY TO MECHANIC. HE REPLACED RADIATOR, FILLED WITH NEW COOLANT MILEAGE 91003. DID NOT MESS UP UNTIL 2/27/2017 SAME ROAD REGISTERED HOT DROVE HOME SHUT OFF ADDED WATER, HAD TO SIT FOR A FEW DAYS TILL OPENING FOR APPOINTMENT. HE DID NOT FIX HE CHECKED OUT FOUND 2 LEAKS ONE DEALING WITH TRANSMISSION AND THE OTHER DEALING WITH STEERING OR BALL JOINTS. HE IS CONCERNED BECAUSE IT RAN OUT OF FLUID EVEN THOU I FILLED UP ASAP. NEVER HAD A PROBLEM BEFORE. THIS IS WHAT HE SAYS POSSIBLE HEAD GASKET LEAK NEAR STEERING RACK. AND BETWEEN ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION POSSIBLE FRONT SEAL. ALSO I WILL BE CALLING THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW IN OLATHE, KANSAS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/27/2017 - SAINT REGIS, MT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHILE DRIVING 2 MPH, THE BALL JOINT SUSPENSION FRACTURED AND DAMAGED THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 216,374.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/6/2017 - PORT HENEME, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V065000 (AIR BAGS) AND 15V285000 (AIR BAGS). THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds