Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

There are 135 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (11) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (8) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Engine (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (25) Visibility (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (5) Wheels (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - TAMPA, FL
THE TRUCK WENT INT0 LIMP MODE" REDUCING POWER AND ACCELERTION.. AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, IN TRAFFIC, OR IN REMOTE PLACES, THIS CREATES A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. ISSUE APPEARS TO BE "AIR INJECTION PUMP" AND/OR RELATED VALVES. THIS IS A WELL-DOCUMENTED ISSUE WITH THE TOYOTA TUNDRA ENCOUNTERED BY OWNERS OF THE 2006 TUNDRA, AND SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN AN EARLIER EXPANDED WARRANTY PROGRAM. REPAIRS ARE HOWEVER OUT OF WARRANTY, ARE POTENTIALLY 3-4 THOUSAND DOLLARS AND SHOULD BE COVERED IN PREVIOUS TOYOTA PROGRAM FOR THE 2007 MODEL YEAR. CONTACTED TOYOTA CUSTOMER SUPPORT TO NO AVAIL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/26/2014 - HOLLISTON, MA
TOYOTA RECALLED FOR FRAME RUST. VEHICLE TAKEN APART AND FRAME REPLACED. VIBRATION PRESENT PRESENT BETWEEN 30 AND 70MPH. VIBRATION GETS EXTREME WHEN NOT UNDER LOAD (IE SLOWING DOWN). HAS BEEN BACK AT DEALER 6 TIMES TO TRY TO IDENTIFY/REPAIR. NO RESOLUTION. TOYOTA CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE DEPARTMENT RECOMMENDED I TAKE RECOURSE. CONTACTED STATE ATTORNEY GENERAL WHO IS TRYING TO MEDIATE A RESOLUTION. AG OFFICE RECOMMENDED I FILE A COMPLAINT WITH NHSTA AS WELL.

View Details

WHEELS

2/13/2014 - POOLER, GA
(TOYOTA GOING PLACES) ON WEDNESDAYS FEBRUARY 5, 2014 ABOUT 5:30PM , I WAS DRIVING MY 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA TO WORK. AS I WAS MAKING A RIGHT-HAND TURN ONTO I-95 SOUTH, THE FRONT LEFT-HAND SIDE OF MY TRUCK COLLAPSED. TO MY SURPRISE THE BALL JOINTS HEAD SEPARATED FROM THE SUSPENSION, THE LEFT BOTTOM FRONT SUSPENSION WAS DRAGGING THE HIGHWAY AND THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL WAS NOW STUCK UNDER THE RUNNING BOARD. THIS ACCIDENT ALSO DAMAGED THE LEFT FRONT BUMPER, THE LEFT FRONT FENDER AND THE LEFT FRONT DOOR. NEEDLESS TO SAY I WAS TRAUMATIZED. I SAW NO WARNING THAT THIS ACCIDENT WAS ABOUT TO HAPPEN. I KEPT MY TRUCK IN IMMACULATE CONDITION AND HAD REGULARLY MAINTENANCE DONE AT THIS TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. WE DECIDED TO DO A SEARCH ON THE WEB TO SEE IF ANY RECALLS EXISTED AND THERE IS A RECALL ON THE 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. HOWEVER WHEN I CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE AND PROVIDED MY VIN NUMBER - LOW AND BEHOLD MY TRUCK WAS NOT IN THAT RECALL (MY VIN# MISSED IT BY 15 DAYS). THE TOYOTA REPRESENTATIVE ASKED ME TO TAKE MY TRUCK TO THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND GET A WRITTEN ESTIMATE. AT MY OWN EXPENSE, I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED AND AFTER ABOUT TWO DAYS MY REPAIR EXPENSES WERE DENIED BY TOYOTA. HOWEVER, I WAS OFFERED $750 TOWARD THE PURCHASE OF A NEW TOYOTA FOR BEING A LOYAL CUSTOMER. I PURCHASED THREE NEW VEHICLES FROM THIS TOYOTA DEALERSHIP (2006, 2007, & 2008). AFTER FIGHTING WITH THE DEALERSHIP AND TOYOTA CORPORATE FOR A DAY AND HALF, I WAS ASKED TO MOVE MY TRUCK OUT OF THEIR SHOP. SO AT MY EXPENSE MY 2006 TUNDRA WAS TOWED BACK TO MY HOUSE (TOYOTA GOING PLACES). WITHOUT EXAGGERATION, A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE GOING TO GET HURT IF FATALITIES DO NOT OCCUR DUE TO THIS DEFECT. TOYOTA NEED ANOTHER RECALL. TOYOTA GOING PLACES - IF THE BALL JOINTS DON'T FALL OUT SINCERELY YOURS, 06 TOYOTA TUNDRA OWNER

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/13/2014 - POOLER, GA
(TOYOTA GOING PLACES) ON WEDNESDAYS FEBRUARY 5, 2014 ABOUT 5:30PM , I WAS DRIVING MY 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA TO WORK. AS I WAS MAKING A RIGHT-HAND TURN ONTO I-95 SOUTH, THE FRONT LEFT-HAND SIDE OF MY TRUCK COLLAPSED. TO MY SURPRISE THE BALL JOINTS HEAD SEPARATED FROM THE SUSPENSION, THE LEFT BOTTOM FRONT SUSPENSION WAS DRAGGING THE HIGHWAY AND THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL WAS NOW STUCK UNDER THE RUNNING BOARD. THIS ACCIDENT ALSO DAMAGED THE LEFT FRONT BUMPER, THE LEFT FRONT FENDER AND THE LEFT FRONT DOOR. NEEDLESS TO SAY I WAS TRAUMATIZED. I SAW NO WARNING THAT THIS ACCIDENT WAS ABOUT TO HAPPEN. I KEPT MY TRUCK IN IMMACULATE CONDITION AND HAD REGULARLY MAINTENANCE DONE AT THIS TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. WE DECIDED TO DO A SEARCH ON THE WEB TO SEE IF ANY RECALLS EXISTED AND THERE IS A RECALL ON THE 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. HOWEVER WHEN I CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE AND PROVIDED MY VIN NUMBER - LOW AND BEHOLD MY TRUCK WAS NOT IN THAT RECALL (MY VIN# MISSED IT BY 15 DAYS). THE TOYOTA REPRESENTATIVE ASKED ME TO TAKE MY TRUCK TO THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND GET A WRITTEN ESTIMATE. AT MY OWN EXPENSE, I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED AND AFTER ABOUT TWO DAYS MY REPAIR EXPENSES WERE DENIED BY TOYOTA. HOWEVER, I WAS OFFERED $750 TOWARD THE PURCHASE OF A NEW TOYOTA FOR BEING A LOYAL CUSTOMER. I PURCHASED THREE NEW VEHICLES FROM THIS TOYOTA DEALERSHIP (2006, 2007, & 2008). AFTER FIGHTING WITH THE DEALERSHIP AND TOYOTA CORPORATE FOR A DAY AND HALF, I WAS ASKED TO MOVE MY TRUCK OUT OF THEIR SHOP. SO AT MY EXPENSE MY 2006 TUNDRA WAS TOWED BACK TO MY HOUSE (TOYOTA GOING PLACES). WITHOUT EXAGGERATION, A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE GOING TO GET HURT IF FATALITIES DO NOT OCCUR DUE TO THIS DEFECT. TOYOTA NEED ANOTHER RECALL. TOYOTA GOING PLACES - IF THE BALL JOINTS DON'T FALL OUT SINCERELY YOURS, 06 TOYOTA TUNDRA OWNER

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/13/2014 - POOLER, GA
(TOYOTA GOING PLACES) ON WEDNESDAYS FEBRUARY 5, 2014 ABOUT 5:30PM , I WAS DRIVING MY 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA TO WORK. AS I WAS MAKING A RIGHT-HAND TURN ONTO I-95 SOUTH, THE FRONT LEFT-HAND SIDE OF MY TRUCK COLLAPSED. TO MY SURPRISE THE BALL JOINTS HEAD SEPARATED FROM THE SUSPENSION, THE LEFT BOTTOM FRONT SUSPENSION WAS DRAGGING THE HIGHWAY AND THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL WAS NOW STUCK UNDER THE RUNNING BOARD. THIS ACCIDENT ALSO DAMAGED THE LEFT FRONT BUMPER, THE LEFT FRONT FENDER AND THE LEFT FRONT DOOR. NEEDLESS TO SAY I WAS TRAUMATIZED. I SAW NO WARNING THAT THIS ACCIDENT WAS ABOUT TO HAPPEN. I KEPT MY TRUCK IN IMMACULATE CONDITION AND HAD REGULARLY MAINTENANCE DONE AT THIS TOYOTA DEALERSHIP. WE DECIDED TO DO A SEARCH ON THE WEB TO SEE IF ANY RECALLS EXISTED AND THERE IS A RECALL ON THE 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE. HOWEVER WHEN I CALLED TOYOTA CORPORATE AND PROVIDED MY VIN NUMBER - LOW AND BEHOLD MY TRUCK WAS NOT IN THAT RECALL (MY VIN# MISSED IT BY 15 DAYS). THE TOYOTA REPRESENTATIVE ASKED ME TO TAKE MY TRUCK TO THE LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP AND GET A WRITTEN ESTIMATE. AT MY OWN EXPENSE, I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED AND AFTER ABOUT TWO DAYS MY REPAIR EXPENSES WERE DENIED BY TOYOTA. HOWEVER, I WAS OFFERED $750 TOWARD THE PURCHASE OF A NEW TOYOTA FOR BEING A LOYAL CUSTOMER. I PURCHASED THREE NEW VEHICLES FROM THIS TOYOTA DEALERSHIP (2006, 2007, & 2008). AFTER FIGHTING WITH THE DEALERSHIP AND TOYOTA CORPORATE FOR A DAY AND HALF, I WAS ASKED TO MOVE MY TRUCK OUT OF THEIR SHOP. SO AT MY EXPENSE MY 2006 TUNDRA WAS TOWED BACK TO MY HOUSE (TOYOTA GOING PLACES). WITHOUT EXAGGERATION, A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE GOING TO GET HURT IF FATALITIES DO NOT OCCUR DUE TO THIS DEFECT. TOYOTA NEED ANOTHER RECALL. TOYOTA GOING PLACES - IF THE BALL JOINTS DON'T FALL OUT SINCERELY YOURS, 06 TOYOTA TUNDRA OWNER

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/7/2014 - ROBBINSVILLE, NC
MY 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA IS EXPERIENCING EXTREME CORROSION OF THE REAR AXLE ASSEMBLY AND SKID PANS. I'VE HAD A MECHANIC INSPECT THE DAMAGE AND HE CONCURRED THAT THE RUST IS FAR WORSE THAN WOULD BE EXPECTED FOR A VEHICLE OF THIS AGE. THE METAL IS PITTED AND FLAKES OF RUST ARE FALLING OFF OF THE REAR AXLE HOUSING. I CONTACTED A LOCAL TOYOTA DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT INSPECTED BUT THEY WOULD NOT EVEN LOOK AT THE VEHICLE BECAUSE IT IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY. FAILURE OF THE REAR AXLE HOUSING POSES A CONSIDERABLE SAFETY RISK. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE WITH 40,000 MILES ON IT AND I LIVE IN AN AREA WHERE SALTS ARE USED LIBERALLY DURING THE WINTER. I'VE GONE TO GREAT LENGTHS TO WASH SALTS OFF MY TRUCK AS SOON AS POSSIBLE, YET THE RUST CONTINUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/11/2013 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
REPETITIVE GROWLING/WHIRRING SOUND WITH VIBRATION AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AT THE FRONT DRIVERS SIDE OF VEHICLE. TAKEN TO DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. NO PROBLEMS FOUND OR NOTED. TAKEN BACK TO DEALER - SAME SYMPTOMS DIAGNOSED AS BAD FRONT DIFFERENTIAL IN NEED OF REBUILDING/REPLACEMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/25/2013 - MORGAN HILL, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, HE CRASHED INTO A LIGHT POST ATTEMPTING TO AVOID ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE CHEST. THE POLICE REPORTED TO THE SCENE AND A REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/24/2013 - GAYSVILLE, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, A LOUD FLAPPING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR EXTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT LATER NOTICED THAT ONE OF THE TWO FUEL TANK STRAPS WAS FRACTURED AND CAUSING THE FUEL TANK TO PARTIALLY DETACH FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE BOTH FUEL TANK STRAPS WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 122,000. UPDATED 11/5/13

View Details

WHEELS

10/21/2013 - UNION, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE PASSENGER'S SIDE FRONT WHEEL BECAME DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE AND CAUSED IT TO ROLL OVER, CRASHING INTO AN EMBANKMENT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 188,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds