Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA TUNDRA - 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 335 complaints filed for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (118) Equipment (2) Power Train (16) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (58) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (42) Visibility (1)
Engine (14) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Tires (7) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Gasoline (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/2/2017 - EASTHAM, MA
THE 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA HAD A RECALL ON THE FRAME BECAUSE THE FRAMES WERE COMPROMISED DUE TO EXCESSIVE RUST. I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO ORLEANS TOYOTA AND HAD THE FRAME INSPECTED. THEY SAID THE FRAME WAS NOT RUSTED THAT BAD AND IT COULD BE TREATED, WHICH WAS PART OF THE CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT COMPROMISE. NOW MY FRAME HAS RUSTED THROUGH AND THE VEHICLE IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. HOW DID THE DEALERSHIP PROPERLY INSPECT A ENCLOSED BOX FRAME? HOW DO YOU TREAT A FRAME MADE OUT OF INFERIOR METAL AND CORRECT THE ISSUE? THE TREATMENT DID NOT CORRECT THE ISSUE. MY VEHICLE HAS BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE EVEN AFTER THE RECALL. I LIVE IN NEW ENGLAND AND KNOW THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THE TOYOTA TUNDRAS AT THIS TIME. I TOOK MY VEHICLE BACK IN TO ORLEANS TOYOTA AND HAD THEM INSPECT THE FRAME. THEY TOOK A PICTURE OF WHERE THE FRAME HAS RUSTED THROUGH AND SENT IT TO TOYOTA. TOYOTA HAS NOT RESPONDED IN THE LAST COUPLE MONTHS. MANY OF THE VEHICLES THAT HAD THE FRAMES TREATED ARE,OR ARE BECOMING UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/28/2017 - RANCHO CORDOVA, CA
TAKATA RECALL I HAVE BEEN NOTIFIED MULTIPLE TIMES BY PHYSICAL USPS MAILER THAT MY CAR NEEDS TO HAVE THE INFLATOR REPLACED FOR THE AIR BAGS. I FOLLOWED THE PROCESS 3 DIFFERENT TIMES AT WHICH POINT I WOULD BE PUT IN CONTACT WITH FOLSOM LAKE TOYOTA VIA TELEPHONE. EVERY TIME THEY STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED TO BE ORDERED SO THEY WOULD CALL ME BACK ON MY CELLPHONE TO SCHEDULE THE INSTALL WHEN THE PART ARRIVED. YEARS HAVE GONE BY AND THEY STILL NEVER CALL ME BACK, AND CLAIM THE PART NEEDS TO BE ORDERED EVERY TIME I DO TALK TO SOMEONE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/25/2017 - TEHACHAPI, CA
"TAKATA INFLATOR RECALL" TOYOTA DEALERS HAVE NOT REPLACED THE RECALLED INFLATORS ON MY VEHICLE. THIS PUTS US IN DANGER OF AFOREMENTIONED AIR BAG INFLATOR, CAUSING A DANGEROUS INJURY. WE NEED ASSISTANCE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/25/2017 - TEHACHAPI, CA
"TAKATA INFLATOR RECALL" TOYOTA DEALERS HAVE NOT REPLACED THE RECALLED INFLATORS ON MY VEHICLE. THIS PUTS US IN DANGER OF AFOREMENTIONED AIR BAG INFLATOR, CAUSING A DANGEROUS INJURY. WE NEED ASSISTANCE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/17/2017 - COLONIA, NJ
EARLIER IN THE YEAR OF 2017, A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST TOYOTA (BRIAN WARNER ET AL. V. TOYOTA MOTOR SALES) WAS SETTLED REGARDING FRAME RUST AND CORROSION. THIS LAWSUIT LED TO THE RECALL OF ALL 2005-2010 TACOMAS, 2007-2008 TUNDRAS, AND 2005-2008 SEQUOIAS. BEING THAT THE SEQUOIAS ARE BASED OFF OF THE TUNDRA IT IS INTERESTING THAT THE RESPECTIVE YEARS OF TUNDRAS WERE NOT INCLUDED WITH THE SEQUOIAS. THE ARGUMENT FOR THE CASE WAS THAT THERE WAS NOT ANY RUST PROTECTANT PUT ONTO THESE FRAMES AND THEREFORE THEY WERE ROTTING PREMATURELY AND CAUSING SERIOUS DANGER TO THE PEOPLE WHO DRIVE THEM. I HAVE EVEN READ STORIES OF TRUCKS SNAPPING IN HALF UNDER THEIR OWN WEIGHT WHEN BEING PUT ONTO A LIFT. I AM THE OWNER OF A 2006 TUNDRA AND AM EXPERIENCING THIS EXACT SAME PROBLEM BUT AM NOT COVERED UNDER THIS RECALL. ONE OF THE RACK AND PINION MOUNTS THAT ARE WELDED ONTO THE FRONTMOST CROSSMEMBER OF THE FRAME IS 2/3 ROTTED AWAY AND IS ALMOST TO THE POINT WHERE IT WILL BREAK OFF LEADING TO AN UNSAFE VEHICLE AND POTENTIALLY DEADLY ACCIDENT. THIS IS THE REASON TOYOTA LOST THIS LAWSUIT AND WHY OTHER VEHICLES WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM HAVE BEEN RECALLED. TOYOTA ALSO RECOGNIZED THIS ISSUE IN 2015 WITH A LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN WHICH EXPIRED AND OFFERED NO WARRANTY ENHANCEMENT FOR IT. I RECENTLY VISITED A TOYOTA DEALERSHIP WHO WENT UNDER THE VEHICLES AND CLAIMED THAT THE ROT IS SO BAD UNDERNEATH MY TRUCK THAT THEY WOULD REPLACE THE FRAME ENTIRELY IF IT HAD BEEN RECALLED. THEY ALSO GAVE ME DOCUMENTATION OF THIS. ESSENTIALLY MY FRAME IS BEYOND REPAIR AND POTENTIALLY DEADLY BECAUSE OF THE NEGLIGENCE OF THE TOYOTA MOTOR COMPANY. I THEN CONTACTED THE TOYOTA CORPORATE NUMBER AND WAS GIVEN A CASE NUMBER BUT THEY REFUSE TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. IF THE 2006 SEQUOIA WAS INCLUDED WHICH IS BASED OFF OF THE TUNDRA, AND HAS THE EXACT SAME FRAME, WHY WASN'T THE TUNDRA INCLUDED WITH THIS RECALL?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/28/2017 - WATERBURY, CT
FRAME IS ROTTING OUT

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/19/2017 - MAUMELLE, AR
FRAME RUST - I AM EXPERIENCING MAJOR FRAME RUST ON MY VEHICLE. IT EFFECTS 90% OF THE FRAME, THE BRAKE LINES, CONTROL ARMS AND EVEN THE ALIGNMENT COMPONENTS. MOST RECENTLY MY ALIGNMENT COMPONENTS SEIZED UP WITH RUST AND NOW THE VEHICLE CAN NOT BE PROPERLY ALIGNED WITH OUT REPLACEMENT OF THOSE COMPONENTS. THIS HAS CAUSE ABNORMAL TIRE WEAR. TOYOTA HAS RECALLED 2000-2003 TUNDRA FRAMES. ALSO TOYOTA HAS NOW HAVE BEEN SUED FOR THE 2005-2007 SEQUOIA FRAMES & AND 2007-2008 TUNDRAS. MY VEHICLE NEEDS A RECALL AS WELL!!! THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/12/2017 - PHILLIPSBURG, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED FOR BRAKE WORK WHEN IT WAS OBSERVED THAT THERE WAS CORROSION ON THE FRAME. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO KOCH 33 TOYOTA (3816 HECKTOWN RD, EASTON, PA, 18045) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS FRAME CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BACK IN 2013 DUE TO SB-10058681-4896 FOR THE FRAME. AT THE TIME, THE VEHICLE WAS SPRAYED WITH AN UNDERCOATING. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT DUE TO THE LIMITED SERVICE CAMPAIGN EXPIRING IN 2015, NOTHING COULD BE DONE. THE MANUFACTURER CONFIRMED THAT THE LIMITED SERVICED CAMPAIGND EXPIRED, BUT NO ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED EXCEPT REFERRING THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,079.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/6/2017 - MARYVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. WHEN THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE, IT WAS OBSERVED THAT THERE WAS CORROSION ALONG THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT CROSS MEMBER MOUNT OF THE TRANSMISSION, WHERE IT CONNECTED TO THE FRAME AND DRIVER SIDE FRAME RAIL (ROT) OF THE SQUARE CHANNEL. THE DEALER (PREMIER AUTOMOTIVE GROUP, 1140 MAIN ST, MILFORD, OH, 45150) WAS CONTACTED AT 513-831-7200 AND MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT AWAITED A RESPONSE/CALL BACK FROM THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 1710042512. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE FAILURE, AND THAT THERE WAS ONLY A TSB FOR CORROSIVE RESISTANT COATING THAT WAS APPLIED. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT OFFER ANY ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE AND CLOSED THE CASE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 96,710.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/2/2017 - ASHEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 TOYOTA TUNDRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRAME WAS RUSTED WITH HOLES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT CALLED A LOCAL DEALER (FRED ANDERSON TOYOTA IN ASHEVILLE, 777 BREVARD RD, ASHEVILLE NC, 28806). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 164,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds