Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE - 2006 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VOLKSWAGEN

There are 116 complaints filed for the 2006 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (10) Power Train (46) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (5) Structure (7) Visibility (9)
Engine (6) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seats (3) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2018 - STATESVILLE, NC
I HAVE A 2006 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE CONVERTIBLE THAT I BOUGHT ABOUT A YEAR AGO.THE BEETLE IS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION AND HAS EXTREMELY LOW MILES. IT HAS BEEN WELL TAKEN CARE OF TO SAY THE LEAST. HOWEVER, I HAVE NOTICED A VERY STRONG ODOR THAT SMELLS LIKE CRAYONS. THE ODOR IS SO STRONG THAT MY HAIR, CLOTHES AND SKIN SMELLS LIKE THIS SCENT. I HAVE A SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD AND HE COUGHS AND SNEEZES THE WHOLE TIME WHILE RIDING. NOT TO MENTION BOTH OF US GET HORRIFIC HEADACHES AND OUR EYES WATER FROM THE ODOR. I HAVE NO IDEA IF THIS CRAYON SMELL IS TOXIC OR WHAT FUMES WE ARE BREATHING IN BUT IT CANNOT BE GOOD FROM THE SIDE EFFECTS WE ARE HAVING FROM IT. I HAVE TRIED TO SELL IT BUT NO ONE WILL BUY IT BECAUSE OF THE STRONG ODOR IT HAS. I HAVE HAD IT PROFESSIONAL CLEANED, CHANGED THE CABIN AIR FILTER ETC AND THE SMELL IS STILL THERE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/9/2018 - SEDRO WOOLLEY, WA
MY CAR SHIFTS HARD BETWEEN 1ST AND 2ND GEAR AND BETWEEN 3RD AND 4TH GEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/4/2017 - HENRICO, VA
EVERY YEAR WHEN IT GETS COLD THE WINDOW REGULATORS BREAK. I HAVE REPLACED BOTH SIDES TWICE NOW!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/22/2017 - TIFFIN, IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT RELEASED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE VEHICLE RESUMED TO NORMAL. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED FOR APPROXIMATELY EIGHT MONTHS EVERY DAY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A TRANSMISSION VALVE BODY FAILURE AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS EXPIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000. UPDATED 12/13/2017

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/2/2017 - SUNSET, LA
EPC WARNING LIGHT WANT TURN OFF. VEHICLE IS STATIONARY AS WELL AS IN MOTION. SPEED DECREASES WHEN TRAVELING ON ROADWAY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/30/2017 - TRUCHAS, NM
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE GOING 60MPH, THE LIGHTS TURN OFF. I HAD TO STOP AND HIT THE HEADLIGHTS TO GET THE LIGHTS TO COME ON. THEN THEY WOULD SHUT OFF AGAIN. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY IS MADE OF PLASTIC AND BROKE. IT IS A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THE ASSEMBLY BREAKS AGAIN CAUSING THE LIGHTS TO FAIL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2017 - WEST BABYLON, NY
HARD SHIFTING FROM FIRST TO SECOND, AND SECOND TO THIRD AND WHEN CAR DOWNSHIFTS THRU 1-2 2-3 JUST HAD TRANSMISSION FLUID REPLACED BY DEALER. JUST FOUND OUT ON LINE THIS PROBLEM HAS HAPPENED SINCE 2003 TILL 2016 IN BEETLES

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/6/2017 - ATWATER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING FUEL. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL LINE WAS FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CERTIFIED MECHANIC ALSO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FAILURE WAS SIMILAR TO THE ISSUE LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V621000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/3/2017 - PEORIA, AZ
MY 2006 VW BEETLE ONLY HAS 64,000 MILES ON IT, HAS RECEIVED REGULAR MAINTENANCE, AND THE TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. THIS MECHANICAL BREAKDOWN IS PREMATURE FOR THE MILES AND CARE THIS CAR HAS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/30/2017 - WEST BABYLON, NY
AUTO TRANS SLIPS WHEN SHIFTING FROM 1-2 AND 2-3 AND IT ALSO MAKES CAR JUMP FORWARD WHEN IT SHIFTS INTO GEAR MOVING FWD. THIS IS A SAFETY PROBLEM VW HAS HAD SINCE 2003BUT DOES NOT ACCEPT BLAME FOR PROBLEM AT 87,000 HAD FLUID CHANGED AND PROBLEM STARTED IT SEEMS VW DOESN'T CARE JUST LIKE AIRBAG AND DIESEL PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds