Auto Recalls for Consumers

YAMAHA V-STAR - 2006 YAMAHA V-STAR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by YAMAHA

There are 12 complaints filed for the 2006 YAMAHA V-STAR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2006 YAMAHA V-STAR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2006 YAMAHA V-STAR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Power Train (12)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/6/2013 - GREENWOOD, IN
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AND STARTING TO DECELERATE THERE WAS A LOUD WHINING/SREECHING SOUND AND A CLATTERING SOUND FROM REAR OF THE MOTORCYCLE. I PULLED OVER AND VISUALLY INSPECTED VEHICLE AND CHECKED FLUID LEVELS.I TRAILERED MOTORCYCLE INTO LOCAL YAMAHA REPAIR SHOP AFTER READING IMFORMATION ON INTERNET ABOUT THIS MODEL HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE MIDDLE DRIVE SHAFT SHEARING OFF. AFTER THEY REMOVED ENGINE AND TOOK APART THEY FOUND THAT THE NUT ON THE MIDDLE DRIVESHAFT WHERE THE U-JOIN/YOKE ATTATCHES SHEARED OFF. LUCKILY I HAVE READ THE REPORTS OF THIS HAPPENING TO OTHER PEOPLE AND IT CAUSES THE REAR WHEEL TO LOCK UP.ALSO SAW A REPORT ON SOMEBODY BEING KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT CAUSED BY THIS. I CALLED YAMAHA MOTOR COMPANY AND WAS TOLD THERE ARE NO RECALLS OR TECHNICAL BULLETINS ON THIS PROBLEM. I HAVE BEEN GIVEN AN ESTIMATE OF 2400 TO REPAIR THIS PROBLEM.IT SOUNDS LIKE THER SHOULD BE A RECALL ISSUED BEFORE THERE ARE ANY OR MORE DEATHS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/22/2012 - HEMET, CA
CRUISING AT ABOUT 50MPH, HEARD WHINNING SOUND WHEN DECELERATING. NUT BROKE OFF WITH SHAFT STILL IN IT FROM MIDDLE DRIVE SHAFT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/6/2012 - CLYDE, TX
SLOW SPEED RIDING FORTUNATELY, GRINDING NOISE HEARD AT ABOUT 20 MPH FROM REAR OF MOTORCYCLE. INSPECTED REAR WHEEL AND AXLE AREA, DECIDED TO DRAIN REAR FINAL DRIVE FLUID PIECES OF BEARING AND METAL CAME OUT OF DRAIN HOLE. HAVE NOT CONTACTED ANY DEALER YET WILL DO SO THIS WEEK. WAS ADVISED BY OTHERS WHO HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THIS MODEL MOTORCYCLE CONCERNING THE FINAL DRIVE FAILURE AND FLUID LEAKS. A FAILURE AT HIGHER SPEEDS COULD BE FATAL WITH WHEEL LOCKUP. CANNOT BE RIDDEN , PART IS 800 DOLLARS US ONLINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2012 - VISALIA, CA
WHILE RIDING AT 55 MPH THE MOTORCYCLE REAR TIRE LOCKED UP AND CAUSED THE BACK TO SKID OUT OF CONTROL. AFTER TAKING THE MOTORCYCLE HOME AND INSPECTING THE FAILURE I FOUND THE MID DRIVE SHAFT WAS BROKEN AT THE NUT. I INVESTIGATED THE PROBLEM AND HUNDREDS IF NOT THOUSANDS OF YAMAHA 1100 V STAR MOTORCYCLES HAVE HAD THIS FAILURE. IT APPEARS THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT NUT STARTS BACKING OFF AND EVENTUALLY CAUSES THE DRIVE SHAFT TO BREAK. THE MESSAGE BOARDS INDICATE THAT YAMAHA HAS BEEN CONTACTED MANY TIMES ABOUT THIS ISSUE. I HAVE HAD MY MOTORCYCLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP MANY TIMES AND WAS NOT WARNED ABOUT THIS DEFECT. I WAS LUCKY, BUT IF A MOTORCYCLE'S REAR TIRE WHERE TO LOCK UP WHILE ON A WINDING ROAD OR PASSING THIS FAILURE MOST CERTAINLY COULD LEAD TO SEVERE INJURY OR DEATH IF IT HASN'T ALREADY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

7/13/2011 - AMORY, MS
PURCHASED NEW 2006 YAMAHA V STAR 1100 IN MARCH OF 2008. AS OF JULY 2011 HAS 4400 MILES. STARTED MAKING STRANGE NOISE WHILE RIDING IT. PUT ON JACK COULD NOT SEE ANYTHING WRONG. CRANKED BIKE, PUT IN GEAR WHILE STILL ON JACK, MAKING CLICKING NOISE AND REAR WHEEL LOCKED UP. PULLED COVER OFF SPEED SENSOR AREA, THEN PULLED SPEED SENSOR OUT AND SAW NUT LIEING BETWEEN U-JOINT NUTS YOKES. BIKE IS STILL LOCKED UP, I HAVE NOT REMOVED ANY FURTHER PARTS. SOMEONE NEEDS TO INVESTIGATE THIS. IT IS A SAFETY HAZZARD. I NEED MY MOTORCYCLE REPAIRED BY THE COMPANY. I CHECKED WITH THE DEALERSHIP I PURCHASED IT FROM AND WAS TOLD NO RECALL NOTICES HAVE BEEN ISSUED FOR THIS PROBLEM. THANK YOU

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

7/9/2011 - FLORENCE, SC
I HAVE A 2006 V- STAR SILVERADO 1100. I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD ON MY WAY TO A MOTORCYCLE CONVENTION. I STARTED TO HEAR A NOISE WHEN I ACCELERATED ON THE HIGHWAY. FOUND A DEALERSHIP OPEN, WHEN THEY WERE ABLE TO LOOK AT IT THEY TOLD ME MY DRIVE SHAFT WAS BROKEN. I AM A WOMEN AND THE MILEAGE ON THE BIKE IS 42,979. I BOUGHT IT USED AT 1900 MILES. I DON'T MISTREAT THE BIKE. THE YAMAHA CORPORATION STATED I DIDN'T HAVE A WARRANTY SO THEY ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE. I TRIED TO EXPLAIN THAT THIS IS A PART ON THE MOTORCYCLE THAT ISN'T SUPPOSE TO BREAK RIGHT OFF. PART OF THE SHAFT WAS STILL ATTACHED TO THE GEARS. MY OPINION IS THEY WONT RECALL THIS PART UNTIL SOMEONE DIES., THE COST WILL BE 2250. TO REPLACE THE SHAFT AND ALL THE PARTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

5/31/2011 - ROCHESTER, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2006 YAMAHA V-STAR CLASSIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO JERK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE BOLT HAD FALLEN OFF THE DRIVESHAFT WHICH CAUSED THE GEARS TO LOCK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNABLE TO BE ENTERED DURING THE INITIAL COMPLAINT. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 24,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/10/2011 - LOVELAND, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2006 YAMAHA V-STAR. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO LOSE CONTROL AND SKIDDED TO A STOP. THE CONTACT EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE REAR WHEEL HAD BECOME LOCKED AND WOULD NOT ROTATE. THE FAILED COMPONENT WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS TOLD THAT THE DRIVE SHAFT FAILED AND LOCKED INTO PLACE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 17,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/14/2010 - LA VERNE, CA
I WAS RIDING THE MOTORCYCLE ON THE FREEWAY WHEN LOUD GRINDING NOISE FOLLOWED BY RAPID DECELERATION OCCURRED. LUCKILY THERE WASN'T A LOT OF TRAFFIC AT THE TIME AND I WAS ABLE TO MOVE TO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT INCIDENT. HAD THIS HAPPENED ON A CROWDED FREEWAY I'M SURE AN ACCIDENT WOULD HAVE OCCURRED. IT TURNED OUT THAT THE MIDDLE DRIVEN SHAFT CONNECTING THE U-JOINT WITH THE TRANSMISSION BROKE LOGGING THE BROKEN PART BETWEEN THE FRAME AND U-JOINT. AFTER READING SOME ON-LINE POST, THIS APPEARS TO BE AN ISSUE THAT+S OCCURRED MUCH TOO FREQUENTLY. THE POSSIBLE INJURIES THAT COULD HAVE RESULTED FROM THIS FAILURE IS THE REASON I+VE LOGGING THIS ISSUE. THE ESTIMATED COST TO REPAIR THIS FAILURE IS ~$3000.00.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE

12/18/2009 - PETAWAWA, 00
I HAVE A 2006 YAMAHA VSTAR CUSTOM MOTORCYCLE. THE OUTPUT SHAFT BROKE IN SEP 2009, WITH ONLY 30,000 KILOMETRES ON THE BIKE. I HAVE DONE SOME RESEARCH AND DETERMINED THAT THE PROBLEM IS MORE COMMON THAN YAMAHA IS WILLING TO ADMIT. NUMEROUS DEALERS HAVE TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVE SEEN THE PROBLEM ON OTHER BIKES OF THE SAME YEAR. ALSO, I AM TOLD THAT THE REPLACEMENT OUTPUT SHAFT THAT IS SENT TO DEALERS IS LARGER AND MORE SOLID THAN THE ORIGINAL PART THAT WAS USED ON THE BIKES. THIS INDICATES TO ME AN ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds