Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 328XI - 2007 BMW 328XI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2007 BMW 328XI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 BMW 328XI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 BMW 328XI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (32) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (25) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/26/2016 - MILTON, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WIRING HARNESS AND SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V564000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

SEATS

1/26/2016 - MILTON, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS CONSTANTLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WIRING HARNESS AND SEAT OCCUPANT DETECTION MAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V564000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/9/2015 - PAINESVILLE, OH
A CAR WITH 118K MILES THAT HAS HAD NUMEROUS OIL LEAKS AROUND THE VALVE COVER AND OIL FILTER HOUSING. IT HAS BEEN LEAKING OIL FOR THE LAST 50K MILES. I'VE ALREADY REPLACED THE "PLASTIC" VALVE COVER AND FILTER HOUSING EACH. NOW THE PLASTIC VALVE COVER IS CRACKED. I'M WAITING FOR IT TO CATCH ON FIRE. EVERY BMW BLOG HAS NUMEROUS EXAMPLES THIS ISSUE. I'VE OWNED 10 CARS OVER THE PAST 30 YEARS AND ALL OF THEM ADDED TOGETHER HAVEN'T LEAKED OIL AS MUCH AS THIS POORLY DESIGNED ENGINEERED VEHICLE. IT IS BAFFLING TO ME THAT THE PLASTIC VALVE COVER ($500 PLUS $700 LABOR) HASN'T BEEN RECALLED. ADDITIONALLY, THE SIDE VIEW MIRRORS MOVE ALL BY THEMSELVES. THEY ARE ELECTRICALLY POSSESED. I'VE DISCONNECTED THE WIRES BECAUSE IT IS CRAZY TO HAVE THE MIRRORS MOVE WHILE DRIVING (CAN'T BE PUT BACK WITHOUT STOPPING/PULLING OVER AND MANUALLY PUTTING THE MIRROR BACK. AGAIN, EVERY BLOG ON THIS MODEL IS FILLED WITH THIS ISSUE. HOW IS THERE NOT A RECALL ON THESE ISSUES. I WOULD RATHER HAVE AN AIR BAG THAT DOESN'T WORK THAN A MOVING OIL DISPENSER WITH POSSESSED SIDE VIEW MIRRORS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/9/2015 - PAINESVILLE, OH
A CAR WITH 118K MILES THAT HAS HAD NUMEROUS OIL LEAKS AROUND THE VALVE COVER AND OIL FILTER HOUSING. IT HAS BEEN LEAKING OIL FOR THE LAST 50K MILES. I'VE ALREADY REPLACED THE "PLASTIC" VALVE COVER AND FILTER HOUSING EACH. NOW THE PLASTIC VALVE COVER IS CRACKED. I'M WAITING FOR IT TO CATCH ON FIRE. EVERY BMW BLOG HAS NUMEROUS EXAMPLES THIS ISSUE. I'VE OWNED 10 CARS OVER THE PAST 30 YEARS AND ALL OF THEM ADDED TOGETHER HAVEN'T LEAKED OIL AS MUCH AS THIS POORLY DESIGNED ENGINEERED VEHICLE. IT IS BAFFLING TO ME THAT THE PLASTIC VALVE COVER ($500 PLUS $700 LABOR) HASN'T BEEN RECALLED. ADDITIONALLY, THE SIDE VIEW MIRRORS MOVE ALL BY THEMSELVES. THEY ARE ELECTRICALLY POSSESED. I'VE DISCONNECTED THE WIRES BECAUSE IT IS CRAZY TO HAVE THE MIRRORS MOVE WHILE DRIVING (CAN'T BE PUT BACK WITHOUT STOPPING/PULLING OVER AND MANUALLY PUTTING THE MIRROR BACK. AGAIN, EVERY BLOG ON THIS MODEL IS FILLED WITH THIS ISSUE. HOW IS THERE NOT A RECALL ON THESE ISSUES. I WOULD RATHER HAVE AN AIR BAG THAT DOESN'T WORK THAN A MOVING OIL DISPENSER WITH POSSESSED SIDE VIEW MIRRORS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/21/2015 - BROOKLYN CENTER, MN
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIWAY, THE ENGINE WILL SHAKE, CAR WILL REV, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON, THEN ENGINE DIES. CAR LOSES POWER AND IF I'M LUCKY THEN I CAN PULL OVER TO THE SIDE. AFTER SOME RESEARCHING, SOME SERIES HAVE HAD A RECALL ON FUEL PUMP FAILURE. PLEASE REVIEW IF THE 328XI CAN BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/9/2015 - SEATTLE, WA
THIS INQUIRY IS REGARDING NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V564000 AND ASSOCIATED RECALL SUBJECT: FRONT SEAT OCCUPANT PROTECTION MAT. VEHICLE VIN# KP35910 WAS EXCLUDED FROM THE RECALL DESPITE MEETING THE QUALIFICATION CRITERIA FOR THIS RECALL. MALFUNCTION OF THE PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM WAS DIAGNOSED BY BMW OF SEATTLE ON 06/17/2013. PARTICULARLY BMW OF SEATTLE STATED THE FOLLOWING: "PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANCY DETECTOR CONNECTED BATTERY CHARGER AND PERFORMED SYSTEM TEST FOUND SENSOR FAULTY. SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR FAULTY. EVIDENCE REPORT OF THE ISSUE DIAGNOSTIC IS ATTACHED TO THIS EMAIL COMMUNICATION. FAILED RESTRAINT SYSTEM IN THE VEHICLE VIN# KP35910 INADVERTENTLY DEACTIVATED THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG THAT NOW IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH INCREASES THE RISK OF PERSONAL INJURY. MANUFACTURER SHOULD TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY IN REMEDYING THIS MANUFACTURER+S DEFECT THAT POSE GREAT SAFETY RISK TO VEHICLES OCCUPANTS. BECAUSE VEHICLE VIN# KP35910 MEETS THE RECALL CRITERIA OF OTHER VEHICLES IN THE RECALL CATEGORY AND IT EXHIBITS EXACTLY THE SAME DEFECTS WITH THE PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM THAT IS SUBJECT OF THE RECALL, BMW NORTHWEST MUST INCLUDE VIN# KP35910 INTO RECALL AND REPAIR THE DEFECTIVE SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/9/2015 - SEATTLE, WA
THIS INQUIRY IS REGARDING NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V564000 AND ASSOCIATED RECALL SUBJECT: FRONT SEAT OCCUPANT PROTECTION MAT. VEHICLE VIN# KP35910 WAS EXCLUDED FROM THE RECALL DESPITE MEETING THE QUALIFICATION CRITERIA FOR THIS RECALL. MALFUNCTION OF THE PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM WAS DIAGNOSED BY BMW OF SEATTLE ON 06/17/2013. PARTICULARLY BMW OF SEATTLE STATED THE FOLLOWING: "PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANCY DETECTOR CONNECTED BATTERY CHARGER AND PERFORMED SYSTEM TEST FOUND SENSOR FAULTY. SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR FAULTY. EVIDENCE REPORT OF THE ISSUE DIAGNOSTIC IS ATTACHED TO THIS EMAIL COMMUNICATION. FAILED RESTRAINT SYSTEM IN THE VEHICLE VIN# KP35910 INADVERTENTLY DEACTIVATED THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG THAT NOW IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH INCREASES THE RISK OF PERSONAL INJURY. MANUFACTURER SHOULD TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY IN REMEDYING THIS MANUFACTURER+S DEFECT THAT POSE GREAT SAFETY RISK TO VEHICLES OCCUPANTS. BECAUSE VEHICLE VIN# KP35910 MEETS THE RECALL CRITERIA OF OTHER VEHICLES IN THE RECALL CATEGORY AND IT EXHIBITS EXACTLY THE SAME DEFECTS WITH THE PASSENGER RESTRAINT SYSTEM THAT IS SUBJECT OF THE RECALL, BMW NORTHWEST MUST INCLUDE VIN# KP35910 INTO RECALL AND REPAIR THE DEFECTIVE SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR.

View Details

ENGINE

9/28/2015 - HILLSBORO, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED SOON AFTER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/24/2015 - WOODBURY, MN
ONE EVENING IN DECEMBER 2014, MY CAR (2007 BMW 328XI) SUDDENLY STARTED MAKING A LOUD CLANGING NOISE AND VIBRATING VIOLENTLY. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I HAD IT TOWED TO A LOCAL SHOP AND WAS TOLD THAT THE DRIVESHAFT (PROPELLOR SHAFT) HAD BROKEN. LESS THAN A MONTH LATER, THE VEHICLE'S TRANSFER CASE FAILED - DAMAGE FROM THE DRIVESHAFT THAT HAD BEEN UNDETECTED AT THE TIME OF THE DRIVESHAFT RUPTURE. IN JANUARY 2015 I CONTACTED BMW AS I HAD HEARD OF OTHER DRIVERS OF SIMILAR 3 SERIES BMWS HAVING DRIVESHAFT AND TRANSFER CASE PROBLEMS, BUT BMW DENIED THERE WAS AN ISSUE. BUT IN AUGUST 2015, BMW ANNOUNCED A "COMPONENT SPECIFIC LIMITED WARRANTY EXTENSION" FOR THE DRIVESHAFT FOR THE BMW X5 - FOR 10 YEARS AND 120,000 MILES. NO SUCH PROGRAM HAS BEEN ANNOUNCED FOR THE 328XI. GIVEN THAT THE FAILURE OF THE DRIVESHAFT AND TRANSFER CASE OF MY 328XI WAS VERY PREMATURE AND THAT IT WAS IDENTICAL TO THE REPEATED DRIVESHAFT FAILURES THAT LED TO THE ACTION ANNOUNCED FOR THE X5, I BELIEVE THAT THE SAME ISSUE EXISTS FOR THE 328XI AND MERITS AN INVESTIGATION AND ACTION BY NHTSA.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/23/2015 - WEST HAVEN, CT
HAD MANY IN WARRANTEE VISITS AND REPAIRS INVOLVING THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT OC3 MAT...REPLACING THE MAT HAD PREVIOUSLY RESOLVED THE PROBLEM SUCCESSFULLY, BUT THE PROBLEM RETURNS A YEAR OR SO LATER.CURRENTLY,AS OF 9-23-15,THE ISSUE IS WHEN THE SEAT IS EXPOSED TO THE SUN ALL DAY, THE FRONT PASSENGER,WHILE SITTING IN THE SEAT IS NO LONGER PROTECTED BY THE AIR BAG..,THIS IS INDICATED BY THE "PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" LIGHT IN THE OVERHEAD CONSOLE BEING LIT FOR THE DURATION OF THE TRIP.THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD... I HAVE A VIDEO AVAILABLE SHOWING THIS EXACT PROBLEM HAPPENING IN MY CAR. THIS MAKE,MODEL, AND YEAR HAS RECALLS AND 15 YEAR EXTENDED WARRANTEES CONCERNING THE OC3 MAT THAT BMW SAYS DOESN`T APPLY TO MY SPECIFIC VIN...I BELIEVE DUE TO THE SERIOUSNESS OF THE PASSENGER NOT BEING PROTECTED IN A COLLISION, MY SPECIFIC VIN SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL OR 15 YEAR EXTENSION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds