Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 328XI - 2007 BMW 328XI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2007 BMW 328XI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 BMW 328XI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 BMW 328XI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (24) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (3) Structure (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (3) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/16/2014 - GLEN ARM, MD
PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SENSOR IS ON. THERE ARE OTHER 2007 WITH THE SAME SYMPTOMS BUT MY BMW DEALERSHIP IS TELLING ME THAT MY CAR WASN'T PART OF THE RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/10/2014 - STONY POINT, NY
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR HAD ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FLOOR MAT SENSOR HAD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ON THE FRONT PASSENGERS SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 13V564000 (AIR BAGS) BUT HAD EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78000. DYD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/2/2014 - POTOMAC , MD
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND UNOCCUPIED, IT UNEXPECTEDLY IGNITED INTO FLAMES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE AND DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY. THE FIRE ORIGINATED IN BETWEEN THE FRONT WINDSHIELD AND UPPER HOOD AREA NEAR THE AIR BAG HOUSING. THE FIRE WAS DEEMED AS ELECTRICAL. THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SAVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000. RK

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - UNION, NJ
THE AUTOMATIC DOOR LOCKING FUNCTION IN MY CAR HAS GONE OUT TWICE IN THE LAST 8 MONTHS. THE BUTTONS INSIDE THE CAR AND ON THE KEY FOB DID NOT OPEN OR LOCK THE DOORS. THE SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT WHEN THIS OCCURRED, THERE WAS NO WAY TO OPEN ANY OF THE DOORS FROM THE INSIDE OF THE CAR. THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR IS THE ONLY ONE THAT HAS A PHYSICAL KEY SLOT. THE CAR CAN ONLY BE UNLOCKED FROM THE OUTSIDE WHEN THE AUTOMATIC DOOR LOCKS FAIL. A PERSON CANNOT OPEN THE DOORS USING ANY OF THE HANDLES, INCLUDING THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR HANDLE WHEN THE LOCKS FAIL. THERE IS NO WAY TO EXIT THE CAR FROM THE INSIDE WHEN THIS FAILS. I HAD TO PULL A BACK SEAT PASSENGER OUT THE WINDOW TO REMOVE HIM FROM THE CAR WHEN THE AUTOMATIC LOCKS FAILED THE SECOND TIME. BOTH TIMES I WAS ABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM BY REPLACING FIRST ONE, THEN TWO FUSES IN THE BOX. BMW SERVICE DEPARTMENTS DO NOT CONSIDER THIS AN EMERGENCY, SO I HAD TO DO THE REPAIRS MYSELF. I DID NOT FEEL SAFE AT ALL BEING UNABLE TO OPEN ANY OF THE DOORS, AND HAVING TO DRIVE WITH THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR UNLOCKED. IT IS NOT EASY TO REPLACE A FUSE WHEN THE BOX IS IN THE BACK OF THE GLOVE BOX ON THE FAR SIDE WHEN IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO OPEN THE PASSENGER DOOR. BMW SAID THERE MAY BE SOMETHING IN THE CAR THAT IS CAUSING THIS TO FAIL FOR ME AND HAS QUOTED ALMOST $200 FOR AN ASSESSMENT. THIS ISSUE IS A MAJOR SAFETY PROBLEM. ONE CAN EASILY BE STUCK IN THE CAR AS MY PASSENGER WAS WITH NO WAY TO GET OUT BESIDES THE WINDOW. THIS CAR IS NOT LARGE ENOUGH TO EASILY JUMP OVER CONSOLES OR SEATS. I CALLED BMW AND SAID THIS HAS TO BE A SAFETY RECALL SINCE YOU CANNOT EXIT THE CAR WHEN THE SYSTEM FAILS. THERE WAS NO PROMISE TO MAKE ANY CHANGES TO THE CARS OR TO ASSIST ME IN ANY WAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/10/2014 - ANN ARBOR, MI
THE DOOR LOCKING MECHANISM FAILED, MAKING ALL OF THE PASSENGER DOORS UNUSABLE, EVEN FROM THE INSIDE. IF THERE ARE PEOPLE IN THE VEHICLE, THEY CANNOT GET OUT EXCEPT THROUGH THE DRIVER'S DOOR, REPRESENTING A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD. IN THE CASE OF FIRE OR OTHER EMERGENCY, PASSENGERS IN MY CAR WOULD HAVE BEEN TRAPPED, UNABLE TO ESCAPE THE VEHICLE BECAUSE THERE IS NO MECHANICAL LOCK RELEASE ON THE INSIDE OF THE CAR. BMW HAS RELEASED A SERVICE BULLETIN TO REPLACE FUSE 57 WITH A 20 AMP FUSE INSTEAD OF A 15 AMP FUSE, BUT THIS DOES NOT FIX THE BASIC PROBLEM OF HAVING NO ESCAPE FROM THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. EVEN AFTER REPLACING THE FUSE WITH A 20A, IT BLEW AGAIN AND WOULD HAVE TRAPPED PASSENGERS AGAIN. I FEEL VERY UNSAFE TRANSPORTING MY FAMILY IN THIS VEHICLE KNOWING THAT THIS SAFETY HAZARD HAS PERSISTED SO LONG WITHOUT A RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

2/17/2014 - SUNNYVALE, CA
THE CAR HAS A SERIOUS OIL LEAK AT THE HEAD GASKET. THIS HAS BEEN A VERY WELL MAINTAINED CAR, WITH ALL SERVICES BEING COMPLETED IN A TIMELY MANNER, AND JUST REGULAR COMMUTING IN MILD TRAFFIC AND MILD WEATHER. THE OIL LEAK IS OCCURRING DUE TO A MANUFACTURING DEFECT -- THERE IS NO SERVICEABLE PORTION DUE TO WHICH THIS LEAK COULD HAVE HAPPENED. AS THE CAR KEEPS LEAKING OIL, IT IS CREATING A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD.

View Details

STEERING

1/26/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
I HAD JUST EXITED OFF OF THE FREEWAY AND WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN AT A LIGHT WHEN THE STEERING "LOCKED UP". I COULDN'T GET THE CAR TO STEER AND THE "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" LIGHT CAME ON. LUCKILY, THE CAR "COAST" TO THE SIDE OF THIS NON-BUSY ROAD. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED AND EVERYTHING WAS BACK TO NORMAL. I WAS ALSO ABLE TO DRIVE BACK HOME WITHOUT ANY ISSUES A COUPLE OF HOURS LATER. HOWEVER, THIS INCIDENT HAS ME AND MY FAMILY FREAKED OUT AS WE FREQUENTLY TRAVEL WITH OUR CHILDREN. I CANNOT IMAGINE THE CONSEQUENCES IF THIS LOCK UP WERE TO HAPPEN ON A FREEWAY AT SPEEDS IN EXCESS OF 60MPH. I HAVE SEEN SEVERAL FOLKS COMPLAIN OF THIS ISSUE AND AM AFRAID IT MAY RESURFACE ANYTIME WITHOUT WARNING. I'LL HAVE MY CAR TAKEN TO A SERVICE SHOP NEAR MY HOME AND HAVE THEM DIAGNOSE, BUT HAVING READ SO MANY COMPLAINTS IT APPEARS TO BE ALONG SIMILAR LINES OF THE STEERING COLUMN ISSUE. HAS BMW OWNED UP TO THIS AND ARE THEY ISSUING A RECALL?

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/6/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V564000 (AIR BAGS) BUT WAS ADVISED BY THE MANUFACTURER THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/30/2013 - TEMPLE HILLS, MD
THE CAR FORTUNATELY WAS NOT IN MOTION HOWEVER THE STEERING COLUMN LOCK IS NOT ALLOWING THE STEERING WHEEL TO MOVE AS WELL AS PREVENTING THE CAR TO START. IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON INHERENT PROBLEM WITH BMW. IN WHICH COSTS THE CONSUMER ~$1800 TO FIX EVEN THOUGH IT'S A MOST LIKELY A SOFTWARE ISSUE AND NOT A PARTS ISSUE. I HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ONLINE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/25/2013 - LATHAM , NY
PASSENGER TURN SIGNAL BULB WAS THOUGHT TO BE OUT. BROUGHT TO LOCAL BMW DEALER AND HAD THEM TELL ME I NEED A WHOLE HEADLIGHT SINCE THE TURN SIGNAL BURNED INSIDE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds