Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW 328XI - 2007 BMW 328XI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 80 complaints filed for the 2007 BMW 328XI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 BMW 328XI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 BMW 328XI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (25) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (4) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Engine (7) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (3) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/28/2014 - THETFORD CENTER, VT
STEERING COLUMN LOCK FAILED AND STRANDED CONSUMER. THIS IS A WELL KNOWN ISSUE IN THE 2007 328XI AND THE MANUFACTURER HAS DONE NOTHING OTHER THAN FORCE THE CONSUMER TO MAKE EXPENSIVE REPAIR/REPLACEMENT OF AN OBVIOUS MANUFACTURING/ENGINEERING FLAW.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

6/9/2014 - CATONSVILLE , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED IN THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/9/2014 - CATONSVILLE , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED IN THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE AIR BAG SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/30/2014 - DOWNINGTOWN , PA
I AM AN OWNER OF A 2007 BMW 328XI. TWO MONTHS AGO, I BROUGHT MY CAR TO A BMW DEALERSHIP FOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ISSUE. THEY TOLD ME THAT CYLINDER 6 WAS THE PROBLEM. SO THEY FIXED CYLINDER 6 AND REPLACED ALL SPARK PLUGS. ON 24-APR-2014, MY WIFE DROVE THE CAR TO WORK AND CAME HOME. THAT EVENING SHE TOOK THE KIDS TO AN EVENT AT THEIR SCHOOL AND PARKED THE CAR. AFTER THE EVENT, SHE TRIED BACKING THE CAR AND THE CAR WON'T GO INTO REVERSE. SO, I DROPPED THE CAR OFF TO THE DEALER SHIP AND AFTER THEY COMPLETED THEIR DAGNOSTIC TEST, THEY TOLD ME THAT I HAVE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM WHICH WILL COST $6000 TO FIX.

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2014 - DOWNINGTOWN , PA
I AM AN OWNER OF A 2007 BMW 328XI. TWO MONTHS AGO, I BROUGHT MY CAR TO A BMW DEALERSHIP FOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ISSUE. THEY TOLD ME THAT CYLINDER 6 WAS THE PROBLEM. SO THEY FIXED CYLINDER 6 AND REPLACED ALL SPARK PLUGS. ON 24-APR-2014, MY WIFE DROVE THE CAR TO WORK AND CAME HOME. THAT EVENING SHE TOOK THE KIDS TO AN EVENT AT THEIR SCHOOL AND PARKED THE CAR. AFTER THE EVENT, SHE TRIED BACKING THE CAR AND THE CAR WON'T GO INTO REVERSE. SO, I DROPPED THE CAR OFF TO THE DEALER SHIP AND AFTER THEY COMPLETED THEIR DAGNOSTIC TEST, THEY TOLD ME THAT I HAVE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM WHICH WILL COST $6000 TO FIX.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/30/2014 - DOWNINGTOWN , PA
I AM AN OWNER OF A 2007 BMW 328XI. TWO MONTHS AGO, I BROUGHT MY CAR TO A BMW DEALERSHIP FOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ISSUE. THEY TOLD ME THAT CYLINDER 6 WAS THE PROBLEM. SO THEY FIXED CYLINDER 6 AND REPLACED ALL SPARK PLUGS. ON 24-APR-2014, MY WIFE DROVE THE CAR TO WORK AND CAME HOME. THAT EVENING SHE TOOK THE KIDS TO AN EVENT AT THEIR SCHOOL AND PARKED THE CAR. AFTER THE EVENT, SHE TRIED BACKING THE CAR AND THE CAR WON'T GO INTO REVERSE. SO, I DROPPED THE CAR OFF TO THE DEALER SHIP AND AFTER THEY COMPLETED THEIR DAGNOSTIC TEST, THEY TOLD ME THAT I HAVE TRANSMISSION PROBLEM WHICH WILL COST $6000 TO FIX.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/16/2014 - GLEN ARM, MD
PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SENSOR IS ON. THERE ARE OTHER 2007 WITH THE SAME SYMPTOMS BUT MY BMW DEALERSHIP IS TELLING ME THAT MY CAR WASN'T PART OF THE RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/10/2014 - STONY POINT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGERS SIDE FLOOR MAT SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS SCHEDULED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 13V564000 (AIR BAGS) BUT THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED THE SAME FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/2/2014 - POTOMAC , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 BMW 328XI. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED AND UNOCCUPIED, IT UNEXPECTEDLY IGNITED INTO FLAMES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE AND DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY. THE FIRE ORIGINATED IN BETWEEN THE FRONT WINDSHIELD AND UPPER HOOD AREA NEAR THE AIR BAG HOUSING. THE FIRE WAS DEEMED AS ELECTRICAL. THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A SAVAGE FACILITY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/31/2014 - UNION, NJ
THE AUTOMATIC DOOR LOCKING FUNCTION IN MY CAR HAS GONE OUT TWICE IN THE LAST 8 MONTHS. THE BUTTONS INSIDE THE CAR AND ON THE KEY FOB DID NOT OPEN OR LOCK THE DOORS. THE SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT WHEN THIS OCCURRED, THERE WAS NO WAY TO OPEN ANY OF THE DOORS FROM THE INSIDE OF THE CAR. THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR IS THE ONLY ONE THAT HAS A PHYSICAL KEY SLOT. THE CAR CAN ONLY BE UNLOCKED FROM THE OUTSIDE WHEN THE AUTOMATIC DOOR LOCKS FAIL. A PERSON CANNOT OPEN THE DOORS USING ANY OF THE HANDLES, INCLUDING THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR HANDLE WHEN THE LOCKS FAIL. THERE IS NO WAY TO EXIT THE CAR FROM THE INSIDE WHEN THIS FAILS. I HAD TO PULL A BACK SEAT PASSENGER OUT THE WINDOW TO REMOVE HIM FROM THE CAR WHEN THE AUTOMATIC LOCKS FAILED THE SECOND TIME. BOTH TIMES I WAS ABLE TO FIX THE PROBLEM BY REPLACING FIRST ONE, THEN TWO FUSES IN THE BOX. BMW SERVICE DEPARTMENTS DO NOT CONSIDER THIS AN EMERGENCY, SO I HAD TO DO THE REPAIRS MYSELF. I DID NOT FEEL SAFE AT ALL BEING UNABLE TO OPEN ANY OF THE DOORS, AND HAVING TO DRIVE WITH THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR UNLOCKED. IT IS NOT EASY TO REPLACE A FUSE WHEN THE BOX IS IN THE BACK OF THE GLOVE BOX ON THE FAR SIDE WHEN IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO OPEN THE PASSENGER DOOR. BMW SAID THERE MAY BE SOMETHING IN THE CAR THAT IS CAUSING THIS TO FAIL FOR ME AND HAS QUOTED ALMOST $200 FOR AN ASSESSMENT. THIS ISSUE IS A MAJOR SAFETY PROBLEM. ONE CAN EASILY BE STUCK IN THE CAR AS MY PASSENGER WAS WITH NO WAY TO GET OUT BESIDES THE WINDOW. THIS CAR IS NOT LARGE ENOUGH TO EASILY JUMP OVER CONSOLES OR SEATS. I CALLED BMW AND SAID THIS HAS TO BE A SAFETY RECALL SINCE YOU CANNOT EXIT THE CAR WHEN THE SYSTEM FAILS. THERE WAS NO PROMISE TO MAKE ANY CHANGES TO THE CARS OR TO ASSIST ME IN ANY WAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds