Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC STS - 2007 CADILLAC STS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 24 complaints filed for the 2007 CADILLAC STS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CADILLAC STS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CADILLAC STS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine (1) Power Train (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/16/2014 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
I REPLACE MY AIRBAG SENSOR IN THE PASSENGER SEAT, THIS IS A $600 PART. ON YEAR LATER THIS PART NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. WHEN READING THE GM CADILLAC FORUM THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR CADILLAC FOR SOMETIME. FAILURE OF THIS PART CAN RESULT IN THE AIRBAG NOT DEPLOYING IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

SEATS

4/16/2014 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
I REPLACE MY AIRBAG SENSOR IN THE PASSENGER SEAT, THIS IS A $600 PART. ON YEAR LATER THIS PART NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. WHEN READING THE GM CADILLAC FORUM THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM FOR CADILLAC FOR SOMETIME. FAILURE OF THIS PART CAN RESULT IN THE AIRBAG NOT DEPLOYING IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/8/2014 - SCHAUMBURG, IL
10/27/06 MULTIPLE WARNING LIGHTS & REFUSAL TO EXCEED 40MPH, DUE TO LOW VOLTAGE/LOW AMPS ON BATTERY CAUSING COMMUNICATION ERRORS W MULT MODULES, NEW BATTERY INSTALLED. SUMMERS 2008 & 2010 REFUSAL TO TURN OVER EVEN W KEYFOB IN SLOT, TOWED, NEW BATTERY INST. TOWED JULY 2011 FOR REFUSAL TO TURN OVER OR TAKE JUMP, SHOP FOUND NORMAL BATTERY & JUMP SUCCESSFUL. NEW KEYFOB 9/14/11 @MY REQUEST. TOWED 2/27/12 FOR REFUSAL TO TURN OVER OR TAKE JUMP, NEW BATTERY INSTALLED, REMOTES REPROGRAMMED. TOWED 7/3/13 FOR REFUSAL TO TURN OVER OR TAKE JUMP, NEW BATTERY INSTALLED @MY REQUEST. TOWED 3/4/14 FOR REFUSAL TO TURN OVER OR TAKE JUMP, IGNITION SYSTEM & BATTERY OK, NO EXPLANATION. THREE DAYS AGO REFUSAL TO TURN OVER DESPITE KEYFOB IN HAND, 2MINUTES LATER IT STARTED. WONDER IF 2007 CAD STS SHD BE INCLUDED IN GM DELPHI SYSTEM RECALL. GETTING EXPENSIVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/6/2013 - SUNRISE, FL
MY WIFE WENT TO THE LOCAL GAS STATION AND AS SHE WAS PULLING IN SHE MADE A RIGHT HAND TURN PAST THE PUMPS TO PARK. SHE HIT THE BRAKES AND THE CAR SPED UP. SHE SLAMMED THEM HARDER AND IT SLIGHTLY SLOWED DOWN BUT SHE HIT 2 GUARD RAILS AND THEN CRASHED INTO THE CINDERBLOCK WALL DESTROYING THE FRONT BUMPER, BOTH FRONT FENDERS, HEADLIGHTS AND THE INTERNAL ALUMINUM BUMPER WAS CRUSHED AS IT WAS DESIGNED TO DO. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF BUT SHE WAS NOT HURT. SHE SAID THE CAR SPED UP WHILE THE BRAKES WERE DEPLOYED. ALSO, AFTER SHE HIT THE WALL SHE TRIED TO PUT THE CARD IN REVERSE BUT SHE HAD TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL TO ACTUALLY GO IN REVERSE. THE CAR IS AT THE MECHANIC BEING FIXED AT THIS TIME BUT I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THIS SPEEDING UP INSTEAD OF STOPPING WHEN THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED... THIS IS NOT A GOOD THING AND THE INSURANCE COMPANY SAID IT WAS UP TO ME TO FIND THE CAUSE. SOMEONE FROM CADILLAC OR NHTSA NEEDS TO COME AND LOOK AT THIS BEFORE THE CAR IS FIXED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/6/2013 - SUNRISE, FL
MY WIFE WENT TO THE LOCAL GAS STATION AND AS SHE WAS PULLING IN SHE MADE A RIGHT HAND TURN PAST THE PUMPS TO PARK. SHE HIT THE BRAKES AND THE CAR SPED UP. SHE SLAMMED THEM HARDER AND IT SLIGHTLY SLOWED DOWN BUT SHE HIT 2 GUARD RAILS AND THEN CRASHED INTO THE CINDERBLOCK WALL DESTROYING THE FRONT BUMPER, BOTH FRONT FENDERS, HEADLIGHTS AND THE INTERNAL ALUMINUM BUMPER WAS CRUSHED AS IT WAS DESIGNED TO DO. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT GO OFF BUT SHE WAS NOT HURT. SHE SAID THE CAR SPED UP WHILE THE BRAKES WERE DEPLOYED. ALSO, AFTER SHE HIT THE WALL SHE TRIED TO PUT THE CARD IN REVERSE BUT SHE HAD TO PUT IT IN NEUTRAL TO ACTUALLY GO IN REVERSE. THE CAR IS AT THE MECHANIC BEING FIXED AT THIS TIME BUT I AM CONCERNED ABOUT THIS SPEEDING UP INSTEAD OF STOPPING WHEN THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED... THIS IS NOT A GOOD THING AND THE INSURANCE COMPANY SAID IT WAS UP TO ME TO FIND THE CAUSE. SOMEONE FROM CADILLAC OR NHTSA NEEDS TO COME AND LOOK AT THIS BEFORE THE CAR IS FIXED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/5/2013 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHEN THE CAR IS STARTED THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON. I HAVE TO SHUT THE CAR OFF AND EXIT THE CAR RE-ENTER RE-SEAT MYSELF AND MY PASSENGER(WIFE) SEVERAL TIMES. SOMETIMES THE ERROR GOES AWAY AND SOMETIME IT DOES NOT. THIS CAR HAS THE SAME PROBLEMS THE 2007 CADILLAC CTS HAD AND THERE WAS A RECALL. THESE CARS MAY HAVE THE SAME AIR BAGS AS THE AFORE MENTIONED CTS. THE INTERNET FORUMS TALK OF THIS SAME PROBLEM FOR THE STS. HTTP://WWW.CADILLACFORUMS.COM/FORUMS/CADILLAC-STS-FORUM-2005-THROUGH-2012/221597-SERVICE-AIRBAG-LIGHT.HTML SERVICE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT 10 POST APRIL 11, 2013 SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT 8 POST SEP 23,2012 RED AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON!? 5 POST FEB 3, 2010 SERVICE AIR BAG 13 POST NOV 24, 2008 JUST GOOGLE "CADILLAC STS SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT". IF THERE IS THIS MUCH BEING SAID OUT THERE HOW MANY MORE HAVE JUST GONE TO THEIR DEALERS AND HAD THE PROBLEM FIXED? THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE. THE DEALER TELLS ME THIS MESSAGE STATES THAT THE AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY. IF THE AIR BAG SYSTEMS USED IN THE 2007 CTS (RECALLED) ARE THE SAME AS USED IN THE 2007 STS, THE RECALL SHOULD HAVE INCLUDED THE 2007 STS. JUST MY THOUGHT PLEASE HELP THANK YOU IN ADVANCE

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/25/2013 - MIDDLE RIVER, MD
#1 THE ABOVE MENTIONED VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED IN CHICAGO ON DECEMBER 22, 2009. THE ODOMETER READ 29,832 MILES. WHEN THE CAR WAS DRIVEN BACK TO MARYLAND, A MARYLAND VEHICLE INSPECTION WAS REQUIRED. THE HEADLIGHTS FAILED THE INSPECTION. #2 OVER THE PAST TWO YEARS, CONDENSATION BUILT UP INSIDE BOTH THE HEADLIGHTS. IN THE PAST MONTH, I NOTICED THERE WAS ONE INCH OF WATER IN THE DRIVER SIDE HEADLIGHT. THE WATER HAS NOW SHORTED OUT THE LIGHT. I BELIEVE THIS PROBLEM IS A DEFECT AND I HAVE READ SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON CAR FORUMS ON THE INTERNET. CADILLAC WILL NOT COVER THE COST OF THE REPAIR BECAUSE THE CAR NOW HAS 63,000 MILES. I AM ON A FIXED INCOME AND CANNOT AFFORD THE COST OF THE REPAIR WHICH CADILLAC QUOTED @ $1250.00.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/25/2013 - MIDDLE RIVER, MD
#1 THE ABOVE MENTIONED VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED IN CHICAGO ON DECEMBER 22, 2009. THE ODOMETER READ 29,832 MILES. WHEN THE CAR WAS DRIVEN BACK TO MARYLAND, A MARYLAND VEHICLE INSPECTION WAS REQUIRED. THE HEADLIGHTS FAILED THE INSPECTION. #2 OVER THE PAST TWO YEARS, CONDENSATION BUILT UP INSIDE BOTH THE HEADLIGHTS. IN THE PAST MONTH, I NOTICED THERE WAS ONE INCH OF WATER IN THE DRIVER SIDE HEADLIGHT. THE WATER HAS NOW SHORTED OUT THE LIGHT. I BELIEVE THIS PROBLEM IS A DEFECT AND I HAVE READ SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON CAR FORUMS ON THE INTERNET. CADILLAC WILL NOT COVER THE COST OF THE REPAIR BECAUSE THE CAR NOW HAS 63,000 MILES. I AM ON A FIXED INCOME AND CANNOT AFFORD THE COST OF THE REPAIR WHICH CADILLAC QUOTED @ $1250.00.

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2012 - SHREVEPORT, LA
THIS CADILLAC MAKE & MODEL DOES NOT HAVE AN AMERICAN ENGINE, A FACT THAT WAS NOT DISCLOSED TO ME UPON PURCHASE. THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS CAME ON SEVERAL TIMES IN THE PAST AND DEALERSHIP WOULD MESS WITH WIRES UNDER SEAT AND SOMEHOW GET THE LIGHT TO GO OFF AND TELL ME IT WAS THE AIRBAGS THAT WOULD MAKE THE SENSOR GO OFF. THEN WHEN I PAY MY LAST NOTE AND GET TO 100,000 THEY DECIDE TO REVEAL TO ME THAT THE SAME ENGINE LIGHT DEFECT MEANS REAL ENGINE PROBLEMS. SO AFTER LETTING TWO MORE HIGHLY RECOMMENDED MECHANICS DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM I WAS TOLD BY BOTH THAT THIS WAS NOT AN AMERICAN ENGINE BUT A VERY CHEAP GERMAN ENGINE AND THAT THEY HAD A LARGE NUMBER OF PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM, WITH SOME HAVING TO SELL THEIR CAR FOR SCRAP METAL. I AM VERY UPSET TO SAY THE LEAST AND WOULD NEVER BUY ANOTHER CADILLAC. I WOULD LIKE TO CONTACT OTHER CADILLAC OWNERS THAT HAD THIS PROBLEM AND BRING A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/18/2012 - COLUMBUS , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CADILLAC STS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THEAIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD AND DECLARED DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds