Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 1452 complaints filed for the 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (133) Equipment Adaptive (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (11)
Electrical System (273) Exterior Lighting (12) Parking Brake (8) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (3)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel Propulsion System (249) Power Train (42) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (21)
Engine (46) Fuel System Gasoline (153) Seat Belts (12) Steering (647) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (2) Structure (19) Visibility (6)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes (24) Suspension (76) Wheels (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 185
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/13/2019 - SMITHFIELD, PA
GOT OUT OF CAR AND SMELLED STRONG GAS ODER. CAR IS IN DAUGHTERS NAME AND MINE, I PUT INSIDE MY GARAGE AND SEEN IMMEDIATE PILE OF GAS DRIPPING. FELT LIKE RUSTED OUT FUEL LINES RUNNING FROM FILTER UP TOWARDS TANK. VEHICLE LEAKS STEADY WHEN STATIONARY AFTER SHUTTING OFF

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/10/2019 - ADRIAN, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE WALKING PAST THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT SMELLED A FUEL ODOR. HE NOTICED THERE WAS A LEAK UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO GREG BELL CHEVROLET CADILLAC (1313 US-223, ADRIAN, MI 49221, (877) 265-7156) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL LINES WERE DEFECTIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/10/2019 - ROCKAWAY, NJ
"AIRBAG SERVICE REQUIRED" LIGHT STARTED APPEARING ON DASHBOARD APPROX 1 MONTH AGO ONCE HITTING CLOSE TO 100,000 MILES. IT OCCURRED AT A RANDOM TIME WHILE IN MOTION, DURING NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN IN ANY ACCIDENTS OR DAMAGE. LIGHT OF AIRBAG SERVICE STARTED APPEARING RANDOMLY. AT FIRST IT WOULD TURN ON AND OFF; NOW IT CONSTANTLY APPEARS. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO USED CAR DEALER THAT I BOUGHT CAR FROM; THEY INSTRUCTED ME TO CALL GENERAL MOTORS BECAUSE IT APPEARS AS A SAFETY ISSUE AFTER THEY INVESTIGATED IT. GENERAL MOTORS TOLD ME IT WAS NOT A RECALL, YET THEY WERE AWARE IT IS A SERVICE ISSUE MULTIPLE PEOPLE WITH THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL HAVE DEALT WITH. THEY INSTRUCTED ME TO TAKE IT TO NEAREST CHEVY DEALER TO HAVE IT SERVICES AT A UNREASONABLE COST. CALLED LOCAL CHEVY DEALER THEY WANTED DIAGNOSING PAYMENT PLUS PAYMENT TO SERVICE THE VEHICLE. I DID NOT TAKE VEHICLE TO CHEVY BECAUSE THE PRICING IS OUTRAGEOUS, THIS ISSUE HAS OCCURRED WITH MULTIPLE VEHICLES OR THE SAME YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL. IT IS OBVIOUSLY A SAFETY ISSUE THAT GM SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR. OTHERS HAVE WRITTEN ONLINE ABOUT PAYING FOR THE SERVICE AND IT OCCURRING AGAIN OR EVEN ACCIDENTS OCCURRING WITH AIRBAG MALFUNCTIONS.

View Details

STEERING

6/28/2019 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
I HAD BEEN DRIVING MY CAR FOR ABOUT A HALF HOUR PARKED. WENT IN THE HOUSE FOR HALF HOUR CAME BACK TO THE CAR TO GO OUT STARTED THE CAR THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON. I WENT TO TURN THE WHEEL IT SO HAD TO TURN SO I TURNED IT OFF. WENT UNDER THE HOOD TO SEE WHERE THE POWER STEERING FLUID WENT COULDN'T FIND IT. WHAT WRONG WITH MY CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/26/2019 - SAN DIEGO, CA
AIRBAG LIGHT ON,TURNS LIGHTS NOT WORKING

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/26/2019 - SAN DIEGO, CA
AIRBAG LIGHT ON,TURNS LIGHTS NOT WORKING

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/18/2019 - BELLEVUE, NE
THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT COMES ON RANDOMLY. WHILE LIT THE AIRBAGS WILL NOT FUNCTION. IT HAS BEEN LOOKED AT BY A CHEVROLET DEALER AT LEAST TWICE (12/2010 AND 2/2011). BOTH OF THOSE TIMES THE ERROR CODE WAS B0020. IT HAS BEEN TAKEN TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC ON 8/2015 AND CODES B1370, B0081, AND B0020 SHOWED. THE PROBLEM WAS ALWAYS FIXED, TEMPORARILY, BY APPLYING CONNECTOR GREASE TO THE WIRE CONNECTIONS. ON 9/2017, THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE PASSENGER SEATBELT RETRACTOR. THIS ALSO FIXED THE PROBLEM TEMPORARILY. BY PAYING CLOSE ATTENTION TO WHEN THE WARNING LIGHT COMES ON WE HAVE DETERMINED THAT THE SENSOR IS AFFECTED BY THE INTERIOR TEMPERATURE OF THE CAR. WHEN THE TEMPERATURE IS ABOVE APPROXIMATELY 65F THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND RENDERS THE SAFETY OF THE AIRBAGS USELESS! I HAVE YET TO FIND ANY PERMANENT FIX FOR THE ISSUE. HOWEVER THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS BY OTHERS ONLINE. IT SEEMS UNACCEPTABLE TO ME THAT A VITAL PIECE OF SAFETY EQUIPMENT IS MALFUNCTIONING YET THE MANUFACTURER/DEALER WILL NOT TAKE ANY STEPS TO FIX IT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/11/2019 - ALGONQUIN, IL
THERE IS AN OBSERVED LEAK ON DRIVER SIDE, IN FRONT OF THE REAR TIRE. SMELL OF GAS IS PROMINENT WHEN PARKED. GAS IS DRIPPING FROM FUEL LINES ATTACHED TO FRAME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/8/2019 - MARION, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE PARKING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT SMELLED THE ODOR OF FUEL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS CONSUMING MORE FUEL THAN NORMAL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000. THE VIN WAS INVALID.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/23/2019 - VINTON, IA
THIS CAR HAS A RECALL ALREADY IN REGARDS TO FUEL LEAKAGE BUT ONLY FOR VEHICLES IN CERTAIN STATES. MY CAR LEAKS FUEL AND THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME I HAVE HAD TO CORRECT AN ISSUE WITH THE FUEL, AS WITHIN THE PAST TWO YEARS I HAD TO REPLACE THE FUEL LINE FOR THE SAME ISSUE. THIS RECALL SHOULD BE FOR ALL COBALTS AS I HAVE THE SAME ISSUE AS THOSE IN ARC, AZ, ETC. I HAVE LIVED AND HAD MY VEHICLE REGISTERED IN TX AS WELL. THIS ISSUE MAKES IT WHERE THE CAR LEAKS GAS ONTO THE PAVEMENT WHEN STATIONARY OR COME TO A STOP. THE CAR RUNS HARD DUE TO LEAKING FUEL AND AFRAID IT WILL RUN OUT OF GAS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 185
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds