Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COBALT - 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 1452 complaints filed for the 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (133) Equipment Adaptive (3) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (11)
Electrical System (273) Exterior Lighting (12) Parking Brake (8) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (3)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel Propulsion System (249) Power Train (42) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (21)
Engine (46) Fuel System Gasoline (153) Seat Belts (12) Steering (647) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (2) Structure (19) Visibility (6)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes (24) Suspension (76) Wheels (13)

Pages:  
<<  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  >>  ... 147
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/28/2016 - LAWRENCE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS AND ALSO WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, FUEL FUMES EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE A FUEL LEAK WAS NOTICED; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 165,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/21/2016 - GREENVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR. UPON INSPECTION, THE CONTACT NOTICED FUEL LEAKING ON THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER PRIOR TO THE CONTACT'S INSPECTION WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS FINE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 65,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

STEERING

9/13/2016 - GAS CITY, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V073000 (STEERING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/4/2016 - BENTON, MO
I HAVE 07 COBALT WITH 45000 MILES ON IT HAS A RATTLE IN STEERING COLUMN, ELECTRIC MOTOR WAS REPLACED BY RECALL, NOW PLASTIC GEAR IS WORN CAUSING NOISE. REQIRES COLUM BEING REPLACE AT A COST OG $800.00 FOR PART PLUS LABOR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/2/2016 - RIVERVIEW, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXPERIENCING FUEL LEAKAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND LEAKED FUEL. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DANGEROUS AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS EXPERIENCING THE SAME FAILURE AS LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 09V419000 AND 15V459000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 187,667.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/29/2016 - CORNISH, ME
STRONG FUEL SMELL IN AND AROUND THE CAR FOR THE LAST MONTH WHILE PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY, TODAY I SEE PUDDLE OF FUEL IN FRONT OF LEFT REAR TIRE, I CRAWLED UNDER THE CAR AND SEE GAS RUNNING DOWN THE GAS LINE, REMOVED THE HEAT SHIELD AROUND THE GAS LINE TO SEE GAS LINES HAVE EXCESSIVE RUST BEHIND THE HEAT SHIELD AND GAS RUNNING OUT ALL OVER THE PLACE. IT'S NOT FROM THE GAS TANK LIKE THE RECALL, IT'S FROM THE GAS LINE ITSELF LEAKING AND IS A VERY DANGEROUS TO ANYONE WALKING BY SMOKING OR CHILDREN PLAYING THAT MAY CAUSE A SPARK YET I CAN'T FIND A RECALL BUT SEE LOTS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS WHILE LOOKING FOR RECALLS. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE ABOUT THIS BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED BY THIS. I PUT A PAN UNDER THE LEAK BUT IT IS STILL OPEN GAS AND A LOT OF FUMES THAT COULD IGNITE. I'M VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE BODILY HARM IS DONE. THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/26/2016 - BONO, AR
WHEN THE 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT IS BEING DRIVEN OR SITTING STILL, THERE IS A STRONG ODOR OF GASOLINE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID IT IS A LEAK IN THE FUEL SYSTEM. THEY STATED THAT THIS ISSUE IS COVERED UNDER A SAFETY RECALL, BUT BECAUSE THE VEHICLE TITLE IS SHOWING SALVAGED, THEY CANNOT MAKE THE REPAIR WITHOUT A COPY OF A RECALL LETTER THAT WE SHOULD HAVE RECEIVED. I CONTACTED GM CUSTOMER SERVICE TO FIND OUT IF I SHOULD HAVE RECEIVED A LETTER AND THEY SAID I WOULD NOT NEED A LETTER. THEY CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND WERE TOLD ABOUT THE TITLE. AFTER THAT, THEY STATED THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE REPAIRS. IF THIS IS A KNOW SAFETY ISSUE (NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V459000 & NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V419000 ), WHAT DOES THE TITLE HAVE TO DO WITH NEEDING TO REPAIR A KNOWN PROBLEM. WE HAVE RECEIVED OTHER SAFETY RECALLS (NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14E021000, NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V171000, NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V047000 & NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V07300) AND THEY HAVE MADE THESE REPAIRS. SINCE THIS IS THE VEHICLE MY DAUGHTER DRIVES TO COLLEGE, I AM CONCERNED FOR HER SAFETY. THE DEALERSHIP IS SAYING THAT SHE DOES NOT NEED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BUT WE CANNOT AFFORD THE REPAIRS RIGHT NOW.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2016 - CYPRESS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 169,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/15/2016 - BOLIGEE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS NO PHYSICAL EVIDENCE OF A FUEL LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V459000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/12/2016 - DAYTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHEVROLET COBALT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EMITTED A FUEL ODOR. A CERTIFIED MECHANIC STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING FUEL ONTO THE EXHAUST PIPE. THE CERTIFIED MECHANIC ALSO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE AXLE FUEL LINES HAD SEVERE CORROSION. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE AXLE FUEL LINES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  19  20  21  22  >>  ... 147
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds