Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 300 - 2007 CHRYSLER 300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 230 complaints filed for the 2007 CHRYSLER 300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHRYSLER 300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHRYSLER 300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (2)
Electrical System (23) Equipment Adaptive (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (139) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (15) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (2) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (7) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/18/2014 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
DRIVING 60 MILES PER HOUR ON A HOUSTON,TEXAS CROWDED AND BUSY FREEWAY. MY CHRYSLER 300 CAUGHT ON FIRE IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THICK BLACK SMOKE AND A STRONG SMELL OF BURNING OF BURNING PLASTIC. THE CAR CAUSED CARS TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A 5 LANE FREEWAY BECAUSE OF THE THICK SMOKE. MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED SO LOSS OF STEERING,BRAKES BECAME MUSHY. RIGHT BEFORE THE LOUD BOOM FIRE AND SMOKE. THE CHECK ENGINE DISPLAYED AND THEN THE OTHER LIGHTS IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND SOUND OF A POP THEN BOOM OF SMOKE ALL WITHIN APPROX 5 SECONDS. IT HAPPENED REALLY FAST. I HAVE NO SPECIAL EQUIPMENT. NO REWIRING OF STEREO EQUIPMENT OR ANY OTHER KIND OF REWIRING. ALL FACTORY PARTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2014 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
DRIVING 60 MILES PER HOUR ON A HOUSTON,TEXAS CROWDED AND BUSY FREEWAY. MY CHRYSLER 300 CAUGHT ON FIRE IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THICK BLACK SMOKE AND A STRONG SMELL OF BURNING OF BURNING PLASTIC. THE CAR CAUSED CARS TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A 5 LANE FREEWAY BECAUSE OF THE THICK SMOKE. MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED SO LOSS OF STEERING,BRAKES BECAME MUSHY. RIGHT BEFORE THE LOUD BOOM FIRE AND SMOKE. THE CHECK ENGINE DISPLAYED AND THEN THE OTHER LIGHTS IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND SOUND OF A POP THEN BOOM OF SMOKE ALL WITHIN APPROX 5 SECONDS. IT HAPPENED REALLY FAST. I HAVE NO SPECIAL EQUIPMENT. NO REWIRING OF STEREO EQUIPMENT OR ANY OTHER KIND OF REWIRING. ALL FACTORY PARTS.

View Details

ENGINE

10/18/2014 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
DRIVING 60 MILES PER HOUR ON A HOUSTON,TEXAS CROWDED AND BUSY FREEWAY. MY CHRYSLER 300 CAUGHT ON FIRE IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THICK BLACK SMOKE AND A STRONG SMELL OF BURNING OF BURNING PLASTIC. THE CAR CAUSED CARS TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A 5 LANE FREEWAY BECAUSE OF THE THICK SMOKE. MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED SO LOSS OF STEERING,BRAKES BECAME MUSHY. RIGHT BEFORE THE LOUD BOOM FIRE AND SMOKE. THE CHECK ENGINE DISPLAYED AND THEN THE OTHER LIGHTS IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND SOUND OF A POP THEN BOOM OF SMOKE ALL WITHIN APPROX 5 SECONDS. IT HAPPENED REALLY FAST. I HAVE NO SPECIAL EQUIPMENT. NO REWIRING OF STEREO EQUIPMENT OR ANY OTHER KIND OF REWIRING. ALL FACTORY PARTS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/8/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN AT A STOP AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE ENGINE RPMS ERRONEOUSLY INCREASED AND THE VEHICLE WOULD EXPERIENCE UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000. DJR

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/29/2014 - LAURENS, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE DROVE THROUGH A RED LIGHT AND CRASHED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE EXCESSIVE INTERNAL PRESSURE THAT CAUSED THE AIR BAGS TO RUPTURE PRODUCED METAL FRAGMENTS THAT STRUCK THE PASSENGER. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BROKEN NECK AND A BADLY BRUISED AND SWOLLEN FACE. THE DRIVER SUFFERED FROM LOSS OF MEMORY AND SUSTAINED A HEADACHE FOR THREE MONTHS. BOTH THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V354000 (AIR BAGS). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000...UPDATED 10/15/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

9/26/2014 - DETROIT , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/23/2014 - SAN BANITO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/22/2014 - ODENTON, MD
SINCE FEB 2012, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL (ETC) LIGHT COMES ON WHEN THE CAR IS FIRST STARTED & IDLING. AFTER THE CAR WARMS UP & IS RESTARTED, IT SEEMS TO RUN OK. IF I TRY TO DRIVE THE CAR BEFORE IT WARMS UP, THE ETC & THE ANTI-LOCK BREAK LIGHTS COME ON. THE ENGINE LOSES POWER & CONTROL OF THE STEERING & BRAKES. AFTER A COUPLE OCCURRENCES, ON 21 FEB 2012, I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER (TATE DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP, INC. IN GLEN BURNIE, MD). AFTER BEING AT THE DEALER FOR 2 WKS & $180 IN SERVICE FEES, THE PROBLEM WAS NOT RESOLVED. SINCE 2012, THE PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED TO OCCUR MORE OFTEN. NOW IT OCCURS EVERY TIME I START THE CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/22/2014 - ODENTON, MD
SINCE FEB 2012, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL (ETC) LIGHT COMES ON WHEN THE CAR IS FIRST STARTED & IDLING. AFTER THE CAR WARMS UP & IS RESTARTED, IT SEEMS TO RUN OK. IF I TRY TO DRIVE THE CAR BEFORE IT WARMS UP, THE ETC & THE ANTI-LOCK BREAK LIGHTS COME ON. THE ENGINE LOSES POWER & CONTROL OF THE STEERING & BRAKES. AFTER A COUPLE OCCURRENCES, ON 21 FEB 2012, I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER (TATE DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP, INC. IN GLEN BURNIE, MD). AFTER BEING AT THE DEALER FOR 2 WKS & $180 IN SERVICE FEES, THE PROBLEM WAS NOT RESOLVED. SINCE 2012, THE PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED TO OCCUR MORE OFTEN. NOW IT OCCURS EVERY TIME I START THE CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

9/21/2014 - GILBERT, AZ
WHEN DRIVING MY CAR THERE WAS NO INDICATION FROM THE PANEL THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM; CAR COMPLETELY SHUT OFF MOTOR OVER HEATED, CAR DOES NOT RUN AT ALL. THE PANEL OF THE CAR DID NOT SHOW ANYTHING AT ALL CAR COULD HAVE EASILY CAUGHT ON FIRE WITH ME LOCKED IN IT FAILURE OF THE SYSTEM OF THE VEHICLE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds