Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER 300 - 2007 CHRYSLER 300 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 231 complaints filed for the 2007 CHRYSLER 300

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHRYSLER 300. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHRYSLER 300, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (2)
Electrical System (24) Equipment Adaptive (4) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (139) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (2) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (7) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/21/2014 - ERWIN, NC
I SWITCHED MY CAR OFF TO PUMP GAS. WHEN I GOT INTO MY CAR TO TURN IN THE CAR MY KEY THE MOTOR WOULDN'T TURN OVER. ITS LIKE MY CAR JUST POWERED OFF. MY KEY WAS VERY LOOSE OUT IN THE IGNITION AND IT WASN'T MAKING CLICK SOUNDS LIKE IT NORMALLY DID AFTER YOU SWITCH THE KEY OUT OF THE LOCK POSITION. MY CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THE DEALERSHIP SAID MY IGNITION HOUSING WAS SHATTERED. MY CAR WAS WORKING PERFECTLY FINE THE ENTIRE DAY. CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP HAVE BEEN HAVING RECALLS ON THE IGNITION SWITCHES. I THINK THIS PROBLEM SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2014 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
DRIVING 60 MILES PER HOUR ON A HOUSTON,TEXAS CROWDED AND BUSY FREEWAY. MY CHRYSLER 300 CAUGHT ON FIRE IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THICK BLACK SMOKE AND A STRONG SMELL OF BURNING OF BURNING PLASTIC. THE CAR CAUSED CARS TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A 5 LANE FREEWAY BECAUSE OF THE THICK SMOKE. MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED SO LOSS OF STEERING,BRAKES BECAME MUSHY. RIGHT BEFORE THE LOUD BOOM FIRE AND SMOKE. THE CHECK ENGINE DISPLAYED AND THEN THE OTHER LIGHTS IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND SOUND OF A POP THEN BOOM OF SMOKE ALL WITHIN APPROX 5 SECONDS. IT HAPPENED REALLY FAST. I HAVE NO SPECIAL EQUIPMENT. NO REWIRING OF STEREO EQUIPMENT OR ANY OTHER KIND OF REWIRING. ALL FACTORY PARTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/18/2014 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
DRIVING 60 MILES PER HOUR ON A HOUSTON,TEXAS CROWDED AND BUSY FREEWAY. MY CHRYSLER 300 CAUGHT ON FIRE IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THICK BLACK SMOKE AND A STRONG SMELL OF BURNING OF BURNING PLASTIC. THE CAR CAUSED CARS TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A 5 LANE FREEWAY BECAUSE OF THE THICK SMOKE. MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED SO LOSS OF STEERING,BRAKES BECAME MUSHY. RIGHT BEFORE THE LOUD BOOM FIRE AND SMOKE. THE CHECK ENGINE DISPLAYED AND THEN THE OTHER LIGHTS IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND SOUND OF A POP THEN BOOM OF SMOKE ALL WITHIN APPROX 5 SECONDS. IT HAPPENED REALLY FAST. I HAVE NO SPECIAL EQUIPMENT. NO REWIRING OF STEREO EQUIPMENT OR ANY OTHER KIND OF REWIRING. ALL FACTORY PARTS.

View Details

ENGINE

10/18/2014 - MISSOURI CITY, TX
DRIVING 60 MILES PER HOUR ON A HOUSTON,TEXAS CROWDED AND BUSY FREEWAY. MY CHRYSLER 300 CAUGHT ON FIRE IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THICK BLACK SMOKE AND A STRONG SMELL OF BURNING OF BURNING PLASTIC. THE CAR CAUSED CARS TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP ON A 5 LANE FREEWAY BECAUSE OF THE THICK SMOKE. MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED SO LOSS OF STEERING,BRAKES BECAME MUSHY. RIGHT BEFORE THE LOUD BOOM FIRE AND SMOKE. THE CHECK ENGINE DISPLAYED AND THEN THE OTHER LIGHTS IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND SOUND OF A POP THEN BOOM OF SMOKE ALL WITHIN APPROX 5 SECONDS. IT HAPPENED REALLY FAST. I HAVE NO SPECIAL EQUIPMENT. NO REWIRING OF STEREO EQUIPMENT OR ANY OTHER KIND OF REWIRING. ALL FACTORY PARTS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/8/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE ENGINE RPMS ERRONEOUSLY INCREASED AND THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE ENGINE RPMS ERRONEOUSLY INCREASED AND THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED UNINTENDED ACCELERATION. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/29/2014 - LAURENS, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE DROVE THROUGH A RED LIGHT AND CRASHED INTO THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE EXCESSIVE INTERNAL PRESSURE THAT CAUSED THE AIR BAGS TO RUPTURE PRODUCED METAL FRAGMENTS THAT STRUCK THE PASSENGER. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BROKEN NECK AND A BADLY BRUISED AND SWOLLEN FACE. THE DRIVER SUFFERED FROM LOSS OF MEMORY AND SUSTAINED A HEADACHE FOR THREE MONTHS. BOTH THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V354000 (AIR BAGS). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000...UPDATED 10/15/14 UPDATED 11/21/14

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

9/26/2014 - DETROIT , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 117,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/23/2014 - SAN BANITO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER 300. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/22/2014 - ODENTON, MD
SINCE FEB 2012, THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL (ETC) LIGHT COMES ON WHEN THE CAR IS FIRST STARTED & IDLING. AFTER THE CAR WARMS UP & IS RESTARTED, IT SEEMS TO RUN OK. IF I TRY TO DRIVE THE CAR BEFORE IT WARMS UP, THE ETC & THE ANTI-LOCK BREAK LIGHTS COME ON. THE ENGINE LOSES POWER & CONTROL OF THE STEERING & BRAKES. AFTER A COUPLE OCCURRENCES, ON 21 FEB 2012, I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER (TATE DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP, INC. IN GLEN BURNIE, MD). AFTER BEING AT THE DEALER FOR 2 WKS & $180 IN SERVICE FEES, THE PROBLEM WAS NOT RESOLVED. SINCE 2012, THE PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED TO OCCUR MORE OFTEN. NOW IT OCCURS EVERY TIME I START THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds