Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 103 complaints filed for the 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (13) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (4) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/19/2015 - STOCKTON, CA
AS WITH THE OTHER IDENTICAL COMPLAINTS, REGARDING MANUAL TRANSMISSION SHIFTING AND, WHEN THE TEMPERATURE IS ABOVE 80 DEGREES SHIFTING GEARS BECOMES VERY DIFFICULT AND AT TIMES IMPOSSIBLE. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED YEARS AGO AND HAS ALWAYS BEEN THERE. IT'S AS IF THE BUSHINGS IN THE SHIFT MECHANISM EXPAND WHEN HEATED AND THE SHIFTER STICKS IN ITS CURRENT GEAR; WITH GREAT FORCE YOU CAN KNOCK IT OUT AND WITH GREAT FORCE YOU CAN RE-ENGAGE. THE NEXT MORNING AT 50 DEGREES THE SHIFTER WORKS PROPERLY ONCE AGAIN. LATER IN THE DAY ABOVE 80 DEGREES THE PROBLEM RE-OCCURS; THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME THE TEMPERATURE IS ABOVE 80 DEGREES. THE RESULTING HAZARD LEAVES YOU STUCK IN TRAFFIC UNABLE TO SHIFT GEARS, WHICH IN TURN MAKES YOU A HAZARD TO OTHER DRIVERS. I HAVE HAD TWO NEAR MISS (REAR END) COLLISIONS AS A RESULT. CHRYSLER STOPPED PRODUCTION OF THE MANUAL TRANSMISSION PT TWO YEARS BEFORE DISCONTINUING THE AUTOMATIC PT. THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM BY THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY SHOULD HAVE ISSUED A RECALL. CHRYSLER DID NOT AND AS A RESULT I'M SURE THE OTHER AFFECTED CUSTOMERS DID AS I HAVE DONE AND WALKED AWAY FROM THE BRAND. I'VE PURCHASED 4 VEHICLES SINCE THAT TIME AND THEY WERE CERTAINLY NOT A CHRYSLER PRODUCT. THE LATTER IS COSTING CHRYSLER MORE THAN THE $300 IT WOULD HAVE COST TO CHANGE THE BUSHINGS TO A TYPE THAT IS NOT AFFECTED BY HEAT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/1/2015 - TITUSVILLE, FL
WITHOUT WARNING, THE ENGINE TURNS OFF AND ALL POWER IS LOST. THE IGNITION SWITCH DOES NOT MOVE. ONCE THE CARE IS STOPPED, YOU HAVE TO TURN THE KEY TO THE OFF POSITION AND THEN TURN IT BACK ON. WHEN PUT ON THE DEALER'S COMPUTER, THE COMPUTER ONLY SAYS "THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER." DEALER SUGGESTS PUTTING IN A NEW IGNITION BUT DOES NOT GUARANTEE THIS WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. THE CAR CAN NO LONGER BE TRUSTED ON THE HIGHWAY OR INTERSTATE. I CAN ONLY DRIVE IT IN TOWN AT SLOW SPEEDS SO I WON'T CAUSE A CRASH IF IT SUDDENLY DIES ON ME.

View Details

STEERING

6/1/2015 - TITUSVILLE, FL
WITHOUT WARNING, THE ENGINE TURNS OFF AND ALL POWER IS LOST. THE IGNITION SWITCH DOES NOT MOVE. ONCE THE CARE IS STOPPED, YOU HAVE TO TURN THE KEY TO THE OFF POSITION AND THEN TURN IT BACK ON. WHEN PUT ON THE DEALER'S COMPUTER, THE COMPUTER ONLY SAYS "THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER." DEALER SUGGESTS PUTTING IN A NEW IGNITION BUT DOES NOT GUARANTEE THIS WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. THE CAR CAN NO LONGER BE TRUSTED ON THE HIGHWAY OR INTERSTATE. I CAN ONLY DRIVE IT IN TOWN AT SLOW SPEEDS SO I WON'T CAUSE A CRASH IF IT SUDDENLY DIES ON ME.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/1/2015 - TITUSVILLE, FL
WITHOUT WARNING, THE ENGINE TURNS OFF AND ALL POWER IS LOST. THE IGNITION SWITCH DOES NOT MOVE. ONCE THE CARE IS STOPPED, YOU HAVE TO TURN THE KEY TO THE OFF POSITION AND THEN TURN IT BACK ON. WHEN PUT ON THE DEALER'S COMPUTER, THE COMPUTER ONLY SAYS "THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER." DEALER SUGGESTS PUTTING IN A NEW IGNITION BUT DOES NOT GUARANTEE THIS WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. THE CAR CAN NO LONGER BE TRUSTED ON THE HIGHWAY OR INTERSTATE. I CAN ONLY DRIVE IT IN TOWN AT SLOW SPEEDS SO I WON'T CAUSE A CRASH IF IT SUDDENLY DIES ON ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/14/2015 - ODESSA, MO
I WAS DRIVING THROUGH TOWN WHEN I SMELLED SOMETHING LIKE RUBBER BURNING, SAW SMOKE BILLOWING OUT FROM PASSENGER FRONT SIDE OF CAR. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OFF OF ROAD, TURNED CAR OFF & LOOKED TO SEE WHAT WAS CAUSING THIS. NO LEAKS OF ANY KIND. MY MECHANIC IS IN THE PROCESS OF REPAIRING MY PT. THE FRONT PASSENGER BRAKE SEIZED & BURNED UP MY CALIPER, ROTOR & BRAKE PADS. IT WAS SO HOT, IT LITERALLY MELTED PARTS. I CAME CLOSE TO A MAJOR FIRE & IT WAS A GOOD THING I WAS NOT ON A HIGHWAY. I HOPE THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. I DO NOT KNOW IF THERE WERE ANY RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE DUE TO BRAKE PROBLEMS- BUT I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW AS I FEEL THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/7/2015 - WISCONSIN DELLS , WI
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON (WHICH IT NEVER HAD BEFORE), AND WITHIN LESS THAN A MINUTE THE CAR CEASED UP, LOST POWER AND DIED. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY AS IT STARTED PUTTERING BEFORE CEASING COMPLETELY. THIS INCIDENT HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST FOUR MORE TIMES SINCE ORIGINAL DATE. I HAD THE MOTOR TESTED AT THE AUTO BODY SHOP AND THE SAID THE CAM SENSOR NEEDS CHECKED BUT THE ENGINE IS BURNING MY OIL UP AND SINCE THIS HAPPENED AND HAS HAD TO HAVE OIL PUT IN 3 TIMES SINCE THEN IN ORDER TO MAKE IT RUN WHEN IT STOPS. JUST LAST MONTH I SPENT OVER 500.00 REPLACING THE RADIATOR AND POWER STEERING LINES WHICH I WAS INFORMED WAS PART OF A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE BUT WAS NOT COVERED SINCE IT DIDN'T APPLY TO MY VIN #. I AM SCARED BECAUSE I HAVE CHILDREN I DRIVE WITH AND BECAUSE I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP REPAIRING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH IS MY ONLY MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION. THE VEHICLE WAS PAID FOR IN CASH IN FULL AND HAS NO RECOURSE FROM THE DEALER OR SO I WAS TOLD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2015 - WISCONSIN DELLS , WI
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON (WHICH IT NEVER HAD BEFORE), AND WITHIN LESS THAN A MINUTE THE CAR CEASED UP, LOST POWER AND DIED. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY AS IT STARTED PUTTERING BEFORE CEASING COMPLETELY. THIS INCIDENT HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST FOUR MORE TIMES SINCE ORIGINAL DATE. I HAD THE MOTOR TESTED AT THE AUTO BODY SHOP AND THE SAID THE CAM SENSOR NEEDS CHECKED BUT THE ENGINE IS BURNING MY OIL UP AND SINCE THIS HAPPENED AND HAS HAD TO HAVE OIL PUT IN 3 TIMES SINCE THEN IN ORDER TO MAKE IT RUN WHEN IT STOPS. JUST LAST MONTH I SPENT OVER 500.00 REPLACING THE RADIATOR AND POWER STEERING LINES WHICH I WAS INFORMED WAS PART OF A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE BUT WAS NOT COVERED SINCE IT DIDN'T APPLY TO MY VIN #. I AM SCARED BECAUSE I HAVE CHILDREN I DRIVE WITH AND BECAUSE I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP REPAIRING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH IS MY ONLY MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION. THE VEHICLE WAS PAID FOR IN CASH IN FULL AND HAS NO RECOURSE FROM THE DEALER OR SO I WAS TOLD.

View Details

STEERING

4/7/2015 - WISCONSIN DELLS , WI
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY WHEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON (WHICH IT NEVER HAD BEFORE), AND WITHIN LESS THAN A MINUTE THE CAR CEASED UP, LOST POWER AND DIED. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY AS IT STARTED PUTTERING BEFORE CEASING COMPLETELY. THIS INCIDENT HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST FOUR MORE TIMES SINCE ORIGINAL DATE. I HAD THE MOTOR TESTED AT THE AUTO BODY SHOP AND THE SAID THE CAM SENSOR NEEDS CHECKED BUT THE ENGINE IS BURNING MY OIL UP AND SINCE THIS HAPPENED AND HAS HAD TO HAVE OIL PUT IN 3 TIMES SINCE THEN IN ORDER TO MAKE IT RUN WHEN IT STOPS. JUST LAST MONTH I SPENT OVER 500.00 REPLACING THE RADIATOR AND POWER STEERING LINES WHICH I WAS INFORMED WAS PART OF A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE BUT WAS NOT COVERED SINCE IT DIDN'T APPLY TO MY VIN #. I AM SCARED BECAUSE I HAVE CHILDREN I DRIVE WITH AND BECAUSE I CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP REPAIRING THIS VEHICLE, WHICH IS MY ONLY MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION. THE VEHICLE WAS PAID FOR IN CASH IN FULL AND HAS NO RECOURSE FROM THE DEALER OR SO I WAS TOLD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/26/2015 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE VEHICLE FAILED CHANGE GEARS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/23/2015 - LIVONIA, MI
I DRIVE A 2007 T CUISER AND HAVE ON AND OFF AGAIN ISSUES WITH MY CENTER DASHBOARD LIGHTS COMING ON AND GAUGES GOING UP AND DOWN. ENGINE ALMOST STALLS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AND THE MECHANICS CANNOT FIND ANY ISSUES WITH WIRING, GROUNDING, BATTERY, ALTERNATOR, SWITCHES, ETC. HAPPENS AT ANY TIME. WILL BE FINE FOR A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME AND THEN IT WILL START TO DO IT AGAIN. THIS TAKES PLACE SITTING STILL AND IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. CHRYSLER BETTER TAKE NOTE AND FIGURE THIS OUT OR THEY WILL HAVE A HUGE LAWSUIT LIKE WHAT IS GOING ON WITH GM. MANY PEOPLE WITH THE SAME COMPLAINTS; HOW IS IT NO ONE IS CONCERNED? SCARED TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds