Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER PT CRUISER - 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 116 complaints filed for the 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (14) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seat Belts (5) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/25/2016 - CLAYTON, LA
THE LOCK ON THE BACK GATE WILL RANDOMLY DISENGAGE. THIS CAUSES THE INTERIOR DOME LIGHT TO COME ON AND DRAIN THE BATTERY. I FIND THAT IT MAINLY HAPPENS WHEN CLOSING THE DOORS WITH ALL THE WINDOWS ROLLED UP. IF A WINDOW IS DOWN, IT DOES NOT HAPPEN AS OFTEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/5/2016 - GOODYEAR, AZ
THE BACK GATE LOCK POPS OPEN BUT IT DOESN'T COME OPEN IT JUST CLICKS WHICH MAKES THE DOME LIGHT GO ON AND SAYS GATE AJAR IT DOES THIS RANDOMLY IN MOTION OR NOT I HAVE NO WAY OF A PICTURE TAKEN OR SENDING DOCUM.

View Details

ENGINE

3/29/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
MY 2007 PT CRUISER WITH 17,340 MILES (YES, THAT'S CORRECT), STARTED LEAKING A GOOD AMOUNT OF OIL. RESEARCHED AND FOUND THIS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH SOME FOLKS GETTING STRANDED ON HIGHWAY WHEN CAR DROPPED ALL OF ITS OIL, BROUGHT TO DEALER. THE INVOICE STATES THE FOLLOWING: "CUSTOMER STATES VEHICLE IS LEAKING OIL. VERIFIED THE CONCERN. FOUND OIL LEAKING FROM CAM AND CRANK SEALS. DISASSEMBLED ENGINE TO REPLACE SEALS, AND FOUND EXCESSIVE CRANK SHAFT END PLAY, CAUSING THE CRANKSHAFT SEAL TO PUSH OUT. INSPECTED MOTOR, FOUND BROKEN THRUST WASHERS AND DAMAGE TO THE CRANKSHAFT. REPLACE THE ENGINE AND RECHECK, NO MORE OIL LEAKS." AND THAT'S WHAT THEY DID...TOTAL COST, INCLUDING TAX WAS $6,055. THIS WAS NOT AN EASY DECISION. CHECKING ONLINE, I FOUND IT TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM. BASED ON WHAT I READ, I ASKED DEALER TO REPLACE WITH A SHORT BLOCK. SAID THEY ARE NO LONGER MADE. CAR IS ONLY WORTH ABOUT 6K BUT THERE'S NO WAY I COULD AFFORD A NEW CAR. THIS WAY I DO HAVE A 3 YR WARRANTY ON THE NEW ENGINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/20/2016 - YUCAIPA, CA
THE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE DEALER WOULD NOT WORK WITH ME. THEY WANT TO CHARGE $550 DOLLARS TO FIX THE AIR BAG. BUT SAID THAT IT MAY BE MORE TO FIX IT AS OF MARCH 9TH 2015 MANY AIR BAGS HAVE BEEN REPORTED TO NHTSA FROM CHRYSLER CORP. THE WHOLE CAR IS A MESS WITH MANY BRAKE DOWNS. THE CAR WAS MOVING WHEN IT BROKE DOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

2/2/2016 - COMPTON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK AND THE ENGINE REVVED. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/17/2015 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
PASSENGER AIR BAG STAYS ILLUMINATED AND RINGS EVERY 5 SECONDS EVEN WHEN A PASSENGER IS THERE OR NOT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/2/2015 - SIERRA VISTA, AZ
DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON A HIGHWAY, APPROACHING THE CITY, WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON. WEATHER CLEAR AND SUNNY. HIGHWAY TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT. MY SPEED WAS AT AROUND 70 MPH. THE DRIVER APPARENTLY DECIDED TO EXIT THE RAMP AS IT WAS LINED WITH VEHICLES. THE DRIVER PULLED OUT OF RAMP AND STEERED TO LEFT LANE ON HIGHWAY, IN FRONT OF ME. I HAD TO BRAKE SUDDENLY TO AVOID COLLISION. MY CAR SUDDENLY SKIDDED AND SPUN AROUND ONCE, WITH RUBBER BURNING FROM TIRES. MY VEHICLE NEARLY CRASHED AGAINST THE RAIL AS MY CAR SKIDDED FOR 2ND TIME TO STOP. NO INJURIES OR PROPERTY DAMAGES. INSPECTED MY CAR LATER AT GAS STATION. DID NOT DETECT ANY VISUAL PROBLEMS. COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHY MY CAR SKIDDED AND SPUN AROUND ON HIGHWAY. AFTER THE SHOPPING TRIP, I DROVE HOME WITH NO INCIDENTS. AS I PULLED IN HOME, THERE WAS SMOKE COMING OUT OF UNDER HOOD. MY CAR WAS INSPECTED BY TWO MECHANICS, FROM SEPARATE TIME AND LOCATION, AND I WAS TOLD MY COOLING FAN BROKE. POSSIBLE THAT THE INCIDENT LEADED THE FAN TO SHUT DOWN DUE TO MECHANICAL ERROR, THE FIRST MECHANIC SAID. COST TO REPLACE THE COOLING FAN AND LABOR CAN RUN AS HIGH AS $400. ALSO, THE AIRBAG LIGHT, ON DASHBOARD, STAYS ON MOST OF TIME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/2/2015 - SIERRA VISTA, AZ
DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON A HIGHWAY, APPROACHING THE CITY, WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON. WEATHER CLEAR AND SUNNY. HIGHWAY TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT. MY SPEED WAS AT AROUND 70 MPH. THE DRIVER APPARENTLY DECIDED TO EXIT THE RAMP AS IT WAS LINED WITH VEHICLES. THE DRIVER PULLED OUT OF RAMP AND STEERED TO LEFT LANE ON HIGHWAY, IN FRONT OF ME. I HAD TO BRAKE SUDDENLY TO AVOID COLLISION. MY CAR SUDDENLY SKIDDED AND SPUN AROUND ONCE, WITH RUBBER BURNING FROM TIRES. MY VEHICLE NEARLY CRASHED AGAINST THE RAIL AS MY CAR SKIDDED FOR 2ND TIME TO STOP. NO INJURIES OR PROPERTY DAMAGES. INSPECTED MY CAR LATER AT GAS STATION. DID NOT DETECT ANY VISUAL PROBLEMS. COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHY MY CAR SKIDDED AND SPUN AROUND ON HIGHWAY. AFTER THE SHOPPING TRIP, I DROVE HOME WITH NO INCIDENTS. AS I PULLED IN HOME, THERE WAS SMOKE COMING OUT OF UNDER HOOD. MY CAR WAS INSPECTED BY TWO MECHANICS, FROM SEPARATE TIME AND LOCATION, AND I WAS TOLD MY COOLING FAN BROKE. POSSIBLE THAT THE INCIDENT LEADED THE FAN TO SHUT DOWN DUE TO MECHANICAL ERROR, THE FIRST MECHANIC SAID. COST TO REPLACE THE COOLING FAN AND LABOR CAN RUN AS HIGH AS $400. ALSO, THE AIRBAG LIGHT, ON DASHBOARD, STAYS ON MOST OF TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/2/2015 - SIERRA VISTA, AZ
DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON A HIGHWAY, APPROACHING THE CITY, WITH CRUISE CONTROL ON. WEATHER CLEAR AND SUNNY. HIGHWAY TRAFFIC WAS LIGHT. MY SPEED WAS AT AROUND 70 MPH. THE DRIVER APPARENTLY DECIDED TO EXIT THE RAMP AS IT WAS LINED WITH VEHICLES. THE DRIVER PULLED OUT OF RAMP AND STEERED TO LEFT LANE ON HIGHWAY, IN FRONT OF ME. I HAD TO BRAKE SUDDENLY TO AVOID COLLISION. MY CAR SUDDENLY SKIDDED AND SPUN AROUND ONCE, WITH RUBBER BURNING FROM TIRES. MY VEHICLE NEARLY CRASHED AGAINST THE RAIL AS MY CAR SKIDDED FOR 2ND TIME TO STOP. NO INJURIES OR PROPERTY DAMAGES. INSPECTED MY CAR LATER AT GAS STATION. DID NOT DETECT ANY VISUAL PROBLEMS. COULD NOT FIGURE OUT WHY MY CAR SKIDDED AND SPUN AROUND ON HIGHWAY. AFTER THE SHOPPING TRIP, I DROVE HOME WITH NO INCIDENTS. AS I PULLED IN HOME, THERE WAS SMOKE COMING OUT OF UNDER HOOD. MY CAR WAS INSPECTED BY TWO MECHANICS, FROM SEPARATE TIME AND LOCATION, AND I WAS TOLD MY COOLING FAN BROKE. POSSIBLE THAT THE INCIDENT LEADED THE FAN TO SHUT DOWN DUE TO MECHANICAL ERROR, THE FIRST MECHANIC SAID. COST TO REPLACE THE COOLING FAN AND LABOR CAN RUN AS HIGH AS $400. ALSO, THE AIRBAG LIGHT, ON DASHBOARD, STAYS ON MOST OF TIME.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/20/2015 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 CHRYSLER PT CRUISER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG AND SEAT BELT WARNING LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED AND MADE A BEEPING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 146,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds