Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2007 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 136 complaints filed for the 2007 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Equipment (1) Power Train (24) Structure (3) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (4)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/2/2010 - PENSACOLA, FL
THE TRANSMISSION HAS QUIRKY RESPONSES WHEN PUT IN REVERSE OR DRIVE. THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME, BUT IT HAS HAPPENED ON A NUMBER OF OCCASIONS FOR AS LONG AS WE HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE. ANOTHER INCIDENT WE HAVE HAD WITH OUR VEHICLE WHILE TRAVELING HOME ONE AFTERNOON AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED WAS THE FEELING OF SOMEONE WHO HAD PUSHED REAL HARD ON THE BRAKE FOR A MOMENT. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS, I WAS THE DRIVER, AND MY FOOT WAS ON THE GAS PEDAL. WHILE THIS HAS HAPPENED ONLY ONCE, TO ME THAT IS ONCE TO MANY. WE REPORTED THIS LIKE WE HAD WITH THE OTHER QUIRKS THAT I HAD MENTIONED, ONLY TO BE TOLD THE SAME THING, THAT OUR COMPUTER DID NOT STORE ANY CODES, AND THEY COULD NOT GET THE VEHICLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. WE THEN TALKED TO THE MANUFACTURER WHO TOLD US THAT WE STILL HAD A WARRANTY AND NOT TO WORRY. AT THAT POINT I ASKED HIM WHAT WOULD HAPPEN ONCE THE WARRANTY EXPIRED, AND HIS RESPONSE WAS FOR ME TO PURCHASE ANOTHER WARRANTY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

2/2/2010 - HAREM, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. HE STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD OPERATE INTERMITTENTLY. WHILE DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF LESS THAN 60 MPH, IN HEAVY RAIN CONDITIONS, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. HE ALSO STATED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND NO REPAIRS WERE MADE, TO DATE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE UNDER 48,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER

2/2/2010 - HAREM, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. HE STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD OPERATE INTERMITTENTLY. WHILE DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF LESS THAN 60 MPH, IN HEAVY RAIN CONDITIONS, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. HE ALSO STATED THAT THE TURN SIGNALS WOULD FAIL INTERMITTENTLY. THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND NO REPAIRS WERE MADE, TO DATE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE UNDER 48,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/29/2010 - OMAHA, NE
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH AND ENGAGING THE BRAKE PEDAL THE PIN THAT CONNECTS TO THE PEDAL BROKE. THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A VEHICLE AHEAD OF HIM AND SUSTAINED INJURIES. THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO DAMAGED. A POLICE REPORT IS AVAILABLE IF NEEDED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER TO BE REPAIRED. A REPRESENTATIVE WITH THE INSURANCE COMPANY ALSO FILED A REPORT REGARDING THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: TRANSFER CASE (4-WHEEL DRIVE)

1/5/2010 - SENTEREACH, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSFER CASE SEAL STARTED TO ERODE WHICH CAUSED THE TRANSMISSION FLUID TO LEAK OUT OF THE VEHICLE. THE LEAK ALSO CAUSED THE TRANSFER CASE TO FAIL AND THE DIFFERENTIAL TO LOCK WHEN THE 4 WHEEL DRIVE MODE WAS ACTIVATED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE HE DIDN'T HAVE A FULL WARRANTY AGREEMENT. THE CONTACT IS CONCERNED THAT THE MANUFACTURER IS AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND WILL NOT AUTHORIZE THE REPAIR. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,980.

View Details

VISIBILITY

10/23/2009 - WEBSTER, NY
MY 2007 DODGE DAKOTA QUAD CAB 4X4 WINDSHIELD WIPER CONTROL MODULE FAILED DURING A RAIN SHOWER YESTERDAY. THIS ITEM HAS BEE A RECALL ON PAST DAKOTAS, BUT AFTER CONTACTING THE COMPANY I WAS INFORMED THAT THIS PICKUP WAS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST, ALTHOUGH THE PROBLEM IS EXACTLY AS DESCRIBED IN THE PREVIOUS RECALL BULLETIN: PICKUP TRUCKS AND SPORT UTILITY VEHICLES, THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MODULE MOTOR MAY BE SUSCEPTIBLE TO WATER INTRUSION THAT COULD CAUSE INTERNAL CORROSION AND RESULT IN PARTIAL OR COMPLETE LOSS OF FRONT WINDSHIELD WIPING CAPABILITY. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM, BUT I WAS CLOSE TO MY HOME AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THERE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

7/31/2009 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 10-15 MPH, THE CONTACT MERGED INTO TRAFFIC AND MADE A LEFT TURN. THE PRECEDING VEHICLE STOPPED UNEXPECTEDLY AND THE CONTACT REAR ENDED THE VEHICLE. HE ATTEMPTED TO DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL, BUT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED INSTEAD DUE TO THE CLOSE POSITIONING OF THE PEDALS ON THE FLOOR PANEL. THE UNINTENDED ACCELERATION RESULTED IN A CRASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE FRONT BUMPER OF HIS VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, BUT THEY FOUND NO FAILURES WITH THE MANUFACTURED COMPONENTS. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON A SEPARATE OCCASION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 32,000. THE CONSUMER STATED THE BRAKE AND ACCELERATOR PEDALS WERE DESIGNED TOO CLOSE TOGETHER. THE CONSUMER STATED HIS FOOT HIT THE GAS AND BRAKE PEDAL AT THE SAME TIME. UPDATED 09/03/09.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/13/2009 - ROSEBURG, OR
SHORTLY AFTER I BOUGHT THE 2007 DAKOTA 4X4 [V-6] 6SP. MANUAL TRANS] WHEN UPON PASSING A VEHICLE ON I-5 THE THROTTLE STUCK WIDE OPEN. I STOMPED HARD ON THE GAS PEDAL SEVERAL TIMES UNTIL IT RELEASED. I TOOK IT TO LITHIA IN ROSEBURG ORE. WHERE I BOUGHT THE TRUCK. THEY TOOK IT IN, THEN WHEN I PICKED IT UP THEY ASSURED ME THEY REPAIRED THE PROBLEM, THEY DID NOT, IT STILL DOES IT AND I ALMOST PLOWED INTO A DITCH ON A NEARBY RURAL ROAD. THIS TRUCK HAD 6 MILES ON IT WHEN I TOOK POSSESSION OF IT. SEEMS THAT IT SHOULD NOT HAVE THESE ISSUES AT THIS STAGE OF THE GAME. CURRENTLY IT HAS 14,657 MILES ON IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

7/13/2009 - ROSEBURG, OR
SHORTLY AFTER I BOUGHT THE 2007 DAKOTA 4X4 [V-6] 6SP. MANUAL TRANS] WHEN UPON PASSING A VEHICLE ON I-5 THE THROTTLE STUCK WIDE OPEN. I STOMPED HARD ON THE GAS PEDAL SEVERAL TIMES UNTIL IT RELEASED. I TOOK IT TO LITHIA IN ROSEBURG ORE. WHERE I BOUGHT THE TRUCK. THEY TOOK IT IN, THEN WHEN I PICKED IT UP THEY ASSURED ME THEY REPAIRED THE PROBLEM, THEY DID NOT, IT STILL DOES IT AND I ALMOST PLOWED INTO A DITCH ON A NEARBY RURAL ROAD. THIS TRUCK HAD 6 MILES ON IT WHEN I TOOK POSSESSION OF IT. SEEMS THAT IT SHOULD NOT HAVE THESE ISSUES AT THIS STAGE OF THE GAME. CURRENTLY IT HAS 14,657 MILES ON IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/10/2009 - HENDERSON, NV
WHEN FILLING THE GAS TANK, AT THE SHUTOFF STAGE, IT WILL SHOOT GASOLINE OUT OF THE NECK WHICH RUNS DOWN THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE ONTO THE GROUND LEAVING A FRISBEE SIZE PUDDLE. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME THE TANK IS FILLED TO THE TOP. THE ONLY SOLUTION NOW IS TO TRY TO TIME THE FILL UP AND STOP IT BEFORE ITS COMPLETELY FULL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds