Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2007 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 136 complaints filed for the 2007 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Equipment (1) Power Train (24) Structure (3) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/16/2015 - SAINT PETERSBURG, FL
ON TWO OCCASIONS THIS VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHEN INTERMITTENTLY THE TURN SIGNALS FAIL TO OPERATE SIMULTANEOUSLY WITH THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ALSO STOP WORKING. THIS CAN HAPPEN AT ANY TIME AND IS PARTICULARLY DANGEROUS WHILE IN TRAFFIC AND IN A HEAVY RAINSTORM WITHOUT WARNING THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOP. AT THE SAME TIME THE TURN SIGNALS BECOME INOPERABLE SO THE DRIVER IS LEFT WITHOUT VISIBILITY AND THE INABILITY TO NOTIFY FELLOW TRAVELERS THAT HE/SHE MUST IMMEDIATELY MOVE TO THE RIGHT HAND SHOULDER UNTIL THE RAIN STOPS. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED TO ME IN MAY OF 2007. MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE WAS 23,125. THE PROBLEM WAS IDENTIFIED BY THE DODGE TECHNICIAN AS A DEFECTIVE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH - PART NUMBER 56049823AB. THE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH WAS REMOVED AND REPLACED BY DODGE UNDER WARRANTY. THE PROBLEM RECURRED IN JANUARY OF 2015. MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE AT THAT TIME WAS 35,242 (12,117 MILES DRIVEN) SINCE THE FIRST INCIDENT. THE PROBLEM WAS ONCE AGAIN THE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH - PART NUMBER 56049823AB. I WAS TOLD BY THE SERVICE MANAGER THAT THIS PROBLEM COULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY SINCE I HAD EXCEEDED THE 3 YEAR WARRANTY PERIOD. I HAD TO PAY $125.95 TO HAVE THE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH REMOVED AND REPLACED (AGAIN). EVERYONE (INCLUDING MYSELF) KNEW WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR EXACTLY WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. IT APPEARS THAT DODGE HAS A SERIOUS REPETITIVE PROBLEM WITH THIS INTEGRAL PART. AND WHEN THIS PART FAILS IT REPRESENTS A DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE - ONE IN WHICH DEATH AND/OR SERIOUS INJURY CAN AND WILL OCCUR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/16/2015 - SAINT PETERSBURG, FL
ON TWO OCCASIONS THIS VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHEN INTERMITTENTLY THE TURN SIGNALS FAIL TO OPERATE SIMULTANEOUSLY WITH THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ALSO STOP WORKING. THIS CAN HAPPEN AT ANY TIME AND IS PARTICULARLY DANGEROUS WHILE IN TRAFFIC AND IN A HEAVY RAINSTORM WITHOUT WARNING THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOP. AT THE SAME TIME THE TURN SIGNALS BECOME INOPERABLE SO THE DRIVER IS LEFT WITHOUT VISIBILITY AND THE INABILITY TO NOTIFY FELLOW TRAVELERS THAT HE/SHE MUST IMMEDIATELY MOVE TO THE RIGHT HAND SHOULDER UNTIL THE RAIN STOPS. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED TO ME IN MAY OF 2007. MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE WAS 23,125. THE PROBLEM WAS IDENTIFIED BY THE DODGE TECHNICIAN AS A DEFECTIVE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH - PART NUMBER 56049823AB. THE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH WAS REMOVED AND REPLACED BY DODGE UNDER WARRANTY. THE PROBLEM RECURRED IN JANUARY OF 2015. MILEAGE ON THE VEHICLE AT THAT TIME WAS 35,242 (12,117 MILES DRIVEN) SINCE THE FIRST INCIDENT. THE PROBLEM WAS ONCE AGAIN THE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH - PART NUMBER 56049823AB. I WAS TOLD BY THE SERVICE MANAGER THAT THIS PROBLEM COULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY SINCE I HAD EXCEEDED THE 3 YEAR WARRANTY PERIOD. I HAD TO PAY $125.95 TO HAVE THE MULTIFUNCTION SWITCH REMOVED AND REPLACED (AGAIN). EVERYONE (INCLUDING MYSELF) KNEW WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR EXACTLY WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS. IT APPEARS THAT DODGE HAS A SERIOUS REPETITIVE PROBLEM WITH THIS INTEGRAL PART. AND WHEN THIS PART FAILS IT REPRESENTS A DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE - ONE IN WHICH DEATH AND/OR SERIOUS INJURY CAN AND WILL OCCUR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/29/2014 - FAIRFAX, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUSPENSION COMPONENTS WERE SEVERELY RUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. UPDATED 03/17/15 UPDATED 08/28/2017

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

9/29/2014 - GROVE HILL, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE IGNITION SWITCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 156,937. UPDATED 11/20/14 UPDATED 5/4/2015

View Details

STEERING

12/19/2013 - MARCELLUS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, HE HEARD A SQUEAKY NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BOLT JOINTS, TIE ROD AND SWAY BAR WERE MALFUNCTIONING AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 45,427.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/19/2013 - MARCELLUS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, HE HEARD A SQUEAKY NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE BOLT JOINTS, TIE ROD AND SWAY BAR WERE MALFUNCTIONING AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 45,427.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/15/2013 - WATSKINSVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH AND APPROACHING A STOP LIGHT, THE ANTI LOCK BRAKES DID NOT ACTIVATE AND THE VEHICLE SLID WHEN THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN AND THE MECHANIC WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/31/2013 - TAYLORS, SC
I HAVE A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA QUAD CAB, V-6 THAT WAS BOUGHT NEW AND SERVICED AT THE SAME DEALERSHIP SINCE I HAVE OWNED IT. NO ONE ELSE HAS WORKED ON IT. I TOOK IT IN FOR THE REGULAR OIL CHANGE RECENTLY AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK ON A POPPING KIND OF SOUND COMING FROM WHAT I THOUGHT WAS THE RIGHT FRONT END. THE DEALER SAID I NEEDED SHOCKS ON ALL FOUR WHEELS. IT COST ME ABOUT $950.00 TO HAVE THIS DONE. I AM 65 YEARS OLD AND HAVE BEEN DRIVING SINCE I WAS 16 YEARS OLD. I HAVE OWNED MANY CARS, BUT HAVE NEVER HAD TO REPLACE THE SHOCKS IN ANY VEHICLE I HAVE OWNED. THIS IS MY THIRD DAKOTA. THE FIRST TWO WERE USED AS WORK TRUCKS AND CARRIED HEAVY LOADS JUST ABOUT EVERY DAY. BOTH HAD OVER 100,000 MILES WHEN I GOT RID OF THEM AND I NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEM WITH THE SHOCKS. THE DAKOTA I CURRENTLY HAVE HAS NOT BEEN USED FOR CARRYING ANYTHING HEAVY. PROBABLY THE HEAVIEST WAS A COUPLE OF SHEETS OF PLYWOOD. I HAVE TALKED TO A FRIEND OF MINE WHO IS IN CHARGE OF ALL FLEET VEHICLES FOR THE COUNTY IN WHICH I LIVE. HE SAID OF ALL THE VEHICLES HE HAS WORKED ON, HE HAS NEVER HAD TO REPLACE ALL FOUR SHOCKS. HE SAID EVERY NOW AND THEM ONE SHOCK ON A VEHICLE MAY GO OUT, BUT NEVER ALL FOUR. I CONTACTED THE DEALER WHO TOLD ME TO CONTACT DODGE. DODGE LOOKED AT THE SPECIFICS AND SAID IT WAS DUE TO NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. I FEEL THAT I HAVE BEEN TAKEN TO THE CLEANERS BY THE DEALER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/24/2013 - TYLER, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS ON. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000. ..... UPDATED 03-28-13 UPDATED 04/02/2013

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/7/2012 - MULDROW , OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS SYSTEM FAILED AND CAUSED AN INCREASE IN BRAKING DISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER NUMEROUS TIMES FOR THE FAILURE. THE DEALER ADJUSTED THE REAR BRAKE BOOSTER SHOE HOWEVER THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 400 AND THE APPROXIMATE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 20,000. UPDATED 10/17/12

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds