Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DAKOTA - 2007 DODGE DAKOTA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 136 complaints filed for the 2007 DODGE DAKOTA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 DODGE DAKOTA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (57) Equipment (1) Power Train (24) Structure (3) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (4)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT: SHOCK ABSORBER

1/10/2012 - DINGMANS FERRY, PA
2007 DODGE DAKOTA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS VEHICLE REPAIRS RELATED TO SHOCKS THE DEALER ONLY INSTALLED A RIGHT SHOCK, BECAUSE THE MOUNT FOR THE LEFT SHOCK HAD A BROKEN WELD AND THE SHOCK WAS BENT. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONSUMER TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A BODY SHOP FOR REPAIRS. AN INSPECTION AT THE BODY SHOP REVEALED, THE BED NEEDED TO BE REMOVED, BECAUSE THERE WAS A CRACK IN THE FRAME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

1/10/2012 - DINGMANS FERRY, PA
2007 DODGE DAKOTA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS VEHICLE REPAIRS RELATED TO SHOCKS THE DEALER ONLY INSTALLED A RIGHT SHOCK, BECAUSE THE MOUNT FOR THE LEFT SHOCK HAD A BROKEN WELD AND THE SHOCK WAS BENT. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONSUMER TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO A BODY SHOP FOR REPAIRS. AN INSPECTION AT THE BODY SHOP REVEALED, THE BED NEEDED TO BE REMOVED, BECAUSE THERE WAS A CRACK IN THE FRAME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/21/2011 - LA GRANGE , GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED SHE COULD CHANGE GEARS WITH OUT ENGAGING THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED ON ANY RECALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 83,092.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/17/2011 - CLAYVILLE, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 65 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE DECELERATED TO 30 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER BUT NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 30,731.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/26/2011 - JUNEAU, AK
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, I WANT TO INFORM THIS ORGANIZATION AND FUTURE PEOPLE WHOM WOULD WANT TO BUY A 1/2 TON ADODGE RAM OR DAKOTA TO RESERCH IT FIRST. I TOOK MY 2007 DODGE DAKOTA 4X4 TO THE DEALER WITH JUST OVER 60,000 MILES DUE TO THE REAR END MAKING NOISE. THE DEALER FOUND 1 RETAINER CLIP THAT HOLDS THE CLUTCH PACKS TO FAIL PREMATURELY AND CAUSE SERVERE DAMAGE TO THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL. I NEED TO REPLACE THE PINION BEARINGS, CARRIER BEARINGS, AND CLUTCH PACK ALONG WITH THE SAME RETAINER CLIPS THAT WILL BREAK IN ANOTHER 60,000 MILES OR LESS. WHEN I TOOK MY DAKOTA TO THE DEALER AND EXPLAINED TO THEM MY SYMPTOMS OF REAR END NOISE, THEY EXACTLY KNEW WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT. THEY TOLD ME THEY SEEN THIS ON MULTIPLE DODGE HALF TON TRUCKS AND DAKOTAS. I ASKED IF THERE WAS A RECALL, AND THEY SAID CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT IT AND WILL NOT ISSUE ONE. I WAS APPALED TO HERE SO MANY OWNERS OF THESE TRUCKS HAVING TO PAY FOR A POORLY DEISGNED DIFFERENTIAL WITH INHERRIENT DANGERIOUS PROBLEMS. IF ONE OF THOSE CLIPS BROKE WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND MY DIFFERENTIAL WOULD LOCK UP AND I WOULD GET IN A CRASH. I CALLED CHRYSLER HEAD QUARTERS FOR SOME TYPE OF ASSISTANCE AND WAS RENDERED WITH NONE. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE FIXED AND ADDRESSED OR PEOPLE WILL BE KILLED. THIS IS NOT AS SERIOUS AS TOYOTA'S PROBLEM WITH THEIR VEHICLES, BUT IT TOOK PEOPLE TO DIE IN ACCIDENTS FOR A RECALL TO BE ISSUED. LETS NOT DO THAT AND GET SOMETHING ROLLING ON THIS. THANKS FOR YOU TIME. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/5/2011 - CONWAY, SC
I TURNED OFF OF HIGHWAY 501 AND WAS HEADING EAST ON A 40 MPH ROAD. A 2001 SATURN STATION WAGON TURNED LEFT DIRECTLY IN MY PATH AND I T-BONED THE SATURN DEAD CENTER OF MY DODGE DAKOTA, COLLIDED WITH THE READ PASSENGER'S SIDE TIRE. THE REAR TIRES CAME APPROXIMATELY 3 FEET OFF THE GROUND. BOTH AIR BAGS FIRED ON THE SATURN STATION WAGON. MY AIRBAG DID NOT.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2011 - BATH, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WOULD VIOLENTLY JERK. THE DEALER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 56,000 AND THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,500. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/6/2011 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
WAS GOING DOWN THE INTERSTATE DOING APPROXIMATELY 65-70MPH WHEN THE TRUCK STARTS SHAKING AND THEN LOOSES POWER. WITHIN ONE TO TWO MILES IT WILL GO BACK TO NORMAL. THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED AT LEAST 7 TIMES WITHIN THE LAST MONTH AND HALF. THE TRUCK HAS 39,000 MILES ON IT. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THERE WERE NO ERROR CODES RECORDED AND THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION ON THE INTERSTATE BECAUSE THE LAST TIME IT HAPPENED A SEMI WAS RUNNING AT 70MPH BEHIND ME WHEN THE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING AND LOOSING POWER AND HE HAD TO SLAM ON HIS BRAKES BECAUSE OF MY REDUCED SPEED. I ALMOST GOT RUN OVER BY THE SEMI.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2011 - ASHBURN , VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE DAKOTA QUAD CAB SLT(NA). THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A HEAD-ON COLLISION AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED MUSCLE SPASMS AND BRUISES DUE TO THE SEATBELT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL SHOP WHERE THEY ESTIMATED OVER $10,000 IN DAMAGES; THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY BEING REPAIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND THEY STATED THAT THE VEHICLE AIR BAGS WERE NOT FAULTY. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 63,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

12/10/2010 - MISSISSAUGA, 00
AFTER COLD START AND NORMAL WARM UP, TRUCK LURCHED FORWARD AT A STOPLIGHT, THEN STALLED. HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES OVER THE PREVIOUS MONTH, WITHOUT STALLING. IF I HAD BEEN IN A LEFT TURN LANE AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT, RESULTS COULD HAVE BEEN DEADLY. DEALERSHIP CORRECTION WAS A PCM FLASH SOFTWARE UPDATE, AT MY EXPENSE. THIS SHOULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE AND COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER. THE TRUCK IS STILL UNDER POWERTRAIN WARRANTY ALSO.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds