Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 3500 - 2007 DODGE RAM 3500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 205 complaints filed for the 2007 DODGE RAM 3500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 DODGE RAM 3500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 DODGE RAM 3500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (17) Steering (88) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (31) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (15) Fuel System Diesel (5) Service Brakes (2) Tires (8) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Interior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/2/2019 - KEYSTONE HEIGHTS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE RAM 3500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO DRIVE DUE TO THE GEAR SHIFTER, BUT LATER THE VEHICLE WOULD TAKE OFF. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SHIFT FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION COMPUTER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WITH 172,000 MILES, THE TRANSMISSION WAS ALREADY FAILING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 176,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/12/2019 - DRYDEN, WA
WHILE BACKING INTO PARKING PLACE, PASSENGER SIDE TIE ROD END POPPED OFF JOINT CAUSING ME TO LOOSE STEERING CONTROL AND NEARLY RESULTED IN A COLLISION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/15/2019 - GRAY, KY
MY TRUCK SHIFTED ITSELF IN 4WD LOW WHILE GOING 75 MPH DOWN THE INTERSTATE WHICH DESTROYED MY TRANSFER CASE AND TRANSMISSION AND CAUSED MY DRIVE SHAFT TO COME LOOSE WHICH I FEEL IS A VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT AS IT COULD HAVE ROLLED MY TRUCK. I HAVE FOUND OTHERS THAT HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN APPARENTLY BECAUSE OF A ELECTRONIC TRANSFER CASE MOTOR READING THE WRONG SIGNAL AND SHIFTING INTO LOW RANGE WHETHER THE TRUCK IS MOVING OR EVEN RUNNING. IT+S SOMETHING THAT SHOULDN+T HAPPEN ESPECIALLY WITH A MANUAL 4WD SHIFTER

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/17/2018 - PRATTVILLE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE RAM 3500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V313000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. BREWBAKER DODGE CHRYSLER JEEP RAM OF PRATTVILLE (2209 COBBS FORD RD, PRATTVILLE, AL 36066, (334) 491-0701) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND WAS NOT ABLE TO CONFIRM WHEN THE PARTS WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

7/27/2018 - HIGHLAND, UT
I MADE A RIGHT TURN INTO A PARKING LOT AND THE PASSENGER TIE ROD BROKE. MY TRUCK WAS TOWED TO THE DODGE DEALER. UPDATED STEERING LINKAGE INSTALLED.

View Details

STEERING

5/31/2018 - BEMIDJI, MN
WHILE DRIVING MY 2007 DODGE 3500 RAM 6.7L DUAL, 6SPD MANUAL, PULLING MY CAMPER (WELL WITHIN TOWING LIMITS,) I WENT OVER A BUMP ON AN OVERPASS. THE VEHICLE BEGAN JUMPING AROUND VIOLENTLY AND I LEFT THE ROADWAY DUE TO LOSS OF STEERING AND BRAKE FUNCTION. THE EVEN WAS SO VIOLENT, MY RADIATOR BROKE, AND I LOST ALL OF MY COOLANT. MY "FRONT END" WAS DESTROYED, AS WELL AS MANY SYSTEMS DAMAGED. THE INTERIOR OF THE TRUCK SUFFERED DAMAGE AS WELL. THERE ARE MANY NOISES, VIBRATIONS, AND SMELLS THAT HAVE NOT GONE AWAY. I FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM SO COMMON, THAT IT HAS A NICKNAME, "THE DEATH WOBBLE." I FOUND OUT THAT THERE IS A SAFETY RECALL BEGINNING THE YEAR AFTER MY MODEL. AFTER SOME RESEARCH, MY MODEL YEAR HAS THE SAME PARTS DESCRIBED IN THE AFFECTED MODEL YEARS. THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE, SEEMINGLY WELL KNOWN TO DODGE. I WAS TOLD BY A CERTIFIED SHOP THAT IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. THEY SHOWED ME SEVERAL AFTERMARKET PARTS DESIGNED TO ELIMINATE THIS PROBLEM. THE STEERING SYSTEM ALONE WAS QUOTED AT $3,000 TO REPAIR. THE RADIATOR WAS DISTURBINGLY EXPENSIVE. MY EXHAUST SYSTEM WAS DAMAGED AND PARTS OF IT FELL OFF. THERE IS AN EXHAUST LEAK. NOT TO MENTION, THAT I ALMOST FLEW OFF OF AN OVERPASS. MY TRUCK HAS BEEN BABIED ITS ENTIRE LIFE, AND LOOKS NEW. WHEN I CONTACTED DODGE, THEY WERE UNWILLING TO HELP. I TOLD THEM THAT THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM COVERED BY THE RECALL IN VEHICLES CONTAINING ALL OF THE AFFECTED PART NUMBERS AS MINE. I TOLD THEM THAT I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED IN THIS EVENT, AND THAT THE PROBLEM HAS PERSISTED TO THE POINT WHERE IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE REPAIRS FOR THE DIRECTLY AFFECT DAMAGES COULD BE NEARING $10,000 ACCORDING TO THE CERTIFIED SHOP IT WAS BROUGHT TO. THIS DOESN'T ACCOUNT FOR COMPONENTS THAT HAD A REDUCTION IN LIFESPAN FROM THIS EVENT. I JUST WANT MY FRONT END REPAIRED SO THAT I CAN DRIVE OR SELL IT. HAVEN'T USED MY CAMPER SINCE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/31/2018 - BEMIDJI, MN
WHILE DRIVING MY 2007 DODGE 3500 RAM 6.7L DUAL, 6SPD MANUAL, PULLING MY CAMPER (WELL WITHIN TOWING LIMITS,) I WENT OVER A BUMP ON AN OVERPASS. THE VEHICLE BEGAN JUMPING AROUND VIOLENTLY AND I LEFT THE ROADWAY DUE TO LOSS OF STEERING AND BRAKE FUNCTION. THE EVEN WAS SO VIOLENT, MY RADIATOR BROKE, AND I LOST ALL OF MY COOLANT. MY "FRONT END" WAS DESTROYED, AS WELL AS MANY SYSTEMS DAMAGED. THE INTERIOR OF THE TRUCK SUFFERED DAMAGE AS WELL. THERE ARE MANY NOISES, VIBRATIONS, AND SMELLS THAT HAVE NOT GONE AWAY. I FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM SO COMMON, THAT IT HAS A NICKNAME, "THE DEATH WOBBLE." I FOUND OUT THAT THERE IS A SAFETY RECALL BEGINNING THE YEAR AFTER MY MODEL. AFTER SOME RESEARCH, MY MODEL YEAR HAS THE SAME PARTS DESCRIBED IN THE AFFECTED MODEL YEARS. THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE, SEEMINGLY WELL KNOWN TO DODGE. I WAS TOLD BY A CERTIFIED SHOP THAT IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. THEY SHOWED ME SEVERAL AFTERMARKET PARTS DESIGNED TO ELIMINATE THIS PROBLEM. THE STEERING SYSTEM ALONE WAS QUOTED AT $3,000 TO REPAIR. THE RADIATOR WAS DISTURBINGLY EXPENSIVE. MY EXHAUST SYSTEM WAS DAMAGED AND PARTS OF IT FELL OFF. THERE IS AN EXHAUST LEAK. NOT TO MENTION, THAT I ALMOST FLEW OFF OF AN OVERPASS. MY TRUCK HAS BEEN BABIED ITS ENTIRE LIFE, AND LOOKS NEW. WHEN I CONTACTED DODGE, THEY WERE UNWILLING TO HELP. I TOLD THEM THAT THIS IS THE SAME PROBLEM COVERED BY THE RECALL IN VEHICLES CONTAINING ALL OF THE AFFECTED PART NUMBERS AS MINE. I TOLD THEM THAT I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED IN THIS EVENT, AND THAT THE PROBLEM HAS PERSISTED TO THE POINT WHERE IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE REPAIRS FOR THE DIRECTLY AFFECT DAMAGES COULD BE NEARING $10,000 ACCORDING TO THE CERTIFIED SHOP IT WAS BROUGHT TO. THIS DOESN'T ACCOUNT FOR COMPONENTS THAT HAD A REDUCTION IN LIFESPAN FROM THIS EVENT. I JUST WANT MY FRONT END REPAIRED SO THAT I CAN DRIVE OR SELL IT. HAVEN'T USED MY CAMPER SINCE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

4/2/2018 - HOCKLEY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE RAM 3500. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE TIE ROD BOLT FRACTURED IN HALF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. AUTONATION CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM IN SPRING, TEXAS WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REQUESTED THAT THE VEHICLE BE BROUGHT IN FOR INSPECTION. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTICE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09E001000 (EQUIPMENT). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 186,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/2/2018 - HOCKLEY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 DODGE RAM 3500. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE TIE ROD BOLT FRACTURED IN HALF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. AUTONATION CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM IN SPRING, TEXAS WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REQUESTED THAT THE VEHICLE BE BROUGHT IN FOR INSPECTION. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTICE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09E001000 (EQUIPMENT). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 186,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2017 - COUNCIL HILL, OK
OIL LEAK ON FRONT OF ENGINE. CRANK SEAL PROBLEMS. THIS IS VERY COMMON ISSUE WITH THESE ENGINES.LEAKS OIL EVERY TIME YOU START IT AND IT WARMS UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds