Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2007 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 386 complaints filed for the 2007 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Fuel Propulsion System (54) Seats (4) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (17)
Electrical System (42) Fuel System Gasoline (30) Service Brakes (22) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Engine (29) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (26)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (28) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (6) Power Train (109) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (7)
Exterior Lighting (29) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/21/2015 - ROCKY MOUNT, MO
HIGHWAY SPEED THE CAR SUDDENLY SLOWED DOWN. SPEEDOMETER DROPPED TO ZERO, INFORMATION PANEL WENT BLANK, POWERTRAIN MALFUNCTION/REDUCED POWER LIGHT CAME ON, AIRBAG FRONT LIGHT CAME ON. PULLED CAR TO SHOULDER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AND SHUT KEY OFF. RESTARTED CAR AND EVERYTHING APPEARED NORMAL EXCEPT CAR HAD VERY LITTLE POWER TO MOVE UNTIL ABOUT 10 MPH WAS REACHED WHEN A HARD TRANSMISSION SHIFT PUT CAR INTO GEAR AND ALL BECAME FULLY OPERATIONAL. THIS HAPPENED THREE TIMES IN A ONE WEEK PERIOD OF TIME, ALWAYS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. SUBSEQUENT RESEARCH BY INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INDICATED THIS A COMMON PROBLEM REQUIRING REPLACEMENT OF TWO SPEED SENSORS IN TRANSMISSION AT COST OF $629.00.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/21/2015 - ROCKY MOUNT, MO
HIGHWAY SPEED THE CAR SUDDENLY SLOWED DOWN. SPEEDOMETER DROPPED TO ZERO, INFORMATION PANEL WENT BLANK, POWERTRAIN MALFUNCTION/REDUCED POWER LIGHT CAME ON, AIRBAG FRONT LIGHT CAME ON. PULLED CAR TO SHOULDER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AND SHUT KEY OFF. RESTARTED CAR AND EVERYTHING APPEARED NORMAL EXCEPT CAR HAD VERY LITTLE POWER TO MOVE UNTIL ABOUT 10 MPH WAS REACHED WHEN A HARD TRANSMISSION SHIFT PUT CAR INTO GEAR AND ALL BECAME FULLY OPERATIONAL. THIS HAPPENED THREE TIMES IN A ONE WEEK PERIOD OF TIME, ALWAYS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. SUBSEQUENT RESEARCH BY INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INDICATED THIS A COMMON PROBLEM REQUIRING REPLACEMENT OF TWO SPEED SENSORS IN TRANSMISSION AT COST OF $629.00.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - ROCKY MOUNT, MO
HIGHWAY SPEED THE CAR SUDDENLY SLOWED DOWN. SPEEDOMETER DROPPED TO ZERO, INFORMATION PANEL WENT BLANK, POWERTRAIN MALFUNCTION/REDUCED POWER LIGHT CAME ON, AIRBAG FRONT LIGHT CAME ON. PULLED CAR TO SHOULDER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AND SHUT KEY OFF. RESTARTED CAR AND EVERYTHING APPEARED NORMAL EXCEPT CAR HAD VERY LITTLE POWER TO MOVE UNTIL ABOUT 10 MPH WAS REACHED WHEN A HARD TRANSMISSION SHIFT PUT CAR INTO GEAR AND ALL BECAME FULLY OPERATIONAL. THIS HAPPENED THREE TIMES IN A ONE WEEK PERIOD OF TIME, ALWAYS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. SUBSEQUENT RESEARCH BY INDEPENDENT MECHANIC INDICATED THIS A COMMON PROBLEM REQUIRING REPLACEMENT OF TWO SPEED SENSORS IN TRANSMISSION AT COST OF $629.00.

View Details

ENGINE

5/21/2015 - WETUMPKA, AL
WE PURCHASED OUR VEHICLE USED AND WITH AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. SEVERAL MONTHS AFTER WE HAD THE VEHICLE WE NOTICED IT WOULD JUMP OR SKIP ALMOST LIKE IT IS NOT GOING INTO GEAR. AT FIRST IT STARTED WITH BEING AT A STOP SIGN AND WHEN I TRIED TO GO IT WOULD JUMP. IT EVENTUALLY STARTED TO HAPPEN WHILE WE ARE DRIVING, THERE IS NO CONSISTENT SITUATION LIKE GOING UP OR DOWN A HILL, STOPPED AT A STOPPED SIGN, OR EVEN BACKING UP WHERE THAT IS THE ONLY TIME IT HAPPENS. OVER THE LAST 3 YEARS WE HAVE HAD SEVERAL SHOPS LOOK AT IT INCLUDING A THE FORD DEALERSHIP WHERE WE PURCHASED IT WHILE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY AND AFTER. EACH TIME THEY ADVISED THE COMPUTER WAS NOT REGISTERING ANYTHING WRONG. EVERY LOCATION DROVE THE VEHICLE AND DID FEEL THE SAME THING BUT WERE UNABLE TO LOCATE THE ISSUE. WE HAVE EVEN LEFT THE CAR AT THE SHOP FOR SEVERAL DAYS AT A TIME FOR THEM TO DRIVE AND TRY TO LOCATE THE ISSUE. I HAVE CONTACT FORD BUT WAS ADVISED THERE WAS NO RECALL OR ANYONE ELSE HAVING ISSUES BUT I WAS WELCOME TO CALL BACK AND KEEP ADVISING THEM OF THE ISSUE. THE REPAIR SHOPS ADVISED I WOULD HAVE TO WAIT FOR SOMETHING TO ESSENTIALLY BREAK TO BE ABLE TO LOCATE THE PROBLEM. OTHER THAN THIS ISSUE WE HAVE HAD NO MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AND WE HAVE IT SERVICED REGULARLY BUT WE ARE CONCERNED WITH DRIVING IT LONG DISTANCES AND I AM AFRAID THIS JUMP/SKIP MAY EVENTUALLY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I WOULD LIKE TO TRY TO SEE IF ANYONE ELSE IS HAVING THIS ISSUE OR IF ANYTHING CAN BE DONE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/30/2015 - MARTIN, TN
I KEPT HEARING A STRANGE NOISE WHEN I APPLIED MY BRAKES. WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN THEIR DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT A PIN WAS BREAKING ON THE FRONT CALIPER ON THE FRONT RIGHT TIRE. THEY REPLACED THE PIN, RIGHT FRONT WHEEL BEARING ASSEMBLY, AND HUB. THEY REPLACED THE FRONT BRAKE PADS AND INSPECTED THE BRAKE SYSTEM. HUB ASSEMBLY WAS "WOBBLING" CAUSING THE PINS TO BREAK AND CAUSED MY BRAKE PADS TO RUIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/30/2015 - AYDEN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS LEAKING FUEL. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS CORRODED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2015 - MARTIN, TN
VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER AND STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOWED TO MECHANIC. ELECTRONIC DIAGNOSTICS CODES P0351, P0352, P0354, P0301, P0302, P0316, P0420 BANK CATALYST BELOW THRESHOLD. PERFORMED PIN POINT TEST ON ALL COILS, FUEL SYSTEM, AND RELATIVE COMPRESSION. PERFORMED ALL REPAIRS RELATED TO TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN 12_8_17. AFTER VERIFYING BURNT COIL AND INTERNAL DRIVER FAULT OF PCM TO COALS! REPLACED ALL IGNITION COILS, ALL SPARK PLUGS, UPPER INTAKE GASKETS AND PCM! USED ALL FORD OE PARTS.REPROGRAMED PCM AND ROAD TEST TO VERIFY ALL REPAIRS. COST $2039.29. VERIFIED CONVERTERDAMAGE RELATED TO IGNITION FAILURE DUMPING RAW FUEL THROUGH BANK 1. REPLACED ORIGINAL CONVERTER, SEAL, GASKET, CLEANED ALL O2 SENSORS. COST $704.94

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/28/2015 - MARTIN, TN
VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER AND STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOWED TO MECHANIC. ELECTRONIC DIAGNOSTICS CODES P0351, P0352, P0354, P0301, P0302, P0316, P0420 BANK CATALYST BELOW THRESHOLD. PERFORMED PIN POINT TEST ON ALL COILS, FUEL SYSTEM, AND RELATIVE COMPRESSION. PERFORMED ALL REPAIRS RELATED TO TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN 12_8_17. AFTER VERIFYING BURNT COIL AND INTERNAL DRIVER FAULT OF PCM TO COALS! REPLACED ALL IGNITION COILS, ALL SPARK PLUGS, UPPER INTAKE GASKETS AND PCM! USED ALL FORD OE PARTS.REPROGRAMED PCM AND ROAD TEST TO VERIFY ALL REPAIRS. COST $2039.29. VERIFIED CONVERTERDAMAGE RELATED TO IGNITION FAILURE DUMPING RAW FUEL THROUGH BANK 1. REPLACED ORIGINAL CONVERTER, SEAL, GASKET, CLEANED ALL O2 SENSORS. COST $704.94

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2015 - MARTIN, TN
VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER AND STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOWED TO MECHANIC. ELECTRONIC DIAGNOSTICS CODES P0351, P0352, P0354, P0301, P0302, P0316, P0420 BANK CATALYST BELOW THRESHOLD. PERFORMED PIN POINT TEST ON ALL COILS, FUEL SYSTEM, AND RELATIVE COMPRESSION. PERFORMED ALL REPAIRS RELATED TO TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN 12_8_17. AFTER VERIFYING BURNT COIL AND INTERNAL DRIVER FAULT OF PCM TO COALS! REPLACED ALL IGNITION COILS, ALL SPARK PLUGS, UPPER INTAKE GASKETS AND PCM! USED ALL FORD OE PARTS.REPROGRAMED PCM AND ROAD TEST TO VERIFY ALL REPAIRS. COST $2039.29. VERIFIED CONVERTERDAMAGE RELATED TO IGNITION FAILURE DUMPING RAW FUEL THROUGH BANK 1. REPLACED ORIGINAL CONVERTER, SEAL, GASKET, CLEANED ALL O2 SENSORS. COST $704.94

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/27/2015 - WILMINGTON , DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE'S SPEED SUDDENLY DECREASED TO APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHUTTER AND VIBRATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS CAUSED BY A FAULTY PCM, WHICH CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE COIL PACKS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds