Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2007 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 302 complaints filed for the 2007 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Seats (4) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (34) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (20) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Engine (21) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (26)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (28) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (6) Power Train (83) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (7)
Exterior Lighting (24) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/19/2014 - BRYON CENTER, MI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL IS LEAKING FROM THE SEAMS OF THE TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000. SR

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - WRIGHTSVILLE , PA
I WAS SMELLING FUEL EVERYTIME I WALKED AROUND MY CAR. I HAD MY BOYFRIEND LOOK AT IT AND HE SAID THAT THE SEALS ON THE FUEL TANK ARE CORRODED AND THAT I WOULD NEED A NEW FUEL TANK. AFTER CALLING FORD, WHICH CHOSES NOT TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS, IT IS GOING TO COST CLOSE TO $2,700 TO HAVE IT REPLACED. I DRIVE MY CHILDREN AROUND IN THIS VEHICLE. FORD REFUSES TO LIST THIS AS A RECALL. WHY??? MOST PEOPLE WHO DRIVE THIS TYPE OF CAR, HAS A FAMILY OR CHILDREN. IT IS VERY SCARY TO THINK THAT MY CAR COULD POSSIBLY CATCH ON FIRE, OR WORSE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/13/2014 - ENGLISH, IN
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 2008 FORD EDGE SEL AWD. I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE UNTIL THIS PAST THURSDAY (09/11/2014) WHEN I PUT $40.00 WORTH OF GAS IN IT WHEN IT WAS CLOSE TO EMPTY. AFTER PUTTING IN $40.00 WORTH OF GAS, IT GAVE ME A APPROXIMATELY 3/4 TANK OF GAS. I THEN PARKED IT AT MY PLACE OF WORK (NO INCLINE OF ANY SORT) AND STARTED TO SMELL GAS. THE TANK IS LEAKING ON THE PASSENGER SIDE UNDERNEATH. AFTER WORK, I DROVE HOME (MAYBE 10 MILES) AND HAVE NOT EVEN MOVED THE VEHICLE UNTIL TODAY (09/13/2014) AND ONLY HAVE 1/4 TANK OF GAS LEFT. NOT ONLY IS IT LEAKING GAS BUT THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE WREAKS. I HAVE A 2 MONTH OLD CHILD WHO I AM AFRAID TO TAKE IN THE VEHICLE NOW BECAUSE THE SMELL IS SO STRONG. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED AS I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WHO HAS COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS SITUATION. I SEE THAT 2008 FORD EDGE MODELS HAVE BEEN RECALLED DUE TO THE SAME PROBLEM. I REFUSE TO SPEND CLOSE TO $2000.00 TO FIX THE PROBLEM. THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/9/2014 - UPPER ARLINGTON, OH
FOR SEVERAL DAYS PRIOR TO AND AFTER FILLING THE GAS TANK, THERE WAS A STRONG SMELL OF GASOLINE WHILE DRIVING, WHILE PARKED IN GARAGE AND WHILE PARKED IN LOT. DEALERSHIP NOTED THAT THE GAS TANK HAD COMPLETELY RUSTED AND WAS LEAKING AT THE SEAM. (ALTHOUGH I DO LIVE IN A NORTHERN STATE, THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN GARAGED DURING WINTER, WASHED APPROPRIATELY, WELL TAKEN CARE OF AND ROUTINE MAINTENANCE). THE DEALERSHIP CUSTOMER SERVICE AND FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE WERE EXTREMELY POOR. FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE STATED THAT THERE IS NO RECALL, THEREFORE THEY WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT- THIS WILL NOT BE THE FIRST REVIEW THAT YOU WILL READ ABOUT THIS EXACT SAME ISSUE. AFTER DOING MORE RESEARCH, THE 2007-2009 MODELS HAVE THE SAME FUEL TANK AND THE 2008 MODEL HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS ISSUE. A 7 YEAR OLD CAR SHOULD NOT HAVE TO HAVE THE GAS TANK REPLACED, ESPECIALLY WHEN THIS IS NOTED AT THE SEAM. THIS MANUFACTURER DEFECT IS A SAFETY LIABILITY THAT FORD DOES NOT WANT TO CLAIM AND REFUSES TO PUT THE SAFETY OF IT'S CUSTOMERS ABOVE THE FINANCIAL BURDEN THIS WOULD CAUSE THEM. THE FUMES ALONE ARE TOXIC AND IF THERE WAS ANY TYPE OF SPARK ON THE ROADWAY, THIS COULD RESULT IN A FIRE, ACCIDENTS AND DEATH. IT'S SAD THAT AN AMERICAN COMPANY HAS SUCH POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND POOR SAFETY STANDARDS. THIS WILL BE THE LAST FORD VEHICLE THAT I WILL OWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/9/2014 - MT. LAUREL, NJ
ON JANUARY 16 2009 LEAK ON FRONT AXLE SEAL. FORD DEALER REPLACED PTU COVER AND INTERMEDIATE SHAFT SEAL. ON MAY 29, 2009 LEAK WAS DETECTED AGAIN FROM PTU UNIT. FORD REPLACED AGAIN! ON JUNE 9 2014 VEHICLE HAS LEAKS OF PTU AND REAR DIFFEREINAL SEAL AGAIN. OUT OF WARRANTY! ESTIMATE COST TO REPAIR IS $1600. AFTER RESEARCH THE PTU IS A PROBLEM ON THE FORD EDGE 2007 AND 2008 MODELS. FORD WILL NOT ADMIT THERE IS A PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

9/8/2014 - ACTON , MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE CONTINUOUSLY STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/7/2014 - POWELL, OH
OIL LEAKING FROM PTU UNIT FORD WANTS $ 1600 TO FIX WHAT SEEMS TO BE A FAULTY (DEFECTIVE) SYSTEM IN FORD EDGES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/5/2014 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
STARTED SMELLING GASOLINE EVERY TIME MY CAR WAS IN THE GARAGE. SEEMED TO HAPPEN RIGHT AFTER I FILLED UP. RESEARCHED INTERNET FOR "2007 FORD EDGE FUEL SMELL" AND FOUND SEVERAL COMPLAINTS AND WHAT LOOKS LIKE A VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR (OEM FUEL TANK AVERAGES $1700 PLUS LABOR). TOOK CAR TO DEALER AND FOUND OUT THE FUEL TANK WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. WAS TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT IT WAS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. REQUESTING A RECALL BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/5/2014 - HAMPTON, VA
THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO OVERHEAT RAPIDLY AND THE AIR CONDITIONING BEGAN TO PUT OUT HOT AIR. I PULLED THE VEHICLE OFF OF THE ROAD AND TURNED EVERYTHING OFF. UPON COOLING DOWN, WATER WAS ADDED TO THE RADIATOR AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE MECHANIC. THE PROBLEM WAS AN INTERNAL WATER PUMP. THE WATER PUMP COST $1900 TO HAVE REPLACED. I CONTACTED FORD AND THEY SAID THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING, IT IS THE DESIGN AND HOW YOU HAVE TO ACCESS THE WATER PUMP. I PRICED (3) DIFFERENT DEALERS ON THE REPAIR AND THEY WERE ALL WITHIN A FEW DOLLARS OF EACH OTHER. THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN RELIABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/5/2014 - HAMPTON, VA
THE BRAKE BOOSTER FAILED AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO STOP IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY INTERSECTION. I HAD THE BRAKE BOOSTER REPLACED AT 51K MILES. I NOW HAVE 85K MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND AS OF 9/5/14, THE BRAKE BOOSTER HAS FAILED AGAIN. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD AND THEY SAY THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds