Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2007 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 267 complaints filed for the 2007 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (4) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (29) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (14) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine (17) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (26)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (28) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (6) Power Train (77) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (7)
Exterior Lighting (23) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/18/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2007 FORD EDGE WITH 3 CHILDREN IN IT WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN I LOST THE ABILITY TO NOT ONLY ACCELERATE BUT MY SPEED SUDDENLY FELL FROM 45 MILES AN HOUR TO 15 MILES AN HOUR WITHOUT ANY ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. MY CAR WAS IN A CONSTANT STATE OF SHAKING AND SPUTTERING AND INCREASED WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES. THERE WAS SOMETHING SIGNIFICANTLY WRONG AND IT WAS PRETTY SCARY TO EXPERIENCE PARTICULARLY WITH 3 SMALL CHILDREN. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE COMPANY WHERE THE CAR'S SOFTWARE SYSTEM DISPLAYED CODES INDICATING TWO IGNITION CODES FAILED. SUBSEQUENTLY, THE SERVICE PROVIDER REPLACED ALL THE SPARK PLUGS AND TWO COILS. THE CAR WAS NOT FIXED AND IT WAS FURTHER DETERMINED THAT THE PCM BOARD IS SENDING EXTREMELY HIGH CURRENT TO THE IGNITION COILS AND COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ENGINE FIRE. THIS IS VERY DISTRESSING. FORD HAS ISSUED AN INTERNAL TSB ACKNOWLEDGING THIS ISSUE BUT HAS NOT ENACTED A RECALL. THE ESTIMATED COST TO REPLACE THE PCM, SPARK PLUGS AND COILS (6) IS APPROXIMATELY $3,000. ADDITIONALLY IN MY RESEARCH THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT THAT HAS BEEN FILED BY A GROUP OF FORD OWNERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2007 FORD EDGE WITH 3 CHILDREN IN IT WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN I LOST THE ABILITY TO NOT ONLY ACCELERATE BUT MY SPEED SUDDENLY FELL FROM 45 MILES AN HOUR TO 15 MILES AN HOUR WITHOUT ANY ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. MY CAR WAS IN A CONSTANT STATE OF SHAKING AND SPUTTERING AND INCREASED WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES. THERE WAS SOMETHING SIGNIFICANTLY WRONG AND IT WAS PRETTY SCARY TO EXPERIENCE PARTICULARLY WITH 3 SMALL CHILDREN. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE COMPANY WHERE THE CAR'S SOFTWARE SYSTEM DISPLAYED CODES INDICATING TWO IGNITION CODES FAILED. SUBSEQUENTLY, THE SERVICE PROVIDER REPLACED ALL THE SPARK PLUGS AND TWO COILS. THE CAR WAS NOT FIXED AND IT WAS FURTHER DETERMINED THAT THE PCM BOARD IS SENDING EXTREMELY HIGH CURRENT TO THE IGNITION COILS AND COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ENGINE FIRE. THIS IS VERY DISTRESSING. FORD HAS ISSUED AN INTERNAL TSB ACKNOWLEDGING THIS ISSUE BUT HAS NOT ENACTED A RECALL. THE ESTIMATED COST TO REPLACE THE PCM, SPARK PLUGS AND COILS (6) IS APPROXIMATELY $3,000. ADDITIONALLY IN MY RESEARCH THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT THAT HAS BEEN FILED BY A GROUP OF FORD OWNERS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/18/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2007 FORD EDGE WITH 3 CHILDREN IN IT WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN I LOST THE ABILITY TO NOT ONLY ACCELERATE BUT MY SPEED SUDDENLY FELL FROM 45 MILES AN HOUR TO 15 MILES AN HOUR WITHOUT ANY ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. MY CAR WAS IN A CONSTANT STATE OF SHAKING AND SPUTTERING AND INCREASED WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES. THERE WAS SOMETHING SIGNIFICANTLY WRONG AND IT WAS PRETTY SCARY TO EXPERIENCE PARTICULARLY WITH 3 SMALL CHILDREN. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO MY AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE COMPANY WHERE THE CAR'S SOFTWARE SYSTEM DISPLAYED CODES INDICATING TWO IGNITION CODES FAILED. SUBSEQUENTLY, THE SERVICE PROVIDER REPLACED ALL THE SPARK PLUGS AND TWO COILS. THE CAR WAS NOT FIXED AND IT WAS FURTHER DETERMINED THAT THE PCM BOARD IS SENDING EXTREMELY HIGH CURRENT TO THE IGNITION COILS AND COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ENGINE FIRE. THIS IS VERY DISTRESSING. FORD HAS ISSUED AN INTERNAL TSB ACKNOWLEDGING THIS ISSUE BUT HAS NOT ENACTED A RECALL. THE ESTIMATED COST TO REPLACE THE PCM, SPARK PLUGS AND COILS (6) IS APPROXIMATELY $3,000. ADDITIONALLY IN MY RESEARCH THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT THAT HAS BEEN FILED BY A GROUP OF FORD OWNERS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/14/2014 - JONES TOWN , PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EGDE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER VEHICLE WAS TAKEN INTO THE DEALERS FOR A LEAK IN HER VEHICLE GAS TANK WELDS. THE DEALER STATED THE FIX WOULD COST ABOUT $1,892.16 THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED AT THIS TIME. THE MILEAGE AT TIME OF FAILURE WAS 88,000

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2014 - DECATUR, GA
TOOK CAR IN TO CHECK BRAKES 10/29/13 TECH SAYS HE COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM. DROVE 45 MILES BACK HOME AND NO BRAKES. DROVE BACK ERY SLOWLY TYHE SAME DAY. TECH SAYS "OH YOU NEED A NEW MASTER CYLINDER AND BOOSTER". COSTS $873. ON JULY 3RD THE BRAKES FAILIED AGAIN. ALMOST RAN INTO A HOUSE WITH NO BRAKES. HAD THE CAR TWOWED. THEY SEEM TO CANNOT FIND A PROBLEM CAR HAS BEEN WITH AUTO NATION FORD UNION CITY, GA 3 DAYS NOW WITH NO END IN SITE. WAS TOLD BY THE SERVICE ADVISOR THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE MASTER CYLINDERS. I COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING. HE ALSO TOLD NE THAT A RECALL MAY HAVE BEEN ACTIVE WHEN I PAID FOR THE REPAIR AT THE SAME DEALERSHIP IN OCTOBER 2013.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/7/2014 - DECATUR, GA
TOOK CAR IN TO CHECK BRAKES 10/29/13 TECH SAYS HE COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM. DROVE 45 MILES BACK HOME AND NO BRAKES. DROVE BACK ERY SLOWLY TYHE SAME DAY. TECH SAYS "OH YOU NEED A NEW MASTER CYLINDER AND BOOSTER". COSTS $873. ON JULY 3RD THE BRAKES FAILIED AGAIN. ALMOST RAN INTO A HOUSE WITH NO BRAKES. HAD THE CAR TWOWED. THEY SEEM TO CANNOT FIND A PROBLEM CAR HAS BEEN WITH AUTO NATION FORD UNION CITY, GA 3 DAYS NOW WITH NO END IN SITE. WAS TOLD BY THE SERVICE ADVISOR THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE MASTER CYLINDERS. I COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING. HE ALSO TOLD NE THAT A RECALL MAY HAVE BEEN ACTIVE WHEN I PAID FOR THE REPAIR AT THE SAME DEALERSHIP IN OCTOBER 2013.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/7/2014 - ELWOOD, IN
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

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/7/2014 - ELWOOD, IN
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

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/1/2014 - NORTH POTOMAC, MD
BOUGHT THE CAR USED FROM A FORD DEALER WITH 46,138 MILES AND PURCHASED AN EXTEND WARRANTY 07/17/2010 IN DEC 2010 NOTICED A SMELL FROM CAR , TOOK IT TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP, HE PRINTED ME OUT THE FORD TSB 09-25-7 THAT IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM WITH THE RIGHT HAND INT SHAFT LEAK ON THE POWER TRANSFER UNIT (PTU) I TOOK TO A LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP, THEY CONFIRMED THE PROBLEM AND FIXED, UNDER THE ORIGINAL CAR WARRANTY.(55,799 MILES) IN AUG 2012 NOTICED THE SAME SMELL, WENT AN OTHER FORD DEALERSHIP(9-12-12), SAME PROBLEM WITH PTU SEALS, AND NOT COVERED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. PAID APPROXIMATELY $800 TO REPAIR. IN MAY 2014 SAME SMELL AGAIN, TOOK BACK TO THE DEALER WHO DID THE LAST REPAIR (6-27-14), PTU AGAIN, EXCEPT THIS TIME IT NEEDED SEALS PLUS A NEW PTU OVER $1,400 TO REPAIR. THE SMELL COMES FROM THE FLUID DRIPPING ONTO THE EXHAUST, NOT SURE HOW TOXIC OR FLAMMABLE IT IS BUT I KNOW IT CAN'T BE GOOD FOR YOU. THIS IS NOT CAUSED BY MISS USE OF THE CAR OR LACK OF MAINTENANCE. IT IS FORD POOR DESIGN, AND I REALIZE MISTAKES HAPPEN, BUT STAND BEHIND YOUR PRODUCT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/25/2014 - HUNTERSVILLE, NC
MY VEHICLE ALL OF A SUDDEN STARTED TO SLOW DOWN SUDDENLY LIKE I HAD TAKEN MY FOOT OFF THE GAS. IT STARTED SHUDDERING AND MY TRANSMISSION LIGHT CAME ON. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION SO I HAD IT TOWED TO THE SHOP. AFTER DIAGNOSIS, IT SHOWED MY CYLINDERS WERE MISFIRING. IT WAS DUE TO A BAD COIL WHICH WAS CAUSING THE SPARK PLUGS TO READ AT AN EXTREMELY HIGH VOLTAGE. THEY NEEDED TO REPLACE ALL COILS AND ALL SPARK PLUGS. THEN FOUND OUT THAT IT FRIED MY PCM(COMPUTER) WHICH ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED. COME TO FIND OUT, THIS IS A KNOW ISSUE WITH THE 2007 FORD EDGE AND THERE IS A TSB ON IT FOR THIS EXACT SITUATION. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THE PCM HAD A MALFUNCTION WHICH CAUSED THE COILS/SPARK PLUGS TO GO BAD. THEY ALSO SAID THE PCM HAS A MANUFACTURER 8 YEAR/80,000 MILE WARRANTY. WELL I WAS AT 7 YEARS/83000 MILES AND WHEN THEY SUBMITTED THE WARRANTY CLAIM, FORD DENIED IT FORCING ME TO PAY $2400 FOR THE REPAIRS. I THINK THIS IS RIDICULOUS TO DENY A KNOWN MALFUNCTION FOR ONLY 3000 MILES OVER. WHAT IF I HAD BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN MY VEHICLE SUDDENLY CAME TO A STOP? I HAD MY SON WITH ME THAT DAY AND THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT, POSSIBLY INVOLVING OTHER DRIVERS, AND WE MAY HAVE EVEN BEEN INJURED. AND FORD DOESN'T FEEL RESPONSIBLE TO HELP WITH THE COST OF THIS REPAIR??

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds