Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2007 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 360 complaints filed for the 2007 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Fuel Propulsion System (47) Seats (4) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (39) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Service Brakes (20) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Engine (24) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (26)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (28) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (6) Power Train (98) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (7)
Exterior Lighting (28) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/28/2015 - BEAR LAKE, PA
VERY STRONG SMELL OF GAS/FUEL. HAS IT TAKEN TO BODY SHOP 2 TIMES TO CHECK FOR A FUEL LEAK IN LINES, NOTHING FOUND. CONTINUED TO SMELL GAS, CAUSING SEVERE HEADACHES IN MYSELF, MY 6 YEAR OLD AND MY 3 YEAR OLD. SEVERAL TRIPS TO ER AND URGENT CARE FOR HEADACHES, NO CAUSE FOUND AFTER MANY XRAYS AND MRI SCANS. RECALL NOTICE RECEIVED 12/14 FOR FUEL TANK DEFECT. VEHICLE IMPOUNDED AT LOCAL DEALER UNTIL UNSPECIFIED TIME TO BE FIXED. ESTIMATED TIME TO FIX 8/15. FORD HAS MADE NO ATTEMPT TO REPLACE OR REFUND THE VEHICLE WITH SAFETY RECALL AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS AT THE DEALER AND THROUGH FMC WEBSITE TO NO AVAIL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/26/2015 - AUBURN HILLS, MI
ON OR AROUND 11/29/2014 I WAS DRIVING MY FAMILY IN OUR 2007 FORD EDGE ON THE FREEWAY, TRAVELING APPROX. 70 MPH, WHEN THE SYSTEM DISPLAY READ SOMTHING REFERRING TO O/D TRANSMISSION MESSAGE OF SOME SORT. I LOST DRIVE TRAIN POWER AND COASTED TO AN EXIT RAMP WHILE THE VEHICLE STRUGGLE TO MAINTAIN DRIVE. A SHORT TIME LATER I WAS ABLE TO PARK IN A PARKING LOT, AND WHEN I SHIFTED THE LEVER INTO PARK IT PASSED BY REVERSE AND SHIFTED VIOLENTLY. I TRIED TO SHIFHT TO DRIVE WITH THE SAME RESULT. I CONTACTED AVIS FORD WHERE WE PURCHASED THE VEHICLE, TOLD THEM WHAT HAPPENED, AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT THIER SERVICE CENTER WAS BACKED UP ON TRANSMISSION REPARS FOR A RECALL TILL FEBRUARY 2015! I FOUND ATRANSMISSION SHOP WHO, RAN A DIAGNOSTIC CHECK, AND DROVE MY VEHICLE WITH ME IN IT, AND SAID THERE WASN'T ANYTHING HE COULD SEE. I CALLED MY SALESMAN, HE TRIED TO SEE WHAT HE COULD DO. HE LATER INFORMED ME IF I COULD SOMEHOW GET THE VEHICLE HOME, TO UNHOOK THE BATTERY, WAIT FOR AN HOUR, AND HOOK IT BACK UP THAT THIS WOULD RESET THE PCM MODULE, AND MAYBE CORRECT THE ISSUE. IT APPEARED TO REMEDY THE SYMPTOM, UNTIL TODAY WHEN MY WIFE ARRIVED AT HER OFFICE, AND AS SHE WAS PULLING IN TO PARK THE SAME MESSAGE APPEARED, WITH THE SAME SYMPTOMS. UNFORTUNATELY THIS IS OUR ONLY VEHICLE, AND I'LL HAVE TO WAIT AND SEE WHAT TO DO NEXT. I HAVE CONTACTED MY DEALER. I ALSO CALLE FORD MOTOR CO.'S CUSTOMER SERVICE TODAY TO SEE IF THERE WERE ANY RECALLS FOR THESE SYMPTOMS, AND THE REPRESENTATIVE STATED THAT THERE WERE NONE FOR THAT. BUT DID GIVE ME A RECALL ON GAS TANK STRAPS, AND A CASE #CAS-5879019.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2015 - EASTON, MD
AFTER STOPPING AT A STOP SIGN, WHEN I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR MY 2007 FORD EDGE WOULD NOT GO FORWARD (ALTHOUGH THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RUN). I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TRIED SEVERAL MORE TIMES UNSUCCESSFULLY. NOT KNOWING WHAT ELSE TO DO I PRESSED HARD ON THE ACCELERATOR AND IT STARTED AGAIN. THAT HAPPENED 6 MONTHS AGO. IN THE PAST 3 WEEKS IT HAS HAPPENED 2 MORE TIMES. TODAY, IT TOOK A DIFFERENT TURN. THE CAR SHIFTED WITH DIFFICULTY, THE WRENCH ICON LIT UP ON THE DASHBOARD AND THEN RODE SLUGGISHLY TIL I GOT HOME (ABOUT 4 MILES). I LEFT THE CAR IN MY DRIVEWAY FOR 30 MINUTES - WHEN I TURNED IT BACK ON THE WRENCH ICON WAS OFF AND THE CAR RAN FINE. UPON A SEARCH ON THE INTERNET I HAVE FOUND I AM NOT ALONE WITH THIS SAFETY ISSUE. I AM ALSO NOT ALONE WITH GETTING NO HELP FROM FORD. I WOULD GLADLY HAVE IT REPAIRED BUT MY DEALER APPEARS CLUELESS AND SAID THEY CANNOT FIX IT IF IT DOESN'T HAPPEN WHEN IT'S AT THEIR GARAGE. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY PROBLEM AND FEELS LIKE PLAYING ROULETTE WITH MY LIFE. I BELIEVE I HAVE BEEN LUCKY SO FAR BUT WHO KNOWS WHAT HAPPENS IF I'M ON A HIGHWAY WHEN THE EDGE DECIDES TO STOP. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/18/2015 - CONCORD, GA
I HAVE A 2007 FORD EDGE. MY WIFE WAS DRIVE AND WITH NO WARNING OR NOTIFICATION THE CAR STARTED SHAKING, SPUTTERING, AND LOST ALL POWER. THE SHOP I TOOK IT TO SAYS THE PCM AND 3 IGNITION COILS NEED TO BE REPLACED. I HAVE FOUND ONLINE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE SAME PROBLEM ON THE SAME CAR. I CONTACTED FORD ABOUT A RECALL AND WAS TOLD IT IS MY PROBLEM. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A FORD MAN, I HAVE OWNED 7 BUT NOW WILL NEVER BUY ONE A AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/16/2015 - WALLKILL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL WAS LEAKING FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE HEATER FAILED TO WORK. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V682000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/15/2015 - WASHINGTON , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT FUEL FUMES EMITTED INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL VENTS, CANISTER VENT AND A VENT VALVE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER ID: 14V682000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE PARTS NOT BEING AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - REDFORD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V682000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2015 - PALMYRA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL JERKING VIBRATION COMING FROM THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS A BURNING ODOR EMITTING FROM THE VEHICLE AS IT STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WERE TWO DEFECTIVE SPARK PLUGS. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/23/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL WAS MAKING AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V682000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) BUT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 62,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/21/2014 - OLD FORGE , PA
THE 2007 FORD EDGE AWD 93,000 MILES DEVELOPED A SLIGHT HUMMING IN THE FRONT END, IT ACTUALLY SOUNDED LIKE A CUPPED TIRE OR A WHEEL BEARING. WE IMMEDIATELY CALLED OUR MECHANIC AND HAD IT INSPECTED. UPON INSPECTION HE INFORMED US THAT THE PTU WAS RUINED, WE HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FROM NEW AND SERVICED IT AS REQUIRED AND ONLY DRIVE IT ON THE HIGHWAY APPROX 45 MILES PER DAY. IT TURNS OUT THAT THE PTU (TRANSFER CASE) OVERALL HAS A ISSUE WITH THE SEALS THAT HOLD THE FLUID (OUTER SEAL=GEAR OIL, INNER SEAL= TRANNY FLUID) INSIDE THE UNIT, THE MECHANIC SAID THAT HE'S DONE SO MANY OF THE SEAL REPLACEMENTS THAT AT ONE POINT THAT WAS ALL HE WAS DOING IN A DAY AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE REAL ISSUE IS THAT WHEN THE SEAL GOES YOU CAN'T TELL BECAUSE IT LEAKS DIRECTLY ONTO THE EXHAUST AND BURNS OFF AS YOUR DRIVING. IF WE WERE INFORMED OF THE LEAKY SEAL WE COULD HAVE HAD THE SEALS REPLACED FOR ABOUT $200, BUT UNFORTUNATELY WE FOUND OUT THE HARD (EXPENSIVE) WAY $2000. IM A PERSON THAT TAKES CAR MAINTENANCE VERY SERIOUSLY, WE HAVE A CONSTRUCTION COMPANY AND HAVE HAD ABOUT 14 DIFFERENT FORD MODELS OVER THE YEARS, AND ITS BECOMING MORE APPARENT ANY FORD BUILT AFTER 2004 IS FILLED WITH ISSUES (TO ME FACTORY DEFECTS) THAT THEY AREN'T TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR. I WISH I WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE WITH THE SEAL AS I WOULD HAVE ABOUT $ 1800 DOLLARS MORE IN MY BANK ACCOUNT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds