Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2007 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 241 complaints filed for the 2007 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (4) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (26) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (11) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Engine (14) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Suspension (10) Visibility (26)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (2) Tires (28) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (6) Power Train (67) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (7)
Exterior Lighting (21) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/15/2014 - FREEBURG, IL
WHILE DRIVING DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND FELT A LOT OF RESISTANCE WITHOUT MUCH BRAKING. AFTER A SECOND OR THREE THE PEDAL STARTED TO PLUNGE TO THE FLOOR APPLYING THE BRAKES WITH GREAT FORCE. TOOK TO LOCAL DEALER WHERE THEY REPLACED THE MASTER BRAKE BOOSTER. THIS WAS AT 61000 AND WAS NOT UNDER WARRANTY. JUST TODAY APRIL 15, 2014 IT HAPPENED AGAIN. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND RECEIVED THE SAME PROGNOSIS, THE MASTER BRAKE BOOSTER IS BAD. THE CAR CURRENTLY HAS 120000 ON IT, KIND OF ODD THAT IT WAS NEARLY THE SAME DURATION FOR THE SECOND ONE TO GO BAD. THIS TIME THE COST IS NEARLY DOUBLE THAT OF LAST TIME. THIS IS ULTIMATELY A VERY DANGEROUS DEFECT AS IT QUICKLY HAPPENS AND YOU MAY NOT STOP IN TIME TO AVOID COLLISION.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2014 - HUMBLE , TX
DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS THE VEHICLE WILL SHIFT VERY HARD, FEELS LIKE SOMEONE REAR ENDING ME. THE TRANSMISSION FEELS LIKE IT HAS A HARD TIME GETTING INTO GEAR. AT HIGH SPEEDS THE SAME THING HAPPENS BUT USUALLY ON HOT DAYS. THE TRANSMISSION FINALLY GAVE OUT AT 75000 DUE TO THE HARD SLAMMING AND HAD TO BE REBUILT. I WAS LEAVING A DRIVEWAY AND WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE, PUTTING ME AT RISK OF BEING HIT FROM BEHIND. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTROUS AT HIGH SPEEDS. AT 78000 MILES I AM STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM, I TURN THE VEHICLE ON THE THE TRANSMISSION SLAMS INTO R AND THEN I CANNOT ACCELERATE PAST 10 MPH. I TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTART IT, AND IT SEEMS LIKE NOTHING EVERY HAPPENED. THIS HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS COME ONE ONLY EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE WHILE IT IS HAPPENING. WORRIED ABOUT ME AND MY BABIES SAFETY WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/10/2014 - HUMBLE , TX
DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS THE VEHICLE WILL SHIFT VERY HARD, FEELS LIKE SOMEONE REAR ENDING ME. THE TRANSMISSION FEELS LIKE IT HAS A HARD TIME GETTING INTO GEAR. AT HIGH SPEEDS THE SAME THING HAPPENS BUT USUALLY ON HOT DAYS. THE TRANSMISSION FINALLY GAVE OUT AT 75000 DUE TO THE HARD SLAMMING AND HAD TO BE REBUILT. I WAS LEAVING A DRIVEWAY AND WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE, PUTTING ME AT RISK OF BEING HIT FROM BEHIND. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTROUS AT HIGH SPEEDS. AT 78000 MILES I AM STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM, I TURN THE VEHICLE ON THE THE TRANSMISSION SLAMS INTO R AND THEN I CANNOT ACCELERATE PAST 10 MPH. I TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTART IT, AND IT SEEMS LIKE NOTHING EVERY HAPPENED. THIS HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS COME ONE ONLY EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE WHILE IT IS HAPPENING. WORRIED ABOUT ME AND MY BABIES SAFETY WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2014 - HUMBLE , TX
DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS THE VEHICLE WILL SHIFT VERY HARD, FEELS LIKE SOMEONE REAR ENDING ME. THE TRANSMISSION FEELS LIKE IT HAS A HARD TIME GETTING INTO GEAR. AT HIGH SPEEDS THE SAME THING HAPPENS BUT USUALLY ON HOT DAYS. THE TRANSMISSION FINALLY GAVE OUT AT 75000 DUE TO THE HARD SLAMMING AND HAD TO BE REBUILT. I WAS LEAVING A DRIVEWAY AND WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE, PUTTING ME AT RISK OF BEING HIT FROM BEHIND. THIS COULD HAVE BEEN DISASTROUS AT HIGH SPEEDS. AT 78000 MILES I AM STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM, I TURN THE VEHICLE ON THE THE TRANSMISSION SLAMS INTO R AND THEN I CANNOT ACCELERATE PAST 10 MPH. I TURN THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTART IT, AND IT SEEMS LIKE NOTHING EVERY HAPPENED. THIS HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS COME ONE ONLY EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE WHILE IT IS HAPPENING. WORRIED ABOUT ME AND MY BABIES SAFETY WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/2/2014 - FLORENCE, CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ABNORMAL FORCE WOULD HAVE TO BE APPLIED TO THE BRAKES BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD STOP COMPLETELY. ADDITIONALLY, THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD FEEL HARD AND RESISTANT WHEN BEING DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE MASTER BOOSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION AND DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT PROVIDED NO REMEDY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. KMJ

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/18/2014 - NILES, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT EXTREME PRESSURE HAD TO BE APPLIED TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL IN ORDER FOR THE VEHICLE TO RESPOND. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD EXHIBIT AN ABNORMAL NOISE WHEN IN REVERSE OR CHANGING GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/27/2014 - REVERE, MA
STRONG FUEL ODOR PRESENT INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. AFTER FUELING NOTICED A STEADY DRIP FROM FUEL TANK. BROUGHT VEHICLE TO PRIVATE MECHANIC AND WAS TOLD FUEL TANK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AS IT SHOWED EVIDENCE OF CORROSION ON THE TOP OF THE TANK. FORD HAS BEEN NOTIFIED AND WILL NOT ASSIST WITH REPAIR NOR WILL THEY ADMIT IT IS A DESIGN DEFECT OR ACKNOWLEDGE OTHER COMPLAINTS FOR FAULTY FUEL TANKS. IT IS NOT NORMAL FOR A FUEL TANK TO ROT ON A 6 YEAR OLD VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/24/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I WOKE UP TO MY HOUSE SMELLING OF GAS, AFTER TAKING IT TO A SHOP, I WAS TOLD THERE WAS A CRACK IN THE TOP OF THE TANK. IT TOOK 3 DAYS TO GET IT BACK, WHEN I PICKED IT UP, I WAS TOLD TO FILL IT UP WITH GAS, THEN IT WAS LEAKING GAS REAL BAD, STEADY DRIP. I TOOK IT RIGHT BACK TO THE SHOP WHERE THEY KEPT OVER THE WEEKEND, SAID IT WAS RUSTED VERY BAD, IT HAS A COUPLE RUST SPOTS THAT GAVE WAY WHEN I PUT GAS IN IT. SAID IT NEEDS A NEW TANK, AND FOR SUCH A NEW CAR, IT SHOULD NOT BE THIS BAD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/7/2014 - DUNCANNON, PA
I WAS JUST DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND HEARD A LOUD NOISE AND DAYS LATER STARTED SMELLING GAS AND LOOKED UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE ONLY TO DISCOVER THAT THE GAS TANK SPLIT AND STARTED LEAKING.....CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND THEY REFUSE TO FIX IT OR RECALL IT. I CAN'T AFFORD TO GET A NEW TANK THAT COST $2,300 AND FORD RECALLED THE 2008 MODELS FOR THIS REASON BUT REFUSED TO RECALL THE 2007 MODELS....I AM VERY ANGRY BECAUSE AS IT IS I AM GETTING ABOUT 10 MILE TO THE GALLON ON GAS AND ONLY ABLE TO PUT ABOUT 4 GALLONS IN THE TANK AT A TIME AND DRIVE AROUND EVERY DAY WORRYING IF I WOULD EVER GET INTO AN ACCIDENT GOD FORBID I WOULD MAYBE BLOW UP BECAUSE OF THE LEAKING GAS TANK ON THIS VEHICLE...

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/20/2014 - TIMONIUM, MD
2007 FORD EDGE;MILEAGE 63153 LEAKED FLUID/BURNING RUBBER ODOR WAS EMITTED FROM UNDER THE HOOD AREA. SERVICE VEHICLE:FIND INTERNAL SEAL LEAKING IN PTU. NOT SERVICEABLE. NEED TO REPLACE PTU.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds