Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2007 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 531 complaints filed for the 2007 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Exterior Lighting (34) Seat Belts (3) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (66) Fuel Propulsion System (72) Seats (4) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (32) Service Brakes (45) Suspension (14) Visibility (27)
Engine (55) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (29) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Electric (2) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (7)
Equipment (8) Power Train (151) Service Brakes Hydraulic (30)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/21/2017 - SEATTLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO A FUEL STATION AND ADDED SOME TRANSMISSION FLUID. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION COIL BURNED. THE CONTACT PURCHASED AND REPLACED THE IGNITION. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE THE NEXT DAY, THE NEWLY INSTALLED IGNITION COIL CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE CONTACT USED A TOWEL TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER AND THE SIX IGNITION COILS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL, BUT PROMISED TO COMMUNICATE WITH THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/9/2017 - MANCHESTER, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL BECAME INOPERABLE AS THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PCM FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/2/2017 - ARLINGTON, TX
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V384000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WA UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/31/2017 - UNION GROVE, WI
PERSISTENT SMELL WHEN DRIVING AND THEN FOUND DARK "OIL" SPOTS THAT SPREAD THROUGHOUT UNDER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND ON MY GARAGE FLOOR AFTER BEING PARKED. BROUGHT TO FORD DEALERSHIP: PTU FAILURE IS WHAT WE ARE BEING TOLD. VERY COSTLY REPAIR/REPLACEMENT CHARGE OF PTU ASSEMBLY, APPROXIMATELY $1500. I'M PUTTING IN THIS COMPLAINT BECAUSE I HAVE SEEN MANY, MANY COMPLAINTS OF OTHER PEOPLE EXPERIENCING SIMILAR ISSUE WITH THIS MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR. PLEASE CONSIDER INVESTIGATING, AND IF THIS HAPPENED TO SOMEONE ELSE PLEASE PUT IN YOUR COMPLAINT SO IT WILL GO TO INVESTIGATION, THANK YOU!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/20/2017 - COLUMBUS, OH
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE WHEN I SUDDENLY LOST POWER. I MANAGED TO SOMEHOW GET MY CAR OFF THE ROAD AND EXIT THE HIGHWAY (I WAS JUST ABOUT TO THE EXIT WHEN THIS HAPPENED). IT WAS LOOKED AT BY A FORD DEALER WHO SAID THE PCM DIED AND TOOK OUT AT LEAST THREE COIL PACKS. TOLD ME IF I DROVE IT ANY FURTHER IT WOULD LIKELY CATCH FIRE. UP TO THIS POINT I HADN'T HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR. IT WAS RUNNING FINE. THIS ALL HAPPENED SO QUICKLY AND IN SUCH A DANGEROUS LOCATION THAT IT COULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. UPON RESEARCHING PLACES TO FIX THE ISSUE, I NOTICED A RATHER LARGE AMOUNT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE AND THIS SAME MAKE MODEL AND CAR YEAR. EACH COMPLAINT SAID THIS HAPPENED ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/17/2017 - SARASOTA, FL
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V384000 (AIR BAGS). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE RECALL REMEDY WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/13/2017 - HENDERSON, NV
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V384000 (AIR BAGS) WAS RECEIVED IN JUNE. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE RECALL REMEDY WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE. THERE WAS NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/12/2017 - SOMERSWORTH, NH
WHILE DRIVING ON A FREEWAY SUDDENLY A PUNGENT SMELL FILLED THE CABIN AND THAT WAS UNBEARABLE ALONG WITH A HUGE CRACKING SOUND THAT DIDN'T STOP... TOOK THE NEXT EXIT AND STOPPED AT A PARKING SPOT. TOOK TO THE FORD DEALER THE SAME DAY AND THEY DIAGNOSED IMMEDIATELY THAT THE PTU NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND THAT'S A KNOW ISSUE WHERE ALMOST ALL THE FORD EDGES OF 2007 AND 08 HAVE THE PTU ISSUE. THE SMELL IS FROM THE OIL THAT LEAKED FROM THE PTU WHICH FELL ON THE EXHAUST. PAID AROUND $1800 TO REPLACE THE PTU. I AM WONDERING WHY THERE IS NO RECALL AS IT SEEM TO HAPPEN FOR MOST OF THE EDGES. CALLED THE FORD CORPORATE CUSTOMER CARE TO REPORT THE ISSUE AND THEY DIDN'T CARE TO LISTEN AND ASKED TO DEAL WITH THE LOCAL DEALERS. DIDN'T EXPECT THIS FROM FORD AND I WOULD REQUEST NHTSA ODI TEAM TO LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE AND FLAG THIS AS RECALL AS THIS COULD CREATE A SERIOUS CRASH WHEN IT HAPPENS ON A FREEWAY AS IT COULD SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY AND THINK ABOUT THE CONDITION OF THE INFANTS WHO COULD INHALE THE GASES. I LITERALLY HAD ISSUE INHALING FOR NEXT COUPLE OF DAYS AS THE SMELL WAS THAT BAD WHEN IT LEAKED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/12/2017 - SCHILLER PARK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT FAILED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE CONTACT HAD TO PUMP THE BRAKE PEDAL SEVERAL TIMES TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE BOOSTER NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/10/2017 - SUFFOLK, VA
TAKATA RECALL MY VEHICLE WAS ONE OF THE MILLIONS IDENTIFIED AS HAVING AN AIRBAG THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN A FLORIDA VEHICLE SINCE 2008 SO IT HAS DEFINITELY BEEN EXPOSED TO THE TYPES OF CONDITIONS THAT AFFECT THE AIRBAG. WITHOUT RECEIVING ANY WORD ON WHEN A FIX WILL BE AVAILABLE MAKES THE VEHICLE USELESS FOR MY FAMILY. I'M SURE THAT PROVIDING ME WITH THE RECALL ENSURES THAT FORD HAS PASSED ON THE LIABILITY IN THE EVENT THAT SOMETHING SHOULD HAPPEN TO A PASSENGER IN THE FRONT SEAT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds