Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EXPLORER - 2007 FORD EXPLORER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 200 complaints filed for the 2007 FORD EXPLORER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 FORD EXPLORER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 FORD EXPLORER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Unknown Or Other (4)
Child Seat (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Power Train (56) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (23) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (27) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (22) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2019 - STERLING, MI
OUT TRANSMISSION FAILED WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. WE UNDERSTAND THAT THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPORTED MANY TIMES AND THAT FORD IS AWARE OF IT. IT IS A MALFUNCTION IN THE TRANSMISSION AND NOT A MAINTENANCE PROBLEM. WE WERE DRIVING ON 25 HEADED EAST OUT OF BAY CITY GOING STRAIGHT AT 55 MILES AN HOUR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/24/2019 - MARICOPA, AZ
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR JUST CUT OFF. NO WARNING .

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/13/2019 - HOUSTON, TX
POWER BRAKE BOOSTER FAILURE. DIAPHRAGM INSIDE THE BRAKE BOOSTER FAILED SUDDENLY CAUSING A HARD TIME TO STOP WHEN TRAVELING AT A HIGHWAY. NO CRASH INVOLVED BUT HAD TO USE THE SHOULDER FOR EXTRA STOPPING DISTANCE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2019 - LA MIRADA, CA
CAR HESITATES AT FIRST START UP IN THE MORNING. AND SOMETIMES WHEN TURN OFF AND THEN TURN ON.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/4/2018 - PHILADEPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT DRIVES A 2007 FORD EXPLORER OWNED BY THE PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE HESITATED WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE MIRROR WAS DETACHED AND WAS RE-ATTACHED WITH A PIECE OF GLASS AND TAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURES WERE REPORTED TO THE SUPERVISOR AS WELL AS DOCUMENTED IN A VEHICLE REPORT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR REPAIRS, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT SEVERAL OTHER FORD EXPLORERS IN THE PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT FLEET WERE UNSAFE TO DRIVE AS THEY EXHIBITED HESITATION AND STALLING. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WERE NOT DETERMINED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/4/2018 - PHILADEPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT DRIVES A 2007 FORD EXPLORER OWNED BY THE PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE HESITATED WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE MIRROR WAS DETACHED AND WAS RE-ATTACHED WITH A PIECE OF GLASS AND TAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURES WERE REPORTED TO THE SUPERVISOR AS WELL AS DOCUMENTED IN A VEHICLE REPORT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR REPAIRS, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT SEVERAL OTHER FORD EXPLORERS IN THE PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT FLEET WERE UNSAFE TO DRIVE AS THEY EXHIBITED HESITATION AND STALLING. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WERE NOT DETERMINED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

12/4/2018 - PHILADEPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT DRIVES A 2007 FORD EXPLORER OWNED BY THE PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE HESITATED WHILE DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE MIRROR WAS DETACHED AND WAS RE-ATTACHED WITH A PIECE OF GLASS AND TAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURES WERE REPORTED TO THE SUPERVISOR AS WELL AS DOCUMENTED IN A VEHICLE REPORT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR REPAIRS, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT SEVERAL OTHER FORD EXPLORERS IN THE PHILADELPHIA SCHOOL DISTRICT FLEET WERE UNSAFE TO DRIVE AS THEY EXHIBITED HESITATION AND STALLING. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WERE NOT DETERMINED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/14/2018 - KINGMAN, KS
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE, MY DRIVER SIDE SEAT WILL MOVE BY ITSELF. IT'S HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AND IS VERY SCARY KNOWING I CANT REACH THE GAS OR BRAKE PEDAL WHILE DRIVING WHEN IT HAPPENS. MY HEATED SEAT DOESNT WORK PROPERLY EITHER I DONT KNOW IF THIS IS ALL PART OF THE PROBLEM OR NOT. THE SIDE AIRBAG ON MY DRIVER SEAT ALSO IS BULGED OUT MORE THEN IT SHOULD BE I BELIEVE.

View Details

SEATS

11/14/2018 - KINGMAN, KS
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE, MY DRIVER SIDE SEAT WILL MOVE BY ITSELF. IT'S HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AND IS VERY SCARY KNOWING I CANT REACH THE GAS OR BRAKE PEDAL WHILE DRIVING WHEN IT HAPPENS. MY HEATED SEAT DOESNT WORK PROPERLY EITHER I DONT KNOW IF THIS IS ALL PART OF THE PROBLEM OR NOT. THE SIDE AIRBAG ON MY DRIVER SEAT ALSO IS BULGED OUT MORE THEN IT SHOULD BE I BELIEVE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/7/2018 - MILLEN, GA
HARMONIC BALANCER IS BAD ON A LOT OF FORD EXPLORERS. MY GIRLFRIEND AND I JUST PURCHASED A 2007 FORD EXPLORER AND DIDN'T HAVE ANY PROBLEMS AT ALL. A COUPLE WEEKS AGO WE NOTICE A LOUD SQUEALING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. FIRST THOUGHT IT WAS A FAN BELT NEEDING REPLACED. REPLACED THAT ITS GOT WORSE. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I FOUND OUT A LOT OF FORD CUSTOMERS ARE HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THIS ISSUE. ALL THE VIDEOS AND FORUM SEARCHES LEADS TO THE HARMONIC BALANCER. THESE THINGS GO BAD AND CAUSES MORE PROBLEMS WITHIN THE PULLEY BELT SYSTEM, EVEN ENGINE FAILURE. I'M ONLY MAKING THIS COMPLAINT BECAUSE FORD HASN'T MADE ANY ADJUSTMENTS OR ATTEMPT TO PUT OUT A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE AND ITS THE PURPOSE OF ENGINE FAILURE IN A LOT OF FORD EXPLORERS, EXPEDITIONS, ETC. THE SQUEAL OCCURS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS STATIONARY AND IN MOTION. IT STOPS PERIODICALLY, BUT STARTS UP AGAIN AT TAKE OFF FROM STOPS AND ITS CONSTANT WHEN DRIVING CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO HAVE A FEEL OF LOST OF POWER. ALOT OF THE CUSTOMERS ARE DEALING WITH THIS ISSUE THEMSELVES. SOME DOESN'T MAKE IT TO GETTING IT FIXED BECAUSE SHOPS SAYING ITS A BELT AND NEVER GET THE REAL PROBLEM FIXED. FORD NEEDS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR A MECHANICAL PART THAT BASICALLY RUNS THE VEHICLE. BAD HARMONIC BALANCER OR DAMAGE BALANCER EQUALS WORN BELTS, BAD BELT TENSIONER, AND DAMAGE TO ENGINE LIFE ITSELF AND NEED TO RESOLVED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds