Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2007 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 351 complaints filed for the 2007 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (108) Exterior Lighting (11) Power Train (44) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (81) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (11) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine (4) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Seats (5) Structure (22) Visibility (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (21) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (30) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (20) Wheels (6)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/17/2017 - HAVERFORD, PA
TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY ON BOTH SIDES ($200 EACH TO REPLACE) ARE MELTING FROM THE HEAT OF THE STOP/TAIL LIGHT BULB. I SEE MANY OTHER SIMILAR COMPLAINTS TO NHTSA. IT NECESSITATES PUTTING IN LOWER WATTAGE BULBS WHICH ARE NOT AS BRIGHT AS THE ORIGINAL. THIS WAS DISCOVERED WHEN REPLACING A BULB.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/29/2017 - INDEPENDENCE, OH
CAR IN MOTION, WHILE BRAKING AND MAKING A TURN WOULD LOSE BRAKE PEDAL PRESSURE IF GOING OVER ROUGH ROAD. ON 9/24/14, THIS SITUATION RESULTED IN AN ACCIDENT, COLLISION WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE DUE TO INABILITY TO STOP. INSURANCE REPAIRED THE CAR COSMETICALLY, BUT DID NOT ADDRESS OR REPAIR THE BRAKING ISSUE. FIRST TIME TO DEALER AFTER THE ACCIDENT, THEY TRIED BLEEDING THE BRAKES. THIS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE CAR UNTIL LARGE AMOUNT OF BRAKE FLUID APPEARED IN DRIVEWAY. SECOND DEALER REPAIRED BY REPLACING THE ABS HYDRAULIC CONTROL UNIT AT A COST OF OVER $2000. BRAKE PEDAL PRESSURE PROBLEM WAS FINALLY RESOLVED. TODAY, 8/29/2017, WHILE DRIVING OFF AN EXIT RAMP, BRAKING AND TURNING ONTO A ROAD THAT WAS BEING RESURFACED (ROUGH ROAD TRANSITION), I LOST BRAKE PEDAL PRESSURE. PEDAL WENT NEARLY TO FLOOR. PEDAL WAS SOFT THROUGH THE NEXT FEW MILES. I PARKED THE CAR TO ATTEND AN EVENT. THEN I CONTINUED HOME, DRIVING INCLUDED A FEW MORE TRAFFIC LIGHT STOPS ON MY WAY HOME, THE BRAKE PEDAL PRESSURE SUDDENLY RETURNED. TONIGHT'S EVENT BRINGS BACK MEMORIES OF THE SAME SITUATIONS I EXPERIENCED WITH THIS CAR YEARS AGO. I HAVE ATTACHED A BRIEF INSURANCE SUMMARY ABOUT THE NATURE OF THE CLAIM. I WAS NOT ABLE TO FIND THE POLICE REPORT, BUT MAY BE ABLE TO REQUEST ANOTHER COPY SHOULD YOU WANT IT. COULD THIS PROBLEM ON MY 2007 FORD FOCUS BE RELATED TO NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE16017 WHICH DESCRIBES MY ISSUE BUT ON FORD FUSION'S BUILT DURING THE SAME YEAR? PLEASE INVESTIGATE IF SIMILAR OR THE SAME PARTS ARE SHARED BETWEEN THE FOCUS AND FUSION. WHILE TRYING TO SOLVE THIS PROBLEM YEARS AGO, I CAME ACROSS OTHERS EXPERIENCING THE SAME SYMPTOMS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/17/2017 - HELENA, MT
IN JUNE 2013, I WAS DRIVING N ON I15 (APPROX 82 MILES FROM HOME. AFTER USING CRUISE CONTROL AROUND 80MPH, THE SPEED LIMIT CHANGED TO 65. AS I TAPPED THE BRAKE TO STOP CC, MY CAR ALMOST STOPPED TO A GRINDING HALT. THE CAR HAD 47000 MILES. AFTER I PANICKED FOR ABOUT A HALF HOUR BECAUSE I AM DISABLED, I FINALLY PUT IT IN D & IT WORKED. WHEN I RETURNED HOME, IT LITERALLY STOPPED PERMANENTLY IN MY DRIVEWAY. I CALLED A TOW TO TAKE TO FORD DEALERSHIP. I PAID FOR THE TOW AND OF COURSE ALMOST $200 TO TELL ME THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED REPAIRED! THIS WOULD COST AROUND $3600! FORD HAS BEEN IGNORING ME FOR YEARS BECAUSE I FEEL THEY SHOULD PAY FOR TOWING, DIAGNOSTICS, REPAIRS AND CAR RENTALS. I HAVE RECEIVED NOTHING. NOT A LETTER FROM THE DEALERSHIP'S OWNER, NOTHING. I BOUGHT THIS CAR WITH EIGHT MILES ON THE ODOMETER & TOOK CARE OF IT SO IT WOULD LAST MANY YEARS. FORD HAS TREATED ME EXTREMELY UNFAIRLY & I'M STILL VERY ANGRY ABOUT THE MONEY I HAD TO SPEND! THANK YOU

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2017 - DETROIT, MI
HAD TO REPLACE THE POWER STEERING UNIT, REPLACED COMPUTER CHIPS STILL COMES ON SAYING CHECK ENGINE, SECTION OF AIR CONDITIONER RUSTED THROUGH, A SMALL LEAK, HAVE TO KEEP GETTING IT RECHARGED.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2017 - DETROIT, MI
HAD TO REPLACE THE POWER STEERING UNIT, REPLACED COMPUTER CHIPS STILL COMES ON SAYING CHECK ENGINE, SECTION OF AIR CONDITIONER RUSTED THROUGH, A SMALL LEAK, HAVE TO KEEP GETTING IT RECHARGED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/11/2017 - SOUTH PORTLAND, ME
THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT FOR THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIRBAG ON THE DASHBOARD GOES ON AND OFF AND HAS BEEN DOING THIS FOR THE PAST COUPLE OF YEARS. (I AM NOT SURE EXACTLY WHEN IT BEGAN, SINCE WHEN THE LIGHT WENT OFF, I THOUGHT THE PROBLEM WAS OVER) I HAVE HAD A CAR REPAIR SHOP TRY TO FIX IT SEVERAL TIMES, BUT THE PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED. THE WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON (IN EVERY SEASON OF THE YEAR) WHEN THE WEATHER IS HUMID OR DAMP AND GOES OFF WHEN THE AIR IS DRIER. THE MECHANICS SAY THE AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY WHEN THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON AND THAT I HAVE TO REPLACE THE AIRBAG AT A COST OF AROUND $400. I DO NOT BELIEVE IT IS A TAKATA AIRBAG, BUT AM NOT SURE. STILL, IT IS DEFECTIVE AND I THINK THESE AIRBAGS SHOULD BE INSPECTED IN OTHER FORD FOCUS MODELS IN WHICH THEY ARE INSTALLED. ALSO THE AUTOMATIC DOOR LOCK (LOCKING FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT DOOR) STOPPED WORKING FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE DOOR MORE THAN A YEAR AGO. I NOW HAVE TO LOCK AND UNLOCK IT MANUALLY FROM THE INSIDE, REQUIRING THE PASSENGER TO WAIT OUTSIDE THE CAR WHILE I (DRIVER) GET INTO THE CAR AND UNLOCK THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. THIS POSES A SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/11/2017 - SOUTH PORTLAND, ME
THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT FOR THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIRBAG ON THE DASHBOARD GOES ON AND OFF AND HAS BEEN DOING THIS FOR THE PAST COUPLE OF YEARS. (I AM NOT SURE EXACTLY WHEN IT BEGAN, SINCE WHEN THE LIGHT WENT OFF, I THOUGHT THE PROBLEM WAS OVER) I HAVE HAD A CAR REPAIR SHOP TRY TO FIX IT SEVERAL TIMES, BUT THE PROBLEM HAS CONTINUED. THE WARNING LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON (IN EVERY SEASON OF THE YEAR) WHEN THE WEATHER IS HUMID OR DAMP AND GOES OFF WHEN THE AIR IS DRIER. THE MECHANICS SAY THE AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY WHEN THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON AND THAT I HAVE TO REPLACE THE AIRBAG AT A COST OF AROUND $400. I DO NOT BELIEVE IT IS A TAKATA AIRBAG, BUT AM NOT SURE. STILL, IT IS DEFECTIVE AND I THINK THESE AIRBAGS SHOULD BE INSPECTED IN OTHER FORD FOCUS MODELS IN WHICH THEY ARE INSTALLED. ALSO THE AUTOMATIC DOOR LOCK (LOCKING FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT DOOR) STOPPED WORKING FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE DOOR MORE THAN A YEAR AGO. I NOW HAVE TO LOCK AND UNLOCK IT MANUALLY FROM THE INSIDE, REQUIRING THE PASSENGER TO WAIT OUTSIDE THE CAR WHILE I (DRIVER) GET INTO THE CAR AND UNLOCK THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR. THIS POSES A SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2017 - LEESVILLE, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL OTHER TIMES. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND IT WAS TOWED TO HIS RESIDENCE. THE DEALER (J.D. BYRIDER LOCATED AT 1801 GORDON HWY, AUGUSTA, GA 30904; (706) 736-5543) WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 803-359-4114 AND STATED THAT THERE MAY BE AN OPEN RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO CHECK FOR ANY RECALLS BEFORE THEY COULD INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/30/2017 - LEESVILLE, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL OTHER TIMES. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND IT WAS TOWED TO HIS RESIDENCE. THE DEALER (J.D. BYRIDER LOCATED AT 1801 GORDON HWY, AUGUSTA, GA 30904; (706) 736-5543) WAS CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AT 803-359-4114 AND STATED THAT THERE MAY BE AN OPEN RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE CONTACT TO CHECK FOR ANY RECALLS BEFORE THEY COULD INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 130,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2017 - ALLENTOWN, PA
CAN'T REMOVE KEY CAN'T REMOVE KEY

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds