Auto Recalls for Consumers

HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHRC - 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHRC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by HARLEY DAVIDSON

There are 11 complaints filed for the 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHRC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHRC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHRC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Power Train (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Service Brakes Electric (1) Structure (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/26/2013 - DETROIT, MI
IT START ABOUT A YEAR AGO, MY BIKE THEN HAD 25,000 MILE ON IT. IT WAS GETTING HARD TO START AFTER THE MOTOR WAS WARM. I CHANGE THE SPARK PLUGS, SPARK PLUG CABLES, IGNITION COIL AND BATTERY AND ITS WAS STILL HARD TO START. I TOOK THE BIKE TO THE DEALER WITH ABOUT 30,000 MILES ON IT AND THEY DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM TO BE THE COMPENSATOR. HOW CAN A BIKE WITH 30,000 MILE ON IT HAVE A MAJOR POWERTRAIN PROBLEM AND COST ME $800.00 TO REPAIR?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2012 - BEND, OR
I WAS RIDING MY 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON ROAD KING CLASSIC AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH WITH A PASSENGER WHEN THE BOLTS HOLDING THE REAR SPROCKET TO THE REAR WHEEL STARTED BACKING OUT. THE HEADS OF THE BOLTS STARTED HITTING THE SWING ARM AND SHEARING OFF. AS THIS HAPPENED THE BIKE LURCHED VIOLENTLY AND WAS DIFFICULT TO CONTROL. I WAS ABLE TO SLOW AND PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITHOUT CRASHING. UPON INSPECTION THE BOLTS TORE UP THE REAR WHEEL HUB, THE SPROCKET, AND THE SWING ARM. I WAS LUCKY THAT THE BACK TIRE DIDN'T LOCK UP AND CAUSE ME TO LOSE CONTROL. MY BIKE HAS 24,000 MILES ON IT, I BOUGHT IT NEW, AND HAVE HAD ALL THE SERVICE AND TIRE CHANGES DONE AT THE DEALERSHIP THAT I BOUGHT IT FROM. I HAVE HAD EVERY SERVICE REQUIRED AND IN FACT IT WAS SERVICED ABOUT 100 MILES BEFORE THIS HAPPENED. AS FAR AS I KNOW THE SPROCKET HAS NEVER BEEN REMOVED FROM THE REAR WHEEL, IT DOES NOT NEED TO BE REMOVED TO CHANGE THE TIRE. IF YOU DO AN INTERNET SEARCH USING THE SEARCH CRITERIA "HD REAR SPROCKET BOLTS BACKING OUT" YOU WILL FIND THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS AND PERVASIVE PROBLEM THAT HARLEY DAVIDSON ISN'T ACKNOWLEDGING. I CAN SEND YOU PICTURES AND ACTUAL DESTROYED PARTS IF IT WILL HELP.

View Details

TIRES

8/25/2010 - ST IGNATIUS, MT
I PURCHASED FRONT AND REAR TIRES FROM AN AVON VENDOR AT STURGIS, ND IN AUG 2010. 200 MILES LATER, ON MY WAY HOME, THE FRONT TIRE BLEW AT 70MPH. AFTER NEARLY CRASHING I MANAGED TO GET THE BIKE TO COME TO A STOP. AFTER RECEIVING A TOW I CALLED DAVID ALARI, THE DEALER WHO SOLD AND INSTALLED THE TIRES. ALL I WANTED WAS MY MONEY BACK FOR THE FRONT TIRE AND REINSTALLATION ($256). HE WOULD ONLY GIVE ME EXCUSES. I WILL VOICE MY DISGUST TO ALL WHO WILL HEAR, ESPECIALLY NEXT YEAR AT DAVID'S STURGIS LOCATION, HOW BADLY I WAS TREATED AND HOW DANGEROUS YOUR PRODUCT IS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/19/2010 - DALLAS, TX
THE ELECTRONIC CRUISE CONTROL ON THE 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON ROAD KING FLHR FAILED TO DISENGAGE AFTER FRONT AND REAR BRAKES WERE APPLIED CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL OF MOTORCYCLE IN A TURN CAUSING A CRASH AND SEVERE INJURIES TO RIDER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

5/19/2010 - DALLAS, TX
THE ELECTRONIC CRUISE CONTROL ON THE 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON ROAD KING FLHR FAILED TO DISENGAGE AFTER FRONT AND REAR BRAKES WERE APPLIED CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL OF MOTORCYCLE IN A TURN CAUSING A CRASH AND SEVERE INJURIES TO RIDER.

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/19/2007 - NORTH PORT, FL
I BOUGHT A NEW HARLEY-DAVIDSON, AND FROM THE FIRST MILE IT HAS HAD A SEVERE PULL TO THE LEFT. I HAVE AN INDEPENDENT EVALUATION THAT CONFIRMS MY COMPLAINT. HARLEY-DAVIDSON REFUSES TO CORRECT THIS WARRANTY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS

10/24/2007 - HOPE MILLS, NC
FIRST PROBLEM WAS WITH THE THROTTLE. SOMETHING BROKE CAUSING THE BIKE TO RUN WITH WIDE OPEN THROTTLE AND NO WAY TO SLOW THE ENGINE DOWN WITHOUT TURNING THE SWITCH OFF. I WAS RIDING THE BIKE ON I-95 RUNNING 70 MPH WHEN THIS HAPPENED. THE NEXT ISSUE WAS WITH AN OXYGEN SENSOR CAUSING THE BIKE TO RUN ROUGH. THE MOST RECENT PROBLEM; SOMETHING IN THE REAR BRAKE SYSTEM BROKE, THROWING BRAKE FLUID OUT ALONG WITH SPARKS AND FLAMES. I HAD NO REAR BRAKE TO STOP WITH, ONLY FRONT BRAKE. THE HEAT CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE RIGHT SADDLEBAG AND CAUSED MY MESH JACKET INSIDE THE SADDLEBAG TO MELT TO THE SADDLEBAG, RUINING THE JACKET. THIS BIKE IS LIFE THREATENING, I FEEL SURE WITH THE HEAT FROM THE FIRE THERE WILL BE UNSEEN DAMAGE TO THE BIKE. I CANNOT SELL THIS BIKE IN GOOD CONSCIENCE WITHOUT REVEALING THIS INFORMATION TO ANY PROSPECTIVE BUYER ESSENTIALLY RUINING MY CHANCE TO SELL THIS BIKE ANYWHERE CLOSE TO MARKET VALUE! HARLEY DAVIDSON HAS CLAIMED IT WAS OPERATOR ERROR NOT MECHANICAL MALFUNCTION. THEY CLAIM I WAS RIDING THE BRAKE. THEY ALSO SAY WITNESSES SAW MY BRAKE LIGHT PROVING MY ERROR. FIRST OF ALL I WAS NOT IN ANY WAY RIDING THE REAR BRAKE PEDAL. THE WAY I RIDE ALONG WITH THE POSITION OF MY HIGHWAY PEGS MAKE IT PRACTICALLY IMPOSSIBLE FOR ME TO TOUCH THE REAR BRAKE ACCIDENTALLY! ALSO THE SO-CALLED WITNESSES HAVEN'T COME FORTH AND THEY ALSO HAVE NOT MENTIONED THE TIME FRAME THEY NOTICED MY BRAKE LIGHT BEING ON; WAS 5 MINUTE,S OR 45 MINUTES? WE WERE ON A GROUP RIDE FOR APPROXIMATELY 45 MINUTES BEFORE THIS HAPPENED SO HOW LONG DID THEY SEE MY LIGHT ON AND WHY DIDN'T SOMEONE LET ME KNOW? THE TWO RIDERS CLOSEST TO ME IN THE FORMATION TOLD ME THEY SAW SMOKE, SPARKS, AND FLAMES AND MY FOOT WAS NOWHERE NEAR THE REAR BRAKE PEDAL. REGARDLESS OF THE STORY HARLEY IS TRYING TO TELL, THE TRUTH OF THE MATTER IS THAT REAR BRAKE MALFUNCTION WAS IN NO WAY DUE TO OPERATOR ERROR OR NEGLIGENCE ON THE PART OF THE OPERATOR. HARLEY OFFERED A GOODWILL REPAIR EVEN THOUGH THEY CLAIM IT WAS MY FAULT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

6/12/2007 - ST. ANDREWS, 00
WE HAVE 2 - 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON ROAD KING CUSTOM MOTORCYCLES AND THEY RUN SO HOT YOU CAN HARDLY SIT ON THE BIKE. THE HEAT ON YOUR LEGS IS EXTREME. I WOULD LIKE HARLEY TO MAKE MY BIKE RUN COOLER BEFORE I HAVE SERIOUS ENGINE PROBLEMS OR I GET BURNT AND SO I CAN ENJOY RIDING MY BIKE!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

5/23/2007 - WHITING, NJ
RANDOM STALLING OF MOTORCYCLE WHILE BEING OPERATED. THE STALLING HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES, APPROXIMATELY 20 TIMES, AND HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR A 5 WEEK PERIOD WITH NO SUCCESS IN DIAGNOSING OR CORRECTING THE PROBLEM. THE STALLING OCCURRED AT LOW SPEED AND AT MODERATE SPEED 55 MPH). IT OCCURRED A FEW TIMES WHILE IDLING AT A RED LIGHT. THERE WAS NO INDICATION WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN, IT WAS LIKE SOMEONE PULLED THE PLUG. THE DEALERSHIP COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE NOR GET AN ERROR CODE ON THE COMPUTER. THEY HAVE REPLACED THE 02 SENSOR TWICE, THE ECM MODULE, THE CRANK POSITIONING SENSOR AND THE TEMPERATURE MONITORING SENSOR AT DIFFERENT TIMES WITH THE SAME RESULT. I RETURNED THE MOTORCYCLE STATING THAT THE SAME PROBLEM WAS OCCURRING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

5/23/2007 - WHITING, NJ
RANDOM STALLING OF MOTORCYCLE WHILE BEING OPERATED. THE STALLING HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES, APPROXIMATELY 20 TIMES, AND HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR A 5 WEEK PERIOD WITH NO SUCCESS IN DIAGNOSING OR CORRECTING THE PROBLEM. THE STALLING OCCURRED AT LOW SPEED AND AT MODERATE SPEED 55 MPH). IT OCCURRED A FEW TIMES WHILE IDLING AT A RED LIGHT. THERE WAS NO INDICATION WHEN IT WILL HAPPEN, IT WAS LIKE SOMEONE PULLED THE PLUG. THE DEALERSHIP COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE NOR GET AN ERROR CODE ON THE COMPUTER. THEY HAVE REPLACED THE 02 SENSOR TWICE, THE ECM MODULE, THE CRANK POSITIONING SENSOR AND THE TEMPERATURE MONITORING SENSOR AT DIFFERENT TIMES WITH THE SAME RESULT. I RETURNED THE MOTORCYCLE STATING THAT THE SAME PROBLEM WAS OCCURRING.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds