Auto Recalls for Consumers

HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTC - 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by HARLEY DAVIDSON

There are 10 complaints filed for the 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (3) Tires (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

3/19/2013 - COUNCE, TN
WHILE RIDING THE MOTORCYCLE (2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON HERITAGE SOFTAIL CLASSIC) AT 57 MPH ON DRY PAVEMENT WITH NO ADVERSE ROAD CONDITIONS, THE REAR TIRE BLEW, THE RIDER FOUGHT TO KEEP THE BIKE UPRIGHT TO SLOW DOWN FOR 3-5 SECONDS, THEN LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED ON THE HIGHWAY. THE TIRE PRESSURE WAS CHECKED TO PROPER INFLATION 30 MINUTES BEFORE THE BLOWOUT AND ACCIDENT OCCURRED. THE RIDER SUFFERED A BRAIN CONCLUSION WITH MINOR HEMORRHAGING, A BROKEN COLLARBONE, AND BROKEN BONES IN THE RIGHT FOOT. THE TIRE, WHICH WAS NEW ON THE BIKE AND PURCHASED TWO MONTHS BEFORE THE ACCIDENT, HAD ONLY BEEN RIDDEN FOR 1400 MILES. THE TIRE, BRIDGESTONE EXEDRA G702, APPEARS TO BE DEFECTIVE, HAVING COME APART AT WHERE IT APPEARS TO HAVE BEEN MOLDED TOGETHER BETWEEN THE WHITE SIDEWALL AND THE TREAD. NO PUNCTURES OR ROAD HAZARD CUTS OR BLEMISHES COULD BE FOUND ON THE TIRE. THE INSURANCE COMPANY, PROGRESSIVE, PLANS TO HIRE AN INDEPENDENT TIRE SAFETY EXPERT TO EVALUATE THE TIRE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2009 - ORLANDO, FL
WHEN SWITCH TO HIGH BEAM ALL LIGHTS GO OUT BECAUSE THE 15 AMP FUSE WILL BLOW.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/8/2009 - ORLANDO, FL
WHEN SWITCH TO HIGH BEAM ALL LIGHTS GO OUT BECAUSE THE 15 AMP FUSE WILL BLOW.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

4/27/2009 - TWIN FALLS, ID
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTC MOTORCYCLE. THE CONTACT STATED HIS EXHAUST PIPE TURNED RED AFTER OVERHEATING. THE OVER HEATING IS CAUSED BY THE EXHAUST PIPE AND CYLINDER HEAD. THE DEALER IS WAITING FOR APPROVAL FROM THE REGIONAL MANAGER TO MAKE THE REPAIRS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,800.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/5/2008 - MOBERLY, MO
MY 2007 FLHTC HARLEY DAVIDSON HAS BEEN A LEMON SINCE I BOUGHT IT IN 2007. THE BIKE ALWAYS RUNS HOT DUE TO THE FACT THERE IS NO OIL PRESSURE AT TIMES. THE CPK UNIT WENT OUT AND LEAKED OIL EVERYWHERE AFTER ONE MONTH. THE FRONT PART OF THIS UNIT, WHICH WAS INSIDE THE MOTOR, WAS DAMAGED. THE DEALERSHIP SAID SOMETHING HAD TO HAVE HIT IT. INSTEAD OF TEARING DOWN THE MOTOR TO FIND OUT WHAT HIT IT THEY JUST REPLACED IT. OIL PRESSURE CONSTANTLY DROPS AFTER RIDING FOR AWHILE. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT WAS NORMAL. NOW THE BIKE HAS NO OIL PRESSURE AND IS LEAKING OIL FROM SOMEWHERE. IT IS BACK AT THE DEALERSHIP BEING WORKED ON AGAIN. I DO NOT TRUST THIS BIKE TO GO ANYWHERE FAR FROM HOME. SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH EITHER THE OIL PUMP OR THE WAY OIL IS CIRCULATED. YOU HAVE TO LOOK WHILE RIDING TO SEE IF OIL IS LEAKING FROM SOMEWHERE. IF THE MOTOR LOCKS UP FROM LACK OF OIL THE BIKE WILL BE PAST DANGEROUS. OIL PUMP ALIGNMENT HAS BEEN MENTIONED ON WEB SITES AS THE PROBLEM. HARLEY WILL NOT STAND BEHIND FIXING THIS BIKE CORRECTLY. THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

2/16/2008 - HAMPSTEAD, NC
I HAVE A 2007 HARLEY DAVIDSON ELECTRA GLIDE. THERE IS AN EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF NOISE AND VIBRATION THAT COMES FROM THE TRANSMISSION IN 5TH AND 6TH GEAR. I PUT IN HEAVY 75-90 GEAR OIL AND IT GOT A LITTLE QUIETER. NOW IT SEEMS HD HAS PUT IN AN ISOLATED DRIVE SYSTEM IN THERE 08 TOURING MODELS AS STANDARD EQUIPMENT. YOU CAN PURCHASE THE UNIT FOR $305.00 PLUS LABOR TO PUT ON THE 07 TOURING MODELS. HARLEY DAVIDSON KNEW THEY HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE 07 TRANSMISSION, FIXED IT ON THE 08 BUT WANT THE CONSUMER OF AN 07 TO PAY FOR THE PART AND THERE MISTAKE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

8/6/2007 - KANSAS CITY, MO
I AM WRITING TO YOU BECAUSE I SENT A COMPLAINT IN THE OTHER DAY FOR SOMEONE AND HAD SEVERAL THINGS WRONG. THIS IS A MISTAKE THAT I AM SORRY FOR. I SHOULD HAVE HAD THE OTHER PERSON PROOF OVER WHAT I WAS SENDING IN. HE HAS HAD EIGHT HARLEY'S IN HIS GARAGE. THE HEAT COMES FROM THE CROSSOVER UNDER THE SEAT. ALSO, IN THE COMPONENT INFORMATION, THE ONLY THING CLOSE TO THE PROBLEM DESCRIPTION WAS WHAT I CHECKED. I UNDERSTAND IF THIS SHOULD BE DELETED, THE CONSUMER, LANE TUCKER WILL TRY TO SEND IT IN HIMSELF.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: MANIFOLD/HEADER/MUFFLER/TAIL PIPE

8/4/2007 - KANSAS CIT, MO
PURCHASED A 2007 ULTRA CLASSIC ELECTRA GLIDE HARLEY DAVIDSON ON JULY 27. I HAD TO RETURN THE BIKE THIS WEEK AND GET MY MONEY BACK. THIS MODEL HAS A HEAT PROBLEM WHICH HARLEY DAVIDSON AND THE DEALERS ARE AWARE OF, THEY ARE SELLING THESE AND NOT LETTING THE CONSUMER KNOW ABOUT IT. ONCE YOU ARE AWARE OF THIS, THEY DON'T KNOW HOW TO SOLVE IT BUT THEY WILL CHANGE SOME THINGS AT YOUR EXPENSE. I PAID ALOT OF MONEY FOR THIS, NOT INTENDING TO GO HOME AND HAVE TO CHANGE IT RIGHT AWAY. THE PIPE UNDER THE SEAT GETS SO HOT THAT IT GLOWS BRIGHT RED. IT BURNT THE PASSENGERS LEG. AFTER I COMPLAINED ENOUGH, THEY AGREED TO TAKE IT BACK AND RETURN MY MONEY. THEY SAY THAT THE 2008 MODELS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. WHY LET THEM SELL THESE? IT'S A SHAME BECAUSE I HAVE EIGHT OTHER HARLEY'S IN MY GARAGE. THE DEALERS ARE SAYING THAT THE EPA WON'T LET THEM FIX THIS PROBLEM AND IF THE CONSUMER FIXES IT, HE IS FACING A $10,000 FINE. WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE?

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

2/9/2007 - ARMY - EUROPE, AE
MOTOR RUNS HOT; FOUND BY USING 89 GRADE, RUNS COOLER AND BETTER. ALSO DEALER UPLOADED NEW IGNITION PROGRAM - HARLEY ISSUED A FIX. GETTING IT DONE UNDER WARRENTY. GEARBOX NOISE: HARLEY USES MOTOR OIL 20-50. CHANGE IT TO FULL SYNTHETIC GEAR OIL 85-120 (OR SOMETHING NEAR). THIS QUIETENS GEAR WHINE AND MAKES IT SHIFT BETTER. AS A MECHANICAL PROFESSOR AND ON MY 16TH HARLEY; NEVER USE 20-50 MOTOR OIL IN ANY GEARBOX! THATS WRONG IN SO MANY LEVELS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

2/9/2007 - ARMY - EUROPE, AE
MOTOR RUNS HOT; FOUND BY USING 89 GRADE, RUNS COOLER AND BETTER. ALSO DEALER UPLOADED NEW IGNITION PROGRAM - HARLEY ISSUED A FIX. GETTING IT DONE UNDER WARRENTY. GEARBOX NOISE: HARLEY USES MOTOR OIL 20-50. CHANGE IT TO FULL SYNTHETIC GEAR OIL 85-120 (OR SOMETHING NEAR). THIS QUIETENS GEAR WHINE AND MAKES IT SHIFT BETTER. AS A MECHANICAL PROFESSOR AND ON MY 16TH HARLEY; NEVER USE 20-50 MOTOR OIL IN ANY GEARBOX! THATS WRONG IN SO MANY LEVELS.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds