Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2007 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 1061 complaints filed for the 2007 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (143) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (28) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (69) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (99) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (13) Structure (64) Visibility (176)
Engine (78) Fuel System Other (7) Seats (7) Suspension (249) Visibility Wiper (31)
Engine And Engine Cooling (78) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (71) Wheels (54)
Equipment (13) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/9/2018 - ANAHEIM HILLS, CA
HOPE YOU ARE WELL. I AM A PROUD OWNER OF A 2007 CIVIC LX COUPE 1.8L 4 CYLINDER THAT I HAVE OWNED AND LOVED SINCE 9/28/09. IT+S MY DAILY DRIVER AND OFTEN TIMES MY LIFELINE. WHILE DRIVING OUT OF MY NEIGHBORHOOD TWO DAYS AGO I NOTICED MY TEMPERATURE GAUGE WAS RISING QUITE QUICKLY. I PULLED OVER TO CHECK MY FLUIDS (AS I JUST CHANGED MY OIL AND TOPPED OFF MY FLUIDS ON 2/14/18) AND NOTICED I WAS VERY LOW ON COOLANT. MY VEHICLE WAS OPERATING NORMALLY THE NIGHT BEFORE. MY FIRST THOUGHT WAS A COOLANT LEAK SO I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO WEIR CANYON HONDA IN ANAHEIM HILLS FOR A DIAGNOSIS. THE MECHANIC LOOKED AT MY OIL AND IMMEDIATELY DETERMINED THERE WAS COOLANT IN MY ENGINE AND SIGNIFICANT BUILD UP. I WAS NOTIFIED THAT THERE WAS A TSB #10-048 AND #SB-08-044 FOR MY VEHICLE. I WAS TOLD THAT SINCE I AM 5 MONTHS PASSED MY 10 YEAR WARRANTY, THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO FOR ME. MY ISSUE IS, HOW WAS I SUPPOSED TO KNOW ABOUT THIS? WHY DIDN+T HONDA SEND ME A NOTICE ABOUT THIS EXTREME ISSUE? AS PER THE REQUIREMENTS, MY VEHICLE NEEDED TO MALFUNCTION WITHIN 7 YEARS FOR THE WARRANTY TO BE IN EFFECT, TO ONLY BE EXTENDED TO 10 YEARS DUE TO COMPLAINTS FROM LOYAL CUSTOMERS. AND YOU ALSO NEEDED TO HAVE THE PROBLEM, PAY FOR IT, THEN FIGHT FOR REIMBURSEMENT. I AM AT MY WHITS END OF WHAT TO DO AT THIS POINT. AND TO WHOEVER READS THIS, I AM IN NO WAY ANGRY AT YOU PERSONALLY AT ALL. I KNOW KINDNESS IS HARD TO COME BY THESE DAYS. I JUST KNOW THAT THIS KIND OF PROBLEM I HAVE USUALLY ONLY GET ADDRESSED IN GOOD FAITH AND I AM HOPING YOU CAN HELP ME OUT. I DELIVER FOOD FOR A LIVING AND RIGHT NOW, I AM COMPLETELY UNABLE TO WORK SO I+M STRESSED OUT. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME. HERE IS A LINK TO MANY OF THE PROBLEMS I EXPERIENCE. HTTP://WWW.HONDAPROBLEMS.COM/TSBS/CIVIC/2007/

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/5/2018 - REGO PARK, NY
ORIGINAL PAINT IS PEELING. NEVER KNEW OR TOLD ABOUT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR PAINT UNTIL I BROUGHT THE CAR IN YESTERDAY FOR A PASSENGER AIRBAG RECALL ON THE CAR WHICH ALSO I HAVE TO KNOW ABOUT BY LOOKING UP ONLINE SINCE WE WEREN'T TOLD ABOUT IT. DEALERSHIP CONFIRMED THAT THEY CANT DO ANYTHING ABOUT THE CAR PAINT ANYMORE SINCE THE EXTENDED WARRANTY EXPIRED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/1/2018 - NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL
ENGINE BLOCK SUDDENLY DEVELOPED CRACKING, LOSES COOLANT AND OVERHEATS. HONDA ADMITS TO FAULTY ENGINE BLOCK BY EXTENDING WARRANTY TO 10 YEARS. HOWEVER HONDA WILL NOT ALLOW PROACTIVE USE OF WARRANTY. PROBLEM MUST SURFACE FIRST TO BE COVERED. MOST PROBLEMS SURFACE AFTER 10 YEARS, WHICH RELIEVES HONDA OF MOST OF THE CLAIMS LIABILITY. MY PROBLEM DEVELOPED 7 MONTHS OUT OF EXTENDED WARRANTY AT 76,000 MILES. ENGINE BLOCKS SHOULD LAST UNTIL CAR IS CRUSHED. SAFETY ISSUE: SUDDEN ONSET OF OVERHEATING AND BREAKDOWN. ENGINE IS A DEFECTIVE PRODUCT. HONDA SHOULD BE COMPELLED TO RECALL ENGINES AND REPLACE TO FIX THE KNOWN DEFECT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2018 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WAS PERFORMING AN OIL CHANGE ON THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT WAS MADE AWARE OF A CRACK IN THE ENGINE BLOCK. THE VEHICLE COULD NO LONGER BE SAFELY OPERATED ON THE ROAD. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER (WEST COUNTY HONDA, 15532 MANCHESTER RD, ELLISVILLE, MO) WAS NOTIFIED AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 77,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/17/2018 - BAY VILLAGE, OH
ENGINE BLOCK CRACKS THAT CREATE AN UNSAFE CONDITION AND PREMATURE DEGRADATION OF THE MOTOR AND ITS INTERNAL COMPONENTS. THE LEAKS OF COOLANT SEEM TO OCCUR WHILE THE MOTOR IS RUNNING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/16/2018 - BROOKLAND, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, SMOKE APPEARED FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE AND THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE INCREASED. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, INSPECTED THE VEHICLE, AND NOTICED THAT THE DASHBOARD WAS WET AND COOLANT WAS LEAKING UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE DEALER (HERB CHAMBERS HONDA, 1186 COMMONWEALTH AVENUE, BOSTON, MA 02134, (617) 731-0100) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 210,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2018 - MALVERN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO COAST OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT POWERED OFF THE VEHICLE. ONCE RESTARTED, THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO OPERATE CORRECTLY. IN ADDITION, A BURNING ODOR WAS PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DELRAY HONDA (2500 S FEDERAL HWY, DELRAY BEACH, FL 33483, (561) 404-5617) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 146,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2018 - NEWARK, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND ANTI-FREEZE COOLANT WAS LEAKING FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO OPEN ROAD HONDA (50 US HIGHWAY 1, EDISON, NEW JERSEY, 732-839-4826) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE WARRANTY FOR THE ENGINE REPAIR HAD EXPIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 250,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/2/2018 - UNION, KY
OUR 2007 HONDA CIVIC IS APPARENTLY PART OF THE SERVICE POSTING HONDA SENT TO ITS SERVICE DEPARTMENTS IN 2010, BUT NOT TO ITS CUSTOMERS, REGARDING A CASTING ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE BLOCKS IN 2006 THROUGH EARLY 2009 CIVICS. WITH THE ENGINE CASTING ISSUE A PERFECTLY MAINTAINED VEHICLE IS STILL BOUND TO OVERHEAT AT SOME POINT IN TIME BECAUSE A BAD ENGINE BLOCK WILL EVENTUALLY LEAK COOLANT. THE UNKNOWN CUSTOMER EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS GOOD FOR SOMETHING LIKE 8 YEARS, OR MAYBE 10, I DON'T KNOW. IN THE LAST YEAR I'VE HAD 3 COIL PACKS GO BAD IN THIS CIVIC ENGINE, THE WATER PUMP REPLACED AND THEN REPLACED A SECOND TIME BECAUSE THE ENGINE KEPT OVERHEATING PROBABLY BECAUSE OF THE LEAKING ENGINE BLOCK. MY DAUGHTER WAS LEFT STRANDED 3 TIMES ON THE ROAD BECAUSE OF THIS ENGINE BLOCK CASTING ISSUE WITH A FORESEEN FUTURE FAILURE THAT WAS HIDDEN FROM THE CUSTOMER. THE LAST TIME THE CAR QUIT SHE WAS LEFT STRANDED ON THE INTERSTATE IN A DANGEROUS SITUATION. EVERYTHING I HAVE READ ON THE INTERNET POINTS TO HONDA ONLY HONORING WHAT THEY WANT TO HONOR ON THIS KNOW MANUFACTURING PROBLEM, AND THIS IS ONLY AFTER CUSTOMERS HAVE BEEN OVERHEATED, AND SOMETIMES LEFT STRANDED ON THE ROAD IN MANY CASES BECAUSE THE COIL PACKS GO BAD AND DO NOT ALLOW THE CAR TO RESTART AND RUN SAFELY. HONDA HAS NOT BEEN FORTHRIGHT CONCERNING THE CASTING MALFUNCTION OF THE 2006 THROUGH EARLY 2009 ENGINE BLOCK. THEY ARE NOT ACTIVELY LOOKING FOR THIS LEAK, AND IF AN ENGINE SNEAKS PAST THE EXTENDED WARRANTY DATE THEN ALL COST IS ON YOU. A SAFETY RECALL NEEDS TO BE PUT OUT ON THESE ENGINES, AND HONDA NEEDS TO BE FORCED TO DO THE RIGHT THING SINCE TO DATE IT LOOKS LIKE THEY HAVE NOT BEEN A GOOD CORPORATE CITIZEN. THAT IS A SHAME, AND THEY SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE SINCE A FAILED ENGINE BLOCK IS A $4,500 - $6,000 REPLACEMENT COST AT THE DEALER, AND THESE ENGINES WERE ALWAYS BOUND TO FAIL AS SOME POINT IN TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/28/2018 - FORT EUSTIS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END COLLISION WITH A DEER WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE AND THEN TOWED TO A COLLISION SHOP. IT WAS NOT DETERMINED IF THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 145,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds