Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2007 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 1032 complaints filed for the 2007 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (138) Exterior Lighting (13) Other (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (28) Unknown Or Other (28)
Electrical System (68) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (99) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seat Belts (13) Structure (63) Visibility (176)
Engine (59) Fuel System Other (7) Seats (7) Suspension (249) Visibility Wiper (28)
Engine And Engine Cooling (78) Hybrid Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (71) Wheels (54)
Equipment (13) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 126
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/1/2017 - GREEN BROOK, NJ
ENGINE BLOCK- ENGINE BLOCK CRACKED CAUSING MY TO LEAK FLUIDS AND HAVE MY CAR OVERHEAT INSTANTLY WHILE DRIVING. HONDA ISSUES A TEN YEAR WARRANTY ON THE ENGINE BLOCK BUT MY CAR IS FIVE MONTHS PAST DUE OF THE WARRANTY. HONDA KNEW THAT ITS ENGINE BLOCK WAS FLAWED AND REFUSES TO FIX IT EVEN THOUGH I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT OR EVEN KILLED BECAUSE OF THIS DEFECT.

View Details

SEATS

11/24/2017 - BATON ROUGE, LA
THE DESIGN OF THE HEAD RESTRAINTS FORCES THE HEAD AND NECK INTO AN ABNORMAL, UNCOMFORTABLE POSITION. THIS HAS CAUSED PAIN AND INJURY TO MY NECK AS A RESULT OF DRIVING IN THIS POSITION. I WANT HONDA TO PROVIDE REPLACEMENT HEAD RESTRAINTS WITH AN ALTERNATE DESIGN WHICH WILL ALLEVIATE THE BODILY STRESS CAUSED BY THIS AWKWARD POSITION. THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM SINCE I PURCHASED THE CAR IN 2007. HUNDREDS OF OTHERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THIS DANGEROUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/5/2017 - FALMOUTH, MA
THE 2007 HONDA CIVIC AS A KNOWN PROBLEM OF CRACKS IN ENGINE BLOCK. OVER TIME, THE CRACK CAUSES COOLANT LEAKAGE, AND WILL RENDER THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY INOPERATIVE. OUR 2007 HAS 77,000 MILES, AND THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN WHILE MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING ON A BUSY CITY STREET. SMOKE WAS DETETED; NEXT MINUTE THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. HONDA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM, BUT IS DOING ALL IT CAN TO AVOID A RECALL. THERE IS NO PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE THAT COULD BE DONE TO PREVENT THIS KNOWN MFG DEFECT.

View Details

ENGINE

11/3/2017 - HAYWARD, CA
"CRACKED ENGINE BLOCK" I OWN A 2009 HONDA CIVIC. I PURCHASED IT NEW FROM A HONDA DEALER AND JUST RECENTLY STARTING EXPERIENCING A COOLANT LEAK. AFTER A 35 MINUTE COMMUTE TO WORK, AS I GET OUT OF MY VEHICLE, I WOULD NOTICE A BURNT COOLANT SMELL. I BROUGHT MY VEHICLE TO MY MECHANIC AND AS SOON AS I MENTION THE WORD COOLANT...MY MECHANIC INFORMED ME THE AMERICAN HONDA CORPORATION IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM WITH THEIR 2006 TO 2009 HONDA CIVIC'S THAT HAVE CRACK ENGINE BLOCKS WHICH CAUSES COOLANT TO LEAK OUT. I WAS FLABBERGASTED! I PURCHASED MY HONDA DUE TO THEIR REPUTATION OF RELIABILITY AND LONGEVITY. HOW COULD THEY BE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM AND ONLY ISSUE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY AND NOT A RECALL. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. I CONTACTED THE AMERICAN HONDA CORPORATION AND THEY SAID BASED ON MY VIN#, MY VEHICLE IS OUT OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD BY 4 MONTHS AND THEY WILL NOT COVER THE REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT OF THE ENGINE BLOCK. I FEEL THE NHTSA NEED TO FORCE HONDA TO ISSUE A RECALL ON ALL HONDA CIVICS BETWEEN THE YEARS OF 2006 TO 2009 WITH CRACKED ENGINE BLOCKS. I HAVE READ IT WAS DUE TO POOR CASTING THAT CAUSED THESE ENGINE BLOCKS TO CRACK. HONDA WILL CONTINUE TO RECEIVE CALLS AND COMPLAINTS IN REGARDS TO THIS ISSUE BECAUSE THEY HAVE SOLD MILLIONS OF THESE VEHICLES TO UNBEKNOWNST AMERICANS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/30/2017 - RAMSEY, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/26/2017 - ASHEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2007 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING 25 MPH, SHE TURNED INTO THE WRONG LANE AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE DRIVER+S AIR BAG DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER SUSTAINED A FRACTURED RIGHT ARM THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V346000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 153,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/20/2017 - ELSMERE, KY
CRACKED ENGINE BLOCK CAUSING LOSS OF ANTIFREEZE, WHICH IN TURN CAUSES ENGINE TO OVER HEAT

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2017 - LAND O LAKES, FL
HONDA TSB# 10-048, MY SONS HONDA CIVIC OVER HEATED DUE TO A KNOWN CRACK ISSUE IN THE ENGINE BLOCK. THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED AS A USED CAR FROM A HONDA DEALER. HE WAS DRIVING HIS CAR WHEN IT JUST STARTED TO SHUT DOWN AND HE HAD TO PULL OVER. THE ENGINE OVERHEATED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE HE WAS DRIVING AND GOT SO HOT THAT IT MELTED THE OIL DIP STICK (SEE IMAGE), LUCKY IT DID NOT GO ON FIRE, THE IGNITION COIL WAS ALSO MELTED TO THE ENGINE BLOCK. I KNOW THAT HONDA EXTENDED THEIR WARRANTY ON THIS, AND MY CAR IS 2 MONTHS PASS THAT DATE WITH ONLY 57K MLES ON IT. WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY FOR A KNOW ISSUE THAT CAN SHOW UP AT GIVEN TIME. WHETHER IT IS 5,10 OR 20 YEARS IT IS A KNOW DEFECT AND HONDA AS COMPANY SHOULD BE STANDING BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. I NEVER RECEIVED ANY NOTIFICATION OF THIS ISSUE IN WRITING FROM HONDA AT ANYTIME TO WATCH FOR THIS POTENTIAL PROBLEM. I UNDERSTAND IT WOULD BE A FINANCIAL BURDEN TO DO A COMPLETE RECALL BUT I BELIEVE THAT IS WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE. THIS IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE NOT AWARE OF THIS POTENTIAL DANGER.

View Details

ENGINE

10/9/2017 - CANON CITY, CO
CRACKED BLOCK 6 MONTHS AFTER WARRANTY PERIOD ENDED AND THEY WONT HELP ME AT ALL,

View Details

ENGINE

9/27/2017 - WANTAGH, NY
MY 2007 HONDA CIVIC COUPE OVERHEATED ON INTERSTATE IN FL AND STOPPED OPERATING. VEHICLE WOULD NOT START UP AGAIN AND REQUIRED TO BE TOWED.IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ENGINE BLOCK WAS CRACKED AND LEAKING FLUIDS. HONDA KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO 10 YEARS. MY CAR WAS PURCHASED IN OCT OF 2006 AND INCIDENT OCCURRED IN SEPT OF 2017. MY VEHICLE IS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION BUT HONDA HAS ONLY OFFERED TO PAY $3000 OF THE $6100 REPAIR. I FIND THAT THAT IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH AND THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS DEFECT AND SHOULD HAVE RECALLED THIS MODEL AND NOT WAIT FOR THE ENGINE TO CRACK. THEY KNEW OF THIS DEFECT AND PLAYED THE ODDS THAT NOT ALL OF THE CARS WOULD BREAKDOWN. I NEVER EVEN RECIEVED THE NOTIFICATION OF THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. I FOUND OUT ABOUT IT AFTER BREAKDOWN AND RESEARCHING IT ON INTERNET. A FULL RECALL SHOULD HAVE BEEN IMPLEMENTED IF THEY KNEW THERE WAS A FAULTY ENGINE BLOCK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 126
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds