Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ELEMENT - 2007 HONDA ELEMENT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 53 complaints filed for the 2007 HONDA ELEMENT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HONDA ELEMENT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HONDA ELEMENT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Seats (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (11) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (12) Other (1) Service Brakes (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Air (3) Structure (2) Visibility (6)
Engine (3) Seat Belts (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Suspension (1) Wheels (2)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

5/21/2015 - PLATTSBURGH, NY
WE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE OUR BRAKES & ROTORS EVERY YEAR,STARTING IN YEAR 3. (I DROVE ONLY 3,000 MILES A YEAR) THEN GAVE IT TO MY HUSBAND WHO DRIVES TO WORK. WHEN THE MILES GOT UP TO 14,000 - THAT WAS THE FIRST BRAKE & ROTOR REPLACEMENT. ASKED HONDA ABOUT THIS WHILE UNDER WARRANTY AND NO WORD ABOUT PROBLEMS, JUST THEIR ANSWER THAT IT WAS FROM A 'STREET SWEEPER' OR 'THE WAY WE DROVE.' SEVERAL TIMES THE ROTORS WERE SO BAD, THAT THE CAR SCREECHED. 2 YEARS AGO, HAD TO HAVE THEM REPLACED TWICE IN THE SAME YEAR-IN MARCH AND AGAIN IN OCTOBER TWICE NOW OUR CALIPERS HAD TO BE CHANGED AS WELL AS THE BRAKES & ROTORS. HAVE PUT A LOT OF $ OUT FOR ALL THESE REPAIRS. NOT HAPPY WITH HONDA OR THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE ANYMORE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/14/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
RECEIVED A NOTICE FOR AN IMPORTANT SAFETY RECALL. WRITTEN DESCRIPTION ON RECALL NOTICE IS "THE DEFECT IN THESE VEHICLES COULD KILL OR INJURE YOU OR OTHER PEOPLE IN YOUR VEHICLE" THE LAST SENTENCE OF THIS PARAGRAPH READS, "PAST RUPTURES LIKE THIS HAVE KILLED AND INJURED VEHICLE DRIVERS." ATTEMPTED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND WAS TOLD NO ONE WAS AVAILABLE IN SERVICE TO SPEAK TO ME, EVEN AFTER EXPLAINING I WAS CALLING DUE TO THE RECALL NOTICE. LEFT MY NAME AND PHONE NUMBER AS REQUESTED BUT NO RETURN CALL. I CALLED AGAIN TODAY (4/14/2015) AND WAS TOLD I MUST WAIT UNTIL THE END OF JUNE TO HAVE THIS "DEFECT THAT HAS KILLED AND INJURED OTHERS" REPAIRED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/4/2015 - SARATOGA, CA
SPEEDOMETER IS NOT WORKING PROPERLY, READS LOW BY AT LEAST 20 MPH.

View Details

STEERING

1/27/2015 - LOUISVILLE, TN
I FIRST HEARD A METALLIC RUMBLING SOUND, THE STEERING FELT UNEVEN. AFTER ONE LOUDER "CLUNK" THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AND I HAD TO USE ALL MY STRENGTH TO CONTROL THE CAR IN A LOW-SPEED TURN. IF MY WIFE HAD BEEN DRIVING, SHE WOULD HAVE GONE INTO THE DITCH. WHEN I OPENED THE HOOD I SAW THAT THE PULLEY FOR THE POWER STEERING (WHICH I LATER LEARNED ALSO CONTROLLED THE WATER PUMP AND THE ALTERNATOR) HAD COME COMPLETELY OFF AND WAS LYING IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE BELT THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN ATTACHED TO IT WAS ALSO SITTTNG THERE, UNATTACHED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/22/2015 - HILO, HI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A GRAVEL ROAD AND THE GAUGE NEEDLES ON BOTH THE SPEEDOMETER AND TACHOMETER FELL OFF. WE WERE USING THE VEHICLE IN ACCORDANCE WITH HOW IT WAS DESIGNED TO BE USED. WE WERE FORCED TO FINISH OUR TRIP WITHOUT KNOWING OUR SPEED OR RPMS (A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD). THE HONDA DEALER SAYS THE ENTIRE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER MUST BE REPLACED IN ORDER FOR THE GAUGES TO DISPLAY ACCURATE INFORMATION AGAIN. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A MAJOR DESIGN FLAW BY HONDA WHICH HAS SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/22/2015 - HILO, HI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A GRAVEL ROAD AND THE GAUGE NEEDLES ON BOTH THE SPEEDOMETER AND TACHOMETER FELL OFF. WE WERE USING THE VEHICLE IN ACCORDANCE WITH HOW IT WAS DESIGNED TO BE USED. WE WERE FORCED TO FINISH OUR TRIP WITHOUT KNOWING OUR SPEED OR RPMS (A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD). THE HONDA DEALER SAYS THE ENTIRE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER MUST BE REPLACED IN ORDER FOR THE GAUGES TO DISPLAY ACCURATE INFORMATION AGAIN. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A MAJOR DESIGN FLAW BY HONDA WHICH HAS SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - SALT LAKE CITY, UT
WE PURCHASED OUR ELEMENT IN 2011. IN 09/13, WHILE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE, WE HIT A SLIGHT BUMP IN THE ROAD AND ALL OF THE GAUGES POPPED OFF OF THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO THE LOCAL HONDA DEALER WHO GAVE US A BID OF $1,000.00 TO REPLACE THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. WE CHOOSE INSTEAD TO REPAIR THE CLUSTER. SINCE THE REPAIR, NONE OF THE GAUGES ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER HAVE READ APPROPRIATELY. AT THAT TIME, NO MENTION WAS MADE THAT THIS WAS AN ISSUE WITH THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE AND YEAR. APPROX. ONE YEAR LATER IN 11/14, THE GAUGES ON THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AGAIN POPPED OFF WHILE PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT. MY HUSBAND DID SOME RESEARCH AND WE LEARNED THAT IN 2008, HONDA DID A SAFETY RECALL REGARDING THE 2007 ELEMENT AND THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. APPARENTLY, HONDA IS WAS VERY MUCH AWARE THAT THIS WAS AN ISSUE AND THAT THERE WERE PROBLEMS WITH THE DESIGN. HONDA PURPOSELY CHOOSE TO DO A SAFETY RECALL SO THAT THEY WOULD NOT HAVE TO BE LIABLE AFTER 2010. WE CONTACTED AMERICAN HONDA IN DECEMBER AND A REPRESENTATIVE ADMITTED THAT THERE WAS A PRODUCT UPDATE ON THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE AND A SAFETY RECALL BACK IN 2008; HOWEVER, THIS RECALL HAD EXPIRED. I FILED A COMPLAINT AND WAS SENT TO CONSUMER PRODUCTS. A REPRESENTATIVE TOOK OUR INFORMATION AND AGREED TO RESEARCH OUR ISSUE. WE ALSO CONTACTED THE LOCAL HONDA DEALER, REGARDING THIS ISSUE AND ALTHOUGH THEY WERE UNDERSTANDING, THERE WAS NOTHING THAT THEY COULD DO TO HELP US. ONE WEEK LATER, AMERICAN HONDA CONTACTED US AND TOLD US THAT THEY BEST THEY COULD DO WAS TO HONOR THE BID OF $1,000.00 AND THAT THIS WAS A DEAL SINCE THE COST NOW TO FIX THE PROBLEM WAS $1,300.00. WE FEEL THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND THAT HONDA SHOULD BE FORCED TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY AND REPAIR THIS DEFECTIVE PART. WE HAVE LEARNED THAT THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS, COMMENTS AND CONCERNS ON THE INTERNET REGARDING THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/4/2014 - HOMINY, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA ELEMENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 146,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/21/2014 - STONEVILLE, NC
DRIVER AIRBAG DEPLOYED IN ELEMENT WHEN IT HIT REAR END OF VEHICLE THAT WAS STOPPED IN LANE OF TRAFFIC DUE TO HAVING REAR ENDED VEHICLE IN FROM OF IT. ELEMENT DRIVER SUFFERED NEAR 3RD DEGREE CHEMICAL BURNS & CUT ON RIGHT WRIST, BURN ON LEFT THUMB JOINT, BRUISE & CUT UNDER LEFT RIBCAGE. 2 WEEKS LATER STILL TREATING DOLLAR SIZE CHEMICAL BURN & SKIN PEELING ON RIGHT WRIST. DARK GREEN SUBSTANCE WAS ON RIGHT WRIST ORIGINAL BLISTERING & SKIN PEELED AREA, TOOK SEVERAL DAYS TO REMOVE IT COMPLETELY. MEDICAL CARE WAS REQUIRED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/21/2014 - STONEVILLE, NC
DRIVER AIRBAG DEPLOYED IN ELEMENT WHEN IT HIT REAR END OF VEHICLE THAT WAS STOPPED IN LANE OF TRAFFIC DUE TO HAVING REAR ENDED VEHICLE IN FROM OF IT. ELEMENT DRIVER SUFFERED NEAR 3RD DEGREE CHEMICAL BURNS & CUT ON RIGHT WRIST, BURN ON LEFT THUMB JOINT, BRUISE & CUT UNDER LEFT RIBCAGE. 2 WEEKS LATER STILL TREATING DOLLAR SIZE CHEMICAL BURN & SKIN PEELING ON RIGHT WRIST. DARK GREEN SUBSTANCE WAS ON RIGHT WRIST ORIGINAL BLISTERING & SKIN PEELED AREA, TOOK SEVERAL DAYS TO REMOVE IT COMPLETELY. MEDICAL CARE WAS REQUIRED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds