Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA RIDGELINE - 2007 HONDA RIDGELINE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 47 complaints filed for the 2007 HONDA RIDGELINE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HONDA RIDGELINE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HONDA RIDGELINE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine (2) Power Train (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (3)
Child Seat (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seats (3) Steering (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (1) Structure (5) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/16/2015 - MILFORD, CT
AFTER STARTING TRUCK AND LEAVING DRIVEWAY SRS LIGHT CAME ON. IT DOES THIS EACH TIME YOU START DRIVING TRUCK NOW. WENT TO DEALER, PAID FEE TO PUT IT ON THEIR COMPUTER AND IT SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG. THEY RESET LIGHT AND IT CAME ON AGAIN. THE DEALER LOOKED AT IT AGAIN (NO CHARGE THIS TIME) AND SAID THEY FEEL IT IS THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT SENSOR THAT IS PART OF THE SRS SYSTEM. IT WILL BE ABOUT $1200.00 TO REPLACE IT, IT MAY NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AND IS NOT COVERED BY HONDA EVEN THOUGH IT IS PART OF THE AIRBAG SAFETY SYSTEM. HOW CAN A SAFETY FEATURE NOT BE COVERED FOR THE LIFE OF VEHICLE LIKE SEAT BELTS? HONDA HAS HAD SO MANY AIR BAG RECALLS HOW IS THIS ANY DIFFERENT?

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2015 - HARRISBURG , PA
MY VECHICLE HAS CATASTROPHIC INTERNAL ENGINE FAILURE. THERE WAS NO INDICATION OF ANY ISSUE WITH MY VECHICLE. I HAD MY 3 YEAR OLD GRANDSON WITH ME AND WE WERE OUT TO RUN A QUICK ERRAND. I DETECTED A STRANGE NOISE THAT I THOUGHT WAS A STONE IN MY WHEEL. I DECIDED TO TURN THE TRUCK AROUND AND FOREGO THE ERRAND, AS IT WAS AN ODD NOISE. MOMENTS AFTER I TURNED THE TRUCK AROUND MY VTM-4 AND VSA WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON. I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND LOOKED THESE WARNING LIGHTS UP IN MY OWNER'S MANUAL. BASED ON WHAT I READ, THEIR WAS NO DANGER IN PROCEEDING SLOWING, AS THESE INDICATOR LIGHTS ARE RELATED TO STABILIZATION AND EQUAL DISTRIBUTION OF TORQUE. THE MANUAL SUGGESTED IT BE TAKEN TO A MECHANIC. I NO SOONER PULLED OUT AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE RIDGELINE CEASED. I HAD NO STEERING, NO POWER, NOTHING. I MANAGED TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THANKFULLY, I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY AND WAS GOING AT A SLOW RATE OF SPEED, OTHERWISE I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL THE VECHICLE. NEEDLESS TO SAY, IT WAS A SCARY EXPERIENCE FOR MY GRANDSON AND ME. I HAD TO HAVE THE RIDGELINE TOWED TO MY MECHANIC AND IT HAS BEEN DETERMINED THAT A PISTON RING BROKE AND GOUGED THE CYLINDER. THE ENGINE NEEDS REPLACED. I TALKED TO HONDA OF AMERICA TO INQUIRE IF THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM HISTORICALLY WITH THIS ENGINE, BUT COULDN'T GET A STRAIGHT ANSWER. I PURCHASED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY OFFERED WITH THIS VECHICLE BUT IT EXPIRED AT 100,000 MILES. I AM CONVINCED THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT BASED ON THE INFORMATION I HAVE SINCE READ REGARDING THIS TYPE OF INCIDENT WITH THIS ENGINE. BECAUSE MY WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED, I BEAR THE COST OF THIS EXPENSE. DISAPPOINTED THAT MY HONDA DIDN'T LIVE UP TO IT'S REPUTATION. THIS IS A VECHICLE THAT WAS WELL MAINTAINED, WITH AN EXPECTED ENGINE LIFE OF TENS OF THOSANDS MORE MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2014 - RIBERA, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 HONDA RIDGELINE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE IGNITION BECAME INOPERABLE AND FAILED TO TURN. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW IGNITION AND KEY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/19/2014 - BOWLING GREEN , KY
HONDA POSTED ON YOUR WEBSITE THAT THEY WOULD REPAIR AIR BAGS TO VEHICLES OUTSIDE OF THE REGIONS THEY THINK ARE LIMITED TO AIR BAG PROBLEMS. I CALLED HONDA AMERICA AND THEY REFUSED TO REPAIR THE AIR BAG IN MY RIDGELINE EVEN THOUGH THEY SAID IT IS A TAKATA AIR BAG. I WANT IN REPAIRED FOR MY AND MY FAMILIES PERSONAL SAFETY AND PEACE OF MIND.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/23/2014 - MOUNTAIN CITY, GA
VEHICLE ONE TRAVELING AT HIGH RATE OF SPEED & WITHOUT BRAKING, CROSSED INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC STRUCK (OUR VEHICLE) HONDA TRUCK FROM DRIVER FRONT SIDE WITH PARTIAL FRONT IMPACT CAUSING HONDA TRUCK TO THEN CROSS SLOW LANE TRAFFIC AND COME TO REST IN FIELD OFF THE ROADWAY. THE DRIVER SUFFERED CUTS ON NECK AREA. I WAS SEATED IN THE PASSENGER FRONT AND SUFFERED THE WORSE INJURY WITH AN UNEXPLAINED STRAIGHT CUT SPLITTING MY HAND FROM TOP BETWEEN KNUCKLES ALL THE WAY TO MY MID PALM. THERE WERE NO EXPLANATIONS FOR THE STRAIGHT CUT. THERE WERE NO BROKEN WINDOWS ETC. OUR VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY TOTALLED FROM IMPACT AND TO MY KNOWLEDGE ALL AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. BOTH THE EMERGENCY ROOM DOCTOR & ORTHOPEDIC AGREED EVEN IF THE AIRBAG HAD FORCED MY INDEX & MIDDLE FINGERS APART IT WOULD NOT BE A STRAIGHT LINE CUT BUT A RIPPED JAGGED SKIN TYPE WOUND. SO BOTH DOCTORS AGREED THERE WAS NO REASONABLE EXPLANATION FOR MY INJURY UNLESS MAYBE THE PLASTIC PIECE COVERING THE AIRBAG COULD HAVE SOMEHOW SLICED ME LIKE A KNIFE? PASSENGER IN THE DRIVER REAR SEAT SUFFERED CUTS ON FACE HAVING THE APPEARANCE OF MULTIPLE CAT SCRATCHES DEEP ENOUGH TO CAUSE BLEEDING. WE DO BELIEVE AFTER SEEING THE RECALL THE MEDAL SHAVINGS FROM AN AIRBAG DEFECT WOULD EXPLAIN MY INJURY. I ENDURED 16 STITCHES BETWEEN MY FIRST & SECOND FINGERS ON MY RIGHT HAND FROM ONE SIDE TO OTHER, WITH AN ADDITIONAL COUPLE OF SUTURES ON THE INDEX FINGER ITSELF FOR A SEPARATE CUT. I HAVE PICTURES OF OUR INJURIES & A FEW OF THE VEHICLE ITSELF IF THAT WOULD ASSIST YOU WITH FURTHER INVESTIGATION.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2014 - DURYEA, PA
DRIVING 65 MPH ABRUPT LOSS OF ENGINE POWER INCLUDING POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. ENGINE WOULD NOT START. FINDINGS OF "SEIZED" WATER PUMP AND PULLEYS WHICH "SHREDDED" TIMING BELT RESULTING IN ENGINE VALVES BEING "BENT IN HEAD". FORTUNATELY NO COLLISION OR INJURY, THOUGH SIGNIFICANT POTENTIAL FOR SAME EXTENSIVE REPAIR TOTALING $5,000. ORIGINAL TIMING BELT. RECOMMENDED REPLACEMENT 105K MILES PER HONDA. THANK YOU GERALD LACEY

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2014 - DURYEA, PA
DRIVING 65 MPH ABRUPT LOSS OF ENGINE POWER INCLUDING POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. ENGINE WOULD NOT START. FINDINGS OF "SEIZED" WATER PUMP AND PULLEYS WHICH "SHREDDED" TIMING BELT RESULTING IN ENGINE VALVES BEING "BENT IN HEAD". FORTUNATELY NO COLLISION OR INJURY, THOUGH SIGNIFICANT POTENTIAL FOR SAME EXTENSIVE REPAIR TOTALING $5,000. ORIGINAL TIMING BELT. RECOMMENDED REPLACEMENT 105K MILES PER HONDA. THANK YOU GERALD LACEY

View Details

SEATS

9/9/2014 - NATRONA HEIGHTS, PA
2007 HONDA RIDGELINE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO LIFT UP REAR SEAT DEFECT. THE CONSUMER STATED WHEN THE LIFT-UP SEAT WAS LOWERED, ITS SUPPORTING LEGS WOULD LOCK INTO PLACE. HOWEVER, WHEN THE SEAT WAS RETURNED TO THE STORED, OR UPRIGHT POSITION, THE LEGS REMAINED EXTENDED AND WOULD NOT LOCK INTO PROPER STORAGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2014 - LITTLEFORK, MN
THE HEATER/AC BLOWER MOTOR QUIT WORKING. FOUND THE WIRE HARNESS TO THE BLOWER MOTOR MELTED. FIRE HAZARD!!!

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

4/30/2014 - GLEN ALLEN, , VA
BACK MIDDLE WINDSHIELD SHATTERED WHILE STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN, GLASS SHATTERED INTO THE BACKSEAT AND FLOOR BOARD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds