Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA RIDGELINE - 2007 HONDA RIDGELINE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 51 complaints filed for the 2007 HONDA RIDGELINE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 HONDA RIDGELINE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 HONDA RIDGELINE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine (4) Seats (3) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Child Seat (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Service Brakes (2) Tires (3) Visibility (8)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (7) Steering (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/7/2015 - HOKES BLUFF, AL
HONDA RIDGELIBE REAR CENTER SLIDING WINDOW EXPLODED FOR NO REASON AND WITHOUT ANY CAUSE DURING A DRIVE WITH MY 6 YEAR OLD IN THE BACK SEAT. AFTER READING ON THE INTERNET CAUSES I HAVE DISCOVERED THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED OCCURRENCE. MY DAUGHTER COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED. WE WERE DRIVING IN A SUBDIVISION WITH NO OTHER CARS ON THE STREET.

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2015 - DENVER, CO
THIS ISSUES HAS OCCURRED 4 TIMES IN THE PAST 3 MONTHS. TWICE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND TWICE AT SPEEDS BELOW 10 MPH. THE ISSUE SEEMS TO OCCUR RANDOMLY. WHEN IT OCCURS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, VTM4 LIGHT, VSA LIGHT AND A FEW OTHER WARNING LIGHTS LIGHT UP ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THIS OCCURS THE TRUCK WILL SLOW DOWN GRADUALLY WITH NO RESPONSE FROM THE ACCELERATE PEDAL. I HAVE TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TURN OFF THE TRUCK AND TURN BACK ON. THE TRUCK OPERATES NORMALLY AFTER IT IS TURNED BACKED ON (CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON FOR ABOUT 100 MORE MILES THEN TURN OFF). I HAVE SAFETY CONCERNS WITH THIS HAPPENING AGAIN ON A BUSY HIGHWAY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/27/2015 - DENVER, CO
THIS ISSUES HAS OCCURRED 4 TIMES IN THE PAST 3 MONTHS. TWICE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND TWICE AT SPEEDS BELOW 10 MPH. THE ISSUE SEEMS TO OCCUR RANDOMLY. WHEN IT OCCURS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, VTM4 LIGHT, VSA LIGHT AND A FEW OTHER WARNING LIGHTS LIGHT UP ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THIS OCCURS THE TRUCK WILL SLOW DOWN GRADUALLY WITH NO RESPONSE FROM THE ACCELERATE PEDAL. I HAVE TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TURN OFF THE TRUCK AND TURN BACK ON. THE TRUCK OPERATES NORMALLY AFTER IT IS TURNED BACKED ON (CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON FOR ABOUT 100 MORE MILES THEN TURN OFF). I HAVE SAFETY CONCERNS WITH THIS HAPPENING AGAIN ON A BUSY HIGHWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2015 - DENVER, CO
THIS ISSUES HAS OCCURRED 4 TIMES IN THE PAST 3 MONTHS. TWICE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND TWICE AT SPEEDS BELOW 10 MPH. THE ISSUE SEEMS TO OCCUR RANDOMLY. WHEN IT OCCURS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, VTM4 LIGHT, VSA LIGHT AND A FEW OTHER WARNING LIGHTS LIGHT UP ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. WHEN THIS OCCURS THE TRUCK WILL SLOW DOWN GRADUALLY WITH NO RESPONSE FROM THE ACCELERATE PEDAL. I HAVE TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TURN OFF THE TRUCK AND TURN BACK ON. THE TRUCK OPERATES NORMALLY AFTER IT IS TURNED BACKED ON (CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON FOR ABOUT 100 MORE MILES THEN TURN OFF). I HAVE SAFETY CONCERNS WITH THIS HAPPENING AGAIN ON A BUSY HIGHWAY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/22/2015 - OSWEGO, NY
WE WERE TRAVELING IN THE ADIRONDACKS ON 08-09-2015 WHEN SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING THE CAR STARTED TO JERK A FEW TIMES THEN AS IT WAS IN DRIVE I HAD NO FORWARD MOTION IN DRIVE.I PUSHED THE ACCELERATOR DOWN AND THE CAR ACTED AS IF IT WAS IN NEUTRAL.I SLOWLY CAME TO A STOP ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND SAW THE RADIATOR AND TRANSMISSION FLUID WERE LEAKING FROM THE CAR.WE CALLED AAA AND HAD IT TOWED TO A GARAGE.THE MECHANIC INFORMED US THE RADIATOR WAS NO GOOD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.THE COOLING SYSTEM WAS BLED AND THE THERMOSTAT AND RADIATOR REPLACED.AT THIS TIME THE CAR WAS DRIVABLE BUT WAS STILL OVERHEATING.THE MECHANIC THAT SAID HE BELIEVED IT MAY BE A CRACKED HEAD OR HEAD GASKET THEY NEEDED REPAIR.WE HAD TO LEAVE OUR CAR IN THE ADIRONDACKS AND RETURN HOME IN A RENTAL.THIS WAS ON 08-14-2015. TODAY IS 08-22-2015 AND WE ARE STILL WAITING FOR WORD ON THE REPAIR PROCESS. MY COMPLAINT IS THAT AFTER THIS HAPPENED WE FOUND OUT THAT WHAT HAPPENED TO US HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER RIDEGLINE OWNERS.THERE SEEMS TO BE A DEFECT IN A WASHER ON THE RADIATOR THAT IS MADE FROM A DIFFERENT ALLOY FROM THE REST OF THE VEHICLE.THIS WASHER CAN FAIL AT ANY TIME,AND WHEN IT DOES IT MIXES TRANSMISSION FLUID AND RADIATOR FLUID TOGETHER AND CAUSES CATASTROPHIC DAMAGE TO THE RADIATOR AND ENGINE. COULD SOMEONE PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHY HONDA WILL NOT DEAL WITH THIS AND ISSUE A RECALL,ALSO IF THEY DO ISSUE A RECALL IN THE FUTURE WILL ANY OF IT COVER THE REPAIRS I MAKE NOW.

View Details

ENGINE

8/22/2015 - OSWEGO, NY
WE WERE TRAVELING IN THE ADIRONDACKS ON 08-09-2015 WHEN SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING THE CAR STARTED TO JERK A FEW TIMES THEN AS IT WAS IN DRIVE I HAD NO FORWARD MOTION IN DRIVE.I PUSHED THE ACCELERATOR DOWN AND THE CAR ACTED AS IF IT WAS IN NEUTRAL.I SLOWLY CAME TO A STOP ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND SAW THE RADIATOR AND TRANSMISSION FLUID WERE LEAKING FROM THE CAR.WE CALLED AAA AND HAD IT TOWED TO A GARAGE.THE MECHANIC INFORMED US THE RADIATOR WAS NO GOOD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.THE COOLING SYSTEM WAS BLED AND THE THERMOSTAT AND RADIATOR REPLACED.AT THIS TIME THE CAR WAS DRIVABLE BUT WAS STILL OVERHEATING.THE MECHANIC THAT SAID HE BELIEVED IT MAY BE A CRACKED HEAD OR HEAD GASKET THEY NEEDED REPAIR.WE HAD TO LEAVE OUR CAR IN THE ADIRONDACKS AND RETURN HOME IN A RENTAL.THIS WAS ON 08-14-2015. TODAY IS 08-22-2015 AND WE ARE STILL WAITING FOR WORD ON THE REPAIR PROCESS. MY COMPLAINT IS THAT AFTER THIS HAPPENED WE FOUND OUT THAT WHAT HAPPENED TO US HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER RIDEGLINE OWNERS.THERE SEEMS TO BE A DEFECT IN A WASHER ON THE RADIATOR THAT IS MADE FROM A DIFFERENT ALLOY FROM THE REST OF THE VEHICLE.THIS WASHER CAN FAIL AT ANY TIME,AND WHEN IT DOES IT MIXES TRANSMISSION FLUID AND RADIATOR FLUID TOGETHER AND CAUSES CATASTROPHIC DAMAGE TO THE RADIATOR AND ENGINE. COULD SOMEONE PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHY HONDA WILL NOT DEAL WITH THIS AND ISSUE A RECALL,ALSO IF THEY DO ISSUE A RECALL IN THE FUTURE WILL ANY OF IT COVER THE REPAIRS I MAKE NOW.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/18/2015 - ANTHEM, AZ
BRAKE LOCKOUT SWITCH FAILED. TRUCK WOULD NOT SHIFT SINCE BRAKE APPLIED DID NOT REGISTER THROUGH SWITCH. BRAKE LOCKOUT SWITCH WAS REPLACED. WE TOOK THE FAILED BRAKE LOCKOUT SWITCH APART AT THE FACTORY SEAM/KEEPERS AND IT SMELLED LIKE INTERNALS HAD MELTED AND OR BURNED, A SMOKE LIKE SMELL. I STILL HAVE THE FAILED PART IN POSESSION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2015 - ANTHEM, AZ
BRAKE LOCKOUT SWITCH FAILED. TRUCK WOULD NOT SHIFT SINCE BRAKE APPLIED DID NOT REGISTER THROUGH SWITCH. BRAKE LOCKOUT SWITCH WAS REPLACED. WE TOOK THE FAILED BRAKE LOCKOUT SWITCH APART AT THE FACTORY SEAM/KEEPERS AND IT SMELLED LIKE INTERNALS HAD MELTED AND OR BURNED, A SMOKE LIKE SMELL. I STILL HAVE THE FAILED PART IN POSESSION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/16/2015 - MILFORD, CT
AFTER STARTING TRUCK AND LEAVING DRIVEWAY SRS LIGHT CAME ON. IT DOES THIS EACH TIME YOU START DRIVING TRUCK NOW. WENT TO DEALER, PAID FEE TO PUT IT ON THEIR COMPUTER AND IT SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG. THEY RESET LIGHT AND IT CAME ON AGAIN. THE DEALER LOOKED AT IT AGAIN (NO CHARGE THIS TIME) AND SAID THEY FEEL IT IS THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT SENSOR THAT IS PART OF THE SRS SYSTEM. IT WILL BE ABOUT $1200.00 TO REPLACE IT, IT MAY NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AND IS NOT COVERED BY HONDA EVEN THOUGH IT IS PART OF THE AIRBAG SAFETY SYSTEM. HOW CAN A SAFETY FEATURE NOT BE COVERED FOR THE LIFE OF VEHICLE LIKE SEAT BELTS? HONDA HAS HAD SO MANY AIR BAG RECALLS HOW IS THIS ANY DIFFERENT?

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2015 - HARRISBURG , PA
MY VECHICLE HAS CATASTROPHIC INTERNAL ENGINE FAILURE. THERE WAS NO INDICATION OF ANY ISSUE WITH MY VECHICLE. I HAD MY 3 YEAR OLD GRANDSON WITH ME AND WE WERE OUT TO RUN A QUICK ERRAND. I DETECTED A STRANGE NOISE THAT I THOUGHT WAS A STONE IN MY WHEEL. I DECIDED TO TURN THE TRUCK AROUND AND FOREGO THE ERRAND, AS IT WAS AN ODD NOISE. MOMENTS AFTER I TURNED THE TRUCK AROUND MY VTM-4 AND VSA WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON. I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND LOOKED THESE WARNING LIGHTS UP IN MY OWNER'S MANUAL. BASED ON WHAT I READ, THEIR WAS NO DANGER IN PROCEEDING SLOWING, AS THESE INDICATOR LIGHTS ARE RELATED TO STABILIZATION AND EQUAL DISTRIBUTION OF TORQUE. THE MANUAL SUGGESTED IT BE TAKEN TO A MECHANIC. I NO SOONER PULLED OUT AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE RIDGELINE CEASED. I HAD NO STEERING, NO POWER, NOTHING. I MANAGED TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THANKFULLY, I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY AND WAS GOING AT A SLOW RATE OF SPEED, OTHERWISE I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL THE VECHICLE. NEEDLESS TO SAY, IT WAS A SCARY EXPERIENCE FOR MY GRANDSON AND ME. I HAD TO HAVE THE RIDGELINE TOWED TO MY MECHANIC AND IT HAS BEEN DETERMINED THAT A PISTON RING BROKE AND GOUGED THE CYLINDER. THE ENGINE NEEDS REPLACED. I TALKED TO HONDA OF AMERICA TO INQUIRE IF THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM HISTORICALLY WITH THIS ENGINE, BUT COULDN'T GET A STRAIGHT ANSWER. I PURCHASED THE EXTENDED WARRANTY OFFERED WITH THIS VECHICLE BUT IT EXPIRED AT 100,000 MILES. I AM CONVINCED THAT THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT BASED ON THE INFORMATION I HAVE SINCE READ REGARDING THIS TYPE OF INCIDENT WITH THIS ENGINE. BECAUSE MY WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED, I BEAR THE COST OF THIS EXPENSE. DISAPPOINTED THAT MY HONDA DIDN'T LIVE UP TO IT'S REPUTATION. THIS IS A VECHICLE THAT WAS WELL MAINTAINED, WITH AN EXPECTED ENGINE LIFE OF TENS OF THOSANDS MORE MILES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds