Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SEDONA - 2007 KIA SEDONA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 71 complaints filed for the 2007 KIA SEDONA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 KIA SEDONA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 KIA SEDONA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (10) Power Train (3) Suspension (6) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (5) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Seats (3) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/19/2015 - UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS, OH
WE WENT ON A ROAD TRIP FROM OHIO TO TEXAS AND THE VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A SOUND WE IMMEDIATELY PULLED IT OVER AND ALL THE LIGHTS (OIL, ENGINE, ETC-+ª) CAME ON. WE HAD IT TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP AND FOUND OUT THAT THE WHOLE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE WAS CORRODED. THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE THE COOLANT LINE AND ALL OF THE COOLANT LEAKED OUT OF THE CAR CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO OVERHEAT AND DESTROYED THE ENGINE. THERE WAS NO WARNING ABOUT A PROBLEM WITH THE COOLANT LINE. NOW ALL OF THE LINES NEED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT IS ALL CORRODED UNDERNEATH THE CAR. THEY ARE QUOTING OVER $20,000 OF REPAIR WORK FOR THE VEHICLE. WE HAVE UNDER 80,000 MILES. WE NEVER HAD THESE PROBLEMS ON OUR 2002 KIA SPECTRA THAT WE STILL OWN. KIA IS CURRENTLY UNWILLING TO REPAIR OR REPLACE THIS DEFECTIVE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2015 - UNIVERSITY HEIGHTS, OH
WE WENT ON A ROAD TRIP FROM OHIO TO TEXAS AND THE VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A SOUND WE IMMEDIATELY PULLED IT OVER AND ALL THE LIGHTS (OIL, ENGINE, ETC-+ª) CAME ON. WE HAD IT TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP AND FOUND OUT THAT THE WHOLE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE WAS CORRODED. THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE THE COOLANT LINE AND ALL OF THE COOLANT LEAKED OUT OF THE CAR CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO OVERHEAT AND DESTROYED THE ENGINE. THERE WAS NO WARNING ABOUT A PROBLEM WITH THE COOLANT LINE. NOW ALL OF THE LINES NEED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT IS ALL CORRODED UNDERNEATH THE CAR. THEY ARE QUOTING OVER $20,000 OF REPAIR WORK FOR THE VEHICLE. WE HAVE UNDER 80,000 MILES. WE NEVER HAD THESE PROBLEMS ON OUR 2002 KIA SPECTRA THAT WE STILL OWN. KIA IS CURRENTLY UNWILLING TO REPAIR OR REPLACE THIS DEFECTIVE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2015 - JONESBORO, GA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2007 KIA SEDONA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/22/2014 - BATTLE GROUND, WA
POWER DOORS NO LONGER WORK, THEY DO NOT STAY LATCHED WHILE DRIVING. THREE TIMES THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR HAS COME UNLATCHED AND STARTED OPENING WHILE I WAS DRIVING WITH MY KIDS IN THE BACK. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER OPEN THE DOOR ALL THE WAY THEN RE-CLOSE IT. BUT THE PROBLEM HAS PERSISTED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/24/2014 - WHITESTOWN, IN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A COUNTRY HIGHWAY AT 55MPH IN POURING RAIN AT ABOUT 7:00PM, DARK. THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE ON CONSTANTLY HOWEVER NOT ON THE HIGHEST SETTING. I WENT AROUND A CURVE AND THE WIPERS JUST STOPPED. NO WARNING, NO NOISE, NOTHING, JUST STOPPED. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS AROUND ME AND I COULD GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. MY HUSBAND LOOKED AT IT WHEN WE GOT IT HOME AND IT APPEARS THAT THE LINKAGE HAS SHEARED OFF.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/29/2014 - STUART, FL
WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE WITH CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED THE VEHCILE EXPERIANCED AN UNCOMMANDED DECELERATION WITH NO RESPONSE TO PRESSING THE GAS PEDAL. WITH NO LEFT HAND MEDIUM TO PULL OVER TO, THIS LEFT ONLY THE RIGHT MEDIUM AS AN ALTERNATIVE. NAVIGATING TO THE RIGHT WITHOUT ACCELERATION MADE THIS EXTREAMLY DANGEROUS IN MIAMI TRAFFIC. ONCE ON THE MEDIUM THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED, REACTIVATING THE SYSTEM. DEALER INDICATES THE THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR IS INTERMITTANLY DEFECTIVE CAUSING THE THROTTLE TO DEFAULT TO IDLE MODE AND DEACTIVATING THROTTLE COMMANDS. I AM OF THE OPINION THIS IS AN UNSAFE CONDITION AND THE THROTTLE SHOULD DEFAULT TO A MANUAL INPUT IF THE SENSOR BECOMES DISCREPANT.

View Details

ENGINE

10/7/2014 - MARSHFIELD, WI
I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME THING I HAVE EXPERIENCED NOW ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. I TOO HAVE SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND THE ESC LIGHT AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. THE GAS PEDAL IS VIRTUALLY DEAD, YOU PUSH THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND ALL YOU GET IS ABOUT 1500 RPM AND ABOUT 20 MPH. IF YOU PULL OVER AND TURN THE CAR OFF AND RE-START IT, IT WILL WORK. VERY DANGEROUS TO BE GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND SUDDENLY LOSE POWER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2014 - MARSHFIELD, WI
I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME THING I HAVE EXPERIENCED NOW ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. I TOO HAVE SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND THE ESC LIGHT AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. THE GAS PEDAL IS VIRTUALLY DEAD, YOU PUSH THE PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND ALL YOU GET IS ABOUT 1500 RPM AND ABOUT 20 MPH. IF YOU PULL OVER AND TURN THE CAR OFF AND RE-START IT, IT WILL WORK. VERY DANGEROUS TO BE GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND SUDDENLY LOSE POWER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/7/2014 - MARSHFIELD, WI
FIRST, THE AIR BAG LIGHT FOR DRIVER STAYS ON, THEN CRUISE CONTROL QUIT WORKING, NOW THE HORN QUIT WORKING. I TOOK IT TO A GARAGE AND WAS TOLD IT WAS A FAULTY CLOCK SPRING. I LOOKED UP AND SEE THAT OTHER MODELS OF KIA'S HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR FAULTY CLOCK SPRINGS; BUT NOT THE SEDONA. I BELIEVE THIS MODEL SHOULD ALSO BE RECALLED AS IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD NOT TO HAVE A WORKING AIR BAG AND HORN. I WAS TOLD BY TWO DIFFERENT GARAGES THAT IT WILL COST $350 TO REPLACE THE CLOCK SPRING. I CANNOT AFFORD TO FIX THIS SO I WILL DRIVE WITH NO HORN OR AIR BAG. IF I SHOULD BE INJURED OR DIE IN A CRASH DUE TO EITHER OF THESE ITEMS NOT WORKING I HAVE INSTRUCTED MY WIFE AND CHILDREN TO SUE KIA FOR NOT RECALLING ALL THE CLOCK SPRINGS, WHEN ITS OBVIOUS THAT MORE MODELS HAVE PROBLEMS THAN WHAT HAS BEEN RECALLED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/7/2014 - MARSHFIELD, WI
FIRST, THE AIR BAG LIGHT FOR DRIVER STAYS ON, THEN CRUISE CONTROL QUIT WORKING, NOW THE HORN QUIT WORKING. I TOOK IT TO A GARAGE AND WAS TOLD IT WAS A FAULTY CLOCK SPRING. I LOOKED UP AND SEE THAT OTHER MODELS OF KIA'S HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR FAULTY CLOCK SPRINGS; BUT NOT THE SEDONA. I BELIEVE THIS MODEL SHOULD ALSO BE RECALLED AS IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD NOT TO HAVE A WORKING AIR BAG AND HORN. I WAS TOLD BY TWO DIFFERENT GARAGES THAT IT WILL COST $350 TO REPLACE THE CLOCK SPRING. I CANNOT AFFORD TO FIX THIS SO I WILL DRIVE WITH NO HORN OR AIR BAG. IF I SHOULD BE INJURED OR DIE IN A CRASH DUE TO EITHER OF THESE ITEMS NOT WORKING I HAVE INSTRUCTED MY WIFE AND CHILDREN TO SUE KIA FOR NOT RECALLING ALL THE CLOCK SPRINGS, WHEN ITS OBVIOUS THAT MORE MODELS HAVE PROBLEMS THAN WHAT HAS BEEN RECALLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds