Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS GS350 - 2007 LEXUS GS350 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by LEXUS

There are 29 complaints filed for the 2007 LEXUS GS350

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 LEXUS GS350. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 LEXUS GS350, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (2) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (1)
Electrical System (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (1) Steering (2) Visibility (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/19/2012 - CLEAR WATER , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 LEXUS GS350. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WOULD MALFUNCTION INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER A MANUFACTURER'S RECALL RELATED TO THE SAME FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE WHO STATED THAT THEY WOULD CONTACT HIM AT A LATER DATE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/3/2011 - SCHAUMBURG, IL
FUEL FEED LINE TO PASSENGER SIDE FUEL PUMP BECAME DISCONNECTED WHILE DRIVING. WAS STOOPED AT THE TRAFFIC LIGHT AND START SMELLING GAS, THOUGHT WAS COMING FROM THE FRONT CAR. AS LIGHT TURNED GREEN START TO MOVE AND ENGINE STOPPED. FORTUNATELY WAS ON THE DOWN HILL SO CAR ROLLED TO THE TRAFFIC LIGHT AND PULLED OVER. TRIED TO START COUPLE OF TIME AND GAS WAS DRIPPING UNDER THE PASSENGER SIDE ENGINE. WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND ALL THEY CAN FIND IS FUEL FEED LINE TO THE FUEL PUMP WAS DISCONNECTED INSPECTED O-RINGS AND PIPE RETAINER WHICH WAS FOUND OK. NEEDLESS TO SAY LUCKY FOR US THAT THERE WERE NO SPARK OTHERWISE IT COULD HAVE IGNITED THE CAR. AFTER BACK AND FORTH CONVERSATION WITH LEXUS CUSTOMER SERVICE, ONLY ASSURANCE I CAN HAVE IS DEALER CAN SHOW ME THAT THE FUEL PIPE IS CONNECTED WELL AND THERE IS NO SAFETY ISSUE. MY CONCERN IS WHAT CAUSE THIS FAILURE AND NO DEALER OR LEXUS ENGINEERING HAVE ANY IDEA. THERE WAS A RECALL REGARDING ENGINE FOR THIS MODEL AND WORK WAS DONE BY DEALER ABOUT FOUR MONTHS PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/10/2011 - CERRITOS, CA
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENTER A PLAZA BY MAKING A RIGHT TURN, I TRIED TO STEP ON THE BRAKES WHILE TURNING, BUT THE CAR JERKED INTO A SUDDEN ACCELERATION. SUDDENLY, THE CAR ACCELERATED BECAUSE THE BRAKES DIDN'T WORK. I CRASHED UP INTO THE CURB AND INTO A TREE AND INTO A PARKED CAR. WITH SUCH IMPACT AND FORCE, MY CAR PUSHED THE PARKED CAR TO THE NEXT PARKING LANE, THUS DAMAGING THE CAR PARKED NEXT TO THE FIRST CAR I HIT. THEREFORE, THE FIRST CAR I HIT WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED AND THE SECOND CAR HAD SOME DENTS AND DAMAGES. MY CAR IS STILL IN THE BODY SHOP AND STILL NEEDS TO BE FIXED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/1/2011 - VANCOUVER, WA
LOW BEAM XENON HEADLIGHT ON DRIVERS SIDE INTERMITTENTLY SHUTS OFF. AT TIMES BOTH LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS FLICKER AND SHUT OFF COMPLETELY CAUSING NO VISION AT NIGHT. WHEN THE LIGHTS ARE SWITCHED OFF THEN BACK ON THEY WORK ONCE AGAIN BUT USUALLY FOR A FEW MINUTES ONLY.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/21/2011 - BRONX, NY
I BOUGHT A PRE-OWNED CERTIFIED 2007 LEXUS GS 350 IN SEPT 2010, I WAS DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY WHEN I HEARD A POP AND THE ENGINE LOST POWER. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO MOVE TO THE CORNER LANE TO AVOID A TRACTOR TRAILER HITTING ME FROM BEHIND. THE CAR WAS THEN TOWED TO THE NEAREST LEXUS DEALER, I WAS TOLD BY THAT DEALER THAT A RECALL WAS PERFORMED JUST PRIOR TO MY PURCHASE OF THE VEHICLE AND SOME SCREWS WERE MISSING FROM THE REPAIR. WHICH CAUSE AN ENGINE FAILURE WHILE I WAS DRIVING. THE LEXUS DEALER THAT I BOUGHT THE CAR FROM, INSISTS THEY FIX THE NEW ENGINE, THE CAR WAS THEN TOWED TO THE LEXUS DEALER FROM WHOM I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE. NOW THEY ARE SAYING A CHAIN WAS CUT IN THE ENGINE AND THEY WILL JUST REPLACE THE CHAIN AND NOT THE ENTIRE ENGINE, I WAS EXPECTING A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

VISIBILITY

2/4/2011 - ENGLEWOOD, NJ
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT VARYING SPEEDS I HAVE NOTICED THAT THE OUTSIDE MIRRORS ON MY CAR CHANGE POSITION WITHOUT ANY INPUT ON THE SWITCH. DURING THE WEEK OR SO PRIOR TO THE FIRST TIME THAT THIS OCCURRED, I HAD NOTICED THAT WHEN RETURNING TO THE CAR AFTER LEAVING IT PARKED OVERNIGHT THAT THE MIRRORS, AND OFTEN THE DRIVER'S SEAT WOULD BE OUT OF THEIR SET MEMORY POSITION. SELECTING THE MEMORY SWITCH WOULD RETURN THE SEAT AND MIRRORS TO THEIR PRESET POSITION. HOWEVER THIS HAS NOW PROGRESSED TO WHERE THE MIRRORS WILL CHANGE POSITION WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. THE DRIVER'S MIRROR WILL NOT CHANGE POSITION DRAMATICALLY, HOWEVER THE PASSENGER SIDE MIRROR WILL FREQUENTLY TILT UP TO NEARLY THE FULL EXTENT OF ITS' TRAVEL AND WITHOUT ANY WARNING OR INPUT FROM THE DRIVER. THIS HAS LED TO SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHERE A QUICK GLANCE, ESPECIALLY AT NIGHT, DID NOT SHOW AN OBSTRUCTION ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR AND NEARLY LED TO AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE COMPLAINED TWICE ABOUT THIS TO ONE LEXUS DEALER, TRI COUNTY LEXUS, AND ONCE TO ANOTHER LEXUS DEALER, LEXUS STORE OF LEXINGTON. NEITHER CLAIMED TO BE ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, BUT I DID POINT OUT TO THE LEXUS STORE OF LEXINGTON WHEN I PICKED MY CAR UP THAT THE PASSENGER MIRROR WAS TILTED FULLY UP AND THEREFORE USELESS TO VIEW THE SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. AS I HAVE POINTED OUT TO BOTH DEALERS, PRESSING THE MEMORY RECALL BUTTON NUMEROUS TIMES WILL EVENTUALLY BRING THE MIRROR BACK TO THE SET MEMORY POSITION. NOW THAT THE VEHICLE HAS PASSED ITS' 50,000 MILE NEW CAR WARRANTY LEXUS CLAIMS NO FURTHER RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS OR SEVERAL OTHER CONCERNS WHICH I RAISED DURING THE WARRANTY PERIOD, ONE OF WHICH I JUST PAID $569 FOR OUT OF POCKET TO REPAIR. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND I WOULD LIKE MY VEHICLE TO BE REPAIRED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

1/5/2011 - LOS ANGELES, CA
RECENTLY, TOYOTA HAS OFFICIALLY FILED A GOVERNMENT RECALL ON OVER 138,000 LEXUS MODELS DUE TO ENGINE PROBLEMS. THE RECALL AFFECTS 2007-2008 LEXUS GS 350/450H, 2008 LEXUS GS 460, 2006-2008 LEXUS IS 350, 2007-2008 LEXUS LS 460/460L, AND 2008 LEXUS LS 600HL MODELS. THE PROBLEM STEMS FROM FOREIGN MATERIAL THAT MAY HAVE CONTAMINATED THE VALVE SPRING CAUSING IT TO DEGRADE AND POSSIBLY BREAK. IF THAT OCCURS, THE ENGINE COULD FAIL AND STOP WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. (ARTICLE FROM ASSOCIATED PRESS DEC. 23, 2010: LOS ANGELES + TOYOTA MOTOR CORP. AGREED TO PAY $10 MILLION TO THE FAMILY OF FOUR PEOPLE KILLED IN A RUNAWAY LEXUS CRASH THAT LED TO RECALLS OF MILLIONS OF THE AUTOMAKER\\\'S VEHICLES, AN ATTORNEY SAID THURSDAY. THE AMOUNT WAS RELEASED THURSDAY BY ORANGE COUNTY LAWYER LARRY WILLIS, WHO REPRESENTS THE DEALERSHIP THAT LENT THE LEXUS TO THE FAMILY, ATTORNEY JEAN-PAUL JASSY SAID. JASSY SPOKE WITH WILLIS AND REPRESENTED SEVERAL MEDIA ORGANIZATIONS, INCLUDING THE ASSOCIATED PRESS, THAT FILED A MOTION OPPOSING EFFORTS TO KEEP THE DETAILS SEALED.) I LEASED A LEXUS GS350 SEVERAL YEARS AGO (4/12/2007). MY LEASE DOES NOT EXPIRE UNTIL 4/12/2012. I WROTE LEXUS A LETTER STATING THAT I WOULD LIKE TO RETURN MY LEXUS GS350 TO THE LOCAL DEALER AND END MY LEASE BEFORE THE EXPIRATION DATE OF 4/12/2012. LEXUS RESPONDED BY INDICATING THAT IT WOULD NOT LET ME RETURN MY CAR. PLEASE ASSIST ME AND ORDER LEXUS TO END MY LEASE DUE TO THE UNSAFE VEHICLE THEY PROVIDED ME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/30/2010 - BELLEVUE, WA
WHEN STARTING THE MY CAR, 2007 LEXUS GS 350, THE ENGINE REVVED UP TO AN ESTIMATED 5000 RPM FOR 5 - 10 SEC THEN SETTLED DOWN TO THE NORMAL IDLE (1000 RPM RANGE). THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. TRANSMISSION WAS STILL IN PARK, PARKING BRAKES STILL ON. I AM ORIGINAL OWNER/DRIVER. THE CAR HAS APPROXIMATELY 30000 MILES. IMMEDIATELY TOOK TO THE LEXUS DEALER. DIAGNOSTICS WERE RUN, NO DEFECTS WERE DETECTED. FLOOR MAT WAS NOT INVOLVED. I WAS SIMPLY STARTING THE CAR, WITH THE SMART KEY, MY FOOT HAS TO BE ON THE BRAKE IN ORDER TO START THE CAR, THUS IMPOSSIBLE TO BE STEPPING ON THE ACCELERATOR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/22/2010 - LOS ANGELES, CA
1. 2007 GS350 USED FOR NORMAL OPERATION (APPRX. 34,000-MILES; SERVICED FOR 30,000-MILES AT LEXUS DEALERSHIP 2 MONTHS PRIOR). IMMEDIATELY AFTER EXITING THE FREEWAY, THE CAR STALLED. SMOKE WAS COMING OUT FROM FRONT OF CAR. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, FUEL WAS SPILLING DOWN ONTO THE GROUND. CAR WAS TOWED TO LEXUS DEALERSHIP. 2. THE FUEL HOSE CONNECTOR SOMEHOW CAME "LOOSE", THEREBY DISCONNECTING THE FUEL HOSE CONNECTING THE ENGINE AND GASOLINE TANK (CONNECTOR & HOSE LOCATED VISIBLY ON LEFT SIDE OF ENGINE COMPARTMENT), ALLOWING GASOLINE TO FREELY FLOW OUT. ANY ELECTRICAL SPARK OR ACCIDENT COULD HAVE CAUSED SEVERE FIRE DAMAGE AND LOSS OF LIFE DURING THIS TIME. THIS WARRANTS FURTHER QUESTION AS TO HOW DURABLE THE CONNECTOR WOULD BE IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT. 3. LEXUS DEALERSHIP FOUND NO DEFECT WITH THE HOSE AND CONNECTOR, OTHER THAN THE FACT THAT IT BECAME DISCONNECTED. WITHOUT ANY INVESTIGATION INTO THE MATTER, THEY HAVE CATEGORIZED THIS AS A SINGULAR INCIDENT. THEY REPLACED THE PARTS TO "BRING PEACE TO OUR MINDS", BUT MAINTAIN THAT THE PARTS ARE FUNCTIONING CORRECTLY. ASKED AS TO HOW THE FUEL HOSE COULD BECOME DISCONNECTED WHEN THERE IS NO APPARENT DEFECT TO THE PARTS, LEXUS PROVIDED THE ANSWER, "WE DON'T KNOW", AND FURTHER ADDING "THERE IS NO ISSUE SINCE WE REPLACED THE PARTS". LOGICAL COURSE OF ACTION WOULD BE TO IMMEDIATELY INVESTIGATE WHETHER THERE IS A DESIGN FLAW IN THE SYSTEM, BUT THIS DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE THE CASE WITH LEXUS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/9/2010 - ANNAHIEM, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 LEXUS GS350. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TURNED THE VEHICLE TO NOT HIT THE VEHICLE AGAIN; THE VEHICLE WENT DOWN A HILL AND UP ON A CURB WHERE IT STOPPED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 38,000. UPDATED 01/28/11 UPDATED 02/22/11

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds