Auto Recalls for Consumers

LEXUS IS350 - 2007 LEXUS IS350 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by LEXUS

There are 10 complaints filed for the 2007 LEXUS IS350

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 LEXUS IS350. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 LEXUS IS350, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (1) Vehicle Speed Control (7) Visibility (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/10/2011 - RESEDA , CA
MY CAR, LEXUS IS 350, HAS A CONDENSATION PROBLEM INSIDE THE HEADLIGHT HOUSING ON BOTH SIDES. I BOUGHT THE CAR APPROXIMATELY A YEAR AGO. THE PROBLEM FIRST OCCURRED TO MY CAR ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO. ONE OF THE HEADLIGHTS ARE PERMANENTLY OUT. BECAUSE OF THE WATER, NOT ONLY THE HEADLIGHT BUT BALLAST AND THE ECU ARE FAILED TO OPERATE PROPERLY. IT IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT AS EVEN THE DEALERSHIP AND THE LEXUS CUSTOMER SATISFACTION CENTER ADMITTED. HOWEVER, LEXUS REFUSED TO PROVIDE THE FULL SERVICE. THEY OFFERED TO PROVIDE $1,000 WHEN THE TOTAL FIXING COST WILL BE AROUND $1,500 FOR ONE SIDE. I AM ALSO AWARE OF THE CLASS ACTION THAT ARE GOING ON FOR RX FROM 2004 - 2009 MODEL. AS THEY ARE SUFFERING FROM THE SAME PROBLEM, MANY LEXUS OWNER ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE. THIS IS CERTAINLY A MANUFACTURER DEFECT BUT THEY ARE REFUSING TO PROVIDE THE SERVICE BECAUSE MY MANUFACTURER WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED. NOW, IT IS OBVIOUSLY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE AT NIGHT DUE TO THEIR MISTAKE. I STRONGLY FEEL THAT IT IS NOT THE MATTER OF FACTORY WARRANTY, BUT THE BUSINESS ETHICS AND THE RESPONSIBILITY OF LEXUS. SINCE THE WATER DAMAGED THE ECU, CAUSE THE PROBLEM THAT THERE SHOULDN'T HAVE BEEN, THEY NEED PROVIDE FULL SERVICE FOR THEIR CUSTOMER. I AM FILING MY COMPLAINT DUE TO ACHIEVE THE RIGHT AS A CUSTOMER, PLEASE TAKE A CLOSE LOOK AT THE ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/10/2011 - RESEDA , CA
MY CAR, LEXUS IS 350, HAS A CONDENSATION PROBLEM INSIDE THE HEADLIGHT HOUSING ON BOTH SIDES. I BOUGHT THE CAR APPROXIMATELY A YEAR AGO. THE PROBLEM FIRST OCCURRED TO MY CAR ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO. ONE OF THE HEADLIGHTS ARE PERMANENTLY OUT. BECAUSE OF THE WATER, NOT ONLY THE HEADLIGHT BUT BALLAST AND THE ECU ARE FAILED TO OPERATE PROPERLY. IT IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT AS EVEN THE DEALERSHIP AND THE LEXUS CUSTOMER SATISFACTION CENTER ADMITTED. HOWEVER, LEXUS REFUSED TO PROVIDE THE FULL SERVICE. THEY OFFERED TO PROVIDE $1,000 WHEN THE TOTAL FIXING COST WILL BE AROUND $1,500 FOR ONE SIDE. I AM ALSO AWARE OF THE CLASS ACTION THAT ARE GOING ON FOR RX FROM 2004 - 2009 MODEL. AS THEY ARE SUFFERING FROM THE SAME PROBLEM, MANY LEXUS OWNER ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE. THIS IS CERTAINLY A MANUFACTURER DEFECT BUT THEY ARE REFUSING TO PROVIDE THE SERVICE BECAUSE MY MANUFACTURER WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED. NOW, IT IS OBVIOUSLY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE AT NIGHT DUE TO THEIR MISTAKE. I STRONGLY FEEL THAT IT IS NOT THE MATTER OF FACTORY WARRANTY, BUT THE BUSINESS ETHICS AND THE RESPONSIBILITY OF LEXUS. SINCE THE WATER DAMAGED THE ECU, CAUSE THE PROBLEM THAT THERE SHOULDN'T HAVE BEEN, THEY NEED PROVIDE FULL SERVICE FOR THEIR CUSTOMER. I AM FILING MY COMPLAINT DUE TO ACHIEVE THE RIGHT AS A CUSTOMER, PLEASE TAKE A CLOSE LOOK AT THE ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

4/29/2010 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 LEXUS IS350. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE ABNORMALLY ACCELERATED UP TO 135 MPH. SHE WAS ABLE TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN BY DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD PREVIOUSLY BEEN DIAGNOSED BY THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THE FAILURE BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE A REMEDY. THE VIN WAS A PART OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 09V388000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL) BUT THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO REMEDY FOR THE RECALL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SAFE TO OPERATE AND WAS UNABLE TO RECEIVE ANY ASSISTANCE FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

4/16/2010 - LONG BEACH, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2007 LEXUS IS350. WHILE IDLING, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED INTO THE CONTACTS GARAGE. THE CONTACT WAS INJURED AS A RESULT. THE CONTACT HAD PREVIOUSLY RECEIVED FIVE RECALL NOTICES FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE A MONTH AFTER THE CRASH OCCURRED AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND TO REPLACE THE TIRE. THERE WERE NO REPAIRS PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE WHEN THE COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 23,676. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,646. UPDATED EVOQ 10/01/10 UPDATED 12/30/10 THE CONSUMER STATED SHE NO LONGER OWNS THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 01/10/11

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/9/2010 - MILPITAS, CA
DEALERSHIP SOLD ME AN UNSAFE VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/2/2010 - CHATTANOOGA, TN
PLEASE NOTE THAT I HAVE 2 LEXUS IS 350'S AND HAVE FILED COMPLAINT FOR ONE (ODI NUMBER 10315495). I AM MAKING COMPLAINT FOR MY OTHER IS 350 SINCE THE RECALL APPLIED TO BOTH. LEXUS HAS NOT ACTED TIMELY IN DETERMINING AND ANNOUNCING A REMEDY FOR MY VEHICLE IN RELATION TO THE SAFETY RECALL. I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM LEXUS USA IN LATE 9/2009 OR EARLY 10/2009 ADVISING ME OF A SAFETY RECALL RELATED TO MY VEHICLE. RECOMMENDATION FROM LEXUS AT THE TIME WAS TO REMOVE DRIVER SIDE FLOOR MAT. LEXUS LETTER DOCUMENTED THAT THEY WOULD NOTIFY ME AS SOON AS A CAMPAIGN REMEDY IS AVAILABLE. IT IS NOW 5 MONTHS AFTER NOTIFICATION OF SAFETY RECALL AND ACCORDING TO PHONE CONVERSATION WITH MY LEXUS DEALERSHIP SERVICE MANAGER AND LEXUS USA CUSTOMER SERVICE NO CAMPAIGN REMEDY FOR MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN DETERMINED BY LEXUS. THESE PHONE CONVERSATIONS WERE YESTERDAY, 3/1/2010. LEXUS HAS NOT ACTED TIMELY IN DETERMINING AND ANNOUNCING A REMEDY FOR MY VEHICLE IN RELATION TO THE SAFETY RECALL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/2/2010 - CHATTANOOGA, TN
IN FOLLOW-UP OF MY COMPLAINT (ODI NUMBER 10313992) - LEXUS DEALERSHIP SERVICE MANAGER HAD MY AUTOMOBILE TESTED AND SAID THEY FOUND NO PROBLEMS WITH ACCELERATION ISSUE THAT I HAD REPORTED. I INQUIRED ABOUT WHEN THE RECALL "CAMPAIGN REMEDY" WOULD BE AVAILABLE FOR MY VEHICLE. THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE MANAGER SAID HE DID NOT KNOW. I EXPLAINED THAT I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM LEXUS IN LATE 9/2009 OR EARLY 10/2009 ADVISING ME OF THE SAFETY RECALL OF BOTH OF MY LEXUS IS 350'S. RECOMMENDATION FROM LEXUS AT THAT TIME WAS TO REMOVE DRIVER SIDE FLOOR MAT. LEXUS LETTER DOCUMENTED THAT THEY WOULD NOTIFY ME AS SOON AS A CAMPAIGN REMEDY IS AVAILABLE FOR MY VEHICLES. MY COMPLAINT IS THAT LEXUS HAS NOT DETERMINED A REMEDY FOR MY VEHICLES. IT IS NOW 5 MONTHS AFTER NOTIFICATION OF RECALL AND ACCORDING TO DEALERSHIP SERVICE MANAGER AND LEXUS USA CUSTOMER SERVICE NO CAMPAIGN REMEDY FOR MY VEHICLES - IS 350 - HAS BEEN DETERMINED BY LEXUS. THIS WAS INFO I OBTAINED YESTERDAY, 3/1/2010. LEXUS HAS NOT ACTED TIMELY IN DETERMINING AND ANNOUNCING A REMEDY FOR MY VEHICLES IN RELATION TO THE SAFETY RECALL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/24/2010 - CHATTANOOGA , TN
INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) APPROXIMATELY 1ST WEEK OF JANUARY, 2010, AUTO DEMONSTRATED SEVERAL PERIODS OF IDLING ROUGH WHILE STOPPED AT TRAFFIC LIGHTS OR STOP SIGNS. BEGINNING OF 2ND WEEK OF JANUARY, 2010, I WAS DRIVING MY AUTO ON A COLD, DRY DAY AND STOPPED AT STOP SIGN AND STOPPED AT TRAFFIC LIGHT AND AUTO DEMONSTRATED 2 EPISODES OF UNINTENDED EXCESSIVE ACCELERATION LASTING APPROXIMATELY 1-3 SECONDS, THEN IMMEDIATELY DEMONSTRATED APPROXIMATELY 30 SECONDS OF UNINTENDED ACCELERATION, AND THEN RESUMED NORMAL ACCELERATION FOR 5-6 MILES. THE FIRST EPISODE OF PREVIOUS DESCRIBED ACCELERATION ISSUES, OCCURRED AFTER I HAD LEFT MY GARAGE AND DROVE FOR 1 MILE. THE SECOND EPISODE OF PREVIOUS DESCRIBED ACCELERATION ISSUES OCCURRED AFTER I HAD DRIVEN THE AUTO FOR APPROXIMATELY 5-6 MILES. ON 01/13/2010, I TOOK AUTO TO DEALER , FOR ROUTINE SERVICE AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK ACCELERATION ISSUES THAT HAD RECENTLY OCCURRED. SERVICE TECH NO CODES PENDING, CURRENT OR IN HISTORY. SALES MANAGER SAID THESE ISSUES COULD HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY MY AUTO BEING PARKED IN WARM GARAGE AND THEN DRIVING IN COLD WEATHER. NOTE THAT MY AUTO 2007 LEXUS IS 350 WAS ON RECALL LIST AND THERE WAS NO DRIVER FLOOR MAT IN MY AUTO AT TIME OF DESCRIBED ACCELERATION ISSUES. LEXUS HAD ADVISED ME BY LETTER TO REMOVE DRIVER SIDE FLOOR MAT. ON 2/23/2010, I EXPERIENCED IDENTICAL ACCELERATION ISSUE AS DESCRIBED PREVIOUSLY. THE WEATHER WAS WARMER THAN DAY OF PREVIOUS EPISODE AND ROADS WERE DRY. I LEFT MY GARAGE AND DROVE 5-6 MILES AND STOPPED AT STOP SIGN. IN THE DIRECTION I WAS GOING THE ROAD WAS SLOPPING SLIGHTLY DOWNHILL AT STOP SIGN SO I APPLIED SLIGHT PRESSURE TO ACCELERATOR WHEN PROCEEDING THROUGH STOP SIGN INTERSECTION. MY AUTO DEMONSTRATED THE SAME SEQUENCE AS PREVIOUSLY DESCRIBED ACCELERATION ISSUES. I DID NOT HAVE DRIVER SIDE FLOOR MAT. TECH FOUND NO PROBLEMS. DEALER OPENED THE CASE [XXX] & ADVISED FTS. I CALLED LEXUS CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TOLD SOMEONE WOULD CALL ME.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

2/5/2010 - ASHBURN, VA
I HAD THE WINDSHIELD REPLACED IN MY 2007 LEXUS IS350 ON 2/3/2010 BY A REPAIRMAN WHO WORKS FOR STATE FARM INSURANCE. THIS COMPLAINT IS ABOUT THE MANUFACTURER OF THE WINDSHIELD GLASS. THE GLASS MANUFACTURER IS PILKINGTON AND THEY MADE THE WINDSHIELD THAT WAS INSTALLED IN MY CAR. PILKINGTON MAKES TWO GRADES OF AUTO GLASS, OEM AND AFTER MARKET. OEM HAS TO MEET THE AUTO MANUFACTURERS SPECS AND THE AFTER MARKEY DOES NOT. THE WINDSHIELD PUT IN MY CAR HAD AN OPTICAL DISTORTION ON THE PASSENGER SIDE SIGHT LINE. THE WINDSHIELD WAS CHIPPED ON THE TOP OF THE GLASS. THE WINDSHIELD WAS CUT TOO SHORT ON THE TOP AND DID NOT MEET THE ROOF OF THE CAR. THEIR IS A GAP THERE NOW WHICH WAS NOT PRESENT ON THE OEM LEXUS WINDSHIELD. HOW WOULD THIS WINDSHIELD ACT IN A HIGHWAY SPEED CRASH? WINDSHIELDS ARE NOW A PART OF THE BODY INTEGRITY OF THE CAR. THE MANUFACTURERS OF THE AFTERMARKET GLASS MAKE IT CHEAPLY FOR THE INSURANCE COMPANY'S. THE AUTO INSURANCE COMPANY'S DO NOT WANT TO PAY FOR QUALITY. QUALITY COSTS MORE MONEY. PILKINGTON GLASS NEEDS TO BE HELD TO A HIGHER STANDARD THAN THEY CURRENTLY HAVE NOW.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

12/11/2009 - INGLEWOOD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 LEXUS IS350. WHILE PARKING, THE VEHICLE RAPIDLY ACCELERATED OVER AN EMBANKMENT, HIT A FENCE, AND THEN ROLLED OVER. A POLICE REPORT WAS AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200.2/25/2010 UPDATED 3/17/10 UPDATED 05/06/10. UPDATED 06/18/10.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds