Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA CX-7 - 2007 MAZDA CX-7 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MAZDA

There are 371 complaints filed for the 2007 MAZDA CX-7

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MAZDA CX-7. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MAZDA CX-7, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (22) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (16)
Electrical System (18) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (51) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (79) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (209) Fuel System Gasoline (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/22/2015 - SUITLAND, MD
ON THE DAY OF APRIL 22, 2015, WHILE DRIVING MY CAR(2007 MAZDA CX-7) OFF A FREEWAY RAMP, THE CAR BEGAN TO RATTLE AS IF IT WAS BEING PUSHED BY A WIND. I SMELLED SMOKE COMING FROM THE INSIDE COMPARTMENT OF THE CABIN AREA OF THE CAR. I ATTEMPTED TO APPLY THE BRAKES BUT THE CAR WON'T STOP! FLAMES WAS COMING FROM THE CAR AND THAT'S WHEN THE CAR FINALLY STOP. THERE WAS A CAR IN FRONT OF ME THAT I THOUGHT THAT I WAS GOING TO ALMOST CAUSE A MAJOR ACCIDENT ON THE OFF RAMP OF THE FREEWAY. THE MECHANIC CHECKED THE ENGINE AND STATED THAT THE ENGINE LOCKED UP WHICH CAUSED A LOW COMPRESSION TO THE ENGINE CAUSING THE VVT BELT TIMING TO DAMAGE THE VALVES IN THE ENGINE. I CHANGED THE OIL IN THE VEHICLE, AND HAVE THE VEHICLE SERVED ON A REGULAR BASIS, BUT NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS LIKE THAT. I DID RESEARCH ON THIS VEHICLE AND FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH OTHER OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE ACROSS THE COUNTRY. THERE NEEDS TO BE A INVESTIGATION, REIMBURSEMENT, RETRIBUTION, AND RECALL ORDERS DISPERSED OUT TO OWNERS OF THE CX-7 MODEL FROM 2007 TO 2012 SO THAT MAZDA CAN REDEEM THEIR QUALITY OF SERVICE AND REPUTATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/22/2015 - HOLTS SUMMIT, MO
I BOUGHT THIS CAR IN FEBRUARY 2013 AND TWO TIMES SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN, THANKFULLY MY HUSBAND AND I BOUGHT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY, BUT I HAVE A FEELING THAT IT WILL DO IT AGAIN BEFORE I EVEN PAY MY CAR OFF. JUST A MONTH AGO I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR IN BECAUSE MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, SO I CHECKED MY ENGINE OIL AND THERE WAS NONE ON THE DIP STICK. CALLED THE PLACE I JUST CAME FROM GETTING MY OIL CHANGED THE WEEK BEFORE AND FOUND OUT THAT THE TURBO CHARGER WAS MALFUNCTIONING AND SUCKING ALL THE OIL OUT OF THE OIL PAN. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THAT IT COMMON FOR THAT MAKE AND MODEL... MY WARRANTY COVERED THE WORK BUT BARELY. I NOW HAVE 4,000 MILES LEFT ON MY WARRANTY.... WHAT ELSE COULD GO WRONG! I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER MAZDA PERIOD!

View Details

ENGINE

5/22/2015 - HOLTS SUMMIT, MO
I BOUGHT THIS CAR IN FEBRUARY 2013 AND TWO TIMES SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN, THANKFULLY MY HUSBAND AND I BOUGHT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY, BUT I HAVE A FEELING THAT IT WILL DO IT AGAIN BEFORE I EVEN PAY MY CAR OFF. JUST A MONTH AGO I HAD TO TAKE MY CAR IN BECAUSE MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, SO I CHECKED MY ENGINE OIL AND THERE WAS NONE ON THE DIP STICK. CALLED THE PLACE I JUST CAME FROM GETTING MY OIL CHANGED THE WEEK BEFORE AND FOUND OUT THAT THE TURBO CHARGER WAS MALFUNCTIONING AND SUCKING ALL THE OIL OUT OF THE OIL PAN. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THAT IT COMMON FOR THAT MAKE AND MODEL... MY WARRANTY COVERED THE WORK BUT BARELY. I NOW HAVE 4,000 MILES LEFT ON MY WARRANTY.... WHAT ELSE COULD GO WRONG! I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER MAZDA PERIOD!

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MAZDA CX-7. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,500.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2015 - SPRINGFIELD, MA
I WAS ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK WHEN I NOTICE THAT MY MAZDA STARTED TO SLOW DOWN IN SPEED, I TURNED OFF THE A/C TO SEE IF I CAN HEAR ANY NOISE AND ALL I HEARD WAS A LOW NOISE LIKE A CHAIN, I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD CALLED MY HUSBAND WHO'S A MECHANIC AND HE SAID YOU ARE GOING TO HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THE MAZDA DEALERSHIP ITS YOUR TIMING CHAIN. AS I WAS DOING SOME RESEARCH I HAVE NOTICED THAT THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINT OUT THERE FOR THIS SAME ISSUE. I STILL HAVE 3 YEARS LEFT ON THIS CAR AND ITS NOT FAIR THAT MAZDA KNOWS ABOUT THIS ISSUE BUT REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. ITS A BIG SAFETY ISSUE IF YOUR CAR IS SHUTING DOWN IN MAJOR AREAS THAT CAN CAUSE ACCIDENTS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2015 - HUNTINGTON, IN
MY CX-7 HAD BEEN MAKING SOME ENGINE NOISE FOR MONTHS THAT MY HUSBAND ATTRIBUTED TO FUEL INJECTOR NOISE, BUT WHEN THE SOUND GOT WORSE HE RESEARCHED IT AND MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH A MAZDA DEALERSHIP. AFTER AN EVALUATION OF MY CAR THE SERVICEMAN TOLD ME THAT THERE HAD BEEN A DEFECT IN THE ENGINES IN 2007 CX-7 AND THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL ON THEM AND THAT MINE WAS PAST THE POINT OF BEING FIXED. HE SAID THAT IT WILL JUST QUIT WORKING ONE DAY. WE ASKED IF WE COULD HAVE ANOTHER ENGINE PUT IN, BUT HE SAID THE PROBLEM HAS NEVER BEEN FIXED, SO IT WOULD ONLY BE GOOD TEMPORARILY AND IT WOULD COST $5,500. WE STATED THAT WE NEVER RECEIVED RECALL INFORMATION AND AFTER HE RAN OUR VIN NUMBER HE SAID THAT WE HAD NEVER BEEN SENT ANY RECALL INFORMATION. THEY WOULD ONLY GIVE ME $3,000 FOR MY CAR BECAUSE IT IS WORTHLESS NOW, SO I INTEND TO DRIVE IT UNTIL IT DIES WHICH COULD BE ANY DAY.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/21/2015 - WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA
PURCHASED USED IN JANUARY OF 2014. NOTICED RED PLASTIC HOUSING FOR BRAKE LIGHTS MELTING ABOVE ACTUAL LIGHTBULB. BRAKE LIGHTS NOW SHINE CLEAR/WHITE ON TOP (WHERE MELTED), INSTEAD OF JUST RED. SEARCHED ONLINE AND FOUND SEVERAL SIMILAR COMPLAINTS. CHECKED OTHER MAZDA CX-7'S AND CAN SEE THEY ALL HAVE THE SAME ISSUE. I REPLACED LIGHTBULBS TO MAKE SURE THEY MATCH MANUFACTURES REQUIREMENTS, THEY WERE CORRECT AND HAD MELTED PLASTIC ALL OVER THE BULB. TOOK TO LOCAL MECHANIC WHO SAID IT'S PROBABLY A WIRING ISSUE. TOOK IT TO MAZDA DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS ISSUE BEFORE. I ASKED THEM TO CONTACT MAZDA TO SEE IF THEY WOULD REPLACE LIGHT ASSEMBLIES WITH UNMELTED UNITS, THEY CLAIMED THEY WERE TOLD THAT MAZDA WOULD NOT REPLACE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/12/2015 - LEBANON, PA
ON JANUARY WHILE DRIVING HOME FROM A SHOPPING TRIP MY HUSBAND AND I HEARD A REALLY LOUD NOISE. IN A MATTER OF SECONDS MY VEHICLE SLOWED DOWN AND ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. I HAD IT TOWED AND CALKED THE DEALER I PURCHASED IT FROM AFTER BEING TOLD BY A FAMILY MECHANIC THAT I SHOULD CALL BECAUSE THESE WAS A FAULTY PART WITH THE CX7 VEHICLES. I CALLED AND DIDN'T GET ANY PLACE WITH THE DEALER. KEPT CALLING UNTIL FINALLY ABOUT THREE WEEKS LATER THEY TOLD ME I SHOULD CALL MAZDA DIRECTLY AND PROVIDED ME WITH THEIR NUMBER. I CALLED MAZDA AND HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THEM EVER SINCE. THEY ONLY WANT TO PAY $500 TOWARDS THE REPAIRS. THIS SHOULD BE A RECALL SINCE IS FAULTY PARTS AND THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF CUSTOMERS COMPLAINING OF THE SAME ISSUES. THE DEALERSHIP THAT I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM TOLD ME THERE IS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH THE VEHICLES TIMING BELT, SOUNDS FAMILIAR? YES!!! TURBO AND TIMING BELT!! IT IS TIME FOR MAZDA TO TAKE RESPONSIBILY AND NOT MAKE US CUSTOMERS PAY FOR FAULTY PARTS PLACED ON A LEMON OF A VEHICLE. MY EMAIL IS DR880@VERIZON.NET. PLEASE HELP ME RESOLVE THIS ISSUE. I AM SO DISAPPOINTED AND FRUSTRATED AND FEEL THAT MAZDA IS INSULTING MY INTELLIGENCE BY OFFERING TO PAY A MISERABLE $500 TOWARDS A REPAIR THAT THEY SHOULD DO, SINCE IT IS THEIR FAULTY PARTS THAT LEAD TO THIS CAR PROBLEMS IN THE FIRST PLACE. I

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/9/2015 - COLUMBIA, SC
VEHICLE STALLED IN SAMS CLUB PARKING LOT. IT DID RESTART BUT STARTED MAKING A RUBBING OR GRINDING NOISE. TURNS OUT THE AC COMPRESSOR LOCKED UP. ACCORDING TO INTERNET POSTINGS IT IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH 2007/2008 MODELS. APPARENTLY IT WAS ADDRESSED FOR 2009 MODEL. I'VE RAN 7 OR 8 VEHICLES FOR 200,000 PLUS MILES AND HAVE YET TO HAVE A COMPRESSOR GO OUT UNTIL THIS KNOW ANOMALY. WHERE IS THE RESOLUTION FROM MAZDA?

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2015 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
AFTER HAVING VEHICLE AT ROYAL PALM MAZDA FOR SERVICE AND COMPLAINT OF ENGINE NOISE ON 25 OCT 2014, AND BEING TOLD THE ENGINE NOISE WAS NORMAL, NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT. THE ENGINE SUFFERED A COMPLETE FAILURE DUE TO THE TIMING CHAIN AND/OR VVT THAT MAZDA HAD ISSUED A TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN ABOUT IN OCTOBER OF 2012. THE CAR HAS BEEN AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR ONE (1) WEEK WITH NO UPDATES FROM MAZDA ON HOW THEY ARE GOING TO HANDLE THE REPAIR OR IF THEY ARE EVEN GOING TO ASSIST WITH THE REPAIR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds