Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA CX-7 - 2007 MAZDA CX-7 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MAZDA

There are 359 complaints filed for the 2007 MAZDA CX-7

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MAZDA CX-7. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MAZDA CX-7, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment (22) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (16)
Electrical System (18) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (50) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (72) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (1) Suspension (7) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (207) Fuel System Gasoline (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/3/2014 - TAMPA, FL
I HAVE AN ON GOING ISSUE WITH MY CAR 2007 MAZDA CX7 LAST YEAR IN OCTOBER 2013, THE TURBO WENT OUT ON THE CAR AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT $4000.00).I HAD A TUG OF WAR WITH THE DEALERSHIP. THEY FINALLY TOOK RESPONSIBILITY AND REPLACED THE TURBO. TODAY DECEMBER 2014, I SIT HERE IN THE SAME SITUATION ONCE AGAIN THE TURBO WENT OUT ON MY MAZDA AND NEEDS REPAIR. THIS IS AN ISSUE WITH THIS CAR PART AND MAZDA DOES NOT WANT TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEIR MALFUNCTION PART. WHICH IS NOT FAIR TO THE GUEST THAT THEY HAVE TO COME OUT OF POCKET TO PAY FOR A PART (TURBO) THAT MAZDA DOES NOT WANT TO TAKE ANY FAULT FOR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/6/2014 - WEST ISLIP, NY
THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR CAN NOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE. I HAVE NEVER ACTIVATED THE CHILD LOCK ON THE DOOR. IT IS NOT IN THE LOCK POSITION. IT IS DANGEROUS. I AM UNABLE TO LET MY SON OUT ON STREET SIDE PROTECTING HIM FROM ON COMING CARS. DURING INSPECTION NOTHING WAS BROKEN AND THEY RECOMENDED I TAKE IT TO THE DEALER FOR FURTHER INVESTIGATION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/6/2014 - WEST ISLIP, NY
THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR CAN NOT OPEN FROM THE INSIDE. I HAVE NEVER ACTIVATED THE CHILD LOCK ON THE DOOR. IT IS NOT IN THE LOCK POSITION. IT IS DANGEROUS. I AM UNABLE TO LET MY SON OUT ON STREET SIDE PROTECTING HIM FROM ON COMING CARS. DURING INSPECTION NOTHING WAS BROKEN AND THEY RECOMENDED I TAKE IT TO THE DEALER FOR FURTHER INVESTIGATION.

View Details

ENGINE

11/6/2014 - BASALT, CO
MAZDA CX-7, 2007 - FOUR DAYS AND 7,000 MILES OUT OF WARRANTY. DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE SUDDENLY QUIT SUDDENLY AND THE CAR DIED. THE VIN NUMBER ON THE CAR IS IN THE RANGE OF NUMBERS FROM 2007 THAT HAVE REPORTED THE SAME AND SIMILAR DEFECTS MANY TIMES FROM OTHER CAR OWNERS. THE VVT ACTUATOR FAILED AND WAS REPLACED BY DEALER PENKHUS MAZDA UNDER WARRANTY IN 2009, BUT THE CHAIN WAS NOT REPLACED. RESEARCH INTO MAZDA SERVICE BULLETINS SB-10044209-4285 AND 01-012-12 INDICATE THAT THE TIMING CHAIN SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPLACED AT THE TIME SINCE THE VIN NUMBER INDICATES THE VEHICLE WAS PRODUCED PRIOR TO A MAZDA TIMING CHAIN MODIFICATION DATE OF MAY 1, 2009 (VIN #'S BELOW JM3ER...300119). MY VEHICLE FALLS INTO THIS GROUP. MAZDA ISSUED A WARRANTY EXTENSION TO 7 YEARS, 70,000 MILES FOR THIS FAULTY TIMING CHAIN IN JANUARY 2012 BUT IS NOW REFUSING TO HONOR ANY WARRANTY ON THE PREMATURE FAILURE OF THE TIMING CHAIN. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO NEAREST SHOP AT THE TIME, +/-50 MI. SHOP SAID TIMING CHAIN WAS BROKEN AND A NEW ENGINE PROBABLY NEEDED. ESTIMATED COST $8,000. I PHONED NEAREST DEALERS IN DENVER AND COLORADO SPRINGS TO DISCUSS WITH SERVICE DEPARTMENTS. THEY ADVISED IF IT WAS TIMING CHAIN FAILURE IT COULD EASILY BE A NEW ENGINE AT $8 - 10,000. MY HOME IS BETWEEN 175 AND 225 MILES FROM THE NEAREST DEALER. I CONTACTED MY LOCAL SHOP WHO ADVISED ME TO CONTACT KRACL AUTOMOTIVE IN GLENWOOD SPRINGS. KRACL SAID THEY WOULD DEFINITELY LOOK AT IT, DETERMINE CAUSE OF FAILURE AND ATTEMPT TO REPAIR PRIOR TO RECOMMENDING TOTAL ENGINE REPLACEMENT. I HAD THE CAR TOWED ANOTHER 100 MILES TO GLENWOOD SPRINGS, 22 MILES FROM MY HOME, AND THE CLOSEST CAPABLE REPAIR SHOP. KRACL ADVISED ME THE TIMING CHAIN HAD BROKEN AND TWO VALVES WERE DAMAGED BUT NOT THE CYLINDER HEAD. REPAIR ESTIMATED AT +/- $4,000. REPAIRS WERE COMPLETED WITH SPECIAL ORDER MAZDA PARTS COST OF $3,851.21.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/28/2014 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
I NOTICED A "RUBBING: SOUND, OR A SOUND IN THE SUSPENSION OR STEERING THAT WOULD LEAD ME TO THINK IT NEEDED A "LUBE JOB", BUT NEWER VEHICLES NO LONG NEED TO BE GREASED SO I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. THE SOUND OCCURRED MOST NOTABLY AT LOW SPEED WHILE TURNING SLOWLY, MANY TIMES WHILE BACKING UP AND TURNING, IT SOUNDED "DRY" AND LABORED, NOT A SQUEALING OR SQUEAKY SOUND. BUT I COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE NOISE AT THE DEALERSHIP, DESPITE MULTIPLE TRIPS AND HAVING THE MECHANIC SIT IN THE VEHICLE WITH ME. FINALLY THEY REPLACED THE "STRUT BEARINGS" IN 2013, THOUGH I HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS PART BEFORE. THEY WERE CERTAIN THIS WOULD CORRECT THE PROBLEM BUT IT DID NOT. MY LAST TRIP TO THE DEALER IN OCT. 2014 LED THEM TO THINK THE STRUTS NEEDED REPLACING ALONG WITH THE STRUT BEARINGS, THOUGH THE LATTER WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. MY VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 67,000 MILES ON IT. I'M TOLD BY ANOTHER MECHANICS GARAGE SERVICE THERE WAS A 2009 MANUFACTURER NOTICE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, BUT NO ONE AT THE DEALER SAID ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - FORT WAYNE, IN
I WAS PREPARING TO STOP AT A STOP SIGN WHEN MY CAR STOPPED RUNNING. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE GARAGE WHO ALWAYS MAINTAINS MY CAR. THEY FOUND THAT THE TIMING BELT HAD BROKEN. I THOUGHT THIS WAS STRANGE SINCE MY CAR ONLY HAD 61000 MILES ON IT, SO I STARTED RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM. I FOUND THAT MAZDA HAD PUT DEFECTIVE PARTS ON THESE ENGINES. THEY HAD AN EXTENDED WARRANTY, BUT OF COURSE THAT HAD RUN OUT FOR ME. WHY SHOULDN'T A MANUFACTURER HAVE TO STAND BEHIND THE DEFECTIVE PARTS THEY PUT ON AN ENGINE? THIS COST ME $3700.00 FOR THEIR HALF-A* WORK!!!! IF THIS TIMING CHAIN HAD BROKEN WHILE I WAS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A DISASTER!!

View Details

ENGINE

9/30/2014 - FORT WAYNE, IN
I PURCHASED MY CAR, A 2007 MAZDA CX7 USED WITH 34,000 MILES ON IT APPROXIMATELY 4 YEARS AGO. I WAS DRIVING APPROACHING A STOP SIGN AND MY CAR JUST STOPPED RUNNING. I WAS ABLE TO GO AROUND THE CORNER AND GET THE CAR OFF THE ROAD AND OUT OF TRAFFIC. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE GARAGE NEAR MY WORK WHO USUALLY MAINTAINS MY CAR. THEY SAID THAT THE REPAIRS WERE GOING TO COST $3742.00. TWO VALVES NEED GROUND AND NUMEROUS OTHER PARTS NEED TO BE REPLACED. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I FIND THAT MAZDA HAS HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH MANY OF THE CX7 VEHICLES, BUT THEY ARE NOT COVERING THE REPAIRS. I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF MY CAR, HAVE REGULAR MAINTAINENCE DONE, AND DO NOT PUT A LOT OF MILES, OR DRIVE MY CAR HARD. THERE IS NO REASON THAT THIS SHOULD HAVE HAPPEN OTHER THAN DEFECTIVE PARTS FROM MAZDA!!!! THEY SHOULD MAKE THIS RIGHT. THESE CARS ARE EXPENSIVE AND THE OWNER SHOULD NOT BE EXPERIENCING SUCH MAJOR REPAIR COSTS WITH SO FEW MILES ON THE CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/10/2014 - DERRY , PA
I PURCHASED MY 2007 MAZDA CX-7 FROM A DEALERSHIP IN GREENSBURG, PA IN FEBRUARY OF 2014, IT WAS PURCHASED AS A USED CAR WITH ONLY 36,500 MILES ON IT. I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AT FIRST, THEN I NOTICED MY GAS MILEAGE WAS GETTING WORSE, THAT IS WHEN ON MEMORIAL DAY MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND THEN GO OFF. I TOOK IT MY MECHANIC BECAUSE I WAS UNABLE TO GET IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A WEEK AT SOME POINTS AND THE LIGHT WOULD HAVE BE OFF BY THEN. THEN WHEN I WAS ON MY WAY HOME ON THE EVENING OF 9/4/14 MY CAR MADE A VERY WEIRD SOUND ANY TIME I WOULD TRY TO PUSH ON THE GAS. I PULLED THE CAR OFF THE ROAD AND THERE IT SAT UNTIL I COULD REACH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT ON THE FOLLOWING DAY. MY HUSBAND TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THAT'S WHERE IT SAT BECAUSE HE WAS INFORMED THAT IT WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE? I WENT UP AFTER WORK ONLY TO HAVE THEM TELL ME THAT THEY COULD NOT GET THE READINGS FROM THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO SEND IT TO AN ACTUAL MAZDA DEALERSHIP, WHERE IT HAS BEEN FOR ALMOST A WEEK. I WAS INFORMED YESTERDAY THAT MY TURBO AND OTHER UN-MENTIONED PARTS HAD BROKEN. I THEN WAITED TO HEAR BACK AS TO WHETHER THE WARRANTY THAT I PAID AN ADDITIONAL $2,000 FOR AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE WOULD COVER IT, IT WILL NOT COVER THIS AND THEY STATED THAT THE TURBO WAS NOT CONSIDERED A PART OF THE "POWERTRAIN" SO THEY QUOTED ME A PRICE OF UPWARDS OF $3300 TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE THAT I HAVE HAD FOR 7 MONTHS. I HAVE STARTED TO DO RESEARCH INTO THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS ACTUALLY QUITE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL AND THAT THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT STAND BY THE PRODUCT FULLY KNOWING THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM AND THE CONSUMER IS LEFT HOLDING QUITE A HEFTY BILL. I IMPLORE YOU TO RESEARCH THIS AND FORCE THEIR HAND SO THAT "JOE PUBLIC" DOESN'T KEEP GETTING STUCK HOLDING A HUGE BILL FOR SOMETHING THIS COMPANY JUST DOESN'T WANT TO FIX.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/10/2014 - DERRY , PA
I PURCHASED MY 2007 MAZDA CX-7 FROM A DEALERSHIP IN GREENSBURG, PA IN FEBRUARY OF 2014, IT WAS PURCHASED AS A USED CAR WITH ONLY 36,500 MILES ON IT. I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AT FIRST, THEN I NOTICED MY GAS MILEAGE WAS GETTING WORSE, THAT IS WHEN ON MEMORIAL DAY MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND THEN GO OFF. I TOOK IT MY MECHANIC BECAUSE I WAS UNABLE TO GET IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A WEEK AT SOME POINTS AND THE LIGHT WOULD HAVE BE OFF BY THEN. THEN WHEN I WAS ON MY WAY HOME ON THE EVENING OF 9/4/14 MY CAR MADE A VERY WEIRD SOUND ANY TIME I WOULD TRY TO PUSH ON THE GAS. I PULLED THE CAR OFF THE ROAD AND THERE IT SAT UNTIL I COULD REACH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT ON THE FOLLOWING DAY. MY HUSBAND TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THAT'S WHERE IT SAT BECAUSE HE WAS INFORMED THAT IT WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE? I WENT UP AFTER WORK ONLY TO HAVE THEM TELL ME THAT THEY COULD NOT GET THE READINGS FROM THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO SEND IT TO AN ACTUAL MAZDA DEALERSHIP, WHERE IT HAS BEEN FOR ALMOST A WEEK. I WAS INFORMED YESTERDAY THAT MY TURBO AND OTHER UN-MENTIONED PARTS HAD BROKEN. I THEN WAITED TO HEAR BACK AS TO WHETHER THE WARRANTY THAT I PAID AN ADDITIONAL $2,000 FOR AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE WOULD COVER IT, IT WILL NOT COVER THIS AND THEY STATED THAT THE TURBO WAS NOT CONSIDERED A PART OF THE "POWERTRAIN" SO THEY QUOTED ME A PRICE OF UPWARDS OF $3300 TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE THAT I HAVE HAD FOR 7 MONTHS. I HAVE STARTED TO DO RESEARCH INTO THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS ACTUALLY QUITE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL AND THAT THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT STAND BY THE PRODUCT FULLY KNOWING THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM AND THE CONSUMER IS LEFT HOLDING QUITE A HEFTY BILL. I IMPLORE YOU TO RESEARCH THIS AND FORCE THEIR HAND SO THAT "JOE PUBLIC" DOESN'T KEEP GETTING STUCK HOLDING A HUGE BILL FOR SOMETHING THIS COMPANY JUST DOESN'T WANT TO FIX.

View Details

ENGINE

9/10/2014 - DERRY , PA
I PURCHASED MY 2007 MAZDA CX-7 FROM A DEALERSHIP IN GREENSBURG, PA IN FEBRUARY OF 2014, IT WAS PURCHASED AS A USED CAR WITH ONLY 36,500 MILES ON IT. I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR AT FIRST, THEN I NOTICED MY GAS MILEAGE WAS GETTING WORSE, THAT IS WHEN ON MEMORIAL DAY MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND THEN GO OFF. I TOOK IT MY MECHANIC BECAUSE I WAS UNABLE TO GET IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A WEEK AT SOME POINTS AND THE LIGHT WOULD HAVE BE OFF BY THEN. THEN WHEN I WAS ON MY WAY HOME ON THE EVENING OF 9/4/14 MY CAR MADE A VERY WEIRD SOUND ANY TIME I WOULD TRY TO PUSH ON THE GAS. I PULLED THE CAR OFF THE ROAD AND THERE IT SAT UNTIL I COULD REACH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT ON THE FOLLOWING DAY. MY HUSBAND TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THAT'S WHERE IT SAT BECAUSE HE WAS INFORMED THAT IT WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE? I WENT UP AFTER WORK ONLY TO HAVE THEM TELL ME THAT THEY COULD NOT GET THE READINGS FROM THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO SEND IT TO AN ACTUAL MAZDA DEALERSHIP, WHERE IT HAS BEEN FOR ALMOST A WEEK. I WAS INFORMED YESTERDAY THAT MY TURBO AND OTHER UN-MENTIONED PARTS HAD BROKEN. I THEN WAITED TO HEAR BACK AS TO WHETHER THE WARRANTY THAT I PAID AN ADDITIONAL $2,000 FOR AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE WOULD COVER IT, IT WILL NOT COVER THIS AND THEY STATED THAT THE TURBO WAS NOT CONSIDERED A PART OF THE "POWERTRAIN" SO THEY QUOTED ME A PRICE OF UPWARDS OF $3300 TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE THAT I HAVE HAD FOR 7 MONTHS. I HAVE STARTED TO DO RESEARCH INTO THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE FOUND OUT THAT THIS IS ACTUALLY QUITE A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL AND THAT THE MANUFACTURER WILL NOT STAND BY THE PRODUCT FULLY KNOWING THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM AND THE CONSUMER IS LEFT HOLDING QUITE A HEFTY BILL. I IMPLORE YOU TO RESEARCH THIS AND FORCE THEIR HAND SO THAT "JOE PUBLIC" DOESN'T KEEP GETTING STUCK HOLDING A HUGE BILL FOR SOMETHING THIS COMPANY JUST DOESN'T WANT TO FIX.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds