Auto Recalls for Consumers

MAZDA CX-7 - 2007 MAZDA CX-7 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MAZDA

There are 331 complaints filed for the 2007 MAZDA CX-7

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MAZDA CX-7. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MAZDA CX-7, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (22) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (16)
Electrical System (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (47) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (54) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (206) Fuel System Gasoline (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/24/2014 - DUBLIN , OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MAZDA CX-7. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS ALL OF THE WARNING LAMPS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS FRACTURED AND CAUSING IRREVERSIBLE DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE. AS A RESULT, THE ENGINE AND THE TIMING CHAIN WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2014 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MAZDA CX-7. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD CONTINUOUSLY EXHIBIT A TICKING NOISE FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO STATED THAT THE NOISE WAS NORMAL BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHAT WAS CAUSING THE NOISE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 49,500.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/13/2014 - FONTANA, CA
TIMING CHAIN STRETCHED AND VARIABLE VALVE TIMING, AND THROTTLE WENT OUT. THIS IS THE 2ND TIME THAT THE TIMING CHAIN HAS BEEN STRETCHED OUT ON THIS VEHICLE. THE FIRST INCIDENT WAS AT AROUND 64000 MILES. THE 2ND INCIDENT WAS AT 124966 MILES. MAZDA EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THE TIMING TO 70,000 MILES ON JANUARY 12. HOWEVER, I DID NOT GET THAT LETTER AND IT HAPPENED AFTER I HAD ALREADY GOTTEN THE PROBLEM REPAIRED UNDER A SEPARATE WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2014 - HAYWARD, CA
I PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2007 MAZDA CX-7 IN APRIL 2007, THE VEHICLE STARTED EXPERIENCING ENGINE PROBLEMS IN SEPTEMBER 2007, I WAS TOLD IT MAY HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE VVT (VARIABLE VALVE TIMING) AND TIMING CHAIN. THE VVT WAS REPLACED BY THE DEALERSHIP A SHORT TIME LATER; HOWEVER, NOT THE TIMING CHAIN. AFTER THE VVT WAS REPLACED MY VEHICLE STARTING TO EXPERIENCE THICK WHITE SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE TAIL PIPES. MY DEALERSHIP TECHNICIAN ADVISED THIS WAS DUE TO A TURBO ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE. ALL OF THIS OCCURRED WITHIN THE FIRST COUPLE YEARS OF MY OWNERSHIP. I HAVE HAD THE TURBO REPAIRED (OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE), AS WELL AS THE VVT (2 TIMES) AND THE TIMING CHAIN IT ALL SEEMS TO NO AVIAL. THE CAR IS REVVING VERY HIGH ON COLD START UPS AND IS NOW EXPERIENCING A CODE AS OF THE LAST COUPLE OF DAYS THAT IS STATING THERE IS A DECARBONIZATION ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE THAT IS LINKED TO THE TIMING CHAIN. OF COURSE THIS IS NOW THE 5TH TIME THIS VEHICLE ENGINE WILL BE OPENED UP TO DIAGNOSE ONE OF THE KNOWN ISSUES THAT MAZDA NORTH AMERICA IS AWARE OF. I HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE SINCE 2007, AND HAS JUST OVER 120,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE MAINTAINED A VERY GOOD SERVICE HISTORY ON THE VEHICLE TAKING IT TO "RELIABLE" MAZDA DEALERSHIPS IN THE AREA WHERE I LIVE. MY MAIN CONCERN IS MAZDA IS DOING NOTHING TO RECTIFY THE ISSUE AND IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY HURT OR EVEN WORSE. THE VEHICLE SAFETY IS IMPAIRED DUE TO UNSTABLE ENGINE PERFORMANCE. THERE IS OBVIOUS TECHNICAL ISSUES WITH THE ENGINES FOR THIS MAZDA ENGINE MODEL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/2/2014 - HAYWARD, CA
I PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2007 MAZDA CX-7 IN APRIL 2007, THE VEHICLE STARTED EXPERIENCING ENGINE PROBLEMS IN SEPTEMBER 2007, I WAS TOLD IT MAY HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE VVT (VARIABLE VALVE TIMING) AND TIMING CHAIN. THE VVT WAS REPLACED BY THE DEALERSHIP A SHORT TIME LATER; HOWEVER, NOT THE TIMING CHAIN. AFTER THE VVT WAS REPLACED MY VEHICLE STARTING TO EXPERIENCE THICK WHITE SMOKE COMING OUT OF THE TAIL PIPES. MY DEALERSHIP TECHNICIAN ADVISED THIS WAS DUE TO A TURBO ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE. ALL OF THIS OCCURRED WITHIN THE FIRST COUPLE YEARS OF MY OWNERSHIP. I HAVE HAD THE TURBO REPAIRED (OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE), AS WELL AS THE VVT (2 TIMES) AND THE TIMING CHAIN IT ALL SEEMS TO NO AVIAL. THE CAR IS REVVING VERY HIGH ON COLD START UPS AND IS NOW EXPERIENCING A CODE AS OF THE LAST COUPLE OF DAYS THAT IS STATING THERE IS A DECARBONIZATION ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE THAT IS LINKED TO THE TIMING CHAIN. OF COURSE THIS IS NOW THE 5TH TIME THIS VEHICLE ENGINE WILL BE OPENED UP TO DIAGNOSE ONE OF THE KNOWN ISSUES THAT MAZDA NORTH AMERICA IS AWARE OF. I HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE SINCE 2007, AND HAS JUST OVER 120,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE MAINTAINED A VERY GOOD SERVICE HISTORY ON THE VEHICLE TAKING IT TO "RELIABLE" MAZDA DEALERSHIPS IN THE AREA WHERE I LIVE. MY MAIN CONCERN IS MAZDA IS DOING NOTHING TO RECTIFY THE ISSUE AND IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY HURT OR EVEN WORSE. THE VEHICLE SAFETY IS IMPAIRED DUE TO UNSTABLE ENGINE PERFORMANCE. THERE IS OBVIOUS TECHNICAL ISSUES WITH THE ENGINES FOR THIS MAZDA ENGINE MODEL.

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MAZDA CX-7. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO MAKE A WHINNYING NOISE BEFORE THE CHECK ENGINE LAMP ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHITE SMOKE STARTED TO EMITTED FROM THE EXHAUST. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURBO CHARGER WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 62,839. PM

View Details

ENGINE

1/31/2014 - OAKDALE, PA
I DID ALL MY MAZDA CX7 MAINTENANCE SCHEDULE, I PAID A LOT FOR IT. THEN MY CAR STARTED MAKING NOISES, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER SO MANY TIMES AND THEY SAID THAT THE NOSE WAS NORMAL BECAUSE ITS A TURBO CAR. ONE DAY, RUNNING AT APROX 40 M/H MY CAR LOWER THE SPEED AT NO MORE THAT 20 M/H, IT WAS SUNDAY AFTERNOON SO I TOOK IT TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC (MY CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY) AROUND 68 K MILES. THE PROBLEM WAS THE TIMING CH. AFTER WAS SOME FIXED, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY STAYED WITH THE CAR 21 DAYS ( I PAID FOR THE RENT A CAR) THEY TOLD ME THAT WAS ABOUT SOMETHING DIFFERENT AND THEY NEEDED TO WAIT FOR THE PART, SO THEY CHANGED IT BUT IT WASN'T THAT PART, SO THEY PUT EVERYTHING BACK AND SAID THAT WAS THE ENGINE. I INSTALLED A NEW ONE IN ANOTHER MAZDA DEALER PAYING CLOSED TO $8K . ITS NOT FEAR. PLEASE HELP. MY STORY IS LONGER BUT I MADE SHORT. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

12/23/2013 - ARLINGTON, VA
DECEMBER 2012 (AT ABOUT 64,000 MILES) DEALER REPLACED TIMING CHAIN UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY BUT DIDN'T DO ANYTHING TO CORRECT INTERMITTENT POWER LOSS AND ENGINE HESITATION THAT I HAD COMPLAINED TO THEM AT THE TIME. NOVEMBER 2013 (AT ABOUT 78,000 MILES), THE CAR EXPERIENCED SEVERE LOSS OF POWER, STALLING AND HEAVY WHITE SMOKE FROM THE TAILPIPE. DEALER CLAIMED "OIL SLUDGE" CAUSED ENGINE AND TURBO FAILURE AND REFUSED TO BEAR ANY RESPONSIBILITY OR COST TO FIX. MAZDA USA ALSO REFUSED, CLAIMING THE PROBLEMS WERE DUE TO INSUFFICIENT OIL CHANGE BY THE CUSTOMER. SINCE WE CHANGE OIL REGULARLY, WE DON'T BUY MAZDA'S CLAIMS, ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY JUST OPENED UP THE ENGINE LESS THAN A YEAR AGO TO CHANGE THE TIMING CHAIN, AND AT THAT TIME DIDN'T CLAIM THERE WAS ANY "SLUDGE" INSIDE. SEEING MANY SIMILAR CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET, IT SEEMS MAZDA HAS BEEN TRYING TO HIDE A SERIOIUS DESIGN AND/OR MANUFACTURING FLAW BY BLAMING THE CUSTOMERS AS THE CAUSE OF IT. ?

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2013 - TURNERSVILLE , NJ
IN SEPTEMBER 2013 MY CAR SUDDENLY STOPPED ACCELERATING WHILE DRIVING IT... HEARD A LOUD, GRINDING, SCREECHING NOTICE.. AND SUDDENLY MY "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON. BROUGHT MY CAR TO MAZDA.. 4 DAYS LATER THEY TELL ME THAT MY TURBOCHARGER BLEW.. AND THAT I HAVE DAMAGE TO MY ENGINE. TOLD THEM I PURCHASED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY IN 2010 WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR.. WARRANTY CO WAS NOTIFIED... THEY SENT THEIR OWN INSPECTOR TO LOOK AT MY CAR.. A WEEK LATER THEY TELL ME THAT THEY WILL NOT COVER THE DAMAGE DUE TO EXCESSIVE SLUDGE IN MY ENGINE. AND.... THAT I MUST PRODUCE EVERY OIL CHANGE RECEIPT FROM 2010-2013 TO SHOW PROOF OF MAINTENANCE. I GAVE THEM ALL THE RECEIPTS I COULD GET... AND DECIDED TO DO A LITTLE RESEARCH MYSELF ON THE ISSUE. ALL I HAVE TO SAY IS.. WOW. APPARENTLY, THERE IS A MAJOR DEFAULT IN HOW THE TURBOCHARGER IN THE 2007/08 CX7... NUMEROUS OF SERVICE BULLETINS ON THE MAZDA WEBSITE DESCRIBING THE EXACT ISSUE WITH THE TURBOS AND HOW THEY ARE VERY MUCH AWARE OF IT, AND.. THOUSANDS OF FORUMS, COMPLAINTS, ETC ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE. HOWEVER, MAZDA IS NOT OWNING UP TO THIS PROBLEM.. AND BLAMING THE CUSTOMER FOR NEGLIGENCE! 3 MONTHS LATER, 2 REJECTED APPEALS W/ THE WARRANTY COMPANY.. I AM STUCK WITH A CAR THAT NEEDS $7,000 WORTH OF REPAIRS, AND A 2YEAR CAR LOAN LEFT TO PAY. I AM BESIDE MYSELF.. AND MAZDA COULD CARE LESS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2013 - ORLANDO, FL
TIMING CHAIN REPLACED ON 2007 MAZDA CX7, JULY 2013. VEHICLE OVER EXTENDED WARRANTY ISSUED BY MAZDA, REPAIR WAS OUT OF POCKET, EVEN THOUGH THIS IS VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS YEAR MAZDA. NOW 5 MONTHS LATER, SECOND TIMING CHAIN HAS GONE BAD AND MAZDA IS REFUSING TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY STATING THAT THE NEW TIMING CHAIN FAILURE WAS DUE TO LOW OIL IN VEHICLE. I HAVE SERVICE RECEIPTS TO PROVE THAT ALL OIL CHANGES HAD BEEN DONE, AND THAT THIS WAS NOT THE CAUSE OF THE SECOND TIMING CHAIN FAILING, BUT MORE OF CONTINUANCE OF FAULTY, DEFECTIVE MAZDA PARTS. THIS IS A HUGE PROBLEM WITH THIS COMPANY WITH AN OUTSTANDING NUMBER OF CONSUMER COMPLAINTS. THEY DO NOT WANT TO ACCEPT ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEIR OWN PROBLEM, INSTEAD PUTTING IT ALL BACK ON THE CONSUMER. PLEASE, GET INVOLVED AND PUT A STOP TO THIS BEFORE THESE DEFECTIVE PARTS CAUSE SOMEONE TO LOSE THEIR LIFE!!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds