Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCURY MOUNTAINEER - 2007 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 63 complaints filed for the 2007 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (22) Suspension (1) Visibility (2)
Engine (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (20) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/28/2018 - APPOMATTOX, VA
TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF LOW GEAR

View Details

SEATS

11/6/2017 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
WHILE DRIVING MY CHILDREN TO SCHOOL THIS MORNING MY SEAT ADJUSTED ITSELF A COUPLE OF TIMES SO THAT I HAD A DIFFICULT TIME REACHING THE PEDALS UNTIL I COULD GET IT BACK TO THE PROPER POSITION. THIS HAS HAPPENED BEFORE BUT I THOUGHT IT WAS A "FLUKE". TODAY, WHEN I PICKED MY KIDS UP AND DROVE HOME IT HAPPENED 7 TIMES IN 3 MILES AND ALMOST CAUSED ME TO HIT A PEDESTRIAN. THIS HAPPENED ON A CITY STREET. I WAS UNABLE TO ISOLATE A "TRIGGER" TO THE MOVEMENT. ONE TIME I WAS GOING ABOUT 30 ON A STREET, ANOTHER TIME I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP SIGN AT A BUSY INTERSECTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/4/2017 - BLOOMFIELD, MO
MY 2007 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS UNTIL RECENTLY, THOUGHT IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION BECAUSE OF THE WAY IT DROVE. TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC AND GOT TRANSMISSION FLUID PUT IN BUT THE PROBLEMS REMAINED THE SAME AND WAS TOLD THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE. MY THERMOSTAT HOUSING UNIT WAS LEAKING (THIS IS VERY COMMON WITH THESE CARS AND VERY DANGEROUS, NEEDS IMMEDIATE ATTENTION!) AND HAD CAUSED VERY EXPENSIVE WIRING ISSUES. ALMOST ACTS EXACTLY LIKE THE TRANSMISSION IS GOING OUT - RPM'S ARE WAY TOO HIGH, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE IN THE MIDDLE OF CITY TRAFFIC, THE CAR JUMPED AT A STOPLIGHT AND CAUSED ME TO HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, AND IT DOESN'T SHIFT PROPERLY. PROBLEMS OCCURRED OUT OF NOWHERE AND ARE TOO DANGEROUS TO BE IGNORED BUT VERY EXPENSIVE TO BE FIXED. ITS VERY COMMON AND SHOULD BE RECALLED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED!!!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/4/2017 - BLOOMFIELD, MO
MY 2007 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS UNTIL RECENTLY, THOUGHT IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION BECAUSE OF THE WAY IT DROVE. TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC AND GOT TRANSMISSION FLUID PUT IN BUT THE PROBLEMS REMAINED THE SAME AND WAS TOLD THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE. MY THERMOSTAT HOUSING UNIT WAS LEAKING (THIS IS VERY COMMON WITH THESE CARS AND VERY DANGEROUS, NEEDS IMMEDIATE ATTENTION!) AND HAD CAUSED VERY EXPENSIVE WIRING ISSUES. ALMOST ACTS EXACTLY LIKE THE TRANSMISSION IS GOING OUT - RPM'S ARE WAY TOO HIGH, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE IN THE MIDDLE OF CITY TRAFFIC, THE CAR JUMPED AT A STOPLIGHT AND CAUSED ME TO HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, AND IT DOESN'T SHIFT PROPERLY. PROBLEMS OCCURRED OUT OF NOWHERE AND ARE TOO DANGEROUS TO BE IGNORED BUT VERY EXPENSIVE TO BE FIXED. ITS VERY COMMON AND SHOULD BE RECALLED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED!!!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/4/2017 - BLOOMFIELD, MO
MY 2007 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS UNTIL RECENTLY, THOUGHT IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION BECAUSE OF THE WAY IT DROVE. TOOK IT TO THE MECHANIC AND GOT TRANSMISSION FLUID PUT IN BUT THE PROBLEMS REMAINED THE SAME AND WAS TOLD THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE. MY THERMOSTAT HOUSING UNIT WAS LEAKING (THIS IS VERY COMMON WITH THESE CARS AND VERY DANGEROUS, NEEDS IMMEDIATE ATTENTION!) AND HAD CAUSED VERY EXPENSIVE WIRING ISSUES. ALMOST ACTS EXACTLY LIKE THE TRANSMISSION IS GOING OUT - RPM'S ARE WAY TOO HIGH, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE IN THE MIDDLE OF CITY TRAFFIC, THE CAR JUMPED AT A STOPLIGHT AND CAUSED ME TO HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, AND IT DOESN'T SHIFT PROPERLY. PROBLEMS OCCURRED OUT OF NOWHERE AND ARE TOO DANGEROUS TO BE IGNORED BUT VERY EXPENSIVE TO BE FIXED. ITS VERY COMMON AND SHOULD BE RECALLED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS SERIOUSLY INJURED!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2017 - WEST ALLIS, WI
UPON DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY THE INSIDE DOME LIGHTS CAME ON AND MY SEAT STARTED ADJUSTING ITSELF BACK AND FORTH WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/24/2017 - WEST ALLIS, WI
UPON DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY THE INSIDE DOME LIGHTS CAME ON AND MY SEAT STARTED ADJUSTING ITSELF BACK AND FORTH WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

SEATS

10/24/2017 - WEST ALLIS, WI
UPON DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY THE INSIDE DOME LIGHTS CAME ON AND MY SEAT STARTED ADJUSTING ITSELF BACK AND FORTH WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

SEATS

3/13/2017 - KATY, TX
THE DRIVERS SEAT, WILL, WITHOUT WARNING, WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE, AUTOMATICALLY START MOVING BACKWARDS TO IT'S DEFAULT POSITION. SOMETIMES THE INTERIOR LIGHT WILL COME ON SIMULTANEOUSLY. IN A PANIC, SO FAR, I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO STOP THE BACKWARD MOVEMENT BY GRABBING THE SEAT POSITION BUTTON AND FORCING IT TO MOVE BACK UP TO THE PRESET POSITION WHERE I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO GET MY FEET BACK ON THE PEDALS. THIS HAS OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES WHILE DRIVING FULL SPEED ON INTERSTATES, ON SIDE STREETS AND FRONTAGE ROADS AND EVERYTIME WITHOUT WARNING. ONE TIME, WHILE SITTING AT A STOP SIGN, I COULD NOT CATCH IT QUICKLY ENOUGH AND IT MOVED SO FAR BACK THAT MY FEET COULD NOT REACH ANY OF THE PEDALS! LUCKILY THAT TIME I WAS SITTING STILL. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR THREE YEARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/12/2016 - SALT LAKE CITY, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MERCURY MOUNTAINEER. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE DRIVER'S SEAT ADJUSTED ON ITS OWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE IGNITION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE REPAIR WAS NOT MADE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000. UPDATED 09/29/16 THE CONSUMER STATED THE PISTON TYPE HOOD HOLDING SYSTEM FAILED. THE HOODCAME CRASHING DOWN.UPDATED 08/09/2017

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds