Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER S - 2007 MINI COOPER S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 203 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (80) Other (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (26) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Tires (2) Visibility (3)
Engine (73) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

11/12/2014 - ORANGE, CA
WHEN PASSENGERS OR ITEMS WERE PLACED ON THE PASSENGER SEAT THE SEATBELT AND AIRBAG WARNING LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE DASH, BUT WOULD GO OUT AFTER PASSENGER OR ITEMS WERE REMOVED, AND/OR SEATBELT WAS FASTENED. AS OF NOW BOTH THE AIRBAG WARNING AND SEATBELT WARNING LIGHTS ARE ILLUMINATED, AT ALL TIMES, ON THE DASH AND WILL NOT RETURN TO NORMAL STATE WHETHER SEATBELT IS FASTENED OR NOT. THE AIRBAG SAFETY SYSTEM IS NOW DISABLED UNDER NORMAL DRIVING OPERATION DUE TO THESE FAILURES (AIRBAG/SEATBELT NOT READY STATE).

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/12/2014 - ORANGE, CA
WHEN PASSENGERS OR ITEMS WERE PLACED ON THE PASSENGER SEAT THE SEATBELT AND AIRBAG WARNING LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE DASH, BUT WOULD GO OUT AFTER PASSENGER OR ITEMS WERE REMOVED, AND/OR SEATBELT WAS FASTENED. AS OF NOW BOTH THE AIRBAG WARNING AND SEATBELT WARNING LIGHTS ARE ILLUMINATED, AT ALL TIMES, ON THE DASH AND WILL NOT RETURN TO NORMAL STATE WHETHER SEATBELT IS FASTENED OR NOT. THE AIRBAG SAFETY SYSTEM IS NOW DISABLED UNDER NORMAL DRIVING OPERATION DUE TO THESE FAILURES (AIRBAG/SEATBELT NOT READY STATE).

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2014 - WINDERMERE , FL
MINI USA WAS WELL AWARE OF THE MASSIVE TIMING CHAIN PROBLEM (AFFECTING 500,000 MINI COOPERS),BUT REFUSED TO FIX IT BECAUSE IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I'VE COMPLAINED OF THE CANTANKEROUS RATTLE DURING A COLD START WHICH WAS CLEARLY RELATED TO THE FAILING TIMING CHAIN DUE TO A DEFECTIVE AND POORLY DESIGNED TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER. (APPARENTLY MINI HAS COME OUT WITH A NEW ONE DUE TO THIS PROBLEM). THE DEALERSHIP QUOTED ME $1800 TO REPLACE THE WHOLE CHAIN ASSEMBLY. I ULTIMATELY TOOK IT AN INDEPENDENT MINI MECHANIC AND HAD IT REPLACED FOR LESS ($1144). NOW I AM HEARING THAT MINI DEALERSHIPS ARE REPLACING THIS DEFECTIVE PART BEYOND THE WARRANTY PERIOD. I BELIEVE THAT THERE IS NOW A CAMPAIGN TO REPLACE THE TENSIONER AND CHAIN. THEY SHOULD HAVE REPLACED IT WHEN THE PROBLEMS WERE OBVIOUS AND SHOULD NOW COMPENSATE THOSE WHO'VE PAID OUT OF THEIR OWN POCKETS FOR THIS POORLY DESIGNED PART.

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
MY CAR STARTED TO ACT FUNNY. ALMOST SOUNDING LIKE IT WAS SUFFOCATING. IT WOULD DIE ABOUT TEN TO FIFTEEN TIMES EVERY MORNING BEFORE I WOULD FINALLY GET THE CAR STARTED. IT WOULD SHUT OFF WHEN I STOPPED AT INTERSECTIONS. THE ONLY TIME IT RAN DECENT WAS WHEN I WAS DRIVING HIGHWAYS SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES OR MORE. I CHANGED OUT FILTERS, SPARK PLUGS, AND FLUIDS BUT NONE OF IT CHANGED THE WAY IT WAS RUNNING. COME TO FIND OUT IT THAT THE CHAIN AND CHAIN TENSIONER HAD BROKEN. THIS DAMAGE CAUSED ROUGHLY $1000 TO FIX. LUCKILY I CAUGHT IT IN TIME BEFORE IT DID ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE CRANK SHAFT. WITH LOW MILES THE MECHANIC EVEN TOLD ME ITS A FAULT PART AND BRAKES EASILY. HE HAS HAD TO REPLACE NUMEROUS AMERICAN MODEL MINIS IN ITALY. MY COUNTRY CODE IS 39 IF YOU CALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
MY CAR STARTED TO ACT FUNNY. ALMOST SOUNDING LIKE IT WAS SUFFOCATING. IT WOULD DIE ABOUT TEN TO FIFTEEN TIMES EVERY MORNING BEFORE I WOULD FINALLY GET THE CAR STARTED. IT WOULD SHUT OFF WHEN I STOPPED AT INTERSECTIONS. THE ONLY TIME IT RAN DECENT WAS WHEN I WAS DRIVING HIGHWAYS SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES OR MORE. I CHANGED OUT FILTERS, SPARK PLUGS, AND FLUIDS BUT NONE OF IT CHANGED THE WAY IT WAS RUNNING. COME TO FIND OUT IT THAT THE CHAIN AND CHAIN TENSIONER HAD BROKEN. THIS DAMAGE CAUSED ROUGHLY $1000 TO FIX. LUCKILY I CAUGHT IT IN TIME BEFORE IT DID ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE CRANK SHAFT. WITH LOW MILES THE MECHANIC EVEN TOLD ME ITS A FAULT PART AND BRAKES EASILY. HE HAS HAD TO REPLACE NUMEROUS AMERICAN MODEL MINIS IN ITALY. MY COUNTRY CODE IS 39 IF YOU CALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
MY CAR STARTED TO ACT FUNNY. ALMOST SOUNDING LIKE IT WAS SUFFOCATING. IT WOULD DIE ABOUT TEN TO FIFTEEN TIMES EVERY MORNING BEFORE I WOULD FINALLY GET THE CAR STARTED. IT WOULD SHUT OFF WHEN I STOPPED AT INTERSECTIONS. THE ONLY TIME IT RAN DECENT WAS WHEN I WAS DRIVING HIGHWAYS SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES OR MORE. I CHANGED OUT FILTERS, SPARK PLUGS, AND FLUIDS BUT NONE OF IT CHANGED THE WAY IT WAS RUNNING. COME TO FIND OUT IT THAT THE CHAIN AND CHAIN TENSIONER HAD BROKEN. THIS DAMAGE CAUSED ROUGHLY $1000 TO FIX. LUCKILY I CAUGHT IT IN TIME BEFORE IT DID ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE CRANK SHAFT. WITH LOW MILES THE MECHANIC EVEN TOLD ME ITS A FAULT PART AND BRAKES EASILY. HE HAS HAD TO REPLACE NUMEROUS AMERICAN MODEL MINIS IN ITALY. MY COUNTRY CODE IS 39 IF YOU CALL.

View Details

STEERING

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
I WAS DRIVING ROUGHLY 30 MILES AND HOUR WHEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT ON ME IN A TURN. ALMOST HIT ONCOMING TRAFFIC PRIOR TO STOPPING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I DROVE IT TO A NEARBY PARKING LOT WHERE IT SAT FOR TWO WEEKS BEFORE A LOCAL MECHANIC COULD LOOK AT IT. I WAS QUOTED AT OVER $1,500 TO FIX THE PART BECAUSE THE WHOLE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING CONTROL BOX HAS TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THE WAY IT WAS MANUFACTURED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/7/2014 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2014 - BLOOMINGDALE, NY
HAVE HAD A SEVERE RATTLING NOISE FROM ENGINE FOR SOME TIME NOW, RESEARCH SAYS THAT IT IS A FAULTY TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER PROBLEM. ALSO HAVE A LEAKING OIL SUPPLY LINE TO THE TURBO. BOTH PROBLEMS ARE MAJOR ISSUES FOR WHICH THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALLS FROM MINI. THESE ARE BOTH EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE REPAIRS WHICH I CAN NOT AFFORD.......THERE SHOULD BE RECALLS ON THESE PROBLEMS! PLEASE HELP.....

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2014 - NORTH OLMSTED, OH
THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE DESIGN OF THE OIL LINE FEEDING THE TURBO CHARGING UNIT. OIL NOW LEAKS DIRECTLY ONTO THE TURBO CHARGER CAUSING LARGE DISCHARGES OF SMOKE AT LOWER (CITY) SPEEDS FROM THE HOOD. THE BURNED OIL SMOKE IS NOT VISIBLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ALTHOUGH ONCE ONE SLOWS DOWN FOR A RAMP THE SMOKE POURS OUT AGAIN. DUE TO THE HIGH RISK OF FIRE THE CAR IS NO LONGER PARKED IN OUR GARAGE. IT IS PARKED TOWARDS THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY AS FAR FROM OUR HOUSE AS POSSIBLE. I BELIEVE THAT THIS SHOULD BE AN URGENT SAFETY ISSUE SEEING THAT THE ENGINE COULD CATCH FIRE AT ANY TIME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds