Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER S - 2007 MINI COOPER S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 235 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Engine And Engine Cooling (81) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (26) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (5) Visibility (3)
Engine (88) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/26/2017 - BELLVUE, CO
TIMING CHAIN MAKING LOUD NOISE WHEN STARTED

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/7/2017 - CEDAR BLUFF, VA
PASSENGER DOOR SEAL FAILED RESULTING IN FLOODING OF THE ENTIRE PASSENGER SIDE. MOISTURE CAUSED THE STARTING SENSOR TO FAIL AND THE VEHICLE NOT TO START. THERE WAS ALSO RAPID GROWTH OF MOLD IN THE VEHICLE FROM THIS MOISTURE. THE ONLY RESOLUTION WAS TO REMOVE THE ENTIRE INTERIOR, SHAMPOO THE CARPET, AND DRY EVERYTHING OUT. ON-LINE RESEARCH (AFTER THE FACT) REVEALED THAT APPARENTLY THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE BUT THERE DOESN'T SEEM TO BE A RECALL ISSUED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/8/2017 - PEBBLE BEACH, CA
CAR CRASH MAY 30, 2017, DRIVER'S AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY CAUSING GREAT BODILY INJURY TO DRIVER.. DRIVER WAS TRAVELING 25 MPH IN TOWN AT AROUND 10:30 A.M.. DRIVER HAD A STROKE, PASSED OUT, CROSSED OVER TO OPPOSITE SIDE OF ROAD AND HIT AN UNOCCUPIED PARKED CAR. THAT CAR HIT ANOTHER PARKED VEHICLE AND CHAIN REACTION LEFT FOUR CARS IN THE ACCIDENT. STATE FARM OR GENE'S AUTO BODY SHOP HAVE PHOTOS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2017 - SADDLE BROOK, NJ
THIS CAR HAS BEEN A CONSISTENT USER OF OIL. IT USES A QUART AT ABOUT 500 MILES. THIS ENGINE HAS A REPUTATION FOR PROBLEMS ON MINI COOPER S MODELS AND THE PEUGEOT MODELS WITH THAT SAME ENGINE. I'VE HEARD THAT LATER MODELS DON'T BURN OIL. I'D LIKE TO KNOW WHY BMW HAS NOT RECALLED THEM. FIRST THE TIMING CHAIN, COOLING SYSTEM AND HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP., THEY PAID FOR THE TIMING CHAIN AND THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2017 - MOULTRIE, GA
MINI COOPER S - NUMEROUS ISSUES FOUND HAVING PURCHASED A USED 2007 MINI COOPER S FROM A SMALL DEALER IN TALLAHASSEE, FLORIDA, WE DID OUR RESEARCH UP-FRONT WITH A +CARFAX REPORT+ WHICH SHOWED NO ISSUES, WE ALSO DID A VIN DATABASE SEARCH FOR RECALLS AND FOUND NO OPEN RECALLS AND ASSUMED THAT IT WAS SAFE TO PURCHASE WHICH WE DID FOR JUST OVER $5,000. NOW THAT WE ARE NEARING A YEAR INTO OUR 4-YEAR PAYMENT PLAN, ON JANUARY 17, 2016, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING NORTH ON I-75 IN GEORGIA AND AT APPROX. MILE MARKER 211, THE ENGINE SEIZED AND SHE REQUIRED A TOW OFF THE INTERSTATE. LUCKILY, THERE WAS NO ACCIDENT OR INJURY- BUT IT SEEMS THAT WOULD HAVE HELPED OUR CASE+ UPON ATTEMPTING REPAIRS, WE FIND NUMEROUS ISSUES WITH THE ENGINE (2007 R56/N16 4 CYLINDER TURBOCHARGED) INCLUDING TIMING CHAIN, WATER PUMP, VACUUM PUMP, ETC+ BELOW ARE PHOTOS OF REMOVED PARTS FROM THE ENGINE + THE VACUUM PUMP SEIZED AND BENT THE METAL COMPONENTS + SINCE THIS IS CONNECTED TO THE +EXHAUST CAMSHAFT+, WHEN IT SEIZED IT SEIZED THE EXHAUST CAMSHAFT + ON THE OPPOSITE END OF THIS CAMSHAFT IS A SPROCKET WHICH CONNECTS THE TIMING CHAIN (ANOTHER KNOWN ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE) + THE BOLT AND SPROCKET DROPPED INTO THE ENGINE AND TIMING CHAIN AREA, CREATING A CATASTROPHIC FAILURE WHICH IT APPEARS WE ARE GOING TO BE +LEFT HOLDING THE BAG+ FOR

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/27/2016 - RESTON, VA
PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT IS ERRATIC, SOMETIMES IT WORKS, MOST TIMES NOT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/27/2016 - BATTLE CREEK, MI
ENGINE, THERMOSTAT, GASKET, RADIATOR, COOLANT TUBE, AND BATTERY WENT OUT ON THE V AT THE SAME TIME. IT WAS RUNNING ROUGH AND JUST STOP RUNNING.

View Details

ENGINE

8/25/2016 - GLADEWATER, TX
WE ARE A SECOND OWNER OF THIS MINI COOPER HAD IT ABOUT A YEAR. TURN THE CAR ON AND HEAR A RATTLE IN MOTOR. WORSE WHEN IT'S COLD. TOOK IT IN TO BE CHECKED IT THE TIMING TENSIONER. APPARENTLY THERE HAS BEEN AN ISSUE WITH THIS FOR SOMETIME. REPAIR COST IS AROUND $2000. CAR ONLY HAS 76,000 MILES THIS PART SHOULD BE PROVIDED UNDER WARRANTY. BUT WHEN IT BREAKS IT AFFECTS THE MOTOR AS WELL BECAUSE IT IS METAL IT TEARS THE MOTOR UP. MAKING A 10 DOLLAR PART COST THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS FOR REPAIR. I DON'T FEEL LIKE I AM LIABLE FOR THE EXPENSE THAT MINI KNEW WAS A PROBLEM AND NEVER RECALLED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2016 - MAKAWAO, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER S. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE MAT SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V205000 (AIR BAGS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/28/2016 - KAILUA, HI
2007 MINI COOPER S, HATCHBACK. THE PASSENGER AIRBAG (OFF) LIGHT, INDICATING THE PASSENGER AIRBAG IS DISARMED, IS ON AT ALL TIMES REGARDLESS OF PASSENGER. ADDITIONALLY, THE DASHBOARD WARNING LIGHTS FOR MY AIRBAG SYSTEM AND SEATBELT ARE ILLUMINATED AT ALL TIMES. THE CODES IDENTIFIED BY THE MINI DEALERSHIP IN HONOLULU INDICATE THE PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR HAS A FAULT. LOOKING UNDER THE SEAT, IT COULD BE A FAULTY WIRING HARNESS OR FAULTY CONNECTER AS THEY APPEAR VULNERABLE TO SEAT MOVEMENT FORWARD OR BACKWARDS. THE MINI DEALERSHIP ALSO STATED THE OBNOXIOUSLY EXPENSIVE PART WAS ON NATIONAL BACK-ORDER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds