Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER S - 2007 MINI COOPER S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 213 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Engine And Engine Cooling (80) Other (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (26) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Tires (2) Visibility (3)
Engine (77) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/19/2015 - CAMARILLO , CA
AT ANY GIVEN SPEED OR CONDITION THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATES, MEANING THAT THE AIRBAG MAY NOT DEPLOY IN A CRASH . IN SOME INSTANCES THE LIGHTS WILL DISAPPEAR, BUT AT OTHER TIMES THE LIGHTS ARE ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. IT IS OF GREAT CONCERN THAT THIS PART HAS BEEN RECALLED AS A DEFECTIVE PART, BUT BECAUSE MY PRODUCTION DATE IS MERELY ONE MONTH OFF THERE IS NO RELIEF . IT SEEMS CONCERNING THAT THERE MAY BE A NUMBER OF THESE UNSAFE VEHICLES ON THE ROAD, BUT GIVEN THE DELAY TO INCLUDE THEM IN THE RECALL, MANY LIVES MAY UNKNOWINGLY BE AT RISK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/3/2015 - DALLAS, GA
AFTER CODES ARE CLEARED ON CAR, THERE IS NO WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT ILLUMINATED AS LONG AS NO PASSENGERS SIT IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. ONCE A PASSENGER SITS IN THE SEAT, FOLLOWING THE CODE CLEARING, THEN THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT AND THE SEAT BELT WARNING LIGHTS ARE ILLUMINATED PERMANENTLY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/25/2015 - PLYMOUTH, MI
THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG PAD COMPONENT WAS FOUND TO BE DEFECTIVE BY MY SERVICE CENTER. THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IN A CRASH. IT IS APPROXIMATELY AN $1100 PART TO REPLACE PLUS LABOR. REPORTS ON VARIED NEWS MEDIA HAVE THIS AS A RECALL. I FIND NO INSTANCE OF A RECALL FROM BMW/MINI

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/15/2015 - NEW ALBANY, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG MAY NOT DEPLOY IN CASE OF A CRASH; HOWEVER, THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE A REASON FOR THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/4/2015 - YORK, PA
THIS IS A COMPLAINT AGAINST THE TIMING CHAIN AND TENSIONER FOR THE MINI COOPER WHICH IS KNOWN TO BE FAULTY. THE TIMING CHAIN HAD BEGIN RATTLING AND WAS INSPECTED AT A MINI DEALERSHIP. THEY STATED THAT IT'S A KNOWN ISSUE WITH MINI. REPAIR FOR THIS JOB IS 3800 USD. THIS IS A TREMENDOUS PRICE TAG.THIS CAN LEAD TO A VERY VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION ON THE HIGHWAY HEADING TO WORK

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/1/2015 - FORT DODGE , IA
OIL FEED LINE GOING INTO TURBO IS LEAKING OIL DIRECTLY ONTO TURBO. MINI USES A RUBBER O RING THAT IS CONNECTED TO A VERY HOT TURBO AND O RING WILL FAIL ON ALL MINI COOPERS WITH A TURBO. WHEN THIS RUBBER O RING FAILS IT WILL LEAK OIL DIRECTLY ONTO HOT TURBO AND CAUSE A FIRE. I THINK IT'S IN THE SAFETY OF ALL THAT THIS BE LOOKED INTO AND RECALLED. I BELIEVE MINI COOPER IS VERY AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND IS COVERING UP THE ISSUE BY INSTALLING A CHEAP HEAT SHIELD ON OIL LINE BUT THIS IS A BANDAID FIX AT BEST.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/20/2015 - DALEY CITY , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER S. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,500.

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2014 - ROCHESTER, WA
IN 2013 MY MINI STARTED TO OVERHEAT. I HAD THE FLUIDS CHECKED AND EVERYTHING WAS OK. I DROVE APPROX., 10 MILES AND THE CAR COMPLETELY OVERHEATED, THE OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR SMOKED AND ALMOST CAUGHT ON FIRE. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP (MINI NORTHWEST IN FIFE WA,) THEY SAID THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND I NEEDED A NEW MOTOR AND COOLING SYSTEM. I PAID 7500$$ FOR A NEW ENGINE INSTALLED BY THE MINI DEALERSHIP IN JULY 2013 AT MY OWN EXPENSE. ON DEC, 23RD 2014 I DROVE MY MINI APPROX. 12 MILES AND PARKED THE CAR IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE CAR WAS NOT OVERHEATING, NO WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON, 15 MINUTES LATER THE CAR HAD FLAMES SHOOTING OUT FROM THE HOOD. FIRE EXTINGUISHER WOULD NOT PUT OUT THE FIRE. THE CAR THEN MOVED APPROX. 5 FEET FORWARD UP AGAINST THE HOUSE AND BECAME COMPLETELY ENGULFED. THE TIRES BLEW UP THE SUNROOF BLEW UP AND THEN THE BACK WINDOW BLEW OUT. THE CAR IS A COMPLETE LOSS. MINI CLAIMS THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS BEFORE, YET THERE ARE SEVERAL ARTICLES OF THE SAME THING HAPPENING TO OTHER CARS, INCLUDING A CLASS ACTION SUIT AND RECALLS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/30/2014 - ROCHESTER, WA
IN 2013 MY MINI STARTED TO OVERHEAT. I HAD THE FLUIDS CHECKED AND EVERYTHING WAS OK. I DROVE APPROX., 10 MILES AND THE CAR COMPLETELY OVERHEATED, THE OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR SMOKED AND ALMOST CAUGHT ON FIRE. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP (MINI NORTHWEST IN FIFE WA,) THEY SAID THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND I NEEDED A NEW MOTOR AND COOLING SYSTEM. I PAID 7500$$ FOR A NEW ENGINE INSTALLED BY THE MINI DEALERSHIP IN JULY 2013 AT MY OWN EXPENSE. ON DEC, 23RD 2014 I DROVE MY MINI APPROX. 12 MILES AND PARKED THE CAR IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE CAR WAS NOT OVERHEATING, NO WARNING LIGHTS CAME ON, 15 MINUTES LATER THE CAR HAD FLAMES SHOOTING OUT FROM THE HOOD. FIRE EXTINGUISHER WOULD NOT PUT OUT THE FIRE. THE CAR THEN MOVED APPROX. 5 FEET FORWARD UP AGAINST THE HOUSE AND BECAME COMPLETELY ENGULFED. THE TIRES BLEW UP THE SUNROOF BLEW UP AND THEN THE BACK WINDOW BLEW OUT. THE CAR IS A COMPLETE LOSS. MINI CLAIMS THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS BEFORE, YET THERE ARE SEVERAL ARTICLES OF THE SAME THING HAPPENING TO OTHER CARS, INCLUDING A CLASS ACTION SUIT AND RECALLS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/13/2014 - ROUND ROCK , TX
THIS IS A COMPLAINT AGAINST THE TIMING CHAIN AND TENSIONER FOR THE MINI COOPER WHICH IS KNOWN TO BE FAULTY. THE TIMING CHAIN HAD BEGIN RATTLING AND WAS INSPECTED AT A MINI DEALERSHIP. THEY STATED THAT IT'S A KNOWN ISSUE WITH MINI. REPAIR FOR THIS JOB IS 2000 USD. THIS IS A TREMENDOUS PRICE TAG.THIS CAN LEAD TO A VERY VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION ON THE HIGHWAY HEADING TO WORK. IMAGINE GOING 65 ON THE HIGHWAY THE THE CHAIN SNAP. LOST POWER AND CONTROL OF THE CAR. NOT ONLY THE DRIVER IS AT RISK BUT OTHER AS WELL. WHAT IF IT CAUSE A FAMILY IN THE CAR AN ACCIDENT. LET'S SAY 3 CAR WERE INVOLVED FILLED WITH FAMILIES BUT ONE PERSON DIED. YOU ARE CAUSING A LIFETIME OF HEARTACHE FOR NOT ACKNOWLEDGING THE FAULT IN YOUR ENGINE. PLEASE BE AWARE THAT PEOPLE LIVES ARE AT STAKE. IT'S BETTER THAT MINI SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. IS MONEY SO MUCH MORE IMPORTANT TO MINI THAN THE LIVES OF PEOPLE. THE LIVES OF FAMILIES. IF FUTURE ACCIDENT CAN BE AVOIDED. IT MUST START NOW. DO THE RIGHT THING AND MAKE THIS RECALL HAPPEN. DON'T LET ME START ON CARBON BUILDUP. ENGINE DESIGN WASN'T TESTED THOROUGHLY. EVERYONE SHOULD BE GIVEN A COURTESY CLEAN EVERY 70000 MILES OR SO. ALREADY SHOW SIGN OF CARBON BUILDUP WITH 48K MILES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds