Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER S - 2007 MINI COOPER S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 205 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (80) Other (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (26) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Tires (2) Visibility (3)
Engine (75) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/13/2014 - ROUND ROCK , TX
THIS IS A COMPLAINT AGAINST THE TIMING CHAIN AND TENSIONER FOR THE MINI COOPER WHICH IS KNOWN TO BE FAULTY. THE TIMING CHAIN HAD BEGIN RATTLING AND WAS INSPECTED AT A MINI DEALERSHIP. THEY STATED THAT IT'S A KNOWN ISSUE WITH MINI. REPAIR FOR THIS JOB IS 2000 USD. THIS IS A TREMENDOUS PRICE TAG.THIS CAN LEAD TO A VERY VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION ON THE HIGHWAY HEADING TO WORK. IMAGINE GOING 65 ON THE HIGHWAY THE THE CHAIN SNAP. LOST POWER AND CONTROL OF THE CAR. NOT ONLY THE DRIVER IS AT RISK BUT OTHER AS WELL. WHAT IF IT CAUSE A FAMILY IN THE CAR AN ACCIDENT. LET'S SAY 3 CAR WERE INVOLVED FILLED WITH FAMILIES BUT ONE PERSON DIED. YOU ARE CAUSING A LIFETIME OF HEARTACHE FOR NOT ACKNOWLEDGING THE FAULT IN YOUR ENGINE. PLEASE BE AWARE THAT PEOPLE LIVES ARE AT STAKE. IT'S BETTER THAT MINI SHOULD TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. IS MONEY SO MUCH MORE IMPORTANT TO MINI THAN THE LIVES OF PEOPLE. THE LIVES OF FAMILIES. IF FUTURE ACCIDENT CAN BE AVOIDED. IT MUST START NOW. DO THE RIGHT THING AND MAKE THIS RECALL HAPPEN. DON'T LET ME START ON CARBON BUILDUP. ENGINE DESIGN WASN'T TESTED THOROUGHLY. EVERYONE SHOULD BE GIVEN A COURTESY CLEAN EVERY 70000 MILES OR SO. ALREADY SHOW SIGN OF CARBON BUILDUP WITH 48K MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

12/9/2014 - FAIRFIELD, CA
ON 27-OCT-2014, WHEN I WAS DRIVING HOME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IT GAVE A MESSAGE ABOUT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. LUCKILY I WAS CLOSE TO HOME AND THE MESSAGE JUST SAID TO SLOW DOWN WHICH I DID. I HAD IT TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC THE NEXT DAY SINCE IT WAS NOT DRIVABLE.IT WAS REAL SHAKY AND DIDN'T FEEL SAFE TO DRIVE WHEN I STARTED THE ENGINE. THEY HAD THE VEHICLE FOR 3 DAYS AND CHECKED EVERYTHING FROM THE COILS, SPARK PLUGS, RAN A COMPRESSION TEST WHICH SHOWED THAT CYLINDER 3 WAS NOT GETTING ENOUGH POWER, ETC. THEY STATED THAT THERE WERE NO LEAKS OR FLUIDS FOUND IN THAT AREA LIKE THEY HAD EXPECTED SINCE THAT WAS THE ONLY CYLINDER THAT WAS NOT RUNNING PROPERLY. I CONTACTED MINIUSA TO SEE IF THEY WOULD FIX THE VEHICLE OUT OF GOODWILL BECAUSE THIS WAS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH THESE VEHICLES/ENGINES (R56). NEEDLESS TO SAY, MINIUSA WOULD NOT FIX THE REPAIR NOR WOULD THEY RESPOND TO MY EMAILS. MINI OF CONCORD OFFERED TO COVER 25% OF THE COST LEAVING ME TO PAY $3600 OUT OF POCKET FOR SOMETHING THAT THEY KNOW IS FAULTY. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/12/2014 - ORANGE, CA
WHEN PASSENGERS OR ITEMS WERE PLACED ON THE PASSENGER SEAT THE SEATBELT AND AIRBAG WARNING LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE DASH, BUT WOULD GO OUT AFTER PASSENGER OR ITEMS WERE REMOVED, AND/OR SEATBELT WAS FASTENED. AS OF NOW BOTH THE AIRBAG WARNING AND SEATBELT WARNING LIGHTS ARE ILLUMINATED, AT ALL TIMES, ON THE DASH AND WILL NOT RETURN TO NORMAL STATE WHETHER SEATBELT IS FASTENED OR NOT. THE AIRBAG SAFETY SYSTEM IS NOW DISABLED UNDER NORMAL DRIVING OPERATION DUE TO THESE FAILURES (AIRBAG/SEATBELT NOT READY STATE).

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/12/2014 - ORANGE, CA
WHEN PASSENGERS OR ITEMS WERE PLACED ON THE PASSENGER SEAT THE SEATBELT AND AIRBAG WARNING LIGHTS WOULD ILLUMINATE ON THE DASH, BUT WOULD GO OUT AFTER PASSENGER OR ITEMS WERE REMOVED, AND/OR SEATBELT WAS FASTENED. AS OF NOW BOTH THE AIRBAG WARNING AND SEATBELT WARNING LIGHTS ARE ILLUMINATED, AT ALL TIMES, ON THE DASH AND WILL NOT RETURN TO NORMAL STATE WHETHER SEATBELT IS FASTENED OR NOT. THE AIRBAG SAFETY SYSTEM IS NOW DISABLED UNDER NORMAL DRIVING OPERATION DUE TO THESE FAILURES (AIRBAG/SEATBELT NOT READY STATE).

View Details

ENGINE

10/24/2014 - WINDERMERE , FL
MINI USA WAS WELL AWARE OF THE MASSIVE TIMING CHAIN PROBLEM (AFFECTING 500,000 MINI COOPERS),BUT REFUSED TO FIX IT BECAUSE IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I'VE COMPLAINED OF THE CANTANKEROUS RATTLE DURING A COLD START WHICH WAS CLEARLY RELATED TO THE FAILING TIMING CHAIN DUE TO A DEFECTIVE AND POORLY DESIGNED TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER. (APPARENTLY MINI HAS COME OUT WITH A NEW ONE DUE TO THIS PROBLEM). THE DEALERSHIP QUOTED ME $1800 TO REPLACE THE WHOLE CHAIN ASSEMBLY. I ULTIMATELY TOOK IT AN INDEPENDENT MINI MECHANIC AND HAD IT REPLACED FOR LESS ($1144). NOW I AM HEARING THAT MINI DEALERSHIPS ARE REPLACING THIS DEFECTIVE PART BEYOND THE WARRANTY PERIOD. I BELIEVE THAT THERE IS NOW A CAMPAIGN TO REPLACE THE TENSIONER AND CHAIN. THEY SHOULD HAVE REPLACED IT WHEN THE PROBLEMS WERE OBVIOUS AND SHOULD NOW COMPENSATE THOSE WHO'VE PAID OUT OF THEIR OWN POCKETS FOR THIS POORLY DESIGNED PART.

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
MY CAR STARTED TO ACT FUNNY. ALMOST SOUNDING LIKE IT WAS SUFFOCATING. IT WOULD DIE ABOUT TEN TO FIFTEEN TIMES EVERY MORNING BEFORE I WOULD FINALLY GET THE CAR STARTED. IT WOULD SHUT OFF WHEN I STOPPED AT INTERSECTIONS. THE ONLY TIME IT RAN DECENT WAS WHEN I WAS DRIVING HIGHWAYS SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES OR MORE. I CHANGED OUT FILTERS, SPARK PLUGS, AND FLUIDS BUT NONE OF IT CHANGED THE WAY IT WAS RUNNING. COME TO FIND OUT IT THAT THE CHAIN AND CHAIN TENSIONER HAD BROKEN. THIS DAMAGE CAUSED ROUGHLY $1000 TO FIX. LUCKILY I CAUGHT IT IN TIME BEFORE IT DID ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE CRANK SHAFT. WITH LOW MILES THE MECHANIC EVEN TOLD ME ITS A FAULT PART AND BRAKES EASILY. HE HAS HAD TO REPLACE NUMEROUS AMERICAN MODEL MINIS IN ITALY. MY COUNTRY CODE IS 39 IF YOU CALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
MY CAR STARTED TO ACT FUNNY. ALMOST SOUNDING LIKE IT WAS SUFFOCATING. IT WOULD DIE ABOUT TEN TO FIFTEEN TIMES EVERY MORNING BEFORE I WOULD FINALLY GET THE CAR STARTED. IT WOULD SHUT OFF WHEN I STOPPED AT INTERSECTIONS. THE ONLY TIME IT RAN DECENT WAS WHEN I WAS DRIVING HIGHWAYS SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES OR MORE. I CHANGED OUT FILTERS, SPARK PLUGS, AND FLUIDS BUT NONE OF IT CHANGED THE WAY IT WAS RUNNING. COME TO FIND OUT IT THAT THE CHAIN AND CHAIN TENSIONER HAD BROKEN. THIS DAMAGE CAUSED ROUGHLY $1000 TO FIX. LUCKILY I CAUGHT IT IN TIME BEFORE IT DID ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE CRANK SHAFT. WITH LOW MILES THE MECHANIC EVEN TOLD ME ITS A FAULT PART AND BRAKES EASILY. HE HAS HAD TO REPLACE NUMEROUS AMERICAN MODEL MINIS IN ITALY. MY COUNTRY CODE IS 39 IF YOU CALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
MY CAR STARTED TO ACT FUNNY. ALMOST SOUNDING LIKE IT WAS SUFFOCATING. IT WOULD DIE ABOUT TEN TO FIFTEEN TIMES EVERY MORNING BEFORE I WOULD FINALLY GET THE CAR STARTED. IT WOULD SHUT OFF WHEN I STOPPED AT INTERSECTIONS. THE ONLY TIME IT RAN DECENT WAS WHEN I WAS DRIVING HIGHWAYS SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES OR MORE. I CHANGED OUT FILTERS, SPARK PLUGS, AND FLUIDS BUT NONE OF IT CHANGED THE WAY IT WAS RUNNING. COME TO FIND OUT IT THAT THE CHAIN AND CHAIN TENSIONER HAD BROKEN. THIS DAMAGE CAUSED ROUGHLY $1000 TO FIX. LUCKILY I CAUGHT IT IN TIME BEFORE IT DID ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE CRANK SHAFT. WITH LOW MILES THE MECHANIC EVEN TOLD ME ITS A FAULT PART AND BRAKES EASILY. HE HAS HAD TO REPLACE NUMEROUS AMERICAN MODEL MINIS IN ITALY. MY COUNTRY CODE IS 39 IF YOU CALL.

View Details

STEERING

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
I WAS DRIVING ROUGHLY 30 MILES AND HOUR WHEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT ON ME IN A TURN. ALMOST HIT ONCOMING TRAFFIC PRIOR TO STOPPING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I DROVE IT TO A NEARBY PARKING LOT WHERE IT SAT FOR TWO WEEKS BEFORE A LOCAL MECHANIC COULD LOOK AT IT. I WAS QUOTED AT OVER $1,500 TO FIX THE PART BECAUSE THE WHOLE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING CONTROL BOX HAS TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THE WAY IT WAS MANUFACTURED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/7/2014 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds