Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER S - 2007 MINI COOPER S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 201 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (80) Other (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (26) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (2) Tires (2) Visibility (3)
Engine (72) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
MY CAR STARTED TO ACT FUNNY. ALMOST SOUNDING LIKE IT WAS SUFFOCATING. IT WOULD DIE ABOUT TEN TO FIFTEEN TIMES EVERY MORNING BEFORE I WOULD FINALLY GET THE CAR STARTED. IT WOULD SHUT OFF WHEN I STOPPED AT INTERSECTIONS. THE ONLY TIME IT RAN DECENT WAS WHEN I WAS DRIVING HIGHWAYS SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES OR MORE. I CHANGED OUT FILTERS, SPARK PLUGS, AND FLUIDS BUT NONE OF IT CHANGED THE WAY IT WAS RUNNING. COME TO FIND OUT IT THAT THE CHAIN AND CHAIN TENSIONER HAD BROKEN. THIS DAMAGE CAUSED ROUGHLY $1000 TO FIX. LUCKILY I CAUGHT IT IN TIME BEFORE IT DID ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE CRANK SHAFT. WITH LOW MILES THE MECHANIC EVEN TOLD ME ITS A FAULT PART AND BRAKES EASILY. HE HAS HAD TO REPLACE NUMEROUS AMERICAN MODEL MINIS IN ITALY. MY COUNTRY CODE IS 39 IF YOU CALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
MY CAR STARTED TO ACT FUNNY. ALMOST SOUNDING LIKE IT WAS SUFFOCATING. IT WOULD DIE ABOUT TEN TO FIFTEEN TIMES EVERY MORNING BEFORE I WOULD FINALLY GET THE CAR STARTED. IT WOULD SHUT OFF WHEN I STOPPED AT INTERSECTIONS. THE ONLY TIME IT RAN DECENT WAS WHEN I WAS DRIVING HIGHWAYS SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES OR MORE. I CHANGED OUT FILTERS, SPARK PLUGS, AND FLUIDS BUT NONE OF IT CHANGED THE WAY IT WAS RUNNING. COME TO FIND OUT IT THAT THE CHAIN AND CHAIN TENSIONER HAD BROKEN. THIS DAMAGE CAUSED ROUGHLY $1000 TO FIX. LUCKILY I CAUGHT IT IN TIME BEFORE IT DID ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE CRANK SHAFT. WITH LOW MILES THE MECHANIC EVEN TOLD ME ITS A FAULT PART AND BRAKES EASILY. HE HAS HAD TO REPLACE NUMEROUS AMERICAN MODEL MINIS IN ITALY. MY COUNTRY CODE IS 39 IF YOU CALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
MY CAR STARTED TO ACT FUNNY. ALMOST SOUNDING LIKE IT WAS SUFFOCATING. IT WOULD DIE ABOUT TEN TO FIFTEEN TIMES EVERY MORNING BEFORE I WOULD FINALLY GET THE CAR STARTED. IT WOULD SHUT OFF WHEN I STOPPED AT INTERSECTIONS. THE ONLY TIME IT RAN DECENT WAS WHEN I WAS DRIVING HIGHWAYS SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES OR MORE. I CHANGED OUT FILTERS, SPARK PLUGS, AND FLUIDS BUT NONE OF IT CHANGED THE WAY IT WAS RUNNING. COME TO FIND OUT IT THAT THE CHAIN AND CHAIN TENSIONER HAD BROKEN. THIS DAMAGE CAUSED ROUGHLY $1000 TO FIX. LUCKILY I CAUGHT IT IN TIME BEFORE IT DID ADDITIONAL DAMAGES TO THE CRANK SHAFT. WITH LOW MILES THE MECHANIC EVEN TOLD ME ITS A FAULT PART AND BRAKES EASILY. HE HAS HAD TO REPLACE NUMEROUS AMERICAN MODEL MINIS IN ITALY. MY COUNTRY CODE IS 39 IF YOU CALL.

View Details

STEERING

9/22/2014 - APO, AE
I WAS DRIVING ROUGHLY 30 MILES AND HOUR WHEN THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT ON ME IN A TURN. ALMOST HIT ONCOMING TRAFFIC PRIOR TO STOPPING IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. I DROVE IT TO A NEARBY PARKING LOT WHERE IT SAT FOR TWO WEEKS BEFORE A LOCAL MECHANIC COULD LOOK AT IT. I WAS QUOTED AT OVER $1,500 TO FIX THE PART BECAUSE THE WHOLE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING CONTROL BOX HAS TO BE REPLACED DUE TO THE WAY IT WAS MANUFACTURED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/7/2014 - ANNAPOLIS, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2007 MINI COOPER S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2014 - BLOOMINGDALE, NY
HAVE HAD A SEVERE RATTLING NOISE FROM ENGINE FOR SOME TIME NOW, RESEARCH SAYS THAT IT IS A FAULTY TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER PROBLEM. ALSO HAVE A LEAKING OIL SUPPLY LINE TO THE TURBO. BOTH PROBLEMS ARE MAJOR ISSUES FOR WHICH THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALLS FROM MINI. THESE ARE BOTH EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE REPAIRS WHICH I CAN NOT AFFORD.......THERE SHOULD BE RECALLS ON THESE PROBLEMS! PLEASE HELP.....

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2014 - NORTH OLMSTED, OH
THERE IS A DEFECT IN THE DESIGN OF THE OIL LINE FEEDING THE TURBO CHARGING UNIT. OIL NOW LEAKS DIRECTLY ONTO THE TURBO CHARGER CAUSING LARGE DISCHARGES OF SMOKE AT LOWER (CITY) SPEEDS FROM THE HOOD. THE BURNED OIL SMOKE IS NOT VISIBLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ALTHOUGH ONCE ONE SLOWS DOWN FOR A RAMP THE SMOKE POURS OUT AGAIN. DUE TO THE HIGH RISK OF FIRE THE CAR IS NO LONGER PARKED IN OUR GARAGE. IT IS PARKED TOWARDS THE END OF THE DRIVEWAY AS FAR FROM OUR HOUSE AS POSSIBLE. I BELIEVE THAT THIS SHOULD BE AN URGENT SAFETY ISSUE SEEING THAT THE ENGINE COULD CATCH FIRE AT ANY TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

6/11/2014 - CARY, ND
I WAS DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED WHEN WITHOUT WARNING THE CAR LOST PARTIAL POWER AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND BEGAN FLASHING. I PULLED OVER TO THE ROADSIDE AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF. I LOOKED AT THE OWNER'S MANUAL TO SEE WHAT THE FLASHING ENGINE LIGHT INDICATES. NOTHING DEFINITIVE WAS STATED IN THE MANUAL, SO I STARTED THE ENGINE AND DROVE IT TO MY HOME ABOUT 10 MILES UNDER PARTIAL POWER. I CONTACTED A LOCAL GARAGE (MIENKE) AND LET THEM KNOW THE PROBLEM. THE GARAGE WAS ABOUT THREE MILES AWAY SO I DROVE IT TO THEM. THEY DIAGNOSED A LOSS OF COMPRESSION IN ONE OF THE VALVES THAT WOULD REQUIRE A VALVE JOB. I CONTACTED MINIUSA TO REPORT THE PROBLEM. THEY REQUESTED I TAKE IT TO THE LOCAL DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. I CONTACTED THE DEALER AND LET THEM KNOW WHAT OCCURRED AND ASKED IF IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE THE APPROXIMATE 20 MILES TO THEIR LOCATION WITH A COMPROMISED ENGINE. THEY SAID IT WOULD BE OKAY AND BRING IT IN. THEY DIAGNOSED IT THE NEXT DAY WITH A FAILED TIMING CHAIN ($1800), VACUUM PUMP ($600) AND VALVE COVER ASSEMBLY ($385). I LET THEM KNOW THE TIMING CHAIN WAS ALREADY REPLACED BY A MINI DEALERSHIP AT 40781 MILES AND THEY SHOULD REPLACE IT AT NO COST AS THIS IS SUPPOSED TO LAST 100,000 MILES. THE DEALER WOULD NOT. I CONTACTED MINIUSA AGAIN TO REPORT THE ISSUE AND REQUEST TO HAVE THIS REPLACED AT NO COST. THEY HAVE NOT GOTTEN BACK TO ME YET AND IT IS STILL PENDING THEIR DECISION. I BEGAN TO LOOK ONLINE FOR SIMILAR ISSUES AND FOUND HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS FROM OWNERS REGARDING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THE TIMING CHAIN. MINI/BMW IS WELL AWARE OF THE ISSUE BUT STILL DOES NOT COVER THIS REOCCURRING PROBLEM. THIS IS AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR AND UNKNOWING MINI OWNERS ARE SPENDING THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS TO HAVE THEIR CARS PUT BACK ON THE ROAD. THERE IS ALSO A PENDING CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT IN NEW JERSEY FOR THIS SAME ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/20/2014 - BROOMFIELD, CO
PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHTS UP. NO ONE HAS EVER SAT IN THE SEAT. REPAIR ESTIMATE IS $1,600.00. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND SHOULD BE COVERED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/15/2014 - FLUSHING, NY
AFTER MULTIPLE FRUSTRATING COMPLAINTS AND UNSUCCESSFUL SERVICE ATTEMPTS ON 8/17/11, 9/1/11, 9/6/11, 9/21/11 AND 9/28/11 FOR MY 2007 MINI COOPER S (PURCHASED ON 8/16/11) AT MAYORS AUTO MALL SAAB LOCATED AT 6001 NORTHERN BOULEVARD, WOODSIDE NY 11377 AND FAILING INSPECTION ON 9/1/12; I WAS FED UP AND BROUGHT MY VEHICLE DIRECTLY TO HASSEL BMW MINI OF FREEPORT LOCATED AT 100 CLEVELAND AVENUE, FREEPORT NY 11520 ON 10/31/11. AFTER A SERVICE BILL OF $3,546 (SERVICE) +$141.21 (EVALUATION FEE) = $3,688.03 FROM BMW MINI, THE PROBLEMS WERE STILL NOT RESOLVED. I THEN FILED A LEMON LAW CASE AGAINST MAYORS AUTO MALL AND WON ON. DESPITE WINNING THE CASE, MAYORS AUTO MALL REFUSED TO RETURN MY MONIES FOR THE PURCHASE PRICE OF VEHICLE. AFTER CONTACTING DMV WITH THE ISSUE AND HAVING THEM SUSPENDING THEIR BUSINESS LICENSE, MAYORS AUTO MALL FINALLY REFUNDED MY MONIES FOR VEHICLE PURCHASE BUT IT WAS EXCLUDING SERVICE BILLS OF $3,688.03 FROM BMW MINI SINCE LEMON LAW DID NOT COVER THIS AMOUNT. I AM FILING A COMPLAINT AGAINST BMW MINI AND WOULD LIKE TO FIND OUT POSSIBLE REMEDIES FOR GETTING A REFUND SERVICES PAID TOWARDS A VEHICLE THAT I NO LONGER HAVE DUE TO LEMON LAW CASE AND AM OUT OF $3,688.03 FOR NO REASON. I UNDERSTAND BMW MINI IS CURRENTLY BEING SUED FOR THESE SAME ISSUES BY MANY CONSUMERS. PLEASE CONTACT ME WITH ANY POSSIBLE INFORMATION YOU MAY BE ABLE TO PROVIDE REGARDING MY CASE. I AM IN AWE SHOCK THAT I AM STILL DEALING WITH THIS AND IT HAS BEEN 3 YEARS ALREADY SINCE I HAD TO RETURN THE CAR TO MAYORS AUTO MALL. THANK YOU FOR YOUR CONCERN WITH THIS MATTER AND WOULD APPRECIATE ANY INFORMATION YOU ARE ABLE TO PROVIDE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds