Auto Recalls for Consumers

MINI COOPER S - 2007 MINI COOPER S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 225 complaints filed for the 2007 MINI COOPER S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2007 MINI COOPER S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2007 MINI COOPER S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Engine And Engine Cooling (80) Other (1) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (26) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (5) Visibility (3)
Engine (83) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (1) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/26/2016 - MOUNT VERNON, KY
THE PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG LIGHT IS ILLUMINATED AND CANNOT BE RESET DUE TO A FAULTY OCCUPATION SENSOR. ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE TECHNICIAN THIS WILL CAUSE THE AIR BAG TO MALFUNCTION IF AN ACCIDENT WERE TO OCCUR. THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS AND COSTS OVER $1000 TO REPAIR AND IS NOT COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
ENGINE WAS RUNNING EXTREMELY ROUGH AND VERY LOUD ENGINE NOISE RATTLE. TOOK THE CAR TO MINI COOPER SERVICE DEPARTMENT IN JACKSONVILLE FOR DIAGNOSTIC THEY NEED TO REPLACE THE TIMING CHAIN, THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME OVER 2,800. WHEN MY UNDERSTANDING THIS ISSUE WAS ADDRESSED BY A RECALL TO BE REPAIR WITHOUT CHARGE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
OIL FEED LINE LEAKING ON TURBO

View Details

ENGINE

3/9/2016 - ROTONDA WEST, FL
I ARRIVED IN COUNTRY 2007 HAVE HAD PROBLEM WITH THE CK ENGINE LIGHT AND NOISE FROM THE ENGINE, THE LARGE CHECK ENGINE OVER STERING WHEEL BLK AND ENGINE LIGHT IN HECTOR METER ORANGE. IVE HAD IN SHOP MANY TIME FOR THIS PROBLEM LATEST WAS SEPT 2015 SAID TO CARBIN $1232.00 DECEMBER 2015 $599.00 DRIVING MINIUM THE ENGINE RUN WHEN THE CAR IS ENGINE IS OFF. ALSO PK UP HILL THE WILL MOVE WHEN THE EMG BKS OR UP AND GEIR IN NUTURAL.

View Details

ENGINE

2/1/2016 - VAN, TX
ENGINE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN DRIVING ON MAJOR FREEWAY AT POSTED SPEED LIMITED OF 75 MPH. PULLING OFF ON SLIP ROAD DUE TO ENGINE STOPPING. ONLY AFTER FULL STOP DID ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS COME ON. CHECKED UNDER HOOD AND FOUND COOLANT HAD EVACUATED THE SYSTEM. ENGINE WOULD NOT RESTART. TOWED TO MECHANIC AND FOUND THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER HAD WORN THROUGH COOLANT HOSE DUE TO ENGINEERING DEFECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/1/2016 - UNION CITY, NJ
MY VEHICLE IS A 2007 MINI COOPER S. THE YELLOW "PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" LIGHT ON THE OVERHEAD CONSOLE IS ALWAYS ON. THE AIRBAG LIGHT AND THE BUCKLE LIGHT ARE ALWAYS ON. THESE LIGHTS ARE ON REGARDLESS WHETHER THERE IS A FRONT PASSENGER. THE CAR WAS NEVER IN ANY KIND OF ACCIDENTS AND THE AIRBAGS WERE NEVER DEPLOYED. I BOUGHT THE CAR USED IN NOV 2013 AND THE LIGHTS CAME ON PERMANENTLY DURING EARLY 2015. AS I FOUND OUT RECENTLY, A FAULTY AIRBAG SENSOR IS A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. THESE DAYS AND THE PAST YEAR, WITHOUT KNOWING THE DANGER OF A FAULTY AIRBAG SENSOR, I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY WIFE AND SOMETIME MY MOTHER AROUND. I CAN NOT IMAGINE INVOLVING IN AN ACCIDENT WITH SOMEONE SITTING ON THE PASSENGER SEAT. I HOPE BMW/MINI CAN ADDRESS THIS ISSUE ASAP.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/23/2015 - BLACK HAWK, CO
AIRBAG LIGHT WILL NOT GO OUT, ALL THESE DAMN MINI COOPERS HAVE PROBLEMS WITH AIRBAGS, THIS IS PRETTY IMPORTANT...MINI WANTS $1500 TO REPAIR A KNOWN ISSUE...HOW MANY PEOPLE NEED TO DIE BEFORE MINI IS FORCED TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND REPAIR THESE FRIGGING CARS?????????????????

View Details

ENGINE

12/13/2015 - RIDGEFIELD, WA
TIMING CHAIN REPLACED AT 32K, JUST FAILED AGAIN AT 92K WITH MOBIL ONE OIL AND FILTER CHANGES EVERY 5K MILES. CHAIN JUMPED IN GARAGE DURING SHUT DOWN OF ENGINE. WOULD NOT RESTART. I CHECKED SPARK, FUSES FOR PRIMARY FUEL PUMP AND MADE A JUDGEMENT THAT IT WAS A FAILURE OF THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP AND TOWED IT TO THE DEALER FOR WARRANTY REPLACEMENT. GOT THE CALL THE TIMING CHAIN JUMPED A LINK AND I WOULD NEED A REPLACEMENT AGAIN. CAN'T BELIEVE IT . THIRD CHAIN WITH GOOD LUBRICATION MAINTENANCE IN UNDER 92K.

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2015 - CHULA VISTA, CA
WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH, THE ENGINE LOST POWER AND HAD A HARD TIME GETTING IT TO THE NEAREST EXIT FOR SAFETY. WHEN I STOPPED THE CAR I ATTEMPTED TO CHECK THE FLUID LEVELS BUT THE CAR WAS TOO HOT TO CHECK AND I WAITED FOR ABOUT AN HOUR TO COOL. WHEN I WAS ABLE TO CHECK ALL LEVELS DOWN, INCLUDING THE OIL, WHICH I JUST HAD A CHANGE IN LESS THAN A WEEK PREVIOUS TO THIS INDENT. THE OIL LEVEL WAS DOWN 2 1/2 QUARTS AND THE WATER LEVEL WAS BELOW THE SAFETY LEVEL. WHEN I TOOK IT TO MY INDEPENDENT CERTIFIED BMW MECHANIC, HE ADVISED THAT THE TIMING BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. I CALLED BMW AND MINI CORPORATE OFFICES AND THEY BOTH STATED THAT I SHOULD TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY MAY BE ABLE TO FIX AT A REDUCE COST. UPON FURTHER QUESTIONING, AND THEM STATING THAT THEY MAY NOT ASSIST DUE TO AGE, I CAME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT THE LIKELIHOOD OF THEM ASSISTING WAS ZERO. THEY STATE THAT THE WARRANTY WAS NO LONGER COVERING AND THAT THE CAR HAD TOO MANY MILES, 85K. I PREVIOUSLY HAD THE THERMOSTAT REPLACED, THE AIR INTAKE VALVE REPLACED, THE OIL PUMP REPLACED, AND NOW THE TIMING BELT TO THE SUM OF $4300 IN THE PAST YEAR AND HALF. WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER AND WILL NEVER ENCOURAGE ANYONE ELSE TO PURCHASE A BMW OR MINI PRODUCT. I WILL PAY AND CONTINUE TO DRIVE, BUT WILL PUT A MESSAGE ON IT TO NOT ASK ME OR COMMENT ON THE "CUTENESS" OF THE CAR BECAUSE IT IS A PIECE OF JUNK! I WOULD HAVE EXPECTED TO GET AT LEAST 200K OUT OF IT BEFORE THESE MAJOR REPAIRS SHOULD HAVE EVER OCCURRED! VERY FRUSTRATED, NOT TO MENTION DISAPPOINTED IN THIS HIGH PERFORMANCE VEHICLE THAT SELLS ITSELF WITH A SIMPLE DRIVE, BUT MECHANICALLY IS NOT SUPPORTED BY ITS MANUFACTURER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2015 - BELLEVUE, WA
AIR BAG LIGHT TURNED ON. PERFORMED A FAULT SURVEY AND FOUND THERE IS 1 RELATED FAULT CODE IN THE MRS CONTROL UNIT. PASSENGER SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR, NOT CURRENTLY PRESENT, OCCURRED 12 TIMES. NEED TO REPLACE THE SEAT OCCUPANCY SENSOR AND RE PROGRAM THE MRS CONTROL UNIT. TOTAL REPLACEMENT COST: $1,164.47 CALLED MINI HEADQUARTERS AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS NO WARRANTY OR RECALL FOR MY SPECIFIC CAR. HOWEVER, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE 2005, 2006 MINI COOPER HAD A RECALL FOR THE SEAT SENSOR. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM AND SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR THE 2007 MODEL AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds